(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

<font color="0000ff">Selina</font>
Ai yo! Hope Caleb recover soon. Jia You.

Notice that you change your nick

Selina, Esther,
Hang in there... so sad to hear abt Jovan and Caleb's case.
Rhys also not getting better leh. Today, my mum say he started coughing liao. Previously was just runny nose. Luckily(?) the doctor predicted that the mucus might flow back to his throat and cause him to cough, she prescribed a cough med too. So now hopefully the meds will work. But still, mum told me he is still leaking mucus like no ones biz... sigh...

Last nite was a torture, R woke up in the middle of the nite crying and refused to sleep. Think his nose is making him uncomfortable. Ended up we are so tired... today still got to work... heartpain and burnt out...

I tell myself, I got to be strong for my boy and you both too...

Take care and we support each other here!!
Jia you!!!
Call me anytime okie...

Selina,
**hug hug Caleb**
hope Caleb will recover fast fast...
yes..u must take care of urself cos Caleb need u.

btw, wat u mean tat <font color="0000ff">this will b with Caleb for the next 3 yrs</font>?

Coral,
u too. take care.
poor char. even los weight, hope she recover soon.
since she not eating, how about latch on?

Vivian,
Hope cheeky Rhys recover soon.

<font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">Wish all the sick babies recover soon</font></font>

<font color="0000ff">jasmine</font> PD says this condition will only slow down after he is around 3 yrs old. he will be more suspectible to this now

some how i cant stop blaming myself tho PD mentioned nothing to do wif what i eat during preggie n that it wld have ben worst if i didnt bf him.

<font color="0000ff">vivian</font> hope Rhys recovers fast fast after the cough med. usually PD will prescribe cough together cos they know after running nose will be cough lor. wat did your PD prescribe for cough?

Selina
Sad to hear the Caleb hasnt recover yet.
3 years?!?! it's very torturing and damn long leh.. Sighz.. Please be strong Caleb needs you i know it's very heartbreaking see-ing ur handsome boy being tortured like this.

Viv
Yea hope the cough mixture will take effect on R! Wish him speedy recover.

Mommies, recently alot kids are falling sick when my neighbour brought her granddaughter to KKH, alot babies are there. Down with fever etc. Maybe it has something to do with the weather now must take good care of kim as well.

<font color="0000ff">Please be strong mommies we need to take care of our little ones</font>

Took a quick glance during a short short break, working like crazy here

<font color="0000ff">coral, vivian , babygrace, jackiejon</font>

poor Char, Rhys, Emma and Joanna ! I hope all of them recover fast

<font color="0000ff">esther, selina</font>

Jovan is a very strong boy to go thru that ordeal, very heart wrenching!

Poor caleb, din noe this is hereditary..

<font color="0000ff">Angelic</font>

can post pictures of the siblings ?
Must be tiring to take care of 2 young kids with closer gaps, but i was thinking this also means that they will graduate fast

hehe, looking forward to attending all my kids' convocation ;)

<font color="0000ff">jasmine</font>

me too, i never heard abt teh brand myself till my sil shows us

<font color="0000ff">shirley</font>

u r most welcome
when u first posted , i was also at a dilemma , cos i myself dun noe whether it is better to go ahead or not.. so this thread can perhaps give u the experiences of other parents

I agree very much with Coral's post. I noe u will make the best choice for Isaac and my moral support is with you

<font color="0000ff">lilboymum</font>

hehe, i tthink i love the sub myself and find them quite interesting , so since a decade ago, i hav been keeping the text books so tat i can use it as a reference for my kids instead of selling the books away ;p

after reading ur post, i actually went to flip a bit

CY has very good features, confirm will grwo up to be handsome boy, and he & <font color="0000ff">crystallised's Reubern</font> look like brothers

<font color="0000ff">gemini</font>

i think i miss out something, how come Tricia is heong ?

