(2007/01) Jan

Icy - I think depends whether the c section is for what reason. For me (and probably Serrich), coz I had my 1st one via c-section, so gotta do the c-section this round at 38 weeks, before the contractions come (hopefully). It's coz of contractions, that uterine rupture may occurs so gynae wants to avoid that situation. At 38 weeks, baby would certainly be "matured" enough to be borned... too early not good too late contractions may occur already.

mummies recently i have this pain ard my tummy area. is mainly ard left & right area.

the pain is like after u had a heavy meal, u walk or run ard. tat kind of abodmen sharp pain. any1 encounter before?

Mommies with Princesses - Check this out!!!. The dresses are nice
Shopping time

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449156/554402.html?1161754862

Icy,
Ashley_mom is rite.. It depends on the reason. I delivered my first gal via emerg c-sect at 40 weeks 1 day. Gynae usually encourage planned c-sect at the 38th week.

Infact my gal's edd is 7 Jan(Sat), so she'll be 38 weeks on 24 Dec(Sat). If i opt for 26 Dec, she'll be 38.5 weeks, close to 39 weeks bt my gynae is still comfortable wf the arrangement as long as i schedule my planned c-section in that week.

Aqua/Sherl/blue_genie/Ashley_mom/serrich,

it's actually gd to know bb actively moving despite that some uncomfortness caused....more fang xin in a way rite? *smiles*

chk wif u whether did u all buy a small thermal flask for hot water to carry out when gg out wif bb? i m thinking whether need to buy one now...is it too early to buy ?

Blue genie - It's useful to get one, in case need to formula feed baby. Should buy now coz during confinement, we still need to bring baby out for jab, I think once or twice so better be prepared.

bluegrapes ya lor. painful sia..

i happened to source for a thermo flask. is a japanese brand, elephant logo start with Z. is as good as tiger brand. 2.5L $50. cheap??

Blue genie - I think no need to buy those very ex types. I bought a big one but later realise even if make milk, the amount of hot water to be used is very little. Later on, bought a very small and slim one (to save space) during JL sale. Dunno what brand, but got Winnie the Pooh picture on it, think cost only $10-13 during the sale. Why I say no need to big is also coz when I'm out for the entire day, I'm bound to lunch somewhere and that's when I refill the flask with hot water. Most restaurants or even McDonald will give you hot water if you ask them.

Bluegenie/ashleymom,
i bot one thermal flask 4 yrs back, think is tiger or the elephant brand - 750ml one.. dunno can use that or not.. still keeping water warm leh..

Janey - why not? Use that first, then if doesn't serve your purpose, then can buy another one later.
So long as can keep water hot for couple of hours, i think good enough.

ashley_mom: i understand wat u mean...will go JL to look see for the small slim type. thks for ur advise.

btw, can u adv me whether it's gd to get those layer milk powder containers or one milk powder container? hope u understand what i mean...

Hi girls, had a tough time catching up on all the postings. Thanks for the encouragement and kind thoughts.

M still warded at Mt.A. Fewer contractions but still have. Gynae said the threat of pre-term is always there so have to stay in to be monitored. She wants to keep me here till my 34th week before I can do as I please (week before Xmas!) Begged her to let me go home, promised that I wld return to her clinic every other day but that was met with a point-blank no. Think her patience was sorely tested, cos' tat night when I cried, she told the nurse to wheel me into the NICU to see BBs there. She asked me if that was what I'd wanted cos' even more heart pain should anything happen to the BBs if they're not fully mature when delivered. In the end, that just shut me up. And now, for the sake of my BBs, I'm resigned to my fate, just guai guai stay on in here....

<font color="ff6000">Icylemon</font>, like what Joy'sMum said, your uterus will be contorted to a funny shape and feel very tight when the contraction hits. And u just feel like shitting or peeing. In my case, my tummy contorts, and I see 2 mounds appearing (BBs' heads or butts) cos' my uterus is compressed very very tight and I've a strong urge to pee. This lasts for about 30s before it softens again. Hope nobody has to experience this until the 30th week.

<font color="0000ff">Sugarbeanie</font>, forgot to tell u that I went to your fave ramen rest last month upon ur recommendation. Tried the char siew one with thick soup. Both my hubby and I like it quite a bit

<font color="aa00aa">bluegrapes</font>, thanks for the updates to the rest!

<font color="119911">Mildy</font>, same here, have not done the deed with DH since we knew I was pregnant. Sometimes we do get very randy, but must curb the urge lor. I will just listen to him telling me the things he wants to do after I pop. And in a way, he said good that I'm going for C-section (by circumstance, not choice), cos he's only going to let me rest a while before we hit the sack. Men!

<font color="ff0000">faeriekim</font>, cham, I didn't really check the blankets from OhBaby. Will get my hubby to do so tonight. But the defects are not too major, right?

