(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

freshpoison77,
Welcome.
Anyway I have the Jack's Place card, so anyone using Jack's Place/Eatzi Gourment/Seafood Harvest for catering, can get the card # from me. Waiver for transport fee ($40).

Hello mummies...
been so busy at work tt i hardly hv chance to log in during ofc hrs...

abt shoes.... my MIL pandang, keep saying babies cant wear shoes when they cant walk yet... or issit b4 they hit 1 yr old? i cant rem... anyway i bot a pair of FOX soft soled shoe for R... i bot the biggest size and thot he cld wear... who noes.... he disappointed me lah!! his feet too big 4 the shoes. i cldnt believe it!!! ~!@#$%^&*

anyway these Shoo shoo shoes u mummies mentioned... might get a pair if i see it... anyway at the rate at how lazy R is, i think he will not even walk when he is 1.5 yrs old!

Freshpoison,
will revert to u soon.

**sigh** me just finished work and now back home working away again.

<font color="0000ff">spree collection</font> for those collecting from me at Punggol, <font color="0000ff">Gemini, Shirley, Jackiejon</font> if you all dont mind, can i trouble you ladies to come over my place instead on Sunday anytime from 11 - 2pm? Tks.

<font color="0000ff">karen</font> emailed you my contact and will be able to pass the items to you next week at raffles place.

<font color="0000ff">jlyn</font> i will email to you next monday can cos i left my thumb drive in office.

<font color="0000ff">karen</font> think your mum is right about the some bananas and pears being too cooling. just dun give those del monte bananas or commonly known in chinese as "qing ge jiu" (pronounce in hokkien). pear wise, the chinese "li" can be cooling so give in moderation.

ok gtg. going to zzzzz....

Abit quiet here leh so I wanna add some life. keke
Yesterday I was plucking some chye xin to cook for dinner. So I gave D 1 nice long piece cold from the fridge expecting him to break it play with it while I finish plucking my veg.
Then I heard a chrunchy sound n D managed to bite 1 very tiny piece off the stem....sigh
Tried to fish it out of the mouth but too small to be found.
So quickly pluck my veg so can throw his piece away but he still keeps trying to put it into his mouth. Can even smell the fresh veg smell on him leh. Really BTH lor n he like like it alot fresher. Hahahhahahha

Damien being naughty in his playyard. He's standing on his toy truck.
938702.jpg

N here is how my fil always lets him play majiong. He even wants us to take home 1 of their extra sets so we can let him play. BTH.
938703.jpg

Wanan ask about cakes again. i heard cakes from ecreative not very yummy is it? I wanna get a bear bear 3D cake for kim. where else to get it?

doreen
D is ok playing by himslf inside the play yard? din managed to join the spree organised by starz the other time. till now, i am still wondering if i shld get it. coz i think my R is not gg to walk anytime soon. and yet he is so active, now can eject my DVD player alrdy! i slap his hands so many times but he still dun geddit!

hi crystallized,
hi!!
sometimes i feel tat play yard not so safe for my little monster. wahahaha...
Like Damien, A can step on the toys or the yellow connector & wanna climb out from the play yard. it's very dangerous if he manage to do it.
A now prefer stay outside than inside play yard if nobody accompany him. he will cruise around sofa & crawl here & there. He want freedom!

But play yard still the best place for mommy & baby have their sweet time playing inside.
hehe...confusing hor..?

Doreen,
wow, next time D will be a majiong king.

Adeline,
I also heard from my colleague ecreative cakes not so tasty. I will also be getting from PG. Tried their cakes and love them esp martini lychee.

Crystallized,
I also in a dilemma of getting play yard cos my girl wan ppl to be with her when she plays so think may defeat the purpose of getting play yard. She also loves freedom and get sick of staying at one place or playing with her toys very easily. Haiz... she always like to fiddle with everything in our house except her toys.

Diaper War
==========
I am also hving diaper war with Sheen but did not resort to using pull-up. I dun care and just keep getting her back and let her cry loh... But I will give her things like her baby lotion to distract her and fast fast wear for her loh.wat to do...

