(2006/12) December 2006 MTBs

Hi Doremi,
acc to my Antental class Lacatation consultant, all mummy will have breast milk.

as mentioned by vanessa b4 that with much effort and preservance, one can overcome it. try to train yr breast to adjust to bb's need. the more bb suckle, the brain will stimulate the let down reflex which will produce more milk. it is supply on demand situation.

the LC mentioned that for the first week will be tough for mum and bb to learn the correct skill for the bf. one the first - sec wk passed, bb and mum will adapt to the bf skill and bb will learn to latch on. it is ideally to offer bf to bb within the first hr of birth as bb is most active that hr or else he will be sleeping then.one also cannot use soap to wash the breast as it will cause the dryness. just use water to brush thru will do. one also need to train the breast

some tips for u when bf:

1) do not offer nipples to bb. make sure bb graps as much of the areola as possible. bb will then use his tongue to stroke the milk out.

2) before bf, massage yr nipples and areaola by using yr thumb and index finger in a u shape twice. also massage the 4 side of breast by stroking towards the areola so that this will stimulate milk. this will help to spread the milk so that bb will have easier time to suck and also clear any blockage.

3) One need to support the breast with 4 fingers below and the thumb by the side, away fr the areola. tease yr bb's lower lip with yr nipple to get him to open his mouth.

4) do not offer bottle to bb to avoid confusion betw bottle and breast. bb will tend to choose easy way to suck - the bottle. if offer the colic drink, use spoon or cup.

5) wake up sleepy bb every 2-3hrs to feed (8-10 feeds per day).

6) trickle his chin if he fell asleep during bf.

if bb suckles well, he will have output of at least 5 urine and 3 stools per 24 hrs.

7) Engorgement and block milk ducts can be reduce by massaging the breast, areaola and nipple area to clear any blockage.Also do place cold cabbage on it (change every 2hrs) to reduce swelling or use warm towel if milk is leaking. but placing cold cabbage will reduce the flow of breast milk.

if there is breast infection, cold or cough, contine to bf to empty the affected breast more and to maintain the milk supply.

8) if one breasts are very full, bb will have trouble attaching to it and one need to massage or express a little milk to soften the areola before feeding the bb.

afterall, preservant and lot of times are required to train for bf. it is not a easy job.even tough 2 wk before, one go bck to work,one need to train the breast not to produce milk regularly. only need to pump out 6 hrs apart.

jiayou ....

Shihui, forget about this till now... heard that Cheng Choon also has the coconut husk mattress. Brand is Baby Land.

kimi, hahah.ok you got a cute nickname for that :p That's good news for no-blob-a-day! Else its really scary to deliver so early! Your MIL sounds really like a nice person!

och, have not discuss the cost with gynae first. Cos that day abit shock to hear the news so cannot think straight. Maybe I will check with her in 2 weeks time if bb is growing at the slow pace of 100g/week. But not sure if she knows the costs or not cos she just move to TMC earlier this year. But after hearing all the horror stories abt KKH abit aprehensive about delivering there...

Vanessa,..hahaha ok. but read from another forum article that its very difficult to get premmie to latch on..sighh..persevere!!!!!!!! ahhaha.. for me I suspect sure got 1st month celebration cos first grandchild for my in laws (though not grandson)/... die liao!!!!

CF, thanks!
Wow...wedding on a yacht! Must be real romantic!!!!

