(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Mummies, my younger twin is cutting two top teeth. He started having fever on-off since last Wed nite. Brought him to see PD on Fri after cough sets in. He seems to have alot of phelgm, breathe also can hear. Luckily PD said his lung is clear. This morn, hb brought him to see PD again cos he has not recovered.. still got fever and cough. Just to check, is this a norm for teething baby.. as in fever, cough, runny nose and phelgm? I dont rembr him having all these when he was cutting his two bottom teeth. My mum said it's quite norm for bb to have fever when cutting two top teeth.. true? I certainly hope that not all babies have to go thru this.. cant imagine having to go thru this again when it's time for my elder twin to cut his two top teeth.. *choy choy choy!* Been sleepg for only abt 3hrs a nite for last few days.. haiz

Good Morning Mummies, as I was on leave last Friday so didnt log into the Forum.

<font color="0000ff">Jlyn</font>
I brought Jonathan not Joanna to My Family Clinic (GP) @ Rivervale Mall for the jab. Not Kidlink. I paid $170 for the jab.

I dont think it is a norm for teething babies to have fever, cough, runny nose and phelgm. To me, sound like your baby is having URTI. I only heard of teething babies having fever irregardless of whether top or bottom teeth.

Didnt know that you are a mother of a twin babies

<font color="0000ff">Coolcoolmum & Lilboymum</font>
Hope your boys get well soon.

<font color="0000ff">Pups</font>
Thanks for the information on the Thomas & Friends toys.

<font color="0000ff">Jenny</font>

<font color="0000ff">Adeline</font>
Hope Baby Kim is okay now.

Update on Joanna
=============

Noticed that Joanna knows how to clap her hands and instead of crawling on fours, she crawl by moving her butts

Need some advise from you, my boy can only drink at most 4oz of FM at a time so I have to plan a 5times milk feed to meet the min. milk intake per day. Just gradually started the below plan but my boy's milk intake seems to reduce and I wonder if I am feeding too much solid, can share your meal plan with me?

6am - Milk Feed (4oz)
9am - Milk Feed (4oz) + 2teaspoon oat cereal+4teaspoon fruits
12nn - Lunch 4tsp rice cereal+2tsp meat+4tsp vege
3.30pm - Milk fee (4oz)
7pm - Dinner 4tsp rice cereal+2tsp meat+4tsp vege
10pm - Milk feed (4oz)
2am - Milk feed (4oz)

Jackiejon, oh paiseh.. thought u bring ur gal to Kidslink for jab. Hb juz called, Dr said it's teething + a bit ill(? i oso dont understd..) and not infection. I left my elder boy with mil cos scare the virus will pass to him. My boys are borned on 26 oct, one 2.81kg and the other 2.82kg. They are considered quite "big" for twins but now, they very "small". 1 weighed 7.6kg last fri and the other 1 dun know, shld be ard 8kg. Anyway, I am also Dr Tony Tan's patient.

Mummies, who are considering the pneumococcal jabs, according to pd, price of jab is going up. On top of GST hike (1 jul rite?), heard Wyeth is also upping the price. Clinic told me that I can pay first and have the jabs later. I wonder if i let boys take jab after 1 years old (2 jabs instead of 3), dun know if clinic will allows me to pay now and take jab 4 mths later.. hmm.. must call them and check.

bbgrace
oh can get it fr toyrus???? Hooray! will find time to go search 4 it. R was so fascinated wif the toy and he tried to stand up using the table as support. i find the table v useful.

the toy Emma is playg is so gd... can multi-task! hehehe...

crystallized,
I've seen that before at Toys R Us during Joshua's time. You mean your friend doesn't know where it came from?
Yes, i love the chicco activity table. Good quality plastic and can multi-task and can last for quite a while.

<font color="0000ff">Jlyn</font>
Heee heee
its okay.

I intend to bring Joanna for the jab when she turn 2 years old.

Oh, you also Dr Tan's patient!

