(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Jlyn,
I "sinz" for you, dun waste your "nuah" hahaha..
Oei, the $2 rice cereal is from Babycare Festival (organised by Mother and Baby Mag), not last year Motherhood Fair hor.
Nah, I doubt the upcoming fair pricing will be cheap. You din see newspaper reporting dairy products pricing raised so high??!! Nestle products raised the most!

Finally found time to post something. Suppposed to be my holz, dunno why there seems to be lesser time to cho bo when you are at home.

landy,
chloe is such a good girl. CY cried like mad during one of the landing when we brought him to HK a couple of months ago. didnt know the plane was landing, so didnt start nursing him until it was too late.

Jenny,
went to the Motherhood fair last year. Left in less than 5min. nothing much there, so was afraid it'll be bad this year too. but since its near my place, might just bring CY for his maiden MRT ride, and to walk walk...

Regarding ILs taking care of Los.
--------------------------------
ok, you guys might think im being too particular about things. but this is what happened. I ad to work yesterday so left CY with my ILs. When i returned to pick him up, i casually mentioned its difficult to find some nice bb biscuits for him (rem his wheat allergies). so my MIL let it slipped then that 'O, your SIL bought some nice biscuits which he loves!!'. so i asked them what biscuits, then they had to show me what they fed him that morning. It was some wheat bb biscuits for toddlers!!i nearly faintzzzzzzzzzzz....

i told them then that CY cannot take wheat. My ILs dun understand English, and i have no idea what wheat is in Hokkien...so damn angry. And all the while, the culprit, my SIL kept her eyes glued to the tv refusing to utter a single word!!!!

I mean for god's sake!! A couple of months ago, while at a family gathering. She was egging her cousin to feed her 5mth old boy some pork trotters bee hoon!!!! and when her cousin refused, she just say 'o just let him taste it, put it in his mouth. if not, why not try this chilli crab?'...(!!!!!!) i made a mental note then to ask hb to remind them not to feed CY rubbish.I just knew at some point, she will start giving CY crap!!! Ok, granted they dunno, but they should have consulted me first before feeding him half a packet of bb biscuit!!!!!

When CY returned home, he refused to eat anything, refused to nurse...then subsequently did a merlion and puke our tonnes!!!! was so angry!!!

My mom kept saying never mind, cannopt confront them in case they get angry..darn man...so am i going to just let her feed all those nonsense?~!!!!!sorry for the grouse...argghhh

lilboymum,
I mentioned few times b4, the Motherhood Fair is getting from bad to worse. Fulled of slimming beauty and insurance products. So, if you are not into it, then dun waste your time going there. Bring your boy to other place to jalan jalan lah. I going cos Sealer/EQ and Nestle will be there, so I'm going to stock up on diaper and FM lah.

morning mummies...

thanks for the concern... reli luckily nothing wrong altho i was so scared... <font size="-2">i didnt scold the person who "sa-boed" me, cos it was my hb who pulled e chair away, but nv tell me... he did it unintentionally without thinking... my BILs & SILs all scold him on my behalf liaoz...</font>

<font color="0000ff">jasmine</font>
hehehe.. ya, u blur liaoz.. A is 7mths old, n i'm 3.5mths preggy.. cant reli tell yet.. i juz look like im fat (or havent lost my preggy wt) to those who dont know...

<font color="0000ff">mango</font>
long time no see u ard!!!! aiyooo... i like e "da jie da" photo of megan...
hehehehe.. personally, i think my hb sings english songs quite well (for a chinese lah...) but then, im biased too mah... i was seriously expecting him to get thru, juz too bad.. he muz hv either been too nervous or forgotten his lyrics in e actual audition...

<font color="0000ff">landy</font>
only 1 word.... <font color="119911"><font size="+2">ENVY!!!</font></font> hehehe...
kao_drool.gif

<font color="0000ff">jerene, bbgrace</font>
thanks for e assurance tat my hb didnt offend u all during gatherings... but i also WONT share with him ur compliments.. hehehehe.. otherwise, his head will get too big to go through our door...

<font color="0000ff">pups</font>
K sooo cute!!!! remember to share more photos of him okay...

<font color="0000ff">doreen</font>
can can... i'll msg u when i know roughly wat time i'll b there.. so u can see whether u wana come join us or not... hehehe...

