(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

I have been a lurker in this thread following the discussions on-off. My baby was also born in Oct 2006. In fact, he was born on the 29th which makes him exactly the same age as Ayden
I have resisted posting here cos I only have time to read the forum when I am doing my pumping either early in the morning or late at night, and I am not busy completing work at those times! However, with Babygrace's encouragement, here I am.

Just thought of chipping in with regards to the discussion of medicines for kids ;)

Promethazine: It is an antihistimine that is very common in children's flu medicine. However, since 2 years back, the local authorities have changed the prescribing status of promethazine to being contraindicated (meaning cannot be used at all) in infants 6 months and below; not recommended for children 2 and below, however if the doctor feels that it is the best medicine for the child at that moment, it can still be used based on the discretion of the doctor. This decision came after cases of respiratory depression after taking promethazine were evaluated. These cases are NOT local cases, but the local authorities put in the strict criteria based on their own assessment and to prevent such possible occurrences.

Zyrtec - it is also an antihistamine that can be used in kids. There is NO need for prescription but you have to buy it from a pharmacist in the pharmacy. You cannot just pick it up from the shelves. ;)

Singulair - This medicine helps reduce sensitivity of the airways to allergens by preventing inflammation response from the airways.

Hope the above can help clarify some doubts

Hi pups
heee. you sound like a pharmacist. but the fact that it can be bought without prescription doesnt make it safer lah. We oso dun wanna use too strong medication on our bbs, but when they are suffering, and when their bodies need the extra boost to aid them fight the battle...we do have to cave in a little.

aiyoh, CY is following the footsteps of all your bbs. He's been waking up gudzillion times last night. Only nursing helps. so im so damn tired now. he was even like that in the morning. and he doesnt even like dentinox, so i just nurse him.

am seeing pillows in the air now...zzzzzz

Adeline
so funny when u said kim is up at tt hr yelling & screaming... :p
Kim can drink so much milk? R only manages max 150ml till now. but i am ok lah, since he still has so much energy to crawl and kick me. hahahaha

Jenny
anyway its not Motherhood mag but Mother & Baby lah. kekeke...

Vivian
then ur Rhys will b da gor-gor can play wif his cousin liao.

WOW, seems like u mummies r well associated wif the names of the medication. i cant even rem the names of the common sore throat/ful medication i took. :p but its gd info tt u mummies r sharing here.

<font color="119911">babygrace and her spokeperson aka Dor</font>
Thanks, crystal clear picture now. And I didnt know polyclinic has no aircon! It is pretty important to us too...hehehe....coz alexis perspires real easy, like her Dad. I am worried about armpit stains in her shirts in future!!

<font color="119911">babe ong</font>
Your girl still mei mei lah...but anyway I think I can safely speak for most moms, as mothers, the most important thing to us is health of our babies, beauty, wits and brains, if any, are bonuses!

<font color="119911">nedlands</font>
Many thanks for today, much appreciation. Hope lunch was worth the long wait.

lilboymum,
Eih, it wasn't my intention to say that medicine that can be bought without a prescription is safer... just stating a fact about Zyrtec ;)

pups
aiyoh...no lah no lah. wasnt trying to say nothing...im no expert in medicine. the only one i really know and love is panadol.kekeke...but your info was really timely and helpful. thanks thanks thanks
))

jerene,
actually i went past the poly at geylang today. and guess what??!!!! it was my mistake. there was aircon in it all along!!!! waaah....i didnt even know there;s aircon!!! am so totally clueless even though i have been to polys so often.

yes i so agree with you...healthy bbs are what we want.

i think i should be in the high heavens of ecstasy now. CY is feeding like hungry lion (and hopefully gaining weight). i just cannot appreciate the two hourly night feeds anymore. really admire those moms who can juggle work and a night-nurser. i cannot man.

was looking at the calendar, realised it's oredi june!!! CY is already 7mths old! And to think i used to wake up in the middle of the night to check if he is ok. i always have this lingering fear in me reg SID.so reli glad he is still healthy and bouncy. i guess thats all we ask for. to watch them grow up and learn to love life and be happy.

lilboymum,
No problem lah.