Joanna was born on 25 October, so maybe we were neighbours in the next room

LittleKid

PeiHwa at Bukit Timah. Where's ur son schooling?

Adeline

Dylan fell from the bed bef too. hb was away on biz trip so Dyl sleeps with me on the bed. Usually i very light sleeper but that nite, was just too tired. I guard his side with 2 big pillows. Next thing i know, boom! Dylan fell down, i think luckily pillow went first so it buffered his fall. But still i was afraid knock his head. U cant imagine how scared and awake i was then. He screamed so loud.. I hugged him so tightly and pacified him.. Very scared till dun know how to describe. Next 2 days kept monitoring him. Needless to say, kanna from hb and mum lo..

by the way, the next day i immediately went to buy a bed guard to place on the side he sleeps. So if hb sleep he will need to climb over the guard. But little convenience is insignificant to the safety of my children.

bbgrace, jrt

the activity table looks good, maybe i will check it out too. Come to think of it, I have not buya high chair, must get one liao.

erkerk

my Dyl also take lesser milk since at 5 mths. At first he was going very steady. I was concern then when we started solids, we leave it. He can hardly finnish 5oz. I checked with my fren and her bb also can't finish 4oz. I leave it for the time being, as long as Dyl not sick and continue to observe...

is this pneumococcal jab compulsory? I see so much discussion on this... jus start wondering.

Hope all bbs who r down, get well soon! Poor mommies must be worried and tired...

erkerk,
How old ur boy? shd be same with my. born in Oct06. Last time my last feed for bb was at 12-1am,,but one of my fren (nurse) told me if bb din cry for milk, then it's ok to let them sleep thru the nite. so my last feed will depend from 8.30pm-10.30pm. If i feed bb early monrning say 6.30am (milk) then the next feed will be lunch already, coz he wakes up at 8am, then bring to nanny hse sleep again around 9am ++,wake up around 11am ++,alrady porridge time..My son mostly drink 3times milk a day now (5-6oz), and i always wanted him to drink another time at 9am,but oh,,he sleep then how? no choice lo.. ur rice cereal shd be 4tablespoon rite?

Can i check if kim vomits the phelgm out with milk. is it normal cause she coughing or is it becuase of the fall? My aunty say she vomitting but alot phelgm (last night) then after that she ok liao.

Jlyn, my boy 3 days early than your twin, he is also 2.8kg at birth, now 7.6kg, small build
he has doubled his birth weight very quickly on the 1st few months but has slow down his weight gain from then...is your boy on steady growth on the weight? Mine has drop from 50 percentile line

Cuddles, can share how many times milk feed u give to your Dyl and his weight? My boy could hardly finish 4oz...weight gain no good..my fren's boy can drink 7 to 8oz plus 3 meals, so good

wennie, my boy 23Oct. Is your boy also on 3 meals already? I gave my boy 5 milk feed cos' he drink very little, sometime he also misses 1 Milk feed when he sleep. my rice cereal 4teaspoon, very little hor but if I give him more, he can't finish his milk. Is your boy on rice cereal? U feeding multigrain?

Any mummies can share your meal plan and portion you gave to BB? I need help badly cos' if my boy not feeding well, might have to go for the appetite booster

bbgrace
yah my fren cant rem where she got the activity table. she told me it cld b kiddy palace. i tried searching over the wkend but cant find it. a sept mummy juz informed me its available at toyRus... it will b cheaper if i am their Star member though...

cuddles
i guess most babies shld like coz so colourful and so many sounds.

adeline
not sure if kim vomits coz of the fall. but at times R oso does tt. and my mum says its better coz she can see the phlegm all coming out together. but coz kim had a fall, perhaps better to check wif PD?

erkerk
i feed my 8.5 mths old boy 2 meals of porridge daily. usually ard 11am and another round at 4pm. he can eat abt half to 3/4 adult bowl portion usually. of coz there r times he wldnt open his mouth aft 3 or 4 spoonsful. my boy refuses cereals aft we switch to porridge. in fact i was hoping he will still continue wif it but too bad. and he oso dun drink alot of milk too. max is 150ml only. at times he drinks 120ml too. i juz leave him be coz i noe he self regulates his own system. hehehee.. when he is hungry he will cry for food. no need to force him. in fact there r times he dun eat/drink at the usual 3 hr interval but perhaps 1.5-2 hrly...