<font color="0000ff">Jerene</font>

hehe, lucky woman, barely a month since u came back from Beijing and now u r back from NZ..glad that u have a good trip again

u made me remincise my honeymoon days

<font color="0000ff">Delphine</font>

Desiree really is a very desirable gal, very pretty

<font color="0000ff">aspialle</font>

do take care...

regarding maid, i saw <font color="0000ff">Grace's </font> post and can't agree more...most of the maids when left alone with kids will just bring the kids along under the namesake of the kids wana play when they wana chat with other maids..

when the kids fell, they are still busily taking away, some can be very bochap

recently, my mum's pal was sharing that an ex colleague went to temple cos the little grandchild kept complaining I scared of black uncle in the house...she tot unclean things..and the black uncle is actually a bangladish worker ,cum bf of teh maid whom the maid brot into the hse during the employers' absence

case 2 : My own cousin in law chanced upon the maid making up on the master-room bed with her bf during an impromptu sick leave day when she came back in the afternoon

so best to let ur mum keep an eye on the maid i felt

<font color="0000ff">emily</font>

I have voted

Char,Rhys, Emma,Joanna, Caleb and Jovan
Get well soon!! Your mummies and daddies heart pain too! Jia you in your recovery!!!

Dear mummies
take care. eat well and rest well. wish our little ones will be strong and healthy and cheeky always ;P

Wah angelic,
that GP so ex leh. just for bath salt. CY using gentrisone now. a bit strong, but it helps. i sometimes doubt if anything will help for long. like asthma, eczema is hereditary. HB just worried he'll be disfigured (???)

but selina,
dun be sad, it is reali not your fault that caleb is sick. our air quality is so bad now, and with the changing weather. our bbs are going thru a tougher time than we did when we were young.

freshpoison,
yes, i can empathise. ILs, sigh...

<font color="ff0000">err... i don't know what i've posted to have misled you all into thinking that Emma is not well. That was 2 weeks ago. No wonder, Jerene smsed me just now to ask how Emma is. That was a nice gesture

Anyway, thanks to all who showed concern

It's very heartwrenching to see the lil ones sick.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Selina</font>
*hugs*
i can totally understand how you feel cos it's the same with Joshua's rhinitis. When he catches a cold / flu virus, he gets it really bad cos his airways will be so congested. That's why i had to make the painful decision then to stay at home to look after him instead of leaving him at the infantcare. The stress and feeling of helplessness is too much to bear.

Don't worry too much. Caleb will outgrow it.
Did you ask the doc if there are any preventive med?
Joshua is taking med now to as a preventive measure to stop his allergy from flaring. It's not 100% guaranteed but it's worth a shot.
Likewise i thought that my 13 mths of breastfeeding efforts were in vain but doctors always tell me that it could have been worse.

vivian,
Poor Rhys. Usually after the runny nose, the cough will come along caused by the post-nasal drip. You take care also.

hello mummies

me MIA since the gathering. hv been very busy with work. today on urgent leave cos KB was running a fever this morning. now his temp has gone down and finally in slumberland so hv abit of time to read thru the postings. BBgrace, thanks for organizing! and those mummies who prepared and bot so much nice food.

quickly skimmed thru some archives then got to see so many mummies and babies sick. HOPE ALL GET WELL SOON. esther, u be strong ok. think positively, at least now J is feeling much better!!

aspialle, u be strong too. do whatever u think is right. can u place the maid and ted at your mum's place?

jo
thanks for the compliment. think it does help stop hairloss but problem with short hair is that it gets out of shape very fast, need to trim soon.

vivian
saw the clip on R taking the biscuit, damn cute. me havent let KB try it yet cos it looks hard, afraid he cannot swallow. u mentioned R taking 7 tablespoons of cereal? what type of tablespoons u using? i'm using the milk powder type and KB is taking 3 scopes. sometimes he can finish all but usualy he doesnt. i wanted to increase to 3.5 scope but teacher at infant centre said too much wo.

crystallized
thanks for the biscuit. not yet let KB hv it yet but yet feeling very excited to see him try it.

shieley
saw your postings on zac zac sticking close to u when u r at home. noticed that u (and starz) travels very often, how do u manage?

recently my boss said want me to go london and US to broaden my contacts, etc... i'm very keen as such opportunity comes rarely, but i'm afraid that KB will distant from me. also not sure whether hubby can manage without me. hubby dont want to give me any stand, letting me to make my own decision. i know if i turn down my boss, i'll regret in future but if i dont i'm afraid KB will distant fr me. HOW????

Thanks ladies for all the encouragements and well-wishes.

Just now, R dun want to drink his milk. His last feed is 5.30pm. Dun want milk, dun want meds, dun want me to wipe his mucus, just cry and cry until his face so red and almost cannot breathe.
I so wanted to cry with him.

No choice got to force feed his meds, cry again. His cough is really bad, can hear his phlegm when he cough.