MBB, you mean no class for whole of Sunday 19th Nov??? ehhe..was still thinking of booking that day cos hubby will be back on 15th... now its my turn to worry that I cannot finish my package (got 4 lessons left). Hahah..Regina did not let him watch dvd? She usually does that for the morning session though he will still run over and disturb her.

doggiebb, but me born gan cheong and easily irritated..so even if I rest, my brain runs on high speed..ahahahaha..... yoga does not seem to help! :p

Vanessa, wah..your SIL thought she PHD in bbsitting har.... so egoistic!

feire, ehhehe.. thanks for the info.maybe I should get more milk to drink too..though I HATE MILK ! :p

I remember this morning someone mentioned that there is a 'timing' for the bb to latch on else after that bb will be more difficult to latch on right? What is the 'timing' har? First 24 hrs?

starluster, $650 for infant care quite ok right? Cos I thought its usually at least $900 one?

afcai, thanks for the instructions! Think have to print out else will definitely forget..ehahahhaa... so many things to learn :p

Hi Och,
dunno leh, that's what the Lacatation consultant and the mid wife said that bb will build up their own immune system as they grow.

hmm...wondering is there any pigeon breasf pump on offer?

Hi Bloom,
what is ecsatic (sp?) ?
haa... many of my col and ppls who saw my tummy said the symptom looks very like I'm having bb boy instead. but when I told them scanning is a gal. anyway, first time during the detail scan cannot see cos bb dun want to open legs. second time during growth scan, sonograph scan fr the top saying that it is a gal. dunno how true. what's so cute is, bb use her hand to cover her face so can't scan the nose, eye etc and the head also hidden in the pelvix.

my tummy only protude during my 7mth+ onwards or else I dun look pregnant.

dunno when is my next scanning schedule loh? will be gg for my next appt this coming thur but no scanning.

haa..my hubby will be
if bb turn out to be boy. I also fixed my mind that bb is gal, gal is more attach to mummy then and can dress her up nice nice. boy are more playful and active.

I only wash my bb 's clothes y'day. still got cloth diaper, blanket and towels have not wash yet, will be washing this sat. have u wash yrs?

yeah, durian season only on jun-aug and end of the yr loh.

Hi Jackie,
yup.agreed. impt fact is bb is healthy. my tummy look like a hamburger loh. belly btn started to protude out liao. bb is really active this few days.tummy like experience an earthquake.

Hi Vanessa Lu,
oic. a lot of postive feedbck stating that TMC is gd. I think I won't be choosing KKH for my next delivery liao. only those col (aunties of them think KKH is still gd cos it is a specialise in woman and child hospital mah). nowsday all young mummy go TMC or Mt A or E etc liao.

when I was admitted to hosiptal during april, I agreed, nurse only attended to u during their routine test. which class ward did u stay in KKH at that time?

do TMC has any medical student or doc? ask u did yr water bag burst at home during yr first and sec delivery? wondering can wash up(bath) if water bag burst?

Hi Bloom,
u are welcome.haa..maybe burn and drink it. ask bb to remember as well. :p
this is the tips which I got from my antental class. the trainer given us a booklet on how to breastfeed. so many tips inside.

anyway, babycenter.com also have inform on bf.

afcai,
oO..ur detailed information on BF made my eyes go round n round..hehe..thks. i was kinda taken back to BF when i attend the BSMG workshops wif my hb. perhaps the speaker had really pointed out most of the real life problems kua..making my hb to discourage me to BF n somehow my thots were shaken too loo~ anyway, all of ur encouragements here really kinda putting me back to BF again...

Bloom,
the midwife n LC of my antenatal class told us tt the critical timeframe for bb to learn to latch is within 1hr aft delivery.. during the 1hr, bb is most alert.. aft tt, most bb will juz want to sleep... :p

so hor, no matter how tired we r aft labour, we muz "dong" for another 1hr n learn latching with bb... :p wah.. muz drink chicken essence liao.. heheeee` :p

doremi,
it's actually gd to know the problems u may face during BF lor.. so far, i onli know most of the gd points.. :p hopefully i won't be disillusioned when i met any difficulties.. :p

Hi doremi,
yup, the things mummy afraid are breast engorgement, infection etc. but one must try to bf for the sake of the benefits of child. tough bf mummy has lesser sleep than formula feed mummy after delivery but I guess the time spend bonding with the little lovely ones and effort will melt away the pain.

that's what I kept telling myself also need to try even how hard it is. I know nothing on bf except only got to learn these tips and read books. me also first time mummy also have fear etc...but can't help need to overcome it. hopefully, delivery, bf will be smooth one. haaa...need to pray hard, hope bb will co-operate for both issues.

