(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

lilboymum
There those milk powder for preggie ladies lor. aiya.. u see my schedule hor.. 7-11 is only tues, wed and friday but xiong enuff liao. cause this 3 days i at lesson at JURONG.. and i stay in SENGKANG!!!!! far? Duh!! The journey back home is ARGHHHHH..

For wetting bed i not sure leh.. my niece and nephews all potty train one since young but they ok leh.. and i do read mags and books it always mention best to start potty training @ bout 6 mths old. now more and more thing to follow. My aunty just commented "people nowadays treat baby like GEM. In the past where got like that. now look after baby this also cannot that also cannot. really very headache" <-- partly saying me HAHHAHAH.. like today maid feed her potato and big aunt feed her fish i quite worry.. both from those soup that they cook one but got use hot water waste 1st before feeding.

Starz
Today i told my aunty that the mashpotato gravy is from left over oil. She at 1st say huh is it.. so jia lat meh..
Then after that she say but hor.. News got come out that got one company are actually taking back used oil to reuse it into shampoo, soap etc. Then i tell her but still oil leh and salt also.. She say ya she know salt as for oil no lah.. they take back all the oil it will be safe. DUH... no point arguing! later she say 'u look after urself lor if u so clever'
She is a good nanny and treats my daughter well but she is not those VERY health cons type and therefore follow those traditional rule. "lap sap jiak. lap sap dua. Anyhow eat anyhow GROW"
I wont say that she is irresponsible cause i did saw the way she do things but somehow i will worry this and that. can anyone comment on how should i put it to let her know? Me and HB dont dare argue with her one.

<font color="ff0000">POTTY TRAINING</font>
Or Elimination Communication (EC) which some pple call it. This is similar to what our mothers used to do with us when there was no disposable diapers. They will sshh us to pee in the sink.

EC is different from potty training toddlers. Toddlers can tell when they need to pee / poo. Babies can't talk. EC is about giving baby the cue to pee / poo as well as reading baby's cue when he wants to pee / poo.

The best period to practise EC is when baby is newborn to 6 mths old. After this window of learning is over, it a bit more difficult cos bb has already been accustomed to peeing / pooing in diaper. it's not impossible to train but it's harder.

I've considered practicing EC on Joshua before but decided not to in the end. It takes a lot of time and patience to train and as a new mother, it's just too many things to cope at one go. You have to be committed to this so as not to send mixed signals to the bb. The major advantage of EC is saving on diapers. But that would mean that you have to constantly remember to bring the bb to the potty, even when you are outside.
Therefore before you decide to embark on it, consider if you or the caregiver is willing to spend time in training the bb.

Coral,
i can understand why the seller wants to up his selling price now. the prices have gone up so quickly.
I went to kaypoh around 2 new launches at Telok Kurau today. One of them is a very small one near NClave. Both are terribly small. They try to squeeze a 3 bedroom into 1000sqft of space. it's ridiculous. Both are selling at about $800 psf. This means that my current unit which is more decent sized can go for at least $1m. Yours will be even more. Imagine, in a span of 6 mths, i got a capital appreciation of $250K. Luckily i sneaked out during confinement to buy this place.

Btw NClave looks 80% completed.

hi coral,

personal view from my sis. she was saying that those potty that will produce music not very good cos if the kid is so accustomed to the music after every poo & pee, if 1 day, the potty no more music, the kid dun want to pee/poo, then how?

those tags on the clothes sometimes not reliable,
tricia can wear some meant for 18 mths now, and these clothes are bought by my hb in US and i have told him to buy a bigger size.

hi adeline,

u are gd in capturing the right moments of kim.

hi jo/wei kuan/lilboymum,

thks for the wishes.

Potty training
==============
me not really v rigid in training her on the potty as i'm only with her full day on wkends. i manage to successfully put her on the potty twice as she was farting and normally this is a signal that she is pooing soon. as for peeing, sometimes, i tried but she will not pee. my mum is more patient and has more luck than me.

Jo
K is soooooooooo sweet in the pose. It looks as if it's taken in a studio. Now i'm getting lazy to take photo for Max.

