(2006/12) December 2006 MTBs

talking abt feeding, PH has become quite hard to feed too... he's like a monkey during feeding time... he already found his way to struggle free fr the highchair's safety harness... during his mealtime, he will start with gd manners.. aft awhile (within 5min), he will struggle free.. den started by standing up... den crawl onto the highchair table n perform stunts... put him back into the highchair n he will keep repeating.. scold oso no use...
he can even crawl onto the table, step out n reach my laps.. n den escape..... faintz....

other than tt, so far he dun really spit out his food.. the only time he did tt was his pasta meal.. i guess it was really yucky for him... :p

yeah! thx 4 ur concern. i'll still rest more. since there's still a hi chance o premature labour anyway, regardless of the reason. so e 2nd doc oso said most prob barry will come out at 30+ wks too. e least i can do is nt to tire myself out too much which might bring on contractions. hehehe

n since there's possibly at most 1+mth more b4 i gif birth, i do need mandy to get used to other caregivers. so i'm leaving my mil 2 play w her now while i shake leg n surf net. hiak hiak hiak.

i haf one scare already, will b gd ger le.

today i did all e tings i usu do w mandy, n she grinned e whole morning. so long nv c her so happy.
she is still throwing some weird tantrums tho but tt's understandable lah.

Shihui
let me speak to my agent. we used her for all our company's ticketing. let me ask her for a favour for you. get ready the info page of your passports.

kimi
good to hear that you'll be a good girl.
rest more! and good to hear that Mandy is back to her happy self!

Kimi
Good to hear that. But as Fizz say, dun over exert yourself. It's good that ur mum n MIL start taking over Mandy frm now, at least wun kalang kabut when u hv to give birth. Rest well k.

Roo
Thx for coming by my place last wk. We really enjoyed hving u gals over. I was really pleased that E actually socialised n played with Denise
So cute to see them play hide n seek together. Usually he just does his own thing n ignores other toddlers. Must do this again soon k.

doggiebb,

oh tok bt exerting independence! mandy is doing it too! not eating tho! but BRUSHING TEETH!

She HAS to hold e toothbrush and i can't even direct her hand or she'll kick up a big fuss. i noe she's trying 2 brush teeth herself but aiyo, she's hardly brushing anything leh! i turn e bristles e rite way only she oso nt happy! arghhhhhhhhhhhh....

kimi
same with hannah! i wanna help her brush teeth, she won't let me...siam here and there...only sometimes then she let me help her. Sometimes she "brush" soooooo long wont let me remove the toothbrush...i think she just enjoying the taste of toothpaste or something.

wah.. yesterday so happening here while i was on MC.

doggie + the rest of mummies w spitting toddlers.. call me evil, but i feel abit comforted that you all in the club.
been getting lonely here with mandy and jt starting to eat well.

serene,
i am still waiting for the bright day lei.

bobianah,
hehe.. of coz miss la. how's hannah? any recent photos to share? how's your pregnancy getting along? other babies once a while still can peek in their blogs... but havent seen hannah for sometime liao.

kimi,
good to hear of your news. but yah.. do take time to rest more and allow your mum/mil to take over some task. by the way, on self feeding.. sophia will just scoop n scoop food into her mouth until v full.. then she spit out the whole thing, coz she can't manage such big mouthful. but yet, when we try to stop her from putting more food in her mouth, she will get v upset. got any advice on that? u now our feeding guru liao. ;)

yes same! my gal is going "I do, I do, I do" for every single task. esp for household chores (sweeping floor, wiping table, etc) if she keeps up with this attitude when she's older, i will be v senang, no need to do housework liao..

Dear Mummies

Haiz.... JT is running a low grade fever... has been on and off since last fri.... we tot its due to teething cos her lower molars are coming out, so didn't think much abt it, cos it was hovering between 37.5-38. And on Sun and Mon, she was perfectly fine. But yesterday, her temp keep fluctuating and hit 38 deg a few times, then this morning was 38 again. But she looks perfectly fine, good appetite, slept thro for almost 11hrs last nite w/o waking up.... She still has a little stuffy nose that hasn't cleared up since her flu 2 weeks ago... dunno wat's wrong leh... cos last time her teething din have fever for so many days one...hubby on leave again today to bring her see PD later...hopefully nothing wrong... and her CC got 1 confirmed case of HFMD yesterday, altho not her class... now super worried also...

