(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

<font color="119911">this one very chim so i just extract the simple one. read until cross eye.</font>

In the first few years of life, the brain begins to wire itself up at a furious pace, forming hundreds of thousands, even millions, of new synapses every second. Infants produce so many new neural connections, so quickly, that the brain of a two-year-old is actually far more dense with neural connections than the brain of an adult. After three, that burst of activity seems to slow down, and our brain begins the long task of rationalizing its communications network, finding those connections which seem to be the most important and getting rid of the rest.

During this brief initial period of synaptical "exuberance," the brain is especially sensitive to its environment. David Hubel and Torsten Wiesel, in a famous experiment, sewed one of the eyes of a kitten shut for the first three months of its life, and when they opened it back up they found that the animal was permanently blind in that eye. There are critical periods early in life, then, when the brain will not develop properly unless it receives a certain amount of outside stimulation. In another series of experiments, begun in the early seventies, William Greenough, a psychologist at the University of Illinois, showed that a rat reared in a large, toy-filled cage with other rats ended up with a substantially more developed visual cortex than a rat that spent its first month alone in a small, barren cage: the brain, to use the word favored by neuroscientists, is plastic--that is, modifiable by experience.

nedlands
Ohhh its from there aah.....hahaha
I jus remember I heard it but dunno from where...kekeke
I think I old liao maybe now sahm not using so much brain cells they die off liao. Wahahahaha

Adeline
Maybe I more AUNTIE becos I dun prefer to work....hahaha
But then some ppl excel at work some ppl at home all have different things lah. Like my cousin dun have mother instinct at all so she work lor she can't even tahan her maternity leave her mum care for her girl 24/7. N her girl really very bright. I still remember when she was jus 1yr+ she took a pen n tell me pen. Then she moved the pen machiam writing n tell me write. I couldn't believe it. So clever.

<font color="0000ff">ai lin</font>,
they also mentioned it but there are many others in the www that supports this. there is zero-to-three and etc.

<font color="ff0000">Now another interesting read - BRAIN FOOD. </font>
DHA

Many parents today already heard about the brain food - DHA. If you have not, you may want to pay attention to this.

DHA is shorthand for docosahexaenoic acid. This omega-3 long chain fatty acid is the primary building block of the brain and retina of the eye. The brain is 60% fat, and DHA is the most abundant essential fatty acid (EFA) in the brain, comprising 25-35%. DHA is found in even greater concentrations - 50-60% - in the retina. DHA is critical for infant development. Compelling research links DHA to the rapid cerebral cortex and eye development that occurs during pregnancy and in the first few months after birth.

DHA passes through the placenta to the fetus during pregnancy, and <font color="0000ff">(Attn:Breastfeeding mums)</font>to the nursing baby through breast milk. Optimal levels of DHA in the bloodstream of pregnant women and the breast milk of nursing mothers are crucial to babies. In fact, DHA's presence in breast milk may explain why breast-fed babies have demonstrable IQ advantages over babies fed formula without DHA. This is proved by the 21-year study by a research team at Brisbane's University of Queensland. They found that the breastfed children ended up with an intellectual advantage of eight IQ points. One of the explanation by Prof. Najman, the research team leader was "that omega fatty acids found in breast milk may be giving breastfed children an intellectual advantage."

Once we understood the important of DHA presence in breast milk, one must also realizes that the level of DHA vary widely from mother to mother. In fact, the DHA levels in the breast milk of American women rank among the lowest in the world. Why? Because the level of DHA in the breast milk is very much depending upon the food intake of the mother. To produce high level of DHA in the breast milk, the mothers should try to eat as much seafood as possible on the regular basis. And try to breast-feed their children if at all possible.