Gemini
Hi 5, Max has been on potty since 4 mths. Think my MIL train him well. I dun have to worry abt him doing 'business' outside. I dun even bring baby wipes out. Every morning before bathing we let him have some water then bring him to poo after that bathing time. It's quite a routine now.
I tried a few different cereal and find that nestle is the worse, too coarse and tasteless. Currently using dumex and find it smooth and fine.

sianz.. not only it is monday but becoz my foot very pain. Dun know why yesterday suddenly my right ankle feels weird weird then evening starts to swollen and PAIN sia...
basically my foot was like pig's trotter lor.... hb put some pain killer cream for me last nite, so better and can sleep... but this morning still can feel it...
sigh...

ORGANIC CEREAL
===============
I did not purposely intro R organic food but as some of the mummies recommended that the Healthy Times Barley cereal not bad, so when I saw it in NTUC, just buy and try lor.
End up, R loves it. But I do not feed R that cereal everyday coz I think he will be sick of it lor. So I put the barley cereal at home, feed only on weekend while I bought Nestle brown rice and wheat and honey for my mum to feed R randomly. To me, whether organic or not, as long as it is healthy and R loves it, no allergy, I anything ok. I same thinking as Selina jie jie... not worrying too much...

HJ,
I already intro meat to my R last week in his porridge coz he rejects fish that time. So far, he likes it, think mainly for the taste lah...

COD FISH
========
Not sure I have announced this here, Rhys ate the cod fish porridge liao!!! First time he actually took fish. Thanks to all the mummies who recommend cod fish when he rejected Ngor fish.
When I told my mum, MIL, SIL that I want to try cod fish on R, aiyo, they hor, all discourage me say cod fish even more smell and oily.
But I insisted to give a try and YES!!! R took it!!! So happie... I was just telling my mum, see lah.. the forum advices are correct!! My mum kept dead quiet... hee... thanks ladies.... muackz

Delphine,
np. Will jio you when time comes...

Coral,
hb still coughing but slightly better... thanks... you and your hb also take care leh... So nice of your mum to self made those nice sling for you... save money and most imptly, it is ai xin pai sling wor.... hee...

Adeline,
Kim flipped too?? R also leh!! Nowadays he like to raise his butt one side and flip, he is on his back liao... hee.... Hi-5 !!!
wah lao, those pix of Kim so funnie... so cute... I want to hug her too....

lilboymum,
sorry to hear that CY got rashes... I gave baby bites teething biscuits to R and he is ok... Think Jerene etc also gave the same biscuits... you may want to try that...
erh... your theory hor... too chim for me... haa... can switch to lay-man terms? hee...sorry lah... me ITE teacher nia... haa....
Talking abt all those unglam pix hor... I got even more... my mum was saying next time R got married hor, not scared dun have pix to show ppl of his young times... haaa....

Gemini,
R has been pooing in his potty everyday too. We actually experience that without potty, he dun want to poo... bth.... but very happy that he poos in potty... hee... I was so excited that I even took photo of his first poo in the potty.... haa... bian tai mummy...

Wanted to tell you all more... R got or bak cak.... but now late for lesson liao... will be back in the afternoon....

Ling
Max is so fair

Gemini
Maybe cause whenever she come back i keep taking her photos hahah.. and somehow always manage to get those shots.

Adeline,
To me, i will tell your aunty nicely not to give mashpotato lor... tell her you prefer Kim eat porridge & other bland digestive stuff now so as to avoid her getting allergy or indigestion later... "just say you noe lah children nowaday diff fm us... get sick easily and v mah fun cos you now study got very little time bring her c doc"
I think even though she is your aunty she shld not just treat your Kim as waste bin leh... next time Kim grow up, she will blame you cos you are her mum leh... and your aunty might not be there then to kana blame....*Touch Wood*

My bbsitter so far only feed my A rice cereal that is wat i noe fm her but she will oso leak abit of info if she give him other stuff to eat... if i feel not comfortable, i will tell in a nice manner i dun want him to take that saying "you noe lah A very sensitive n prone to allergy one... i scare his body can't get use leh... later need to bring c doc very mah fun" she hear already sometimes will say ok loh but sometime she will try again(stubborn one) which i will just tell her again... if she dun listen, my A got constipation, i will just say infront of her, need to c doc liao to hint she is the one at fault...

good morning ladies,

<font size="+1"><font color="0000ff"> HEINZ MULTI GRAIN CEREAL</font></font>
I cant find heinz plain cereal at most of the supermarket & saw this one. then i remember crystallized said tat she gave it to R. so, i oso bought one lal. but now saw the posting tat oat & wheat r those food can casue allergy. i'm in dilemma now: shld i giv to A?

