(2006/12) December 2006 MTBs

Hihi!!

Had been MIA for reaaaallllly long, but had been reading the forum quietly, on the side. And got a bit shocked with all the a-hem!!

Congrats to all the preggers mummies (2nd time, 3rd time mummies!) - though I think I congratulated most of them on good ol' MSN ;)

But what makes me post something is because I wanna ask bobianah....which JG Bilingual Playclub are you bringing Hannah to? The one at Forum or Evans Road? Cos I am also planning to go for the 11.30am class on a Sat, so am curious to see which branch will you be going to

bobianah
haha! i'm starting my girl on music classes finally. so will be busy wif her. and not enuf time to bring tim for classes liao.

i'm also worried abt the hygiene level in some kindies. but i have no choice so i close my eyes lor. then the following year he'll go to a church kindie too.

talking abt P1, i'll be registering my girl in July too. haha! we'll see.

hihi Linette, long time no 'hear' from you. how are you?

Bobianah!!
We may end up in the same class!!! I had not registered her yet...but am doing very soon...possibly next month. When are you starting????

Hwee,
Am fine - both Nicole and Annette are good girls
Getting along well, other than the occasional fights over toys and food!

Heh, I am also registering Nicole in July for P1! Where are you registering her in? Mine will be MGS but phase 2C nia
Really hoping to get in, else I really dunno howwww *cry* Really v v stressed over this silly P1 thing.

Wow, both of you will be sending your kiddos to pre-nursery next Jan? For me, I am thinking of sending after June next year, when Annette is older...and let her go for weekly JG classes first.

Linette
so you staying near bt timah area? i'm putting kelly also near there, in Pei Hwa. in phase 2B, hopefully she can get in.
if not i also dunno what to do. :p now too late also, if not you ould have signed up as volunteer also so at least register in phase 2B.

think we are not the only ones. hee hee.... there are other mummies also sending the kiddos to pre-nursery too. for me its just for tim to socialise and also to let my mil have some time to catch up wif neighbours? haha!

wah... i think i may not be sending nat nat to sch just yet. next year then jared will be going to N2. and already i'm sooooooo stressed over it. Thinking of sending him to kinderland at civic centre. anyone has any opinions of feedback abt the place?? i will go down and have a look myself to make a decision. was initially thinking of sending nat and jared together... but holding on to that thought for now.

linette,
hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii!!! hehehehehhehe. You know right??? scorpios! cannot step on their tails one lor. hiakhiakhiak!!!

bobianah,
i agree with you leh. a lot of things also have to play by ear lah. actually, i've longed wanted to bring my kids home with me every night liao. but then, mil is staying with me. and i absolutely do not want her to interact with my kids. i've become that crazy. so after she moves out, i can bring the kids home. but by then, there will be THREE!!!!!!!!!!!! ARGH!!!!

errrr... ivy,
i'm soooooooo paiseh and sorry i don't know your nick here. but just to let you know, i'm doing exactly what you suggested to me this afternoon. you know you know??? *blink blink*

alabone,
bwarhahahahaha. ivy is choo lah. when she msned u, u noe she's choo or nt? aiyooooooo... tsk tsk tsk

btw, care to share y u're nt sending nat to pre-nursery? cos i dun feell like oso. tink mandy's too young leh, watsmore she's soooooo small. i noe e latter reason makes no sense but... hehehehehe

linette, hwee, bobianah,
aiyo, p1...

i noe o 1 mummy who's already gone 2 take e parent volunteer form hor. u noe who u r.. *blink blink*
4 me, as long as e sch is w/in walking dist n not too bad, can liao. luckily e one next 2 my block is q gd. can u imagine, how much time mandy (and ME!) can save, by just going dnstairs n walk a few more steps 2 sch? i dun hafta 2 wake so early to prep brkfast oso.

oh n i def dun trust sch buses, esp when they're so young! *shudder*

starluster, shihui, alabone,
eh, i am e opp! i cannot stand massage! i'll giggle n laugh. act i live until so old hor, but haf never been to a spa b4 leh. oso nv done a single manicure/pedicure, hair treatment etc... hahahaha... nt gian leh. so 4 me, waste $ nia.

OH!

i so happily reply ur postings 4got 2 announce tt hor.... sigh.....

I'M DILATING!

went 2 e doc just now cos i had more weird brown discharge n bcos my test results showed i'm cleared o any infection. so i was q gan cheong 2 noe wat e hell is wrong w me! sian leh...

den doc did a scan n said i've started to dilate! in fact, 7mm dilated at my inner cervix n half my cervix is gone liao, left w 2cm nia!

now really really hafta go on bedrest.... SIAN AR!

den everynite go 2 sleep will worry if my waterbag will suddenly burst which was wat happened e last time.

oh ya, den i'm on a lot o medication now. one will gif me palpitations, my hands might start shaking, heartbeat will b v fast. e other one will make me lao sai n cause giddiness and flushing. imagine flushing in tis kinda weather! SIAN ARRRRRRR! yet another one will gimme headache!

haiz.... but me n hubby r nt worried lah. we're more sian bt e whole ting. hehehehe

bedrest is super sian. i haven't had a gd handover to my mum/mil oso. n tinking of delivering EBM to KKH 4 Barry everyday after giving birth... ah! n i tot i could latch him 4 e 1st mth....

