(2006/12) December 2006 MTBs

Kimi
maybe mandy thinks u can understand her really well, that is why she cant be bothered to speak.

Shihui
i've read that PH can speak.....D has been eating adult foods and can utter quite a few words, that is why i really wonder if chewing ability is related to speech ability. D's molars oso not out la but he can take all sort of adult food, even fried bee hoon as a meal.

fizz,
you're not weird la. nowadays a lot of boys like that colour. when my kids in school were choosing colour for their class tees, the boys were the one who wanted pink (of coz there are those who don't like it) and there were girls objecting citing that it's 'too girlie'! so no worries.

choo,
yes. i read. it is indeed my friend. actually, she's more like my colleague who sits right beside me...

karen p,
is chewing ability really related to speech ability?? i never knew that. nat can say many different words and at times, she is able to string it into a somewhat proper sentence. like that time when she said 'wo hai yao mum mum' (i still want more food). but most of the time it's just words that she associates with objects like 'ball ball', 'bear bear', 'pig pig', 'bu yao' (her personal fav word), 'yao', 'pa4 pa4', 'scared', 'doggie' - but can't pronounce dog so it ends up only as 'gie', 'bird', 'cow' - loves to yell this during the cadbury ad, 'car', 'star' - without the 's' sound, 'again', 'bus' and a couple more. can't remember now. she dislikes soft foods and like to munch on crunchy stuff and eats adult food. is there a link? at times when she doesn't see objects she can verbalise, she speaks korean mostly. like 'yum ni ah ng ng yo'. don't know what the heck that is but she is able to keep repeating it. very very strange. i've heard from other mummies that their kids also speak tamil and jap. mine is mainly korean coz strangely, she likes to end all her funny sentences with 'yo'. perhaps she's a bit hip hop...

too free at work presently. so posting lots of nonsense. skip when you all see my nick...

Hi Mummies...

My maid said tat Cae liked the pumpkin sauce pasta...but she din put any meat for him...so he ate it w/o much fussin...aiyo...tis boy is turnin into a vegan liao...in tis case...NOT by his mummy's choice...except for porridge where the meat is so mushy tat it blends into the porridge liao...

Alabone...

U r in the office real early huh...yr NatNat is amazin!!!...she can string sentences...even in Korean!!!...

karen p,
sometimes i feel tt way too. cos i find tt she has no incentive 2 speak leh. most o e time she just 'eh!' den i noe wat she wans... hmmmm, den i must pretend i dunno isit?

shihui,
mandy oso no molars wor. she has only 8 teeth n her teething process takes 4ever one... sian..

fizz, hwee, lil, alabone, shihui,
i love boys/guys in pink. i tink as long as cutting is obviously 4 boys den ok lah!

roo,
at least denise noes how to go woof woof! hehehehe...
oh, wolfberries cooked w rice is mandy's all time favorite! but i serve tt like every 2-3 days leh. will OD on wolfberries one or nt har?

afcai,
the polyclinic oos last wk.. i grab the last 2 off the shelf liao.. :p

roo,
denise so cute.. keep saying 'woof woof'..

i'm planning 2nd visit to the zoo too.. the first time, he din really play much coz still too small.. now he shd like it more..

hubby is very keen on bringing him to night safari.. but feel tt he's not ready yet lah.. he will end up seeing rocks n trees n lights instead of the animals.. will be so wasted.. :p

karen,
wah.. fried bee hoon ah.. i still dun dare let him try.. afraid too oily for him... he still haven't eat fried stuffs yet.. going to intro him this weekend..
will be stir frying chicken meat.. hope he can take it well..

alabone,
nat nat is so li4 hai4..
can say so many words n link words to form a sentence..

kimi,
heee.. PH oso stuck with 8 teeth.. now my mom is blaming me for giving him BM for too long n caused him to be calcium deficient.. *faint*

mommies,
ever since i stop giving PH BM.. i become lsot when i'm sick.. in the past, when i'm sick, i juz keep giving him fresh BM n he will be protected.. so he's never sick when i fell sick in the past.. but now hor, i'm soooo worried tt i may spread to him.. no more BM to protect him liao.. n he seems rather lethargic yesterday.. slept fr 8.30pm all the way till 7am today.. it's the first time he slept so early... any way to protect him fr me? i dun really carry him much these few days liao...

Alabone...

NatNat is not weird at all lah...she is so clever!!!...

Roo, SH

I brot Cae to the zoo wif my dad some wks ago in the pm...I was TOTALLY exhausted...he din wan to sit in the pram...so we lugged him almost 90% of the time...walkin up n down slopes...n the stupid tram staions r so far fm the exit n each other...then he wasnt interested in the animals...except the birds which fly in the sky n fish which swim in the ponds...he was more interested in the flowers n plants...I might as well bring him to the park which is free...I collapsed when I reached home...next time I wil make sure tat I brin my hb along...