Hi Bloom,
yup, agreed with what Shihui has mentioned that during the first 1 hr after delivery, bb is the most alert. after that, bb will be sleeping then. need to wake bb up to feed.

yeah hor, need to include the brand of essence into my hospital bag later on.

Hi Shihui,
thks for reminding...with regard to the brand of essence.

goood morning!

afcai,
many thanks for the tips!

actually though i act gungho abt bf, telling ppl i wanna bf, the benefit of bf, etc etc... deep down i oso kinda afraid lor. coz usually i dont like my nipple to be "handled", feel like its v sensitive.. so i dont know how it would be like when bb suck n pull n tug(?).. maciam v painful like dat.. but will persevere to give my bb the best.

Good Morning Ladies,
Last nite finally have a comfortable sleep, cooling, no pain, no kick, no pee and no waking up. But tis morning I heard a bad news, my mum was worried mayb she won't be able to do confinement for me, cos my dad urinate blood last time, she scare it's could be kidney problem or something else which she needs to take care of my dad instead, hence I may have to consider confinement food. Anyone knows how long b4 hand we must order the confinement food huh?

afcai,

Thank you very much, you had explained the whole bf procedure very well. True, all these are only theory, practical will very much depends on oneself to be successful in BF. I did experienced much difficulties during my 1st 2 weeks of bf and on the verge of giving up, but with my hb support (very impt) that I managed to perservered and persist till now.

I think I choose B1 Ward (4-Bedded) when I'm in KKH and I do not think there are many medical student in TMC, so far I've met all professional type or mayb those just graduate, but their service or skill is definitely as good. KKH will be a better choice if happen that the bb may have any complication as they have the best and complete equipment for bb.

My water bag nvr burst at home b4 nor anywhere except the hospital
2 of my kids were both induced, or rather planned, hence my water bag burst on the hospital bed.....hahaha. As for when can wash up.... I think if ur bag burst at home or office, if u have the time, u may take ur final shower b4 heading to the hospital, but if ur pain is intense already, I doubt u have the time to take ur shower

morning!!

shihui,

how did you discover tat u got colostrum?
me didnt dare to try squeeze nipple..scare cause any stimulation...also is the 'meatball'ok..i also got a small one on left nipple...

btw Happy Belated Wedding Anniversary to you!!

Och,

tink bao $28 when CL just arrived then when she is leaving if u tink her service good can bao a bit bigger like $68?
for herbs/food wise,i will leave it to my dad and tat IRRITATING MIL...

sorry afcai, its typo. Should be ecstatic (overjoyed, delighted, thrilled, according to MSword). Yours is at KKH right? Heard that they don't scan so often. Private hospital scan almost every round. I have not started washing my stuff yet cos my EDD is year end. Hubby said he will help. We'll see what happen :p NO durians. hahaha..burn and ask hubby to drink..that's funny :p :p :p

Oh I am so excited today. Wake up this morning and got a sms from my eldest sis saying that my other sis had left for the hospital to give birth to her 2nd child! She is 3 weeks early!

Shihui, oh no..which means if its c section then will miss out cos bb will stil be very drugged during the first hour right?

Can drink chicken essence after birth (ie, officially confinement) har? If yes, then I will pack some into teh bag too.

Got a slight flu and throat also abit uncomfortable. Dare not take any medi, just keep drinking plenty of water. Hope can recover asap cause BB going to pop soon.

Shihui,
Oh ya hor....Happy Belated Anniv

Vanessa,
Oh dear, hope nothing serious for yr dad condition. Better check with doc and make sure.