<font color="0000ff">atm machine @ singapore expo</font>
eh, hopefully if i never remember wrongly hor, only got ATM machines near Hall 1, a distance away from e rest of e expo hall... when i walked thru from Hall 5 to Hall 1, didnt see any ATMs along e way.. i only paid attention to e POSB/DBS one, they hv 2 machines only. didnt see e other banks ATM...

Yr SIL how old liao? She no common sense ah, chilli crab... some kids can't even tahan chilli, let alone babies lah.
If you not comfortable with your ILs to take care of your boy, dun leave him with them lor. Most of us can tahan the way our mothers' way to handle kids but not IL cos we are brought up by our mums, so most of us are using the same way to our kids/babies. I'm not comfortable with my ILs, so I never leave my gals with them. Dun give a chance, then no conflicts lor. Even for visit, hb cut it short and sweet. Long hrs of staying at ILs place only trigger conflicts/unhappy scenes.

starz,
Ops, that person is yr hb ah. Pai seh pai seh... But he should tell you to look out mah.
Expo MRT Station no ATM ah? Cos I tot MRT Stations should have ATMs one lor. But I may be wrong lah, cos I seldom take public transport.

<font color="0000ff">lilboymum</font>,
wah piang... ur SIL got no brain huh??? how can babies eat pig trotters bee hoon n chilli crab??!?!?!
with regards to e whole episode, mayb im e rash one here.. but i will definitely bring this up to my ILs again n let them know baby puked everything out after leaving their place! juz mayb dont make it too confrontational, but still muz tell them lor...
i'm not very sure, but think wheat translates to "mai" in chinese??? juz tell them ur boy is allergic to alot of food, n they cannot anyhow feed him... use the scare tactic (e.g. baby will puke / develop high fever / rashes / have life-threatening reaction if you feed ...... to him cos doctor says babies are very sensitive to ... kind of food)
for me, altho my mum is taking care of my boy, im still quite scared that my dad will anyhow feed him things when im not around... (my dad is reli stubborn sometimes, he fed A cake when A was only 4mths old!!!) so i stick e brochure from PD on my fridge n remind them thousands of times that they can only feed A whatever is on that list n nothing else... i also use e "scare" tactic sometimes... no choice, but i'd rather they be angry with me than risk A's health...

<font color="0000ff">jenny</font>
no worries... he deserved to b scolded mah....

hehehe... i also dunno leh.. cos i dont take public transport either.. e only atm i saw was inside expo itself liaoz.....

talking about motherhood fair, will be going down on thurs afternoon. anyone this timing?? can meet up ya.

delphine,
I may go on thurs afternoon, depending on how the kids are that day and whether i have the car. What time u gg? I'll probably be there about 1pm.

pups,
Next time u juz sms me to check lor. No harm lah, if i'm not free then another time

<font color="119911">Jenny</font>
Thanks for clarification, at first I thought you had insiders' info or something!

<font color="119911">Starz</font>
Oopsie daisy!
But just a thought, maybe in future, no matter where you are, look behind, check that there is a soft landing before plonking yourself down???
Re compliments for hubby, I always shared with mine coz it makes him feel good and he tries just a little harder when he is feeling lazy coz now he got expectations to live up to...hahaha...but that's just me.

<font color="119911">Landy</font>
I agree with you, I have been on a number of flights recently and realised those toddlers gave their folks a harder time than alexis gave me! But there was one flight she refused to sleep in the basinet so I had to carry her in my arms the whole way. I also nursed her during landings and takeoffs and sometimes in between, I think that helps tremendously. Did a number of stewardesses and stewards came by often to play with your girl? They offered me a selection of purees and drinks plus toys and bibs and diapers.

Speaking on trips, come end of this month, hubby and I will be in Bali for a couple of days. It will be my first time away from her for such an extended period. Alexis will be staying with my ILs and helper during this perios. Any advice or precautions, mommies? But pls note, unlike Lilboymum's ILs, mine are really great with the baby thus far and are pretty careful and would respect hubby and my's opinions/guidelines/boundaries set.

hehe.....finaly got time to log in...
today on leave cos no one look after A. but hor, very xiong lel..he refused to sleep no matter how tired he was. and finally slep inside high chair while i ate my lunch.

