(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

My KB kenna HFMD! My heart sank when the PD told me. Just a warning to all to pay special notice to your baby cos i think HFMD is coming back again. My colleague to me her bb's CC also just reported a case. Not sure where KB kenna it as the centre confirmed he is the only one so far. if not from the centre then high chance is from the swim on last Sat.
Sign to take note of is fever, rashes/spots on the body and most importantly ulcers in the mouth. You can only see it with a touch light as they grow very near the throat. hence, another sign is baby refuses milk.

Yesterday (need this space to cry....)
=========
it was the most difficult and heartpain day to take care of KB. first thing in the morning he cried very loudly and refused milk. no way to pacify him. he had no fever, no rashes on the body and cant see any ulcers from the surface. but his cry was adnormal so brought him to see PD. when PD put the stick in and i saw the ulcers, my heart sank and i was totally at a lost. hb quickly consoled me that it is not a big problem, as in not life threathening.

reached home, he took in 60ml of milk then started crying again. had a hard time carrying him to sleep. no way to put him down as he'll wake up and cry. at 3pm, he woke up refused milk again but cried very bad and non-stop. brought him down for a walk ( didnt want to let him out of the house but really no choice) and he stopped crying. the moment he reached home, it all started again. see him cried until so ke lian, both hb and i also wanted to cry. at 8plus, brought him down for a walk again but this time round can't stop him from crying. so we decided to rush him down to KKH children A&E. upon reaching KKH, he stopped crying.

when reached there told hb to tell them baby got HFMD, need to go to any special area or not, they said no need. waited for an hr, see this junior doc, super useless. first thing told him baby got HFMD, he asked me what is he supposed to do??? then he said baby with HFMD usually dont cry until like that, so he said maybe due to heart problem, colic or teething. i told him baby hv problem drinking milk, only drank 60ml for the whole day. then he told me to try feed KB milk again within the next hr, if still cannot then admit him. so i asked if he still refused how do i know is it due to colic or other reason and asked for colic medicine. then he said "oh ya, then give him some colic medicine first"!!! he asked me do i think KB' tummy is bloated. i said i can't tell and he said I'm the mummy i should know better than him!!! many other frustrations with him, but shall not elaborate here. told hb i should hv studied medicine.

sorry for the long winded post here. KB is taking his milk already thou still not back to his usual amount but I'm very happy liao. and stopped crying like yesterday. his rashes only started to appear on his leg today. so mummies, just be careful with your babies.

was abt to post last nite while chatting with Selina. But Rhys kept crying so no choice got to cut short my chat and skip the post.

Yesterday morning, I brought Rhys to his PD again. His cough got worsen, can hear the phlegm now. And his runny nose din improved at all. And another reason also becoz the nite before was a nightmare. He refused to sleep and keep crying non-stop at nite. He also refused to drink his milk and meds. In the end, me and hb got to take turns carrying him thru the nite. Everytime, we put him down, he will cry. The cry was those screaming kinda cry, with eyes closed. So heartpain and drained...

So we decided to bring him to PD again. PD say his lungs are clear but runny nose still very bad. Prescribe a few more meds to open airways and hopefully he can sleep better at nite.

And last nite, wasn't anywhere better. He wakes up and cry every 10mins or shorter. I cannot even sleep at all... hb almost lose his temper last nite. sigh...

Poor boy, whenever he saw the stringe, he will start to cry first coz he knew we are going to feed him with the meds.

Now at work, I am so tired that I keep saying the wrong thing when I teach in the morning...
All i hope is that he can sleep better and recover soon... That is all I hope...

Delphine,

The kidslink clinic is near Sengkang interchange. It is below the blocks of flats opposite the interchange. I took bus 83 to interchange first then walk a short distance. Not very far. Call me if you need more details. You have my #.

Btw, kids clinic is in rivervale mall.

Coolmum, I bought Char to KKH again yday. But I always go to the children clinic as the experienced PDs are there and the emergency only hv MOs...I was worried abt chicken pox og HFMD that's why bought Char to see PD again. Luckily she's clear. Hope KB will recover soon. Poor thing ucler must e very painful.

Vivian, hope you'll stay strong and healthy to take care of Rhys. Char also refused to sleep. Kept coughing herself up last nite in the end I cant sleep too. I lost my temper but knew it wont help matter. Was a torturing nite am not looing forward to the nites.
Gd thing hb not working tmrw, tonite can help me out. I pray that Rhys recover soon and all sick bbs recover soon and all parents saty healthy to take care of our precious bbs.