<font color="ff0000">Milestone</font>
Yes yes!!! Alvis can crawl liao. although he still can sit without support but he can crawl very fast now. he can crawl out frm the world map to catch the ball tat i purposely put infront of him.

<font color="aa00aa">poo</font>
Since born, A poo & faint quite few times a day. is it normal? if i only gave him rice cereal, he will only poo 3 times a day. but if i gav him cereal + fruit/ vege, he can poo 5-6 times a day. y'day i found his poo a bit greenish. is it normal?

Esther,
You let J try Nan lah. If he ok with it, then use Nan lor. Then no need to pass to me le.
Hmm no leh, din like the design of the purse. Decided to get a cheapo one, so I can change w/o heartpain.

HJ,
Me too dun believe bb can "talk" so early. But this is the stage of babbing, they will make "ba-ba" or "pa-pa" kind of sound.

Potty Training
==========
I prefer to start when bb is ready. I know some ppl start potty training as early as 2 mths old.
From my understanding, bb muscles still not fully developed. If start too early, they may not be able to control the muscles when they grow older.
I started Jo when she's 19mths, when she more or less understand the concept. So it only took me 1/2 day to train her. For BB, may need more time since they can't talk. Need to be very patience with it, so dun make yourself stress or fedup over it when it fails.

Coral, Me too heard abt the musical potty. No music no pee/poo. Jo is using the cheapo potty, those red color one, one of the items from my jia zhuang. Same for the bathtub (Jo no longer using, Jas is using)..

Nevertheless, just do at your pace.

Nestle Cereal
=========
Jo and Jas are both taking this. I find it ok lah. So far so good. In fact, I add some into their milk, though I still spoon feed Jas with it (and kapoh Jo will standby by my side to finish up the balance if Jas has leftover).
Talking about coarse, I find some tins very fine, some very coarse.

Adeline,
i love to see kim pics. she always can b so many pose for u to take pic. nowsday i cant captore nice pic for A cos he wanna grab my camera.

Jo,
K look so sweet in this pics.
u very hard work hor. hehehe...

<font color="ff0000">POTTY TRAINING</font>
Read frm the posting all the oct mummies post, mostly are those babies gal start potty training liao.
i hav a question : <font color="ff0000">HOW</font> to start potty training for babies boy? heheh... sound silly q hor..

Jasmine,
Actually potty training for boy is much much easier than gal. When boys wanna pee hor, their birdie will stand up one, then you just make the sound to "help" them pee

hi ling,

so indeed is the nestle cereals that is coarse. i still thought that i did not add in enough milk or stirred thoroughly. when u open the tin, u got smell a sweet smell? u say it's tasteless? Hm... cos me & my maid taste it, find it that it's a bit sweet leh. actually that day, i was considering whether to get the Nestle or Dumex cereals.

hi jenny,

then me v "lucky" loh, got a tin of coarse cereals. but again not sure whether is it due to tricia teething, she does not really want to eat Nestle cereals.

Jenny..
REALLY? i never knew!!!!but hor, wouldnt we have to keep watching their birdie? sorry, suaku here.

babygrace,
i agree with you. but if you talk to your pd about ec hor, they will usually frown upon that. medical field still think that ec is not good, even though it is thought as the most natural method. as for me, coz i have to return to work, cant really do it on CY.

vivian,
aiyoh, poor foot lah. you should see a doc regarding your foot leh. this kinda sudden swelling...

btw, what is the biscuit you give huh? brand? where can i get them? CY loves those (i think) i gave him, too bad he broke out in rashes. hope it'll pass soon. cant imagine fragile little boy who is susceptible to every food. sad life it;ll make.

Aiyoh, the EC thingy babygrace was talking about actually very primitive. if you ask your mom, they surely know. no cheem lah. but yah, me sucker for all these retro ideas..but can never get down to doing it...heh heh heh

bb milestone:
CY doing caterpillar crawl now. can inch forward like a caterpillar. butts up and push himself forward, cry...butts up, push himself forward, whine...quite funny to watch.

