(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

adeline,
huh? havent received my world map leh...in fact, havent received whatever post i requested to send to my ILs place. wonder if the addy is wrong.

lilboymum,
your avocado is probably not ripe yet. You have to choose those that are brown, firm yet soft when you press them. It should be easy to cut except dun cut into the seed at the centre.
Cold Storage ones have stickers to indicate if they are riped for eating.

coral,
i couldn't wait to collect my MEV top. Went down immediately after receiving their call y'day. The lady says that i'm the first to buy it. haha!

bbgrace
i got my <font color="119911">green</font> sling last nite. i opened it up immed and sent it 4 washing and tada! tdy i used it liao! so happy!!!!

Coral
wat happened to ur fren sounds so scary! 100K is alot of money but i dun understd wats this "exercise to option" thingy... can explain more?
wow! u in super gd mood leh! spent so much... heee... but its alrite once in a while...

lilboymum
when i bot avocadoes tt r unriped, i wrapped them in newspaper and it will b riped in a few days. as long as the exterior feels soft, its ready to b eaten. the flesh is easily mashed and i added BM to create a smoother texture but alas my R does NOT like it.

Gemini
i did not intentionally buy organic cereals 4 R. i let them tried the Heinz non organic rice cereals when he 1st started. he got sick of it after 1.5 wks and so i switched. there r only a handful of cereals tt has no added milk, thus choices more limited. i cldnt find brown rice cereals tt wif no milk... anyway i din realise the HT ones r organic. i still let him try other fruits and veggies, din intentionally chose organic ones so i guess shld b ok bah.

<font color="0000ff">Heinz Multigrain cereals</font>
a sept mummy told me the multigrain cereals contains wheat, oat and gluten, which r susceptible to allergies in babies, so she cautioned me against feeding R... sigh, me dilemma leh... its so hard to find a cereal tt he likes and yet this might cause allergy. so i guess might not feed him this daily liao. will try the HT mixed grain cereals but this too, has wheat and oats.

<font color="0000ff">jrt</font> i started caleb on the multigraine with banana n he loves it. cant get enf of it. he can finish 5-6tbsp. he ok cos i already let him try healthy times oatmeal cereals etc.

jrt,
if u r worry, start R when he is 9mths old. i will start my girl in 1.5mths for wheat when she is 9mths old. But for oat i will start when she is 8mths old and that is next week.

So happy next week she turn 8mths and I can start my pork

jRt, my fren bought a pte property, she pay 1% deposite and by a certain date she gotta exercise the option to purchase and pay another 4%, of she doesnt, the owner can forfeit the 1% and the deal is off. So teh lawyer forgotten to inform her to go down to sign and it was her first time buying pte property she doesnt know she tot it's like her buying HDB whereby signing some papers she already authorise the lawyers to act on her behalf... I got 2 new sling...hehe, made by my MUM. She only buy the rings at 40cents each and use the cloth she has to make for me. Now I hv a white with light bluen embroidered poka dot and a lilac silk one.
Though no green one, but happy liao, no need to use the awlful red one.

Coral/huijun,

hope you all are feeling better now...
drink more water, a lot of pple sick better take care for your kids.

Esther,

my today newspaper at my in law house, maybe do it on monday.. hopefully i am not too late. how's J?? hope he is better now.

Starz,

thanks thanks, D nowadays not as cheerful as she used to be... very cranky like i mentioned to you yesterday. how's your sore throat?? getting better? regarding heinz cereal, Toa payoh Kiddy Palace have, wondering if it's too far from you??? i can buy for you during weekdays if you want, my in law house quite near by. you let me know ya.

Vivian,

wow... so shiok got holiday coming for you... i am also clearing my leave in June 07 on every thurs pm and friday, chio me hor if got any play dates..

Aspialle,

sorry to hear about your dad, be strong, your family needs you. Aiya, sometime, i always feel that being a daughter always more sensitive and feel for the family. will try their very best to help. not like sons, very bo chap.
think you are not the only one, if i am you, i will do the same. to help as much as possible. i believe your family will appreciate it even though on the surface, they dun show it.

Today went window shopping at Orchard. Drypantz giving free sample leh. There's a booth outside Ngee Ann City along the walkway. So u gals can shun bian get 1 to try if pass by. If hb goes, can get extra 1.