My boy has the tendency of waking up in the night to whine. He needs us to stuff his pacifier back into his mouth. There are times he sleeps through till the morning, but most times he will wake up 1 - 3 times to whine. There was once he actually got up at 3.30am and cried so hard that we had to give him milk (not a practice at all). After that, he refused to sleep until about 7am! *faint*

pups,
Welcome! Finally you've decided to "de-lurk" yourself
Glad to have you here cos you're the best person to ask about all these medication.
Do join us whenever you can.

<font color="119911">lilboymum</font>
Happened to the best of us!

<font color="119911">pups</font>
Mine too, unfortunately.

Have a good week ahead, everyone...

Adeline,
glad to hear that Kim is getting better. Rhys recovered liao. Think this time we detected early and get rid of it pretty fast.
Regarding the jabs, I took the PD's vaccine package so the price still ok for us. As I said, we are just too lazy... hee...

Medicines
=========
Wah... looks like a lot of mummies really know the medicines stuff hor... me clueless but always willing to learn from the mummies here. Thanks. I am those type of ppl that basically dun care how strong the med is, me trust the experts and as long as it cures the illness can liao. The only thing i hate is after finishing all the meds, the illness is still there! BTH...

Think CY is on nursing spree...woke up at 12, 2, 4, 6...i die man...still have to work today.

ok shouldnt complain. as long as he is eating something. i should be happy.

ok, gtg and spend some money online shopping. you guys seen the teachers theme park at the biz site? quite good resources there. some are really good for early literacy. can check those out. they are not the cheapest. but its online so save trouble loh.

vivan,
wah, PD's got vaccintn package? so good....

glad that all the bbs are getting well...soon we can organise a swimming meet liaoz. yeah!!!

Sorry to interupt, looking for Jasmine here.

Jasmine,
Can you pls confirm your order for the play yard ASAP? Thanks!

aspialle,
Jaslyn is weighted at 9kg at 8 mths. Doc said a bit overweight.

Doreen,
Me also kena blocked nose now. Sianz... can't breathe...
Ya is true lor, weather changes, so bo pian.
Huh, really 4 only ah. Never mind, we have another big big one again when all babies and mummies got well. Too many sick babies and mummies now lah.
Then go on Thur lah. I should be going on Thur, but haven't confirm time yet.

babygrace,
Not sure if this happens to new housing estate. But I find GP at new housing estate quite lousy leh. Thats why I will bring Jolene and Jaslyn all the way back to my mum place to see the GP who is my family doc. Even I moved out liao, I will still travel all the way back to see this GP. The GP at my neighbourhood, the medicine never works for me.

Adeline,
Not good for babies to drink cold milk leh, will kena wind one. I think the hot/warm milk causes Kim's gums to pain when drinking, so she refuses to drink

crystallized,
ku ku lah.

HELP !any tips on where to get cheap and good books in spore.. i cant get english books in tokyo..haiz..

need to buy online or get my sis to buy from spore and pass to my frenz who are visiting me in july

Good morning.

seem likeAlvis not the only one wake up frequently at night hor? he used to wake up once after he 3 mths old. and i'm happy & tot tat he might sleep thru night. but dunno wat happen lately, he keep wake up 2-3 hrs once lel. and keep crying about a month liao. but i told myself he is teething lol.
he lower front teeth come up liao. think is his upper gum itchy ba...
sometimes i too lazy to pat him to sleep, i just let him suck for comfort (only midnight lal cos scare hb wake up by his screaming)
alvis' weight 8.2kg at 7mth 3 weeks. but hor, his height is 75cm. a tall boy according to doctor. Pd even tot he is 1 yr old now.

