(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

i'm back..today got a new staff to replace my ex-co. hope i got spare time to come in here.. hehe

Gathering
saw so many cute cute babies & pretty pretty mummies in the yahoo photo. agree...cant recognise some mummies lel.

crystallized,
count me in!! i still bf & hope can till A 1 yr old.
but hor...i wan to wean off his latch on lel cos i noticed he can recognise my boobs liao. scare he too sticky. he will lick ur shirt when he was hungry. some more he is a boy ma...

jenny,
aih...cant meet u all tat day lel. nvm lal..next time go airport must jio me again hor (but siao arr..go so many time airport for wat hor. hahahha..)

crystallized,
So we will have each other for company.

First child is like that, everything also pack into bag. Now i hardly use my diaper bag. If it's out just for 2-3 hours. I can squeeze 2 kids things in my tokidoki

You receive your sling already or not?

bbgrace
not yet laH! i am oso sooooo eager to get my sling man... i purposely asked my hb if he wanna sponsor me the sling. kekeke... he said ok. and when i asked him does he noe which sling i wanted, he said it was the sling u were wearing the other day lor. hehee... and he said the colour is nice. he dun like green, so coming fr him, i considered it a compliment.

i think its my own habit lah. i like to bring alot of things out. even my own bag is like tt. tts why i am nicknamed 'Xiao Ding Dang'!!! hahaha

jasmine
nowadays i realised R oso will start licking when he is hungry. hahaha...

Good morning... today is not really a good morning to me so far... boss has been bugging me since 8am... so tired liao (no surprises... R woke up very early again to poke me...) still have to argue with boss abt stupig things... damn pissed off now...

Anyway, I have uploaded the video of the gathering to google video (private settings) so now WHO WANTS TO VIEW IT?? Please give me your email hor... thanks.

grace,
pic make smaller still can see feature. I dun wan. Wanna crop but crop till bu san bu si, tats why I blurred the face features.

Grace, Coral, Crystallized, lilboymum, littlekid,
I reduced my pumping to twice a day since yesterday. And idiot, I got 200ml++ per pump. Why must be like this huh? Whenever I said I wanna stop, the stupid MS will increased. I've not been feeling engorged or leakage for the past 3 weeks. And yesterday I felt both. Die ah, like that I think I need another mth or 2 before I can totally stop.

Coral,
Can you pump out instead and discard if you take the medicine? Pump whatever amt you have lor, to "secure" yr MS. At least won't drop till nothing mah.
Huh. you also stopping at 7th mth ah. I tot you wanna continue till 1 year old.

crystallized,
I must say very sian one lor, whenever the tots of thinking to stop bf, will make me like want to stop, dun want to stop kind of feeling. Sian lor. So this round, I told hb I wanna stop liao. 7 mths more than enough le. Anything more than tat is bonus.
Told you liao, the pricing now very high, bo hua to buy lor. Tats why I told you I might wait for a while.
Ya, I agreed the MS will drop when our bbs start semi solid. Actually I feel ok lah, is a matter of time for weaning nia.

lilboymum,
Ya, actually I feel hor, after 6 mths, our bm won't be as nutritious as compared to the 1st 6 mths. No worries lah, bf or not is not a big issue to me at all. I already feel very proud I can bf Jas till 7 mths old.
Wah liew, if my working place has no nursing room, I won't even want to pump in toilet!

littlekid,
Of cos can't stop like tat lah, if not you will see the newspaper headlines a woman dies from engorgement hahaha... I now reduce my pumping to 2 sessions, then slowly to 1 session before I totally stop pumping. I think it will need another mth or 2 bah. Wat I'm going to do now, is to freeze the ebm that I pump out twice a day. Perhaps transport fresh ebm to my mum place on wed, so Jas will have alternate days on ebm till I totally stop. Of cos weekends, Jas will still have fresh ebm cos she will be at home with me mah. I think she only won't get to drink ebm on Tue and Thur nia. The rest of the days will still be on partial ebm till I totally stop.

