Lil,
noted. will let my mum know n get her to incl the bones in the future

Lil n Bloom,
emailed u the book list liao.
i borrowed from NLB too

Bloom,
i arrange the books standing up (can only see the spine).

Star,
Meg started with tat too

it's so funnie rite?

Fizz,
wat have u been buying???? bo jio me?
i grab a fair bit of Mothercare's romper n sleepsuit while i was in HK (much cheaper).
too bad the Pediped bo stock

my "must have" list completed liao.
feeling abit empty.....n hands itchy!!

re: carseat.
Meg will be on booster n Alysia will take over her Combi carseat.
i will be stuck in the middle for another 2 years. keee keee keee....after tat, i hope to move back to my front seat! missed the full blast aircon n the view

Mbb...

U r oso interested in bks BPs n sprees ah?...:p...okie...I jio u next time...yah?!

I oni bot some intro Chinese bks for Cae at tis BP
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2211246.html

I oso bot 3 Schlastic Discovery bks for him at another link which I cant find liao...a bkshop at Forum was sellin for $19.90!!!...the BP sells at $9.90...Amazon sells at abt US$5.99 I tink...

Tis is another BP tat I m bio-in...I heard tat Ladybirds series r quite gd for 1st words recognition...
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2219819.html?1236318022#POST7170622

Go n scan thru the BPs lah...I saw a few cute clothes...but I din buy...cos now tat I m not workin...I m more conscious of my budget...n sometimes u never noe the qlity of BP clothes...waitin for GSS...I hv not done shoppin!!!...

Btw...the booster seat for Meg...issit the ones wif juz a flat seat...or the ones wif a back support???...I hv been sitiin in my front seat for very long liao...Cae is fine sittin by himself at the bac seat...otherwise I wldnt b able to drive him out alone!!!...:p

JTS:
Details for the Popular Sale at Expo:

Venue: Expo Hall 3B

20 Mar 09
- 10am-3pm Popular cardmembers
- 3pm-10pm open to public

21-22 Mar 09
- 10am-10pm

Details of Popular roadshows:

West Mall Open Plaza 2/3/09-8/3/09
Sun Plaza Atrium 6/3/09-15/3/09
White Sands Atrium 12/3/09-19/3/09
Kallang Leisure Park 13/3/09-22/3/09
Kovan Heartland Mall Atrium 13/3/09-22/3/09
Bishan J8 Atrium 16/3/09-22/3/09
EastPoint Mall Atrium 16/3/09-22/3/09
Tiong Bahru Plaza Atrium 16/3/09-22/3/09
Compass Pt Basement 1 23/3/09-29/3/09
Downtown East D' tent 27/3/09-29/3/09
Ang Mo Kio Hub Basement 1 30/3/09-5/4/09
Downtown East E!Hub Atrium 6/4/09-12/4

Fizz,
Meg's booster seat is just the seat with handle on both side.
no back cushion.
i dun wan bulky item.

ya la. my hb said tat i am not allowed back infront till Alysia is 2 yr old wor. haik hiak hiak.
wat to do...he likey to be the family DRIVER

tkz! i wanted to buy more Ladybirds series coz Meg enjoy reading them.
gonna bio later.
i am very lazy to go to the BP thread de. it gives me headache. so you better beep me wen got good bargain ya

lai lai....we go shopping together, ai bo????

Hello Mummies

CF Chang (Dee) has just delivered her baby boy this afternoon via C-sect. Baby is 3.19kg. Both Mummy and baby are doing well. She said baby looks like Philson!!

Dee...

Congratzzz...
...wow...bb muz b handsome to look like Philson...like tat u can hv a few more lah...:p

hi mbb,
can send me ur book list? muarks!

star,
made reads like that too, except she doesn't even start with "once upon a time". she just launches straight into her own story.

cf chang,

starluster, hahaha... where did they get this 'once upon a time' idea from? not that many books have tat right? and u wan me to go around 'molesting' 'dead bodies'..so bad! :p

Lil, scarly later the auntie feed me wrong info so that i wont fight with them for the female chickens :p Good idea to join some exercise class when E is in school..else really nearly imposs to do some form of exercise... hhaha..agree with u that its easier to pop 12 bottles of chix essence! anyway think recently i am to heaty, always kena sore throat etc.. (not enuf zz too since kate is always sick).. better stop drinking those bottled ones for the time being too..