Kimi
Great news!! But like what the rest of the mummies have said, please still rest well. And hor... are you still cooking mandy's meals? Should ask your mum to learn how to cook her meals, in case when you are in hospital/confinement, Mandy not used to her cooking.

Starluster
You will see the bright day one lah... I also tot I'll never see it, but one day it will happen. JT is also like that, will keep feeding herself before she swallow. So I only put a little bit of food in her bowl (like only 2-3 scoops). I make sure she swallow then I top up her bowl. Then because if there is very little food left in the bowl, also more difficult for her to scoop mah, so she will take longer to scoop then can swallow whatever in her mouth 1st hahahaha....
Yah yah... JT also likes to do housework, but hor I suspect when you really want them to do next time, they won't do lor :p

Hi Mummies...

Gd morng...

Btw...someone said which mag has Ruffybear huh???...

Kimi...

I tried self feedin wif the TV switched off n all toys kept away...instead I turned his chair facin our balcony so tat he can enoy the beauty of the blu blu sky...well...he insisted on holdin the spoon inside out...n started scoopin empty spoonfuls into his mouth...nonetheless...we stil cheered him after every "empty" attempt...he seemed pleased...but when I tried to correct his spoon position...he threw a tantrum!!!...arrrrrrrrrgh...all totz r the same...anyway...not too bad for a start lah I tot...then after a few tries...he lost interest in it...n started to stare at the bamboo at my balcony...the sky outside...n bo chap his pasta liao...both self feedin bowl or main bowl...

Star...

U r sic ah...feelin better now???...

We wil wait for the rainbow to appear together...

Bobianah...

Yah yah...post pix of Hannah...I like her cheeky look...

dora,
aiyo, hope jt is fine. but i tink it's q common 4 kids 2 fall sick often when they 1st go cc/infantcare. but low grade fever shldn't b HFMD? dun worry too much. ur hubby will update u soon!

oh yes mandy's food. my mum roughly noes how 2 prepare. it's my mil whom i hafta teach. but i suspect they will modify it cos i used frozen stock cubes. hehehehe. if they wanna brew soup everyday, up 2 them lor.

starluster,
aiyo, u lonely ar?

like dora, i only fill her self feeding plate w a few scoops o food at a time. she scoops q slowly lah, it's fruits tt she'll stuff into her mouth until she chokes n cries. so 4 fruits, i oso gif her a few pieces at a time. but if she sees e other pieces she'll kick up a super big fuss. sometimes i gif up just let her choke lor. choke liao e next few times she'll remember n dun stuff. but after a while, she starts stuffing again... just hope she learns by experience lah...
food guru hor, u must ask dora oso, i learnt a lot fr her...

fizz,
it is a gd start. mandy oso din start self feeding immed mah. initially sure kick up a big fuss. miss a few meals nvm one lah. tink o e long term. once they can eat well, just a few meals missed will b very very worth it. plus hor, dun start now, i suspect it'll be harder n harder e longer u wait. JIA YOU!

oh she oso cldn't hold her spoon properly initially n wld fuss if i try 2 correct her. so i used to just let ehr fiddle w e spoon and a bowl w a little bit o food n correct as often as i can. i tot i'll nv see her scooping independently properly but one fine day, she just suddenly did. u noe these kids hor, will suddenly kai1 qiao4 one. so just wait lor.

wah... i read all the posts and realise dat all ur princes and princesses growing up very fast wor... ethan ar... everything oso slow... only got 8 teeth now and still no sign of molars or even pre molars... no sign of wanting to self feed... only play with spoon nia... after a while will throw the spoon away liao... once it even landed into our food... aiyoh... dat boy ar... only recently he knows how to address ppl nia... then i m the last person he knows how to call lor... haiz... he dunno any other words liao... but he understands instructions and knows wat we toking abt tho... juz lazy to tok... suspect he will be talkative in the future...

re food, he still having mushy porridge with soup... must come with soup for every mouthful if not he will spit everything out... and he dun wanna chew... have to blend all the vege if not comes out together with his poo... eats very little porridge but likes plenty of snacks... loves biscuits but dun like to drink water... really a headache trying to balance his diet since i m not the main caregiver... really salute to the food gurus... *salute*

Zion...

