(2006/12) December 2006 MTBs

Alabone, Hwee,
Aiya, woke up at 3.30am last night for Annette's night feed lor. After that can't really sleep...She ah, in the past fortnight, had been waking up for night feeds, since I started her on soy milk...maybe not as filling as cow's milk???

Bobianah,
Wow! Your wait is very long! But definitely worth it la...Hannah will enjoy JG - it's very fun. You will enjoy it too!

Your number 2 is also a girl girl? Hee, that makes choosing pri schs a lot easier...aim for the girls' schools. Pei Hwa is hard to get in cos it's unisex. Double the competition! But Pei Hwa's PSLE results are the best, compared to MGS and CHIJ *paiseh, KS mum here went to bio their PSLE track record liow*

Bobianah, you also live in Pei Hwa area????

Hwee,
How lucky you are to be in phase 2B! Should be high chance of getting in la. Brrr...July and August will be anxious months for us...

Bloom,
No la, Annette still not in pre-school now...a bit young. I will be putting her into JG sometime in the 3rd to 4th quarter of this year...those once a week programme. I wanted to start her earlier this year, but stalled cos of the HFMD scare.

kimi,
Last time whenever I was on bedrest, I will ask my mum to come my house and help look after Nicole. But Nicole was a big girl then (4 yrs old) so can also help me to fetch things here and there, my fabulous little helper, hee hee. Or my hubby will stay home and bath her. I will still feed her, but from the sofa lor. On serious occasions (cos I was bleeding till the 7th month), we will send Nicole to my mum's house. But no joke without her ard...will get depressed. So I watched LOTS of Sex And The City DVDs and surf the net to find other mummies like me, hee hee! But you must rest well and obey doc's orders horrrrr!

Alabone,
Your MIL story is HARROWING!!! Makes my hair all stand! Confirm I will turn hysterical if my kids come and tell me they swallowed screws! And I pei fu you for being calm then still!!! Aiyo, some older people are not cut out for looking after kids, cos they are not used to it....my MIL pushes all the looking after to her maid, and that's during those weekly Sunday dinner visits to her. And I was quite disappointed that she is not v interested to play with my kids. And I have one auntie who is turning depressed cos she is looking after her granddaughter! All these grannies are used to working outside la, I guess!

fizz,
no probs sharing. i can go on and go about her.

i can totally understand how you felt when you saw her drop his head. cannot then don't even try. newborns leh!!! at least your mil zi dong lah. mine??? when nat nat was 1mth old, she said nat looked like she's very hot. so took her right in front of the fan and let it blow at her!!!! can you imagine???? super cannot stand her.

this time round for my girl, i'm absolutely refusing to let her touch or hold. actually, i hope she doesn't visit at all. because previously, when she went to the hospital to 'visit' me after my c-sec, she brought cold barley water, yoghurt drink, chix puffs and cakes, ALL FOR MY HB ONLY. i was the one who had the surgery, went thru the pain, and she bought things only for her son.

so now you understand why i hate her so much. she doesn't show she care for me one bit, so why in the world should i show that to her??

linette,
yes. i think these modern grandmas are used to having lots of free time to spare with friends and such that they are not used/willing to take care of grandchildren. i won't blame them. i think i've the potential to be such.

which is why i am ever so grateful to my mum for helping and actually, volunteering to help with my children. so certain things she does or say, if i can turn a blind eye to it, i will.

discipline case:
yesterday when we went over to my mum's place, we heard jared crying. turned out he for no apparent reason, had gone to give natalie a huge bite to the side of her such that a piece of flesh came off!!!!!!!!!! and she was bleeding. my goodness.

he bit her and he dared to cry when he was scolded by my mum. so hb and i took over disciplining him. he was yelling and crying and crying sooooooo badly that he was trying to induce vomiting. i hate it when he does that (and a lot of children do). so hb raised his voice at him to stop doing whatever he was doing and he cried even more uncontrollably. then he wanted to rush to my mum, who was hovering around coz she was soooo worried (coz jared was wailing as if we bit off his flesh too). then i had to keep telling her to go away (coz hb and i were already there to discipline him n too many pple ard will only spoil it).

so i told jared that i wasn't raising my voice at him and we're not scolding him, there wasn't a need for him to cry that way. but he continued crying and we let him for a couple of mins before hb held him and sat him on the lap, after which he calmed down.

so we did all the talk lah. asked him why he bit nat, that it was incorrect, it's considered bullying and nat would be afraid of him and not dare to play with him in future. he probably understood coz later on, he went to hug, kiss and said sorry to nat.

then i said coz he was a naughty boy, we had to confiscate his thomas and friends trains for a while (when i told him that, tears welled up in his eyes again coz he lovesssssss thomas and friends to bits - so i confiscated only when he was not there to look, less painful for him) and for the next couple of weeks, no more new trains for him.

quite sim tia natnat leh. one hole now on her left side. but she's the happy-go-lucky kind. stopped crying soon after and was happily running around. then even took toys to share with jared.

i hate children who are biters and my silly jared has somewhat turned into one. arggghhhhh!!!!

paiseh ladies, another lor sor post...

Morning Mummies

Kimi
Good to know that you haven't popped yet, phew!! I know its not easy to bedrest lah, but must still do it ok? Ask your mum/MIL to come take care of Mandy. I also bedrested for 2 weeks in the 1st trimester, and also when I was 7mths preggie with HFMD (simply because it was too painful to walk!) Just lie there and watch TV lor.. I was even watching bo-liao taiwanese drama serials!!! :p

Alabone
Haiyo... your MIL hor... really cannot make it leh... did she bring up your Hubby?? my MIL is the exact opp lah, watch JT like a hawk every sec, so make herself sooooo tired when her health is no good... and of cos JT is sooooo spoilt when she is with my ILs.
Poor Nat Nat... sayang... when I read the portion that a piece of flesh got bitten off, my heart really missed a beat.... can feel the pain for her... haiyo... must really teach jared liao... if not your #3 so small then jia lat liao...
Can you give me the tel number of your PD? I also thinking to change JT's PD cos its so far, and quite ex also...