Sheen's update
==============
Sheen is finally crawling but she is lazy lah. wont crawl for long distance. If she wans something too far, she will cry for it instead of crawling to it.*Faint*... She is so lazy she din even wan to her her bottle even though she knows how to. Haiz.. dun noe wat to do to her.
Nowadays, she likes to blabble a lot of nonsense. She talking and talking till my mother also cant stand her..hahaha.. Oh yes and she loves the vcd 'Wheels on the Bus' The mummy also loves it.. It's quite nice. Will recommend it. Some other varieties instead of Barney.

Sheen's Photo
=============
939163.jpg

This is one of Sheen's favourite toys. She knows how to put all the rings in

939164.jpg

She s playing in her bb cot which we just dismantle. now she is sleeping on the mattress.

crystallized,
The leap pad that is suitable for our babies is the Little Touch Leap Pad. Think it's retailing at $99?
I find it really useful for Joshua but emma has yet to appreciate it cos Joshua loves books more than Emma. And i will usually ask for the refill books as their birthday / xmas presents.

Emma also doesn't like to stay in the play yard on her own. But like i mention before. When i'm too zonked out, i'll sit in there with her. At least that will keep her out of mischief without me going after her all the time.

Dor,
Emma also steps on her toys while in the play yard. Worse still I caught her standing on top of her fisherprice TREE HOUSE today. And that tree house is about 3x higher than the truck in your pic. Scolded her and she quickly scambled down.

Jasmine, cneo & bbgrace
R is oso like tt... prefers freedom n its tiring 4 me to keep pace wif him, esp when i am alone at home wih him n i need to b in the kitchen preparing his meals. he drives me nuts!!! keep crawling to the kitchen (we hv no gate to stop him) and opening drawers, playing wif plastic bags, touching rags then put fingers into his mouth. always made me rush over and stop him fr his acts.
yah at times, i wished i got the play yard so tt i can lie inside like bbgrace when i am in no mood to chase him, i can b 'caged' inside wif him. he may trample over me in watever ways he like as long as i no need to get up & chase him back. hahahaa...
cneo is right, he loves to play wif everything EXCEPT his toys!

bbgrace
i juz went taka n saw the leap pad but dunno wat to look out for. the set was over $100? cant rem... so this little touch lead pad can b used till they r older?

CANDLES
Anyone noes where i can get nice number '1' candle for bdae cakes?

Candles
JRT, u can try concourse for the 1 candle

Play yard
my gal also dun like to be at play yard
but i tell my mother have to let her get used to it slowly and hopefully one day she will be ok in it. keeping my fingers crossed!

3D cake
Adeline, heard also that ecreative not so nice le

Cakes,,,
After looking through all the posts...i really wanna a cake now. For me rather than CY...It's to celebrate me conquering my first year with a lil boy who refuses to eat!!!kekeee...wah..what cake nice..everything looks nice...yummyyyy

Hmmm...
is it better to get the leappad in singapore or from the spree? what is the difference?

lilboymum,
Don't recall seeing any spree on the leap pad. If you have friends going to the US, ask them to get it for u is the best way but it's quite bulky lor.
Alternatively, can try ebay. I got a brand new one for Joshua (the one for pre-schooler, not the little touch one) and 2nd hand refill books and the total cost lesser than buying here even after the vpost charges.

jus wanted to share this lobang.. pls pm me if interested, i will email u the details. $20/pair

940158.jpg
940159.jpg

Holding Milk bottle
===================
My ger was Oct 06 bb, but she still dunno how to hold the milk bottle herself, whenever i try to teach her, she will resist and touches her blanket instead, is there any ways i can teach her ?

Nite Feeding
=============
I am so tired of waking up 3x's everynite to feed my ger, is there any methods to make her sleep thru out the nite. Her last feed is ard 8-9pm, cos she sleep ard that times, Pls pls help

Crystallised
Playyard for me is a must lor becos I need to leave D somewhere safe while I do hsework or cook or even when I change or packing to go out cos I 1 man show ma. But he can't stay in something for too long also. N if he sees me walk near he will fuss to be carried lor. But other then that sometimes he play n scream by himself inside very funny...hahaha

bbgrace
hahaha Emma so clever aah. Actually my playyard got very few toys inside cos D likes to stand there n kan fong jing. Kekekeke
Cos my dog will follow me around ma so he will dog watch or see my fishes or if my dog happy will walk to the playyard n he n D can watch each other for awhile lor.

pinkdoggie
Can't help leh cos I also still waking for night feeds.