fizz, 2 yo on a convertible sounds dangerous to me..ahaha.. the benefit of having only 1 kid..i dont have to worry abt the car not being big too (ah Q's attitude) hahaha.. u and cae fini the whole chix and din give ur father any? :p :p :p kate is also doing alot of stunts... so i always tell her 'be careful' until now sometimes when she is doing physical things, she will keep repeating 'CAR-ful', duno if she understand what it means though...

mbb, thanks for the list..its VERY LONGGGGG!!!! ajhahahahah... ur car's aircon also lacking at the back? sometimes i pity the kids, they have to sit on the car seat (so warm) and let get so little aircon... this kate hor..if i sit at the back with her, she will wan me to get her out of the carseat, then she go up and down and run along the 'corridor' of the back seats, and then all kinds of stunts... *shake head*

dora, thanks for the good news!

dee, we wan photos of YAN DAO no 2!!!!!!

Fizz
Haha...no lah...not in the least bit worried. Besides I hv never read any books that began with that sentence to E so I'll be v shocked indeed if he came out with that

If Cae likes factual books then get lots of those for him. Must encourage their interest. We let E choose what he wants to read. On weekends my hb tries to read chinese books to E but after 1-2 pages he runs away liao. But no worries lah...he can actually understand some mandarin, hokkien n malay. Picked up most of these (esp the last 2 languages) through eavesdropping on our adult conversations

Bloom/Star
Was asking my mum re the chicken essence. She said actually must steam for at least 2.5 - 3 hrs. Plus she spends a lot of effort to chop chop the meat n bones to extract the most out of the poor creature. No wonder can always get 1 whole rice bowl of essence frm 1 chicken.

Bloom
Hahaha...u r so twisted! Next time I dun dare ask u Q's liao

Fizz/Mbb
I was finding it difficult to put E into his car seat n wanted to get a booster but after doing some research it seems that boosters r more suitable for kids at least 15kg in weight (n a certain height, depending on the make of the seat) and at least 3 yrs old. In fact those booster seats w/o the back is not suitable at all. I was desperate cos my back was hurting so I bot the evenflo booster seat with back support. That one can be used for kids weighing 13kg and 97cm tall. E is quite close to that threshold so I let him sit in that when I drive him to school. Long distance n on highways will still put him in his car seat.

CF Chang
Congrats! Have a good rest.

Mbb...

I wan go kai kai...:p...I wil b pretty busy these 2 wks...lemme settle Cae into cc at the end of the mth 1st...

Tis Cae hor...I brot him to his cc to familiarise him wif the environmt on Sat...he happily followed the teacher into the room to play...my hb commented tat he wld hv forgotten abt his da da n ma ma liao...:p...hopefully he wld b a happy lil boy when he starts his cc proper...

Hmmm...I realise tat his cc teachers dun speak "purrrrrrrrrfect" Eng...as in "U hv to put away the toys after playin, u noe"...mabbe I m used to his playgrp "ang mo" teacher...but at tis moment...itz the most practical choice lor...based on dist...I may change his kindy next yr...letz c how it goes...

Bloom...

Hee hee...yah lor...my dad is a very gd dad...he tried some of the chix essence last wk on his 1st attempt...then he refused to drink any of it last wk as he wanted me to drink all of it...:p...so actually I m tinkin of askin him to prepare 2 chix tis wk...more essence in the same amt of time = higher productivity???...so tat my dad, hb, Cae n I can all share...gd idea???...:p...

Actually I m really thankful to my dad for all the help lor...fm entertainin Cae to cookin all sorts of gd stuff for me...otherwise...I dun tink anyone wil cook any tonic soup for me liao...(hee hee...read btw the lines n u can guess wat I mean)...

I meant a convertible car seat...those tat can convert from reclinin infant position to sitting toddler position...dangerous meh...not a convertible car lah...:p...

Lil...

I read abt the car seat tinky too...but I m hvg a "nice headache"...:p...if I 2 convertible car seats...my dad wont b able to squeeze in...cos he belongs to the "ahem" not-so-thin type...then I hv a not-so-thin maid oso...