Bloom,
During the BF class, the speaker actually say that we shld go for drug free delivery as much as possible so BB will be awake after delivery. However, it really depend on individual situation. After C-section, mummy n BB also need time to recover. Thus will miss the "golden" hr but it is still possible to BF

Jackie,
You and me in the same boat, has slight flu and throat uncomfortable. Hubby made Lemon Juice with honey to bring to office, now drinking it to give me more Vit C.

gd morning!! so tired this morning.. last night din sleep well.. kept flipping here n there.. wake up go toilet etc..
went to eat jap food at hong leong garden to celebrate anniversary last night.. the restaurant is nice.. very homestyle... n the food is very very yummy..
most of the customers there are japanese.. too bad can't eat sashimi.. :p

Choo, Jackie,
thanks!!

choo,
i was "exploring" my "meatball" few nights ago.. den aft exploring, i found a single drop of colostrum on my left nipple.. maybe i sort of overstimulate my breast while exploring bah.. :p aft tt, i tried squeeze abit but no more come out liao... these few days din see any oso.. :p

now dun dare touch nipple too much.. juz leave it there.. else later overstimulate n cause contraction.. heeee~ :p

Geri,
U also kana the flu bud??? So sweet of yr hubby to make the "ai xin" lemon juice with honey for u.....Will go see doctor ltr if still feeling uncomfortable. Cause worry it will affect BB.

halo! today temp sick so i can chat wholeday!!

MBB,

wow u really steady!!
if your MIL irriate you,u won't hesitate to give her a pc of yr mind! tink my MIL bully me cos she know i soft hearted one dun dare to go against her! my FOOT ok!

bloom,

wow so excited!!! 3 weeks earlier??! going to be 35weeks tis thur....can't help feeling nervous! been telling bb to come out almost 40weeks...

good morning ladies!

went to see gynae yesterday...bb at 36wks, weight abt 2.5kg. everything's fine...this is the first time i hv so many "complaints" to tell him - back pain la, feet swell la, cold and cough la. He was sympathetic but thot it was funny too cos i said i oredi go GP and medicine no bloodly use.
and that i refuse to see anymore GP tho my hb complain i snore cos of my blocked nose. So he prescribed some medicine for me. =P Then he suggested i take panadol or put "ko yok" on my pain areas. So, i went to buy some ko yok to put at night, and believe it or not, it worked!!!
still a bit pain but hardly noticable!
He oso said my hospital bag must be packed by now liao and I hv to see him every week from now.

Gynae oso say that if need epidural, use the pain as a guide. He say pain will only get worse and they need 30mins to prepare the epidural. So, if very pain oredi, just think, half an hr more, even more painful and cannot tahan, then quickly ask for it liao. Bascially, dun wait until pain 110% then ask for it. Or else too late.

Geri, jackie,
u 2 oso sick ah? same like me...take good care.

Vanessa,
I oredi booked with Natalessentials...the one that geri gave website. U can start to book anytime i think.

afcai,
yah, some hospital give enema, but it is for reason to prevent from blocking bb coming out, not abt infection/immunity or anything u mentioned previously. I'm not delivering at TMC...think u mistaken wif someone else?

Jackie,
Ya loh. I felt better compared to yesterday, and my colleague was telling me, at this stage, even tho doc give medicine its those very mild kind..eat already also can't help much.

Jackie, Vanessa,
Yap very thankful to hubby, he was the one looking after my gal, and getting her to sleep. Even tho he knows he always take longer time to do it, so he stretches her to about 9pm than get her to sleep.