Fizz
Wah your MIL also another one... but ok lah, at least she knows what she did... by the way, UHT milk dun need to keep in the fridge if you dun open it.

Bloom
You better let Kate try the UHT milk at home 1st, in case she dun like the taste and reject it. Yah lah if hubby is around can let him run after JT, but if he is travelling, I won't be so brave to bring her to outdoor places where I have to run after her like siao...

Alabone/Fizz,
Wah! Looks like we have similar MILs...the "dunno-how'to-look-after-babies" types. But luckily, mine, like Fizz's, a bit more automatic. She will admit that she doesn't really know how to carry.

Alabone!!!
Ahhhh! Poor Nat! A piece of flesh bitten off!!?? Poor her! She is a real brave girl. Yah, your discipline method is good - taking away his favourite toy so he will learn. Dun worry abt him being a biter. After this discipline bout, I don't think he dares to even nip Nat!

For me, when Nicole cries uncontrollably...I will impose time-out, cos she is big enough. Leave her in a corner or room, and tell her she will be there for 5-10 minutes (usually experts say lengths of time outs should be 1 min for every year of the kid)...and it's usually very effective for her to cool down, think about what she did wrong, before we proceed to have a talk with her. With Annette, she had been throwing a lot of tantrums these days...I think she is still very young to understand time outs!

Dora,
You poor thing - kenah HFMD during pregnancy! Wah liow! Oh did you ladies hear of one 13-month-old baby who contracted HFMD recently, and I think the virus is now attacking the brain...meningitis, I think. And the baby's now in serious condition. My heart really goes out to the bb and the parents

alabone, wah, your mil very scary.. i must be thankful that mine is not as bad... probably just some differences in thinking and bringing up children... and probably was used to looking after my ger for the first year and she suddenly came back to stay with us end of last year... was really pissed with her initially... but after these few months, have kinda of learn to let go... is the "hole" in Nat healing?

dora,
yes. must teach him. sekali he go bite cadence i die... hope he learns after this and won't do it again...

PD's no: 62696928

linette,
i hope he learns too. i make jared take time-outs too coz he needs to calm down. nat so far i've not punished her like that. will definitely do so when the need arises.

yingling,
the wound stopped bleeding when i saw it. a tiny bit of flesh came off. but she didn't complain of any pain afterwards. just bit yesterday lah. cannot heal so fast leh. shd heal soon lah.

dora,
oh u were on bedrest too ar. wah! oh, my rm has no tv so i can only make do w books, papers, cd player n lappie. hahaha. yet i must hide in my rm, be out sight fr mandy as much as possible cos otherwise v hard 4 her to adapt 2 my mum feeding her etc etc. n she will oso cling on to me n ask me to carry. u said it b4 oso rite? outta sight outta mind.

i'm basically bright n cheery in e morn. but whiney in e evening. hahahaha... i tink wat i can't stand is e headaches n nauseas n giddiness. but at least i haven't started shaking!

linette,
wah, feed nicole fr e sofa? how did u do tt? really pei fu u leh. u must b a really strong woman. i know u had a tough pregnancy. n now i'm whining here. so paiseh.

my mum is here to help. but i still play w her lying dn, gif her hugs, n read to her lah. ting is i lie dn liao just feel like sleeping. hahaha. so feel q bad tt i keep falling asleep while 'playing' w her. thx 4 sharing.

alabone,
aiyooooooooo. ur mil hor... post more stories leh, so entertaining 2 read. or i so sian. *blink*
n poor nat! aiyo, serious bo? wat did e doc say? but she really le tian pai hor, still can play happily.

bloom,
i let mandy drink meiji fresh milk, they come in 200ml packs. sold almost everywhere i tink. but if u're going to somewhere w/o supermkt den u better bring UHT fr home bah.

bobianah
the CHIJ there not competitive meh? tot all IJ almost the same? me and hb came from same pri sch and also no more liao, so now only hope left is Pei Hwa. The other sch near my place (within 1km) is De La Salle, another super hot school, also cannot get in one lor. maybe i should have taken a volunteer form earlier too. :p

Fizz
no problem. the full name of the sch is Pei Hwa Presbyterian Primary School. with that you'll know. just the name can't tell.

can Cae finish the pack of milk? so far i let Tim try, he cannot finish one pack of milk tho he usually drink 250ml for his milk feed.

Linette
i dunno considered lucky or not to be in phase 2B la. for all you know ballot we not lucky enuf? sigh!

dun think soy is not not filling. maybe growth spurt? or teething? Tim also hasn't been sleeping thru lately. though not night feed, he will just wake up and cry and climb onto my bed and snuggle right beside me. sigh!

alabone
scary story but interesting. keep them coming. me kpo....hee hee....hope nat is ok....she must be in so much pain! :eek:

Bengchoo

Till today, I still have no idea how I contact HFMD then, and there wasn't a HFMD epidemic back then like it is now. So actually the virus can be any place any time... just a matter of heng suay lor.. and that time I was very very tired at work, so maybe immune system down. Yeah HFMD for preggies is really very xin ku. Till today I still tell pple its worse than giving birth, cos adults usually have it worse than kids. But fortunately I didn't have ulcers in my mouth, if not preggie and not being able to eat I also dunno how ah! But it was so painful and itchy, I couldn't sleep for 2 full days, and everytime I put a little pressure on my soles or fingers/palms, another blister will come out. So I get blisters even by typing, holding spoon and toothbrush!!