Finally done with the meds and he fall asleep without his feed.

I pray very hard for him to sleep peacefully and drink his milk later in the nite.

Selina,
he got Vasican for phlegm and Actifed Syrup for runny/blocked nose. And lliadin nosedrops.

coolmum,
Hubby used to travel for work and i also have mommy friends who travel frequently for work. Joshua and my friends' kids are still close to daddy and mommy. Hubby spends all his time with the kids once he's home. Both Joshua and Emma's faces will light up whenever they see daddy walk thru' the door even though he spends just barely 1-2hours with them on weekdays.
Just make sure you spend lots of time with KB when you are back. Kids are very smart, they know who their parents are and who cares for them.

bbgrace
thanks for the encouragement. i'm already trying to do that now. thou i dont think it is a good habbit to carry KB to sleep but i notice this way helps in bonding with him.

i strongly believe in making both work but hb said sure got tradeoff one. he dont object me from achieving my dreams but i know he prefers me not to go. i know he can handle KB as I've been training him but i'm just afraid of my in-laws! they might ask him to pass KB to them and hb will simply do so!

today first time my father-in-law came, i told him KB was having a fever. know what he did? he carried him out of his bed, into the living room to play with him, saying that neber mind, little bit hot only!!! his temp was 37.9dc this morning!

afternoon when KB suddenly cried very badly in his sleep. i carried him up for less than a sec, my father-in-law told me to put KB down he'll carry him. i was so pissed off as i felt like telling him if his mummy cant do it, who can??!! but i gave him the benefit of doubt that he was too kan cheong over KB also. but at least let me carry him for a longer b4 offering his help right. sorry, just vetting frustration here. maybe i was too worry for KB as today is the first time he is down with fever and i had been carrying him almost the whole day.

Good morning, wakey wakey, rise and shine!
I am just waking everyone up to a nice Thurs morning, since I have to be up...off to KL soon and hopefully when I am back, everyone has already recovered and ready to enjoy the weekend. Bye!

Coolmum, I agree with babygrace, go for it! I am a London fan
US - which part?

Ok, a long story, so bear with me can?

dear coolmum,
Im a working mum so am not sure if im in the position to advise you on anything. However i understand what you are going through.

Either choice you make, you may have some regrets later in life. The question remains which of these regrets you can live with, and which you cannot.

In my case, i was posted to HQ just before my pregnancy (totally unplanned lah, the pregnancy i mean). It was supposed to be a career advancement in what was normally perceived as a dead end job. After my maternity leave, i wanted to extend a couple of months of no-pay leave. It was rejected as they were too shorthanded then. So i requested to be posted back to school and then go on no-pay. Strange, my no-pay leave lasted for only 3 months. But that additional 3 months was really what i needed to bond with CY.

I just figured that i can live with the lack of career prospect, but never with being a distant mother (the HQ job requires me to work till 10pm regulrly). I really dont wanna go home just to see my son's sleeping form. I dont wanna be those old woman who goes around telling young mothers " my only regrets is that i didnt stay home to watch my son's blah blah blah..."

And now, im seriously considering taking additional no-pay leave of couple of years (since no career prospect oredi no harm loh), but still a bit chix...hee...

But hor, if taking up the job makes you a happier mother, go for it. im sure KB will be proud to have a mother who is well-travelled and sak sak!!! Can show off during parent-teacher meeting siah...heeeeee

Coolmum

Work travel is possible for mummies but also depends on individual. U must be able to bear with the heart ache of missing ur little ones. it can be quite bad at times depending on ur duration of travel and frequency of travel.

Now is my peak period so my travel can be as high as 75% due to staff shortage. I fought for the opportunity to come back during weekend so that more time can be spent with zac zac. i really miss him a lot and to the extent that everynite i will ask my hubby wat pyjamies he is wearing so that i can visualise him in bed.

If ur travel is just a few times in a year and it helps to broaden ur horizon, u may want to go for it. My advice for u is to plan way ahead for the biz trip in terms of getting KB and the family used to the idea of u not being around during the nites or weekends. let ur hubby handle him alone for a few nites to see if KB is ok. As for ILs, i cant comment much cos my ILs are very nice all they want is to see their grandson occassionally and usually they will not interfere with how i take care of zac zac.

u dont have to carry KB to sleep to bond with him. I usually will bring him out for short walks in the park or play with him in the playyard or go shopping. all these will create bonding between the 2 of u.