Choo,
Hooray
today can chat whole day

Me turn week35 today

doggiebb,
i oso ordered leh... :p but mine is 2nd batch.. :p at first dunnoe shd buy anot.. let hubby see.. hubby immediately say buy... think hubby more "on" than me.. heee~ :p

bloom,

tink c-section still can bf w/in e hr lah if u dun choose GA. if epi, bb shldn't b too drugged? n once e bb's out, they'll bring bb to ur breast to suckle. at least tt's e practise at TMC. is tt considered BFing? my hubby told me rite after bb's delivered, if he/she's placed at mummy's chest, he/she'll instinctively 'crawl' or rather move towards mummy's breast to suckle! dunno where he heard fr, but so cute! all e best to ur bb!

vanessa,

confinement food order earlier got discount somemore, at least for e v popular natalessentials lah.

choo,

4 my case. e colostrum just kept coming out, no need to squeeze one n shldn't squeeze too. since i dun wear bra at home, by end o day, there'd b 2 patches on my blouse. sometimes, it even feels wet. sometimes e colostrum v yellow leh! dunno normal or not....

e area rd my belly button v blue-black leh! like having a ring o veins ard it. can feel e skin there's v thin too. quite scary... when bb kicks, sometimes can feel my skin tearing apart, feels like a small needle prick. wonder if my tummy'll burst!

shihui

your hubby and me fren fren!
i always buy first just in case when i want then can't find BP, then end up buying full price then not worth it liao. so stuff i think i will need one, will just grab first!

the other thing i am looking out for is actually the desitin cream for nappy rash. all the BPs are for like jurong or something, looking out for one that is nearer to me.

Kimi,

Congratulation! U r the lucky few... Ur milk may be in very soon, n if u r latching on properly, u shld not have any problem bfing.... and ur hubby is rite, if u did not use any drugs during labour, ur bb will b able to make his own way to the nipple from the tummy area and latch on himself. I saw this on a video clip b4.... I wish I could see n experience that myself.

Saw the menu liao, but I don;t like the food leh.... I tot confinement cannot eat beef? It's consider "Poisonous"?

Good morning ladies..
Last night slept at 1am..now super sleepy..Looks like most of us are either at 35th or 36th weeks already..so fast hor ..Me will be at 36 weeks in another 4 days time..getting more kan cheong..
My boy seems to push alot at the wall of my tummy very often..like he is going to break free from it..quite painful at time..

Doggiebb, Shihui,
Wow! You started buying books for your babies already? It would still take a while before they can start reading leh..hehe...I don't dare to buy any more stuff now..whole room is packed to the brim with baby stuff..anymore hubby will complain again..

Do u ladies start to feel a sleep and wake pattern for your babies already? I read that we can more or less deduce the sleep pattern of our babies when they r born by the time of activeness in our tummies now..

vanessa,
there are many different beliefs for confinement practices, so u just need to find one that follows what u belief. If you dun think can eat beef, u can ask them not to give u beef or try this other company:
http://www.newbaby.com.sg/
good luck!

doggiebb,

did u leave anything for ur frens n relatives to buy? seems like u haf bought everything liao! heh heh!

geri, bobianah, jackie,

nowadays so many ppl sick ar? cos e haze is bk? take care ar... got chance then sleep more. hmmm... qianhui hasn't been here 4 a while, dunno if she's ok liao...

me finally going botak jones later 4 lunch. but feeling nauseaus now, tink it's e stupid prenaforte multivit, makes me sick every morning. appetite hasn't been good. 4 breakfast, i struggle w 2 slices o bread... can barely finish...

dey

hehe..not for bb to read but for me to read to bb and show show the bright bright pictures!

kimi

got got! i left the generics for friends to buy...like steriliser, car seat etc (although we already state which brand and model lah
)...things like books, clothes and toys, we want to get those we like!

Vanessa,
That's why when bobianah and i heard you mentioned cannot eat beef at Qianhui's house, we were puzzled. Coz you mentioned cannot, but nataessentials has it leh. And beef suppose to be nourishing (bu3 xue3) not poisonous.

vanessa,

at 1st i'm v happy bt having colostrum so early (haf been leaking since a mth ago n i'm only 31 wk!). now i wonder y so early....like everything oso early (felt bb movt at my 15th wk) dunno is it a sign tt i might haf premature labour!!!!! i noe no logic lah! but so many scares nowadays..... *shudder*

n now u tell me my milk coming soon? must i start wearing breast pads? heh heh... but seriously, e colostrum stained my bra a couple o times. btw, pple, my breasts r seriously small so dun worry bt breast sizes ok?

re: confinement food. i tink there's a policy whereby u can request wat food u dun want. but there's a limit i tink. ur requirements quite strict leh, may b harder to find...

