(2006/12) December 2006 MTBs

Jen,
me still leaving the option open.. :p haven't decide yet.. :p want to see if i able to tolerate the initial contraction pain anot.. if i can't even tahan mild contraction, will go for epidural.. else, maybe can try without epidural lor.. :p

i've been reading this thread since day 1 and have posted before. But somehow i feel that all of u so familiar with each other... i seems out of place, hence dun dare to post anymore.

Today saw 2 new mtbs joining u, give me some confident to post :p

my gal is 2.3kg at week37... very small hor... i have opt to go for epi c-sect on 4-dec at TMC (gynae: Dr TC Chang)
My 1st boy was delivered via epi c-sect 3yrs ago due to cord wrapped.

Hi vanessa
understand that u are an experience mummy.
Can u share with me tips to increase breast milk? I don't have a single drop of the BM the last time... feel so sad and guilty. i've tell my son that i am going to let him sucks this time round... hopfully i hv more milk. Very worry lor coz my mum and aunty oso no milk last time... *cry*

Is there any liquid flowing out now when u all squeeze ur breast? Mine nothing comes out leh... *cry*

Jen,
I am hoping to go natural w/o epidural...Let hope i can be as brave as Serene...Really want to read her birth story for inspiration

Vanessa,
Maybe u shld as yr hubby to video-cam down the whole process...That will be interesting

Jen,
isit?? i got 2 frens who solely relied on laughing gas leh.. they din tell me abt the smell though.. :p juz said tt it made them real high.. :p

JKJT,
me so far onli once got a small tiny drop of colostrum.. aft tt, no more liao...

JKJT,
kao_welcome2.gif
....we are all here to chit chat n share our joys and woes. Dont be shy

My boi boi weigh 2.6kg at 37weeks 4days...I also feel he is abit small. So now trying to hunt for durian and hope he can grow bigger b4 popping

JKJT,

Aiyo, me not experienced lah, just hun ri zi nia...
Milk production can be increased with enough rest, enough fluid intake, stressless and frequent latching. But u sure u will let ur son (3 yrs old) to suckle now? I wouldn't dare, scully they didn't know how to suckle n starts to bite.... my no.1, also 3 yrs old wanted to suckle, but I refuse, it's so awkward, but I will offer her my Expressed milk instead.

Think most likely u r stressed over the production and the availability of milk, bcos last time ur mum n aunty didn't have it. Breastmilk will only comes in 3-4 days later, so the colostrum is actually very, very little, hence u may think u don't have milk at all.

Let ur bb latched on asap after delivery and latch on as long as she wants to feed. Supply = demand. Don't look at the clock, some ppl insisted 2-3 hourly feed, this is not going to work for breastfeeding, cos bb only drinks a little colostrum, so it cannot last for 2-3 hours, hence latch on as long as ur bb show signs of hungryness.... it will also encourage early milk production... most importantly, be confident.... I also didn't managed to bf my no.1 due to lack of knowledge, support n confident, so don't be like me...

vanessa
haha, u and me ask same question...got 3G phone? =P

Jackie,
i think they dun allow to video the bb coming out...=P can only video our ugly contorted faces then! =P

hello!!

temp just left so quickly come in! aiyo miss you!!

Calynn gave birth ald?? :p no time to read the posting today..wil do so tomorrow morning!

HIGH TEA!! where is the venue??!!! 1st Dec is the day i start my 'tai tai' days!

btw..last evening went IMM buy xmas tree then saw SCOOPE!! bought the durian flavour ! so yummy! but i can't remember who is the mummy who is the lady boss ah!

Vanessa,

temp is like tat one..
just be a bit more patient...i also fear my temp will quit tat time when she kept having mc...now ok!!

can anyone enlighten how does contraction feel? n which part of belly it occurs? like the tummy lower part?? my bb really made big move a lot n kept hiccuping....

a friend who delivered at TMC early tis year told me that TMC has wireless point. Hence, we can bring along our notebooks... goes online even during our stay there

Vanessa
tks for ur advice. I will try and really hope to succeed tis time round!!
u know lah, during confinement time... with all the aunties and MIL around... keep saying i no milk... baby hungry , give FM better... so discouraging!

hehee i oso worry he will bite me but i just want him to have a taste of bm lor. :p

i remembered i latch him on the first day but nothing flows out.. not even colostrum. i even try to pump... after pumping for more than 15mins, only sweat collected!!

do u tink more milk flow will come if i pump out every 20-30mins rather than latch directly?