aiyo, c i already whine so much now, i tink i better prepare u all 4 more whining ahead!

dora, take a pic of that teacher next class and blow it life size to show jt when u wan her to drink milk at home :p but frankly speaking, i really have no idea how did these teachers make kids start talking, eating peacefully in childcare... really peifu... btw, when is ur hb flying off? i might be running around the next few weekends cos kapo arts fest..they do have outdoor colorful performance that might interest children... u wana come along? :p

kimi, mandy is advanced compared to kate... and kate still canot speak..ahahaa

bobianah, mmmm... some gynae might frown on kok yok...

hwee, bobianah,shihui, we are the only-talk-abt-pilates-but-never-do gang :p i even sign up for passion card but no action!

starluster, ur hb giggling is good..means he is afraid of his spouse (you) right? :p waht did sophia sing?

alabone..ehhe..good u go recee and let me know which pre nursey is good around our area :p u mean ur mil is staying with u but ur mom takes care of ur kids?

kimi, take care! take care!!!!! so scary!!!!!! did ur gyna ever suggest the C-thing, u know the one about stitching up the cervix to prevent bb from coming out too early? dont worry ...barry will be like mandy, super short stay in kkh!

bloom,
he did mention stitching of cervix but he said tt's usu done when one is in the 14/15th week o pregnancy. now too late to do.
i already blooged bt my doc's visit. u can read more fr there. hehehe
thx 4 ur concern. is ur own labour memories coming bk 2 u now since we were e only 2 preterm labour mummies then? hehehehe

kimi,
yeah. i kinda guessed it's choo coz i saw ivan's pic!!! hahahahhahaha. eh. my memory damn lousy these days lah. 3rd kid now leh. can pang chance or not???

errrrrrr... dilating liaooooo?????? pleasssssse stay on bed ok???? i worry for you also leh. so scared come to forum then hear announcement that you pop liao. *kneels down and pray for kei*

bloom,
ya lor... you don't know ah?? i was in depression after she shifted in lor... aiyah. dont want to go dig up some old stories to tell you lah. to cut my lor sor story short, i showed her my true colours, that i'm no pushover, how mean and evil i can be, and finally, i succeeded in getting rid of her!!! wahahahahahhaa!!! she's bought her place and wil shift out before i give birth.

and yes. my mum still takes care of my kid coz i REFUSE to let her even touch them. certainly not after she allowed my jared to swallow a screw!

eh, my hb hor, also damn scared of me tickling him leh. so he scared of me also is it?? the 'pa lao po' kinda man huh?? yeah!!!!!!!

roo,
ya lor so long liao still havent met u yet... hope to see u soon... hehe..
thanks for remembering me & my mum...so far she's fine..recovering well.. last check up her blood test result is good... next check up sometime in jun...

kimi,
recently have not read lor... but now u must rest well... still, u really very "zai" liao... being preggy all that, and the things that u do...hehehe... no need modest lar...
i didnt know mandy is premature ...my boy as well..33 wks nia..i think my case same as urs..also mucous plug dropped out first think 1 or 2 wks before... but my water bag didnt burst ...i was having contractions but didnt know... jia lat rite..hahaha.. now think of it like so funny...but that time gan jeong lor..

fizz,
no no u definitely no tummy... dun deny...hehehe... next time we meet, i poke ur tummy har to show that is flat...hahaha.. *no offense*
how is cae now?? hope he is well...

sorry to disrupt the conversations... my daughter is 17+ months old now (born Dec 06), and I am totally unsure what kind of nutrition I should be giving her... my PD says that milk is not necessary as we are Asians and our bodies were not meant to take in too much milk/lactose after a 1 yr old... then I thought ok, let's drop milk and give her solid food... then I have a big problem with my mother in law wanting to feed her mostly carbo with some amount of meat with very little vegetables... i am thinking of taking over the cooking bit for my daughter but have no idea what kind of diet would be good... she is quite a picky eater... does not eat anything which tastes bland... most articles online I find are for westerners... I only understand from my PD that we chinese are built differently so should not be following their high lactose meals... but my chinese not so good so very difficult to find recipes and articles on food suitable for chinese toddlers.. searched high and low and only come across a Traditional Healthy Asian Diet Pyramid for children (http://www.oldwayspt.org/asian_pyramid.html)... where I discover the main difference between asian children and westerners is that asians eat a lot more carbo.. 50% of the meal should be carbo whereas the westerners eat the least amount of carbo... Chinese also eat more fish and very little meat... they eat more of fruits, veges and nuts... NO IDEA WHAT IS GOOD FOR DEVELOPMENT???!!! I am so disturbed by this issue that I could not fall asleep thus am posting this message... help!!

also anyone sending their kid to playgroup, shichida, zoophonics bla bla bla?? I wanted to send then the HFMD came along and not sure if I should be sending now... but am looking forward to join the shichida class in July... anyone has any feedback or recommendations on the kind of classes to go for?

Hwee,
Yah I staying ard that area, and the reason why I am praying Nicole can go MGS cos it's only a 5 minutes' walk away. Like Kimi, I dun like school buses altho she is now on a school bus for her kindergarten...

Wah! Pei Hwa is very good leh! We also live within 1km of Pei Hwa but I figure my chances there are zilch when it comes to 2C. MGS does not need parent volunteers when I called last year hence I am forced to be in 2C. How come you are in phase 2B for Pei Hwa? Parent volunteer or same religious group?