Jrt
Was telling my aunty if tml she doesnt get well let me know. i bring her to the doctors. Cause she had slight fever in the morning but aunt said she recovered. Cause she teething at the same time i cannot differentiate. if she still the same for tomorrow i str away bring her go see doc already.

crystallized,
i got star card. i'll probably be going down to Toys R Us this week to return the Thomas the Train that was recalled. You need help?

Adeline
Max vomitted phelgm with milk and porridge recently but tat's because of his bronchitis coming back to visit him (he's on nebuliser now). You should bring her to PD to check if it's link to bronchitis.

erkerk
Max consider an average bb. Was 3.3kg at birth, now 10.6kg. His feed now:
7am-Milk (6 to 7oz)
9am-Cereal with milk (total 10 milk scoops)
11am to noon-Porridge (a bowl)
2pm to 3pm-Milk (6 to 7oz)
5pm to 6pm-Porridge (a bowl)
8pm-Milk (5oz)
Last feed normally around 10pm-Milk (5oz)

Hope this helps. Max has been a big eater since birth.

Seems like this forum has quieten down without 'event queen'-Esther, 'montage queen'-Selina and 'prank cum shopping queen'-Vivian.

Hi Adeline

to put your heart at ease better bring kim to see doc early. recently alot of bbs kena bronchitis, so just in case (touch wood). KB also started with vomitting and we didnt even see any phelgm.

hope kim gets well soon.

I am so sad Damien had a fall today too. He was sleeping so I left him in the middle of the bed as I always do n left a bolster at his side. Normally he always give a shout or cry when he wakes n he doesn't turn or move when he sleeps.
So I was in the kitchen cooking his porridge when I heard a soft thud n a wail.
Ran to the room still hopping the thud was not from him falling but can't see him on the bed lor.....sigh....
Wierd thing is the bolster was at the head of the bed while damien was at the foot of the bed n Damien has his head towards the bed facing down. sigh......

Doreen
I was caution when they can turn and crawl or drag or spin. That's y i dun leave Max alone in the room. If i'm at home, i'll use pram to push him around and let him sleep in sarong instead of bed. If not, jus let damien sleep on mattress or play mat. You won't know what to expect next, they are always giving us surprise.
Hope Damien is fine.

ling
Now I also dunno how leh cos can't let him slp on floor cos of my kpo dog. N D normally dun move in his sleep 1 lor. sigh......
He's okie jus cranky cos teething again but keep smilling n talking after the fall leh. Weird huh.

Doreen
Since you can't get your dog to stay away, y not get the bed guard. At least it put you at ease. No matter what, you need some free time for to do your own stuffs rather than watching him sleep.

halo ladies,

me on school holidays liao but got to help up at mum's place so din log in here much...

ling,
when I become the prank + shopping queen?? haa... shopping queen is doreen hor... me dun dare to challenge her... as for prank hor, where got??
erh... btw, I need your help in booking the chalet leh... can help??

Adeline,
poor kim... think monitor her lah... if really not right hor, bring her to see pd lah... sometimes we need a peace of mind too...

erkerk,
my boy's meal schedule is quite simple.
1. Nite feed 3-4am - 210ml
2. 9+am after waking up - 6-8 tbsp of cereal + fresh puree (the cereal sometimes mixed with milk, sometimes mixed with water...depends)
3. 4 hours later - 150ml milk (was more last time but he dun want milk that much now)
4. 5-6+pm - 1-1.5 adult bowl of porridge + veg + fish/meat
5. 9+pm - last feed, 180ml milk

Sometimes, inbetween if he hungry, will give him some milk but seldom happen. And sometimes we convert his afternoon milk feed to porridge or brown rice.