Coral,
U so lucky to have such a wonderful mummy

Talking about Allergies,
Polyclinic nurse told me to start egg yolk when baby is 9 months old and egg white at 12 months old. She said some babies allergic to eggs.

janice,
i alreday start my girl on egg yolk when she is 7mths old.

My bb food intake :
5mths - start Brown Rice cereal and puree fruits (all organic)
6mths - start alt brown rice porridge and plain porridge and puree vege (50% organic liao since she is half yr old)
7mths - start b/porridge with fish and egg yolk (start all non-organic liao)ps: her fav is fish porridge for all food i tried
8mths - next week i will start porridge with pork / oatmeal cereal
9mths - will start bb biscuit and multigrain cereal and yogurt (still searching for baby yogurt)

Huijun/Janice,

ya.. i have also start egg yolk liao on desiree... so far so good. personally think that should test new food on baby for few days and see any allegy? if yes, stop immediately.

Saw there is no more Heinz rice cereal at punggol..... could it be a recall back?? Hmmm it starts me thinking of the coarse Heinz rice cereals i have previously...

Think my Able really likes hb more... today he call out to my hb in a gentle tone "pa pa" and looked at him leh... initially i tot it was pure coincidence but after he called out so many times... think he shld know wat he said... still waiting anxiously for him to call me leh... again.....

since we are on the topic of allergies.

tried to give CY some teething biscuits coz he has been salivating quite a bit. gave yesterday and today. this evening, realised hes broken out in rashes. so think must be the wheat in the biscuit lah. sigh. waste my money, organic some more.anyone wants it? but i stay quite far from you guys, so sigh...

My PD says to start on meat only 8mth and after. like egg yolk too.

one food theory goes like this: it is better to give very young bbs who are just starting solids the same food over and over again. coz if they get used to the variety, they might grow to be choosy and difficult feeder in the future.

what do you guys think?

Went to war today during CY's cereal time. he suddenly decided he doesnt want cereal anymore. hes decided to go back to being a little bb and only wants milk straight from the tap.

still waiting for my avogado to ripen.

lilboymum
THink most theory I heard is direct opp from ur theory leh.
Cos they say expose bb to a variety of food so next time they will not be picky.

Coral
Paisey I sms U liao becos I scared I forgot again....hehe
Btw I use Dentinox. Got another brand Bonjela(spelling dunno correct anot) But my sis says it stings if I'm not wrong.

Selina
Does Caleb still eat the same amount or more??
Becos Damien has been eating only half bowl of porridge. Normally is 1 bowl last time. At first becos he teething then not well so when he doesn't want to eat anymore I jus leave it. Now he's still eating only half bowl leh.
My mum says cos he still sick ma. He still taking medi but not coughing much liao should be back to normal ma.....sigh...
So sayang to cook the porridge n feed so little only.

hi lilboymum,

maybe CY is teething,tat why he dun want the cereal anymore. recently, tricia is teething on the top, does not want her cereal after a few mouths, same thing for apple.

on giving the same food over & over again, may not be a very gd choice, cos my nephew was on fish porridge frm 4 mths till 1 yr old. and can see that when my mum feed him, he will want to puke. maybe a week the same food, then change loh.

hi grace,

heniz rice cereals has been out of stock from a few NTUC outlets.

hi crystalized,

agree. cereals w/o milk are quite limited. esp non-organic ones. although i bought nestle rice cereals, T does not seem to like it leh. look like i also have to buy organic ones and let her try. or put her on porridge going forward.

Nestle rice cereal
==================
tried out this afternoon. notice that it has a sweet smell and after mixing, it's more coarse as compared to heniz. after a few mouth, tricia dun want it. i tasted it and find that it's sweet.
aiyo, seems like i have to change again.

hi aspialle,

old folks tend to be more stubborn ones. esp when they realised that they are sick. u just have to be more patient with them.

<font color="0000ff">jrt</font> actually i am not worried at all. again most of these come from western books and might not apply to asian bbs. also i believe so long as we dun have family history of such intolerance, there shldnt b any prob.

for me, i try not to worry too much abt such things so ultimately if really caleb is gluten intolerance, whether i start him now or later, it will still show. so...........

my theory is if i worry so much abt such things, then caleb will nv get to try new food. not that i want him to try alot of new food but compromising his health. if he dun try, we will nv know. very unlike me hor. supposed to be "superparanoid" hor...

in fact, caleb loves the multigrain for its coarse-ness cos he seems to like food with texture rather than just watery n smooth.