Sigh, this P1 issue is so disturbing lor. I suay suay live beside a popular pri school...always having nightmares about not being able to get in even if it's within walking distance, and then have to let my daughter take bus to another pri sch further away. Silly, right?

Alaboneeeeeee!!!!!!
Yay Scorpios! Yesssss cannot step on our toes one. Sure remember and bear grudges FOREVER!!!! Hee hee. But really...hope everything's fine with you and your MIL. Ren lor then say bye bye to her soooooooon!

Wow, Jared going to N2 liow! Big boy! Is it his first time in school or is he now attending N1? First timers in pre-school can be v stressful, that's why it's good to start early...pros and cons...pros: younger kids adapt faster so don't have much anxieties compared to a 3-4 year old. Nicole had major adjustment problems last time *shudders* Cons: younger kids also have lower immune systems and can't walk well or talk clearly(like my Annette now!) so they may fall sick easier in preschool or get frustrated when teachers do not understand them ... or have difficulties in motor skills during playground time.

Kimi,
Wahhhhh! Which parent you know here who had already took the parent volunteer form??? For kids of 17 months old???? Wah!

And horrrrr....you please take care!!!! Bedrest is shiong but very important and fundamental! For Annette's pregnancy, I was on constant (on and off) bedrest. So, please take care and rest well! You damn good...still so calm and zen! *kowtow*

Ying Ling,
Welcome to the thread. For kiddos our age, just make sure they have a good mix of everything from the various nutrition sectors. Ehhhh, in my humble opinion, milk is still very necessary, and it also acts as a good fluid intake (cos some kids like mine do not drink much water). It is a good source of calcium and DHA (for powdered soy or cow's milk these days). And it also helps soothes the kid down before bedtime, etc. My elder daughter, 6, is still drinking cow's milk twice a day and she is much taller than kids who do not drink milk.

Supplement that with solids (3 meals a day), but no need to crack your head about the exact amount of carbs, vitamins, proteins, minerals, etc la. Very stressful one! 50%-60% carbs (rice, porridge, pasta, noodles) with 20-30% protein (meat like pork or fish or chicken) and 20% vitamins and minerals (green leafy vegs, carrots, pumpkins, fruits) will do liow. Carbs still very important leh cos they expend a lot of energy at this age. Proteins like pork and fish help in their muscle development and growth. Green leafy veg and veg of different colours...we all know the goodness of these. Using the Health Promotion Board's gauge of 2 servings of Vegs + 2 servings of fruits is useful.

If you are scared that these can't contribute much nutrition, you can always start our 17-month-olds on multi-vits now. Check with your PD on what brands to eat. They will give you a good recommendation.

These are some of our very humble opinion, having brought up one 6-year-old girl and now trying to apply the same tactics to the little one. May or may not be right :p Dun worry so much la...!!

Linette,
what were you doing up at 4.44am???????????? getting up for work already?? ya lor. i will ren now lah.

nope. jared's not attending any N1 presently. in fact, i think he is somehow 'homeschooled' a little. i worry abt how he is gg to adapt to a sch environment also. somemore my jared is a super shy boy with strangers. whenever there are visitors in the house, he will run to his room and hide there for the entire time, until he knows that they are leaving. then he will chiong out just to say 'bye'...

yingling,
i agree with linette abt the nutrition matter. don't be too stressed over this. i believe moderation is key to everything so just have a good balance. and yes, i also think milk at this point is still necessary.

Kimi!!!
HAIYO!!!! Please please please take good care.... stay on the bed and just eat and sleep... and eat and sleep.... and eat and sleep... ok lah.. you can post on the forum and MSN a bit lah... but seriously... take good care...

Bloom
Hahaha! What a good suggestion!! But hor... yesterday JT managed to drink 180ml of milk using her strawcup in the afternoon (the teacher works for half day only). Wah!!
I haven't let her try drinking at home cos I'll latch her at nite... I'll know if she'll drink from the cup this sat!!
Yah man... I think there is stg abt the CC teachers that will make the kids guai guai... Even when JT was 1-on-1 with my cousin who has 20+ years CC experience, she was also very guai... these teachers must exude some special aura that we dun hahaha!!
Hubby's trip postponed to Jun.... will let you know again..... sounds like a good idea to go out... but the tot of having to chase JT around alone is scary!!

Alabone
Haiyo... your MIL so jialat, let Jared swallow a screw??!!! You are preggie leh... must take care of your mental health also... just treat her as transparent lah...

SH
Wah!! couple spa!!! The last time we went for something like that was... hmmm.... more than 2 years ago... before i got preggie... hahaha... now no time no $$!! We went to Anandas at Paragon cos they had some opening promotion back then... can spend the entire day there with unlimited food and drinks, entertainment and spa... very very shiok.... eh.. now how can afford this type of luxury?!

Hey Linette
Welcome back! Long time no "see"! great to know the 2 girls are doing well.