SH...

Cae has 8 teeth too...wif another 2 pointed "fangs" sproutin out on top...

Wear a mask when u r sick...n make sure u wash yr hands after u touch watever bodily fluid on yrself...like muscous, saliva, etc...n whenever u prepare his food n feed him...

wow, this thread is suddenly so active! :p

Fizz
got your mail. pls check my reply.

mbb
very nice crocs lei. got lobang? can tumpang?

Shihui
my hubby also planning to go to night safari as we have never been. wanna go together?

lyricist
wow, Kai and Min have grown so much! they are so adorable!

kimi
got OD on wolfberries huh? haha! never heard before lei. i used to take it as a snack. ooops!

karenp
dun think chewing is related to speech. speech is more controlled by the tongue. my #1 doesn't chew very well, even she's 6 this yr, can't take meat very well but no problem with speech.

sylk
no worries. with fewer kids these days, all kids are to be pampered. dun think you overindulge in Regina at all.

alabone
wow, Nat is amazing! wish my boy knew more words, he only 'eh eh' to me now. :p

Fizz
my girl also vegan not by choice. only likes veg since she can't chew meat properly. but tim is different, can handle small pcs of meat so far. keeping my fingers crossed.

hwee,
tt's a great idea..
can plan a safari trip..
but hor, it's so dark in there.. wondering if PH will be able to differentiate between rock and animals anot.. hehehe... :p

how abt a zoo trip first? :p

Shihui
ya, i also promised my girl will bring her to zoo since we haven't been for a long long time. likely will do it on the public holiday coming up. May day, can?

Fizz
sorry for rushing you..... my pc at home hard disk corrupted liao, so got problems..... sorry!

kimi/sylk
yah, i tried letting them self-feed themselves cereal. they made a big honking mess. i spent more time cleaning up than feeding them. that's why i really dread letting them self-feed even though i know it's necc for them to learn competence. i'm dragging my feet on this one, hoping that their hand-eye-mouth coordination improves more before i try again. is there any food i can give that's less messy than baby cereal and porridge?

alabone
yes, they're colour-coded
not bimbotic lah, just stating the obvious, hee hee...

afcai
yes, they fight! quite frequently when the other gets in the way - hair pulling, pushing, pulling shirt, bopping each other on the head with toys, you name it... my boy's the gor-gor, girl's the mei-mei. min's more willing to share and take care of her brother, helping me to pass him his nappy/biscuit/book/toy.

my blog: http://karenjotsze.livejournal.com/
i'm also linked in the dec06 mommies common blog

fizz
optical illusion lah. both my twins quite katek. i think both only ard 72cm at the last vacc/health check abt a month back.

shihui
actually the ikea kids' chair too big for them still. they still need my help getting on and off it. occasionally they fall off ;P

mbb,
no problem. take your time w the photo.

roo,
yup yup. sophia was at the zoo ysterday. haha.. now we use skr shoes to identify the dec kids. was she crying when u saw her? my parents brought her n my nephew there. think next time they dont dare liao. seems that my gal was afraid of most animals, even statue animal!! hmm.. she wasnt like that when we brought her there CNY period. then my nephew lei, every time one speck of sand kana his feet, he wanna remove his sandals. so my parents headache with both their antics.

ystday my gal woke up at 7am+, my nephew abt 10am+; after coming back from zoo, bathe liao my nephew zzz.. but my gal still can tong! she finally zzz at 8pm. really ah tis gal. no need food, no need zzz.

fizz, hwee,
take plenty of veges is good. my gal dont like vege, dont like meat - unless its pulverised and mix with porridge. also if she detect the taste in the porridge, she will spit it out.

alabone,
hi 5! we got same pattern type of mum. hehe ;)

Hwee,
it's closing down sale and it's the last pair!!
my fren n i kinda hafta fight for it! kee kee keee.....luckily it was tooooo small for her child. phew!!!

there were alot of nice Nike for boys.
on average was ard $40. not cheap BUT very stylo milo.

you PM me your hp. next time i find such good deal again, i can sms you

Alabone,
show me Nat's cover le.

Shihui,
got my PM?

Lyricist,
can i check with you regarding the Ikea chairs?
stable bo?

lyricist
guess the kids will take a while to learn to get up and down the chair. my boy also falls off it occasionaly. He can only manage the round stool from Ikea which is lower in height.

defintitely can't tell their height from the picture.

starluster
i know taking lots of veg is good but anyone who sees my girl will definitely ask, is she eating? sigh! i wish i could fatten her up a little.

did Sophia enjoy herself at the zoo?