Kimi
Glad to know that you are at least cheery in the morning lah. I know how it feels to be confined and sick and alone. I was all alone at home cos hubby couldn't take leave from the 3rd day onwards. My dad only delivered packed lunch for me and left, cos I dun wan to infect him... so the whole day whining alone on tbe bed alone.... you have been so strong, so just hang in there for this last lap and hopefully Barry can hang on there till at least 34wks!

bobianah,
frustrating n exasperating! coz she really "ti gong" me as if i am invisible or talkin to the wall. one thing for sure, this gal got a stubborn streak in her.

hee.. so straightforward for you to decide to continue hannah's classes. its really hard to figure out sophia.. coz she will be crying terribly when she sees mygym insisting that she don't wanna go in... but once she's inside the playarea.. she's happy liao.
1438927.gif
she just ended her term... and we didnt dare to sign her up for another yet.

bloom,
tat time she sang the alphabet song.. with some missing alphabets.. heheh.

alabone,
poor poor nat!! must be so sim tia for u. yesterday evening brought sophia to the playground. and she was pointing to one boy (about her age) shoes - barney. then the boy sudddenly kick her. she just stand there stunned. think got a bit of blueblack lei. that i oso sim tia liao. though she got quite a lot of blueblack on her coz she's really quite tomboyish n rough. but at least those were caused by her ownself.

kimi,
jia you! can watch dvd on lappie. not so shiok, but will do la.. ;)

aiyoo.. all talkin abt p1 liao... and i still dunno the details of how they categorize those phase. both hubby n i not from here, so does that means it cancels out all chances of good school? are those neighbourhood school really that bad? i see the one nearby - got a lot of banners boasting their own achievement lei.

Kimi,
Easy for me to feed Nicole from sofa then cos she was 4 years old liow. She will just run to me after she finished every spoonful. Aiyo, you are a lagi stronger woman - look at how you coped with Mandy's birth, and I am highly convinced you are a wonderful mummy. Whining is good hor - to keep depression at bay! Jia you! Really keeping my fingers crossed for you and Barry...ask him to guai guai stay in your cosy tummy till after 34 weeks hor.

Hwee,
Yah, maybe the culprit for their frequent waking up at night is teething, or maybe night terrors? Cos I remember Nicole last time also started waking up frequently and crying ard 18 months to 2.5 years old.

Starluster,
Goodness, Sophia is so advanced, can sing ABC song liow!!!????????? SO clever!!!! Oh my, my Annette is miles behind, hee hee. She only knows how to make animal sounds, like snorting for pig, moo for cow, sss for snake...no singing for sure, aiyo!

Starluster, how old is Sophia? my ger used to be able to at least call mama, papa etc... now recently she fell sick and now that she has recovered, she only know how to whin and "ah ah ah ah", no longer calls anyone of us... just use hand gestures and cry... should force her to call then react???

dora,
aiyoooooooo. tt time u so cham leh. so hor i shld consider myself lucky. still haf my mum here to help and talk to me. n today's e last day o sch so hubby'll b on hol fr next wk! yippee!

oh, won't haf chance to bounce 4 a long time. so i bounce here.
hehehe

oh act i'm v happy 2day cos yest my mum n hubby proved themselves. i din need 2 prep mandy's food or feed her. tho she fussed but they both managed 2 find ways 2 deal w her. so impressed w my hubby lor cos he din lose his temper at all. n i was v guai, just hid in e rm, refrained myself fr going out even when mandy cried.

starluster,
ya hor. i can watch on lappie. stupid me. really lie until gong liao!

n sophia can sing ABC song? impressive. i dun tink mandy has even heard e song b4 cos lazy mummy me neber sing.

linette,
aiyo pls pls pls. i always feel e really strong ppl r e ones who dun whine. who just do their work n take watever they hafta silently. i'm a chao ji wu di da whiner lor! my hubby always complain i whine too much.

but hor, u're rite leh, it really makes me feel better.

hihi!
wah.. suddenly the forum filled with terror stories... but it's interesting to read.. :p

suddenly talking abt P1 ah... seems so far away leh.... :p i wonder if there's any gd sch in bukit batok...
anyway, i still have my old pri sch to fall back on.. but it's at Sin Ming (near Bishan)... if i really want to send PH there, i got to move house liao lor... else travel fr bukit batok to sin ming every morning, will go crazy fr lack of sleep... :p

alabone,
aiyo.. so scary.. hope nat nat will recover fast fast.. luckily kids at their age heal very fast.. she shd be okie really soon..

kimi,
ahhh.. i'm so excited for you.. like wat the other mommies said.. muz rest alot leh..
it's okie to whine lah... i whine alot too... :p as in, really the whining sound.. haha.. :p

alabone, dora, just a short one (very busy today but wana reply on this..)

that pd was the one i am trying to move away from..cos he everything also steriod cream, plus quite condescending IMO... like when he gave steriod cream for mozzie cream, i ask him if there is anything non-sterioid, he said have, but very expensive (in a u-cannot-afford-it tone)... and delittle my usage of california bb calendula cream as bb moisturiser saying taht its herbal (calendula is marigold) and i cannot trust them. Then when kate had cough > 2 weeks, he said in less than 2 weeks she will fall sick again saying 'its like that one'. and the way he diagnoise her always change. today said he is very sure its x virus, then when she din recover, said very sure its y virus. Give me the impression that he anyhow guess. But I have to say he is very popular, alot of pp recommend him.

hi bloom,

huh... that PD like too chin chye lah. how can everything prescribe with steriod. doesn't he know that it is no good to use as it thins the skin? and to think he gave you the you-cannot-afford attitude. can't stand those who gou yan kan ren di one. change change change. the baby bear's PD is good. he's the one i go to when the kids fall sick. coz the one the kids go to for injection and checkup is so far away.

yeah. i hope nat will recover soon too. poor her.

hmmm, like my stories ah. then i shall write more here to entertain kimi. hehehe.
what do you want to know huh??

Mummies, been busy so nowadays no chance to read postings or post. Health also not very good, my slipped disc condition like also getting worse..last time only affect right leg and now left leg also...
haven been able to avoid carrying Evee or heavy stuff totally. hiaz...hope i dun have to end up going for surgery. Been coughing almost every nite for past 1 month (day time totally ok) then been experiencing breathing difficulty 3 times over past 3 weeks, so afraid i would suddenly kenna stroke/heart attack etc...any idea if i could have asthma bec my coughing is only at nite but seems got wheezing when i cough. I never have asthma and wondering if adults can suddenly get it. Had wanted to see doc today but they shifting to new place so closed

Next week bringing Evee for 18mths assessment. Hopefully won't get "scolded" by PD as Evee weight is only 9kg. He had previously asked us to give her Pedisure but we gave up after a few tries.