Jackie,

Ya hor, must remember to ask my gynae whether can or not, cos my last child liao leh, still dunno what is going on below like sad leh...

btw, just received Calynn SMS, believe u all had rite.... Wow, tot she admit hospital this morning, how come 1700 then give birth.... hmm, must really wait to hear her birth story...

bobianah,
Gynae already mention cannot record the birth process....Hubby can only stand by my side and do what he want. Anyway, dont think he dare lar....Very gross leh. Later see liao he *faint* ah

Choo,
Lil is the lady boss of Scoope at IMM
...Venue for high tea on 1 dec to be confirm.

Hi Berry n Serene...

CONGRATZ to Berry n Serene...

Serene...u r really inspirational...no epi...I wanna try hvg no epi too...but my gynae seems to c me no up leh...

Hi Bloom...

Hope tat yr bb gets discharged soon...I tink tat u r really brave...to go thru c sect w/o yr hb...

Hi Galz...

My stupid town council is doing refurbishmt works...n I hv been smellin paint every day...sianzzz...I hope tat itz ok...

I hvnt even finished packin my hospital bag...really laid bac...YEY...next wk I wil b startin my AL...

JKJT,

Pls don't try pumping unless bobian in the initial stage, cos it will cause more harm... most mummies delivered here early experienced cracked nipple (ie bleeding), hence if need, then use hand expression, more gentle than breast pump....

Ya, I can understand the stress, cos during my 1st one, my CL also keep stressing me that I go no milk.... one need to be relax in order to allow milk to flow, if we are too tense, our milk get choked up, that's y, some ppl suggested listening to music, in a comfortable position to do bfing.... If u really find that u got no milk, then seek help from LC or a pro-breastfeeding dr, they may be able to help u... trust me, only minority got no milk and still manage to bf with dr and LC help.... impt is u need to find a Pro-breastfeeding doctor, else they will simply tell u, u got no milk, have to give formula kind of reply...

Funny..i seems to hv problem posting today..

Welcome JKJT..feel free to post here! Dun feel out of place leh..we are all very friendly!!! heehee...

Jackie,
I got durian craving today..later will ask hubby to go buy for me...if u want to eat durian, better eat them quick..we are so near to EDD already..

Dora
hiccup for bb very common la...no worries.

Mae
Actually my bb head has been engaged since week 37. at Week 38, dr say not fully down to pelvic area yet so unlikely to give birth at week 38. Hope my bb come out in week 39.

dey and jackie
my MIL say one of the symptoms before labour is very bad backache wor...My Dr also mention that the head should be at our pelvic area for labour to come... In my case, although bb head engaged but not down to pelvic area yet, so Dr predict another one week to go....

Dear ladies and Shihui,

Kimi just SMS me...

She popped today.

Natural without Epidural.
Baby Mandy weighs 1.86kg at 33wk 6d.
She's fine so far..

Ladies & Shihui,
Calynn's bb Megan weighs 3.11kg.

Kimi,

Dey,
we should be in on sat ard 3 to 4pm. sms me again be4 you come over, ok?

Shihui/Jen, i tried the laughing gas, couldn't really take away the pain, but it makes you feel groggy after that. Basically everytime you feel contraction coming, you got to breath deeply the gas, suppose to help you relax.

Ladies, the long awaited photo of my princess Evee

587884.jpg

hi all~ wow...so many things happened today~ ^^

welcome mae, gwen n JKJT~ ^^

congrats to calynn n kimi~ ^^

QSG,
oO...ur bb is cute~ ^^ wonder whether my bb will got hair when he comes out~ WOW...so envy~~~ we got the 1st bb pix here le~~ ^^

jen,
i hv not seen my CL before n i will try bf loo~ haiz..dunnoe whether i will encounter the same thing like vanessa (clothing being lifted up by CL) but tink i must try to act "fierce"..hehe...somehow feel paiseh cos 1st timer mah~ ^^

wow..u all going for hi-tea~ ^^ i will be still working then so can't join leow. i olso imagine dat if one got contraction or signs of delivery hor, tink the rest sure very panick n will somehow be affected de...hehehe...tink the whole hotel or restaurant's staff will be as kan cheong as u all by then..hehe...tik hor, u all may consider bringing the hospital admission letters instead of the bag?? if really happens hor (choi choi), then get ur family to bring ur bag loo~ tink now better dun carry too many things leow. enjoy ur hi-tea~ ^^

Calynn, congrates! hope to hear your birth story soon.

