(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

BEDRAILS
Just my take on bedrails. They prevent babies from ROLLING off beds but that does not mean that your baby wont pull himself up to STAND using the bedrails as support. And this is even more dangerous cos the bedrails are very low.

I used bedrails on my bed cos Joshua sleeps on it. This is to prevent any accidental rolling off when he sleeps. At 2.5yrs old, he knows not to stand up and lean against it. As for Emma, whenever i put her on my bed, she makes a beeline for the bedrails and pulls herself up to stand. So i NEVER leave her alone on the bed. She goes into the cot when i need to leave her alone. And i don't let her sleep on my bed with the bedrails also cos i dunno when she will wake up and decide to stand up.
So bedrails are good when the kids are over 1 yr old cos they know the consequences. For now, cots (when mattress lowered) and playpens are still the safest.

<font color="0000ff">Dor</font>
Just like pups, i only taste those meds that the kids reject. I hate med myself so i can totally understand when Joshua and Emma refuse to take them. haha!

<font color="0000ff">pups</font>
I find the suspension harder to feed cos it's very thick, hence more difficult to force a struggling baby to swallow it.
Sweet or not, both J and E don't like. haha!

<font color="0000ff">FEEDING SCHEDULE</font>
My Emma is the the smallest baby at birth at 2.2kg so i don't harbour any high hopes of her being big-sized. 2 weeks ago, she was about 7.5kg which i think is v good progress already.
Her feeding schedule:

5-6am - Latch on
8am - 180ml EBM
10.45am - 1/2 to 3/4 adult bowl porridge with veg and scrapped meat
11.45am - 120ml milk before she naps
3pm - 160ml milk
5pm - porridge or cereal (4 tablespoon cereal mixed with 1.5 tablespoon of pureed fruits / veg)
6.45pm - 150ml milk
8.30pm - Latch on to sleep
12am - 120ml milk (i wake her up to give her cos i don't want her to wake up at 3am for night feed)

babygrace,
Emma now weight 7.5kg liao? u done a good job man...

think A's about 8.3kg now. he seem not interested at milk or porridge lel. but still active as usual. tat's make me no worries.
can we give them meat/fish at this stage?

Adeline,
hope kim recover fast fast after vomit out the phlegm.
u tak care too. is the exam over?

lilboymum,
it's good news for u & CY.

jasmine,
i've yet to give emma fish cos my PD advised me to wait till 9 mths as Joshua has allergy history. But i know babies like Damien, Rhys, Caleb are already taking fish with no problem.
I've started to give Emma the meat itself cos i want her to have meat protein. So far, it's either minced beef (good source of iron) or i will scrap the meat using the foodmaker bowl till it's like pork floss and feed together with her porridge.

i'm glad that Emma likes porridge and she's still a milkaholic. The only thing she hates is drinking water so i have to spoon feed her water after each meal. And also this is partly why i still didn't fully replace a milk feed with a full meal cos i want her to have enough fluids.

Jerene,
Wow, from the list for your bday celebrations, it's going to cost a bomb, but hey, you really plan till very well haha... manjong for adults kekeke...

Adeline,
I think is better to bring Kim to see PD.
But vomit out the phelgm is good.

Doreen,
Dun worry lah. I have never tasted the medicine, cereal and milk. I can't stand cereal or milk smell.

erkerk,
Don't be sad and dun compare on baby size. Is your hb and yourself or even your relatives small build or tall? As long as baby is eating sleeping, playing well, I dun care much about their weight.
I dun have a fixed feeding schedule/timetable for my gal, so can't share with you.

nedlands,
You around??? I brought the gals to the studio shoot yday... very tiring wor... Jolene not very co-operative and refused to take pics. Think she knew she's not the lead yday and was jealous bah. The props hor, I find it so so only leh.

BEDRAILS

I share the same views as babygrace. Feel it is more dangerous to use on babies. It may cause even more serious injury cos baby will pull him/herself to standing position and fall from a higher height.
Playpen/cot/mattress is still the safest.

Cuddles,
my boy is in Chongfu Pri in Yishun.

Feeding Schedule
I think my boy eat a lot but he is not those "big" baby, don't know what is his weight now but I'm bringing him back to KK for follow-up next Tuesday, will see any changes in his weight. Here is his schedule:

6am - 9oz(270ml)FM
zzz till 8am
8am - a slice of bread
play till 9am
9am - bath time follow by 9oz(270ml)FM
9.30am - zzz till 11.30am
12pm - porridge (1/2 rice bowl)& 4oz water
sometime he don't want water, he want MILK
1.30pm - nap time
4.30pm - 9oz(270ml)FM
6pm - porridge
playtime up to 8.30pm
8.30pm - bath time
9pm - 9oz(270ml)FM
if nobody disturb him, he can sleep till the next day, otherwise his latest bedtime is 10pm.