Dun worry lah...I believe tat every child develop at his own pace...as long as he doesnt lag behind significantly...

Cae is oso stil hvg mushy food...n I notice tat he doesnt chew...he doesnt like to chew...except biscuits...when I feed him...I wil see the swallowin motion immed after the food goes into his mouth...tatz y he doesnt like solid food til now...n as u wil noe fm my post above...he doesnt noe how to self feed yet...

So no worries lah...

fizz,
the prob is ethan eats solid food as well... he always wan a share whenever we r having our meals... we gave him rice, chix, duck shreads, etc... even potato cubes... he can chew all dat... but not for proper meals... he doesnt eat much solids... not even half a bowl... so we still give him porridge with soup for his proper meals... he can swallow without chewing his 1 full bowl of porridge in 5 mins... longest 10 mins (when my mil feed him dat is)...

Zion

How about trying to transit E real solid food wif soup to eat together wif the whole family on a proper dinin table...mabbe hez tryin to b an adult...
...if he is ready to eat solid food...therez no nid to stick to bb mushy food for their proper meals...jus modify his food on the sly perhaps...like less salt or more veg...

For Cae...he even spit out adult food...so no chance at the moment...

fizz,
thanks for the suggestion... but ethan has no molars and pre molars yet... only front 8 teeth... is he really ready for full solid food?

star, fizz
haha! I dun hv many nice cheeky pics of hannah la...sometimes we get lucky nia.
Anyway, here's a couple...or rather, 3
:

Wearing sunglasses:
1405289.jpg

Swimming:
1405290.jpg

Brushing teeth:
1405291.jpg

Not very cheeky looking rite? :p

Bobianah...

Kekeke...yr Hannah looks so cool wif her shades!!!...I tried puttin a kiddy one on Cae...it was so cute tat I wanna buy it...but tat rascal refused to let me put it on him for even 1 sec...n he nearly snapped it by tuggin it at the store...so I din bother to waste my $$$...;P

Clever ger...noes how to brush her own teeth...

bobianah,
Hannah big gal liao. Really like a big Jie Jie.

Lil,
Both Denise and me had a great time too. 1st tm I feel so relaxed to leave Denise unattended. Must thanks Ewan for keeping her occupied. She fell asleep on the way back.
Yes yes we shall meet again soon.

kimi,
glad that things are slowly on the rite track. Take care and rest whenever possible.

Fizz
hehe! My vain pot ger, actually wanted to remove the shades, then i tell her "wah! hannah pretty ger!!!", then she happy liao, wear it for a while.

I dunno if she chewing toothbrush more or brushing...but ok la...its a first step.

hwee,
ya, she still swimming...now at the Saturday 9.30am class lei.

roo,
hope she be a good jie jie!

hihi!
on leave today.. went to see specialist for my backache liao..
juz nice.. these few days my back pain till i can onli bend 30 deg.. more than tt pain liao.. den sit up n stand oso very jialet.. i think during my last tri oso not tt bad... :p doc suggested tt i try accupunture n physiotherapy first.. but since he dun dare take xray for me(juz in case preg coz menses not here.. supposed to be here anytime soon though) :p the doc quite cute.. ask me to go hav xray taken on the day period start so tt confirm not preg... :p will start with accupunture first.. wait till my xray is out n confirm it's not bone problem den will start physiotherapy..

hwee,
thanks alot for the help!

kimi, bobianah,
hee.. talking abt brushing, PH loves to brush his teeth... whenever i say 'brush teeth', he will grin n grin n grin n make this cute 'ssss sss sss' sound... hahha... :p he still let me brush for him.. quite a lazy boy lah... dun like to do things himself.. :p

Dora,
hope JT is okie..
how's her pd trip today?

zion,
PH oso 8 teeth only and no sign of molars coming out... my mom blaming it on me giving him BM for 1 year.....
but i dun believe lah.. throughout my BF-ing year, i make sure i take lots of milk leh...

bobianah,
hannah is so cute in the sunglasses...
i wanted to make PH wear sunglasses too... but he juz refuse to let it stay although i kept praising him handsome boy... :p

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

just a few days of letting her grannies take care o mandy n i feel like slapping her. she behaves totally like a spoilt brat.

her grannies act do not spoil her intentionally lah.. but watever she wans, they gif her... nailclipper? gif. handphone? gif... walkman? gif... n they dunno how 2 take it bk fr her while mandy will b grinning fr ear to ear. i call it e 'i get my way' grin. if they successfuly grab it bk fr her, they'll gif it bk 2 her immed when she cries (fake o cos) n she'll do her i-get-my-way grin again. how e hell is mandy gonna learn tt there r just sthg she cannot touch, cannot take!