Tat day...it was drizzlin...so I put Cae in his car seat...my MIL was sittin beside him...so my hb told me to get into the car n said tat she knew how to buckle him...so ok lor...when she tried to buckle Cae...he made some noise...n she carried him out...wahhhhhhhhh...so I made some comment tat he muz b seated in his own seat...my MIL then said tat itz no wonder tat he din wanna sit...cos we made him sit durin car ride...made him sit durin meal times...so much sittin to do...wahhhhhhhhh...I was...yes *pissed*...in the end we stopped n my hb forced the lil boy bac into his own seat...

Okie...enuff of grumblin...:p

Fizz
whahahaha! I can't help laughing when I read the confusion about convertible car seat and convertible car. Hiak hiak!

Yes, it's a tight squeeze, hannah in her front facing car seat and sarah in the convertible infant-to-toddler seat (she's on rear facing). I sit in front. Can only sqeeze in my MIL in between to 2 back seats sometimes. Fortunately we hv no maid.
Actually, I find that now that Hannah is older, she is very cooperative and will climb into the carseat herself. In fact, she insists on doing it herself. They are asserting their independance now. I'm glad we enforced that and not let her run around at the back. Now I "task" her to look after her mei mei. She's really sweet. She will give us regular reports or tell her mei mei "No...cannot suck the sock!" or "mei mei, dun cry, jie jie here!"
Really melts my heart man! :p

Lil
Ya, I oso did some research. I dun think our toddlers are ready for boosters yet. At least not till next yr I think (depend on ht, wt etc).

Lil, wow... ur mom really make an effort to extract as much essence as possible... eheh.not twisted lah..seen too much about 'life' :p

fizz, haha. i think its very diffi to get pre school teachers to speak perfect english... cham cham hor... u need to buy a bigger pot for 2 chix :p heheh.. i think i am the blur one (too drugged..under drowsey meds) , i mean convertaible car seat when i type convertible :p actually if a kid is in a car seat, i think there is no danger putting him in a convertible car (not car seat) right? :p

cf chang,
congrats! yeah.. post photos of the yandao kia!

bloom,
haha.. thats the thing. dont think i have any storybook that starts with "Once upon a time.."
She must haf picked up that phrase when i tell her make up story about random things or about her. ;)

lil,
u mean the chicken must chop chop into small pieces? about the size of stirfried pieces?

fizz,
talking about being banana, it is only recently that i felt bothered that i dont know mandarin. i was looking for some children chinese songs for sophia (how difficult could it be rite??) and this banana mummy still can get the wrong ones. got one showing cartoon snakes chasing kids(??!) - sophia doesnt like it. another showing cartoon army with guns - i dont like it. and the third one is flashcard w pictures! arggh, and none of them have twinkle twinkle little star!!! the books u bought got hanyu pinyi? isit story books? i gotta start getting some books in chinese oso.

heh, i also always wondered how will everyone fit in the car if i got #2. but oh well, will cross that bridge when i come to it.

mbb,
can send me the list too? my gal's current craze is the backyardigans. so tat's the latest books i bought for her.

anyway, am so pleased that my colleague finally heed my advice to pull her daughter out of CC and try to build up her immune system first w some supplements. for the last 4mths since start of CC, every few weeks her daughter is on antibiotic. my colleague quite stubborn one, so luckily this time around she finally do something about it.

Hello Mummies

Hahaha.. I think I spend lesser time online when I am a tai-tai now. Now doing some assignments at home for the poly and then will be going to teach part time there. Then will think abt what to do with the rest of my free time hehehe...

Car seat
I also dun feel safe putting JT in those booster seats, cos she sits alone at the back when sending her thro and fro CC. She is willing to sit in the car seat now, in fact she auto want to sit there. That time she was having hfmd, on the way to see the doc, I tot I'll carry and cuddle her since she is feeling so miserable, she climbed fr my lap, patted her car seat and said "ting ting sit here!"

Fizz
Dun angry dun angry.... my MIL also say we are very cruel to always strap her in her car seat. Even though we put a car seat with my FIL, she won't use it unless FIL fetch JT alone fr the CC. I gave up explaining to her.... cos she has her own mentality, explain all abt the safety aspects also no use. I just told her point blank that it is an offence not to put tods in car seat. very serious fine etc. She is afraid of police only.
Fizz, err.. I think that sentence is pretty ok liao... if you go around and see, there are a lot worse ones.... I've even heard some speak blatant singlish, so those are obviously straight off the list. see open a bit lah, as long as its not grammatically wrong, or wrong pronounciation, have to let it go. Dun overstress yourself ok?