Cereals
=======
actually me still a bit blur on the ratio of cereals :milk. if say i giving 3 scoops of cereals, i mixed it with 1 scoop of milk powder. is the proportion correct?

gemini,
You not sway lah. Maybe I lucky. So far (using for 2 years), I only encountered one tin which is q coarse.

lilboymum,
Who so free to watch the birdie every sec lah, pian tai ah... hahaha... What I mean is, if you wanna train bb, you will do those wee wee sound right? THen you see the boy birdie, if it stands, means going to wee soon.

cereal talkies,
ok, from the milk perspecitve...the PD told me that CY at 6 mths need 80-90mls milk worth of cereal. is that true? i tried and whoa...that was a LOT of cereal. like one big bowl man!

i usually use around 3-4 tbspn. should be the same. anyway. one third will end up inside him, onethird left in the bowl and the other one third all over his face, mouth, head, body table etc...

Hi Coral/Jo,

Dun know leh, i suspect she is teething soon.. so far still didnt see anything yet. very cranky nowadays, cry for nothing.

Hi Jasmine,

Congrats on A reaching another milestone, hehe... D also know how to crawl liao but using her tummy to push instead of on legs.

Hi vivian,

onz... will try my best to make it.

Hi Esther,

I could not fax through the form... think too many application forms that it jams their fax machine. kekeke

Jasmine
Was lucky and everytime when she see us take camera she will bai pose for us.

Vivian
Hi^5!! yea.. was lucky that i 1st one to saw it! in the morning i still call my aunty and ask "Did u see kim flip back?" she said no i was soooo happy.

lilboymum
hmm is cereal impt? cause kim kind of reject cereal as well. and how long can cereal be kept once opened?

Grace
i will try but sometimes she not happy then i try to let my cousin know and then ask her to help me relate the message cause her mom respect her. but she still will say AIYA WILL SHE SO MA FAN..

Weikuan,
Wa... u already got a meal routine for R til 9 months! Me still not doing much..

Delphine,
Andrea also cry for no reason now and seems feverish. Very hot and likes to drink water now.

The cod fish hor, u use the fresh one? How about frozen ones? Saw in NTUC leh.

Hi Janice,

Did you try to feel the gum to see if anything hard, if there is, most prob teething le.
So far desiree got nothing but will put everything into her mouth. and when i latch her on for supper(super low MS), she bite instead of suckle. Ouch!!!

Delphine,
Ya! Ya!!! I let Andrea latch on (for fun nia). Wa she really bites HARD. Sometimes she'll suddenly turn her head to the other side and pull! OUCH!!!
She puts everything in her mouth also. Think the gum really itchy.

Vivian
juz realised i 4got to reply ur posting on the tollyjoy spoon. yes... tt is the one i am using.

i realised tt R eats better wif this spoon. over the wkend, he actually finished the HT Mixed grains cereals each time i fed him! AMAZING coz he nvr finish any cereals ever since i started him. i was so happy and for the 1st time he was so easy to feed. i was hardly in time as he swallows fast and wants more!

bbgrace
haven really took pix of me wearing the silk sling wif R inside lah. actually we did yesterday but the boy was in such a grouchy face tt i dun wanna share his buey song face! hahaha... i love my sling! it looks so glam! (KNS me, buay paiseh lah!)
but i really really LOVE it!
i think i am gonna miss the isetan sale on 17th. i am def not able to go in the morning coz work. and i hv a big program tt sunday. not sure if i can go to the sale.

Coral
ur mummy so gd! sew u ai xin slings!!!! can u show me the slings? the way u described is really nice.

Selina
actually i went ahead to feed R the cereals. i am keeping fingers crossed lor. there is no history of allergies 4 me and my hb, so hope he wun hv any. and coz he has such a gd response to the cereals, i feel tt if i had to make him eat the plain rice cereals, its so demoralising.
but his poo was extremely smelly according to my hb whom cleaned R yesterday (i was wkg)! hahahahahaha... but it sure feels great to see R so happy eating the cereals and finishing it!!! i noe its no big deal 4 most of u mummies but me and bbgrace will b jumping for joy like me when her Emma finishes her food too.
hoping to keep up his interest in food so we can "upgrade" to porridge soon. then its so much easier to prepare coz i can cook my share at the same time too!!!