GP vs PD
i oso same as <font color="0000ff">Vivian</font>, too lazy to bring him to GP for vaccine, so Alvis took his jab at PD clininc.
but after his jab, i didnt bring him to PD again, 1st Pd so exp, 2nd too far frm our place.
now, i found a quite good family clinic at tampines. the doc, dr. Tay was a doc working at children emergency dept at KKH, find him quite good lel. here is his blog www.karrifamilyclinic.com.sg

Crystallized,
no lal. he not in lala dreamland. in fact, we were waiting at outside of jap restaurant inside cruise.

Jenny,
hi hi...

when u go to expo arr? friday arr..
me only can go on sun lel. but i think must b super crowded hor. i nv go last year.
i love mommy poko pants expecially now bb cant guai guai let u wear their diaper. BTH...
but agree, very siong. i bought 1 pack of MP pants tried nia..
drypantz not good one...cutting very small.
i heard Nepia pants oso not bad but havent try yet.
Hope botH J recover fast fast..

Pups,
Welcome!!!!

thanks for sharing with us so many medicine. come to forum often if u can. nice to learn from u all.
share with us ur prince 's photo lel if u dun mind.

Still a lot of babies sick hor. Alvis oso down with running nose last week but recover liao. Hope all the babies recover fast fast.....

many ppl fall sick now. me n my kids hv been sick for 1 mth le still hvnt recover. i was on antibiotics last wk, actually doc din 1 2 give me cos of my pregnancy, but she say if i don take i will take longer to recover wic is no gd oso.

last week both my girls oso running high fever, brought Jolene to kk hospital when her fever shoot up to 40.5 degress. had a shock cos her temp went down in the nite aft i insert the bullet for her, but duno y, when she woke up in the morning, her temp shot up.

doc say we had kana a v strong virus infection, will take a long time to recover. many ppl kana it oso.

I've sent my maid back on fri nite. she really got v bad attitute, even the agent cant stand her n had to send her back to her hometown.

now i need to find a CL. any1 has any gd recommendation? if hv, can PM the contact to me? TIA ya.

Bunny,
poor gal..u must take care urself ya...
so, r u hiring a new maid? if not, how u cope with so many things arr?
sorry,..cant help u on CL.

Hi Bunny,
sorry to hear that your maid is terrible. Is that the maid who went thru counselling?
Take care leh... Sorry can't help on the CL coz my CL pretty old and not very fantastic anyway, so dun want to recommend to other ppl lah...

Sealer/EQ at Punggol
====================
Punggol mummies, just want to let you all know that the prime supermarket at Blk 108 hor, is selling the Sealer and EQ quite cheap.
I bot Sealer Size M at $11.90 and EQ Size M at $14.90. FYI since quite a few mummies are living in punggol...

Hi babygrace,

Brought baby for his first pneumococcal jab today hence at home. Hoping that he will not develop fever :S At 7 months 1 week, he is 8.6kg and 70cm tall.

Good morning gals

no time to post much just wanna to let zac zac join in the shrek baby group

825578.jpg
I wanna be part of the shrek baby group
825579.jpg
hee hee i am the shrek baby

bz bz long weekend for me & A...

thur went to Jerene's plc for a mini-gatherin.. thanks Jer for opening up ur hse for us.. keep forgetting to say e curry very nice, satisfied my curry craving finally... n hope u dont mind my hb when he's voicing his opinion (esp when talking abt rental...) he's juz a super-self-opininated man.. i dont even bother arguing anymore if i know he's made up his mind, n he can b quite tactless at times...

saturday went for my nephew's wedding.. hehehe.. my 1st time being served "tea".. n by the couple who's only 1yr (not 2yrs) younger than me.. so paiseh..

had a minor accident at e wedding dinner... kena "sabo-ed".. my chair was pulled away by someone during e "yam-seng" session.. n i was totally unaware.. after all e "yam-sengs" were done, i juz tried to sit down.. n landed on e floor with A.. super paiseh cos i made ALOT of noise hitting e table n cutlery flying all over e plc... but thankfully, nothing wrong with A (i was carrying), n #2... *phew*...

yesterday, hb went to TPY hub to audition for "Live your dream".. he didnt get thru e audition.. but i think we got a pretty high chance of getting e "2mins of fame", cos hb "announced" tat we hv e 7mth bb n now with #2 on e way... think we'll b good publicity for govt's boosting birth-rate efforts... hahahaha...

