(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

selina
i also use my phone to take my ger's pics.. lazy to use camera..

i peifu u lor.. if i wan to do my work n my ger dun wan slp, i will not be able to work in peace.. if ask me carry her.. 1 hand work the other one carry will break lor.. sometimes after feeling milk, already buay tahan liao

and i agree with u tat workin at home is not tat easy.. very easily we will get distracted by our kids.. n if u dun bother about them, u feel so guilty.. but if u kp paying attention to them, u cant get ur work done..

Coral & Weikuan
dun feel guilty la.. cos no choice mah.. better to suffer a while than employing a maid n stay at home alone rite.. anyway, can train her to slp in all kinds of conditions mah.. haha

when we wanna go shopping n my ger is slping, we also wake up her.. if not when my hubby is going out during morning, also will force her wake up to bath (cos i still dunoe how to).. so dun feel guilty.

selina, jasmine & coral
my ger used to cry out loud suddenly during her slp.. but when she's ard 1.5mth to 2mth, it slowly get better.. sometimes she's like playing with something like tat.. scare us lor!!

jasmine
my ger also like Alvis, her head always turn to the left side.. actually when born, she's always turning/slping on the right.. but when bring her home we change her position, left become the favorite side liao..

also worry so now we try to make her slp on the right side more.. by putting a pillow behind her so her head cant flip to the left..

wei kuan,
Joshua got allergic rhinitis which is sensitive airways. The aircon at infantcare made it worse plus when he catches any flu virus from the other babies, his cough and cold gets really bad. sometimes it's difficult for me to tell if it's his allergy acting up or he caught a virus. even with me breastfeeding him for 1 year also can't help him but PD says that it could be even worse if i didn't bf him. at least he is not asmatic and he din need to use the nebuliser.

oh yes and there was also chicken pox outbreak at his infantcare and i didn't dare to send him there for a period. Hubby and i had to take turns to take leave and look after him at home cos he's too young to take the vaccine.

try to catch up all e posts tonite ar... bear with me if this post too long...

Infantcare -
got any infantcare that's only for a couple of hours a day or not??? my boy is being taken care of by my mum.. sometimes i also "worry" tat he's not getting proper stimulation.. always listen to e same things, play e same games... now my mum already let him "watch" tv... *faint*.. but old people is like tat one lor.. so tot when he's slightly older send him to somewhere where he can get "proper stimulation"...

coolmum,
i share e same dilemma with u.. dont know want to continue stimulating hoping to get more milk, or let it naturally "stop production".. very time consuming to pump at work, when it gets really busy, worry got no time to pump at all...
my boy also got changes in his cry, but opposite from your boy leh... last time he cry for milk will start with "eh eh eh".. like engine cannot start like tat.. but now he will scream e whole house down if we not fast enuff...

abt leaving behind some milk -
does any of u mummies use Nuk bottles & teats?? i been using it all e while, but dont understand why, my boy can never suck everything one leh.. even tho he's still sucking, it seems left abit of milk le, nothing wil come out liaoz.. its always abt 5-10ml left behind. nowadays i juz make more milk, n let him leave behind more, as worried he'll be sucking air at e end.. am i doing something wrong again???
kao_confused.gif

crystallized..
hehehe.. it was kinda noisy when i was using medela mini electric dual.. but i juz switch to PIS, very quiet..
how long do u intend to bf for?? since ur supply so good.. go for it as long as possible lor... i'm hoping to do it as long as i stil hv supply, but worried cos wil need to start travelling for work soon...

tummy-exercise -
can i ask how early do you all start letting baby lie on tummy to exercise? how to position their head?? i tried letting my boy do tat a couple of times leh... he like very uncomfortable cos he sleep on his back one... but then, he stil manage to lift his head up, n turn to the other side... how?? shd i continue letting him do this, altho he reli reli look v uncomfortable.. n wil start crying after a short while??

selina,
ya ya.. i also sometimes pump til forget liaoz.. suddenly remember then quickly "squeeze" a few times.. tats y sometimes pump for close to 1hr in e office..