Kimi,
Lucky u to have colostrum flowing.. I dun have anything now..all dry! So worried I won't have anything to feed baby when he arrives. Moreover, I did a mammotomy when I was in my 3rd month..not sure if it will affect my milk flow..

kimi,
so nice.. u got colostrum flowing..
admire u leh...

doggiebb,
haha.. me sama sama... been looking at BP thread everyday.. hope i dun miss out gd deals... :p but not getting desitin so soon bah.. maybe will start getting all these creams n shower gel etc nearer EDD.... me still got abit of time left.. heee~ :p

dey,
the book not for bb to read.. it's to distract bb while i bathe bb.. hahaha... :p

shihui

you also eyeing the desitin also huh?
really fren fren! i also see see everyday just in case one BP comes up near my place then must quickly join already. these BPs fill up so fast one!

doggiebb, shihui,
I also always browse at the BP thread, and business thread
. And i always felt tempted to buy all the boys rompers and shirts. Aiyo think my desire for having boy too strong liao lah...hhaaa....

Geri,

Ya lor, I'm also not sure leh, that's what my mum told me lor....

Kimi,
Mayb ur bb is small, hence that's y ur gynae change ur edd to later date... mayb ur edd should be the initial one that ur gynae told u? Anyway, milk won't flow in yet as ur bb needs those colostrum, hence what I meant was usually ppl takes 3-4 days for real milk to flow after delivery, u may have it earlier than that. If u feel uncomfortable with the wetness, then u can start wearing nursing pad liao lor... I've heard some ppl also start wearing nursing pad from 7 mths onwards.

dey,

from when can we deduce bb's sleep/wake pattern? if it really follows, then i sian liao.... cos my bb like dun need to sleep one leh...

vanessa,

oh yah, 4got.... bb can really move up to mummy's breast? din they put bb on ur chest when u gave birth previously? or they put it directly on ur breast huh? if i request they dun put directly onto e breast dunno if they'll tink i'm crazy.... heh heh... then ask hubby to film it! but i'll prob b too exhausted to care lah...

doggiebb,

true true. me will get my books a bit later.oso want to get e zoophonics set 4 our bb. dr suess's bks r nice. eric carle's books r nice too! wanna get mandarin bks too but most o them like v obiang! v hard to find nice ones. can't seem to find any cloth mandarin bks...

geri!!!

another fren fren!
now i don't look at clothes BP at all...toooo dangerous! muahahah!

kimi

what is this zoophonics set? sounds interesting! yeah, can't find any nice mandarin books for bb at all!

morning morning to all

today cant chat long coz my fren from Aust is on transit and she will popby my place in awhile.
sooo happy coz i hv not seen her for awhile.
plus i got excuse to order Tiramisu to eat!!! yeah....

Bloom,
i am not so sure if Regina is conducting a class in the morning session on 19th. you better give her a call. the 4pm session is comfirm not available.

her boi tat day not interested in DVD, so was sticking to her lor

very handsome boy.

Bobianah,
you still have not fully recovered har?

Jackie & Geri,
pat pat....take more rest. i guess at this point of time, rest and water is the best way to combat flu for us.

Doggiebb,
i officially declare you as Shopping Queen

kimi, dey,
me same same, my bb like dont sleep too, every now and then can feel bb's movement, bb's legs or head or bum, if not like bb shiver in me.

doggiebb,
hhaaa...have to restrain ourselves to buy...if not, bb will never get a chance to wear those clothes since they outgrew so fast.

MBB

i got shihui and geri as fren fren too lah!

yeah lor geri! see see MBB, such restrain on my part! don't even look at clothes BP thread leh! kekeke!