<font color="0000ff">silverfish</font>
eh.. i've been cooking silverfish porridge for A on weekends.. wat i do is wash e dried silverfish abt 3times.. then soak in water for abt 2hrs, changing e water every now n then... cos i also soak e rice in water for abt e same time.. then cut e silverfish, cook with porridge n add watever "vege of the day"...

<font color="0000ff">computer genius</font>
seems like all our bb's are super advanced in technology hor... i dont let A near my laptop yet.. but my gf's son (2yrs 3mths) is capable of really "using" her laptop liaoz.. he can open notepad to type gibberish in it.. n even know how to access his favourite colouring website... i was so amazed.. now my gf got to get a kid's laptop for him to play with, cos otherwise she doesnt get to use it...

<font color="0000ff">motherhood exhibition</font>
im going on 8th june.. cos will b going for gynae appt, so can get mc to go... anyone else going on e 8th?? mayb afternoon time?? can meet up there... then we'll end up yakking more than looking around... hehehe...

<font color="0000ff">lilboymum</font>
u stay near hougang green??? i stay juz beside.. n i've been seeing dr soh since i moved here.. agreed he's a very patient doc... but i dont see babies seeing him, so never bring A to him b4....

<font color="0000ff">pups</font>
hi hi... share some photos of ur boy leh... wats his name??? hehehe.. A got to reliquish his title of being e youngest here liaoz.. no more privilege liaoz...

<font color="0000ff">bunny</font>
sorry to hear abt ur maid.. hope u r recovering liaoz... sorry i didnt hv a CL, cant recommend...

Jenny,
hehe...thanks for calling.

Starz,
the person who sabo-ed u so bad lel. cant he or she saw u r carrying a baby & oso pregnant (7mth tummy quite big, rite?)luckily both u r fine.

bring A to Giant on sat..here is his pics..just wake up, a bit buay song

826110.jpg

Can someone intro my good PT maids?

The current one very lazy already not asking her to continue + expensive.

If have can pm me? Thks! no time to check forum.

Adeline

hi all, i just came back from hawaii.. cos its nearer to fly up from tokyo,,only 7hrs!!hehee..finally a break for me after staying in tokyo for 4mths.. being a SAHM in a foreign land is not a easy task..
826217.jpg

Mango,
Megan is so chubby.
wat's her weight now?
still haven bring Alvis for his 1st swim...*sob*

Landy,
wow...nice pics & view.
is this her 1st swim? she look a bit buay song lel...hehe.

Hi hi...

Hmm...seems quite many mommies looking for PT CL. Must be tough. Sorry i cant help you there. I know one good one in the east, but not in your areas, sorry.

landy...
wah, that pix is so....so...picturesque..sorry, thats the only word i can think of. if only chloe would smile, it'll look like some promotional brouchure for family vacations! aiyoh, the water and background like so touched up and so ...nice.

i oso want to go Hawaii...

mango,
i like the first pix of megan.so 'bigboss'

starz
tht is close shave man. how can pple be so inconsiderate!

o, no lah, i dont stay near there, though i frequent that place. i myself have never seen dr soh. only heard about him. thought since theres so many hougang area mommies here, might as well mention him.

jasmine,
aiyoh, A so cute. nice looking boy..

wah...mommies with wakeful bbs.
bless you bless you. i nearly died the past two days. nighttime nursing no joke man.he wakes, nurse, then sleeps. i wake, nurse him, then cant get back to sleep.

moterhood exhibition...
its all just diapers and milkpowder izzit? any other stuff? if not most likely wont go. since i cloth diaper during the day anyway.

hi Jasmine & CY, ya.. chloe is quite unhappy that day..cos quite early think ard 9am i drag her to the pool and it was super sunny..she doestn like the sun..haha..the best part is her daddy wasnt ard.. my hubby went to grab breakfast for me..

think hawaii is more for couples..cos alot of water sports and adventures..we loved the beaches and scenic view there..

chloe has alot of 1st time experiences,like swimming, drinking milk w a sunset view etc.
looks like i will miss the motherhood exhibition

Busy week 4 me, my boy sick then my turn. Now finally can sit dwn & scan the thread.