Fizz
you didn't let Cae walk on his own in the zoo?

mbb
yes, thanks!!!! i've pm you already!

i personally find the wooden chairs from Ikea ok. the plastic ones are quite flimpsy...

lyricist,
hehe.. they look quite comfy on the chair leh..
is the kiea chair gs? thinking of buying their table set for PH too..

mbb,
i can't check email leh.. my co block access to all ext email accounts...
is it urgent? i can PM u my office email..

Hwee...

I emailed u liao...thx...

Cae was a bit cranky as we crossed over his nappin time...so he wasnt exactly keen to walk...plus it was ultra hot tat pm after a downpour in the am...

Star...

Wat is pulverised ah...

kimi,
jav also.. whenever he "eh eh", i know wat he want. i ever tried to ignore him, he grab my hand n drag mi to the tings that he wan. I kept telling him to speak out n refused to take for him. He will throw his temper n start wailing. sigh.. end up we relent to him. Till now, he will oni say "mama", "dada", "kaikai".. sometimes babbling baby lanugage..

mbb2/shihui
the ikea kids wooden table & chair set is very stable - quite solid and heavy. but i think it's not very comfortable becos it's so hard.

my girl, min, can't seem to figure out how to sit on it properly. maybe her bum too fat and round, so she always end up slouching and balancing on her butt, like so... (see below) and she can't figure out how to right herself again so i always hv to rescue her from her 'yoga' position. she always gets very cross when she finds herself trapped like that. such a silly goose. her brother, on the other hand, always sits ramrod straight in a perfect posture. weird kids, i have.

1365476.jpg

i don't think nat is clever la. she's just super talkative. likes to blabber nonstop to herself, to the dog, to everyone in the household. but see strangers will keep quiet and pretend to be demure.

starluster,
*hi 5* but i think quite poor thing when our mums think this way you know?? very difficult for us. but at the same time, we are also stuck right? then hor, a lot of times she face black black so i just shut up and let her coz taking care of both my kids really not easy...

mbb2,
how you know i did a cover for nat??? i said ah?? cannot remember anything. i'm at work now, can't post the pic. will do so tonight if i have not pengsan from tiredness... zzzzz

if you know a good divorce lawyer pls PM me the contact.
not for myself la.
contact for PI also needed.

thank you very much!!!

re: chairs n tables

i bot e ikea plastic ones leh cos e wooden ones hor, like nt easy to clean. den i scared paint lah, food lah, seep into e wood. hehehe. plus much heavier than e plastic ones. but i do agree they're a bit flimsy. def too hi 4 their feet to touch e floor now, esp 4 my midget mandy.

but i like lor cos when she sits there she will focus on wat's on e table n nt run ard e whole rm. b4 tt, i cld nv get her 2 draw, now she refuses 2 let mer keep her crayons. n she sits v well. mb cos she's e careful sort lah. won't fall off.

serene,
i read tt it's possible 4 tt to happen, ie delay their speech when they dun feel a lot o incentive to speak. but i'm ok w it lah. as long as i noe there's nothing wrong her, ie she can hear, she can understand den it doesn't bother me tt she's slow. let her take her time. anyway, she's slow in most tings. hehehehe...

fizz,
did u go to e fragile forest in e zoo??? must go! it's where u can go up close n personal w e animals. mandy loved it there n refused to b carried. another place is e petting zoo. e last time i went, ponies (or donkeys?) were jumping all over e place, over railings. so funny.

e others hor, elephant lah, lion n tiger lah... all a waste o time in my opinion cos 4 their age, they can't really just stand there n squint n go 'wow' at an animal far far away tt doesn't move much. hehehehe...

re: chairs and tables,
i also bought the plastic coloured ones from ikea. i just like it for the colour it brings to the kids' room. nat can sit on it pretty well too and she would climb onto it herself and attempt to 'jump' off it too.

kimi,
i brought nat and jared to the petting zoo previously also. the pigs were snorting damn loudly. jared went around patting all the animals and had good fun. definitely a must go for the kids to get more up close and personal with the animals.

mbb2,
ok. i'm posting the mag cover here. hehe.
1366032.jpg

1366033.jpg

1366034.jpg

kimi,
I did wat u do when Denise wanted to self feed. She oso nt very steady yet.
These few days she is more demanding. The moment she saw me with the bowl, she insisted that I put at her high chair. (don't want her to throw tantrums during meal so I go with her flow) Normally she will still allow me to feed the 1st 3/4 cos the porridge is hot nw I hv to 'jar gar' her n tell her its hot then she will blow her spoon. Dunno to laugh or cry.....
btw, wat is OD? overdose?? hee..

kimi, Shihui,
think I will rather Denise hd less teeth. She hd 16 all together but when it comes to cleaning time its a BIG headache. Her 2 upper front teeth near the gum area is yellowish. Even by force oso can't reach. I worried if I use too much strength will cause the gum to bleed.

shihui,
Denise enjoined herself most at the playground. There were less ple since its a wkdys. If weekends I think I will b very kiasi to let her crawl and play ard esp with the high rise of HFMD. :p
Mayb u wan to wear a mask? Sm1 here mentioned b4. Actually our toddlers r more 'yong' than us. Tat tm, both me n hubby and my mum r sick. Denise still ok (*touch wood)

Fizz,
Denise oso dun really wan to stay in the pram. Nw my arm and leg aches.