Kimi, Congrates! Hope both you and bb are fine.

Qsg, ur princess look chubby. Yah, our first bb in this thread.

congrats kimi & calynn!!!! so many babies with names starting with m.

qsg, ur bb looks soo cute n contented!

hi tea on 1st dec is ok for me. 1 day b4 my edd. must hope that i wun pop by then.
chang, qianhui, if i see u go into contractions, think mine will start too! haha.

welcome gwen! another nuh bb!
think u hv to bring ur own receiving blanket. at least the admission letter says so.

mbb,
ur mil... same as mine!!! she asked me over the weekend who is cooking for me during confinement. good right? 38th wk then ask this kind of questions.

jen,
only hubby will be allowed in the rm while i breastfeed. :p think i will be really paiseh to flash myself at others.

dey, geri, jackie,
i also hv more discharge. gynae told me it's normal cos bb's weight is increasing, so the cervix feel more pressure n will give more discharge. but hor, my swab test results show some minor fungal infection already. gynae said it is still minor lah, so wun be treating it.

jackie,
i also hv that kind of tightening, followed by backache. hope it's bh. i want to go for hi tea! :p cannot remember where u stay, but i was told that jurong east ntuc is selling durian.

och, Jackie, thanks..I know he is stress, but he is not thinking rationally too. Did I tell you gals that when he ask his mom to come down, his father said she don't like to be in new places and he will come down too and when I ask him where they will sleep, he said they will sleep in the sofa bed (where I am sleeping now cos he is having fever) while I move back and sleep with him while he have fever? Engaging his parents in the newborn is one thing, but he is definitely doing it at my expense.

Shihui, not that I want to play play. I am beginning to wonder why he is so immature. Even now I am touching so much water sometimes my fingers feel numb (don't know if its psychological). Today I even have to cook for me. And yet he wanted his mom to come down cos he said he does not want to overload cos he is expecting me to wash the clothes etc too! And now I am boiling the logan drinks on my own. Basically I am standing more hours than him.

Geri, ehehhe..ok... sometimes god moves in mysterious..might come when you least expect it

Vanessa, yeah, will call the caterer tomorrow morning. Hubby is not happy about it cos he thinks that his mother can cook but the truth is that she cannot even cook normal meals let alone confinement meals. When I was at KKH, its still plain water lah..but everyday someone will come with a menu and ask you to choose what you want to eat tomorrow! :p But my milk supply very low leh... I still think its due to small breasts :p :p :p

Vanessa, another bf question. I think my left side stuck leh..got alot of funny things on the nipple which I suspected is dried milk. How to clear those? I tried using water and towel but does not work.

Sorry ladies, alot to vent, but really nothing like a crisis to see what some people meant by 'in sickness and in health'.

Congrats beibei!!!!! Another c section..sighhh....

berry, where does that blood comes from? Which pump are you using? When I was at TMC I also got blood inside. I guess depends on much/little. If really still got blood one option is to change pump/use hand to express for the time being until the wound recover.

QSG, so did the doctor say if you can drink cranberry juice during confinement?

conniemummy, don't think gynae do operations on piles right?

afcai, thanks

choo, ri you shuo si ye you shuo meng lah..u must be thinking of giving birth everyday so they translate into dreams at night...

MBB, hahaha.. I hope so but then hubby have to go back to work on Friday liao...

bohbiahah, why your parents, ILs so funny suddenly question your eating habits?

Qianhui, ahahaa..ask doc to induce lah! :p

Shihui, alot of people very ignorant when it comes to general knowledge.... so you must 'forgive' them. I heard alot of stupid things from some colleagues too, and not even with regard to pregnancy but things in general....

MBB, oh no..she didn't tell me about this when I sms her...why suddenly fever?