Coral,
thanks. So Char now no more fever? Better already?
So sad hor, suddenly so many bbs are sick... Me same as you, not looking forward to the nites. I really want my happie cheeky boy back... I just want to see my boy smile at me when he woke up in the morning... I praying hard for all the babies to recover super duper fast too... we jia you together!!

Vivian, Char no more fever, but nose still dripping and very bad cough lor. SO also stopped smiling and she's also not activie anymore. She used to flap her hands and bounce up and down, now she sits starring blankly. We all see liao super heartache and now she super sticky, must stick onto me. Last time every morn I sing her morn song to her she'll flash big big smiles at me now only stare at me. And when she sees the syringes she keep shakng her head but no choice gotta feed her the med. I feel bad abt forcing those med down her throat, but need to get her well. Super heart pain, think all of us with sick bbs, all feeling very sian and heartache. She very poor thing not eating still LS. Yday went clinic, she lost weight again. Fm 9.7kg down to 9kg liao.

Coral,
think Char now sama sama with Rhys. This boy hor, whenever he goes into a lift, he will kick and smile coz he knew that either he is going out, or going home. But now, he just stay expressionless. So sad.
Same abt the meds lor. No choice got to force it down. Now he got 4 oral meds, and 2 nose drops. Sigh...
The last time the PD weigh him, he is 8.6kg. Hopefully he din drop much.

Char now got 3 oral med and 1 nose drop. I stopped the med for fever. Super diff to put nose drop cos she struggle I also dunno if it went in...Last time say she pretty she'll be so happy, now so just stare blankly too. I very sad to see her so listless...but guess it's the side effect of the med, cause drowsiness, but she refuse to sleep or her cough keeps her awake. Sigh.

My fren is due this month and she'd like to know what's the market rate for bb sitter. Can anyone advise? She's looking at day care only and 5 days a week. Also, does she has to do her own marketing once her bb starts solid or can she compensate bb sitter extra cash and bb sitter will buy the food? I cant advise her cos Char's being care for by my own Mum.

My SIL wants me to sell these off coz she stock up too many liao...
Anyone interested before I post it out in the WTS thread?

Pigeon Teats (L size) - $3 each
796657.jpg

I still have Dr. Browns' teats too... but she haven told me how much are those... anyone using Dr. Brown's bottles here??

Wow just login and see so many post about babies falling sick. make me keep worrying about kim. HFMD is back?

All mommies must be tired out! jia you jia you oK!

Coral
As for caregiver right. I give $700 per month but market rate is $800 for day and night mon - fridays. Excluding medical charges, milk powder. As my caregiver is my relative, food wise or things she buy for her like if she outgrown her clothes, she never request from me also.

If outsider right, it depends on the person. but most prob you will be doing the marketing unless they are willing to do the trip for you.

For day care my best friend is paying $500 for day care only.

Hopes this help.

vivian
i using dr brown's bottle! kim prefers that hehe.. but alot people say so kua zhang. she so small size use so big bottle. have been using @ 2mths old.

Hi Adeline,

Actually my SIL is a huge fan for the Dr. Brown bottles. She tried to intro it to me when R had a bit of colic when he is young. But in the end, hb dun want.
So you need extra teats for the bottles? My SIL want me to sell these. Let me know if you are interested. Will definitely sell you cheaper than outside.
I have 2 Y-cut teats and 1 Level3 teats.
796711.jpg

coolmum
i hope he is better nw.did PD says hw cum so young got ulcer?
btw i can't place maid and ted there, cos their 3 room is very small, full of things and the flat is undergoing upgrading, noisy n dusty, my mum lives in the east and im in the west, no place for maid to sleep too, brother who is occupying one room refuse to give space for the bb n maid.

I got 2 job offers at hand but haven get a maid yet, today my dad started his first chemo, he has to do once in every 3 weeks, lucky no hospitalisation, each time chemo 6 hrs then go home.Already suggested for my parents to move in to our 5 rm temporary so that new maid can take care of them n bb, they also refused. Actually im still facing opposition frm my parents for me to go out n work thus i did not gain any support frm them abt bb's arrangement.....actually the 3 rm can adjust to accomodate but no one want to cooperate, i have no choice cannot force them

i can't put the new maid at MIL hse , then there will be 2 maids , 3 bb.....same old problem but i will definitely find a way out

my dad is at 2nd stage of lymphoma cancer, im sure he can win the fight over the cancer cells! just tat heartpain over the type of procedures he is going thru

Coolmum

Poor KaiBin, very heartache to see him like
that

Coral

poor char..hope her runny nose & cough will disappear soon tog with the fever!