Adeline,
Ya, ecreative cake not very nice but the design is nice lor. The colour stain from the fresh cream is another headache cos it stains the tongue, clothes whereever bb touches.
Believe some bakery shops are able to do a 3D bear cake, but need to do a search.

cneo,
Re: diaper war, same same. Usually I give Jaslyn something to play with to distract her. It works well with her, unless jie jie's time... it's really a war!

crystallized,
Which type of candle you are looking for? Just the # 1? If so, bakery shops sell, just that the designs are different, some can be very nice, while some sucks. ecreative also got sell the candle. Party shops will have more fancy one. Gift shops also got. I bought a "happy 1st birthday" candle. There's also other wordings like "birthday boy" etc.

pinkdoggie,
Poor you, 3x for nite feed!!! I will faint man!
It is more like a habit rather than hungry, especially when at this age, bbs are more or less on semi solid. You need to stretch her nite feeding time from 3x to 2x, then slowly to 1x. At least 1x is still not that bad.

Concourse
========
I went there to buy some stuff for the goodie bags. And then I realised... the prices there aren't cheap at all! I bought a pack of pooh mashmellows at concourse at $3.80 and Sheng Siong is selling at $2.50!! The metalic balloons, 100 pcs in a bag is selling at $12 and party shop is selling at $10. In fact, everything I bought there are more ex. I won't be bother to go all the way to concourse again when I prepare for Jolene's goodie bag next year!!

pinkdoggie,
What we did was to stuff pacifier in my boy's mouth when he wakes up at night, we realised that he goes to sleep showing that he is not hungry but just wanting comfort. We tried that when he was around 4 over months old and that is when we stopped night feeds. However, he is still waking up 2 times or so at night now but just need to stuff pacifier for him if he cannot find it himself :p

teddyhope,
I was laughing at your "if my dog happy will walk to the playyard n he n D can watch each other for awhile". Haha.. staring game. So cute!

Playyard,
Like most mummies' experience here, K cannot be placed in the playyard independently. He will be whining and crying for attention. There was only ONCE last week that he played inside the yard on his own for 15 mins whilst hubby and me took our dinner within his sight. But it was just that one time....

Pinkdoggie
i am oso still waking up for my boy;s nite feeds. it ranges abt 1 to 2 times. like wat jenny says, it cld b more of a habitual than real hunger but i dunno how to wean him off nite feeds much as i love to. sigh... how to hv 2nd baby like tt? nightmare leh.

Doreen,
ur D still can scream n play inside ah? wah v gd leh... mine cannot.. leave him alone n he will scream... if i walk past n dun carry him, he will cry until u come. nowadays, he oso scream when i place him inside stroller. dunno wat to do wif this boy man.

Jenny
yah i wan the number 1 only. actually planned to go concourse tdy n recce (gg PS later) but no time liao. so might go another time. i wanted to do goodie bag as well but not cfm yet... see how lah. huh? things there more exp ah... wat a surprise... eh btw i got a huge ballooon to b blown.. u got any lobang anot? think its gonna cost me >$10 to fill tt giant balloon.

cneo
thks!

crystallized,
You try ecreative, they got sell the candle 1. Think only $2.90, simple design with glitters. If not, since you going down to PS, drop by spotlight to check if they have or not. Not sure if they have or not lah. Ah bor, you go centrepoint leve 5 or 6, there's a party shop near the lift area. Raffles City also got a party shop. Definately have but costly lah. A lot of places are selling, just a matter whether you like the design or not.
Huge balloon, you need helium gas? I think Sun Plaza got a gift shop got top up helium gas, cheaper than the party shop. It has an outlet at United Sq. I saw United Sq one pasted a paper saying "small balloon $2.50, big balloon $2.50". But I dunno how big is their big. My friend top up a huge balloon from the party shop at Holland Village and it costed her $15.
The shops at Concourse also got topup helium but not cheap.
Ok, I'm surprised things at Concourse is much ex than those neighbourhood partyware shops leh. Last time used to be much cheaper. Anyway I'm not going all the way to concourse anymore. I already settled my goodie bags and finished packing liao. In fact, I settled all the stuff for the party liao, just wait for the day and do some decos will do. Bo pian cos Sep usually q busy for me at work.