<font color="0000ff">hj</font> wow alot of organic hor. i didnt gave caleb alot of organic expect for the HT cereals cos dun want him to start off "too clean" in case he might not get used to the ordinary food we get after that.

<font color="0000ff">doreen</font> yes he still eats similar amt of cereals & porridge everyday. even when he was down wif bronchitis the other time.

<font color="0000ff">grace</font> u seems to be very negative hor. i see tons of heniz cereals at market place at raffles city. mayb just pure OOS. anyway i always trusted heniz cos i grew up with it so i nv question it.

<font color="0000ff">lilboymum</font> u wan your avocado to ripen fast can put it inside the rice container or bucket, i.e. bury it in the rice.

yes caleb is one determined boy but during that 18hrs, we gave him water n he drinks it like no tmr. basically i conclude that he loves n prefers water over milk. PD told me if he really doesnt wanna drink milk, at least must have water or juices so wont dehydrate.

<font color="0000ff">jrt</font> u managed to find the NUK training handle? forgot to tell you not sure if they still sell separate from the bottles cos the one caleb using now is given by my sis. she bought it couple of years back n is brand new. i know isetan dun sell cos i was looking for it the last time during the sale.

alternatively u can try the mag mag training cup. caleb also uses that some times but we prefer the nuk ones cos the bottle is smaller so easier to bring out.

coral,
Sea avenue is a good location. No wonder the owner is now raising the price.
I thought if they don't exercise the option, it's only a portion of the 5% downpayment that they forfeit? It's probably a few thousand dollars compared to the extra $100K that they have to fork out now, unless they really like the place.

crystallized,
You also must model your sling leh.
The MEV top for Emma is a little too big at the moment. Will try to take a pic with her in it.

lilboymum,
I beg to differ from your theory.
I think it's better to expose them to different taste and texture so that they wont be picky about food in the future.
I've heard quite a few friends mentioning that they don't eat a particular food now simply because it was not given to them as a child. I think humans are creatures of habit.

If you are worried that having too much of a variety makes them picky, what about fixing the "category" of food but varying some ingredients in there? Eg Cereal mixed with different types of fruit / veg or Porridge cooked with either fish or pork and alternative the veg that you use. In this way, the child will know that he has to eat his porridge or cereal but at the same time, is thankful that it's not the same taste all the time.

I think there's a difference between being a fussy eater and a demanding one.
I've been giving Joshua different varieties of food. It could be porridge, rice/soup and dishes, noodles, pasta. There was a period where he needed to be coaxed to eat his porridge cos he realised that there are other alternative food choices (his favourite is noodles). He will still eat his porridge in the end, he has never been a picky eater, in fact he's quite adventurous when it comes to food. It's just that he wants to make his preference known.
Most kids will go thru' this stage at some point in time.

<font color="0000ff">karen</font> forgot to add that i give caleb fruits in between meals if i can remember
or if i have fruits in stock to give. u reminded me that i have not made any fruits puree for him for a while liaoz cos now mostly i will give him the fruits direct, i.e. scraping from the apple or banana n feed direct.

he licked guava today n he loves it. kept wanting for more. i wanna do peach for him but seems like no season for the fruit now leh. so running out of idea what to give him liaoz.

huh...ok, will try with the cereal and different inputs. just dun wanna CY to expect new food every other day in the future.

will just wait for the avogado to ripen. taking so long leh. 12 hours liaoz...whahahaahhaa...

but for now, wheat, oats, and other grains out ... cant chance it anymore.

dun throw stones at me hor.. she did her pooing at the potty again.
She's 7mths today and was taking fotos for her when i hear her farting...

788865.jpg

selina,
I just bought peach for R last week from Novena cold storage, you can try there.
Regarding organic, now R no longer take organic stuff, I only start off with organic when she is less than 6mths old. now everything is non-organic since 6mths old when infantcare feed her porridge. it far too ex and not so good to continue organic long term.

lilboymum,
I also beg to diff from your theory. Like me, I hate avocado becos I never get to eat it when i was young, but now it is my girl fav although I still find it taste horrible

<font color="0000ff">Gemini</font>

Happy 7th months to Tricia

blur me still thinking how come tricia turns 7th months before kelicia, then i realise kelicia is going 8th month..geez, time flies!

