(2007/01) Jan

Sherl, I din use walker at all. I learnt to walk on my own at ard 9 mths, it was written in my health booklet by the doctor that I could walk without aid at 9mths
My parents just threw me inside the playpen to entertain myself. Same for my sis
She din use walker, onli playpen. She started walking without help at 11mths

It's true tt the walker forces bb to be in unnatural position.

sherl is really really sad to see such news de leh.. i know some couples are trying hard to have a baby. yet these inhuman parents juz dumped a little life like tat. i juz dun understand why they did all these....

Icylemon, this is not the only heartless mummy. The reports in the Sunday Times regarding the trend about teens having multiple abortions was highly disturbing. One even said that the procedure was relatively simple - just closed her eyes and slept and before she knew it, all was over and she could go roll about in the hay again!

Sherl, i intend to let baby learn walking naturally. If they dun have the walker to sit on, they are actually more motivated to stand up and walk on their own!

My hubby also thinks the same way. Tt's why he went to custom make the playpen. We got the carpenter to do a single size bed frame which can convert to playpen or convert to single bed. He using natural solid wood which is very safe for baby. We just need to get a firm and thin mattress to put at the bottom as support and can throw all the toys for bb inside
Good way to keep my dog away from bb but still let them see each other

Icylemon, alot of teenagers now nvr tink of consequence when they have unprotected sex.

Worse thing is, abortion is easily available and to them, not costly. Imagine abortion is only around S$600 if done in early stage, tt is the cost of most of those teenager's handphones, MPs players or digicam lor. They just need to forgo buying 1 item and can go for abortion le.

I know of a few teenagers (still in their late teens) who have undergone at least 3 abortions and not interested when you tell them tt abortions might decrease their chances of concieving in future. They tell me it is even better cos they dun wanna have kids, ever.

And as Alethea says, they also tell me tt abortion procedure v simple. Better than having to lug ard the baby for 9 mths and worry about who will take care of baby or who will adopt the baby.

Actually, I think SG should start toughening the law on abortions to let these teens know that there is a consequence, and the consequence is something they are definitely not ready for.

I remember there was once (dunno SG or overseas) someone suggested tt abortions should only be allowed for medical reasons so that teens who get pregnant must bear the consequences to serve as a deterrent to other teens. The author also suggested that the babies, if can't be kept by the families, should be up for adoption since there are many childless couples looking to adopt babies from overseas.

i think goverment should do something do ppl who wants to do abortion. its getting out of hand le. ppl are taking things easily.

this sad news really spolit my tuesday mood.

Morning everyone,

Nice meeting u all at the gathering. Hehe, me a bit shy lah, 1st outing mah. so hor, dunno what to say oso. :p

Ytd went for detail scan. Was fun. Confirm boy boy. This time he open his leg really big (buay paisey) & i saw the little thingy. haha. He's of average size & so far so gd. Everything is ok.

Hb told my ger she is going to have a little brother, she oso like machiam not her business. Pengz...

Walau I though I am early but you gals even earlier!! HDB guy just came n remove and overlay cardboard on popped up area. That india guy really strong meh. He used his leg to break the tiles! Anyway coming to redo the whole living room next mon
Will stay at my sis place next wk.

KC, wow you good leh!

Kate, ya my gynae also says 3 line v high chance is gal n a frien who is father of 3 also cfm that.

Sherl, haha thats y I find it meaning but my family say not nice leh. Btw my EDD is 20 Jan. Thanks for updating.

Alethea, according to feedback Avient bottle abit hard to suck. Pigeon is easier as its softer but the cap cannot close v tight and tends to open easily which result in leakage of milk. Dilemma now.

Icylemon, huh really. That's sad.

Ask u girls hor, is it really taboo to shift things in the house when one is pregnant?

My DH is planning to remove some furniture from our spare room (to give to his relative) to convert into a BB room. Although he will be arranging for me to go over to my parents' place during the removal, is it still safe? I'm actually not pantang by nature, but I dun wanna live in guilt for the rest of my life should anything happen (God forbid!)

Dead baby found in staff locker

By Leong Su-Lin
Aug 15, 2006
The Straits Times

STAFF at NTUC Fairprice at Bishan Junction 8 had been noticing a foul smell coming from the staff locker area for days.
Yesterday morning, when they could not take it any longer, they traced the stench to a single locker, and used a spare key to open it up.

They found a dead baby.

Born premature, it still had its umbilical cord attached.

It had been placed inside a bag, before being locked away.

A witness, who did not want to be named, said the baby was in a semi-decomposed condition, suggesting it had been dead for at least two to three days.

With initial police investigations completed by about 3.30pm yesterday, the tiny corpse was put in a blue cardboard box which used to contain fruit, and taken to Singapore General Hospital mortuary.

A spokesman for NTUC Fairprice Co-operative Limited said the locker is located in an area accessible only to staff with passes.

Only permanent employees are assigned personal lockers.

Police have identified the female owner of the locker, who is assisting with investigations.

Had the baby been abandoned while it was alive, its mother could be charged with infanticide.

If guilty, she could be jailed for life, or given up to 10 years' jail and a fine.

Shoppers at NTUC yesterday afternoon were shocked and saddened to hear about the dead baby.

Some sympathised with the mother, while others chastised her for dumping her child.

Students Esther Lee, 16 and Shen Yan Ling, 16, called the mother 'heartless'.