Vivian

Poor Rhys and u too....at least if not teaching students like myself..then still can stone in
front of pc if the nite din have a good rest

tecahing carreer hard to take urgent leave ?

aspialle

if i am in ur position, i will be very annoyed with my sis if she refuses to give up her room..when the circumstances deem it necessary

u r trying very hard to give ur parents as much help as u can, kudos to u

Happy Mothers' Day. Enjoy the day with our littles ones.

Here, I just want to say Thank You to those who have cast your vote for my boy, Ethan.

THANK YOU very much

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Hi Hi,

Yo vote for my baby, if u find him cute and worth voting.

http://ch8.mediacorptv.com/wonderbaby/votingform.php?id=266&cat=2
http://ch8.mediacorptv.com/wonderbaby/votingform.php?id=265&cat=5
http://ch8.mediacorptv.com/wonderbaby/votingform.php?id=260&cat=4

P.S.: Each person can only vote once for each theme. Above are of different themes. If you happen to vote others already, Is okay. Just feel free to enjoy his video.

Thank You very much!

Emily

Coolmum

Poor KaiBin, very heartache to see him like
that

Coral

poor char..hope her runny nose & cough will disappear soon tog with the fever!

Vivian

Poor Rhys and u too....at least if not teaching students like myself..then still can stone in
front of pc if the nite din have a good rest

tecahing carreer hard to take urgent leave ?

aspialle

if i am in ur position, i will be very annoyed with my sis if she refuses to give up her room..when the circumstances deem it necessary

u r trying very hard to give ur parents as much help as u can, kudos to u

Hi Coral,
Sorri to drop in here... My babysitter is charging me 550(include solid).. Perhaps you wan me to PM you my agents number so that your friend can contact him directly to understand better abt his pricing?

Hi <font color="0000ff">Ade</font>,
How is ur work today? Any cust give u headache?
No mood to work so like to yak yak.
Sunday, here our swim meet comes. Hope it will not rain. Not too sunny but just alright for Photo taking.

May all babies get well soon.

HFMD is ard the whole year, just happen these few mths is the "peak" period, just like chickenpox. If you gals notice, all kinds of illness strike during the hot months.

Coral,
daycare only, market price range from $600 to $750, exclude milk powder, diaper etc. When bb start on solid, top up abt $50 for bbsitter to buy food. If not, buy and hand over to bbsitter.
When bb sick, got to bring home and look after. ourselves.

Nedlands
Yea.. hope to see you and ur baby. actually i quite worried dunno want to bring her go anot cause now alot sickness flying around. i paranoid scared pool also dirty how >.<

vivian
hee i tot that one can only be bought from KKH? my neighbour went to KKH to purchase specially for the bottle leh.

Hi <font color="0000ff">ade</font>,
No need to be scared la. Chlorine will kill most germs in the pool. Anyway, there is only 6 babies n 6 mummies plus 1 instructor so no crowd. Oh yes, 6 daddies too.
If its airborne, guess anywhere ur babe can catch it.

see u ok.

viv
wah they still keep telling me only KKH got sell.. zzzz.. when u get the price lemme know i want . cause now my aunty keep making the hole. very troublesome.. have to keep passing here and there.

nedlands
my HB not going so it's ONE MAN SHOW!! hahaha.. hopefully i can handle her
can you pm me ur number as well?

hey mummies, the little ones will all get well soon under ur tender loving care.
i wish to share this little article tt a sept mummy shared wif me. very touching...

<font size="+2"><font color="aa00aa">A VERY HAPPY MOTHER'S DAY</font></font>

<font color="0000ff">NEWBORN'S CONVERSATION WITH GOD
A baby asked God, "They tell me you are sending me to earth
tomorrow, but how am I going to
live there being so small and helpless?"
God said, "Your angel will be waiting for
you and will take care of
you."
The child further inquired, "But tell me, here in heaven I don't
have to do anything but sing and smile to be happy."
God said, "Your angel will sing for you and will also smile for
you. And you will feel your angel's love and be very happy."
Again the child asked, "And how am I going to be able to
understand
when people talk to me if I don't know the language?"
God said, "Your angel will tell you the most beautiful and
sweet words you will ever hear, and with much patience and care,
your angel will teach you how to speak."
"And what am I going to do when I want to talk to you?"
God said, "Your angel will place your hands together and will teach
you how to pray."
"Who will protect
me?"
God said, "Your angel will defend you even if it means risking
its life."
"But I will always be sad because I will not see you anymore."
God said, "Your angel will always talk to you about Me and will
teach you the way to come back to Me, even though I will always
be
next to you."
At that moment there was much peace in Heaven, but voices from
Earth could be heard and the child hurriedly asked, "God, if I
am
to leave now, please tell me my angel's name."
God said, You will simply call her, "Mom."
Lift a mother's spirit; send this to every mother you know (no
matter how old her child is</font>