\grey {AshleyMom}, the dresses are very nice, but a little ex. leh....

Hi girls, had a tough time catching up on all the postings. Thanks for the encouragement and kind thoughts.

M still warded at Mt.A. Fewer contractions but still have. Gynae said the threat of pre-term is always there so have to stay in to be monitored. She wants to keep me here till my 34th week before I can do as I please (week before Xmas!) Begged her to let me go home, promised that I wld return to her clinic every other day but that was met with a point-blank no. Think her patience was sorely tested, cos' tat night when I cried, she told the nurse to wheel me into the NICU to see BBs there. She asked me if that was what I'd wanted cos' even more heart pain should anything happen to the BBs if they're not fully mature when delivered. In the end, that just shut me up. And now, for the sake of my BBs, I'm resigned to my fate, just guai guai stay on in here....

<font color="ff6000">Icylemon</font>, like what Joy'sMum said, your uterus will be contorted to a funny shape and feel very tight when the contraction hits. And u just feel like shitting or peeing. In my case, my tummy contorts, and I see 2 mounds appearing (BBs' heads or butts) cos' my uterus is compressed very very tight and I've a strong urge to pee. This lasts for about 30s before it softens again. Hope nobody has to experience this until the 30th week.

<font color="0000ff">Sugarbeanie</font>, forgot to tell u that I went to your fave ramen rest last month upon ur recommendation. Tried the char siew one with thick soup. Both my hubby and I like it quite a bit

<font color="aa00aa">bluegrapes</font>, thanks for the updates to the rest!

<font color="119911">Mildy</font>, same here, have not done the deed with DH since we knew I was pregnant. Sometimes we do get very randy, but must curb the urge lor. I will just listen to him telling me the things he wants to do after I pop. And in a way, he said good that I'm going for C-section (by circumstance, not choice), cos he's only going to let me rest a while before we hit the sack. Men!

<font color="ff0000">faeriekim</font>, cham, I didn't really check the blankets from OhBaby. Will get my hubby to do so tonight. But the defects are not too major, right?

<font color="ff6000">AshleyMom</font>, the dresses are very nice, but a little ex. leh....

Icylemon,
i had this pain feeling 2 days ago around the tummy area...but only short while...Abit worried at first, but later when bb start to kick, I feel better...

janey, i also have a thermal flask but wonder if it is 'clean enuff' for baby use since we have to sterilised her bottles. How about thermal flask which is used to contain water for the milk?

thermal flask: me intending to be cheapskate and just ask for hot water from restaurants or someting leh... will that do? kekekekeke...

Does anyone know if nursing rooms in shopping centres provide hot water? Thiought I've seen before.

icy,
zojirushi is the best brand on the market ah, better than Tiger (and the pricing shows, wahahahahahahaha). So think 2.5l for $50 for a zojirushi is quite a good buy.

I keep getting period cramps nowadays, just now on the way back from lunch, kena so bad that I almost had to run back to sit down in the office. Think I walk too much the past few days liao?

alethea muz be damn boring to stay in hpspital. i think i will go crazy.

u muz take good care ok.

If it's like something pull, or a pain like stitch (pain when u exercise after having eaten or drank water), think it still may be ligament strain to accomodate BB. But if tummy feel tights and your organs feel compressed and there's the urge to shit or pee, then it's Braxton Hicks (false contractions), provided the frequency isn't too high.

sherl the thermo flask i saw yes is zojirushi de. somemore is those press one.. saw it at jurong west st 51.

so far i saw some shopping ctr nursing rooms got provide hot water &amp; basin too.

alethea i have been feeling urge to pee since 1 mth ago. was told tat the baby might be sitting near my bladder. is this consider braxton hicks too?

I do have braxton hicks recently.... just for a short while only.

<font color="ff0000">As for hot water... The Nursery Room in Takashimaya, Paragon, CK Tangs, Changi Airport, Bugis, and Parkway do have it. So if you intend to just shop around these area, do not worry so much that u can find hot water for making milk.</font>

thermal flask: i am very worried that the hot water we get from restaurants are not clean, thus this is something i did not save on. i am using the elephant brand (starting with z) cos they are the better brand and i have been using the one my hubby got for my gal for 2 yrs already. used it during pregnancy as i loved a warm drink and after giving birth, used it to keep warmed EBM. i warm up the milk to almost boiling and keep in thermal flask. pour into milk bottle nearing feeding time to let it cool to appropriate temperature. till now, it can still keep boiling hot water hot for almost 3 days in the flask (there were some occasions i forgot to empty it and when i want to empty it, water still hot!). and you can use those tablet sterilisers to sterilise it also (citric acid tablets).