Btw, he know how to drink from straw.

cneo,
yes im a teacher. *_*

erkerk,
unless its a huge drop in percentile, the pd shouldnt worry too much right?

My boy was born 28th OCt.He's been skinny all along. same here loh, height around 69-70cm, yet weight only 6.7kg nia.that's the only reason why the PD was worried. coz ratio not good. but he's very very active. sometimes, so active after feeds (he likes to bounce when you carry him or support him to standing position) that he'll regurgitate.

but think bf bbs are supposed to be smaller leh. the baba-ness you see in other bbs...maybe genes. are you or hubby small or big? or maybe he might be just like what one mummy said, his growth just slowed loh. if you really worried, get your pd to assess him or have a second opinion.

cuddles, jasmine,
yay, thanks for the well-wishes. am planning to finish my bond before taking no pay or moving on.kekekek

hi mummies, thanks for sharing, just brought my boy to see the PD, she say BB looks fine and active, just have to monitor his weight growth for next 1 month and see if need the booster.

bbgrace, TQ for sharing Emma's schedule. from 2.2 to 7.5 is really good, my boy still stuck ard 7kg+ very long liao
hopefully he will reach 8kg real soon.

jenny, me more worried on BB weight gain. me avg M size and hb tall and ba ba...

hi little kid, wow, wow, 9oz of milk per feed, I wonder when my boy can finish 9oz. Btw, do we have to bring BB back for follow up regularly? My PD never mentioned, so far I only bring him for jabs, finished all at 6mths and almost 2 months never go, just went to see PD on his weight gain today.

lilboymum, the percentile curve going down
, should be an upward tread. My boy very very active too, bounce and kick often, perspire a lot, crawling progress ok, slow but steady. Hv just visited the PD, have to monitor and see...

M U M M I E S - Can share receipe on weight boost food? I just bot avocado

erkerk,
Think jus monitor his growth and check with the growth chart in his health booklet... Avocado is a gd brain food. Also can boost weight. My girl used to like it when she is younger but now she rejects it. Hope ur boy likes it. Can try giving potato(mashed) with milk too

lilboymum,
me too... I m a pri sch tr

Babygrace,
are you steam the meat 1st then scrap it?
i know beef is good but think will skip it cos of religion.
A friend taught me to cook porridge with frog leg but MIL against it.

Glad tat Emma love porridge & milk. how i wish Alvis will do so. think he prefer latch on to drink frm bottle.

LittleKid,
wow!! K can drink so much ...270ml? Alvis only can drink half of tat.

Seem tat My boy drink quite little lel. but as long as he still so active, think shld b alright ba..

Here is his feeding schedule:

6-7am - Latch on
8am - Cereal (w/o milk + 20ml EBM or with milk add)
10.30am - 100 - 140ml EBM
12 - 1pm - small bowl (-2{really small ~ tat bowl inside Piyo food processor})
3-4pm - 160ml milk
6pm - 100-140ml EBM
8.30pm - Latch on to sleep
12am - 6am wake up twice to latch on

sometimes he even skip the 6pm feed. according to MIL, he didnt ask for milk, so they assume he not hungry. is it ok?

erkerk,
My boy got admitted to KKH in April due to bronchitis, brought him for review last month and Doctor said that she still can heard that there was phlegm in his lung therefore need to go back for review again next Tuesday.

Jasmine,
Ya, you're right, as long the baby is healthy & happy, there is nothing to worry about. At 1st, I also tot 9oz is too much but the doctor said it's ok. The scariest part is that sometime he finish his porridge and he still demand milk which he will finish abt 4oz of milk, I think his metabolism is very high plus he is very active always "running" (in the walker) here & there playing with his 2 brothers, he need more energy..haha.

erkerk, i am using nestle cereal, the one without milk. i'll make 150ml of milk, pour into a bowl and stir in 3tbsp of cereal. If follow the table stated on cereal tin, bb shld be taking more cereal (4 or more tbsps of cereal) and i am still feeding 3tbsp for now cos usually give fruits/ snacks after cereal feed.

littlekid,
yeah..A oso very active once we place him inside walker. he will chase me from behind. i hav to run fast if not will hit by his walker. oouch...*very paint*
Wish tat K will pass the review on next tuesday.