Gemini
i rem reading sthg u posted but 4got wat i wanted to say liao....

so busy at work! i need some retail therapy!!!

Selina
no, haven gone to find the NUK handles. haven gone town area for long time liao. might juz let R use the trg cups bah. Jenny passed one pigeon one to me the last time. i juz dunno if it will confuse him furthur...

which is the spoon vivian is talkg abt? i think i got buy 2 sets of spoon & fork, in a small box. but they r not soft like the tollyjoy ones. so i chuck them 1 side, nvr use. i cant rem if i bot the combi one though.
i got so many spoons wif me now tt i dun rem all tt i hv got! hahaha

crystallized,
Same as you i've been jumping for joy for the past few days cos Emma has been finishing her food. Have been keeping quiet about it first in case i jinx myself.
With the tv distracting her, she is not longer so fixated about grabbing the spoon, cup, bowl and is starting to enjoy her food. But she still doesn't like apple.
I'm so motivated by her interest. Gonna let her try avocado later.

aiyah, i thought will see u at isetan sale again for the 3rd time!

Glad that you're enjoying the sling!
I've taken a pic with emma in our MEV ensemble but it's in my sis' camera. Will have to take it from her to download.

bbgrace
initially i was oso worried abt jinxing myself but i can see he really likes the HT mixed grains. (i wanted to start him on the HT brown rice cereals but idiot me left it at my mum's plc thus had no choice but to start him on the mixed grains 1st)... and last evening, i quickly came home aft work ard evening to prepare his broccoli + carrot puree and a serving of the cereal, thinking tt he probably will not finish. who noes, his appetite was sooooo good and i was so happy coz he ate a lot!

wat hv u been feeding emma tt she can finish? 4 me, its the same cereals and veggie purees only leh. i tried pear puree on sat morning and he hates it. gave me the disgusted look.
the list of things i feed him is less than a handful leh. i cant progress to porridge yet.

R does not grab the bowl or spoon. he is juz not interested lor. i bot a high chair toy and it distracted him while i feed. in the 1st few mins when i feed, he is v keen in the food i am holding (provided its the food he likes)... and no toys r necc to distract him. but aft a while, he will start playg the toy and attempting to eat it. while he opens his mouth to eat the toy, i quickly feed him a spoonsful of the cereal/puree!
i realised tt TV hinders in my feeding only! hahaha... for now, the high chair toy is the best!

i wanna go to the isetan sale too! i will try to find a way to squeeze myself there. but no guarantee though. i need some retail therapy! haven gone shoppping for ages! i am thinking to take a wk's leave aft my busy period at work. but dunno when can i do tt. sigh...

heee, ok waiting to see tt MEV ensemble soon!

bbgrace
how did u feed Emma apples? i noe most mummies say their babies dun like this fruit. i realised tt R dun like fruits. he hates fruit purees. so in order not to waste effort making it and hvg him wasting the purees, i let him lick/suck the entire fruit instead. he seems to enjoy it more. i let him try the apple and pear and he was enjoying himself. at times when the fruit is really soft, i will scrap a bit of the flesh to let him taste. not sure if this is the way to progress but i guess its better than him not eating any fruits. hope this will get him to like fruits more. this boy is weird! he doesnt like sweet stuff! thus none of the sweet tasting puree will pass thru his mouth.

<font color="ff0000">hi mummies. sorry didnt have time to logon cos i was sooooo bz cleaning after caleb yesterday. he running nose, develop into cough n now will cough until vomit. started wee morning on sunday. i was dead shocked when after feeding him milk at 6am, he vomitted 3 times consecutively n really the merlion vomit. all sticky which i presume is the pleghm. this continued until tis morning. had to change him at 3am n 6am. can u imagine how zomb out i am now.

was so worried yesterday that i cldnt wait n brought him to our family doc. brought all the med PD prescribed there n to my horror, was told 1 of the med contain a drug which the ministry has advised docs here against giving to children under 2 tho my family doc did say it is the safest drug so far n has been in used for decades. just that there are 5-6 cases of death after taking the drug in the US out of millions of children taking it. hence the caution. i will go back n get the exact drug name so at least u all are aware but again my family doc says really no issue but he rather play safe.