Dear QSG,
hey, coughing for 1 mth not a laughing method, not gd for lungs and maybe end up serious issue. have u consult doc (even chinese physcian) for that? for coughing, usually, western doc will give u either the pink or black syrup which make one sleepy only. for me, it does take effect only me, so i go for chinese physican now. right now, I also on TCM medicine. I also encountered chest tighness on and off. doc told me that it is lack of oxygen pumping to the blood. the cause is to relax and not to be too stress. for me, doc did ask me if any of my family member got asthma or not so he suspected asthama too. yes, adult do will get asthma suddenly as what my col told me. she herself dun have any asthma before. she developed it after delivered as her body system is weak. hence, she also advise me to go TCM to get some 'pu' so that our body (after delivered) will readjust back. tough TCM is slow but it helps in the long run, I dunno if u believe in chinese physcian or not.

Chinese physician recommend specialised medications & approachs for every individual patient. It is a longer path for better health & state of mind. Besides trying out the recommended path, as a patient, we have to be more aware of our daily lifestyle, food intake as well as taking care of ourselves.

hmm....terror stories of in laws. usually, in laws and DIL very hard to get along (there are exceptional case). my in laws also dun even touch tx (only carry her once during her full mth, that is) even we go to her hse every sat. MIL is busy in the kitchen only. the only time, tx and her ah ma (my mil) 'close' is hi and bye period (hand being shake and head being touch). hai..but not the same life as what my sil's bb. at least, my mil carried my sil 's 10.5mth bb all along.

In regarding to approaching in laws for children related issues, I'm sure there will definitely be some degree of diff views on the same matter. Again, these depend on individual set of parent's expectation, situations and the tolerance level. Some requires them to look after our children whereas some are just dropping by just for bonding purposes etc. When it comes to this, there again many kinds of in law characters so sorry still depend on case basis rather than labelled them simply because of 1 upsetting example. It could be the in laws behaviour only happen when it comes to certain ppl or the other way round. As an outsiders, we cannot comment much though.

so to err is human. it just like the yellow ribbon project. everyone do make mistake.if there is no chance given to them (refer to the yellow riboon project), what will they be? repeat their mistake again or....maybe now, the in laws is trying to make up what she did (guilty). that's why she is trying to get close to her grandchild now. she is afterall their ah ma and who in the world will a granny harm their grandchild (she luv them more rather than harm, correct me if I am wrong)? she might be hurt internally when she is treated such way. she cannot voice out bec she is the one who is in the wrong in the first plc. hence, all she can do is to wait for the day "where the sun is out". of cos, as the 'victim', it is hard to forget and forgive and even to open the heart wide. as a parents, we will try to protect our child as much as possible. but I remember one of my col told me that dun need to protect so tight, when it is time for them to be independant then let them go. eg, one case which I heard from my col that when the son go army, he is at lost cos at hm, everytime, he is well protected - in the sense that his needs are well taken care. he dun need to think so much, what he want then will be given then. he dun even know how to take a bus cos his parentets always ferry him to and from. another case is this lady whom also grew up in well protected environment. she is now a working adults. till now, his parents will ferry her to work to and fro. one of the day, wehn his dad's car broke down, she dun even know how to take a bus home. so in the end, she took a cab home to and fro. aqnother case happened to my bil. his wife and my in laws dun get well bec of kids's issue. FIL gave something to her kids one of the day (that's time they are living under one roof) and the wife just told the kid not to anyhow take food fr FIL cos his hand dirty (I dun deny, fil 's hand is dirty and I myself will not let tx go near it. if so, will wash her hand after he touched her) cos he likes to sneeze/cough etc in it. then FIL so senitive (he always like that, bad tempered even scold my mil as if she is his maid. btw, fil is half stroke so bad tempered) and scold the wife so rudely in vague language. of cos, the wife is so angry and from then onwards move out and dun ever step into their hse. even cny period also...they will move to msia and dun even allow bil to bring their 2 gars too.

think of what if the same problem fall on you, if yr hubby treated yr mum this way, will one be sad or what will one do?

re: PD.some ppls mentioned that PDs are the best wor.... hmm..it seems that not all PDs are gd one. tot PDs shd be more concerned and best doc since they charged more.

re: Calling ppl asking for sample cheapskate is awful! These depends on what kind of samples & esp the expiry date. of cos, ppls just get the sample for their bb to try so that they can see which brand suit them. this applied to playgrp trial(also need to pay mah) as well before decided to sign up one. but of cos, they are some ppls who is just 'yao gui' type.

re: exposing toddlers to many activities/classes so young.

Exposing toddlers to swimming, playgrp etc to experience and discover their talents are some ways of letting them to do so. When it comes these, it's up to individual set of parent to do what they like. Ultimately these are up to the children's choices too. there is nothing wrong to expose them to VCD and so much of tv too. by watching tv, they also can learn something rather than just stare at the four walls in their hse mah. not only that, by bring them to supermarket is also eye-opening for them. one can learn many thing fr there. eg how the real fruits look like, the veg etc...rather than flash pic card only.

that's the comment that I have and what I shared my in laws 's case.

Heard from the news and newspaper that baby under the age of 6mth cannot consume too much water. it will be bad for their kidney as too much of the water will tend to destroy or reduce (forgotten) the sodium.acc to the news, if the weather is hot and also due to constipation then consume of water is ok.

wondering will it affect the toddler if they consume too much water? any comment on this?

QSG,
wah.. ur condition sounds really bad.. hope u will get well soon.. hav u tried boiling nan2 bei3 xin4 with pi2 pa2 or ji2 bing3? it helps soothe the throat.. u can go to the medicinal hall to ask the uncle.. usually they hav gd recommendation..

afcai,
it's not gd for both adult n kids to drink too much water.. bcoz too much water will flush out the minerals we need in our body.. so be it baby, toddler or adult, we shd not over drink.. i think watever we eat/drink, moderation is the key..

hi qsg,
i had similar condition as u b4. doctors should be able to give u ventolin or other inhalers to help ur breathing at night. adults do develop asthma but it's not often that they develop the condition. however, asthma-like symptoms can appear for a period of time n fade away after a while. do get some medicines to let u rest n recover.

qsg,
oh dear... your slipped disc prob huh. i remember we shared similar probs. my was very bad at a time and since there's no medication and such to help us, my doc gave me these plasters called 'kenhancers' to use. i try not to use unless i'm in too much pain. suppose to be pregnancy safe... take care ya?