Guess is under FJ.. my office near Forum shopping ctr.. maybe after Jan, when i'm abit more "free".. then can afford to go out for lunch..
i actually stil hv 1 more mth of maternity leave, only took 7 weeks when i went back to work. cos end-Jan got major event, all the Guess people from all over e world is coming to SG for a convention.. tats y i had no choice but to cut short my ML...

baby crying in middle of sleep -
my boy didn't used to do that last time, but i think after his 2nd hep B jab last month (he's 1month late).. he started crying out sometimes in e middle of his sleep.. like got startled like tat...

zuoer,
i also sometimes "scared" by my boy... coz he like to stare at our ceiling fan in e living room.. last time is juz staring only... now he sometimes smile, sometimes cry while looking at e fan... i very timid one... so got "scared" by him like tat lor...

ok lah.. finish pumping liaoz...
nitez mummies...
kao_byebye.gif

Hahaha today went to perm my hair suppose to highlight and perm scarly end up sitting for 5hrs only do the perm bcos their machine SPOIL gotta wait for repair as they only got 1 haiz.. SBS man

Jasmine
Here's the address :
Yu Guo Chinese Physician Acupuncture & Physiotherapy Pte Ltd
398 Changi Road
#01-08/10/11 Castle Court
Singapore 419845
Tel: 6447 4761

Monday Tuesday Thursday Friday
9.00am - 12.30pm
2.00pm - 5.30pm
6.30pm - 8.30pm
Saturday
9.00am - 12.30pm
2.00pm - 5.00pm
Sunday
9.00am - 12.30pm
Close on Wednesday

Gemini
It kind of help leh, cos J was down with flu badly than got plenty of phlegm, brought him there to tui na, after 3course not only reduce the phlegm, he also sleep better at night from than onwards..what the yi shi do is
-first to check his phlegm level
-than prescribe medicine "yao bao" to paste on the tummy at night when he sleep and remove the next morning
-start the tui na
Its been there for 10over years moreover got alot of baby and toddler waiting for tui na so i think should be quite good lor, and tui na for baby good thing is to boast their immune system, promote better sleep, blood circulation, and to solve all kinds of baby problem through TUI NA..

Jo
Bath like what Selina say must be a quick one, and must be very warm water.. Dont know how true, but my MIL said when baby goes for Jab, straight after they came back let them have the medicine given by PD so that at night they dont get fever or even if they do will subside very fast the next day ..However, Yu Guo Yi Shi mentioned to bring J for tui na one day bf he goes for any kind of jab and as well give him a sip of pao sheng at night teh day bf too..Hope K get well soon, cos its heartpain to see our precious one sick..

starz,
no prob abt lunch. just thought since we both in orchard area can meet up mah.

i went to check out delcare at fuji tower at shenton way. they offer flexi programme, either a few days a wk or you can even choose to pay hourly type. quite good but they quite ex. but if pay by dbs woman's card, got discount thru'out bb's stay there even until upgrade to childcare.

zuoer,
no choice lah. what to do when i all alone at home wif him. cant possibly leave him to cry right and also cant possibly dun do work at all sooooo... now my arm super muscular liao. it's very demanding now cos work, look after him then still need to pump so sometimes i really contemplating to stop bfg but thinking abt his welfare, tell myself to endure.

bbgrace,
i guess it really depends on bb. really hope caleb can adapt well if he really goes to infantcare.

jo,
i using normal digital ones cos my neighbour have not helped us get the ear thermometer yet. still waiting for stocks to arrive. i just play safe lor in case really got fever than we do nothing worst.

i will bathe him cos it helps him cool down too if really got fever and after bath bb will definitely feel more comfortable. hope K get well soon.

starz,
cant help on the tummy exercise cos i dun do that for caleb since he oredi sleeping on his tummy. so whenever his wide awake, i will turn him over. only some times he can continue to lie on his tummy quietly to rest. when he tired of one side, he will turn his head himself to the other side.

yesterday was our wedding anniversary. took the opp to go catch a movie. watched the chinese show by tony leung - confession of pain. quite nice wor. abit like infernal affairs. tho' only went out a short while abt 2hrs+ but really missed caleb liao and felt a little guilty i wasnt ard to settle him to bed. guess i'm so used to be ard him at nite.

Jo,
Rhys had slight fever also the night after he had his jab. PD told us that it is normal for fever to stay for 2 days BUT NOT longer than that. If after 2 days still fever, must immediately go back to her. I think you continue giving Kelicia the medicine and monitor. If still not well, better see the PD again. How come your PD told you not to go back to him one?? so weird. Dun worry too much. Kelicia will be fine.
I think you should at least wipe her body regularly BUT quickly. After wiping, she sure feel much more comfortable one, just like us when we had a fever.