Doreen,
Go airport see us lah. We din go see aeroplane anyway. We chatted and had dinner at Crystal Jade till haha.. the food we ordered, no stock. We kept laughing and asked wat other food no more liao.

Ling,
Not really wat. I dun bf Jas outside, so I bring out flask, water, milk bottle, Fm etc and I got to bring 2 sets leh. One set for Jas and one set for Jo. But my bag not big leh. I got bring diapers and clothings also leh. Just 1 small diaper bag nia.
Frankly speaking hor, I dunno why some mummies need to bring such a big bag when there's only 1 bb. My 1st time seeing mummies which happened to my 2 SILs carried such big bag, I was like huh, why need to carry such a big bag, especially their kids are not bb liao leh. Already like 3 or 4 years old liao. Just bring the necessary stuff will do mah.

Jasmine,
pai seh pai seh, supposed to sms you one and I forgot. I think the other gals also forgot, and we happily went to airport. I got home, almost 12am+ then remembered forgot to jio you hahaha...

Talking abt licking on the shirt hor, this is wat my colleague warned me b4, tats why they said for boys better to wean off earlier.

Jenny,
abt the mummie who bring a big bag when there's only 1 bb, you talking abt ME har??
Me only bring clothes, diapers, bottles, milk powder and hankies, really need one big bag leh... teach me how to reduce leh...

Jenny,
u make me 'chi chi de den ni'.. actually i shld sms u but then thinking u might busy with 2 gals ma...

is ok lal..can meet next time ma...
yes..yes i wanna wean off A on latch on. he getting smart now & think he got a bit addict to my boobs now. he will cry for sucks in the middle of nite. dun wan become his human pacifier at nite.

Vivian,
No lah. I mean I saw a lot of mummies bringing big bags, not applying to mummies in forum lah, I mean overall lah.
I also bring those leh, but I dunno why need a big bag. You saw my diaper bag right? Small small only and I managed to put my stuff inside too leh.
Is it becos you overpacked?
I bring additional 1 clothing, 1 jacket, 1 pants, 3 hankies, 3 diapers, 1 travel pack bb wipes, few packs of tissues, 1 small bottle of ru yi you and 1 drapolene for Jas. For Jo, 1 pull up and 1 jacket. Depends on where I go, then I decide if Jo needs another set of clothings. For both, 2 milk bottles, 2 milk containers, 1 330ml thermal flask, 1 500ml water. Then plus my purse, hp, misc stuff. That's it.

Jasmine,
Sorry sorry, next time. Actually I scared I forgot, so I told the other gals, but we all forgot together hahaha...
Yes, I find Jas also taking me for human pacifier, tats why I weaned her off.

Jenny,
I think hor, I bring less things than you leh, which is normal coz I got only one kid.
Hmm... maybe my bag just look big, inside not fully pack one... anyway, I already spent a bomb on that bag, so might as well bring it.. haa....
But i salute you on bringing so many things and yet keep everything packed... *saluted*

jenny,
wow..u brought so many things & still can put in in a small diaper bag? me hor..only bring 1 clothing, 2 diapers, 1 travel pack bb wipes, tissues, 1 small btl water, changing pad. tat's all.
i dun carry bag. my job only carry bb. other things is my hb 's business. hehe...

tat dat my hb mention tat u can bcome consultant liao cos u knew so much bb related stuffs. frm diapers, to bb bath and etc. hehe...all i wan to said tat u really a experience mummy even u only hav 2 kids. is it because u got so many 'jun shi --ur mum, ur aunt' behind of u?

Ok ladies,
I have send the video link to some of you based on the email you all used in the yahoo group.
If you did not receive any of my email,and you want to view the video, let me know of your email addy here hor...or PM me...