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!1

so now she's v much more demanding n will cry n whine if i take sthg away fr her. previously, she'll just accept it most o e time w/o fussing.

n oso, her grannies like to carry n hug her all e time. so now she refuses to sit in her stroller. previously, she can guai guai sit one.

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!

it is understandable tt they wanna bond w her n therefore do nt haf e heart to scold her n frankly, it's nt their kid, i dun tink they care v much bt discipline. but now, mandy prefers them to me somewat bcos i end up as e ONLY person in e hsehold, in e day, who won't gif in to her ALL e time. damn pek cek lah. i really need to speak to our mums.

kids hor, change scaringly fast. nt her fault. not anybody's. but ar.... so hard 2 maintain consistency at home, esp when i tink discipline is v v impt. if i dun do sthg now, by e time i take back e fulltime care (dunno they will gif it bk 2 me or nt) o mandy, she'll be so unbearable i'll prob strangle her... hahahaha...

n i dun wanna yuan wang her or blow up at her under times o stress lah. cos it's nt really her fault.

i'm sure many o u face e same prob. can share how u tok to ur mum/mil n ensure consistency in discipline in e hsehold? dun tell me to close one eye hor. tis is way too impt. hehehe.

kimi,
hehehe... i'm facing the same prob.. :p i try to discipline him... but.... hai~~

some things i really close 1 eye... bobian.. but things like manners n safety, i dun care.. will bring my pt across n remind them everytime i see it happening..

i'm oso wondering how to handle him.. physical punishment is not working.. beat his hand he no reaction.. scold him no use.. talk nicely oso cannot... hai~~

shihui,
hiyo. when i was e sole caregiver, everything was under control. she hardly throw tantrums one n will listen to instruction. n she nv had tt GRIN b4. n hubby n me discuss bt discipline mtds all e time to make sure we're in sync... now w 2 more players... really hard man, even tho i'm at home. so i become e bad guy. i already dun play much w her liao, n still e only few times i tend to her is to reprimand her. no wonder she prefers her grannies.

aiyo, can't wait 4 e test results. if cfm infection tt means i dun need to rest so much, at least can go do more to make sure mandy is well taken care of.

Roo
Aiyo...u remember tat day I was telling u that E is back to his usual milk drinking self. Aiyo...next day after telling u nia, he is on milk strike again. Sniff sniff...this boy ahh...cannot say anything good abt him in front of him one. Haiz!

Shihui
Wow, ur back v chia lat, sounds like what I had b4 or even worse. I had to wear a back support brace to help me get through the day. I also went to see a physiotherapist who specialised in back injury. V good, after one visit (of course with home exercise) my condition improved a lot. Which physiotherapist r you going to see. Hope your back gets better soon and b4 u get preggie again, else will become worse.

Kimi
Hahaha...been there. My boy is king at manipulating grandma. Everytime I say no, he will immediately run to grandma for help. She does try to resist by saying your mummy says no a few times but when he does the pityful cry, she cracks easily n gives in to him. But if it is something small like he wants to play with the nailclipper etc, I just close one eye lah (sorry...else really cannot live with my mum mah), but somethings I will ask my mum outright not to give in. In those instances she will do as I ask lor. So I guess give n take lah. Occasionally when he is throwing a tantrum, I will jokingly say that he is spoilt now that Ah Mah's is here. She gets the hint n does try her best to follow our rules. My mum is the sensitive type who will take offence if I tell her off too directly so I hv to hint hint hint. If ur mum n MIL r the more open type, maybe just sit down n rationalise things with them wld be best.

YOur babies r so guai, will let u brush their teeth. E clamps his mouth tightly shut whenever he see me coming at him with the toothbrush. Then this boy v dirty, everytime I wanna bath him, change his clothes or diaper, he runs away. Then tat day he picked up watermelon skin from the waste bin n ate the leftovers. Lucky my mum saw n took it away frm him. N this boy keeps checking out the waste bin contents. Chia lat. Think we shd start calling him "lah sam kia" liao.