Pinkdoggie,
Yes me me me!!!my CY is still waking up 3x or more at night...If you are thinking of weaning him, feed water instead of milk. then after a while he realise it isnt worth it to wake up for water. You can also try CIO, if you are man enought...kekek...

For me, coz i work, i take the night feedings as bonding time, oso to give him more milk to fatten him up...

thanks babygrace...
will try ebay...

Am going on no-pay leave again next year. going to try to be SAHM for a year or so...so joining the club of doreen, babygrace and ???

Reason being childcare arrangement too problematic. Thought all along ILs were taking care of CY, but only discovered recently they have not. when CY is there, they'll let hte maid take care and only play with him when they feel like it. I was thinking it was strange that CY doesnt mind the new maid so much and is even willing to let her carry. We have never let hte maid take care when he is at home...so recently discovered the reason...

haiz...those who has nice ILs or moms to take care..you are lucky

I am new to this forum... intro in by one my very good friend.. =D

Actually have been posting messages.. but to the 1st birthday topic.. heehee.. coz kan chiong for my 2nd daughter's birthday..

A short intro of myself..

I am a mother of 2 gals currently.. my third gal will be out next year Jan... =D still very excited though.. heehee...

Hope i can 'absorb' more experiences from this forum to enrich myself to become a better mummy. =P

Good day Mummies,

Was shopping at Sheng Siong and found a special offer whilst stock last - Dumex Mamil Gold Step 2 900g + 400g selling $22.20, Mamil Gold Step 3 900g + 400g selling $21.40.

Adeline,

As Dumex is currently out of stock, you can consider this offer.

Crystallized,
Sorry I mean "I saw United Sq one pasted a paper saying "small balloon <font color="0000ff">$1.50</font>, big balloon $2.50". Wanna amend but forum was down in the afternoon.

Haze,
Welcome onboard! Wow Wow, you really "xiang yin zheng fu hao zhao"!!! You're definately a great mum!!!

babe,
Goodie bag, depends on your target kids age. For mine, my cousins only a few still in Pri Sch. I only give to those still in Pri Sch and below. And since my target age is in Pri Sch, I go for stationery set. Not forgetting there's a few cousin toddlers who are same age as my Jolene, I add some biscults, mashmellow, stickers and balloon. Cos I find it troublesome to separate the babies, toddlers and kids goodie bags, so I pack my goodie bags in the way that it suits most age kids lor. To make it more colourful, I get 2 colours for the loot bags. See pic.
941848.jpg

Hi cneo,
My boy has the exact mobile hanging on his cot. I din dismantle his cot cos my mum nds to put him there whenever she needs to do "big buisiness" haha. Otherwise my boy will crawl into the toilet and hover ard her feet like a fly. She say like that too distracting, cant complete her business!

Hi doreen,
Your boy wont put the tiles in his mouth?? Mine will put everything in. I think he's very greedy. Even aft his meals, he will call 'Eh Eh' if he sees you eating.

Julia Gabriel
=============
I called them up today, wanted to arrange for trial class. Guess wat, they told me their classes have a waiting list of 3-6mths. They advised me to regn to be on the waiting list so that he can start his class nxt April when he turns 1.5yrs. So I will be registering for the bilingual playclub since that's the only class on weekends.