Jasmine,
Hmm dunno leh, perhaps the material of the bag plays some part also. I only buy those bag which feels light. If not empty bag already heavy, then put stuff in, more heavy.
Aiya, not consultant lah. In 2 years time, you also can be one. This is all experience lah, tats wat I can say. Just read more from internet and learn from other mummies. I agreed my mum and aunt play a big role too. Their experiences taught me a lot. I kept nagging and scoldings from them one. Some more my mum has been a bb sitter since I was 14 and I started to look after my sis when she's born, I was only 7 then. My mum is not that kind of mum who will pamper child one lor, she trained us to be independent since young, from as simple as doing housework to bb sitting. I guessed her training does help. Experience and observation lor, must see more, read more. Everyone can do it.

Vivian,
got the video haha... always nice to see the back end.
Anyway I dunno which bag is yours lah. I like those sling bags kind design but dunno why it doesn't suit me, always drop off from my shoulders, and it feels much heavier to carry on shoulders as compared to backpack. So I prefer backpack, so can hands free. I very clumsy when come to shoulder bag one.

ANYWAY MUMMIES WITH BIG BAGS, DUN FEEL OFFENDED. It is just my passing remarks lah. Dun apply to anyone of you here, thats what I see outside while shopping lah. Cos all along I just can't figure why need a big bag. I'm someone who likes to bring small bag, ke yi bu dai jiu bu dai.

Coral
Take good care of yourself
drink lots of water to flush our the toxins in yr body k..alternative is to drink lots of china barley hehe..

Jenny
I wanna do passport for J ASAP!!!!!!else i got to smuggle him there WHAHAHAHAHAHA..

good morning gals!

read the archives till blur. very sad to miss the gathering when it is so near my place. wanted to make a short trip down to see all the mummies and babies around 2pm. then my da yi ma come to visit me and dont know why diarrhoea come finding me too. so decided to rest for awhile and wait till around 3pm. then suai suai my hubby realised he kena conned by this flyer distributor, took money and never turn up to distribute flyers for him. he was so angry and wanted to go make police report. told me no time to go for the gathering. xianzzzz

will try to make it for the next one.

sleeping arrangement
--------------------

isaac has been sleeping alone in the baby cot in the room next to ours. so far he is ok but still wake up early around 7am without fail

he has very bad sleeping posture. he can make 360 degree turning in his cot and sometime his hands will be hanging outside the cot. if not, his face will stick next to the railings. i am also thinking abt changing to mattress but think he will crawl everywhere. still trying to find a good solution.

Pearly
------

superb happy to know isaac has grown a little pearly at the bottom. my hubby mentioned to me when i was in HK. very excited, rushed my work and took early flight back to see him. haha then i realised the pearly not as big as i imagine. just a bit bit. but over the week has grown a lot

new trick
--------

isaac has started a new trick which i find it very cute. he will try to stand up in his baby cot and look for his little bolster. then he will release one hand from the railing and lower himself to pick up the bolster. he can only pick up his bolster and stand at the same time after many tries. find it amusing is the look of determination on his face. when he finally succeeded he has this look of success and happiness on his face. really make my day

new toy
------

thanks to crystallised and babygrace. isaac got his new toy. he must be thinking mama has just bought him a big new teether.

784409.jpg
784410.jpg
look at his mouth, he wanna eat up the toy!

red patch on isaac cheeks
------------------------

the red patch on isaac cheeks has been there for some time. went to buy the CB cream that was highly recommended by vivian but the stock only comes in 1 month time. any other recommendation for the time being. everytime i look at his cheek i will say to him " ah yo still red red. mama has no solution" very xin tong

784418.jpg
can see the red patch on his left cheek. very red.

Weight and height of baby
-------------------------

i have long given up weighing baby isaac to avoid my own disappointment. the very last time we weigh him he is only 6.8kg. that was 3 months back. I dont think he has gained much over the months cos he is not heavy to carry
i have convinced myself that as long as he is healthy, weight and height is purely genetic. he has to blame his papa and mama for being on the smaller build. haha

milk supply
-----------
is it when da yi ma is back, it will affect the milk ss? my milk ss is now record low even i upped my pump session to 5 times over the weekend. now one pump cant even get 100ml. damn sad. Jenny and wendy, i may you pretty soon. my breastfeeding career is going to end soon. to think i just bought a new cooler bag to transport my milk on the plane. sigh....

pai seh all my posting, think everyone has gone for lunch. me secretly illegal work from home cos isaac woke up at 430am last nite and refuse to sleep, so join his papa to watch champions league. me no choice, if u cant beat them, join them and end up bad headache this morning.