Ying Ling
Welcome to the thread. Hahaha toddler feeding is Kimi and my fav topic simply because the both of us have very picky girls, and on top of that, my girl has multiple food allergy. According to the KKH dietician, toddlers of their age require (for each meal - lunch and dinner)
1/2 bowl of rice (or equivalent),
1 chinese tablespoon of meat
1 chinese tablespoon of cooked veg (can be a combi of different colours)
For breakfast, 1 slice of bread with jam or other filling or 2/3 cup of dry cereal.
For afternoon teabreak, anything healthy such as steamed sweet potato, etc... abt 1 tablespoon or any amt that the child can take.
And they require 400-500mg of calcium a day. The easiest way is drinking 400-500ml of milk a day. I'm still breastfeeding my girl supplementing with abt 300ml of soy FM a day.
1/4 of a dragon fruit or equivalent per day.
You can modify the menu cos my girl is allergic to milk, eggs and nuts so her menu is limited.
But my girl is very picky so on some days when she will only eat plain rice with soup and refuse meat and veg, I just let her, as long as her intake for the whole week is quite balanced, so dun have to be so stressed over this as long as they are eating something. Both Kimi and I had gone thro periods where our girls can dun eat anything for the entire day... and we realised the more anxious the mummy is, their appetite gets worse. So must learn to let go and just do your best. Trial and error and see what is the type of food that they like. Good luck!!

linette
I signed up to be on waitlist in Oct last year for the Saturday playclub. Yesterday just got a call got vacancy for Term 3. it starts 28 June. mine is the 11.30am class. They faxed me the confirmation form and I faster fill in and faxed back! So KS.

Hey, let me know if you are confirmed gg there too!

Actually, one good thing for us is that with 2 kids of same gender, once u settle one in the school, very easy for the next one liao. Unless of cos go co-ed sch la, then no difference. :p
Im oso thinking of MGS/Pei Hwa/CHIJ. But I think likely CHIJ cos not so competitive...
unfortunately, there are no good schools within walking distance from my place. All must take bus a short distance. Anyway, I still hv a few years before hannah reaches P1...heehee! Gosh, im KS!

Alabone,
keke! Yes, understand ur situation with your MIL....sooon...soooooooon!!!

Kimi,
aiyooooo....u make me kan cheong for u again!!!! Huuuuu Xiiiiii....Huuuuuuu Xiiiiiiii....
Must bed rest!! need us to bring some restraints to strap you down bo??? Doggie and I prepare liao!!!

And yes...ahem...that mummy who took the parent volunteer form....hahahah!

Bloom,
actually, my gynae was the one who suggested ko yok... since my last pregnancy! I used it. No problem la. anyway, i choose those normal commercial brand, not like some yao chai dian concocted stinky herbal type. So i'm really not worried la.

YingLing,
I think i remember you....from long time ago. You didnt join the thread very very long liao....hope everything is fine.

Actually, I agree with what Linette and Dora said.
I think you really stress too much abt the exact portion of nutrition liao.
Also, unless ur bb is allergic to milk hor, IMHO, milk is still a good source of nutrition for our kids at this age. It helps build brains, bones, etc. Of course, now they need less, but i think cutting milk out totally is a little extreme. Who's your PD ah?
Anyway, just make sure your kid eats a well balanced meal like wat Dora/Linette suggest. All kids hv diff tastebuds and some days may be worse then other days. So, dun stress too much. As long as they eat their carbo, meat and veg/fruits can liao.
See, for both Dora and Kimi, their kids are doing well.

Hi Mummies...

Good morning...

Kimi...

Please take care okie...now tat Mandy is eating well n so sociable...itz time for u fang xin n stay rested n enjoy Barry...

I m oso prob not sendin Cae to a proper kindy next yr...as I feel tat hez stil young...n I prefer him to get enuff rest...since he nids loads of naps hrs...afterall...he wil spend the next 20yrs studyin liao...but I wil b sendin him to playgrp...abt 2 to 3 times a wk for 2hrs nia...

Nana...

Cae looks alrite...his last vomittin episode was on Tues...but his rashes can stil b seen...the nurse told me tat tods may either get fever or rashes within 1 wk of MMR wor...

Alabone...

Wah...yr boy swallowed a screw in yr MIL's care ah???!!!...itz indeed a serious incident tat justify yr anger lor...itz so scary...cos itz sometink tat can happen wif a slip of attention...*shudder*

Bobianah...

U took the Parent Volunteer Form liao ah...hee hee...my pri sch is actually a SAP sch very near my pl...but I itchy bum tinkin if I shld try for other schs...

Wah, suddenly this thread like wake up overnight? hee hee.....

Linette
ya, wat are you doing at 4.44am?

i'm attending church service at Glory so i'm entitled to register in phase 2B. Hopefully she can get in. if not i also dunno wat to do. oh, you called MGS huh? my fren keep on asking me to register my girl there cos no need to worry for 10 yrs but as my my #2 is a boy, i dun wan another headache, so i'll try Pei Hwa first. then my #2, no worries! :p

bobianah
hee.... you are actually closer to Pei Hwa than me. who says CHIJ is less competitive? hee hee.... anyway, its really a long long way for you.

i'm still using ko yok until today lor! haha!

kimi
wat?! dilated?! you should be resting. bobianah and doggiebb will go and strap you if you dun rest hor! haha! looks like Barry can't wait to meet mummy and jie jie.

Bloom
ya, i also signed up for passion card and din do anything yet! haha!

Dora
wow! looks like JT is a very good girl in cc.

alabone
huh? swallowed a screw? i understand the problems of staying together. well, now that she's shifting out, you'll be happier. good for you.