Afcai...

I dun keep track of Cae's water intake...I m too happy tat he drinks lots of water...he averages oni abt 200ml per day...is tat too lil???...

Alabone...

*Ouch*...poor Nat Nat...she muz hv felt awful wif tat "hole"...howz her wound now...

Cae loves to bite his mummy's shoulders...even when I scold him...he tinks of it as a game...when he bit a lil bit of skin off my shoulders...I was oredi whinnin abt the stingin feel...haizzz...(I cant imagine how Nat Nat felt)...altho I understand tat itz not gd to use too much neg words on our totz...I cant tink of any way to tell Cae not to do certain tinks...itz really "No beatin", "No bitin", "No jumpin", "No tis No tat..."...

QSG...

I actually hd a prolonged cough which started last Dec til Mar...it ended in me hvg bronchitis...when I exhausted all the antibiotics n med at my GP...n my X-ray showed tat my lungs r fine...I was eventually referred to a chest specialist at Mt E...his med is gd...n I actually recovered...if u wanna his ctt...u can PM me...hez very generous wif his mc too...haha...

Mummies...

Suddenly I wld like to switch Cae to Bisphenol A free btls...I noe tat itz a bit late...but since I m stil sterilisin his btls...(okie...I guess it makes no sense tat hez usin non-sterilised utensils)...I tot itz better to even get started than not at all...I understand tat Bfree is not tat gd...do u hv any other recommendations???...

Hello Mummies
Hope everyone had a good weekend. Its the start of the GSS, anyone already actioned liao?? :p

QSG
You only cough at nite? That sounds like "cold" cough. If your cough is too intensive, you will have some wheezing sound. Asthma is when you have wheezing even if you dun cough very intensively (I suffered from asthma till 12 years old). I agree that sometimes those prolonged cough its better to see a chinese doc, provided that you have seen western doc and you dun have infections/bronchitis etc.
Like JT kept having running nose and a lot of phlegm ever since her fever 2 weeks ago, cannot keep taking western meds also mah... so on Sat, we walked past EYS and decided to ask them if there's anything suitable for her age, and they recommended Ba Bao San for young children. After 2 times, can hear that her phelgm has significantly decreased. Maybe you can try going to EYS and describe your symptoms to them and try. But if there are no improvement after 2 days, then you better go and see a doc (chinese or western specialist)

Dun worry so much abt Evee's wt lah... as long as she is meeting all her milestones and happy, should be ok....

But just to share with you, as you are probably aware, JT also had a lot of eating problems and was only 10th percentile at 1 point of time. But ever since she went infant care, she has been having very very good appetite, and even managed to drink her isomil from the straw cup! She was 8.6kg before going to infant care, and 5 weeks later, she is abt 10.2kg!! I still haven't figured out why, but now she eats much better at home too.

Afcai
I have read an article that there was an adult who died because he drank too much water. I think the study was just highlighting the possibility cos infants are so much smaller so its much easier to drink too much water. But I guess most pple in Singapore are ok, where most babies drink milk most of time with only small amt of water in between.

Dora...

Kekeke...GSS ah...I banged Toyrus on Fri liao...

(Nowadays shoppin is always for Cae...seldom seldom seldom for myself liao)...

ying ling,
my gal dec 06 bb, tats y i m in this thread mah

linette, kimi,
my gal can sing quite a number of songs. think coz we frequently travel back to muar and we don't have in-car entertainment except for the cd player, so those few cds kept repeating over n over till she can memorize lor. but of coz not say every word she remember la... some missing words, some her own words. and in her small mousy voice. must kinda strain our ears to hear. also must give credit to my mum, she has been teaching my gal well. for eg, she taught her numbers 1-10, opposites, etc. recently, she taught her how to say our names. hehe.. very cute. the most most endearing thing is that sometimes when i'm carrying her, she will say i love you unprompted. tat really melt my heart lor.

qsg,
your condition sound really bad. pls do take care. i think can try chinese med as recommended by dora.

fizz,
i'm using Pigeon PES bottle. It got a yellow tinge, giving it an aged look. My hubby saw it and ask me how many century old is that bottle? hehe. I dunno whether u still wanna get the bottles now since we are supposed to weaned them off from bottles? But I dont tink thats gg to happen in near future for me. Me oso still sterilizing, coz my mum say its easier than rinsing it with hot water.

Dora,
Wowie! JT weight increased err...1.6kg (sorry, took some time to do the math, m really bad at numbers :p ) in such a short time!! makes me wanna enrol sophia immediately lei. she's only 8.8kg over the weekend.

Star...

Wow...yr Sophia's linguistic skill is very very very gd leh...it was over the wkend tat Cae finally pronounced AP-PLE in 2 syllable...n how does yr mum teach Sophia ah...Cae is like Baby Cookie Monster...hez always on the go...so I find it extremely diff to get him to sit down n teach him...

I stil make the milk in a milk bottle lor...hee...so I stil nid milk bottles...okie...I wil go n hunt for PES btls...thanx...

Yah lor...Dora makes me feelin like puttin Cae into cc oso...jus so tat he learns to eat...arrrrrrrrrgh...

Fizz/Starluster

Aiyo... dun rush to putting your tods into CC... must make sure you find a good one ok... and of cos the keep falling sick part will be super worrying also... In these 5 weeks, JT was sick for 2 weeks (on the 2nd and 4th week)... the lucky thing is that she still ate a lot when she was sick (more than what she ate previously when she is 100% ok!!!)... that's why I say JT is such a wierd kid!! I also dunno if all kids will eat well in CC or not, or its just my JT who is super KPO and will eat when other kids eat. But must really choose your CC properly. I heard some horror stories from my colleagues and I feel so lucky that JT is in good hands (hubby say of cos lah, we pay soooooo much more, better be good!)