June, thanks for offering the contact, My fren more or less has someone to take care of her bb, just that she dunno how much to give (relative) so want to check market rate. Wow, yours so cheap ah? Include solid some more.

Jenny, thanks for letting me know the market rate, Now my fren got a range to work with 500-750.

Adeline, thanks for the info as well. Enjoy the swim meet this Sunday. I hope Char will be fully recovered for hers next Sunday.

Aspialle, you'll be able to find a solution. Jia you. Cant please the everyone, just do what you feel is best for the situation. They'll appreciate you one day.

Jackiejon, how's Joanna?

Jo., thanks for your concern. I hope Char's flu will go away soon.

jenny
not only HFMD strikes, its oso the dengue peak season, if u mummies read fr the papers and watch the news. the 2 Rs alrdy kena bitten many times at my mum's plc.

jRt, wow, makes me feel so great.
And indeed I'll risk mylife just to protect my babies.
And true enuf I sing and smile to her and tell her the most pleasing words.

jRt, I also check Char daily for bites. Cos I kena bitten many times this wk liao.

Aspialle, KB kena HFMD hence the ulcers in his mouth.

aiya actually in short, from Apr to Aug, cos of the change of temperature, all kinds of illness strike in lah. Up to individual's immune system to fight.

nedlands,
though chlorine kills germs, but water is the easiest way to pass germs ard.

coral,
since is relatie helping, then check with relative for the charges. Usually relatives more 'qing cai'

coral
its v touching hor? i oso felt tt the words were so apt.
heee, i dunno if my words and voice r the sweetest to R but i sing to him everyday. and even though i am not a christian, the part abt "Your angel will always talk to you about Me ..." dun apply to me, i still think this is a v gd article and makes me feel great. hahaha

babies r more prone to mozzie bites. as long as ur area is not hot zone, shld b fine lah.

Jrt
when i read the last sentence kind of goose pimples .. it's like .. soooo sweet..

Everyday, every sec and every min, there are alot people falling sick. what we can do is to try to protect our babies from gettign infected. and if they fall sick, we'll do our best to let them recover fast and stay strong! Try to do our best!! All mommies whose baby fall sick.. Jia you jia you! stay strong they will recover!!!!!!!!!!

Jenny, she afraid her relative too pai seh to quote a price so she asking for market rate then at least she wont let her relative lugi lor.

jRt, ya, the words very apt. So far the mozzie prefer to bite me and hb and we're indeed graetful to the mozzie that we even praise them. Siao rite, kena mosquito bite still feel grateful to the mosquitoes. hehe. Tat's parents.

You may want to try to apply vicks on their sole and put on the socks when sleeping. Apparently my boy sleeps better after applying this method, prior to this, he was coughing quite bad.

pig2, thanks for sharing, I might give it a try cos Char keep coughing herself awake

HELP! Char still not sleeping thru how? Now I manage to wean her of nite feed. But I'll hvae to out her in yao lan and give her a pacifier to suckle when she wakes. But she'll wake up when her pacifier drops so I hv to keep waking up to put it back it for her.

The only thing I gain from my illness this time is I manage to lose most of my excess weight. Now only 1kg heavier than pre-preg and my waist is 1" away. But hor, today I so bored at home I had 2 stick of ice-cream.
Can tell I'm really bored rite...bombing the thread...

Coral,
usually relatives will be pai seh, some will yi shi yi shi take a sum as token. Nevertheless, during the discussion, quote her the amt if relative doesn't want to quote, then see how relative reacts, some will say too much, $xxx amt will do. Ask your friend to watch out for her relative's expression. Anyway by paying the market rate, both side won't lugi lah.
Have been busy like mad for the past few days. Today, I SUPER ENG, but I no mood to post haha...