Have a lot to share cos long time never post liao. bear with me okie

Isaac's Operation
-----------------

isaac is due for his opeation to remove his extra thumb on 2 august. at the point when the hand specialist told us the date, i was quite shocked. like very early but he said it is the right time. now i am actually very worried abt the surgery and was thinking if it is really necessary. but not going for the operation, not sure if it will affect his social and writing skills next time. big headache.

Shirley,
I see you have the yard right? My friend did this, she used the yard to go round the mattress. So her boy sleeps on the mattress with the yard "protected" him from rolling all over the place.
Hmm I suspect da yi ma will affect MS. Cos BM is made up from blood also. Whenever I have mine, my MS will drop till very little, like per pump can be only 80 to 100ml like tat. My MS just finished, dunno is it becos of that, tats why I managed to pump over 200ml++ yday nite and this morning leh.
Re: Operation. Personally I feel not necessary to remove. I've an ex-colleague who also has an additional thumb. It doesn't affect him at all.

jrt
he started for 3 weeks liao and tink he is teething but no teeth appears yet, keep drooling and digging his gums...have u all start the training cup?wonder if i can start him on that since he is refusing teat since i fed him on spoon during his cereal meals

i duno if he is really coughing or faking it...but i hear a few coughing sounds here n there...realised sometimes he deliberately do tat

bb food
========
today let him try spinach with rice cereal and he finished a big bowl! seems to like it
at first bought the ice cubes pack for storage...but then the nurse advice in class, fresh food is still the best without freezing....a lot of parents also ask on freezing ,she dun really encourage, she says" bb food no freezing pls, its still the best to be taken fresh"

Thanks ladies. Actually me and hb both down woth cough and sorethroat. But mine more serious, I hv white spots in throat and lots of phlegm and my ears hurt too. Doc said prob I didnt recover fully from the last episode so he needs to give me stronger antibiotic. But me she bu de to stop BF so I did take med at all. Now I'm feeling fine, slight pain in throat and ears but cough no more.

Jenny, I keep saying I want to end BF, but hor I really bu she de.

Refusing Solid
===============
Char has been refusing solid and bottle and she'll only drink by atching on...She seems to be growing more teeth in upper gum, so whenever the spoon goes in she gets very irritated and she'll behave like a mad dog and rub her gums vigorously with anything available. I'm so afraid her gums will bleed again from such intense rubbing so I've stopped giving her solid for now.

Vivian, your caterpillar on sale in Robinson. $42, but with 20% discount then 5% rebate. So it's 31.92 now. But I didnt buy. I bought a leap frog drum for Char as she loves to use her hands and beat anything she can get hold of.

Shirley, Char same same as Isaac, every new toy is like a new teether. As for the operation, if you research enuf and made an informed decision, then go ahead with brave heart. Isaac needs your courageous support. If Mummy has fear bb can feel it too. So long as you do your homework, and know how to take care of him after op., I think everything should be smooth.

I think all Mums agree it's important to have healthy bb than heavy bb.

aspialle,
Jo has the symptons for 3 mths+ b4 her actual tooth pop out leh.
You can try training cup with soft sprout. I know the phrase you are going thr, exactly like Jo's time! I si bei stressed!

coral,
same same lor. I've been saying I wanna stop bf dunno since when. But this time must really stop. Easier to go gai gai like hotel stay, overseas trip etc.
Think Charlotte's teething make her gums uncomfortable. It is always a headache when it comes to bb teething.

Someone asked who are on the pics. I was putting down the names in the blog, so here it goes...