Starluster
Sophia might be petite, but her language is really advanced!!! I think you dun have to worry abt her wt since she is sooooooo good!! JT only started to talk after going to infant care. but her vocab is so basic compared to Sophia!

Fizz

Hehehe... GSS, I also actioned liao... bought a car seat @ $100 from Taka, cos hubby will be travelling quite extensively startinig from next month, so need FIL to fetch JT sometimes, so I need a 2nd one... so when I saw it at $100, faster grab ah!! Yah lor, also always shop for JT only... but not buying toys/clothes, cos hubby going to US to buy which is still much cheaper than GSS prices... the only thing I bot for myself after a long time is a document/laptop/handbag so that I dun have to carry so many bags in the morning + JT + her bag... and I bot a cheapo one somemore, only $40 after discount!! :p

Dora...

Actually I was looking at Pat's at Frankel as well...errr for 2010 intake...I find it a bit cramp...but I hv yet to sit down wif the principal...as they restrict visitors due to HFMD...itz a gd tink actually...the one at Meyer is bigger but further...

Nowadays...Cae is so active tat he perspires til smelly smelly sour sour...even tho he bathes twice a day...no more bb smell...I can imagine him smellin like those students on the buses after PE next time...aiyooooooooo...*faintzzz*

doggiebb, look at this BP..one of the models look like TA!

alabone... ur MIL thinks that nowadays kids just sit there guai guai ah... i am surprised with her teaching style ur hb is not a spoilt brat... my sis' MIL lagi better, said help my sis with confinement, in the end only go there to serve her son (iron his clothes etc). bad jared for biting nat!

fizz, hahaa..tried the marigold UHT when i brought kate to watch the waterfools on saturday.. she did drink but not all, after a while start playing with the milk again ... but at least i dont ahve to bring hot water , cold water, FM out! hahaah. Kate also stinks even if she took her bath half an hour ago.. reminds me of the twins' mommy (canot remember her name now), her blog said heavn must have smell like her kids' hair and i thot that means my heaven stinks cos kate always sweat lots :p

linette, annette still have night feed!!! wah.. i thot i am the only cham one here!!! :p JG so far..i am also thinking of putting kate into some playgrp once she reaches 2 but everything is so far...

QSG.. why not go for the surgery if it can help ur problem? yeah, try the nan xing bei xing that shihui recommend...

dora, wah.. JT gain 2 kg in cc!

Bloom...

Shiok hor...UHT milk is so convenient...

LOL...u r sooooooooo farnie...then I noe where chin cha lok originates...kekeke...

Hwee...

I forgot to ans u...Cae drinks abt 125ml if I leave it to him...but if I spoonfeed him...he can drink abt 3/4 of a pkt...

qsg,
aiyo, ur condition sounds bad... poor ting. hope u get it treated soon. i used to haf q frequent coughs like e one u're having ie mostly coughing at nite. when i was p6, i coughed 4 6 months. saw a specialist n spent a lot o money (my mum lah) + skipped a lot o classes. din work. in e end, i stopped all medication n one day, i just recovered lidat. v weird lah. but fr my experience, chi med works better 4 cough den western med.

i agree tt wt is nt a big issue. ur pd might b more particular bt it but some dun place much importance on it as long as e child is developing well.

fizz,
hmmm, u're still sterilising bottles? i stopped sterilising anything (cept brand new utensils etc) since mandy started solids at 5+ mth. i read tt it's nt necessary. i dun even rinse w warm/hot water or anyting. n i use adult detergent to wash. just a diff sponge. just to share tt mandy's nv gotten any tummyaches.

dora,
AMAZING! JT gained so much wt! or rather, she's eating so well. u must b v happy.

starluster,
sophia is so impressive!!!!

Dear mummies, thank you for your concerns and advice. I think i will see my regular GP this sat and see what she say first...maybe if after her medication still no improvement then will try TCM.

Dora, maybe really cold cough like you said. Last nite i didn't sleep from 2 to 4am bec of the cough and during dinner time i drank coke..dunno if that has caused the cough to worsen?(cold cough means cannot take cold stuff?)..hate it very disruptive to my sleep and disturb others.

Shihui, the nan bei xin thingee you mentioned is it for cold cough?

Bloom, spinal surgery is considered a major surgery been advised by orthaepedic to avoid if possible. Just signed up for a trial lesson on gyrotonics..you gals heard of it before? 1 hour cost $98 for trial. Actual is 1180 for 10 lessons..ex hor? Dunno if will help.

QSG
Ya...is that yoga with resistance. Is that suitable while u r still in pain and your back is obviously still inflammed? Just to share, when I hurt my back, I went to Core Concepts (the one at Tras St), they're a bunch of aussie trained physiotherapist who specialise in back pain management. Have u heard of them? They help u do certain stretches and massages to loosen the muscles n increase joint mobility. Also do IR treatment to reduce inflammation. They also teach u exercises to do at home so in my case I only saw them once a week for an hr ($80) n the rest of the time I just did the exercises at home. Thot they were quite good. After a few days nia, the pain was manageable n I didn't have to wear a lower back support daily at home (my back was so bad that I had to wear a back support while doing housework n carrying Ewan). Once your back pain is gone, they start teaching core strengthening exercises (either 1 to 1 or in groups). I stopped going there already cos my backache is completely gone. Was actually supposed to join their group exercise class but decided that I will sign up for pilates with some friends instead. Your condition sounds really serious, esp with the pain radiating down your legs. Do take care. I think u shd seek proper help to heal your back first b4 u start doing those sort of exercises on your own which may aggravate the condition. Do take care and get it treated now. Back health is v important for us women cos it gets worse with osteoporosis etc when we get older.