Whatever decision u made, make it with the support of ur family as it is very important. my travel will be impossible w/o my hubby taking care of zac zac during the nite cos i know it will be too taxing for my parents to take care of him during the nite.

hope i have not confuse u further.

Selina, Esther & Vivian
sorry to hear all ur darlings r sick. i was v sad to read wat Esther and Selina had posted abt Jovan & Caleb. so heart-wrenching. i wld hv cried my eyes out.
but i am sure the boys will b strong in no time. sayang all the 3 boys.

bbgrace
i was oso v puzzled when i saw postings asking abt emma. i dun rem her being sick... so it was a misunderstdg.

lilboymum
i agree wif wat u said, despite no career advancement, i wld rather hv more time wif my boy. i dun wan to go home and found him alrdy asleep. to me, if i hv no time 4 my baby, wat wld i wanna hv him in the 1st plc? work has been really crazy these few wks, and the time i spent wif him aft work is lesser. but i promised myself tt i will make up for it aft this busy period by taking leave and spending more time wif him.

mummies gg for the swim fest this sun, see u all there.
been v busy at work, so might not log in so often...

My goodness, so many bbs down. It's such a torture.

Esther, poor J. My cousin went thru that and it's indeed heart wrenching for any parents to watch, but hope this treatment rid him of his phlegm and he'll recover soon.

Selina, it's sad to hear about Caleb. However, it's good that you know early and can start avoiding whatever trigger. Also, can force a healthy habit of the family. Maybe more blading in east coast for you and Caleb ba. Hope he'll get well soon.

Vivian, has Rhys recovered? Char also refuse her medicine, but I hv to force 4 types of them down her throat...No choice. She's also very irritable and cry non-stop, nothing can make her feel good.
She's been running a fever since Sunday and until now fever still wont subside and her eyes swollen from crying and lack of sleep.

Selina,
Don't blame urself.
Actually u slh pround of yourslf tat at least u bf for 5.5 mths even tho ur ss is low.

Caleb will b a brave boy then.

Coral,
poor Char.
since her fever still won;t subside yet, did u bring her to PD again?
u must take care of urself too..luckily u r off-work now, at least u can full time look after her.

yes..lately a lot of babies sick. SIL saw a lot of sick babies at KKH y'day.
and y'day news announce tat chicken pox case increase lately. mummies, pls aware..

Coral
oh Char oso hvg fever. i missed the posting abt tt. she has been sick since Sunday? oh dear, issit viral infection, else why wun her fever go down? or is she teething?

Today brought kim for hep B vaccination. Her weight now is 8.6kg and. while her weight 1 mth 2 weeks ago is 7.9kg.

More and more babies sick. Sighz..

jRt, it might be both. Might hv to bring her to PD again if her fever continues tomorrow. I feel so helpless, 1st time she sick for so long. Her cough lasted a mth liao. Cough was getting better then suddenly this fever that refuse to go away.

crystallized,
hey i managed to make Emma eat the avocado, though it wasn't much. I mix a some into his cereal with pear or sweet potato (something that she likes) and she ate them. So feeding some avo is better than no avo. hehe!

<font color="0000ff">Dilema of a FTWM</font>
What lilboymum wrote struck a chord with me.
I enjoyed working and though i'm not the ambitious type, i'm lucky to be given opportunities to do new things.

It was a conscious decision for hubby and me to delay having children till we are done with achieving what we wanted to do in our work and personal life.

So it was no regrets for me to take no pay leave after I had Joshua. And when it came to taking no pay leave again when he kept falling sick, i did not hesitate also though i gave up an opportunity for a higher job responsibility at that time. Likewise, for Emma, i gave up yet another opportunity (everything was prepared and waiting for me to take up the position when my maternaty leave was over).
No point regretting cos i know i've no other alternatives. I have trust issues with other caregivers except my mum.

So those mommies who wanna go live their dreams... go ahead so long as you have a trustworthy caregiver. Your bb won't be any worse off without seeing you lesser for a few days. No need to feel guilty.

sorry that I have been MIA for so long, Kennedy was sick last month until now and after that was my hubby and 2nd boy and now so sad to know that so many cute little babies are sick. Mummies whoes babies are sick, please be strong, they need us most now. Jia You!!