4 more months to 1 year

PS: hehe, looks like i better start my potty training..Tricia very steady !

<font color="0000ff">coral</font>

haha, that is a good one ! even plain water taste sweet when one is in good spirits

<font color="0000ff">Adeline</font>

hehe, thanks. I go & check my hotmail now..1st time i missed 45 minutes of a movie

<font color="0000ff">Huijun</font>

poor R, and hope u recover fast too...

btw, wana check with u when u want to collect the beach ball ?

<font color="0000ff">aspialle</font>
geez, that is a huge sum..haiz, my parents also never buy insurance..but now buy will be damn ex

Gemini,
Happy 7mths to Tricia.

Is it a MUST to start potty training now? then die lar I not yet start R yet and she a old bb here

can share pics of u wearing the new slings..i m very impressed with ur mum diy slings!

<font color="0000ff">starz</font>

hehe, thanks for correcting me !blur me, still sharing with hb that Ayden is the youngest and yet can speak so well

my mum overheard the conversation and i explained tat the lady who invited us over to her place during CNY ..her son can speak so well..

then my mum was going..wow..

<font color="0000ff">grace</font>

paiseh paiseh ! Able is good ! can link teh face to the papa

my sil's son who is 2 years old called my hb papa during LNY :p

<font color="0000ff">selina</font>
i wish my K will drink water like caleb ! she turnsher head away and cries when she sees water

Congrats on seeing Kim's latest milestone

geez, 7 plus to 11pm is def an awfully long day

<font color="0000ff">aspialle</font>
u must take care and be strong ! ur dad is fortunate to have a good daughter like u
----------------------------------------------

i read in this female mag abt this lady in her 40s who refuse treatment for her end stage breast cancer, until the day her left nipple drop off and she can see her breast tissue..

that changes her mind and she starts her chemo, then a miracle occurs, her cancer which has already attacked her lung & bones went off !

Jo., will post when I take the pic.

Bbgrace, total lost will be abt 30k, cos they will hv penalty fm the bank too (the bank unwilling to give exception for their case cos bank claim not their fault). And most importantly they already sold their house and gotta evacuated by Jul. They tot of renting first, but then it means lossing 30k and getting nothing in rtn, so now might just pay 130k get the house, take legal action...

Gemini, Char also use similar potty. I bought her and expensive one but she hated it, instead she prefer the old fashion one. I actually line it with plastic bag so after every poo I just tie and throw. Now the one that will produce music after poo or wee wee sits became an white elephant. Char likes cheap things. Now her favourite tether is a 1.50 all silicon pacifier fm provision shop. If I knew would save my money fm buying the pigeons, munchkins, etc.

Delphine, why D not as cheerful? Teething?

hehe, thanks

Char is a low maintenace gal indeed !
can help parents save $$$, so u also start potty training liao?

<font color="0000ff">bbgrace</font>

the supply top sounds very glam indeed

<font color="0000ff">delphine</font>

hope Desiree wil resumes her cheerful self soon

----------------

today have to be at work at 6.30am, really hard life, $$$ not easy to earn..sigh*

then good old hb also wake up at 5 plus, so that we have bfast tog and then he drove me here

Jo
Sunday? Work? i though i see wrongly. I am trying to fix the 1st 45 mins together asking my HB for help.. hahah..

HJ
I personally think start potty early also better bah.. we started kim when she 5 mths old. thats what i read from mag. it says that start potty earlier better. also not sure true or not. but caregiver prefer letting her poo there at times.

Why we give baby organic food huh? my whole family + relative is telling me just give her everything treat her like rubbish bin if not next time she very picky so i just follow this rule. But seems like i am wrong? When i bring her out i only give her milk and at times if eating bread then feed her some. but for my aunty everything also throw to her..

Dont understand why everytime when kim comes back she fall sick. her flu recovered last week after seeing doc but now come back again leh.
now coughing abit also. Told HB cough outside room but he keep coughing in room so scared will pass to her.. zzz..