As for your cough...aiyo...poor thing. I also had those coughs b4 last time when I was studying in the UK. Had it for months...can cough until cannot breathe n I thot I was going to die. Also tot I had asthma. Went to see ang moh GP n he tested my breathing capacity n said no asthma, nothing wrong. No meds given just ask me to buy over the counter cough mixture which I hv tried n didn't work. Then like Kimi said lor, just stop all meds. I avoided cold drinks, coffee n cold food. When I sleep at night, I put a towel over my neck so my throat doesn't get cold n too dry. Put a flask of warm water next to my bed. When I wake up, I will sip warm water to moisten throat. Even day time also only drink warm water. After a few weeks cough was gone. TCM is definitely better for these sort of things if u can find a good practitioner tat is. Hope u recover soon. Take care.

Fizz

Wah!!! 2010 intake you already looking around for cc liao!! That time I went around in 1st week Jan for Apr, I tot I already very kan chiong!!

Kimi
How are you feeling?? You seem more positive in your postings in the forum and blog. Hehehe... I also dunno why JT suddenly decides to eat. Hubby and I think it might be a combi of a few factors, not just the CC alone. Before going to the CC, she was already starting to eat better ever since she can feed herself. Plus her lower lateral incisor is FINALLY coming out, I those 2 has been stuck there for the longest time, so maybe she was feeling miserable all the time. And of course her KPO nature, will try to imitate other kids. She has lunch with the older kids, and there are 2 girls there who can really eat, always ask for 2nd servings, so we suspect she imitate them..... but I was telling hubby, JT always see Philson eat previously leh, dunno why she never followed???!
I think Mandy also looked chubbier from the photos in your blog. And she had a nice hair cut! Think your mum and hubby are doing a great job so you can really an1 xin1 yang3 tai1.

QSG
Yeah, cold cough means cannot take cold drinks and food, and liang2 food like watermelon, white radish, banana etc. I think nan bei xing is neutral, depending on what you pair up with. If you pair it with ji2 (dried kumquat?? not so sure abt the translation), then its for hot cough. If you pair it with dried crocodile meat, then its for cold cough. But I think if you go EYS, there have a whole range of powders for different type of cough. Maybe you can go and ask and describe your symptoms in details. I think western meds dun really help for cough. Hubby was coughing for >3mth, and drank dunno how many bottles of cough syrup. Then I went to buy the powder for him, and he got better within a week.

Bloom
Aiyo where got 2kg... 1 mth put on 2 kg is scary lah... she didn't even have that type of weight gain when she was a newborn....
Yah lor, JT now also sweat like mad... esp with this type of weather...
Wah so envy wor... can bring UHT milk out....
Last weekend was the 1st time in 16mth that we brought hot water and milk powder out for JT, cos previously she was always BF... SO LEH CHEY!!! and I really garang gabo cos like so many gadgets and no place to put properly... I think bystanders will think how come this mother still dunno how to make milk outside when the daughter is already so big!!

dora,
yes yes! i'm def much happier now tt i c how well my mum n hubby r coping. but poor them, they're so tired. my mum just had her performance, and her uncle passed away + my nephew going into surgery and my sis's ROM is tis sat. so my mum is super super busy. my aunt whose son is going into surgery is v close to my mum so she has to go lend support. den she has to help out at her uncle's funeral + attend all those after performance celebration etc.

so basically, she's running a few places everyday. poor ting.

my hubby has lotsa school work to rush oso. n my mil is just bk fr china n is SICK!

aiyoooooooooo...

i wanna praise my hubby hor! hehehe. he managed mandy during e wkends all by himself.

prepared n fed mandy ALL her meals. prepared my 3 meals too! steam vege, cook noodles 4 me, pao milo etc etc. washed all e dishes, vacuum n mop whole hse. did laundry. changed bedsheets. bot groceries, played w mandy, brot her to playgrd. baked 2 loaves o bread. changed all her diapers. bathed her, put her to sleep. EVERYTHING! on top o tt he played w mandy, drew w her, read to her n stuck to e half an hr TV per day.

PLUS, he managed to do a whole chunk o his schoolwork! he din lose his temper and was so patient w mandy.

I'm SOOOOOOOO IMPRESSED!
w both o them. *beam w pride* n mandy has so far been guai guai. eat n drink v fast. n yest she doubled her normal food intake 4 dinner.

e only ting is my food intake went dn cos i'm nauseas e whole day. i already haf relux n now tt i lie e whole day, e food doesn't go dn at all. e many many pills i take dissolve at my neck n flows bk up to my mouth all e time. q gross. so no appetite. some meals, i can only manage half a serving n can't snack much too. but well, still i'm happy.

sorry 4 e super long post!

qsg,
4got. yah, like dora said, i tink it's cold cough. tt means u can' take any cold stuff or cooling stuff. take only warm stuff. just a little cold can trigger off a coughing fit n make it much worse. like lil, i was oso advised to wrap my neck at nite 2 keep it warm. it helped a lot.

btw, i coughed so long e last time i had 2 go 4 xray n it showed t part o my lungs had hardened due to e prolonged cough n doc was concerned tt i might dev asthma if tt went on.

so do take care.

starluster, wah, impressive man... my daughter looks like very slow in her language... refuse to talk.. her vocab still in mama, papa, nana etc... and after her fever and cough a couple of weeks ago, she now takes to "ah ah ah" to anything... just point and climb to get you to do the things she wants... does not know how to speak...

how do you all encourage your young toddler to speak? mine does not seem to be picking up a lot of words...

Starluster,
Wow, your girl's language skills are impressive! Are you guys teaching her to be bilingual as well?

Ying Ling,
Don't worry, my Annette also can't speak well. Most importantly is for you to continue talking to her (in adult language, ideally) and repeat certain words you want her to learn. Listening to nursery rhymes and nursery songs help cos of the rhythmic stanzas/rhyming words.

Bloom,
Yah lor, for the past 1.5 months, Annette has been waking up for night feeds leh. I call her "lau baby", sigh. There goes my beauty sleep again, hee hee.

Kimi,
WOWEEEEEEEE!!!! Your hubby is sooooooooooooooo gooooooooooooooood!!!!!!!!!!!! V v v impressive!!!!! You really trained him very well....seriously, you are a really lucky woman

QSG,
Oh no, you poor thing! For cold coughs, don't ever take cold drinks or "liang" stuff like what some of the mummies say here. You can google for "natural remedies for coughs" - it helps, eg honey and lemon, thyme, ginger, etc. Or EYS powder may be very effective (it worked for Annette's persistent cough).