Shihui, hwee,
sm parts of the night safari is lighted. there is a path where leds u to see the bat. very exciting hee....

lyricist,
u hv a wonderful pair of twins. double mess to clear but double joy too

I know the shops above beach rd hawker centre (opp golden mile) do the sewing for army uniform tags. Mayb u can try.
For labels there is this printing of name on the cartoons character sticker. Smtm u may see them in Carrefour. Last rd I saw was at Raffles Place MRT.

star,
really uh? Ur parents very steady! Can bring 2 kids to the zoo.
The 1st thg I saw was the shoes when ur Dad carried Sophia in the cafe. Then I told hubby mayb sm1 fr the dec thread is here. hee.....
Sophia was very guai leh. Denise was fussing at that tm then I told her see the baby (Sophia) then she ok

I gt chong dong to ask whether the gal is Sophia but dun wan to scare ur parents :p
We did smile at each other. They must b wondering y I kept looking at them n the 2 kids keke.....
My gal oso very energentic. Only nap for 30mins in the pram then zzz at 10pm last nite.

kimi, serene,
Denise did the same too. She expect me to know wat she wans. Smtm only aft 2 to 3 days repeated act then I understd.
The words she said nw is only papa, mama, mum mum, neh neh, ah ma (her recent fav. but she look at me smtm when she said. make me confused)

Kimi...

We wen to the fragile forest...I love it there too...but Cae stood frozen n wanted to cling on to us...he oni tried goin a few steps after the mouse deer...kekeke...we din go to the pettin zoo tho...hmmm...I wil attempt it next time...

Alabone...

Wow...both u n yr hb r so gd lookin...now I noe where NatNat got her pretty looks fm...hee...

lyricist,
thks for sharing the links.yr blog is filled with interesting detail infor wor...still need time to read on. wondering who is that peanut (soft toys??) slp beside u?

Just want to hear any advice from you if u were my situation, what would u do?

Y'day, we took tx to PD at kidlink to check her lymah node. the PD checked all the lymah nodes (neck,armpit and groin area) tx's body. PD mentioned that the lymah node on tx's right side is very tiny (so dun worry) but it is 'unique' that tx's left side have double lymah node- meaning that on her usual 1cm node, there is
another very small size node beside it. for tx 's case, he say to monitor for another 3 mth to see if the size increse or not (size matter but not if lymah node can be felt or not....it is the size....only but for tx case, the lymah is rather small only 1cm) and also asked us if she encountered with any ppl in the hse for chronic illness (coughing) or any pet. we told him there isn't except during cny, she did encounter with my sil's chihuahua only but that is she already has lymah node (can felt type) during her 9 or 10mth time.

PD also said that some children lymah node is like that, it can be a lifetime case and there is no life threatening case. he gave 2 suggestion whether we wanted her to go for blood test and chest xray or just remove the lymah node for study. but afterall, he adviced was to monitor for another 3 mth as tx's case is not that serious cos her node is small. even the blood test and chest xray were not 100% accurate in the testing. of cos, by taking out the node is to see if the node if beige or not. this case it is much accurate. we did ask the side effect for the removal of the node. the doc said no life threatening and also removing one node no different cos our body got tones of lymah node.

for me, of cos, we dun agree to remove the node fr the neck. my col also have this case, he is refer to a specialist at Tan Sock Seng. the specialist also given him 2 choice either go for surgery or monitor. he said siao anyhow, remove the node (no pain nothing) what if it turned out to be nothing then later got side effect how. so he chose to monitor.

just recalled the comment made by polyclinic doc (2 different doc) and KKH A& E doc.

KKH A & E doc - on 30/3, we took tx to KKH A&E (as suggested by my mum cos she Lao Sai and no appetite. tx has recovered fr fever and vomiting for 3 days then) and 'shun bian' ask the doc abt the lymah node issue. KKH doc mentioned that all children has lymah nodes, it will go away and come again when there is infection and vice versa. so he told us not to worry for tx's case as her node is only 1cm. size is matter unless it is 2cm.

as for polyclinic doc (see doc on 17/3), they mentioned it is 1.5cm for tx's lymah node. she was given 5 days of antibiotic(yellow liquid). then the next doc review (see doc on 27/3) again, she was extended to another 5 days with double dose (2 x2.5ml thrice a day). in total, tx only completed the 9 days out of 10 days course of antibiotic bec on the 10th, she vomitted, lao sai, fever and a bit runny nose (few days ago already runny nose but was on runny nose medicine liao). so she stopped taking the anitiobiotic on the last day of the course. doc said, if the antibiotic work, then it will work on the first dose. so the doc just told
us to focus esp on her fever first etc instead of the node. node now will be not accurate as tx was sick then. so she will be given another doc review again on 25/4 (think won't be gg to polyclinic as we had brought tx to PD y'day). another doc said, if antibiotic did not have any effect then tx will go for blood test or refer to specialist.