MBB, Shihui, Jackie..but better don't buy too much leh..I told my recently given birth friend I got 2 kotek and 2 sofy she said too much liao..eehhehe

Mae, Gwen, jkjt, welcome... still not too late

bohbiahah, your boss still so good say can tahan 3 months....

Jen, finally a gynae that admit epi will give backache! My gynae still tell me the backache is bcos we are carrying the bb so back problem..... Sighhh... sayang re hubby..seems that some hubby really no brain one....

Shihui, your updated list should include beibei right (though she didn't officially tell us :p)

MBB, Berry, I think kimi is about 34 weeks cos she is abt 1 week after me....

MBB, you are so funny... I also boil (blood) everyday ... that's why today I was commenting to my sis that the older folks always say we 'young people' 'what also don't know (eg, cooking)' but seems that alot of them don't know alot of things too!

yukiee, 80ml every pump!!!!!!!!! Wow!!!!!

Jackie, wah..Mt E so nice... KKH confiscated my hp long before I get wheeled into the operating theatre...

jkjt, try to massage first before you squeeze. The LC at KKH squeezed throughout my whole breast for so long before she manage to squeeze out one drop of milk :p

Fizz, thanks..no choice lah..I wanted to wait till he arrive but gynae said no..

Vanessa, I usually listen to 92.4 while pumping hehehe...

Congrats kimi and Calynn!!! Anyone has any idea which ward is kimi at ? Maybe I can pop in for a visit when I go to visit my bb....

QSG, Evee got wavy hair!!!!

och, I always call that the Singaporean attitude...always think that the whole world will evolve around them even if they decide at last minute (eg, last minute then ask abt CL thinking that you don't have to book one months earlier)....

morning!!

wow !! congrats to Kimi and Calynn!! so happy for both of you! glad kimi's bb is doing fine!!!
have a good rest!!!

today bb is 37weeks liao...

bloom,

hee hee really miss your long long post!

glad u are doing fine... oh...PIL's problem...sigh...really very xian.... hope my bb come out full term so my mil dun have to come over to KPO then i will be most happy liao! if not with her ard to give her 5 cent 10cent comment plus if she bring all her sisters up,i will be very very very PISSED OFF!!!! sure will get post natal blue if she does tat! like meddling with my handling of bb etc etc....

aiyo...last night got another dream...dream i was standing outside labour room with my gynae and another dr..we were discussing if i want take epi....luckily the alarm clock saved me..realy can't carry on with those dreams :p

Morning Ladies.....

I really got the addiction to this forum liao...last nite I tried to log in again with my hb laptop when he offered me, but heng, cos I accidentally shut it down...hahaha... else u will see my posting last nite liao...

Bloom,
Aiyo, really long posting leh....

I guess ur milk supply is due to ur stress that no one is helping u with ur confinement. Not too worry abt it. Just rememeber to keep cool, guess u will feel better when u start ur catering of confinement food. ming tian hui gen hao....

U don't stand too long leh, my mum keep telling me to sit n sit, cos after birth if stand too long hor, the womb will drop downwards. Furthermore, ur's is c-section, no good to stand for too long. Try to sit as much as possible (I know it's hard, cos ur hb not helping
Don't get stressed up, always come in here to vent ur frustration and anger, ur bb still not back from hospital, so u can take this opportunity, cos once ur bb is back, u will have a handful things to do.... Hope u can talk to ur hb abt it, cos I foresee there may have more problem when ur bb is back. Nevertheless, stay cheerful and remember u hav us to vent ur anger and frustration.

QSG,
Oh, ur gal, Evee.... so chubby..... aiyo.... see already feel like carrying her....yeee.....

Kimi,
Congratulation!! Thought bb is small, but I'm sure everything will be fine.... glad that both of u are well.... take care and try breastfeeding, most impt nutrients for premmies...

Oh, the last in the photo turns up to be in the front few....