Jlyn,
me too. using nestle cereal. but hor my boy only take 1.5 tbsp of cereal mixed with 20ml EBM. even no fruits or snacks after cereal feed le.

jasmine,
i cook the meat together with the porridge plus veg for the day. The porridge will be very sweet. Then i'll take a small piece of the cooked meat to scrap it.

Jasmine, are u using the one with milk or without? If I remember correctly, 1 tbsp cereal to 50ml milk for the "without milk" one and 1 tbsp cereal to 30ml water for the "with milk" one. Ur 1.5tbsp to 20ml EBM will be quite thick rite? I mean if ur bb likes it, why not.. ;)

Jenny
I can't leave my work too many pending things for me to do. I keep calling my aunty to check on her lor. my aunty everyday will receive at least 2 calls from me morning and night. At times 4 - 5 during office hours until she also "why u keep calling?!?!" but she knows i am worried *even if kim is fine i will also keep calling her and ask what is kim doing" hahahaha
Next monday i bringing her go for pneumococal jab.

Jasmine
Exams not over. Assignments submission is killing me already. This friday having a test which is soooo damn difficult. I am really going crazy with so many things going on.

lilboymum
Haiz all mommies i think same lor. But just that with her occupying my mind, i couldnt concentrate on most of my things.

Recently my cousin's wife just gave birth 1 mth ago and another cousin last thurs gave birth. I see them both with so dark eye rings reminds me of the past when i take care of kim. haha and the small babies that keep opening mouth when hungry or keep crying when uncomfortable yet cannot roll flip or do anything. So cute......!!!!

Bed rail/Bed guard
==============
I agree with both <font color="0000ff">Babygrace & Jenny</font>.

I also use the bedrail on my bed when Jonathan sleep on my bed.

Even though he is 4 years old, I still scare he will roll off the bed (I abit KS

<font color="0000ff">Lilboymum</font>
Congrats, soon you can spend more time with your boy

Bet you are looking forward to it.

<font color="0000ff">Babygrace</font>
Wah, well done, I really hope Joanna can be like Emma.

<font color="0000ff">Jasmine</font>
Dont worry, Joanna feeding pattern is also more of less like Alvis

Erkerk,

my boy born at 2.425kg @ 14 Oct. Last week went to see GP (bb is sick now, flu, running nose) & weight around 8.3kg now. His height around 70cm. He also not big size, coz the father is small build size la.

I feed porridge 2times a day. I started with 3types of cereal when my boy turn to 6mth, rice,brown rice & oatmeal. I bot the Healthy Time brand, once open hv to consume within 28days,so lucky can finish nearly within a mth time. After that, i stop liao, nver try the multigrain coz i din mix the cereal into his FM. (I'm thinking to buy Nestle brand w/o milk coz not necessary to consume within a mth time).

I also buy one tin of Friso rice cereal w milk one, coz somethime need to rush out no time to make porridge then i've to bring this along & mix with Heize's vege / fruit.

For his porridge, i already intro chicken (but i stopped now coz some ppl say no gd, easy develop allergy, then try intro fish (ngoh he), & pork meat also. some mummy i believe intro fish 1st, coz it's more easy to digest i think.

And oh, i dunno during day time my nanny'll give him fruits o not,,so i've to make steam apple/small green pear (nearly half) for him to eat around 8.30pm.

See his photo 1. sitting on bed was 7mth old, 2. with Shrek hair ban taken last Sat, when he's just sick for 2nd day.
846979.jpg
846980.jpg

Babygrace,
ic...u scrap the cooked meat. or we also can grind the meat, right?

Jlyn,
yes..i'm using Nestle cereal w/o milk. i didnt follow the instruction.

cos i m using EBM, cant add in too much, if not cereal will b too waterly, very hard for us to feed and u r right, A dun like cos like feed him cereal water.
today hor, i gave him 1 Nestle Rusk mixed wif EBM, he love it. but it 's a bit sweet lel.

Adeline,
wow...really tough for u. aiya...wif so many things going on, sure very hard to concentrate lal.
Jia you jia you...

Jackie,
oo..Joanna also small eater ar? me no worries lal cos hor see him super active make me happy already.

<font color="0000ff">Jasmine</font>
Yes, Joanna is a small eater
while Jonathan is opposite when he was about Joanna's age.

To be honest, I sometimes will worry when after 5 hours, Joanna still dont want to eat porridge/cereal or drink milk.