YingLing
hihi! just my 2 cents worth here. no need to follow exactly like wat how many % of carbo etc. Milk is a good source of nutrition. it is not a meal replacement, only supplementing. so kids still need milk. and if they generally eat a variety of food daily, they should be ok.

thanks everyone... was feeling so stressed out yesterday night... ya, should just take it easy and trial and error... probably will start her on multivits and other supplements... will see if she is willing to drink milk... she was rejecting it thus my PD says it is not crucial for her as we are asians and only the westerners had modified their genes throughout centuries for their body to handle lactose... he pointed out that none of our chinese dishes has any dairy products as an ingredient cos many chinese are not lactose tolerant...

bobianah, yup, I did not join the thread since I gave birth... did not realise the thread was still so active... everything is fine, and I am expecting #2... maybe that's why suddenly feel so stressed out... how about you?

wah, you all already thinking about N1... I think my only possible chance is going back to my old primary school Red Swastika for P1... also not sure if my chances are good or not... might need to shift near there in a couple of years... so for N1, guess just a normal one will do? Any advice?

anyone here will like to purchase a superyard XT?? I have one... used once only... and my very rough daughter pushes it and makes it looks like it might topple thus stopped using it... i think only good for very young crawlers... paid I think S$130 for it.. willing to let go at $50... anyone?

YL...

Kekeke...I m not so young lah...kekeke...

Tentatively yes...but as I mentioned...I m lookin at other alternatives n tinkin if it may worth a risk to try other schs at Phase 2C...I m lookin at St Hilda's n ACS n St Andrew's (yes...I noe tat itz far away...but therez always the possibility of movin...hahaha...so drastic rite...tink tink oni...no nid $$$ wan)...

Fizz, I was toying with the idea of RGPS... my mother is from there.. wonder if grandmothers get priority as well?? haha... but i think damn difficult to get in.. my daughter has only got one priority through me cos my husband did not study in singapore... so not much other option except Red Swastika...

abalone,
what Jared swallow a screw? serious man. but admire u have the courage to 'chase' yr mil away and tell her off. dun yr hubby will be angry with u if u do that to his mum?

Fizz,
same thinking as me.many of the mummies here so KS liao. kids will be stress man....learning so many things at one go -swim, playgrp, music etc... for me, I am thinking of placing tx in xiao dou dou class (now stil looking for it) and ask my mum (tough she is unwilling, say kid still young, immune system not strong etc) to take her there daily for 2hr next yr.

bloom,
u so comical in yr posting to Dora.

Afcai...

It depends on the kid...if he/she is able to take it well mentally and physically...I find that itz gd to expose them to well rounded activities at a tender age...to encourage them in tinks which interest them...but not force them in tinks which they dun like...I practice democracy...hee hee...

alabone,

u so cute!!!
yeah relax n take good care hor!!!

KIMI!!!!

saw yr blog!!! I AM SO EXCITED FOR YOU!!! (As if i am popping soon!! ) please take good care!! so we visit u during yr confinement ??

ya lah. my horrid story abt how my mil never jaga jared and allowed him to swallow screw. from then on, i didn't allow her to go near my kids liao. if you were me, you would have reacted the same way right?

i dont care how hb thinks. my kids way more important. he buey song he can jolly well go stay with his mum. thankfully, hb is not a mummy's boy. i'm still first place rather than the mum.

Fizz
you sure have many many options for Cae's P1 next time.

alabone
i would have done the same if my mil didn't jaga my boy properly. but then again, she's the granny afterall la. won't let her jaga if you have other options.

of course your hb must put you first place la! haha!

alabone, so scary... my mil also tends to leave my daughter alone for minutes while she does some stuff in the kitchen and she does not put her in the cot while she leaves her alone.. she has access to power plugs and things.. but no matter how many times i tell her, she thinks she is a better mum as she brought up two children before.... sometimes really buay tahan... but i am not able to get rid of her cos she lost her husband when the children were very young and so she is all alone and totally dependent on her children and my husband is the eldest and his sister is still studying.... argh....

yingling,
my mil is a divorcee and my hb is her only son left. my hb's brother committed suicide and died several years ago. since then, she has been staying alone coz hb didn't stay at home also. when he was teaching, he stayed in a boarding sch. doesn't speak much abt his mum then.

bobianah,
don't say like that lah. what ks??? it's not. we are preparing our kids for the challenges ahead and exposing them to the variety of arts so that perhaps we can discover their innate talents. it's definitely not ks. some may not want to do this coz they have other plans. heheh. i'm also not sending to these classes coz i lazy lah. if got pple to help me fetch the kids ard, i'd send them too.

alabone... i see... so sad... but my hubby has a "commitment" towards his mum as she was the one who brought two of them up singlehandedly... and also need additional help with #2 coming along... no matter what, she is probably still better than a maid... i think... so i can only do my own business, try to stay home as often as i can to ensure my kid does not come into harm's way... no way am i going back to work leaving two children alone in her care... got to see how to earn $$ and jaga them as well.... wish my mum had the time to look after my children...

aiyo aiyoooo

just heard from my colleague abt this other colleague hor... super super cheapskate leh. send her kid to this and that trial lesson then after that complain no good, take coupons from other pple and then hor, got one time even go and ask another mummy from sch if she using a particular brand of milk powder, then ask for a small sample!!! tsk tsk tsk. these kind of pple, ought to be shot!

Fizz,
Sorry, wrong guess...the one who took parent volunteer form isn't me....lalalalala.