To me, as long as he is eating well and pooing... still active and healthy, I am ok with his diet..
Btw, mine is different from some of the other mummies here coz I replace the entire milk feed with cereal or porridge. I dun feed milk shortly after that. I think some mummies here did that.
So I think it depends on you and your baby. Every baby is different. Maybe your baby just happen to be a small eater... dun worry too much...

Vivian
Oops, i actually forgot Doreen... (Sorry doreen). Nvm, at least you got yourself the 2nd place. ",

I need to book 3 months in advance, which are the dates you want? No guarantee cos it's by rank.

Sheen also fell from bed on Sat morning. Really scared the wits out of my life. She was lying in the centre of the bed while my hb jus went to get ready the bath for her and there went the big 'thub'. I was resting as I woke up very early to feed her and play with her as she did not sleep after her morning feed. I literally jump out of the bed. She was lying on the floor facing down. Think her chin landed first cos her gums a bit bleeding. So heart pain. My hb felt so guilty for leaving her on the bed. After this incident,we never dare to leave her alone on the bed even for a few seconds...

Cuddles,
Where did u get your bed guard? How much?

Adeline,
My PD told me that teething may cause fever but will not cause cough and running nose. Sheen had slight fever, running nose and cough last week so brought her to see PD. She said fever maybe due to teething but she is also ill cos got cough and running nose. Better bring Kim to see doctor if cough and running nose still persist cos may lead to bronchitis. My girl has bronchi twice oreadi. It all began with dry cough and running nose then lead to phelgm and wheezing. If its bronchi, the peak is usu on the 5th/6th day of coughing.

I jus wanna ask if any of u mummies try ur bb's medi before u feed them?
I dun lah but I asked my PD before if the zyrtec taste not nice cos D will not like to take it. Actually those smell very nice n sweet 1 he also dun take 1 lah.
My pd say it taste a bit bitter then she asked me "U dun eat the medi urself before feeding ur bb 1 aah?"
I was like huh must eat meh....kekeke

So now I'm wondering do u gals do that?? Or am I the only bad mummy jus feed him n never try what I am feeding him.

Vivian
When you mentioned 6 - 8 tablespoon, what is the type of spoon you are refering to? Those chinese soup spoon that we use? That sounds like a lot! :p

teddyhope
Please don't feel bad about it. I don't taste the medicine before giving my boy too. We only taste it if he rejects to see why so. At least that was what we did when he rejected the Panadol Syrup which we bought. It has this bitter tinge. After that try, we gave him the paracetamol suspension from the PD instead cos it is sweetish.

<font color="0000ff">Cuddles</font>
As for now, Pneumococcal jab is not compulsory.

<font color="0000ff">Doreen</font>
Hope Damien is fine now.

By the way, do you train your doggy not to step into the bedroom? We used to have a Jack Russell Terrier
before we have Jonathan and we train her not to step into the bedroom.

I am also one of those who never taste the medicine before I give it to the children
because I hate medicine myself.

<font color="0000ff">Cneo</font>
I help {Cuddles} to answer your question on bed guard.

You can purchase the portable bed guard/bed rails from Kiddy Palace cause I bought mine there.

It cost about between $45 to $55 only.

Dor
Ya i do taste kim's med same goes for my aunty. i taste some only but my aunty taste all med that she take lor. but anyway whatever kim take like baby food or porridge my aunty will definitely taste it 1st before giving her.
How is Damien now? Wah seems like last few days alot babies tum off bed.

Vivian
I ask my aunty to monitor giving her a call later see if kim is ok.

Coolmum
Wah Brochitis. it never came into my head man! she had bad running nose and cough but i never thought of brochitis.. Should have brought her to doctors >.< Cause really alot phelgms.