Re: Books
I just bring JT to the library, she just choose what she likes, and sometimes I will pick some and let her choose. Anything that might interest her will do. I dun really go for any particular titles. JT love to read books, but she won't read aloud. If she does, it will be " Mummy, see!! fish!! See!! dog!!" I think she still enjoys the pictures more :S But she loves it when we read to her, and she loves books that ask questions, like " how many apples?" or " Do you know XXXX" She will always say Yes!! enthusiastically.

Hihi...

Thanx for all yr advices on car seats...

Hmmm...I was tinkin of getting an infant carrier...those which can double up as a car seat...by the time the bb is 12mo...Cae can b upgraded to a booster liao...wat do u tink...the tink is...Cae tends to slp in the car sometimes...so a booster is not goin to support his head when he slps...

Bobianah...

Hannah is such a sweet jie jie...I guess girls hv the natural nurturin instinct...

Dora...

JT is so guai...my boy is stil strugglin to b put in his car seat...dependin on his mood...he tends to act up when either grandparent is ard...

Hmmm...I wil use the police threat next time...

Star...

Some of the Chinese bks fm BP has hanyu pinyin...the ones which I bot hv English too...well...my hb n I r unable to recognise some of the Chinese characters as well...time to dig out the dictionary...my boy speaks Chinese wif an angmo accent...:|...

As for Chinese CDs, u can ask the salesperson or request them to let u hear the disc bah...

Fizz/Star

Regarding Chinese books with English, I have bad experience with those books/ flash card from China that have both Chinese and English. Cos everyone that I see, there are bound to be errors in the English. So now if I buy chinese books, I'll only buy those that has chinese and no English, Hanyu pinyin maybe ok. But I was thinking if the tods will be confused if they are exposed to Hanyu Pinyin now as the phonics is diff fr English. Just a tot lah, maybe I worry too much :p

Hey Mummies who are IT-savvy

Is it possible to run MS office in a linux OS? I am tempted to buy one of those mini netbooks (the EESUS is selling for only $300+, but linux OS). Reason being I will need a laptop to work part-time in poly. Will only need to project the ppt, maybe some Word and excel. My current laptop weighs like a brick and the battery is totally spoilt. Rather than spending $200 on a new battery, I was thinking to continue using it as a desk top,and then buy a cheap netbook so that I can bring to poly and just project the ppt. And of cos the weight is a super plus point. Anyone can help? Thanks

dora, linux should have open office (or whatever)w hcih is suppose. my colleague was just takling about it yesterday...

see this for a brief idea.

http://ask.metafilter.com/73552/Is-linux-xp-desktop-compatible-with-Microsoft-Office-2007

i am not it-savvy, i just eavesdrop alot into other pp's conversation

what abt getting one of those not-so-powerful-sub-1kg-sub-$1000 laptops like hp or asus? i think some of them do run on windows....

btw, it show from thur - sat/sun

Bloom

Thanks. Gosh, I wanted to type Asus Eee leh... dunno why it turned out to be EESUS... faintz...

Anyway, I think those with Windows are almost $700, linux can get for $200 less. I think I am such an IT idiot, better get good old windows. so have to think hard whether to get it or not, or to pay $200 for a new battery and lug my old laptop around. Might pop down to the IT show on Fri to take a look.

Fizz,
i bought from popular and toyrus.. didnt know they allow to test out dvd. will check w them the next round. i just pm the chinese book bp organizer for her recommendation, coz i see the bp thread n got all blur. my hubby read hanyu pinyin with angmo accent! :|

dora,
bo pian, i need to have hanyu pinyin else i totally cant read. but i do share your thots whether they will get all confused or not. my gal is with lnt now and they teach japanese as well. so sometimes i wonder if she will get them all mixed up.

Star...

Wat is Int???...gd leh tat they teach Jap too...my maid is slowly teachin my boy Myanmese...tods pick up languages at an amazing speed!!!...