Eh, u so lucky come from SAP sch...my old sch is non existent liao...dats why i hv to stress. But then, i oso wont send my ger to my old sch even if it's still around la...its sooooo farrrrrrr!!
And I dun think i will move house to be near sch, cos it would involve not only moving me but my MIL's family and my parents too! Cos when hannah goes P1, still good to hv someone to watch her after sch...dun want her to be latchkey kid. And I dun see myself being able to afford to be SAHM. We all now currently stay 5mins from each other. Very convenient.

Oh, and you are absolutely rite. it's good to expose kids young if they can take it. Everytime i see hannah's face light up at swim class and at Gym (she super super gian!), i have no heart to stop her class even tho i am soooo tired!! I oso very democratic one!
She like, we continue. No point to force kids to do something they dun like wat, rite?

Hwee,
but u attend the affiliated church, so got more priority!! I dun hv....mine, the affliated sch is tooo farrrrrrrr.....aiyooooo.
the CHIJ im toking abt hor is the ulu one la...the bukit timah one, opp the kindy. not competitive la that one...keke! not like the more famous CHIJs. My area here really got no good schs la...closest is Bukit timah liao. Now u know why i so kan cheong... but not enuf to take a parent volunteer form la. :p

Yingling
U expecting #2 oso? When due? A few of us here oso expecting #2 - Kimi (u know la, she just posted), doggie is July. I'm due in Aug.

Alabone!!!
thanks for being so understanding!!
yes lor, if we dun expose them, how they get the chance to experience and discover their talents? Sometimes for us FTWM, these are things we can do lor...beats letting our kids watch TV/DVD at home all day hor?

Aiyooo...i oso say same thing as Ying Ling...super cheapskate ley.

Mummies...

Any updates on HFMD ah...nowadays no more reports in the news...but I m stil concerned...

Alabone...

Yr MIL...tho careless...sounds rather ke lian leh...actually hor...altho I wish tat my hb puts me in the 1st pl...but I oso wish tat Cae wil put me in the 1st pl next time...so I guess as long as wife n mum r in the 1st pl can liao...

Hmmm...altho I was angry wif my MIL wif lots of stuff...I wil stil let her c n touch n sayang Cae lah...cos shez the granny mah...

Bobianah...

Cae oso adores his gym n playgrp...tatz y I make sure tat my hb can continue his lessons b4 I tender...

Hwee...

Pei Hwa is a mission sch...I din noe tat...cos it sounds like an associated hway guan sch...no offence hor...

Ying Ling...

Cae loves to play wif plugs n sockets too...I can oni put safety covers on the sockets...explain, scold, beat (hands) oso no improvemt...itz not easy takin care of an active kid...Cae is not at all a cautious type...

kimi, ayoh..make me go and read blog during office hours (try not to cos office track usage... )... my labour memory not much lah..go in they say must give birth then give birth loh .a.ahahha if hand shake too much, think of long essays and ask bernard to type for u... (since he laugh abt it ahahha) so this time round trying to gate crash kkh again?

alabone..wah lau.. ur MIL... *shake head* hehehe..good to have a 'pa lao po' hb :p silly Q.. is N1 compulsory? agree that logistics is killer... our pl is so ulu....

ying ling, one option tht you can also consider is veg puree (ok, an ang mo concept maybe). especially if u buy the veg and cannot finish before it goes bad, and it does add flavour to the bb food. My FIL also tell hb to stop feeding my gal FM but of course i bo chap him :p

linette, annette is in cc/preschool now? nevr know scorpios are so scary.. :p

dora, go arts fest with ur hb loh..let him chase jt around :p

now all of u talking abt P1 liao..ahahaha...

Bloom...

Kekeke...gate crash KKH...kekeke...I stil rem tat Kimi was relatin tat one of the midwives was comprainin..."gimme tis kinda case to handle"...:p...tis time better dun gate carsh...cos Barry muz come out as near to full term as possible......

bobianah, urs due in Aug? mine EDD beginning of Sept so very possible will come out in Aug... just a feeling... urs is a boi or ger this time?

Fizz, I wanted to pull the sockets up but the electrician says no use cause the cable bracket can be pulled out easily as well and if she tugs at the cables will be worse... so same here lor, just got to put on safety covers, scold her when she tries to touch it... she pulled the whole bedside lamp down that day cos my mil left her inside for possible about 1min... luckily the light bulb did not break... my daughter is also nto the cautious type... dun behave ladylike at all... we call her tomboy... haha...

Bloom, it started with my mil telling us to stop feeding my ger milk and initially i also bo chap her... then my ger started to reject milk, dun wanna drink, then i decided to ask my PD... he says it is not crucial.. but for a different reason from my mil... but imagine the "see i was right" attitude from my mil... though her reasoning for stopping the milk was totally warped... arghh...

about sleeping arrangements...
just wondering for those with #2 or more coming along or already out... my #1 still sleeping in her cot and she has become used to sleeping inside but she is growing out of it and I want to use it for my #2 soon... my mil keep on saying for us to buy a small bed for her and put inside her room and she will sleep with her.. she claims that it will be best that way so that we can look after #2... i do not really like that idea... is it really that difficult to put #1 sleeping in the same room as #2 with us as parents at night? Any advice?

bobianah,
ya lor. you know some kids just really watch tv/dvd the whole day. sometimes it becomes a way of life for them liao coz child is occupied, then they can have their own time. i think must put a limit to it lah. anyway, i believe that getting them exposed at a young age is a good thing.

you know hor, i wanted to bring jared swimming, but because i didn't expose both him and nat at a young age, he and nat both don't dare to go into the swimming pool you know?? will cry and cry. so hor, really should let them try as many different things when they are young.

fizz,
to me, the safety of my children is topmost imp. i don't care if she is the granny of my kids. i am the mother. i have the final say for all things when they are at this age. i may come across sounding really mean but i think as far as i can, i wont let the kids come to any harm. not esp since she allowed him to bloody swallow a screw!

bloom,
ya lor. ulu and not sure if got good childcare/nursery ard somemore... you know of any must let me know leh.