With the finding of the importance of DHA in brain development, the World Health Organization (WHO) has recommended that DHA be included in <font color="0000ff">(Attn:Mums who give Formula)</font>infant formulas at levels comparable to those of mothers' milk. Today, you can find many infant formulas are fortified with DHA such as Frisogrow, Anmum Essential, Enfapro ... and many more! Just look for DHA next time when you are buying infant formula.

ai lin aka dor,
You can teach D simple french.
I taught Joshua to count in Japanese. And when the food is delicious, he'll say in 3 languages - Delicious, Hao3 chi1 and oiishi. Afterall, he "studied" japanese with me in the womb. haha!

nedlands
The DHA 1 my gynea told me before so i know. hehe
But I still keep forgetting to take my fish oil capsules leh. I bought 3 months supply n now D is 7 mths I still have 1 n a half mth supply....haha
Same for my calcium pills think I must quickly go take now.....if only I remember where I left them.......kekekke

bbgrace
I think I forgot alot of the words already cos the pronounciation really jialat aah. Hmmm maybe I should teach abit of Jap too since I also know alittle only......wahahahha
But I prefer D to know cantonese leh but my own is half bucket lor how to teach....sigh

<font color="0000ff">ai lin @ dor</font>,
if u take fish or seafood, then DHA is found there. so no worries.
take take - eh put infront of ur computer la so u see it when u log on!! i also forgot till u mention calcium - me take now. ok sleepi sleepi, bye.

starz
my dad going thru chemo and many said they cannot go near bb cos their body is "diffusing medicine" i m in the mist of appealing to hdb to see if i can move nearer to them....hmm...in bedok all the flats are at least 30 yrs....v hard to find new ones

(nedlands) ,
no wonder FM with no DHA nobody buy at all.hehee.
But recently there is a news stated IQ in BF and FM child make no diff. maybe now the FM is advanced liao

hi hi...

mummies who guess another prince for me is right.... for now...

we saw e little "didi"... but secretly im hoping tat its my notti lil girl sticking her hands there juz at tat moment, n wanting to "bluff" mummy.... but nevertheless, most impt thing was, heartbeat is very strong, n super active, so gynae said its definitely a healthy lil one....

<font color="0000ff">aspialle</font>
oh.. i didnt know tat about chemotherapy... so sorry...
hope u'll be successful in your hdb appeal... im sure govt also got compassionate side...

well, im stil here cos last min hb said not going to b discharged today... private hospital, but e doc didnt even check on him since he came out from op till now.. ask nurse to locate doc since morning till now still havent "found" him... *haiz*... so much for private hospital too... looks like he's gotto stay another nite... so only going to visit him later..
have a good weekend everyone... n mummies going for aquaducks trial tmr, enjoy, n remember to share some swimming babies photos!!!

shujing aka starz
hope your hubby recover fast after the opt..take care

mummies, see you all tml for the aquaduckd trial..

<font color="0000ff">meimei aka esther</font> eh caleb cannot swim but can i go there n kay po? i sms you if i am going hor.

<font color="ff6000">Breakfast @ IKEA Tampines</font> <font color="ff6000">anyone keen for breakfast @ IKEA tampines tomorrow morning? will be back at punggol tonight so tmr will prob bring caleb there for breakfast. those interested can sms me. will prob be there ard 8+. or ECP BK or Mac oso can.</font>

<font color="0000ff">huili</font>
i would love to go ikea for brekkie but we usually go on sat cos sunday must go to church.

<font color="0000ff">jrt</font>
Yah, change yours also leh.

hi hi...seems to have missed a lot. managed to loan hb's laptop for today.

hey, eveyone's goin' chinese today? thses are you real chinese name?

starz,
didnt know your hb went for ops. must read the postings carefully from now on. take care

o yah, one thing, A is sure a good-looker!

ok ok,,,pls dun get offended if anyone's name is typed wrongly....eh...here goes

ai lin aka dor....
hee... i know lah. was just commenting on that issue onli...btw, i oso considing to be SAHM, thats why asking for opinions.

ok, im lost...sorry...never been good with names, and this is all way beyond me.

person or persons who wrote about windows of learning opportunity and language...
yes, i think its nice to have a constant care-giver during these crucial time periods (if im not wrong, its between 1-3). after theyve gone off to school, its another set of challenge i think.but research has shown that if children has frequent changes of care-giver during the first three years of their lives, their social skill may be affected, and they may find difficulty having close and attached relationships when they are older.

so whatever the case, as long as there is one constant care-giver and consistent upbringing, our bbs will be fine lah.

unlike some of you, i wanna cy be very close to me leh. heeeeeeee.....

nedlands,
that's very interesting information. but hor, must always be careful of the seafood we eat. it is by default that all fish contains certain amount of mercury and lead. the bigger the fish, the more heavy metal they contain. so better to eat them in capsule loh.