Dora / Star

I agree abt the China bks...their Eng can b rather different...like "Lychee" becomes "Litchi"...n some of their Chinese terms r different fm Spore ones...

starluster.hhaa.. u r so funi (abt the funi books u get) ok... feel guilty cos i have not pull my gal out of playgrp yet :p how is LNT? seems taht a few mommies send their kids there..but i just wonder if i should send her to another class since she is already in 5day playgrp...

fizz..talking abt english..yesterday my bbsitter took my gal's bolster and then ask her 'who one?' eee.... and she pronounce stroller as troller (hb called it SCROLLER, scroll up and down the monitor, get it?), and shoes as sue.

dora, cruel to strap a child in car seat?.. there are a few times when hb loosen the straps cos he duno how to strap kate in properly (he always put her in slanted while i put her down sitting straight up), and then halfway during the trip, she get her hands/arms out of the straps and there is no adult at the back! re english errors in china-made books... i got the FP activity table and the apple goes 'apple, red apple, BLUE apple'... errrr.. another FP toy (the dog) teaches the word 'STUPID!' eeeerrrrr... wow..i never know that linux version is $200 cheaper...

fizz,
it's those right brain training thingy. so happened we were at parkway parade when they had their open house during the time when sophia was rejecting cc. so thought no cc, then better have some other form of enrichment and since it is parent accompanied, at least she wont feel so traumatized. so given that circumstance then, we enrolled her. not sure how much jap will she pick up since its only like 1 hour+ every 3 weeks. the other 2 weeks is done in english and chinese.

bloom,
opps! didnt mean to hint u ..hehe. my colleague always pooof at watever i do w regards to child raising la. like she thinks i too free to go around a few CC to check. for her, she just enrol to the nearest one, didnt even look at any other options. even though i feel what i did is really quite minimal liao, she still say i kiasu. so when she heed my advice.. it feels kinda good lor. for her daughter's sake as well la, coz so poor thing keep falling sick.

as for lnt, so far my gal enjoys her class lor. she will happily give up her kiddy ride when i tell her its time to go for class. this is a vast difference from all other class/trials she attended. remember her gymboree trial w kate?!??
anyway, her term coming to an end liao, and since she enjoys it so much, then no heart to stop.

Fizz,
talk abt car seats.. my Selinna dun like her car seat ever since her sister Hazel sat on it. Everytime, i wanna fetch her to elsewhere with the younger sister, of cos the younger sis takes the car seat cos I want Hazel to get used to it. Then Selinna will either hv my mom or sis to sit behind to jagar her. Now she bigger liao. hv to bring 2 to my mom hse. So only 1 car seat. I will just let selinna sit behind w/o car seat & booster.. I knw the booster is for 4yrs & abv leh. But selinna just cant sit still at one plc lar..
Very dangerous i knw lar. but i just dunno hw to strap her dwn leh since the strap is meant for adult & is long & loose.
But the oni entertainment during the joueny is to play her favourtie Barney CD in the car and she will just sing along or watch .. I only can drive slowly lor.. Any other recommendation to strap my gal dwn ar? Sooooo worried one day if E-brake then hw ar?

bloom,
ya Selinna will also auto get her arms out of the strap within 5mins of journey also. then oni strap her buttock lidat lor. Selinna dun like to be tied dwn.

Jen ah, It's a matter of training them lor. We must also be consistent. For quite a while, hannah oso fight with us on and off abt car seat. But we always insist, no matter how much fighting, squirming, fussing there is. Until now she's big liao, suddenly she very good will auto wanna sit in car seat and strap herself in.

roo,
hahaha.. long time no post here.. but i can't help myself when i saw the graduate "put her son to sleep"... sounds like some poor animals being euthanised (spelling dunnoe right anot).. :p poor son... hahaha... :p

starluster, cool that she loves her LNT lessons..but no branch near my pl... i know that shicinda needs to 'practise' at home for max results, what abt LNT? Sophia was not that bad during gymboree lah.. ahahah :p anyway re ur colleague, we can never please everyone.. one of my colleagues have very strong views about certain aspect of child caring... i just keep my mouth shut to prevent her from nagging at me :p

roo, ahaha.my hb does that too (and i scream at him.. i even blogged abt it..)... but waht is teh exact phrase to use btw? 'sleep with her' sounds RA soemtimes :p

Jen, things i have tried incl, kiddy music non stop, portable doodlemat (one with a cardboard base so she can write while its placed on her lap), lots of soft toys stick on the window next to her. i even have to keep showing her pics from the camera from my front seat when she cried non stop. and dont travel when u expect her to be sleepy/hungry halfway during the ride... if really no choice, last resort is to use portable dvd player?

ahah.. ok..this is extracted from my blog (just for laughs)...