Abalone...

I noe tis may sound rather insensitive to evoke yr painful memories...but if u dun mind...(if u r not comfy...itz okie)...can u share wif me how did u realise tat Jraed swallowed a screw...n wat did u do or how did u get it out...

I tot tis cld b invaluable 1st aid feedback...as totz can get themselves into anytink...haizzz...

Abalone / Bloom...

R u at BP...u can check out tis cc near BP...The Learning Ladder Woodlands...

I was lookin at School House by the Bay which has rather gd feedback at Katong...they hv tis affiliated br near Ten Mile Junction...lookin at the pix...the one at BP looks even better than the one in the East...

http://www.schoolhouse.org.sg/site_map.htm

bloom,fizz,
kinda confirm i will gatecrash KKH lah. i dun tink there's any way barry will b full term. just hope he won't come out b4 34 weeks. my new gynae oso tinks can last till 34 wks v gd le!

ya ya, i was e one who said tt fizz. hehe, my labour story hor v interesting one. till now i still like 2 go bk n read. v happy i recorded it in details on my blog.

bloom,
aiyo, u can read during lunch mah. anyway my blog these days all words nia. hehehehee... ur labour was e v cool one. took train 2 hosp somemore.. all by urself. i tink our 2 cases hor, left a deep impression on all e mummies here.

yingling,
welcome back! act u tink bt it hor. makes no sense 4 ur no1 n no2 2 b in e same rm leh. our nb will cry 4 milk every 2-3 hrs at nite 4 at least 2 1st couple o mths. how's our no. 1 gonna sleep? den both end up crying how u settle?
btw, u're nt hiring confinement lady? i noe some mums will let their CL sleep w e NB.
4 me, ever since i past 1st tri, i've put mandy in her own rm w her own mattress liao. she was oso previously in a cot in e same rm as us. if u're interested, can read my posting on it here: http://k-newestnews.blogspot.com/2008/03/sleeping-on-mattress.html
hope it helps.

as 4 nutrition hor. hahaha. aiyo, like dora, if our girls act eat their whole meals every meal we v happy liao lor! but really lah, y rack ur brains over it? 4 me it's q simple: every meal is mainly carb (rice, pasta, mee sua, potatoes etc) + 2 kindsa vege, 1 meat n 1 sthg else which can b egg/tofu/mushrm/wolfberries. den everyday at least 1 serving o fruits. but mandy can eat up 2 3 servings lah. heheheh

i just make sure she gets enof o food fr e diff colour grps. but food hi in beta carotene can't gif everyday or she'll turn orange. fish can't gif everyday cos scared o mercury poisoning. n no seasoning (as much as possible), no fried stuff, minimise preservatives.

er.... seems like a long list hor but act v simple lah. no need 2 count n count one. n milk is 4 calcium leh, how can dun consume at all?

thx v much 4 ur concern! I HAVEN'T POPPED!

but 1st day serious bedrest nia n i wanna bang wall liao. after just 2hrs o lying in e morn, i dev a headache, n i'm still having it now. might b due to medn oso lah.
by afternoon, i's aching all over, esp since i tried to chat n surf on e bed, twisting my arms n neck.

by evening, i was pukish and lost my appetite tho i was v hungry. din finish dinner.
oh n whole body is v hot cos o e medn. sighhh....
aiyooooooooo....
i read tis pregy book which says bedrest is e worst treatment a gynae can prescribe n i really agree man. i'd rather take jabs everyday. sian.

linette ar, how did u survive ur bedrest, esp w ur no.1 ard har? share some tips leh! *blink blink*

mommies, i remember u all had discuss previously on some brands of pkt milk to try if we are outside with no FM and bb wana drink milk... can anyone recap the brands, and is it available is small pkt size (not 1 litre :p)..cos might be running around next few weekends alone with carrier and kate, so trying to see if i can minimise luggage by bringing 1 pkt rather than FM powder, milk bottle, hot water etc....

alabone, btw, which doc did u bring jared and nat to? feel like changing kate's pd so is sourcing for a good pd/gp near our place ...

kimi,
bedrest really very cham leh. but maybe you can surf net, go read pple's blog to keep yourself entertained *wink wink*, read books, watch tv/dvd, comb your hair a hundred times for better blood circulation, msn with us, read papers, think of more recipes for mandy, plan barry's first mth celebration, blah blah blah?? hehehee.. i think i a bit kuku today.

fizz,
no lah. no bad memories. angry memories more like it. i think abt it and when reminded about it, i've a whooooooole lot of things to say abt her. so let me begin. are you ready??