so scary everytime feed him milk he will vomit. but luckily mum said he is alright tis morning, had his cereals (we didnt give him solids yesterday) n milk too. so i not so worried now. sis also went to check on him n she said he is well. oh ya his cough causes his throat to be really red. very poor thing. realised my family doc more thorough with checking caleb than his PD. now i seriously thinking of whether to change PD or not.

see i rather put him on the neb than see him throwing up like that. but my family doc says so far his lungs are clear. more heartpain seeing him throw up like that.

anyway. i wont b able to login very frequently now cos real bz at work n back home i try to spend time wif caleb then i zonk out after that. also i will start my travelling next week to KL.

anything fun things dun forget me just sms me ok.</font>

<font color="0000ff">jrt</font> i can understand your joy when R finishes his cereals. since u found something he likes, then just give him lor. again if they are really intolerant it will happen sooner or later so we can only keep our fingers cross.

i go take a pix of the spoon n post when i free.

oh ya. if i find it, will text you lah see if you wanna buy or not. it comes with drinking sprout too.

<font color="0000ff">bbgrace, jenny</font> mum & me felt too young to start caleb on potty now. mum tried once but he started crying n after refused to continue poo-ing hence she told me let him be ready himself.

GTG. chat again. sorry for such a long post. i will logon on n off to see all the postings but might not be able to reply.

<font color="0000ff">jrt</font> i think any way as long as bb eats n is happy that is the best way. whatever we read or learn is just another mthd lor. so i am happy for u that u found ways to let R try different things. keep it up.

<font color="0000ff">vivian</font> me too bought HT cos i wanna give Caleb variety cos heinz all rice cereals like boring lor n i dun wanna give him nestle ones cos got milk added so HT is my best alternatives.

ok i really gtg.

Selina
so sorry to hear tt abt caleb. was horrified to read wat u posted. hope he gets better soon. seems like he din fully recover since the last time u mentioned he fell sick. i can understd how worried u r, esp now u r busy wif ur work and v soon, u r travelling alrdy. thk goodness 4 ur mum. its at least a load off ur mind tt someone trustworthy is looking aft him.

yah i juz am so thankful i found sthg he likes to eat. i nvr thot he will like the cereals so much and my hb & i were cheering him on when he ate the cereals. when he finished, we both applauded and praised him.
as long as he finishes his food, we will do ANYTHING!

thks in advance 4 helping to look out on the handle thing.

take care!

Selina,
aiyo... so heartpain to hear abt Caleb... pls take care... If you think that your PD is not doing a good job, by all means change. Sometimes no choice lah... all for the better good.
Hope that Caleb will be better by now...

POTTY TRAINING
==============
Actually I agreed to some of the mummies here that there is no hurry in training your bb on potty, even though my R already trained.
I did not delibrately train him on potty, just that my mum wanted to try and he just go with the flow. I am also surprised that when my mum told me, once she put him to his potty, he will poo automatically. As long as he is comfy with it, I am ok. If he reject, then I will intro it later.
So mummies, dun be too worried if you have not potty train them. Like what jenny said, you can always train them when they are older where they can understand more and easier to train.

CEREAL
======
Think lilboymum asked regarding this. To me, personally, there is no fixed amt lah. Just slowly intro cereal to your bb. When your bb is full, they will stop automatically and there is no point of keep pushing more to reach "targets". When your bb is NOT FULL, he will definitely "cry" for more. So every bb is different, some eat more, some eat less... so just follow your bb's pattern...
But of coz, like 2 mouth is too little, then substitute with milk. Or maybe bring the next feed earlier. Sometimes, there is no fixed rules. All these makes our mothering experience more interesting isn't it??
Jia you mummies!!!

Delphine,
thanx..
A was using his leg to crawl.
but hor he stll bo gay aka no teeth yet. kekeke...

Selina,
poor caleb.. *sayang*
Hope he can fully recover asap. in other way, it's good for him to vomit out all the phlegm so tat he wont suffer frm it.