Hi Alethea,

U exprienced Braxton Hicks b4? U sound very experienced in that...
How big are your twins now?( I mean the weight)

Hi Alethea - Do listen to ur gynae... for the sake of ur long2 feng4 tai1. My indonesian fren is also having twins n her EDD is supposingly end dec. however, she had blood stain on mon night while she was at her villa in bundung (5 hrs dr fro jakarta)and her waterbag burst at 1am. Her hubby quickly rushed her to the hosp in jakarta, but b4 they cld reach jakarta, my fren cldnt "dong" anymore... with no choice, her hubby sent her to the hosp in the nearest town n she delivered within an hr. Her twins each weighs 1.9kg n both r now in incubator.

Alethea, *hugz hugz*...no cry no cry. We are here with you. Think on the bright side. Maybe the contractions will juz go away tomorrow morning when you wake up. And you will definitely feel that all these 'misery' are worth it the moment you see your two little darlings.

Blue genie - My personal preference is to get those layer type coz when you need to use 1 portion of the milk, you don't have to tilt the others. For the single but compartmentalised type, everything will be titled even if you just need 1 portion. Know what I mean?

Alethea - Do take good care of yourself. Your gynae is right. Do tahan till your babies are big enough to be delivered, rather than have them borned pre-term. Yeah, do come into the thread when you can, so you won't be so bored
My gynae just mentioned that day that the 1st contractions feel like menses cramps and that's roughly what I rememebered too. Am I right?

Icy - My baby is in breech position and sits on my bladder area so it's very uncomfy.

Hi Joy'smum,
How do u warm up the EBM? Do u heat directly over the flame to almost boil? Or just warm up with hot water?

LY - If you feed direct after expressing, actually no need to warm up coz it will still be a bit warm. If it's taken out of the fridge, then let it cool to room temperature first and warm up in warm water or some people invest in a milk warmer which gives the right temperature. try to avoid boiling water.

i warm it up to almost boiling (NOT BOILING) by using bain marie method. the milk is not boiling. boiling milk does not kill nutrients. some places are rather inconvenient for me to latch on my gal, so we have to bring EBM instead. and my gal likes her milk slightly warmer than body temperature during cold days, so this method works best for us.

baby_milk,

Thanks for the info! ;) Will keep it in mind next time, though hope that I can TBF, then no need to use hot water at all. kekekekekeke

Blue genie - Actually individual preference
The other reason why I prefer the layer type is that it's usually "slimmer" so not so save space in diaper bag.

blue_genie,

I intend to. Should be able to get from hospital's pharmacy right? Coz I told hubby better dun buy first, scarlee end up in emer c-sect, then the float kena wasted.

hi hi, u mummies and MTBs here r ze best! my spirits are always lifted when chatting with u gals.

AshleyMom, Icy &amp; LY, mine are BH, not the actual one cos' the latter are usually like minutes apart. Mine recur 2-hourly or hourly. Sometimes, the interval cld be longer. If there's the urge to pee without feeling any tightening, then probably it's the BB growing so less room to move now and there's the tendency for him/her to press onto the bladder. Hpowever, if there's tightening and u find that ur tummy looks out of shape, and there's the urge to pee, it's BH, provided the frequency is not high. If it's contractions plus menstrual cramps type of pain, within miunutes apart (these usually occur in the later stage), then it's true contractions and cervix may start dilating.

Bluegrapes, thanks, m also praying for that. Just now, a nurse came to talk to me, told me that bed rest also good, cos' it's one of the more effective ways to ensure that max. nutrients pass to the BBs to ensure better growth.

ashley_mum: ic. ask ard for opinions on the milk powder container thingy cos i no preference, that's why dunno which one to get...need to seek opinions to broaden and straighten thinking so chk ard..

sherl: ic ic..i planning to get one but dunno when to get..as u said maybe now too early to buy it hor..wait kena emer c-sect, then the float kena wasted

THanks, Janey and Sherl!

Btw, for those who intend to deliver at Mt. A, I can assure u that the sisters here are very nice and reassuring. Food-wise, I've heard from my cousin who delivered here that the confinement food is very good tho' I dunno how it compares with the other hospitals. For me, I have a choice of chinese, western, muslim or veg. So far, the western and chinese I've taken are not too bad at all. Cost-wise, heard that Mt.A is cheaper than TMC, tho' not sure how true. Heard that sometimes, Mt A can also be cheaper than KKH (pte). And yes, it is confirmed that Mt A has far better parking facilities than TMC.

Sherl, of coz mah, cos' I've yet to deliver how to eat confinement food?

Icy, it's about $300 a day. Did a rough calculation - I wld need to fork out about $18K in all. Hope Medisave can cover.

Alethea,
noted your info on BH. it is really useful to have knowledge of BH.. Thanks~!

i do agree Mt A's parking facilities are better. =)