LiL,
not sure who's my physiotherapist yet coz holding back on physiotherapy until i get my xray done.. i hope to get better b4 preggy again too... think got to discuss with hubby to further push back the plan... :p

PH oso struggle during his nappy changing time... i wonder y... it's so nice to air his little butt during nappy changing.. but he juz cry n cry like we going to slaughter him... :p PH inspect my rubbish bin regularly too.. tt day, he juz took out all the rubbish in the study rm bin n threw all his board books into the bin..... hai... :p

fizz,
me down with sore throat but feeling better after another visit to the doc yesterday. yah.. let's wait for the rainbow to appear

dora, kimi,
hmmm.. i put a little in her bowl but she always fuss for the main bowl and throw tantrum when we dont give it to her. last nite dunno why her eating was extremely bad. scoop one time, spit one time. aiyo.. nvm. try n try again.
btw, do you haf any book recommendation on this feeding issue?

bobianah,
hannah really enjoys her swimming eh? so happy in the water.

shihui,
soooo... menses here yet? or expecting liao? hehehe. but yalar, better get your back fixed first.

kimi,
like Lil, I try to close one eye for some things.. for us, coz parents living w us - maybe more difficult to make a stand? for dangerous items, i will remove it from her and she will cry and run to Ah Mah. The thing is even hubby gives in to her... so i'm the sole bad guy at home lor.

Lil,
did u let E try the toothpaste? think my gal willingly 'brush' her teeth coz of the toothpaste, after awhile she will ask for more toothpaste.

kimi
heheh! welcome to the club of what happens when others take care of our kids!

I think u know la, i ever lament I wish i cld be SAHM so i can really bring hannah up with more discipline. And I oso "complain" before my ger is "overloved".
For me, my MIL is sometimes ok, sometimes not. lately she tell me, she's trying to be more disciplinarian liao cos my ger can be nottie. I was like, Ha! now then say...last time I'm always the disciplinarian, tell them cannot this or that, everyone thinks I'm the evil one. So mean to my cutie ger. But i know my ger...she is testing limit.
My parents? Dun even say, they are WORSE! They think they are very clever, but everytime give in to hannah. That's why i will never let my parents babysit hannah on their own even for a day. They oso think I am very mean. But hey, they dun suffer the consequences. I do.
Then, when my ger throw tantrums on the floor, i tell everyone "leave her alone! Ignore her!" so, they think I'm a meanie lor. I will let hannah's trantrum taper down before i pick her up and tell her behaviour is not acceptable.
Sometimes I get real angry cos everyone seem to just want to "buy" (not necc in $ terms but in giving in to her) my ger's affection with total disregard to what I say. Hence, I have no qualms telling them off once in a while.
I tell u hor, i realise my MIL and parents all super softie towards her...and very sensitive too. They feel hurt when they think hannah "ignore" or "reject" them. I mean! I'm like...she's just a baby, sometimes easily distracted. Just becos she seem to ignore u, dun mean she dun like u mah. You know what I mean? But to them hor, they actually feel hurt wor! Hence they always give in to her to ensure they ALWAYS get her attention. TSK TSK!

YEY!!!...today on leave...any msn session???!!!

Btw...anyone noe if Och or Made is ok...shez not chasin us for freight cost leh...n I dun seem to c her these days...

SH...

Aiyo...yr bac sounds v bad...but itz gd tat u r takin steps to alleviate n improve the situation...take care n try not to carry PH too much for the time bein...

Kimi...

I m very forthrite to my dad n maid who live wif me...sometimes when I ask my dad to take away tinks fm Cae...he wil tell me tat Cae wil not wan it to b taken away...I wil b like...hey...u haven even tried...then he wil b like...I noe Cae lah...so I hafta b the bad one n snatch it away fm a cryin Cae...but hey...after less than a min...he wil stop once he finds another distraction...

Wif my mil...I wil "complain" to my hb...n let him tok to his mum...otherwise...I wil jus observe til the pt of no tahan...then I wil jus go to Cae n "annouce" the reason y itz so bad to do a certain tink...but my mil is more receptive to disciplinin Cae than my dad lor...sometimes she wil tell Cae...ah c yr mummy says tis...n she doesnt live wif me...so ok lah...