Starz,
hehe...i blur hor. if u pregnant 7th mth, mean tat u due soon. wahahaha...
is ur hb huh? aiyo....

Lilboymum,
tq for ur compliment..

how come ur SIL so bad one..they shld consult u 1st ma.
btw, who is CY caregiver? ur mil or ur mom?

Mango,
no lel...Megan still chubby baby lel.
u brought her to wild wild wet to swim?
shld try tat since my hse quite near there..

firstly, thks to pups. ur info on the medicine is v informative.

hi adeline,

i got a PT cleaner. i find her ok, but u need to tell her exactly wat u want her to do. if interested, let me know.

hi delphine,

i most probably will drop by on thurs afternoon, during lunchtime, which should be around 12 plus. not sure whether my hb is free to go with me, if he's not available, will think whether i shld make a trip down myself, though i'm v near.my workplace is in Bedok.

hi starz,

glad to hear that both A and #2 is alright. must check next time before u sit down..

hi lilboymum,

if this happens to me, i will tell my hb to call up my MIL and tell her about it on the day itself. more like letting her know. cos my MIL is one who think her ways are always correct

am new to this forum. Hv read some of the threads and decided to join in.

May I know where can i view the pics which u all mentioned that is in the yahoo group?

My Dylan is born in Oct 2006.

jerene,
Dun have leh, actually I dunno which exhibitors will be there. The info they released very limited leh, like want to get ppl go all the way to expo. If got inside info, then I give you all freebies hahaha
Anyway I update you gals after my trip

hi cuddles,

welcome.
kaypoh a bit in answering ur question. u will to have inform our moderator for the fotos, vivian. a she will then add u into the group.

hi jerene,

i must say that ur ILs are my parents, esp my mum. though my mum is v experienced in taking care of kids, but when my SIL say not apply/feed something to my nephew/niece, my mum will listen.

Mango,
wah lao, Megan really like ah lian leh... haa... now ah beng and ah seng got pretty ah lian for company liao.... keke...

Starz,
Be careful leh... fall down very dangerous. Must scold your hb for that lah...

lilboymum,
wah lao, your SIL so jialat... if is me hor, I dun care whether she watch tv or do what thing, I confirm tell her in her face that next time dun anyhow feed things to my son. And I will make sure I will complain again to my IL that they make my son vomit leh... make everything serious serious so that next time they dun dare to do all these again... KNS... irresponsible ppl make me pissed off...

Hi Cuddles,
Welcome. How abt introducing more abt yourself and your baby here? We love to see bb pixs here!! hee...
Meanwhile, PM me your email so that I can add you in our yahoo group.

Hi evening ladies..

Welcome cuddles..welcome welcome.when exactly was Dylan born?

Hey looks like we are having more and more boyz here liao...heheh...

sigh. my PILs are ok, in fact im ok with them. the problem is with my SIL. she is a SAHM with 2 kids of her own. SHe stays next to my ILs. think i mentioned she was the one who went berserk when she realised her boy is way behind and then started enrolling him in all (read ALL) enrichment programme to be found.

Anyway, my hands are tied. coz my ILs are quite giving to her. She has episodes of depression and my ILs dun like to to reprimand her on anything. if i actually confronted her then, and she goes into depression, Im done for loh.

Guess the only thing i could do is to use the scare technique like starz suggested. She will never never tell me anything she does to CY coz she thinks i will most likely disagree to it... heh heh. she is most probably right.kekeke..

Me oso not nice person i guess. the vomitting may not be caused by the wheat biscuit but just pissed that she didnt ask and didnt inform...

<font color="0000ff">doreen, Jasmine</font>

Wet wet wild
=============
We brought Megan to www twice already.
we really have fun on the floating canal together.
Best part is tt we took turn to take care of Megan so tt we can play the adult game kekeke
<font color="aa00aa"> seems that daddy and mummy enjoy more than the little gal :p</font>

<font color="0000ff">Mother of ah beng</font>

Wait. ...mother of ah lian still got no chance to go Mac yet .
Will try to go these 2 days . Promise by this week can..paisay paisay

Hi Vivian,
Thanks for adding K's shrek picture into the list. I will pm you my email for the yahoo group. I am not as comfy posting pictures here. Thanks!