1st row from left: Wendy and Maverick, Jolene, Coolcoolmum with Kai Bin, Kareen with Brayden, Jo with Kelicia, Vivian with Rhys, Gemini with Tricia
2nd row from left: babygrace with Emma, Adeline with Kim, Doreen with Damien, Jerene with Alexis, starz with Ayden, Crystallized with Reubern, Esther with Jovan, Selina with Caleb, Jenny with Jaslyn.

jenny

my hubby suggested to put in the mattress in the playyard and but i wanted isaac to differentiate his play area and sleep area so we didnt do it in the end. but if i cant find alternative, we may have to use this method

coral

thanks for ur encouragement. i am really xin tong to put him through this pain and when we took him to x ray the other day, the person was quite rough with him, kept pressing his hand down and he was screaming and crying. i was outside the room cos only 1 person can carry him so my hubby was the one doing it. u r right i will do more research before making the decision.

Shirley,
I dunno how my friend differentiate the play area and sleeping area. But thats how she did. When it comes to sleeping time, the playmat will be replaced by the mattress lor. If not, what you do is, use pillows and bloster to block Issac from rolling. Put the pillow in front of the bloster at a 45degree angle like tat. So far it works for me and my mum. Even if it rolls, won't roll too far

Shirley,
I dunno how my friend differentiate the play area and sleeping area. But thats how she did. When it comes to sleeping time, the playmat will be replaced by the mattress lor. If not, what you do is, use pillows and bloster to block Issac from rolling. Put the pillow in front of the bloster at a 45degree angle like tat. So far it works for me and my mum. Even if it rolls, won't roll too far

Heinz Multigrain Cereals
========================
Any mummies giving this? I'm really confused now as to whether tricia is suitable for it.
I know the previous time i posted on whether cereals will cause allergy, most of you have mentioned that it shouldn't. But hor, yesterday, I mixed the rice cereals with the multigrain and this morning, my mum mentioned that tricia's neck is red with little dots again... Haiz... yesterday weather was quite gd, so she's not sweating that much, so dun think is heat rash leh.

Now thinking of changing to other cereals, any recommendations?

Jenny
ya lor, he sometimes suck bottle then use hands to sweep off the teats , then want to suck again...then later refuse to drink again...headache duno wat he wants.Probably confused between the spoon and teat...last time when i stop latching and introduce bottle, he also confused between the teat and latching

Gemini
im feeding heinz rice cereal
my boy ok with it so far. last time my boy have the little red dots at the neck, the nanny ask me go medical hall buy "liu(4) yi(4) san(3)" apply on neck and it disappers the next day, u can try

hi asipalle,

thks. tricia is ok with the rice cereal, it's the mulitgrains cereals that i'm thinking whether it causes it.

thks for the powder. will check it out at the medical hall.

Milk strike
-----------
recently, tricia does not seem to want to drink milk, cereals or her apple. She will drink but do not finish it. One additional problem now.. just finish worrying about her heat rash, now this.
was suspecting due to her teething. can see some whitish spot on her upper gum. seems like the upper teeth make her more cranky than when she teething at the lower gum.

hi jenny

aiyah.. i should have asked you earlier
anyway.. really appreciate your advise on the type of safety gate.. ya

vivian: I really enjoyed the video your hubby took.. so interesting ya.. we should have a daddies group photo with the babies too..

hi Gemini

My brayden is on Frisocream (cost abt $6.60) can be purchased from NTUC. It is very digestive and taste really yummy) no need to add milk to mix just add hot boiled water will do.

Gemini,
In that case, you may need to stop giving. From what I know hor, multigrain is neutral hence should be ok one. But since T has rashes after taking it, stop it.

aspialle,
spoon and teat shouldn't cause confusion. So far I no prob.
But the way you mentioned is the same as Jo. Your boy's gum pain lah. If really need to, you need to spoon feed him the milk. My mum did it during Jo's time. Need to be very patience cos it is going to be a bit messy while feeding. If not, try the magmag sprout with its training cup. I figure that the sprout is so soft and dun need much sucking, it won't cause much pain while sucking the milk as compare to teat. Milk tends to make the gums pain.