Hi Esther,
*hug**hug*, so sad to read your posting. Did you check with the doctor that is that the only way to make the phelgm out?? Kennedy was admitted to hospital last month due to prolong bronchitis too. Neb-ing and the inhaler (they call space chamber) did not work on him, the doctor did recommended your method to us but we rejected cos what happen to J is what we don't want to see. In the end they give him antibiotic which will make him cough more till he vomit the phelgm out or he will pass them out by loose stool. I brought him for review last week, he was not fully recovered yet, still need to take medicine for his lung (they still can hear that there is phelgm in the lung), another review is due on 29 May. I understand how you feel, when I saw them put the tube on his hand cos they needed to take his blood for test and give him the medicine thru there, I just couldn't control myself, I cried with him.

Selina,
try to give Caleb some warm water if he can't vomit out, can also use some vicks vaporub to rub on his chest, back and behind the ears, it does help a bit to make him feel better. Do not give him any fish now, fish will cause more phelgm. It's not good if he need to neb regularly, the condition can lead to asthma. I thing Caleb will be like my 1st boy, if he is sick due to cough, his cough will be very bad that he need to neb. Try to avoid giving him any cold drinks or food even if he is older, they will get cough easily. I believe he can't sleep well now, are you taking leave to take care of him??

Hope all the babies get well soon.

Coolmum

just to share my own experience, was offered a higher position in aug 2005...

Got pregnant in early 2006 and got such bad morning sickness that make any travelling on a moving vehicle a nite mare..ended up hospitalised for HG, a condition due to over vomitting..thus severe lack of water and put on drip plus they discover ketones in my blood..was in and out of hospital

I wrote in to my HR to downgrade to my current position, cos the place is now nearer my hse, menaing lesss travelling time and also lessen the seriousness of my HG (which can harm teh baby)

hehe, so even b4 K is born, I decided tat she matters more than my career liao. needless to say, by doing so, i can forget abt my career advancement..

Jia You

<font color="ff6000">hi mummies, tks for your encouragements and consolation. i know it is no gd to neb caleb too often but i rather neb him than put him on antibiotics now cos i dun wan him to be too reliant on it and hope he can fight it out himself instead. even PD not keen to give him antibiotics.

guess my only consolation is he still eating well, take med well, neb well and slping better at nite now. with more slp, hope he recovers soon.

only good thing that comes about his illness is that i dun have to spend my 1st mother's day with ILs. i have good excuse not to be there wif caleb.</font>

<font color="0000ff">coral</font> yes guess our activities next time will be restricted to open air places n yes more healthy activities for the entire family n in fact is what i have always envisioned in my family.

<font color="0000ff">vivian</font> hope Rhys recovers fast fast...

<font color="0000ff">coolmum</font> i can fully understand what you are going thru right now. tis is exactly what i went thru when i was offered tis new job. i too have to travel quite a bit now but i tell myself i will make use of every minute n seconds i have wif caleb to the fullest. i try not to login here too often in the day so i can finish most of my work during office hrs n dun need to stay late. i make sure i come home to settle caleb for bed. i take tis as my bonding time wif him.

today i came home a little later than usual. when caleb saw me, he actually smiled n wanted to be carried. hb made a comment which made me feel all i've done is worth while. hb said "papa come back u also nv smile until like that. see mummy only laugh laugh..."

for me, a higher salary is required at this stage tho i very much wish to spend more time wif caleb. but i promised myself n caleb that whatever free time i have wif him, i will spend wif him.

as i stay wif my mum right now, it makes travelling more at ease cos i know caleb is in good hands even at night (cos when we are out at night for wedding dinners etc, mum has no prob settling caleb or even when we travel). so i think having strong support at home makes everything less stressful for me.

not of very much help but hope u find something useful from my experience.

sorry for this long postings.

<font color="ff6000">for babies down wif flu n cough, i spoke to a friend and came to know that there are 2 types of cough meds. what my friend does is she will usually ask for a suppressant n another to expel the phelgm. in the day, she let her boys takes the expel one while at night the suppressant to hold down the cough so he sleeps better.

u ladies might wish to get advice from your PD on this n see if it helps in anyway.</font>

<font color="0000ff">bbgrace</font> tks for your advice n encouragement. really make me feel so much better especially now Caleb is sick n i dun spend a lot of time wif him looking after him.

<font color="0000ff">shirley</font> hearing how zac zac seeking after you make me feel encouraged to go on. at times, i really felt like giving up oredi when things get stressful.