"Papa is wearing your socks" (spoken while he was putting on her socks on her)
"Papa is going to occupy you" (spoken when I asked him to look after her while I was busy with household chores)
"What you want?" (when DD cried non stop)
"nippens" (mittens)
"Papa is going to put you to sleep" (!!!) (he wants to put her to bed)
"why you watch news?" (when DD's eyes stray to the TV which was showing the news)

bloom,
Denise is enjoying her class in GUG. I see sm improvment in her. Now she will get excited when the teacher is going to read the zoophonics.
If the distance is ok for u, u may wan to give it a try. Suntec branch now offering $25 for trial class. Usually is $50.

You got it - Put baby to bed

English is so tricky at times haha........
I still remember my English tutor asked - Do you wander/wonder around?

hee.....i used to put Meg to slp. tsk tsk tsk.

never mind la (see, cant live without my "la", kee kee kee). we live in Sg, i doubt we can run away from Singlish unless Meg attend boarding sch.
i prevent myself from correcting her too much/often coz its really too restrictive at times.
dun wanna her to feel preasured (speaking for myself too....lalalala).

re: carseat.
if child start sitting in it very young, not much of a problem.
Meg started since newborn.
she dun fuss much unless she's in her tantrum mood.
she will climb up n fasten the harness herself (with some help from me).

Lil,
you dun have #2.
why not let E remain in his carseat.
carseats are safer n also more comfy compared to booster seat (even those with back cushion).

re: chicken essence.
those who prefer clear version, double boil without the bones.
those dun mind tat it's a abit "muddy", double boil with bones.

school hols start liao.....felt like a "real" mummy.
school hols must plan for trips or activities for Meg to keep her occupied.

Bloom

Actually hubby will say speak Singlish to JT sometimes, I will correct him. Sometimes I really don't understand him, why is it that he can speak perfect English to his ang-mo bosses but always slips into Singlish with JT??

Bobianah,
Its not the same poly. I will most prob not go back to the same poly as long as the head of dept is there as I totally dun agree with his style of working, esp where the curriculum is concerned. I'm actually teaching adults, its for the SPURs program where those retrenched from the other industries e.g. electronics get retrained to work in pharma.

Hihi...

Yest Cae hd his "graduation" party at playgrp...his mummy felt a bit emotional tat hez leavin for his nursery...which shez not too sure if itz gd...but hooray...1 less parents accompanied class for me...finally!!!...itz energy zappin for the parents...

Anyway...we realised tat Cae is a "performer" / "exhibitionist"...whichever way...he was so happy joinin his teachers in performin the music n drama tinky in sch...n he was the oni one up there wif the teachers facin the entire class of audience...wonderin if I shld enrol him in threatrical classes...:p

Bloom...

I really cant help laughin at yr phrases...they r so funni yet so real...

My hb likes to say, "Where is yr eyeS?"' "Take here"
My maid says, "U wan to carry me?" (???)

Mbb...

Yest my dad cooked 2 chix...each of us hd haf a bowl...yummy...

Roo...

R u referrin to me...kekeke...I slip into tat phrase sometimes...

Fizz,
U must b so proud of Cae.

Of course not lah. U r reading this forum I gan gan say u uh haha........ (Singlish again :pP)

re: english
haha, i say tt too sometimes, while knowing very well wat it means. i'll tell mandy "i'm going to put didi to sleep". it's intuitive lah. she noes wat is 'put' n wat is 'sleep'. rite now, i'm too hung up on grammer tho i try 2 speak properly. but really v busy liao lor, n i need to make sure e ger understands, so if i or any other caregiver dun speak grammatically correct english, i dun mind. cannot b too terrible lah of cos. i'm more particular bt pronunciation.

act. 4 presch tchrs hor, 4 me, e most impt ting is tt they're caring and warm n seems to genuinely like kids n enjoy teaching. mandy's playgrp tchr is lidat. she mixes mandarin w english sometimes and her grammar can b a bit sala oso. but her pronunciation is fine n speaks q well, as in tone n everything. my experience in GUG is tt there can b ang mo tchrs who speak perfectly, who carry themselves perfectly well in front o parents n who can blabber off tis theory tt theory but they just can't click w e kids. they not kind n warm n i tink e kids dun absorb anything when they're w e tchr n they dun enjoy e class. besides, now e most impt ting is tt our tods will grow 2 love learning n socialising. so e atmosphere in e sch n how e tchr interacts w them is paramount.

tt's just wat i feel lah. grammar hor, next time we can correct slowly. but i wan my kids to noe singlish lah. MUST noe. hahaha. like me n my sis hor, my parents dun speak english wat. we oso noe how to switch to proper eng when we need to.