Cneo
Actually got one GP told me that teething wont cause cough and running nose. But think is cause the body is more vulnerable and prone to virus due to teething thats why they will cough and flu more easily.

crystallized, thanks for sharing, my boy likes solid than milk, if I keep on adding solid, me worried he dun want milk at all, some more his weight gain is slow

ling, wow, *envy*, my boy can't even finish 4oz of milk. U adding 10 scoops of milk powder directly to cereal, can know how much water to add? I am only adding 2milkscoops of FM to the bf cereal

teddyhope, oh dear...my heart ache when saw you post, sayang, sayang BB Damien, hope he is fine. I eat & test everything that I feed BB, FM is yacky.

vivian, my boy can forget abt meal when he is playing, tt's y I am so worried
wow, wow, 6 - 8 tbs! I am stuck in whether to proceed giving him more solid

cneo, u mentioned that the peak is on the 5th or 6th day of cough. How is the peak like huh? Do u mean v bad cough on the 5th/ 6th day? My boy has been coughing for last 4 days. Today is the 5th day and he sounds like "a pek" now. PD just changed new set of medicine for him yesterday.. hopefully he will recovers soon.

Erkerk, oh.. 7.6kg is 50th percentile? Thought PD told me 25th percentile only. Now that my boy is not well.. I just want him to be healthy lor, dont care what percentile he is in. Haiz.. since your child is abt my younger twin's wgt, let me juz post his feeding schedule for ur reference.
7am- milk (4-5oz)
if he drinks lesser than 4 oz, I'll give bb biscuit dip in remaining milk and feed him.
9-10am- cereal (nestle w/o milk, 3tbsp + 150FM)
12-1pm- porridge (3/4 chinese bowl + fruit)
3-4pm- milk (4-5oz)
6-7pm- porridge (3/4 chinese bowl + fruit)
9pm- milk (4-5 oz)
PD said min. 500ml milk (including milk added in cereal). Better if can keep up to 600-700ml. If lesser than 500ml, change 1 meal of porridge to cereal (cos got milk added).
Same schedule for elder twin except he takes in more milk (abt 6-7 oz).

Adeline, ur gal is not well hah? Hai.. now my boy's turn. In fact, when i checked on my elder twin last nite (scare virus spread, put at mil's hse), he also drooling and forehead feels abit feverish. Think teething.. i going to peng san soon. Now I so scare.. bring boy downstairs walk walk only, go home quickly wash hands wash feet. Hopefully our kids got chance to play together at playground when all recover.

Cuddle & Jackiejon, tks for the tip. I going to buy the bedguard. Both my boys also fell from bed before. Younger one dropped onto thick mattress so not that bad. Elder one fell onto floor at mil's plc *pain* and she only told hb 3 wks after the fall..said forgotten abt it.

Cneo, Jackiejon

ya, got mine from kiddy palace too. Think was about $49. Now at night i sleep with Dyl in a bit more peace. I too lazy to put him in the cot and get up now n then in the nite to pacify him. So this lazy mum puts him beside me in bed. Easier for bfg anyway.

Jackiejon,

since not compulsory, I skip first lo. So far, Dyl hasn't been sick bef... **touchwood**

erkerk

I am bfg,Dyl was born on 21 Oct at 3.025kg. Now he shd be about 9kg. feeding schedule as follows:

8am - BM (direct latch)
11am - brown rice / porr about 8tbsp
3pm - 120ml BM (from bottle)
5:30-6pm - brown rice / porr about 8tbsp
8pm - BM (direct latch)
10pm - BM (direct latch)

Will be including a morning cereal feed by this mth.

Any comments from doc from ur last check up? Cos is bb is growing well, then no need to be so worried. My pd said bbs usually gain wt n fats during the 1st 6 months, aft that will slow down and convert to muscles.

Ling

wa.. ur bb quite big eater hor.

Adeline and Cneo

hope bb kim and damien are ok.

jlyn

no prob. its very portable and easy to use. My gal also fell down from bed before and hurt her lips until so swollen and head got a big bump. So i have been very phobic abt this.

hi ladies...morning morning...

wah...so nice to have big eaters. mummies with skinny bbs..dun worry lah. CY is very very very small. He's just 6.7kg...hahaha...after the refcent bout of cold, might be even lesser!!!