I ever tried making milk for her after 5 hours (when she did not cry for it) but she get angry when I give her and refused to drink **sigh**

What to do

As what you say, as long as they are active and playing happily

bbgrace
i start ted on cod fish and silver fish, he is taking well....as for meat, i dun dare to give yet, i only boil and give him the water (juice) after boiling the ribs for some time

bb feeding
==========
Morning take cereal (either rice cereal with vege or meat juice (boil pork ribs juice)

lunch porridge
(with vege + sometimes fish)

dinner cereal (vege/fruits)

In between milk as well

Hi Jackie,
Thanks. btw, wat brand u using for the teat? If you using Avent, it might due to too hard, she dun like it / sometimes like it..you've consider to switch or mix with other brand like Pigeon.

Like my son, i got 2types of teat also, pigeon & Avent,,fr birth till now he likes the Avent one, but dunno why since about few weeks back, he refuse it & will push out his tongue! so i change to pigeon teat, then he starts to suck. sigh.

Do you remember which mum collect the Shrek photos? wat's for? competition? o just collection?

<font color="0000ff">Aspialle</font>
Happy 8th months to Ted

<font color="0000ff">Wenniekok</font>
As for teats, I am using Pigeon brand.

But sometimes she will drink so....I am speechless

Oh, its Vivian who is doing the Shrek photo, no just for collection for the Oct babies.

If you post here (like what you did just now), she will include the photo into the yahoo group where all the Oct babies are wearing the Shrek headband.

Hey all mummies,
I'm going home but before I leave, I would like to wish all mummies:

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">HAPPY "RICE DUMPLING" Festival!!</font></font>

Enjoy the day with your family and baby. Bye.
kao_byebye.gif

Karen
Max 8 mths plus, pop out on 2nd Oct.

Cuddles
He has been consistent in his milk intake and was taking 7oz at 6 mths but has been rejecting milk since his teeth pop out. Am glad he's stable with his intake now.

Max has been vomitting after feed but PD say it's ok since he's on nebuliser. Any idea why this happen?

wenniekok,
you little boy is handsome!! such nice hair too!!

ling,
maybe Max is vomitting out his phelgm too?

regarding porridge
------------------------------
followed babygrace's recipe and made some meaty brothy porridge. thought it was pretty good myself.fed CY in the evening. thought it went fine when he took two spoonfuls...then he gagged again and puked everything out...sighzzzzz

sometimes i think he purposely pukes his food out. like when we fed him medicine, he will gag and cough big time after that, trying to force the medicine out. when that didnt work, he'll put his fingers into his mouth and tried to dig the medicine out.sometimes, he was successful and the medicine will be regugitated. most of the times, he only made himself very sick...

poor poor naughty boy

Jasmine, I gave boy nestle rusk on its own if he kwai kwai finished his morn milk. If he didnt finish his milk, I'll break a few small pieces, dip, take out and feed (dont dump whole piece in cos will be too sweet)in the remaining milk that he didnt finish and feed him. I'll give him the remaining big peice of rusk after he finishes his milk.

hi everyone. me MIA for a damn long time. really bz like hell now. am in KL right now. have been poping by to read postings but no time to post. promised vivian i will post some latest pixs of Caleb here. finally free from meetings (but still working tho) so can do it now. here's to share some pixs we took on Sunday after church at Central.

Pirates of the Caleb-ean
847446.jpg

More on Caleb
847447.jpg

oh dear, i am beginning to miss my darling sooooo muchhhhh....

Shirley
R u back in sg yet??
Cos I have checked out Gymboree at HF. If u want we can go Thurs or Fri as they say they can open a class for the 2 of us. But dunno if weird anot jus the 2 of us......hahaha
btw I asked bout the voucher for u n they say they dun allow other branch vouchers to be used else where.

Any mummies interested in bringing ur babies to gymboree class at HarbourFront??

Trial is $34.

They can open a class for us if we have at least 3 ppl on Sat 1pm. Sun they already have class at 4pm so if we want can join in.
Weekdays so long as 2 participants they can start a class for us.

aspialle,
i cook the meat in the slow cooker till it's very soft and break it up into fine, short shreds using the feeding bowl with studs.
I either use lean meat or pork fillet (that's what it's called in cold storage). Chinese name is mei2 rou4 or yao1 rou4. That's the most tender part of the pig.
My PD said that it's good to feed the meat itself. I've only started doing that recently after seeing that Emma can handle chunkier texture.

lilboymum,
aiyo CY has the makings of a bulimic!
What's the texture/consistency of your porridge? Watery or dry, sticky type? Emma doesn't like it too watery. Too dry and sticky she has difficulty swallowing. After a while, i've gotten the hang of the consistency that she likes and feeding her is a breeze.

I am from Feb 07 thread. I am intending on preparing baby food myself. Need your experience on what type of blender is good for preparing food for baby. Please advise

hihi..