Anyway I tried gifin table fish...a teeny weensy bit of cod fish which is very soft...to Cae last nite...well...he spat it out...*pull hair*...wil he b ready for table food by Oct...

Star...

U take care yah...

Hwee...

I simply adore the aloha shirt for Cae...I tried it on him n I love it...but hor...the size 18 is similar to the size 12 I hv at home...I tink I muz quickly let him wear liao...feel like buyin diff sizes of the same shirt to keep...kekeke...rem to jio me next time...

Mabbe next time we can hv coffee again...
...tis time my treat...thx...

Shihui
Congrats in advance! but hor, really watch your back. dun strain further. posture is very impt.

hey, i got your email. but hor, you gave me the wrong name for PH lei. you either pm me the full name for PH or sms me, faster that way. i can get it done for you today.

kimi
i fully understand wat you mean. my boy is also super spoilt at my in law's place. think poor boy quite confused why some actions are not allowed at home but allowed at granny's place. but wat i don't see i cannot care lor. so i make it a point to affirm the right actions when he's home. but kids are smart la, sometimes they know they can bully granny or grandpa, they will go all the way. can't be helped. sigh!

bobianah
haha! actually the old folks are more insecure than the kids! haha!

Fizz
ya, next time order one size up.
no problem, will let you know when i'm ordering again.

ok, coffee the next time. maybe we meet somewhere else with the kids? hee hee.....

ya, och....where are you? we haven't pay you the freight for the shoesssss.......

kimi,

i understand how u feel...Ivan also start his tyrant act liao...
last week we went imm ..we had to leave a particular place ,he didnt want to and just squat in the middle of the mall..making that 'wanting to cry' face..everyone walking past was looking at him...I told him firmly that he shdnt squat here n asked to stand up and follow up..told him several times and he stil squat there...end up I lost patience just carried him with him still struggling to come down!

LAst week he had viral fever so I understand he was very cranky....kept fuss..made the whining sound..I was very pek chek but i undestand he was very xinku...then realised his lower tooth coming out (after so long no teething!! ) he felt very very umfortable..after he recovered now my hubby's turn to have fever...
so tiring to take care both..

as for discipline..i really hope i can be firm...Ivan know who is his 'gao shan'...my dad n my FIL...my dad really disappointed me last week...I always tot he is quite firm in discipline as can see how he raised me n my sis up...when i was feeding Ivan he pushed the spoon away and spilled all over the place.i raised my voice,told him tis is not the right thing to do.my dad told me'dun scold him'!!!!was shocked to hear that...I tot i would only hear this from my PILs...

nowasday esp at home..when he doesnt get his way...he does his favourite stunt -fuss,whole body lie flat on the floor!!Can you imagine the dramatic scene!!! i call him'drama king'!! my sis who has a 3year daughter told me'More to come'!!

hihi!
haha.. talking of grandparents.. same here lah.. my in laws n my parents were very strict with us when we were young.. so we thot PH will be under gd guidance lah..

but it's super wrong.. they r so nice to him.. see him onli already smile till can't see eyes lidat.. n they super bias lor.. once funny eg. My sis was complaining abt the super hot weather.. my parents listen n no action.. den PH pointed to the aircon.. my father immediately say "oh.. PH wants to on the aircon? wah.. weather very hot hor.. we on the aircon hor".. n my mom agree with my father immediately and both very quick action close windows n on aircon... my sisters n i sit there wide eye wide mouth stare at the two of them... :p

thx 4 sharing. i feel better knowing all o u haf e same problems! hahahahaha... like starluster lor.

act i'm pretty anal bt tis whole ting lah i find. it's nt v serious yet n can still b reversed. but u noe it can b v tough to c ur sweet little ger turn into a terror in a matter o a few days, right under ur eyes...

i must keep reminding myself it's nt her fault to stop myself fr giving her inappropriate punishment. and constantly tink o ways to try 2 tok 2 my mum/mil. wat i'm going thru now is prob wat most o u went thru more than a yr ago when u all 1st went bk to work. hehehehe...

lil,
ya lor. sometimes must hint hint. tt day my mum plop her on e sofa to watch tv. tt i can let go tho once in a while i'll remind them tt by right, kids her age shldn't watch more than half an hr o tv everyday. but they're bored, they wanna watch i let them. but wat was on e tv was a violent fighting scene. so i passed by n commented 'wah, mandy ar. u watch ppl fight ar?' den my mum turned e tv off soon after.