Jo., my mum started training her when she's 4mths.
But Char waste my money on clothes. Now she's wearing all the 18-24mths clothes I bought. Jiat lat suppose to keep for later but looks like I gotta buy new clothes again.

hehe, really paiseh for putting u & ur hb thru the trouble on a sun morning

<font color="0000ff">Coral</font>

high 5* facing the same problem, think sometimes the clothes size are not a good reference

somemore, unlike Char, K is not very fully grown for her age,yet the clothes with indication of 1 year old is too small for her...very heart pain that she only wore a few times and some 1 year old clothes dun have chance to wear cos too tight

SO i learn my lesson and start buying 2 years old which fit her just nice, for those nice ones i wan to keep, i bot 3 years old

Adeline,
Teah, last time those pp will give bb everything to do, it quite okay cos last time don't have so much chemical, but now things will change. better not to throw rubbish to bb.

Jo,
Will take the ball from u when I recover, wait spread to you, still coughing. I will be free most of the time ocs temp not working. Just very sway to fsll sick when i should enjoy myself.
I will not login for a few weeks in forum cos will be staying at mums place.

<font color="0000ff">Huijun</font>

take ur time then and concentrate on recovery
, just wana confirm with u cos a pal of mine is eyeing it for her child ;p

then i will sms her now to get from Holland V instead since she is shopping there

--------------------

talking abt coughing, supposed to have a bb gathering with pals & their children on Labour Day , but one of the children hav a bad cough, so posephoned.

then yesterday, my pal called me up and said that the poor kid got to take antibiotics cos now it is fever with cough and the fever keeps coming back..sigh*

----------------------------------------------

wana share a pic of kelicia taken after the gathering, captured her side view and 1st time it turns out okay

789234.jpg

felt very relieved that her side view is not as ugly as mine =p

Jo,
If your friend want it, please sell it to her.
so sorry to trouble u.
Tonite I am moving to mum house, now waiting hb to off work.

Jo
No problem with that.. i think my story is incomplete leh hahha..

HJ
Hmmm ya hor.. what u said is actually what i never thought of..

============================
Share somehing about kim
============================
Just to share something bout kim which i think is funny..

Oei!!! Why u keep taking my photo!!!
789684.jpg

Ok lah.. for this once.. i bai pose for you k?
Am i cool?
789685.jpg

Adeline,
Kim so cute... she is v fair too leh... you took alot of milk too?

Selina,
Abit negative lor... cos i keep wonder why it is flakery n coarse compare to other brands n
my A did have cough after tat ...just felt funny why OOS loh cos seen
it available at the ntuc most of the time... anyone try asking the staff?

Hi Adeline,
haha...kim is sooo cute in the two photos!!really drama. you reallyknow how and when to capture the right moments hor...

Jo,
kelicia very sweet and pretty in this photo leh. the way you put it, wah like she very ugly like that. seeing all these girly photos make me wish i have a girl girl to play with...

regarding potty training. hmm...you guys heard of freud?ok ok i may be a bit overboard here. but my HB always buys Freud's theory (me not really)..ok here goes...

according to Freud, bbs and children need to go through different stages of development, namely oral, anal and oedipal.if any of these stages are compromised, then bbs may encounter problems exhibited in other ways when they are older. so if bbs are prevented from going thru the oral phase when they stuff everything into their mouths, they may grow up as binge eaters etc. and if children are forced to potty train too early, or have problem passing motion when they are in the anal stage, they may wet their bed when they are older...etc..oedipal dun need to say lah you guys know...

i hd wanted to start CY on potty training (elimination communication). thought it was cool lah. hb stopped me loh. im more of a pavlov and skinner person, i believe in behaviourism and training and shaping a persons behaviour thru repetitive training and reward and punishment...

what do you guys think huh? when do you guys intend to potty train? (just friendly discussion hor, coz hb and i gone thru long long arguments becoz of this...)

Grace
She actually quite dark wor.. she also very hairy.. during pregnancy yes.. drink those preggy milk lor.. but will that affect? i also not sure.

lilboymum
Thanks anyway.. my england not powerful lah.. i understand abit but abit dont understand leh.. hahahah..

adeline,
what is preggy milk? you mean theres such a thing? wah, i just realise you 7-11 gal ah..xiong man. how many more years of such a life huh?

hee not cheam lah, just worried they might wet their beds if we start potty training too early. dunno if real or not...

coral
wah your mom makes slings?? can show show pix? shemight even be able to start a biz. she wanna sell?

gemini and other mummies,
hee...i do like that photo of tricia. was just thinking...all these unglam photos of our bbs. will they kill us when we show it to their future hbs and wives in years to come ... :p