hi delphine/babygrace
me will be there around 4pm
will u be bring the babies along?
me still thinking
scared too crowded and not appropriate to bring her along

Bumbo seat
i just made a discovery today that my gal can jump out of the bumbo seat on her own liao
so no longer safe to leave her there for a min like last time
i just went to wash a milk bottle and next thing i know she is on all fours on the floor.
think need to get a high chair liao

Wah seems like alot going on thurs to expo hor.
Think I prob will go thurs also cos I jus remembered my mum should be off on thurs so can drag her along with me....hehehe

Starz
So its ur hubby aah....no wonder he didn't scold lah but kanna from the others.
Must tell him aah no fun leh cos when I read the papers on the gal paralysed jus becos her friend played the same prank. Really feel so sad lor jus a stupid prank n spoil her whole future. N u preggy n carrying A somemore must tell ur hubby to be more careful n watchout for u more.

The little Gym
----------------------------

I wanna sign D up for gym classes becos I feel this is the period when they need them most as they r learning to crawl n walk n I dun have suitable places for D to practice at home esp with my naughty doggy.

So I have checked out The little Gym at Forum the shopping mall n I'm quite impressed n interested to go for a trial class on a saturday.
Any of u mummies interested to join me n Damien??
Let me know which date u wanna go cos I'm okie with any sat.
<font color="ff0000">
Venue: Forum the Shopping Mall
Time: 3.20pm (45 mins)
Cost: $40 (will be waived if U signup)
Dates: Saturdays 9/6, 16/6, 23/6(choose 1)</font>

BTW cost for 1 term 10 sessions will be $388 starting from 25/6. Need to pay $55 for 1 yr membership.

Jenny
How bout the MyGym u were saying aah?? ANy contact numbers I can call to check out?

babe_ong,
i'll probably make a quick visit at about 1-2pm. i usually don't bring if i wanna do some serious shopping plus i'll be there to buy diapers. i don't want to carry diapers and a baby. haha!

Doreen,
you can check out MyGym here
http://www.mygym.com.sg/

Doreen
Can't join you for the trial cos joshua has music lessons on sat afternoons.
other than the weekly 10 sessions, will there be any freeplay sessions as well? I know Gymboree and MyGym has it.

Hi Babe_ong,

I will be there with my hubby and baby plus my friend and her 2 kids. hehe... drag hubby along so can have a helper.

Doreen,
Depends on which outlet you are looking for from MyGym. The contacts are listed in the URL that babygrace provided.
I'm "sticking" to MyGym, cos of various reasons, for Jaslyn and will wait till she is older, at least 12 to 15 mths old, depends on her development.

Busy week, steal some time to come in. Char was super funny, on the nite b4 I start wk she wakes up every 30minsmust be anxious abt the new lifestyle.

Jenny, why did PD say Jas is overweight? If shes tall enough, then she may not be overweight leh. Cos Char is abt 10kg but with her body length, shes not overweight, but just nice. In fact PD say shes now a medium size 1yr-old. And PD say its gd that Char knows how to reject food when shes full, so at least she wont get overweight.

Starz, wow, I got a fright to hear abt your fall, but luckily all 3 of you are wellhope to catch you guys on TV.

Landy, you remind me of those wonderful time in Hawaii and my favourite Pho and burger are all there.And the most beautiful sunset that hb and I had ever seenon the hill of rolling sweet potato. Think itll be a long time b4 I go overseas for holiday. Envious!

Mango, looks like you slim down. Is it? Her pic make her very compatible with the Ah beng and Ah seng we have in our thread.;P

Welcome Pups and cuddles.

Jackiejon, Jenny, thanks for info on Motherhood.

Jerene, thanks for having us last Sat. Hope the shoes fit you well. Btw, can you email me the pic of Char in the Juz music trial? That'll be the only memory we have of that headband wai po made for her cos I destroyed it already

morning mummies...

today's ST life section got a half page ad on motherhood exhibition leh... seems like got quite good deals.. wat i can remember is juz pampers is on sale!!! hehehe.. mummies going on thur can confirm for me pls??? if yes, i may juz drag hb along to buy 1yr supply for A & #2.. hehehehehe...

sealer also advertised $10 - $1... (cant remember liaoz...) then got some other milk brands too...