o yah, starz again,
xongrats. A can have a buddy to wrestle with him and blow bubbles together liaoz

wah babygrace..
that's very impressive. joshua's langauge skill i mean. heh. heh. being the super ks person i am. ive made this arrangement when cy was born. my hb and i speak to him in english, the maid (i die die wanna indonesian) speaks to him in bahasa indonesian, and my ILs in hokkien and mandarin. hopefully, something will get into him via osmosis!

but hor read that such simultaneous acquisition may mean the bb will end up speaking later than average. but they should be able to make clear distinction between all the languegs by three...i hope im not ruining CY's life :p

sorry for the messy post. sorry sorry...dun weed me out..

wow, just half an day never login, all the nicknames has been changed?? something u all have discussed during the NGM?? long time nvr attend oreli.. hehee

hi aspialle,

Happy B'day to Ted!

hi starz,

before u reveal ur answer, i was guessing it's a boy too. think of it this way, can help u save some $$ on the clothes, since the clothes can be passed down from gor gor to di di...
of course lah, if it's a princess, it will be nice.

hi selina aka huli,

i will love to go ikea for breakfast, supposed to go last thurs, but i'm still recovering from my flu & cough. will have to give it a miss. enjoy ur breakfast!

hi all.
Been very busy lately. just wan to cm in to wish our little cheeky Rhys a very happy belated 8mth!!!

Starz
Congrats on knowing ur bb gender & a lively one!

Esther & HJ,
Dun throw stone at me for speaking my mind.....
Saw the saga on posting of personal pix...
i personally feel it is up to individual freewill to post their pixs in these foc forum..
so long we do it discretely and not always & they should know the danger of people
using their pixs for other purpose...all these reminder from us shld be more than sufficient to alert them...
hope everything is fine now and we dun lose another forum mate due to this incident......
let's start afresh!!

Coral,
I love the studio pix of you and Char......

To all sick mummy n daddies n bb,
May all of u recover soonest!!!
Good health to all.

Doreen,
I agree SAHM do influence bb.
The program : Child of the lifetime program shown on tv previously does mention mummy is the
person who have the greatest influence on their bbs... and mummy who has a higher education
level infuence the bb most.. due to the environment she can provides for the bb and
also good genes from her too...

grace
I believe in the good genes part.....hahahhaa
Whenever D does something clever I always tell hubby my son mah. N when he does somthing naughty its HIS SON!!!.......wahahahahahha

jun jun
Nw bb formula mostly have DHA liao ma. I think even more nutrious then BM. Jus that BM contains antibodies nia that's why they still say better only.
See ur Fang Fang grow so pretty n healthy on Fm also ma.

Ai Lin,
FF drink BM for 3.5mths and later FM. Dumex have no DHA for infant but follow on have.
You must remember to take your fish oil and calcium daily cos you are still BF.

Grace,
Of course won't throw stones, we don't anyhow throw. You have your point and I respect that.

Came home @ 10pm. Went to Vivo with hb and FF for ice cream and shop at Baby Fox. Bought 2 shirt for her @ 50% discount. Spent $20+. I bought size 18mth to 24mth and it fix just nice, found the cutting very small.

FF is down with rash again. This the second time. I duno why, maybe is the salmon but it the second time she take. Or maybe heat rashes. She is better now after applying lotion.

evening mummies...

thanks for e well wishes on behalf of hb.. he's ok, its a very very minor op... but doc wans him to stay another nite juz in case... so juz now, i brough A to visit him for awhile as i know hb reli missed A very much... they were both so happy to see each other... then after tat brought A to botanic garden 4 a stroll...

happy 7 mths to Ted!!!

lilboymum,
thanks... on behalf of A..

gemini,
thank u too!
i was hoping 1 of each, so can "an xing" close shop mah.... somemore i reli reli wanted girls... so now #2 stil boy, i may "xing yang yang" try for #3.. but it'll be quite a huge strain for us financially.. n i wont know how my co. wil react if i reli hv #3... so, tough decision ahead....

gracesong,
thanks!!!

mummies, i need advise...
i've been feeding A cereals from 5mths start, til now he's abt 6.5mths.. he's progressed to porridge. e thing is, he's stil eating very very little, like 1-2 tablespoon of porridge nowadays.. only very occassionally he'll take more, like half a small bowl... but he'll completely skip 1 milk feed when we feed him cereal/porridge no matter how little he takes.. so im kinda worried he's not eating enough... PD visit not til another 2 weeks later, so would like to hv some advise from u all here... how to get him to eat more???