Hubby comment: dun even want to take tx to PD and say her node seems to be smaller.

Mum 's comment: just leave it lah, when tx grew up, node will go off.

col comment (last time): get a 2nd advice fr PD since polyclinic doc and KKH doc do seem to do anything. so will ask her for advice again since we have brought tx to PD liao.

so what would u do if u were I?

hai...long sigh...

afcai,
for tx case, i also dunno hw to go abt it maybe except find another opinion lor. All PDs may have different saying one. Else u may wish to try chinese remedies lor. Got 1 chinese sinseh lidat he very "li hai" one. all pblms also can cure lidat. cos he managed to cure his diabetic & high bld pressure patient by doing massage or whatever lar. each time oni $20 lor. maybe can go there ask for advice lor. he also do for bb massage something lidat. Quite near ur hse at Bt Batok Blk 233. Nw the sinseh very famous liao. nid appt.

i very sad/ abit feel disturbed by polyclinic doc words. I bring my gal for MMR Jab on sat. then i told the nurse I need to see doc becos of my gal "snooring sound" when slp. OK see this polyclinic doc he asked me if my gal knws hw to called "PAPA" and "MAMA" i say Dunno yet. mumble but not clear. he say lidat not counted. cos by 15mths baby shld be able to called papa & mama clearly liao. So he hv to refer me to see a ENT specialist. Just nice also to see for my gal Nose pblm of snooring mah. (My hb also when young exactly hv same pblm, slp got alot of noise then hv to go for operation to widen the airpipe one so i scare my gal inherit him). then say same specialist (speech therapist) will find out why my gal cant speak yet. I told doc say my gal altho dunno hw to talk but can 100% understand the things we ask her to do, pass things to who & who she always pass it immed & w/o wrong leh. doc then say could be ear pblm cos maybe din catch the word or whatever shit lar.
Haiz.. go home tell my papa & he ask me to talk to my gal more often & ask her to repeat what i say of calling mama. Last nite out of sudden called clearly MAMA. dunno isit mama anot lar. haha. cos i talked nicely to my gal say see lar. dunno hw to call mama & papa end up hv to see doc liao lor. then she at nite suddenly call mama.

then appt made liao.. 2 may 08 lar. aiyoooo so close to my EDD which is 8may. haha. i told my hb say can shun bian fetch me home if i deliver early & bring gal to see specialist cos all at same hosp @ KKH mah. I may call to defer lar. cos i want to bring my gal myself. I afraid my hb wait missed out anything.

LiL,
yeah.. i went JB yday to get the so hup yuen. dunno isit the same u mentioned lar. the boss say it is meant to expel wind. But prior to that must eat another one to clear all the blood clots in our body one.. after finish then eat the expel wind (so hup yuen). thanks for ur advice.
Lidat i no nid to eat the smelly bew tonics herbs liao. yeah.. I am so scarrrrrrrred of smelly black tonics soup one.

Hi Jen,
thks for the advice, maybe u pm me the actually address for the sinseh. dunno shd I go and see eu ren sang or ma kuang for advice. sian...

ai-yo, now I know, the polyclinic doc are very 'kuang zhang' type after gg for doc review the whole of march.

wow, suddenly, today, I received all the updated bill fr feb - Mar on my co online system. wow, already spend $447.xx in total for doc (for tx and me). only $125.xx are pay by me and the rest of $300+ are deducted by my medisave (the $350, now all wipped out liao). ai-yo, I think one shd bring up suggestion that all kid below certain age shd given free medicial treatment loh.

for yr gar case, dun worry lah, it just she dun want to say mama or papa only. i strongly believe she want how to say. dun place the words of what polyclinic doc say. some kid started speech late while their mobile action are gd and vice versa.ai-yo, last time, during 9mth assessment, yr gar also did a hearing test right...shd have no problem mah....

ai-yo, u better consult doc to see can eat the hup yuen (me no idea what's that) or not b4 u consume. can anyhow consume meh....where's u buy? scared it is fake one....nowsdays so much fake medicine wor...no joke....as reported in the newspaper.but for the snooring problem, do check with the KKh doc loh.

do yr hubby co u for a checkup??

abalone,
WAHHHH... mummy and daddy so good looking no wonder Nat is so pretty lah!!

kimi, lyricist,
can lemme know ur blog addresses so i can go see see look look? my blog is not really my blog... it's Lucas' - started by my sis when i got pregnant - so got nothing but pictures of him.
hahah. if you want, u guys can check it out at www.into-our-world.blogspot.com
We used to update it more often but nowadays very lazy
(( Must find inspiration from you guys!