Kareen,
Aiya who knows lah...
Anyway I think I mentioned b4, Frisocrem is q sweet, and usually bb tends not to take other brands of cereal once they tried Frisocrem. To add vege to cereal, you need to steam it, mashed it to the form of puree.

ted likes to be on tummy now...
784680.jpg

Kareen
im using tollyjoy food maker, so i boil in water till its cooked then scape it. Mix the veggie into the cereal

784681.jpg

Gemini, mulitigrain hv wheat, oat, barley or not? These are more likely to cause allergy, so not advisable to giv tryte earlier. Tricia only having upper teeth now ah? The interval quite long hor? Char's upper came a wk after lower. Now more upper coming, so she very very irritated. Haiz, what to do PD say this is part of growing up and told me need not try gel...Char also eating little. Milk intake abt 60-80ml per feed.

Aspialle, Ted is growing more and more adorable. Really like his pic above. So cutie! Ya, had starfruit with salt.
Between, I think maybe better to steam the vege than boil...less nutrients loss.

Gemini
I bought all kind of cereals but cannot start on J due to his phelgm so sad..Vivian has bought barley cereals for me too on last gathering also cannot start..hopefully his phelgm will clear fast..

Coral
Glad to hear that you are better now ..

Jenny
think i probably will bring J there to take those instant photo and get it done on the spot..am waiting for price list cos due to Public holiday and school holidays sigh.......

Karen
Err..it will be better to try other cereals as well cos frisocream is very sweet leh, and like jenny mentioned baby will reject other type of cereals later stage..

aspialle,
I dunno how to say, somehow the milk will make the gums uncomfortable one, chi chi pain pain like tat.
Ya agreed with, you should steam instead of boil leh.

mummies all,
got a problem.sob...
Took CY for his pd visit today.sob.he is at an all time low of 6.25 kg man...i mean, how many bbs weigh 6.25kg at 6mths???
the pd says he is a little skinny and we need t0o make sure he bumps up his weight, by either feeding more cereal or increasing his milk intake. and since cy doesnt like bottles, we tried to increase his cereal..

my usual feeding goes like that
5am: milk, 9am milk, 10:30am cereal, 12pm milk, 2:30 cereal, 4pm milk, 6pm milk, 8pm milk...zzzz

he drinks less milk during the day, coz bottles lah...so how...sob how to increase his weight...i mean, ive read the postings on weight...and hor, all heavier than cy leh...how....

sorry about this, and hor, tried to feed him more milk this afternoon (at 1 and 2pm)..end up he refused to take his cereal...sigh...sob

Esther,
I dun wan those instant photo. Very nan kan one. I going to apply online, easier. Provided I capture a nice pic first =P

lilboymum
*sayang* dont be upset k most important CY is healthy..i do agree that weight is equally important..increasing cereals i am afraid that it will cause CY to be heaty as cereals is very heaty..alternatives is to start porriage..

Jenny
huh NAN KAN meh..than i try to do it myself bah.........sian leh

lilboymum,
dun worry lal..frm ur feeding schedule, CY milk interval is 2hrs hor. how much intake he take?
mayb u can start him porridge since he oredi 6th mth liao.
i'm going to start Alvis on porridge soon.
oo..ya, my boy oso quite skinny lel..

coral, jenny
ok steam the vege hah, hw to get rid of chemical? i scared got pesticides so boil it, if put in water too long also will have vitamins loss.seems like steaming is better

aspialle
Actually hor, for food wise is better to steam ESP vegetables as boiling in water will loss its nutrients, vitamins (if any) and anti oxidants as compared to steaming..as for getting rid of pesticide can use Pigeon vegetables cleanser..or maybe wash it slighty longer..

Jasmine
hehe i remember you took yrself for A right..will try to do it and see if its nice..