another problem is, i really really dont want to "spoil" A to be those kid tat e grandparent / parent hv to "run after" him during mealtime, so ideally, between me n mum, we've been feeding him when he's in e stroller (n juz introduced e high chair)... but nowadays he REFUSE to sit in it for more than 5-10mins... he'll start fussing n crying like very "ke lian" like tat.. so no choice my mum wld usually carry him out... n he'll continue eating while being carried, but juz not in e seat... any idea how to overcome tis?? we've already tried all sort of toys/games/ sing song to try n keep him in his seat liaoz....

Starz, congrats on your 2nd healthy bb boy! Hope your hb recovers well and soon. Do take good care of yourself too.

Supplements
===========
Hv not taken any though my gynae told me to take multi vit and calcium...better start taking...

BF
==
Haiz, Char very sticky to me as she loves to latch now. And I hv my parents scolding me for not weaning her off. they put it as if I'm doing something wrong. My inlaws also urging me to stop. Hb on their side too. So now I hv no supporter except Char..
My efforts not appreciated.

Vivian, hv you and Rhys recovered? Can go tmrw?

jun2,
hi hi... did fang2 get rashes e 1st time she try salmon??? if not, then prob its heat rash, cos today weather reli hot....
juz sharing, wat my mum does for A (cos he always hv heat rash at his neck area, but recently recover til 7788 liaoz..), she'll always take a wet towel to wipe tat area, many times a day... then use a dry towel to dry it.. n put johnson baby powder after tat... she reli super "on" n do tis many many times a day cos she say baby powder smells nice too... sometimes she'll substitute with e johnsons bb lotion too (e "traditional" pink colour one) but i see A's rashes improving, so let her continue lor...

Starz, I hv same issues with Char. Sometimes manage to distract her with tv, with someone singing, or making funny noise or at times I let her rest a while, sip some water then feed again. It's easier if it's my mum feeding her. If it's me she just keep crying ai neng neng so I no choice but to let her suckle and skip the porridge...Hope to get some solution too.

Grace and Starz,
She much better liao. I apply medicated powder and Hazeline Snow. I consult PD during the first time and but I do not want to use too much of doc med. Thks.

Coral, same here.
I found my mum can feed her without any mess and she can finish the whole bowl for only 10min while for me, I can take half 45min to feed her. I wonder what wrong

coral,
if u wish to continue bf-ing, we'll all support u!!! for ur family wise, they r prob feeling a little left out on char's attention n affection.. plus might be worry u bf for so long, wil "weaken ur body" or something like tat... (am trying to think on an "elderly" point of view...) so if u've decided to continue bf-ing, prob during e next PD visit, ask hb along n get PD to explain e benefits to Char when u cont bf-ing... am sure ur hb wil b supportive if its for e good of ur princess...

my mum said he won't even open his mouth if we on e tv... we tried singing songs, playing games.. i even gave him another set of spoon n bowl (exclusive toy for feeding time only).. but its not helping.... he wants us to carry him n feed....

going off liaoz... watching wats left of e FA cup n then off to dreamland...
nitez nitez ladies... enjoy ur aquaducks lesson tmr....
kao_byebye.gif

Shujing, See how u see it lor. If for me, my #2 is a girl, no matter what I will stop at two. I really want to be a SAHM when the child is school-going age so two my hb still can afford being me as SAHM. Girl or boy as long as they healthy can liao. But many pp said girl will be closer to parents when they grow up, but not all lah. If you really want a girl, can stil try the third time as you are still young.

hi starz,

cant advise u much on the feeding/high chair. for me, so far so gd, tricia will guai guai sit inside till we finish feeding her. but hor, this naughty girl prefer my mother to feed her rather than me, if my mum feed, she will finish her cereal/milk, if me feed, dun think she will finish her cereal...

hi5! to ur mum, my mum has been using the pink J&J cream to apply to tricia neck also and the heat rashes got subside quite a lot. actually if got any dots on her face/body, my mum will apply the cream also.
i do hope that it's heat rashes and not due to the food that she eating. only recently then we let her eat porridge daily.

jun*2,
reply u b4 i go...
well, i do agree healthy most impt... but mayb cos i've always wanted a girl (even when i was reli young), nothing to do with them caring for us when we r old.. juz mayb cos im a "girlish" type of woman, n pref more femininity... does it make sense?? hehehe... im stil ok age wise, but hb hitting 40 liaoz, so its his age tat we r concerned about... for me, no matter i stop at 1 or 3, i'll nv b a SAHM cos im earning more than hb.. he can prob afford to be a SAHF, but i dont like tat "type of man".....