Adeline, nedlands,
aiyo dun worry too much lah. Which baby dun fall sick? It is part of the road to growth. Dun just think of the negative ways, think positive. Babies' immune system builds up each time they recover from illness.

crystallized,
Nice article

<font color="0000ff">jrt</font>

i was very touched by ur post

------------------------

a pal forward me this and i was very touched, bring tears to my eyes actually, blinking them away b4 my colleagues see

<font color="0000ff">To our dear child

On the day u see us old, weak & weary, have patience and do try to understand us......

If we get dirty when eating and cannot dress on our own, please bear with us and remember the times we spent feeding you and dressing you up......

If, when we speak to you, and repeat the same thing over and over again, do not interrupt us, listen to us......when u were small, we had to read the same story 1001 times until u went to sleep......

When we do not want to have a shower, neither shame us nor scold us, remember when we had to chase you with your 1000 excuses to get u to the shower......

When u see our ignorance for new technologies, help us navigate our way through these worldwide webs,we taught u how to do so many things, to eat the right food, to dress appropriately, to fight for your rights......

When at moments we lose the memory or the threads of the conversation, let us have the necessary time to remember......and if we do not, do not become nervous, as the most important thing is not our conversation but simply to be with u and have u listening to us......

If we do not feel like eating, do not force us, we know when we need to and when not to eat......

When our tired legs give way and do not allow us to walk without a cane, lend us your helping hands the same way we did when you try your first faltering steps......

And when someday we say to you we do not wish to live anymore, that we want to die, do not get angry, for one way you will understand, try to appreciate that age is not just lived but survived......

Some day u will realise that despite our mistakes, we always wanted the best for you and we tried to prepare the way for u, u must not feel sad, angry nor ashamed of having us near you ......instead, try to understand us and help us the way we did when u were young......

Help us to walk, to live the rest of our lives with love & dignity......we will pay you with a smile and by the immense love we had, always have for you in our hearts

We Love You, Child

From Mom & Dad</font>

<font color="0000ff">Coral</font>

i agree totally. Yesterday super suai, when reaching home, a fly enters my eye & kept struggling there..i was totally miserable, ran to my house hopig to wash off the fly inside

then after bathing and lazing on the sofa, a 2nd fly enters the same eye ..

i was telling hb luckily it is me and not kelicia

hi ladies....

havent had e time to drop by since coming back.. was bz at home on wed with A, n since coming back to work bz till no time to go pee even....
kao_frustrated.gif

but e main thing i saw was so many babies sick.... i wish all the babies here a speedy recovery and that all of them will be healthier than before....

jo n jRt,
only had a brief glance at both ur posting... reli touching...

will try to catch up on archives (if possible...)... got anything need my reply 1, n i missed it, pls post again....

To share this as well

http://www.stomp.com.sg/lovein/mumcon18.html

Josephines Letter of Love

Assistant manager Josephine Lim wrote a heartfelt letter of love to her mother. In her message, the 27-year-old poignantly remembers the care that her mother gave her when she was pregnant.

Dearest Mummy

I know that I am the luckiest daughter in the world, blessed with the best mother a gal could ever get.

Throughout my growing years, you are my best confidante. You have also been patiently lending a listening ear, never dishing out motherly talks or naggy advice. I also appreciate your open mindedness.

Although I am staying near you after marriage, it is more of a case of Mummy looking after Daughter rather than the other way round.

During those few weeks of my morning sickness due to the pregnancy, besides making my 3 meals, you have hand-delivered my breakfast & lunch to me. The worst thing is you still have to wash the utensils for my breakfast & lunch because I really cannot stand the smell of detergent then.

You offered to buy the most nutritious food , but I have turned you down again and again as I have no appetite.

You made so much plans to cook me the most nutritious and healthy confinement food so that I could be nourished without putting on unnecessary weight.

You have expected nothing in return for my upbringing. Since I started working, you have never asked me for anything in return, whether in kind or in cash.

Besides doing so much for your daughter, you are planning to contribute as much to your grandchild.

May your daughter be as good a mother as you are.

all those sweet sweet momsy stories...
This is all so sweet and touching...sob sob...lucky im all alone in the staff room now.

Adeline, nedlands, jrt
Isnt the swimming pool sheltered? you mean it is opened?sigh...i dun like sun...

sigh...so worried CY will fall sick. he really doesnt have much fats to lose leh.lose somemore weight, i'd most likely be able to pick him up with a chopstick... sigh.

<font color="0000ff">lilboymum</font>

haha, i like ur sense of humour ! the last line

hope CY will stay healthy always !

PS: hehe, the author of the last momsy story was urs truly =p