oh, i can def close one eyes bt them letting mandy hold objects tt r nt dangerous but mandy was holding e nail clipper n doing a obstacle course on my sofa, footrest and coffee table.. cannot rite?

choo,
aiyo. i cannot stand it when other ppl come n tell me nt to scold mandy when i'm doing it. IN FRONT o mandy. undermine me rite? u noe wat my mil did just now? mandy was banging e table n laughing during lunch so mil laughed w her. usu i scold her but seeing it's not THAT serious (haiz, now expectations drop a lot), i din do anything. but she started banging e plate o fruits too so i scolded her n took away e plate.

my mil hor... LAUGHED!!!!! she was like 'hahahahaha, mama is angry!" "hahahahaah, mama scold'. so mandy found it so funny, like it's a joke. lidat how i teach???? i's going to tell mil nt to laugh when i'm scolding but held it back, not in front o mandy. mb i ask hubby 2 tell her... sigh... lots to do!!!!!!! but ok lah, i nt v e stressed.... at least not yet...

oh, mandy nv used to do the lie on e floor n struggle n wail kinda tantrums. NEVER. until my mum/mil came over....

starluster,
YES! mandy will oso wan e main bowl so i've no choice but to hide it. put it behind her far far away on another table. so i've to keep walking up n down to refill her self feeding plate lah. but ok lah. just need 3-4 refills.

hwee,
u r rite! the grandparents are very insecure abt their place in the grandchild's heart lidat. Like there' some popularity contest... *faintz*
For me, Im her mummy, and nothing will change it. So i dun feel any need to compete for her attention.

on leave today again... this wk, i only work 2 out of 5 days... :p bringing PH for his check up today.. girls reading my blog would know wat trouble he was in last wk... :p

starluster,
aunty is late,,, but arrive liao... hehehe... gave me a scare... even got ready the test strip to test liao.. hehehehe.... :p

seems like ever since i gave birth, it has not follow the exact how many days cycle leh.. sometimes early sometimes late... aiyo... lidat how to calculate when to try for gal....

bobianah,
my father n FIL like to play this game of trying to carry PH over fr me.. whenever i carry PH, they will test test PH if he's willing to let them carry.. if he will, they will be so happy n keep saying tt PH is so guai etc.... :p if he won't, they console themselves by saying PH wants to go home liao... :p surprisingly, our mothers r not interested in this game.. :p maybe our fathers missed out too much when we were babies.. so now super attached to grandchildren to 're-live' the old days... :p

Hai, grandparents are like that always spolit their grandchild. even told them not to do this and that but they still like that. tx has been watching tv (morning watch vcd for 1-2hr, noon time watch chinese drama or vcd for 1-2hr and after dinner, on the tv till she slp) more than 3hr per day. watching education program is another issue and tx when watching fighting drama, she will do that action by using her hand and shake to indicate fighting. not only that, I told my mum not to let tx go near the tv but she just like that. she herself already sit so near liao what to expect....hai.

at least, yr toddler are slightly better on other areas, like the powder issues. she still prefer to use powder and all over tx even her ear.

not only that, ask me not to let tx eat outside food (say not gd etc) but still give at the back (even give soy milk can drink and ribina). ()*()&*&.....talk till saliva run dry also like that. if say them, they will give black face....what to do huh??

so the toddler will know who to look for protection when parent scold/discipline them etc...

my friend 's dotter also being spoilt by her MIL. the toddler woke up in the middle of night (at 11pm++ or 12am+) , instead of patting her to slp, she just took her to living room and play with her. OMG....it's been a habit liao...

Shihui,
that the same game that my mum also like to play too.
NUH doc told me that esp mummies who wean off bf not long ago, still need time to adjust their homoge bck. for me, my aunty also qiao siao too.

SH...

PH shld b fine lah...since hez stil active after so long...

U go n try to get a gal...then u muz impart yr skill to me hor...kekeke...

Afcai...

When our totz r bein looked after by others...we jus hafta learn to take tinks (those which r not so critical) easy...