<font color="aa00aa">cuddles</font>
welcome..!!!! as usual, pls share photos of bb dylan...
kao_welcome2.gif

<font color="aa00aa">lilboymum</font>
oh, no wonder no one tell ur SIL off lor... nex time u use e "scare tactic" on ur ILs hor.. wait for her to be around n juz say it LOUDLY make sure she hears....

Coral,
You know some doctors go by the guideline on the books? I call them paranoid doctors. Overweight his head haha...
Dunno is it Vivian (is that you ah??) who asked me the same qns too. She said Jaslyn so small size dun look like overweight lor. I find Jaslyn size ok lah, not too small or too big. Anyway I dun care her size, healthy most impt. Anyway even now overweight, very fast will slim down cos babies at this stage more mobile le, move around so fast, fats all kena burnt liao. They are going to stay in this weight for another few more mths, more of less stagnant le.

Is the motherhood fair really worth going? For the past 2 that I went, I was just moving around not really targetting anything. So wondering if I should go this time.

lilboymum
I agree with the rest that since you cannot do anything to your SIL, you have to really scare your ILs by exaggerating some things so that they will be on the watch out. If need be, repeating the same thing everytime you see them until things get "drilled in". Perhaps starting your lines with "Dr says must..." and "Dr says cannot...". The older folks sometimes takes doctors' words as gospel truth! Use it to your advantage :p

Coral
Thanks for the welcome

Starz,
Really? pampers on sale? aiyo..my hse still got 5 packs of M size lel (44pcs) which i bought last weekend. dun tell me it's cheaper than wat i bought. haha....cheapo mommy...
most probably will go sat or sunday nia. cant meet u all. sigh...

Jenny,
aiyo.. Jasyln where got overweight? frm the pcs, found she just nice lel..
btw, i oredi order play yard. hope it's really work for A, if not, me sure kena suan by my hb liao (waste $$) hehe...

Hi Starz,

Really ar??? pampers on sale??? seldom they have offer one leh... have been buying it since Desiree is born, never seen before got sale.

will check it out on thurs and keep you all inform.

Welcome pups and cuddles

Yesterday receive a call frm dumex.
She mentioned that Dumex has now a newly formulated milk powder which actually contain anti-bodies which help boost immune system and it is as good as BM.

I am going cause of Dumex and diapers. Comparing prices hehe..

Dor
I am interested in the gym!

Starz
Omg! did u have a detail checkup that everything is ok? EEeeek.. how come pull ur chair away! Take care ok!! did Ayden had a bad scare?

lilboymum
Aiyo!! Why ur SIL like that one. CY is ok? Aiya for your child good i think at times must say abit. My aunty also lor.. then now i start to like hint hint and say say abit then she listen already. My HB tell me "Seems like we and ur aunty always have conflicting ideas" and he got a scolding from me =/ Told him everyone is the same. Just like me and him have conflicting ideas as well so must voice it out!!!

babeong
The idea of bringing baby and shopping with such a crowd and no helper is bad hehe.. So i am not bringing baby!

Jenny
Thanks for the info on Motherhood fair!

Gemini
I jsut gotten a contact of one. A phillipino one. Lemme try her 1st. if bad then i change again. I really no time clean up house. everyday reach home at 11pm and weekends with kim around i cant do anything.

Anyone going on thursday which is tmr about 7pm? Cause i am going ard that time after work! Geez..

Hey ladies..
Will be going for the motherhood exhibition afterall!!! bumwear will be there...heee...didnt know at all. and wah pampers nearly half price. going to stock up.

pups, starz,
yah loh. so use only the scare tactic. hope it'll work in the long run. need constant reminder oso. ssssiiiiiiggggghhhhhhh....

jerene,
you are lucky. think if you dont have any problem with the old folks taking care of Alexis, should be ok when you go for vacation. what about expressing milk? will it be troublesome?how many days will you be going away? think the best thing you should do there is to sleep in late. think that's the thing we all miss here...o yah, sleep in late then order room service...kekeke...

anyone here knows what are signs to show a baby/kid have hands, mouth, foot disease?

Desiree has 3 red spot on her palm hand leh, wondering if it is?

Delphine,
me too!! have been tried other brand but at the end still stick to Pampers.
got..nowsday they ALWAYS have promotion after they change to Active Baby. just bought 2 boxes (4 x 44 pcs) $59.90 (original $86)at Giant.