Lyricist,
your daughter is sooooooooooooo cute in her yoga pose. I can imagine her getting stuck and getting frus!!! SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO CUTE!!!!!

kimi, fizz, roo
what petting zoo is that?
on Sat we brought lucas to the zoo, closest thing they had to petting zoo was the outback section where we can touch the little kangeroos (or were they wallabys...i dunno :p) But they were all lazing in the sun n none came out to the path to be petted! :p

mbb, shihui
re. the chicken pox jab - was thinking of bringing lucas for that jab this weekend. No other kids at home wor... do u think i shd still bring him? He hasnt had his pneumococcal one yet either. Doc suggested i can wait until 2yrs old so he doesnt need to take so many jabs - since he doesnt come into contact with other kids and doesnt go to childcare. Cos if jab now, need to have many more jabs?? cost more and more painful.

kimi,
how did u manage to get mandy to bite meat slices? slowly phase her in? like start maybe we strips? then pieces? Lucas only eats porridge with mince meat now so think he hasnt had to try breaking down bigger pieces. Easier for my mum also lah... no need to worry if he's chewed the pieces small enough to prevent choking. Any suggestion how to phase in bigger bits? cos I'm always scared he will choke cos he eats very quickly.

sigh... need to get back to work now but just to let u guys know - Someone emailed me an article re. those ball pits where kids go n splash around in a room filled with colourful balls. This article was re. one kid dying in Australia cos he was poked by a needle left in there by a heroin addict. When the police went to clean out the pit, they found diapers, faeces, pee, knives and even a snake nest (the article mentions another kid who got bitten and died - not sure if this is a hoax). Guess this is in Australia where there are prob lax rules re. who can go n sit in the ball pit (hence the needles) and where they have poisonous snakes everywhere but seriously, how clean can these things be? At most, they will take the balls out once in few mths, mop the floor abit and that's it. There must still be pee and poop and saliva and all sorts of other accumulated gross stuff on the balls, which they prob wont clean cos its too much trouble. Scary germfest man... that said, true, our kids cant be too clean o/w they will get sick easily next time but how much dirt is OK?!?!?? Summore with HFMD these days... scary scary

sorry the article was .bmp format and i cant post cos if i size it down, the words are too small! if u guys want, i can email u... lemme know

hwee,
wah... tim so brave! my gal cried n cried after the jab. took quite awhile before i manage to quieten her down.

alabone,
ya lar.. v difficult for us, but bo pian la. my mum won't face black black one, instead she will be very sad - which i think is worse lor. make me feel guilty nia.. so usually i keep quiet lor.

v nice pic of you n hubby - was that taken after nat or before? been ages since hubby n i took a loveydovey photo!

roo,
hehe.. so that was you har. i told my parents and my dad was guessing must be the lady in the cafe. my parents put up white flag liao... don't think they wanna go to the zoo anytime soon. supposedly my bro's maid was to go along - but last minute she was needed to help bro's mil.

my gal guai ah? tot my mum said she tried to push your stroller issit? somemore she messed up the whole floor area - like scattering bird seed around.

afcai,
i think all polyclinic doc all machiam cant pass one lar. I oni go there for my gal jab nia lar.
My gal also did the hearing test. alamak also almost cant get thru lar. 1 ear she din seems to response well lar. but of cos when speak to her on the overall she can hear lar.

ur coy consider very good lor. me too lar. i am in NTU mah.. so can cover my family medical bill (partial)/ very lousy lar i dun like. last few jobs is they cover my doc fees 100% leh. but din cover family lar. what i want to say is ur company allows u to claim for tx is better than can claim $0 ar.
my workplc gg to chg new scheme liao lor. dunno will remove this MSO scheme to only cover ownself instead of family anot lor. If yes i also dun mind if they can cover me 100% for hosp or GP consultation..

hi fizz, stephanie and starluster,
thanks for nice compliments on the pic. it was taken when we were in switzerland in dec last year.

starluster,
same la. she won't be showing black face the whole time but enough for me to feel quite bad lor. so most of the time i also just keep quiet or let her be. then when i see window of opportunity to say my piece then i say in the nicest way i can coat it without making her feel lousy. i think only after i become a mother myself am i able to emphatize so much more...