Yesterday who was asking any one got pelvis pain?? I have... and it's very painful, can't even walk properly...sit, walk, sleep, turn, run, all got problem doing so..... sad man....

good morning!!
choo, u are very early...

been missing out on d post a few days n wow.. so many news! been bz at work (tryin to get everything closed) & home (coz hubby flyin off this sat, so better get him to do some housework first).

welcome to the newcomers! mae, gwen, & jkjt!

congrats to berry & serene (old news.. but new to me!)

congrats to calynn & kimi!!!

qsg, cutee evee! can't wait to see more n more photos of dec babies.

choo.. i also getting weird dreams nowaadys.. always dream that i gave birth liao... and usually wake up to touch my tummy to see if bb still there, n then touch panty to check if waterbag burst!

good morning !
Congrats Kimi and Calynn

jkjt, welcome
Don't feel left out lah, we are started somewhere too....will make you feel warm and welcomed

QSG,
Evee looks really cute and chubby and seems like she has big eyes too :D. Can't wait to see my own hee.

Bloom,
I say a Big AMEN to what you said heee...

And its ok to vent your frustration here rather than keeping in yourself. Did you talk to your hubby about it ?

good morning!
almost weekend!!!

Kimi, Calynn,
Congrats!!!
Take care and rest well. Can't wait to hear from you and see ur bb's pic!

qsg,
bb evee is soooo cute!

Bloom,
wah, ur post so long...
haiz, u so poor thing...but it's good to vent out and let it off ur chest. Abt my parents and IL, aiyo, they've been commenting abt my food for a long time liao, everytime repeat same thing...that's why even more irritating lor. Better still, lately my parents and ILs and us have been having dinners together like once or twice a week!

Jia you on your BFg okie?
And I think u shd call up the confinement caterer asap. Maybe can also get part-time cleaner to help you? Like those Amah-on Wheels service?

Morning ladies

Calynn, Kimi,
Congra and hope everything is fine

QSG,
Our very 1st BB pic......Evee is so cuteeeee...Really want to try carrying her....Wonder how my boi boi will look like

Bloom,
Hopefully when the catering service start thing will be easier for you and hubby. Try talking to your hubby and let him know who u feel. Can alway come in and vent your frustration k....Dont fall into the PND trap hor

BTW, how is your princess coping? Do keep us update

Och,
Jurong east NTUC selling durian ah??? Will try to get some after work

Good morning ladies......

bb evee is soooo cutie..

and a warm welcome to Mae, Gwen & jkjt..
I do have to agree that the ladies here are beri helpful.. help me clear many doubts.

ladies, any idea where did kimi deliver? TMC or KKH? her bb needs to stay in the ICU cos premature?

Hmm, high tea next friday.. veri tempting lei.. since i missed u gals on the last gathering, i am now veri tempted to take half day off to go meet up with u gals... i confirm my attendance later can? will definitely go if i can clear my work by then..

any mummies here experienced lost of weight? i went to my gynae yesterday and discovered tat i lost 1.2kg over 1 week lei.. was concerned, but the doc and nurses are veri cool abt it lei.. the nurse even say tat its normal when its nearer to delivery date.. is it true? and my gynae says tat bb will not lost weight one, so dun have to worry..

quite diff not to worry lor cos my bb is already on the small side.. she is only 2.6kg as of 36weeks (last week).. dun know how heavy is she now cos doc never measure yesterday..

now no more malaysia durians right? those durians in the market are all thai durians right? hmm, think must really go hunt for durians now to gain weight..

btw ladies, do u request to do the CTG test?

i asked my gynae yesterday.. he said tat CTG is only done when they suspect tat the amino(sp) water is not sufficent.. he took measurement of the volume yesterday and said tat mine looks normal, so dun need to do tat test..

btw, wat does CTG check for? is it the same one tat checks on the contractions over in the delivery suite? he said its for heartbeart lei.. abit confused now

next week will be doing varginal check.. is it painful?

Connie,
Do come and join us for the high tea. It would be fun

Not too sure if it normal to lost some weight during the last few weeks of pregnancy. If yr gynae is cool abt it than it shld be fine ba. Yr BB weigh look ok mah....Mine hor only 2.6kg at 37weeks 4days....So for the pass 1 weeks i have been trying to eat more and hope BB can gain some weight.

CTG is to check BB heartbeat and contraction (The same machine use during delivery). I will be doing my 1st CTG and varginal check tml. Hope everything will be fine

Good morning ladies..

QSG,
Baby Evee is so cute!
can't wait to see my boi boi too..hee

Bloom,
Can sense your frustration leh...things should get better when the catering of confinement food starts..at least u dun hv to cook and wld hv better food to eat..do come in and chat with us when u hv the time..can help u unwind..