Hi Landy,
So shiok. Hawaii!!! I wan....

Hi mango,
megan looks so cute.

Hi jasmine,
Ur boy looks so serious... Think he compiling his shopping list.

Hi shirley,
Nice shot of shrek.

<font color="0000ff">Jasmine</font>,
Megan weight 8.35kg @ 7 mth 1 week.
She slims down q alot..
You can bring Alvis to the wet wet wild at downtown east..q alot of bb there

<font color="0000ff">lilboymum and freshpoison</font> ,

CUTE but NOtty ..she q bad temper. Will make noise if i take toy from her .
Typical <font color="ff0000">Ah lian .. Yo..Ah beng
and ah seng now got ah lian join your gang
liao</font>

<font color="0000ff">bbgrace</font>,
We actually organized a family gathering at ntuc resort at downtown east .. q fun actually . Think your Joshua and Emma will love it esp the wet wet wild.
(Then hor da yi ma came, luckily never stain on my white pant ..if not i siao liao .. )

<font color="0000ff">cherfang</font>,
i salute you man.. taking care of your gal alone in the foreign land ;)

<font color="0000ff">starz</font>,

Wow SAY your hubby WENT to audition for
"Live your dream" ??? Clap clap..
He muz be able to sing very well
Hmmm...next time ... you know what i mean ..

hi hi everyone. MIA for a few days. no time to chat during office hours and too tired to chat after work soooo....

Med
===
what pups mention abt the meds are exactly wat pd told us. yes singular is a lung nourishment drug cos it can block out irritants and help strenghten the lungs but super ex lor

similar to bbgrace, i will cave in to strong med if fever occurs cos i reallhy freak what can happen with persistent fever. n same as vivian, i prefer to trust the experts since me no good knowledge abt drugs n med.

motherhood exhibtion
=====================
shld make a trip down on thurs or not then fri afternoon. see how my schedule. most likely thurs.

ok gtg. tired liao wanna zzzz... bye

<font color="119911">Landy</font>
How long were you in Hawaii? The photo looked great, you guys must had a lot of fun. Chloe behaved well on the plane? Slept through??

<font color="119911">Jenny</font>
Sorry, I need clarification on the motherhood exhibition: when you said Thurs more % than Fri, do you mean percentage of discount is higher on Thurs as compared to Friday?? If yes, what is the differential?

<font color="119911">Starz</font>
Hey, no problem at all, I enjoyed chatting with your hubby. He is funny, expressive and friendly. I appreciate people who are frank and straightforward, don't like spending time to discover the true meaning behind words. Besides he wasnt being rude so no worries, yeah? HOWEVER I had a shock when I read abt you felling with baby, being preggy and all. I agree with the rest, whoever did it is inconsiderate and if I were you, I will tell him or her off immediately.

Starz,
Just so glad to hear you are ok after the fall. Goodness! I believe A is still the youngest cos my kaelen was born before the sun is up!
Here's a recent picture of K.
826775.jpg

Bunny,
Sorry to hear that you've got to send back your maid. When will the replacement be here?
My CL is very good but she's fully booked for the next few months.

starz,
Thankfully A and you are ok after the fall.
I agree with Jerene. Your hubby is very friendly and easy to talk to. I always enjoy talking to him.

landy,
Very nice picture! I agree with you. Being a SAHM can be a challenge, what's more in a foreign land without support. But next time when you look back, you'll be proud of your achievement.

pups,
Kaelen is a big boy now and we've yet to meet up despite being so near. haha!

pups
Aiyoh how I envy the hair on ur K......hahahaha

Starz
Ur hubby didn't scold the person who pulled ur chair??
I mean even if they dunno u preggy they know u r carrying ur bb ma so bad hearted. Haven they seen the news on a girl being paralysed becos of the same prank.