Selina: Caleb looks more like you ya.. a big boy now.. how long is your biz trip??

teddyhope: i dunt mind trying the Gymboree, but can only make it after 3pm on sat.. is it okie??

Desiree is officially out from the "Bo Gei" club.
But strangly her little 1 tooth start from the top.
is it normal?

Hi Doreen,

oh dear poor damien, hopefully he is alright now.

Hi Babygrace,

wow, Emma improved quite a lot ya on her weight. she is no longer the smallest baby here liao.
desiree only 7.25kg nia... due to her on going sickness.

Hi selina,
Nice pic of Caleb... looks big boy now.

babygrace,
yah lor. thats exactly what i told my hb.

cherfang,
thats an interesting article. coincidentally, that's what im trying now with CY.since he doesnt want porridge or pureed food, what i did today was to steam bite-sized pieces of carrots and sweet potato.

He didnt eat much, but was very interested in pinching the food with his thumb and forefinger and putting them in his mouth...so a good sign i guess.

Heard frm my friend that FM will cause more phlegm if bb oreadi has phlegm. Anyone knows is it true? Cos she suggesting dilute the FM cos my girl still coughing. Act she is recovering but dunno y yest became worse again. Frm last wk till now din stop her medicine yet lei. Sign...

Hi cneo,

Was reading this a couple of days ago. Will type it out as much as i can.

There is a characteristic respiratory reaction to hypersensitivity to cow's milk. The baby is said by the mother to have a lot of phlegm or mucus, and makes a lot of noise when he breathes. Sometimes this excess mucus production affects his feeding, and soemtimes he would cough, clear the mucus which he usually swallows and feels better, only to become 'chesty' again after sometime. This swallowing of musuc irritates the stomach, and the baby often vomits his feeds when the respiratory mucus is easily seen in the vomitus. A running nose is not so common but can occur, but the baby can wheeze and become really breatheless and, indeed, this is a form of asthma. Very often such a condition is wrongly diagnosed as due to respiratory infection and anitbodies only make the condition worse. Exclusion of cow's milk ameliorates the condition. This excess mucus production is the allergic reaction to cow's milk, and since the respiratory tubes are much narrower in the baby comapred to the adult, obstruction is inevitable. Of course, suppresion of the cough by suppresant cough mixtures makes the condition worse as mucus stagnation would now invite infection by germs with consequent pneumonia.

An extract from a book by Professor Wong Hock Boon. He's suppsoed to be the father of paediatric in Singapore. dead now i think...

Lilboymum,
Thks for the extract... sign... dunno wat to do... my girl doesnt like porridge so most of her intake is FM and cereal. So dunno wat to do now... she has oreadi seen PD twice

kareen
HF Gymboree told me sat only have 1pm slot for the class.

Adeline
U interested?? Can make it for sat 1pm or sun 4pm anot? I check with shirley first cos she said she can go with me on weekday this week since she not working. I sms U again k.

Selina
U wanted to bring Caleb for gym class too right?? Wanna join us?

hi kareen,

my girl will sit in the walker, a few times in the day but hor maybe, i think max, maybe half an hr - 1 hr. after which she will scream to be carried out.
we will then either carry her or put her on the bed.

hi selina,

hope that you have been doing fine. ya, caleb look more like you.

hi delphine,

this is the 1st time i hear that tooth grow out from the upper gum.

Hehe okie so I'm glad I'm not the only 1 who dun try my bb's medi or food. The only time I contemplated trying was the nose spray that I had to spray into D's nose to clean the mucus out. Cos I see he so poor thing I tot I should try n see what it feels like. But I chicken out in the end....hehehehhe
ANyway I was told to do it 3 times a day but I only did it when I can hear the mucus in his nose.
I hate medi too n worse still I have allergy to some medi leh. Like paracetomal the most common drug. If I was to try D's medi n kanna allergy jia lat man n I'm still Bfing leh. Hehe but its an excuse too lah...kekekee

btw I finally found the Baby yoplait at PS carrefour yesterday much to my relief cos D started his constipation again. N I fed him 1 mouth n saw his sour face before I remember. SHIT forgot to try again.....hahahha
So I tried abit n wow...it was real sour much more sour then our adults yogurt n its supposed to be gentler on their tummies????

Jackiejon
My dog sleeps with us in the room leh....hehehe
Cos he was only 6mths when I got pregnant with Damien n he became very sticky to me n wanted to slp with us in the room so no choice lor.
N becos he's a small size yorkshire I let him run all over the hse for exercise as I dun bring him for walks often.

Jasmine
U bought the play yard for A right? From where aah?? I only saw at KP but it was another brand Biec but looks exactly like the Haeniem 1. Selling $119 same price u bought?