Crystallized,
Glad to hear tat R finally love to eat his cereal.
actually hor, A same same exactly like R. he didnt interested at any food except avocado.
even rice cereal, he will look here look there & i hav to quickly put into his while he open his mounth.
but y'day, he so happy to finish 9even demand more) pear puree than i made. really made me so happy.
oo..yea. wanted ask u, did u still giv heinz multi grain cereal to R?

lilboymum,
forgot to reply you, the biscuit is called Baby Bites. Got plain,chix and veggie or carrot flavour. I started off with the plain ones...
Here's a pix
790593.jpg

Baby bites is a easy biscult to start off with. Not so messy and dirty like rusk.
I find the green packaging (chicken + vege flavour) that one nicer. Green packaging one always out of stock.
Jo can easily finish 1 to 2 boxes per week.

Vivian
yes agreed wif ur comments. there is no hard and fast rule when it comes to feeding our babies. to me, as long as he opens his mouth to eat, i am happy enuff. at least he is learning to accept the food. if he can finish his food, its a bonus.
and i do not follow wat u most mummies hv been doing i.e. replacing a milk feed wif cereals/purees/porridge. wat i hv been doing all these while is to feed him semi-solids abt an hr or 1.5 hr aft his milk feed. and no matter how much R finishes for his semi-solids, his nxt milk feed will def b 3 hrs fr his last feed. so i can say wat he eats for his semi-solids got no effect!

jasmine
i stopped feeding R the multigrains coz i 4got to bring it home last fri when i fetched R fr my mum's plc. so i started him on HT mixed grains as its the only thing i hv at home. hahaha... and since he is taking to it so well, i will continue lor. in addn, he is taking the si shen fen in his milk once a day (my mum feeds him).

at least ur A still open his mouth! my R will clamp his mouth tight shut if i am feeding hijm sthg he dun like. eg pear puree! *faintz*

my sis bot baby biscuits 4 too... think its fr Heinz. but made fr wheat oso. R was enjoying the biscuit so much! hahaha

<font color="0000ff">ladies</font>

thanks for ur compliments on K

<font color="0000ff">selina</font>

sorry to hear abt Caleb, hope he is back to his cool cute self soon

<font color="0000ff">lilboymum</font>

wow, wat u posted reminds me of my uni's psychology lectures

one of my fav subject in uni and the lecturer super cute, all of us got a shock when his face splashed over the newspapers for molesting kids..think he fled overseas since then before he was charged

<font color="0000ff">adeline</font>

ur captions always made me smile. Kim is very cute

crystallized,
ic...cos Heinz multigrain contain oat & wheat. so, would like to check with u since u gave him b4. is it any diff between heinz & HT mixed grain cereal?
aiyo..my A open mounth not because he want to eat, it's he accidently open then we quickly put into his mounth. haha....
he still taking 3 teaspoon rice cereal nia..small eater.

Jenny,
how about Heinz biscuit?
SIL bought a pack for A. and i hold it 1st cos i heard Heinz one very hard & A still bo gey yet.

Jasmine,
still not feeling very good. A bit less swollen, at least now I can walk without feeling pain...
Actually my mum say is wind lor... will become worse at nite. sianz.. now still waiting for student to come settle things, I SO HUNGRY!!!

jrt,
ya lor... they eat hor, we very happy liao... now hor, my R dun know is it growth spurts... keep asking for more leh.... last weekend, he cried when he finished 7 TABLESPOON of cereal... I gave 2 more, he cried again... give 1 more and he still wants. I stopped and feed him some water... THEN... he vomitted out some water hor, actually SMILE wide wide back to me after that... like so shiok like that... BTH....
Now porridge, instead of 4 tbsp hor, now eat 3/4 bowl liao... scary leh sometimes... but my hb also say lah, better than dun want to eat rite?? haaa...

I started to replace 1 feed with cereal when this boy rejects milk after taking his few tbsp of cereal... so no choice might as well replace one feed lor... so far he likes it and still finish his milk when it is his milk feed. *touchwood*

MILK TEATS
==========
2 weeks ago, I mentioned here that R has been fussing during his milk feeds, and always cannot finish his milk. Finally I snip a cross on the teat hole and gave it to R. At first he not used to it and still fuss... but now hor... YEAH!!! He finished his 180ml within 5mins... contented... so happy... I should have snip the teat holes long ago!!! Thanks to selina too, on the advices...