stephanie,
i think in singapore the situation is probably not so scary but scary enough la. i totally agree that it is a germfest in such places but also cannot be kept 'too clean'. just in case they become overly sensitive to dirt. like my hb... his mum used to be afraid of this germ afraid of that, then kept him super clean. so now exposed to germs a little, he'll fall sick. so there was this one time he told his mum that my mum let our son crawl about in the corridor, she immediately say, 'how can? what if he catches germs/dirt/blah blah blah?' then my hb retorted and said it's ok. 'then like you? keep me so clean and make me easily fall sick'. hehe. i was secretly happy when he said that!

afcai
peanut = my boy (kai)
it's my nick for him. my girl (min) = groundnut. ;P kekeke

stephanie
i enjoyed yr blog! and lucas is CUTE! he's quite amazing - such a large vocab at such a young age! i was marvelling at it. you've every reason to be a proud mommy.

my blog: http://karenjotsze.livejournal.com/

afcai/jen
hm, i think for simple diagnosis polyclinic doc still ok. but like jen pointed out, they can be quite tactless and insensitive. i always give them discount on their diagnosis esp if it's a specialist matter. don't think they necc know best.

stephanie,
i dun really rem how i intro coarser food to mandy but i know i started her on bigger pieces o food v early. cos i read books tt say they might get too comfy w soft n mashy food if we start them on coarser food too late. i was v kiasi.

n i tink it's oso bcos i's lazy. cos i mince e meat myself n it's q tiring. den i ground them which was oso tiring. so 1 day when mandy rejected her ground meat, i used tt as an excuse to just gif her slices o meat. haf nv looked back since! hehehehe... plus she's a diff eater so i had to keep trying diff textures 2 c wat she likes.

i dunno if she act chews them well b4 swallowing but since her poo doesn't contain chunks o food, i tink shld b fine. i feel mandy noes nt to swallow pieces tt r too big/hard 4 her to handle. occasionaly, she'll still gag bcos she's greedy n tried to swallow too big a mouthful. otherwise, i tink they shld haf e awareness liao. mb u try once n see?

oh, mandy eats fruits v quickly too. a few times, she stuffed soooooo many pieces o apples/rose apples into her mouth till she choked n cried n turned red. i had to dig out e fruit fr her mouth. n she got q a fright n din dare 2 eat e fruit afterwards. a bit scary lah but she learnt n won't stuff so much into her mouth now.

btw, my blog is http://k-newestnews.blogspot.com/

alabone,
i tink i'm e dirtiest mum here lah. just ask dora n dee.

i pick tings up fr e floor at home to let mandy eat all e time. even outside hor, if she drops e chopstick/wet wipes tt she's playing w on the floor, i'll pick up n gif it 2 her again. tell ur mum mandy's nv had a diarrheoa b4. hehehehe...

lyricist,
min is so cute in her yoga pose...
went to ikea last sat... wanted to buy the plastic table n chairs... but the table OOS liao... so we decided to wait till table in stock den buy all together...

kimi,
went ikea to look at the tables n chairs last sat... saw the wood n plastic ones.. i oso prefer plastic.. worried tt paint, food etc will get stuck in the crevices too..

alabone,
the mag pics really nice.. esp the one u featuring u n ur hubby... so lovey dovey...

i'm falling into the trap of keeping PH too clean.. till now, i still sterilise his bottles.. seldom bring him to sand play etc... now i'm slowly introducing him to sand all these.. of coz aft tt, i still quickly wash him up.. :p

afcai,
for me, i will choose to monitor it instead of operation.. although operation removes the worries once n for all..

Jen,
dun worry too much.. let selinna go for the specialist assessment n see how...
i got a friend.. she refuse to talk (dun even call mama papa) until 2/3 years old.. aft tt, she's a chatterbox.. as long as she's ard, there's no quiet moment.. :p

Stephanie,
the later u start the pneumococcal jab, the lesser booster shots needed..
as for chicken pox, it depends lah.. i'm not so worried abt him getting chicken pox.. so i'm not giving him chicken pox vaccination lor...

regarding the ball pit, i rem i read somewhere tt the email is a hoax... the heroine needle is a fake.. but, ball pit is definitely very dirty... recently, there's oso news fr taiwan tt the germs coated on the ball pit's ball is more than on a dollar note..

Jen,
Don't worry lah, my girl also cannot talk yet. Nonetheless, she's a master in gesturing and commanding people to do what she wants.

Sigh, I miss Ikea. A couple of weeks ago we walked past a jetty and an elderly couple who have been living on their boat for 3 years got excited and asked if there is an Ikea here - coz we were lugging an Ikea carrier. Haiz... unfortunately no.