Connie,
some MTB do lose weight nearing labour. so dun worry. it's also one of the "sign".

welcome to gwen & jkjt!

Bloom,
yeah, dun stand too much. yesterday spoke to a fren and she told me her fren's womb drop coz during the first mth after birth din rest at all.
so take it easy.
order confinement food and get a part time maid to help out since hb is going back to work tmr.

maybe your hb is still not used to the idea of being a father.
we at least hv been carrying the child for the past 8 odd mths. gradually we hv warm up to the idea leh.
no matter what, do get him involved as much as possible especially when bb goes home.
otherwise, they will continue to bo chap one.

and do come in here to vent as much as possible. like wat Jackie said, dun fall into the PND trap!

QSG,
bb Evee is soooooooo cute.
aiya, me very eager to see my production liao....hee heee. but must wait at least 2 more weeks
fingers crossed.

MBB,

har.. one of the signs? oh no.. better not be man.. but hor i noticed tat my feet swelling went down liao lei.. my mum said before tat once the feet swelling went down, its time to deliver soon.. opps.. better not man.

tonight must go back and continue to nag at my gal.. dun come out until 12 dec..

Gd morning!! wah.. so many posts to catch up today...

btw, anyone noe if calynn had epi c-sec or GA?? :p i forgot liao.. :p

Kimi and Calynn,
Congrats to both of u!! two additions in one day.. wah...

QSG,
baby Evee is soooo cute..
wish to carry her leh.. heee~ :p wondering how my boi boi will look like.. pls dun look as monkey as me.. heee~ :p

Connie,
i heard fr my fren tt viginal check is very painful... she was screaming.. :p but hor, the same fren went thru labour without epidural.. :p so not very sure regarding her definition of pain lah.. :p

Bloom,
take care.. come here to vent ur frustration when u free..
hai~ everything might hav come too sudden for ur hubby lah.. so dun blame him lah.. guy's tolerance for stress etc not as gd as gals.. :p once ur confinement meals starts coming in, u will be able to relax more liao..
n u may really need to consider having part time helper to help with housework.. muz rest enough as u had c-sec... dun move ard too much leh..
n how come u sleeping on the sofa bed?? is it very low? dun strain urself while getting out of bed ah.. take care leh..

Morning ladies

Congrats Calynn and Kimi!!! Glad to hear that mummies and babies doing well

Bloom
aiyo, you really sound stressed... yeah try to "subcontract" whatever you can lah, cooking, cleaning... etc.... If not those non-essential cleaning, just close one eye lor... dirty a bit never mind lah.... Rest is more important. Some guys are just not used to the idea of doing housework, think you have to slowly train your hubby. Don't feel so frustrated okie??? Post here to vent your frustration ... we're here to give you moral support....

QSG
Your baby is sooooo cute!!! Can't wait to see my own... but she's not allowed to come out so early lah.... at least 2 weeks later =P

Jackie
How's your backache? Gone liao?

connie
vaginal swab not painful one...just take a cotton bud (or smthg) and swab ur vagina only...very fast...1 sec over liao

Connie,
i was reading tis a few days ago.

signs of labour:
in a wk of two be4 labour, tis r some signs...
1.u feel a lightening or engagement when bb head drop to pelvic.
2.bb's engagement causes increase in pressure on bladder, you will urine more.
3.BH more frequent and may get stronger.
4.often virginal secretions increase a day or so be4 labour starts. if it's your 1st bb, you may hv a show as early as 2 wks be4 labour.
5.you may notice slight weight lose in the last wk.
6. some hv nesting instinct, wanting to clean the hse.

MBB,
hmmm.. think i hav a few signs leh... i'm going to toilet more these few days.. hopefully bb engaged..
n 1 keep wanting to clean the house... i'm very lazy one lor.. so it's surprising tt i kept insisting curtains to be washed etc... heee~ :p

i wanna share someting very funny i saw on the train yesterday.....
tis woman (ard mid 30s) sat across me boarded from Tampines. she put her hp mp3 on loud speaker and then tuck her hp in between her breast followed by taking out her eyebrow pencil and started drawing her eyebrow all the way to Paya Lebar stn!!!

in between, she will remove her hp fr her breast to adjust the volumn and tuck it back her breast....hee heee. weird or not?????