If u going on fri afternoon I dun mind joining u for walk walk since hubby won't be home.

Jasmine
U misunderstood lah Starz mean Ayden is 7 mths then now she preggy.....keekeke

Mango
But wild wild wet got places for bb to play meh??
Cos I remember the children play area there keep having water spraying down my niece that time 3 yrs old so scared.

Jerene
I think Jenny meant the % of ppl there not the disc. I think if U wanna more disc only on last day bah.

babygrace,
Ya! I have harboured the thought of calling you when I am at the "foot of your block" but end up not doing so cos it feels so "last minute notice".

Teddyhope,
Yes. K is blessed with quite a bit of hair at birth. He was shedding hair at around 3 - 5 months old but the hair is growing back now.

I have lost track of the shrek baby # now... but here's mine.
827133.jpg

starz,
Who so "bad hearted" to pull away a preggie woman's chair. Next time be more careful.

lilboymum,
Got other stuff lah. You check out the link, but I dun find it very informative lah. But this fair is more suitable for MTB to buy playpen, cot, NB stuff etc. If you want insurance, slimming beauty etc, they will be there too.
http://www.motherhood.com.sg/exhibition2007/ex2007.pdf

Jerene, Doreen,
No lah, not discount. I'm telling Jasmine my % of going on Thur is higher than Fri lah hahaha. This fair got discount meh? I dun find it really that cheap, but nice to kapoh to see see look look. Anyway think this is the last time I going to this fair, cos it is getting from bad to worse. Full of slimming products and insurances... kena caught especially when you bring along your little ones... yucks!

I have updated the shrek pix for Isaac and Kaelen liao. So here is the updated list so far.
Think I can start doing the montage liao.. hee... but hor, dun expect very high standard hor, Selina and Esther are the experts, not me... keke...
<font color="ff0000">
Shrek Babies
============
#1 - Jovan
#2 - Charlotte
#3 - Rhys
#4 - Damien
#5 - RuiFang
#6 - Kayden
#7 - Kimberly
#8 - CY
#9 - Caleb
#10 - Ayden
#11 - Emma (will wait for bbgrace to upload nicer pix)
#12 - Joshua (will wait for bbgrace to upload nicer pix)
#13 - Tricia
#14 - Desiree
#15 - Brayden
#16 - Clare
#17 - Joanna
#18 - Jonathan
#19 - Reubern
#20 - Alexis
#21 - Able
#22 - Alvis
#23 - Jaslyn
#24 - Pearlyn
#25 - Jaeden
#26 - Max
#27 - Isaac
#28 - Kaelen

<font color="0000ff">Any more shrek babies??</font>

Mummies who had been to the previous motherhood exhibitions.. any idea if payments are to be made in cash or they do accept nets/ credit cards? I am targeting at nestle and sealer.. may can get in bulk if gd savings.

Jyln,
I remember Nestle got Nets/CC at Mother and Baby Fair. So think same for Motherhood Fair. For faster transaction, of cos cash is faster lah. Anyway there should be ATM machines nearby.

hi jerene, we were in hawaii for 8days..chloe is good on flight..she slept through for 5hrs cos its a night flight..

think babies are easier on flight.. i see the toddlers on our flight walking ard and kept crying.thank god my chloe is happily sleeping in the tiny bassinet ..haha
827335.jpg

Jenny, tks. I lau nuah when u mentioned that the nestle cereal was just $2 during the last exhibition. Hopefully, it's still as cheap or even cheaper this time then I'll buy in bulk. I also buy Nestle FM in carton, shiong.