Hmm.... can't remember who mentioned about watching too much TV. I think Regina is the champion liao. She alternates between the shows on my iMac (we share the monitor - she watches her shows on half the screen and I surf on the other half), the DVDs playing on her own ibook (yup, she already knows how to press play and pause and of coz call for help when something weird happens) and finally my FIL's mini laptop where she plays games. When she drinks milk, it must be done in front of the computer. You know, she even knows how to plug the mouse into the USB port.... seriously. I kenna scolding from hb liao - he said I'm spoiling the girl's eyesight with too much computer time. :p

G:\arwendata\ABS-CBN\New Foldera
G:\internetcapture\data\auto\ABS-CBN\20080420_cbs

Jen,
err..yr organisation is partial gov (st broad) mah...yup, tx 's bill can claim a bit(dunno how many % compare to me I can claim 85%(deduct fr medisave) while I only paid 15%). err...all along, we(whole family) went to polyclinic to see doc one, seldom go private (unless want to keng mc take 2 days). I'm also MSO scheme mah. my col medicial scheme better - some pension and some cover 100% (can claim full amt unlike me) ownself and immediate family. too bad, my hubby cannot claim for the immediate family.

which polyclinic u go to? I always ask for bb doc (bb has one the only one doc cater for kid and woman).

lyricist,
so interesting nickname for yr twins. true, simple normal sickness can go polyclinic.

shihui,
thks for the advice. operation so scary, dun want to leave a scar. my col told me that that the final choice. she also has this issue b4, the doc just scape a tiny tissue out of her neck and do the testing. then place plastic over and it took few days to heal. anyway, there will be doc review for tx 3 mth later in jul.another mummy remove her lymah node fr her armpit when the specilist told her to choose the option - remove or monitor. she scare it it the breast cancer cell mah.

kimi,
u are not the dirtiest mommies. Me too. i got no time to sweep & mop hse everyday. oni do 1 wkly. then sure some corner will hv dust. my gal go pick up & eat. omg. of cos dig her mouth to get out the dust lar. omg.. my fault cos din keep the hse clean. Nw my gal sees me use Magiclean to clean the flr she also helped me out liao. very cute. will not even let out those area under sofa leh. see liao so funny.
My gal things dropped on the flr of cos i no give her lar. if drop on sofa i picked up & i eat it away. of cos she see my action she will thot is right to follow also. so she follow lor smetimes.

SH,
ya lor. hv to bring my gal for the assessment & see hw lor. see what the doc advice lor. I went to another thread on this topic also got many children talked clearly when they reached 2-4yrs old. Once they speak,they talked non stop. So i hope my gal is this kind of case lar but then not speak at 4yrs old lar. haha.

sylk,
ya ya my gal exactly like ur gal. machiam "guan jia po" command pple do thing. i shld not say until so exaggerating lar. but rather they are clever lor. my gal will e-e-eh-eh but i knw she is trying to say something sometimes i can understand sometimes i cant ...

afcai,
yeah.. my company gg to change to a new scheme liao. no more MSO scheme liao. will hv a yr budget of $2350 for medical benefit. can opt to add in spouse & children. can go for higher premium if i wants. add little money from my benefits. then see GP under panel doc oni co-pay $5 nia leh. sooo happi. i can easily keng MC liao lor. haha. then specialst oni co-pay $15. A&E co-pay $10 nia. good leh. i so happy with the new change. will definitely opt in my family for medical benefits. then polyclinic & panel doc NO CAP at all. wow full reimburse leh. shiok. But oni take effects from 1 jul 08 lar. haha. hope i can stay long in this plc to enjoy the benefits.

I always go BB polyclinic lor. cos my gal records are all there mah. I din ask for bb doc cos i oni nid a referral letter mah. I dun trust all Docs in polyclinics one lar. they are not specialise in children case lar. anyway is the nurse who helped me get a room to see doc. she passed our casenote to doc & doc called for us liao. ok good what i no nid to wait. Most impt i oni want the referral letter.

harloowww...
today so quiet ah?

kimi,
aiyo. i think what u read is correct. sophia now overly comfy with mushy food. cannot swallow meat/vege. dunno if cannot or don't want to, coz fruits she is ok.

shihui,
still plenty of plastic table at ikea tampines! after reading all your recommendation, last nite i went to get my set liao
setup and re-arrange my gal's playroom after she zzz. wonder how she reacted to it this morning. sometimes i just feel i miss out on all her milestones or emotions.

yup.. heard of many such cases. child refuses to speak till 3 years old.. but once start, cannot stop yakking.

sylk,
i find the sharing of the monitor so endearing. mummy n daughter enjoying their own activiy together. wah.. R very high tech ;) somemore got her own ibook. R dont drink milk from bottle liao? how to drink in front of computer? For Sophia, we need to read her storybook while she drink her milk. And she doesnt like to hold her bottle, so imagine have to one hand hold bottle, one hand hold book, turn the pages. My hands very 'sng' ah!