<font color="0077aa">pampers</font>
dont throw stone at me if im wrong lah... i saw in Straits Times Life Section, inside right hand side, half page ad... they show e M size packaging, its S$11.90... tried looking around for small print but dont hv leh... tats y asking mummies who r going on thur to help me confirm.. <font color="aa00aa">(got any kind mummies can sms me if confirm??? i super kiasu mummy, scare e promotion will run out of stock... pretty pretty please???)</font> if hv, then i confirm going to stock-up...
<font color="0077aa">delphine</font>, ya lor, pampers only ever got promo like 2 for $40+++... which is still not very cheap, tis is like more than half price hor...

<font color="0077aa">adeline</font>
saw e new milk powder on dumex webby leh... only for step2 n above...
no lah, didnt go for checkup.. nex gynae appt is friday.. plus i didnt feel anything wrong.. so wait till fri for my appt lor...

<font color="0077aa">jasmine</font>
hhmm.. giant e pampers different from e ones i buy leh... e ones i buying are 68pcs for M size n 60pcs for L size leh... but its usually 2 for $48+ or $49+ leh...

Hi Jasmine,

oh really, suku me didnt even know. always but from fairprice.

personally feel that "yi fen qian yi fen huo"
tried other brands but she will get rashes plus not fiiting leh.

Wondering if the motherhood offer is cheaper than Giant?

Mother of Ah Lian,
no problem, mother of Ah Beng will wait for you for the Shrek pix... keke...

babe_ong,
Rhys also know how to get out of the bumbo liao. That day gave me a shock. Suddenly I heard a cry and found him on his tummy on the floor beside the bumbo aka skydiving position... heng never fall backwards and land on his head. He loves to bend backwards on the bumbo leh... xia si wo... now must keep an eye on him every sec liao...

Jenny,
ya ya.. its me who say Jas small size. I really dun think she overweight lor. I also agreed with you that healthy is more impt... and I prefer my chubby Rhys leh... now slimmed down not so cute liao.... haa...

Pups,
sent you the email invite for the yahoo groups liao.

Dor,
Think I might give the gym thingy a miss coz this beng of mine still dun know how to crawl leh... so bring him also no use. Maybe will try when he older. Thanks anyway... rem to tell us good or not hor...
ps: I saw the "dong" machine in Compasspoint that have the pig ring leh!! But I dun want the ring. I want the headband... they dun have... sianz...

Motherhood Fair
=============
I want to go leh... sounds good with diaper sales and all... but think can only go on Sat liao. My mum already told me that she is going to be busy with the dumplings stuff so looks like I might have to bring Rhys to expo... see how lah...

thanks for the welcome.

already PM vivian. Once added, I will put in some pics of Dylan. I excited to see pic of ur bbs too, love to see bb pics...

<font color="0077aa">delphine</font>
thank u very very muchie!!!

<font color="0077aa">vivian</font>
u not having hols now???
ah seng also stil cant crawl... he can sit, but always like to "fall backwards" leh... n still dont wana feed himself... *haiz*... i got a lazy seng....

Starz,
68pcs for M size n 60pcs for L size = how much $$? u mean u saw this frm the ST ad?

Delphine,
hehe..cos hor this cheapo mommy always check thur & friday ST on those Ad ma..
no worries, next time if go any promo on Pampers, sure will let u know 1st..

<font color="0077aa">jasmine</font>
2 packs of either M or L size for approx $48+ or $49+, i cant remember exactly... tis is not e promo from e motherhood ad, tis promo have been going on for quite sometime liaoz, available at all supermarkets & guardian pharmacy leh....
e motherhood exhibition ad in ST advertised $11.90....
hehehe... me same as u, every Thur & Fri will check out all e supermarket ads... i always feel very "auntie" doing tat, cos my mum does it first.... BUT tis juz how i feel ar... not implying anything hor...

Starz,
me not having holidays now. ITE different from pri and sec school. Me this week super buzy, exam week and got to rush out all the marks by this week. Later still need to mark exam papers.
Think Ah beng and ah seng really sama sama. My beng only loves skydiving... and screaming... haa... no feeding himself too... at least you can say that ah seng is the youngest here so ok leh... My beng is the oldest boy here and still NOT crawling... haa.... LAZY BENG!