Gymboree
========
Will be starting my boy on Level 3. I a bit slow, was waiting till my schedule nt so pack then can let him join.

pups
haha they not really staring game more of like if U see me I ran.....hahahaha
COs my weird dog only recently pays more attention to Damien n he won't let me see it 1 lor. So when my dog is happy he will go to the playyard scratch at 1 side wait till D sees him n approach then he will run off.
N when we r having dinner I normally give D his baby bites. Today he actually fed my dog with his biscuit.....faint man.

freshpoison
He DOES!!!! but I will push it away immediately lor so he sort of knows its not allowed n dun do it often. D is 1 greedy piggy too jus today I was eating biscuit while feeding him his brown rice n he scream at me lor then refuse his food already.

Which gymboree did u enroll ur son in??
I am also tempted to try the JG trial class cos seems to be quite good. But its 2X a week n the fee is such a big amt so dun think I will sign him. So was wondering if I still wanna go for trial.....kekeke

crystallised
My kitchen is open concept so there's no door n the playyard is in the living room directly opp my kitchen so D can always see me. N sometimes when he shout for me I jus answer him without looking at him he's okie 1. Or u dun bother about him he will start playing with the toys liao....hehe

I've never actually used the stroller with D when we go out cos hubby is anti stroller(dun even know why we bought it) n we always end up carrying him. But last week I was so bored at home waiting for hubby to be home so I took D out in the stroller n walked all the way to J8(15mins away), walked in the ntuc n walked all the way back. An achievement considering I managed not to carry him at all. hahaha

lilboymum
So u r gonna be sahm starting Jan??
But after 1 yr then how?? Anyway they will be a yr old soon feel a bit wasted if u be a sahm now. Maybe ur inlaws tot u jus need them to watch over the maid so they dun want to snatch her duties.

Sorry har, Me have been MIAing these few days... too busy and tired... every nite work late till 2-3am, woke up at 6am, not excluding the dream feed for Rhys... i really look like a panda now...

Have been rushing work and Rhys' party all at one time... and this hb is not helping lor... sigh... luckily my godsons after hearing that i am too busy to work on the poster for Rhys, all came back to help. Now at least I have outsource my posters to them. hee...

Me settled the chalet, and cake nia... goodie bags bot liao but end up not enuff... got to go concourse again. Me too lazy to go elsewhere to search liao.

Now left his party invites... catering... and the leftover goodie bags. Oh... and my outstanding scrapbook... sigh... so many things so little time... Now I wish Rhys is born in Oct... haa...

Ladies, keep me sane here okie??

Poor Vivian, how come so much work, need to work till 2, 3am? Must catch more sleep hor.

Mummies, think from Sep onwards, it's party all the way till end Oct for this thread!!! Our little ones are turning 1! I'm holding Jaslyn's birthday bash on Sat, 29 Sep. Remember the first bb is Ruifang right? 13 Sep?
Party party all the way!

Dor,
Yup that was my initial thought too. But it is still important to be there for the child even after one. before one, you need to fulfil their very basic needs (food, security), but beyond one, there is their social and intellectual growth to be concerned about. So i guess it's still worth it.

Am doing my PhD at the same time. so will be at least the next few years. Not quitting in the first year coz of practical reasons (heee...if you are a civil servant, you'd know what i mean)

vivian,
well, after all the preparation, you'll have good memories and im sure Rhys will appreciate all your effort when he grows up.

Hi doreen,
I will be registering. Not registered yet cos my hubby going for reservist. Will wait till his reservist stint over first. Most prob will go to the harbourfront branch. I think two mummies are currently there.

JG
Will be on the waiting list for Evans Rd cos that's the branch that has weekend classes. I cant make it on weekdays cos working leh. Yah, very ex so I was thinking of letting him try out a term. If it's really good then will continue. If it's juz hype then will stop the class and look for alternatives. I intend to put him at The Little Skoolhouse at the Orchid Country Club once he turn 3 cos my colleagues who have kids there have been praising their teaching.

Hi Lilboymum,
Wow, u doing ur PHD. So far my highest educated fren has only Masters... haha I'm impressed. I cannot make it already. Asked my hubby to do Masters wif me, he say 'siao ah'!

Hi crytallized,
Think no nd the card already. Delihub replied my email stating the card can only be used for Neo Garden not its subsidiary. I nd to order Halal food cos have muslim frens so will order fr my usual caterer. Thks for offering your help. I aprreciate the gesture.