Aiyoh really many babies n parents are sick hor. Was horrified when I saw the news on the chicken pox!! 750 in a month want to faint ahh.
N this kpo boy has a VERY bad habit of touching ppl next to him. I suspect that's how he kanna his cough becos 1st thing PD ask is who is sick in the family but nobody is sick.
I always try not to let him touch the ppl but he will keep trying n some of them will say its okie n even hold his hand....pangzzzz
Fell like telling them I jud dun want him to touch u becos u r dirty.....hahahhaha

Jus now in the MRT also this old auntie next to us. Holding a hankie in her palm n smell abit of the fong you. I prevented D from touching her n she go n hold his hand n smell it....wah piang.
After she left the train I still smell the fong you. Sian I think from D's hand. Then I had to keep making sure D dun touch his mouth or pacifier n tahan till Vivo city I find a toilet to wash his hands.

SOmetimes hor ppl jus friendly but then if they r sick can't auto abit keep themselves away from bbs meh.

Doreen
I agree with you!! but when i outside i dont anyhow let people touch or carry i walk far far away. but caregiver anyhow give those pa sah aunty carry lor.. I actually dislike people who are overly friendly! they will become irritating leh.. and ya.. some they think aiya... i cough only ma.. whats so serious about that.. duh!

Selina
Caleb will recover soon under ur care =)

lilkid
Hope K recovers soon. sad to hear that another baby sick.

Now baby's immune like not as strong liao. sighz must really be careful.

Coral
Hope Char is fine now. U brought her to KK is it?? Cos u say went hospital.
Char is only fever is it?? No cough or flu right?
Cos that time D also had just high fever for bout 3 days n it was fake measles. My pd also checked D for UTI becos she say high fever might be UTI also then have to admit hospital for antibiotics drip immediately 1.
Ur PD never say why Char fever so long?? Cos my pd already told me its fake measles so at least I'm not so worried when he still had fever.

Esther
Hope J NEVER have to go through that again.
N thanx for ur help in choosing the veg....hehhee
Becos D loves it so much he finis 1 big bowl for porridge yest n today......yayyay
Think he loves veg like his mummy ya.....kekeke

Selina
Poor Caleb has to neb again aah aiyoh. Means he have asthma or is prone to have asthma??
Maybe U wanna try bring him to the yi guo for massage see if it helps??

Littlekid
Poor kennedy hope he's fine soon.

<font color="0000ff">WISH ALL BABIES PINK OF HEALTH ALWAYS N THOSE WHO R SICK RECOVER ASAP</font>

Esther
my heart really ache when I read what J had gone thru at the hospital.... pray that he will recover soon and be a strong and healthy boy..U take care of yourself too ok.

Selina
Dont worry.. am sure little celab will recover soon and be a strong boy under your tender loving care..

Doreen
I agree with you too! I always try to wipe my boy's fingers with wet wipes whenever he touch or being touched by other people... sometimes, strangers see my boy cute cute and wan to carry him... very difficult for me to reject also.... I din give my boy pacifier, so he will always put his hands into his mouth.. but of course.. we cant possibly always ensure prefect hygiene everywhere...

Coolmum
I understand your situation and same as Jo Before I had Brayden, I look forward to my promotion.. but now, am very satisfied with my current position.. cos I seldon have to work OT or travel.. and this means more time and energy for my boy. Till now, I dunt hope for a promotion at least for the first few years.. and of course all depends on individual.. if you really wan to persue your own dreams, go ahead. I believe in spending quality instead of quantity time with your kids.

Vivian
Is Rhys getting better? That time when Brayden got flu he also dunt wan drink milk.. cos of the mucu which blocks his nostrils so makes him difficult to drink. Have to be very patient loh.. and that time.. he even vomit out milk... Hope Rhys will recover soon... dunt worry okie..

So sad to hear so many bb falling sick.. totally understand what u are going through coz my C had acute bronchitis too 3mths ago. was hospitalized for 3 days.