Vivian,
so late still haven got ur lunch yet?
ic...is wind arr. better walk slowly & carefully.
ur is foot. mine is my back. hb touch my back & noticed tat's a bit 'bak bak'. and the pain come & go. last 2 nite, hb help me to put 'ko yok' plaster on my back lol.

WOW...R can finished 7 TABLESPOON of cereal. tat's a lot, rite? A only can finish 3 <font size="-2">teaspoon</font> cereal nia. and his milk intake still 100-140ml nia..

Jasmine,
ya lor... my student fly me aeroplane... i bo chup liao... just went and da bao rice.
If hor dun eat will slim nvm, but I dun eat will NOT slim down leh... so might as well eat... haa...

Anyway, R loves cereals and he likes it FAST!!! Cannot stop one... so he can finish 7 tbsp in 5 mins time.... chop chop fast fast. and that is also why he keep asking for more. Eat so fast, the food haven reach the stomach mah... so maybe always feel hungry lor... sigh... slow down hor, he cries hor... BTH...

I started off with teaspoon too. Dun worry. I only change to tablespoon when I decided to replace a milk feed. Slowly lah.. main thing is Dun force them.

crystallized,
I steamed the apple and grated it after that. When i tried feeding her that last fri, somehow she choked and merlioned everything including her milk feed earlier. So i stopped apples for now.

Actually her variety of food has been very boring. So far i've only given her butternut pumpkin and sweet potato. Was waiting for the pear and avocado to ripen. So meanwhile just feed her those cos Joshua takes them in his porridge also. Have not started her on greens yet cos not sure if that will put her off.
Just like you, i don't replace a milk feed simply because i want to fatten her up.
Brought her for her jab today. She's only 6.8kg. i was saying she jia liao bi lah, eat and drink so much still hardly put on weight.

I saw the Combi spoon in Kiddy Palace.

HEINZ VS HEALTHY TIMES
I prefer the HT one not because it's organic. it's a lot easier to mix into a smooth consistency. The Heinz one is very lumpy to mix.
Although HT one is double the price, i'll gladly buy that. In fact, i'll gladly buy whatever Emma wants to eat. haha!

selina,
Poor Caleb. At least his lungs are clear, which is a very sign. Look on the bright side, he's puking out all the phelgm so that he'll feel much better. Just give him more fluids. I know how you feel cos i've gone thru' this with Joshua many times already.
Oh yes, pls share the name of the drug with me. Joshua has taken so many different types of medication before, just wondering if it's something which he has taken before.

Vivan,
aiyo..u so funny.

must eat one..i had my lunch 12pm lel..
yes..cant force them. my intend just to intro diff food to them. sometimes i saw he dun wan to continue, so i ask my mil who feeding him to stop. but hor she tot i no patient to feed A.
Can share with me Rhys feeding schedule?

Jasmine,
my lessons is until 1pm. Then waited for a student until now... bth liao... sigh...

Just now, called my mum coz yesterday suddenly in the morning, I noticed R's right eye swollen and red on the eyelid. This morning still the same leh. A bit worried. Dun think is food allergy coz he has been eating the same things recently.
Then my mum say sometimes she feel that R is a bit feverish on and off.... sigh... now really gets me worried. Dun know should I bring him to PD tonite...

Rhys' feeding schedule
======================
4+am - 180ml FM
9+am - 180ml or less (this one mum feeds) FM
12-1pm - 7tbsp(or more) of cereal with fruit puree mixed in
4+pm - 180ml or less (this one mum feeds) FM
7+pm - 3/4 bowl of Porridge with either fish/meat + 1 veggie
10pm - 180ml FM

Can advise how u all feed cereal or brown rice to ur bb? using spoons or bottle.

Have tried using bottle but either the teat hole too small or too big. Spoon quite messy.

My bb is 6 mth+, juz started on brown rice.

Anyone can advise. Thanks

Mummie_of_Rhys

R is so cute in the video. can share w me how to cut a cross in the teat hole? whaere to get so small sissors?

my son oso been fussing. so i changed NUK type 1 to type 2 teat. not sure if it's working well.

jrt, my feeding style is the same as urs. not replacing meal, just let him try all sorts of tastes. if he can finish happy la, if cannot then nvmd loh.