Kimi...

My hb shares yr view abt pre-sch teachers bein carin n lovin...itz me lah...I want everytink...haha...so far Cae has some very nice asst teachers who r really like sister n aunty to the tods :p

Mbb
Hv to use booster seat cos my back hurts when I put E into the car seat. Think the top of my car quite low so it's such a strain on my back to lift E and then bend down n twist sideways to put him in. I only use the booster on weekdays when hb is not ard and it's only to drive ard my neighbourhood. My hb is such a stickler for child safety, wldn't let E take the school bus but he agreed that i shd use the booster. We'd be in big trouble if I hurt my back again cos I'm taking care of E alone now.

Roo
In my case, put to sleep is correct
...I make E so bored every night that he falls asleep

Kimi
i totally agree with u re pre-school teachers. What's important to me is that the teachers r patient and they truly care abt the tods...that's was my utmost concern when E 1st started school cos I knew he wld cry alot. I didn't dare leave the school tho I pretended to do so. Instead I hid in a coner n every few minutes, peeped through the tinted glass doors to see how the teachers handled the situation. I was worried the teachers wld get impatient with him but they were great...they cuddled n hugged him whenever he cried during his 1st week. This week they held his hands, looked him in his eyes n told him firmly but gently that mummy will be back for him after he's had his lunch and told him not to cry. Miraculously he just nodded his head n stopped crying. As long as they don't add 'lah, mah' at the end of each sentence can already. So funny last week...Some old folks who were at the community centre to play ping pong started giving me strange looks cos I was acting so suspiciously, sneaking ard n peeping thru the windows. Then one old man couldn't tahan and asked if I was looking for the office!..hahaha

bobianah,
my noti selinna sat on her car seat since small always cry. I let her cry from one journey to another lor. no choice. cos i am driving and cant carry her. maybe that explains her phobia of being strapped to car seat lor.

Whenever i asked her to sit in her car seat she will just say Hazel sit. so it become fix for her that sister will sit instead of her cos she big jie jie liao. haha

Does anyone know where we can buy the children's animated series abt this gentle blue octopus called Oswald here in singapore? If anyone happens to come across the dvds/vcds, pls let me know k? Thanks in advance.

Lil...

Therez an Oswald bonus clip in one of my Barney's VCD ...wil let u noe if I c it...Cae likes it too...but I can fall aslp watchin it...hee...

alamak... another failed attempt to get chinese songs! last nite went library and was so happy they got kids chinese cd. i took one with a picture of this fish, with musical notes coming outta its mouth. looks quite promising. went back and took it out to listen, but found that the cd doesn't belong to the cover. cd totally different color/theme from the cover. written on the cd "tales from father" and its story narration. (-_-) luckily it's loaned, else i will bang my head on the wall liao.

re : singlish
my gal must be the singlish princess.
almost all her sentences ends with lar, nah or ma.
my hubby also one kind la... will talk to her with wrong pronounciation like "oledi, sket sket, ekue me" aiyoooh...

lil, fizz,
i remember there was once, sophia got hooked on the oswald trailer on one of her dvd. keep asking us to repeat that short clip over n over again, almost like 10times. gotta distract her to do something else. then after a few days she saw that trailer again, but this time around, she got scared of oswald.
tats why har, sometimes i just dont understand her...

Starluster,
Kiddy Palace have a few chinese song DVD tat is very good. for CD, i got one very good with song book (too bad i cant remember which CD store).
even i cant read chinese din make any mistake.
songs like "2 tigers", "big elephant" (translate urself hor) etc.
selling at $12.90.

you may wanna check it out

Mbb...

Yest we wen to Taka bb fair...today we wen to Robinsons...shioooooooook...:p

My dad bot one fm Kiddy Palace too...the one wif Stars pix wan...Vol 1...$12.90 oso...