her own place that she used to stay in was enbloced. so hb invited her to stay despite my protests. coz he said he only son no choice. so i was not insistent.

about 4 days before she officially moved in, she was at my pl coz she needed to shift things in. she said she wanted to help look after jared and told me and hb to rest. i thought since she's going to come and stay already, might as well let her try and see how.

it was only half an hour.

but the whole time i was damn uncomfortable and worried.

so half an hour into 'looking' after my son, jared burst into my room and she followed behind, telling my hb 'jared spoilt your car'

so we were a bit puzzled lah. they were in the study room the whole time, what car was she talking about.

then hb realised that she was referring to his remote control toyota wish car that he ordered online.

firstly, the car was put way up high on the shelf. jared could never have reached it himself. so she must have given the car for him to play

then if she allowed jared to play with the car, she must jaga right?? you tell me whether you think she got jaga or not ok?

we saw the state of the ruined car and it was absolutely torn apart such that the wires inside were exposed and the screws came loose.

how in the freaking world would that have happened if she was looking after?? so she must have left jared to play and then allowed jared to do whatever he fancied and didnt stop him right?

so after knowing what happened, i picked up jared and asked him why he spoilt the car. stupid mil suddenly said 'jared, where are the screws in your hand?'

i was shocked beyond words. screws???? what the f*** were they doing in jared's hands?????

then jared opened up his hands and produced one screw.

so i panicked lah. she asked jared where the other screw was and jared didn't answer. i thought perhaps he didn't understand so i asked again in mandarin 'jared, ling wai yi ge luo si zai na li'

guess what jared said?

'wo tun le' (i swallowed it)

i tell you!!!!!! how would you have reacted if you were me????

so my natural reaction then was to pry open jared's mouth and look inside. nothing.

so i told my hb. then we checked his stools for the next couple of days. i checked lah. not him

do you think my son knows how to lie at that age???

do you think she is capable of taking care of my children????

after that, she insisted on wanting to take care of him some more and i simply refused to let them be alone alrady. jared wanted to hold the pen, she gave it to him. jared took the pen and wanted to go and draw on my sofa and the walls, she didn't even blink, allowing him to do that. i was sooooooooooooooo angry. but at that time, i was still ok with her. so i just purposely scold jared but indirectly scolding her. i told jared 'you cannot take the pen and do whatever you want to. it's not correct.'

then she f***ing had to say 'it's ok, he is still a kid. just let them do whatever they want. they won't understand you scolding them anyway.'

i wanted to punch and slap her in the face.

after that, i never never let her hold jared or nat again.

when jared and nat comes home, i will quickly usher jared into his room, enticing him with the toys that he plays here once a week and i'll insist on carrying nat myself so that she cannot carry her. if the maid carries nat, she will go and try to carry. but when i carry, she'll ask 'natalie, may i carry you?'. i don't even give her a second glance and i will bring nat into the room.

so the only thing she can say to my kids are 'hi'.

i hear her voice i want to pull my hair out. i see her i want to gouge my eyes out.

there are a lot more things that happened of course. if you are interested, then i tell you. else i'd be flooding this forum with my grouses that not all will be interested in.

bloom,
when kids are sick i bring to them the babybear clinic at blk 849 Woodlands St 82 #01-209 Opp Woodlands North Plaza. he's pretty good. very very detailed and takes caring. for my kids' bday, he would even send a card to them. his working hours are not very long tho. in the morning, he works from 9-12, then from 3-6. saturdays by appt only.

i think so lah. can't really remember.

Kimi...

Kekeke...yr life story is indeed very dramatic...but I do njoy readin yr blog...

Bloom...

Cae's lazy mummy wil bring a pkt of Magnolia UHT Full Cream milk for him when we go out...heeheehee...personally...I prefer fresh milk...but as its name suggests...fresh milk has to b kept cold to prevent it fm goin bad or bot on the spot...plus Cae doesnt like cold milk...n I prefer tat brand cos itz packed in NZ...

Alabone...

Thx for sharin tat incident in detail...gosh...itz pure negligence...n ignorance...to allow a kid to play wif screws...haizzz...itz a wonder tat u can keep yr cool enuff to check Jared's mouth n asked him abt it...so the screw came out in his poo?...

Hee...I dun mind hearin yr stories...since I m gonna hv more time soon...but dun pull yr hair n gouge yr eye lah...later not pretty how...

Actually hor...when Cae was 1 day old...my MIL wanted to carry him fm his bassinet at the hospital...I let her try as (1) she kept sayin tat shez up to takin care of my bb n I since she hd given birth to 3 kids...(2) I sent her for a prep class at TMC...as she was supposed to help me to take care of him durin my confinemt...but she was so unsure as to how to carry a nb...n she actually dropped his head on the bassinet while carryin him...I jumped up immed even tho my wound hurt...wah...my 1 day old bb leh...after tat...I swopped her role wif my maid...my maid wil take care of my bb instead...(I tested my maid to c if she knew how to handle my bb)...I din dare to let her carry Cae for 6 whole mths til he was older...but she was quite zi dong...she din ask to carry him after tat...she merely looked at him or touched him...when I felt Cae was sturdy enuff...I tried again wif a very watchful eye...by offerin to let her carry him...n to b fair...she hd not let Cae fallen durin her care when she helped me out wif childcare for a short while when I returned to work...I was angry wif her more for other tinks...but I hv since "see open" liao...