But housewife Jane Choo, 34, who was shopping with her four-year-old daughter, said it was unfair to judge the mother without knowing more about her mental state.

'I hope she's okay - she must be under tremendous stress,' she said.

ginsengmum,
Your gerger very cute la, as long as got food can already, will stay guai guai. kekekekkekekeke
Now your 'hao' word complete liao, intending to close factory? kekekekke

Mrs Wong/icylemon/alethea,

Think it's a serious societal problem. Many teens nowadays are shortsighted, they do not see the possible consequences in the future lo. Very sad. Mrs Wong mentioned that many teens say they dun intend to have kids anyway so abort also never mind, but they never realise that their thinking will change when they grow older. When I was 15,16 I also didn't want kids mah, who knows just a couple years down the road I changed my mind.

Aqua, no feedback on Nuk. Good?

Alethea, we actually try to avoid doing any shiftin or reno but now that it's popped up so no choice lor. Was told its ok to shift as long as pregnant lady not there phyiscally. Actually I didnt expect them to hack the tiles today but the HDB guys quite experience. Told me to go to the room n not too see the process.

Alethea...actually I have all 3 types of bottles at home but my son prefers Avent...the cute thing is when they start to learn holding the bottles, their hands so small and the bottles so big, quite cute!

I like Avent also becos it's easier to wash...bottle is bigger...unlike Pigeon and Nuk, both are of the slim type...

zenn, nope...I thought he would have a prob but no leh...he started holding his own bottle from about 8 months or so if I remember correctly. Somehow he knows how to hold it. kekeke

Aqua, if u use Avent bottles, does it mean that u've to get Avent steriliser as well? If I were to get Pigeon, does it mean that the Avent bottles can't fit into the steriliser?

ginsengmum ur girl too young to understand... kekeke... anyway congrats to you.

aquarius i shifted my sofa on saturday nite. coz i drop something underneath. izzit ok??

btw mummies. pigeon came out with a new design of btls. something similar like avent. wide neck de. think i mite buy pigeon de btls. seems not bad. but some ppl told me tat avent btls got anti colic. aquarius can advise me on tat. thanks.

Icylemon, u r so cute!
I think shifting teh sofa a bit to retrive something is quite ok lah. Wouldn't worry if I were you. It's the major shifting and removal that I'm concerned with.

icylemon, ya the avent bottles now comes with anti colic...not so sure about pigeon though. Moving sofa to retrive some thing is ok.

Alethea...I tried using Avent bottles with Pigeon sterilizer...a bit difficult cos Avent's bottles quite big.

alethea i worried leh. kekeke...

aquarius okie. thanks har. anyway my friends who used avent btls & using pigeon sterliser sems ok la. but you as a 2nd x mummy. do u advice us to buy sterliser??

hey hey... talking abt mahjong! think we should organise a mahjong session la.. since got so many "legs" here... hahaha...

icylemon, ya lor...must organise mj!

Alethea...will definitely be better to get Avent's steriliser. But if want to use other brands still ok.

icylemon, I think hor I try to sterilise too many bottles thus not enough space. :p

Kate, as what the other mummies say, dun be sad that you have a princess. My mum has two daughters (including myself) and a son. She always say that my sis and I are more caring and filial towards her. As long as baby is healthy, it is already a great news. Plus baby girls are very lovely. Can dress them up in small cute little pink dresses.

Oh my, I feel pretty affected after reading the J8 baby death. Can't imagine how the infact struggle for survival

Wah, u all comparing milk bottles. I will see what you all say before deciding..heeh..

zenn - we din see 3 lines leh... but my gynae said the private part is flat... no extra thingy, so its ger ger.

kate - dun b disappointed... we can doll up our ger ger with all sorts of accessories.

Morning all~!

been trying to catch up with the posts... read until blur.. hahaha...

Kate,
u having bb gal? bb gal also good ma... so cute~! u should see ginsengmum's gal gal.. so cute!

gals, i just check wif my sis who will be giving me her brand new pigeon steriliser. she told me pigeon came up wif 'bigger size' bottles which is similiar wif avient. the new design pigeon steriliser are designed to fit the new types of bottles hence no problem wif avient bottles too.

zenn ya lor. i oso saw it at the bb fair. the new pigeon btls is like avent lor. wide neck de. better then the old type.

Do you girls still have food cravings? I find that what I'd liked in the 1st trimester have now changed. Used to go ga-ga over beef, but now, not so. My craving for frog legs also diminished quite a bit. However, what stays constant is my craving for chilli crab!! Yummy!

aquarius,
true, but i scare i use for a few mths then leave it to rot liao.. hehe..

icylemon,
alamak.. i din see the new pigeon bottles.. need to go check out some day...

zenn, so happy to hear what your sis says cos I am really keen to buy the pigeon sterilizer but juz concern that Avent milk bottles cannot fit into it. Think i will go to the bb fair and check it out later.

AletheaT, same as you, what I experienced in the 1st trimester has also changed. I used to have the nausea feeling when I saw fish last time..but no longer now.
Err..chilly crabs..yum....

Bluegrapes, exactly! Used to lurve fish like mad (I attack the fish head, cheeks, eyeballs, brains and all!!!) But I couldn't take steamed fish at all during 1st trimester and I had to force myself to take a little when my mom fried fish instead. Felt so guilty then, cos' robbing BB of the Omega-3 goodness. But now, I'm back with a vengeance and have been attacking all the fatty fish!