Dora & Kimi, its extrememly difficult not to take any cold stuff in this weather
can't totally avoid. If my cough is cold cough then dunno why sometimes i also breathless and chest tight..so kinda worried...if asthma or something more serious.

Kimi, do you feel uncomfy with the towel around your neck when you sleep?

Lil, i heard of core concepts...my gynae recommend to me when i have back pain during pregnancy (that time din know its slipped disc)..havent been though...so it works for you..great...is your back pain due to strained muscles? Dunno if it will work for me as my is slipped disc?..i ever been to a physiotherapist but doesn't really work for me. The gyrotonic i mentioned is actually doing exercises working on your spine using a machine.

http://www.gyrotonic.com/Gyrotonic.asp

What is the name of the physio who attended to you?How long ago was that when you see he/she? Had considered this place too but also abit far while the place with the gyrotonic is near my workplace.

Linette, the powder you mentioned is ready made?

Hi QSG,
why not try the "pi pa gao"? my col told me it helps. my friend also cough for a long time and ahe has been seeing western doc but can't heal. so her ex neighbour intro her to TCM medicine and when she consume, it heal her cough within days. Have asked my friend to share with me the receipes. I will let u know when my friend get the receipes.

are u very stress in yr work and lack of slp? if so, that's what the western doc mentioned these are the cause of the chest tightness. for chinese physican, they will tell u that bec of not enu blood or oxygen to pump into the heart and also imumme system weak, that's why one will feel chest tight. also physician suggested the acupuncture also can help.i do felt that too. do get lot of rest.

Kimi
Great to know you are feeling happy! I was smiling away when I was reading your post cos I am so happy for you!
Your hubby is really very very capable!! You ought to be proud of him!

Linette
Hi-five, JT also became a Lao Baby... nowadays she will also wake up once to drink milk. Dunno why leh... last time she dun eat the whole day also can sleep through the nite, now she eats so much during the day, still wants milk at nite... maybe she is really going thro growth spurt to catch up for lost time...

QSG
I know its difficult to avoid cold drinks, but must really avoid lor... cos very potent one... just 1 drink can trigger very bad cough. The EYS cough powders are all ready made, just mix with plain water and drink, very easy. But they have many types for different types of cough.
I think pi pa gao is for hot cough leh... I think the best is for you to ask the EYS or any medicinal shop people for advice.

QSG
I've had chronic lower back pain since my pregnancy. Before I went to core concepts I saw a chiropractor. He told me my chronic backache is probably caused by a bulging disc. If left untreated and if I do not take care, the bulging of the disc would become more servere or worse even rupture becoming what ppl call "slipped discs".

When the pain came back again a few months back, I decided to try Core Concepts for a long term solution. I saw Sylvia Ho who is one of the more experienced physiotherapists there. She is really good. Worked for me. Till today I am still doing some of the back exercises she taught me.

I think you had better ask a Dr before u start gyrotronics. If your disc is already buldging so severely that it's causing pain running down ur legs, u really need to b more careful with the sort activities/movements that u put your back through. Usually with slipped disc u need to have a period of bed rest for it to get better, but of cos for us mummies that is not possible. But u really need to be extra careful. Maybe wear a lower back support when carrying Evee or doing chores etc. That's what I did. Do take care.

QSG,
In Traditional Chinese Medicine, Chuan Bei Pi Pa Gao is believed to be an effective cough syrup for acute or chronic coughs with copious phlegm. It also soothes a sore and irritated throat. Can be helpful for bronchitis, asthma and pertussis.

as stated on the website, this is for the relieves cough and wheezing, transforms Phlegm (dry cough with no or little phlegm), clears Heat, and nourishes Lung Yin. it helps one to clears lung heat, moistens the lungs, stops coughing. anyway, best solution is to seek the doc advice.

by the way, my col told me pi pa gao can help in any cough.

will check my email once I returned home to see if my frenz replied me abt the receipes.

Linette
ya...the wait was long cos of weekend class. They say if i put hannah in playnest will hv priority to playclub, but as a working mum, there's no one to take hannah to playnest on weekdays! So, no choice, but go on wait list. But it's ok because the duration is just nice...she turns 18mths just when there's vacancy and playclub's for that age... keke!

I stay in bukit panjang, no good schs here, so looking along the stretch of bukit timah. :p #2 is ger ger too so a girl's sch is ok for me! Yay!

Hwee,
dunno...but i hope the ulu IJ is not as competitive! hahahaha! I may still hv some "wild cards" to play to try to gain a place...but only "wild cards" not "trump cards" so no guarantee for success. wahahahaha!

star,
Sophia so cute! cry outside gym but go in enjoy! keke! wah, her linguistic skills very good!! well done!

yingling
yes, mine due mid-aug...my #1 was late...so wonder if #2 will be late too. :p

Fizz..hehehe..yeah .lower my load abit that day.. but i suspect it will not work if she had to drink it everytime (eg, go on tour)... wat is chin cha lok ?

kimi, actually i am still sterilising her milk bottles too..cos storeroom no place to store steriliser and no place in kitchen to put bottles so still put them in steriliser so might as well sterilise ahhahahah

QSG, hot weather also boh bian..better abstain from all those cold stuff...

dora..aahha... maybe philson does not look happy when he eats so JT thinks its 'no fun' :p wahh..u r really knowledgeable abt nan xing bei xing... hahah..now u can imagine how i always look like garang guni with all the hot and cold water... nowadays even lazier... just go foodcourt ask for water :p

kimi, ur mom is a performer too? wow! ur hb very li4 hai4 leh..can manage a kid all by himself w/o losing his temper... envy envy...

Ying Ling, my gal cannot even call papa mama, if that is any consolation to u..

linette, dora, kate was never a lao baby, cos she never stop waking up for night feeds (can count with my 2 hands the no of times she sleep thruout the night....)...