She was put on antibiotic drip (cant find veins on her wrist coz too fat so had to insert on her leg.. haha) and neb every 4hrs. after every milk feed she would cough until vomit and her appetite decreased dramatically. Every now and then the nurse would whisk her away to suck the mucus out fm her nose until i saw blood oozing out of her nostrils. she would cry and cough so hard that her face turned blue. really broke my heart to see my darling this way. she refused to sleep alone in the cot and had to be hugged or carried to sleep. prob coz she felt insecure and scared.

it was a very difficult period. 3weeks ago, she had runny nose and i heard wheezing sounds, so quickly brought her to PD. my usual PD was unavailable so had to bring her to another branch. was diagnosed with early bronchitis and gave her medication. i was so afraid that the nightmare will repeat again coz if recurrent bronchitis will lead to asthma and she was prone to it. 4days later, still didnt recover (lucky didnt get worse also)so rather to be safe than sorry, we brought her to her usual PD, Dr EK Ong at SBCC in TMC.

fortunately, it was just a case of normal flu. he prescribed other medication and advised us to stop the current medication. PD ordered no outings till she recovered! he also advised us not to give bananas too often as it will cause more production of phlegm.

now, i bring her to the PD upon the slightest symptoms of flu and cough. i read in another thread that giving the TCM "dong cong cao" (think its cordyceps) to bb will aid in the strengthening the lungs. my mil consulted a TCM practictioner and he prescribed the herbs to be taken once a week. can boil in the prorridge and feed to bb.

so maybe mummies can try that also..

hope all babies get well soon and god bless the little angels!

personally, i find Dr EK Ong one of the best PD. he is one of the paedriatic asthma and cough specialist in TMC.

i find that Dr Ong gives the right prescription and accurate diagnosis(C recovered 3 days after seeing him) and i like him coz he's very patient and gentle with babies. he gives very clear explanations and advises and the clinic staff also very friendly and systematic.

but the con is that waiting time is always very long!

desiree have been crying and cranky since morning. didnt have a good night sleep as well..

her flu is getting from bad to worse... keep dripping, now some more got cough..

seng kang/ punggol mummies, please advise where is the kids clinic?? at rivervale mall or plaza?

need to bring her to see the PD for the 3rd time.

her present med is not working on her...

Delphine,
Poor desiree!
Sorry i don't go to kids clinic, so can't help.
I go to kidslink at Compassvale. Vivian goes there too.

Littlekid

Poor Kennedy ! hope him, ur hubby & Kendedy recover fast

Delphine

May Desiree recovers fast, hopes Emma's & Rhys's PD can cure the flu

Phew! Char's fever finally gone after 1 last dosage of med last evening.

Doreen, PD say it's a combination of flu and maybe teething...

Selina, I ever asked PD abt supressant and expectorant. But she say these are not for bbs. For bbs, usually give med to dissolve the phlegm than to supress or use expectorant to make them cough it out.

Shirley, when I read how you get hb to describe zac zac's pajamas, my heart aches. This is the woes of wokring mum.

Personally, I gave up career when I decided to get married. Was posted overseas, but dont want to be apart so quit. Got a new job, but frequent flying. Once I knew I was preg, quit again to find non-travelling job. Now, am glad that the focus of my new companmy is Spore so even less travelling or non at all. Will be busy with new job but negotiate to put Char to bed before I get on with work again...

Delphine,
Kidslink is at 237 Compassvale Walk tel :63884466
About 5-7 mins walk from SK mrt. I think Vivian took a bus from punggol, maybe u can ask her.

<font color="0000ff">WORKING LATE AT NIGHT</font>
Those whom i've known here while preggy will remmeber seeing me come online late at night cos i will work after putting Joshua to sleep. No choice, that's the sacrifice we have to make in order to come back earlier to see our darlings.

I'll try to leave office at 630pm daily. N log in via laptop afterChar sleep at 8+pm. So I'll still read reports fm my staff at nite n work on my reports for clients at nite. Of course there'll be certain nites when I cant leave office at 630pm, but I try to achieve that most nites. My boss leave at 7pm n log on after 11pm. Have to adjustwork life and family life to make them work...

Hi Madeleine, Doreen & Jo,
thanks for your concern. Though he is better now but everytime we want to give him medicine, he will show us the look that can he don't take it, this make me so sad

anyone know a good chinese physician? My hubby hurt his back, went to A&E at TTS, X-ray show everything ok, we also brought him to chinese acupuncture but no improvement. Anyone can recommend me any place or people who are good in this area and can advise us what is the problem?? Thanks in advance.

Later there will be a Fire Drill exercise in my company, oh no... I'm at 32nd storey, I think I will faint by the time I reach 1st floor...