Coral,
Think your in law & parents are jeolous of Char sticking to you... haha! You have done a good job on your side till now..
but if you really think Char is too sticky to you then you better reduce the latching part
but at a slower pace comfortable for Char to kick off bf.
But if you still enjoy it, why not? It is good for her ...

Starz,
I let my Able sit in a carseat placed in my living room to watch TV and also have his porridge or cereals...
it is more cooling with the fan blowing...
normally i will ensure he is comfortable first before giving him porridge... so far he is ok n he love his fav sitting place...

Think sitting in the Stroller might be abit warm & high chair quite high for him n he not used to??? Try other means & see how..

okie, shujing.
Not really the caring for us when we grow old lah. I never expect my chilren to take care of us when we grow old. They will leave us one day when they get married or go oversea to work. So boy or girl still will leave us one day. It more like being close and still chatting abt anything when our girl grow up. Hehehe, You won't know till you give birth cos there are some case wherby scan a boy but born a girl

why r u all all here on a saturday nite?!?!? hehehe.. was reli expecting it to be kinda quiet tonite...

gemini,
good for u lor, t so guai... for milk feed, its e other way around, i feed A wil finish / at least drink as much as he can in 1 shot.. but my mum feed, he always drink half, then muz have "break" (walk around, play for half n hr) then continue finish e other half...
hehehe.. reli hi!5 leh... my mum also use e pink baby lotion to dot on A's "pimples".. n it reli subsides after a couple of days... n its reli "pimples" type, cos its only 1 big "angry" one with white dot on top somemore....

ok ok... reli going liaoz.... nitez nitez...!!!

Gemini,
Hi5. I need toys to distract my girl when feeding but my mun don't need at all, even the TV is off. I was very happy I found FF main caretaker who can handle her, at the same time strict and love her.

Update on my girl milestones:
Start to stand up by herself with support.
Start crawling on fours liao.
Start to sit by herself while crawling halfway (this suppose to be first but I duno why she is so late, only start to sit up by herself this morning)

And I realized that newborn are so much easy to take care than now when they start crawling all over the house and hate to be confined to a playyard or walker.
So for my #2, when still a infant I must tell myself SO EASY to take care.

Jun Jun
U so farni......hahaha
Wah FF now so clever liao hor. D so far caught him push himself on all fours only. He doesn't even tummy crawl. This boy so lazy jus want gaigai only.......hahaaha

Morning mommies!!!

Wah i read about feeding the baby @ high chair. Kim also sama sama lah.. aunty feed she finish everything i feed she refuse to eat. maybe cause aunty's porridge taste nicer? hahaha..

Starz
Gz on a boy boy!!!! My next one i hope is boy leh haha.. but even if girl i also wont mind!

Junjun
Gz FF on her lastest milestone kekek.. I think when baby in womb still best lah!! haha miss that type of feeling man.. dumex infant dont have DHA meh? Step 1 correct? have ma.. kimmy is still on that wor.. i see the content of DHA still quite high

Coral
BF-ing i think is good ma.. but maybe @ this point of time they think that FM is better? Anyway my ex-neighbour's son hor 2 yrs old now because she never wean him right then till today he will keep grabbing her mom's shirt up and suckle. Then if @ public right if his mom talking to people he will go to the mommy and hint her that he wants to suckle. there is no more milk liao he only want to suckle for fun leh all because she didnt wean her. Then when @ home she cannot wear bra one he will just pull up her clothes and suckle till fall aslp leh.

This few days must take real care of kim liao my aunty's neighbour granddaughter got HFMD yday and then the day before she still got come and play with kim. *PRAY*

evening mummies...

hehehe.. today kinda quiet hor... i'm juz "sneaking" in to post some recent photos of A, my new favourite photo... n hopefully "sneak out" without being "caught"... hehehe...

A's 1st time in high chair!
806963.jpg