Cae watches children VCDs every meal!!!...I m tryin to wean him when I m ard...as for my dad n maid n sometimes even myself when I get desperate...when he fusses big time...then itz either VCD (n he gets to choose which one he fancies hor!!!) or feedin while runnin ard...which is the better of 2 evils...I dunno manzzz...

Errr...I gif Cae Ribena, soy drink, vitagen...tho not on a reg basis...anytink wrong wif tat...if u can gif food like kfc mashed potatoes or chuii / soon kway which u mentioned b4 I tink...the drinks r ok mah...jus my totz...

Today Giant reduced the price of Gain IQ to $23.99! Comes with Brainy Baby VCD.

Prices of gain IQ after discount:
SNS $24.25 (spend $15 for 1 stamp, accumulate 15 to exchange for $9 voucher)
Guardian $24.20
Giant $23.99 (with free VCD)
NTUC $24.10 or $23.70 (choose 1)
Carrefour $24.23 (before 5% rebate)

Hi Fizz,
yup, we did give tx KFC mashed potatoes (so far twice only, anyway,we seldom go fast food to makan) but not soon kway (my mum give without the chai bo and the oil, bought them fr we market). we only give sugarless soy drink (once a mth).

hmm...do Cae has still on pacifier or suck finger to slp?

Afcai...

Cae was never given pacifier from birth...so he doesnt noe wat is it...as for fingers...no lah...cos he gets carried to slp...bad habit hor...haizzz...

We r not sooooooooo particular abt Cae's food intake if itz jus bitz n pieces here n there...as long as outside food doesnt constitute the main meal...I stil dun gif him outside food most of the time...plus hez not receptive to food...even when he sees us eatin outside...he wil stare at our food...but when I offer him a tiny piece...he wil shake n turn his head away...

Hi fizz,
true, agreed. for me, if give outside food is to entertain tx. even she is full (already feed full her mee sua) , she still want to taste our food (even bring out her favourite bread but she still want to eat our food and cast aside her bread) every sun when we went for our breakfast/brunch.or else, i normally will cook for her during weekend at home.

oic. did u try to slp beside him during his slp time instead of carry him to slp?

Shihui
i'm sure PH is fine.

bobianah
well said. ya, i'm not playing those games with my in laws too since i know my children know who i'm their mummy. they will naturally look for their mummy.

Fizz
ay, i'm probably the only mummy here that feeds my boy with outside food the most. he will eat with us in food courts or restaurants. i dun bring his porridge out anymore. he will eat whatever we eat. but heng ah, he doesn't fancy those drinks we drink, he still prefers water from his bottle. that's our only consolation.

afcai
well, for me, i dun bother to even ask if my mil let him watch tv or anything. i give her the free hand to do anything she wants with my boy during the day time. i know no matter how much i nag, she won't change. sigh!

Afcai

It oni works if hez extremely tired...otherwise he wil flip here n there...n get up n wanna play!!!...tried many times liao leh...

N itz very difficult for either my hb or me to carry him to slp...oni my maid does it easy...cos hez so used to my maid carryin him to slp while we r at work...

Bobianah / Hwee...

U r rite...even tho my maid takes care of Cae most of the time...I realise tat Cae wil wan me (except carryin him to slp) even when my maid is ard...if hez given a choice...so he stil rem who mummy is...
...hvg said tat Cae is rather independent...not at all sticky...

Hwee...

U r blessed as Tim can chew...Cae swallows directly!!!...I m lookin fwd to the day tat he is willin to chew...then I can brin him to MEL in peace!!!...*stil waitin for my rainbow*...

Hee...u r jus bein realistic to yr MIL...kekeke...

mbb
wa, looks not bad lei. so you consolidating orders is it?

yup, grandparents are for spoliing grandchildren. my mama always tell me that too! she told me its my job to discipline. :p

Fizz
i dunno if he can chew or not. haha! i just give him. haha! guess he's used to all the food we give to him and that includes seasonings too! ooops...

your rainbow will appear really soon.
sometimes, i guess you just have to do it to realise that it is not so difficult.

aiya, old folks hor, say too much they will tell you i have brot up all my kids this way too. see you all grew up fine....so i zip lor!

Mbb...

Boy boy eh bo swee leh...errr...stil I tot the vest looks cheap n gd...kekeke...but the ger ger eh not bad...n some of the t-shirts n shorts jin cheap...