His schedule (when im home during school holz):
5-6am nurse
8am - very little cereal (sometimes he rejects it)
9am nurse
10:30-11am (sometimes) - nurse
1plus pm - nurse
4pm - nurse
6pm - sometimes nurse
7pm - dinner (sometimes) of porridge which he hardly takes any
8pm - nurse
then zzzzz
wakes up once or twice to nurse at night...

when im away at work, he'll take in as little as 150mls for the whole day, but cn be as much as 300mls (7-6). that explains his dismal weight now...

he doesnt take solids. pukes everything out if we force him. am taking it more easy now.well, someone HAS to be in the 3rd percentile...and just as long as he triples his birth weight by one, we are not worried. he was 2.7kg when born...so just need to hit around 8.2 kg can liaoz...

adeline,
Hope Kim is well now. take care ok...understand how stressful it can be having to study, work and worry about your little girl...

dear all...
As from the 25th June, I'll be a part-time working mom!!!! kekeke...just converted my scheme but still taking 3/4 load. so still heavy. but without administrative and peripheral duties, i can be home early to be with CY (and to nurse him loh)...Yay!!!

Jackiejon and Cuddles,
Thanks for the info. Think I will go n get it this week. She act got her cot but she doesnt like to sleep in it. She likes to sleep with us so think I better get one.
Cuddles, Dyl has the same bday as mine...

Jlyn,
Usu my girl will hv dry cough for 2/3 day and then 3/4 day phlegm develop. A lot of phlegm. Then on 4/5/6 day, can start to hear wheezing sound when she breathe. This is a sign of bronchitis. How I determine whether she is wheezing is I put my hands on her chest and back and feel any vibration when she breathe. Usu there will be some light vibration if she is wheezing. She ganna this bronchi twice oreadi. Once during her 2nd mths n the other 5th mth. Jus last wk she almost ganna bronchi again. I v paranoid so I bring her see PD twice last week. After 3rd day she din recover I brought her to PD again so she increase dosage n give singulair. Now she is still recovering from it. Slight coughing but much lesser phlegm. What medicine did ur PD give? Hope ur boy will recover soon. It's so torturous to see them coughing and cant spit out the phlegm.

Lilboymum,
Are u a teacher?

Sheen's diet
============
6.30am - 5oz of FM
9.30am - 5oz of FM
12.30pm - brown and white rice porridge(1/2 bowl)
3.30pm - 5oz FM / oatmeal cereal w 2 spoonful FM,veg & carrot(5 tbspoon)
6.30pm - 5oz FM
11.30pm - 5oz FM

Sheen usu sleep at 8plus tat's y there is a big gap frm 6.30pm to 11.30pm. She doesn't like porridge so she takes more milk. Is considering inceasing her cereal intake. She takes fruits everyday in between in meals.

She is born on 10 oct and is currently 7.5kg. I m not too concern cos she is born small too. oni 2.67kg... As long as it's within percentile and she grow and poo it's alright.

l'il CY

congrats to u. thats good news to bb cy. I will be changing to freelance as well, from july. Also to spend more time with Dyl and proper bfg.

jlyn, I meant my boy used to be on 50th percentile and now dropped..sob..sob..
. do you add 150FM to the cereal or feed the milk separatly?

cuddles, I also used to Tbf my boy too, wean off 2week plus liao, ai yo, dun know where my breastmilk went, my boy light weight. oops, seems like I started 3 meals too soon liao.

liboymum, your boy born in Oct too? my boy 2.8kg at birth, I very sad cos' I see other TBF BB ba ba but my skinny, some more he is longer in length and really appear skinny. very sad when relatives say I didn't feed him well. hm..what type of cereal you gave to your boy? Most of my fren's BB take healthy time oats well cos it is sweet, maybe you want to try that for breakfast to see if your boy likes it but it has a bit of suger content(some mummy don't want BB to take sweet stuff..)