We bought a digital ear and forehead thermometer for Rhys. So far quite good.

INFANTCARE
==========
I do agree that infantcare is good as they have activities for the bb. But I think if we really make effort to play with bb, letting parents to take care of bb wun make the bb "gong gong" one lah. As long as we make an effort to let the bb have fun.
To me, infantcare is always my last resort. Maybe becoz even my close friend who works in infant/child care center also dun recommend us to put the bb in infant care too early. Childcare is fine coz that is when they start to learn and absorb fast and they are stronger in health by then. I guess there are always pros and cons. As long as the bb is happy and healthy, that is all that matters.

Vivian
I see ur pic can also see D tummy ahh....hahaha

Also brought D for 1st 5-in-1 jab on 3rd. He was abit warmer than usual too but not really fever leh. Jus feel a little feverish a few minutes than okie liao he also didn't fuss or sleep more so I jus monitor n give more water.
Than today metup wif my sis who tell me to give him abit of medi than he will be fine liao n true enough until now he dun feel feverish anymore.
Polyclinic gave me paracetamol doseage 2.5ml per 6hrs. But think my sis fed him 1ml only.

Guess what my roly poly D is now 6.98kg.

The doc was a bit impressed that D's leg are strong enough to 'stand' during the development screening. This mummy so worried he will scream when I put him on the examination bed cos he was fussing before we saw the doc but the cheeky boy keep smilling at the doc.

Thanks Weikuan, I received the cute photo of Rui-en and Rhys liao...

Doreen,
I thot I am the only one awake this late... haa... yah lor, your D so cute with that little tummy... hee...

Talking abt milk supply, mine has dropped till 10-20ml per pump of 4 hrs interval. Squeeze until hand pain also cant get much. Dunno why so jialat & I'm still on maternity. Cant imagine go back work wats gonna happen. My work place is the worse, no place to pump. Can only do it @ my desk where ppl work in & out or @ the toilet. Somemore checked my schedule, I only hav 30 mins to pump every Mondays. How to carry on BF like tat?

Sleeping on tummy
My boy has been sleeping on his tummy since he was less than a mth. That was the only position he could sleep longer. He started raising his head last mth to look ard whenever he's up, think his neck muscles reasonably strong already though his head still bobs ard when I carry him upright.

Hi vivian,
Last nite so late u still up? My boy still feeds in he middle of the nite, dunno when he gonna cut out his nite feed completely. I dun dare think abt going back 2 work, I'm always tired & sleepy in the afternoons. How to work properly like that?

My poor husband has gone back to work. I hav to rush to make milk in the middle of the nite b4 my boy starts to scream if nt he will wake his daddy up. Now, I'm wif my boy in the afternoons, really miss having his daddy ard to help.

I found my doggy an adopted family. I hav nt met the wife, only met the hubby, seems quite nice & my doggy seems to like him. Really no choice cos my doggy throwing tantrums now, will bark whenever some one walks by the door and that wakes my boy up. He also likes to go near my boy when he's in the bouncer and bark near his ears. I dun think he's trying to scare my bb, mayb he wans to communicate but unfortunately, his only mode of communication is barking.
I hope his new family will treat him well. Anyway, they live in woodlands so near my place and have said I'm welcome to drop by anytime so shld be genuine dog lovers & nt sellers.

vivian,
I have no choice even many friends advice us not put in infant care. So I want to try out for a mth first. so far today is the 3rd day.

aspialle, my MIl throw in the white towel very early in advance. She back out of taking care of char cos she thinks Char too notti, she dare not take care of her alone.

Weikuan, that reminds me, I better warn my Mum against it. Cos I remember she let my youngest watch TV day in day out. And she watch TV whole day herself.

Selina, how much is it? Maybe I should go visit some. In future my new plaCE HAS TWO CHILDCARE AT MY DOOR STEP, i LIKE THE IDEA, BUT HB AND INLAWS AND MY PARENTS ALL AGAINST IT. i'M FIGHTING AGAINST A WHOLE ARMY.

jO., Char had slight fever after her injection at 2mths. It's important to monitor her closely. Her fever subsided after 1 dose. We kept wiping her with wet towel and let her sleep in cool room and wear airy clothes. If fever never subside, just bring to see doc. Even GP also good. Cos fever in bb cannot take lightly.

Bbgrace, I'm feeling so stressed juggling work and bb tata I;'m thinking of asking hb to downgrade our house and I can be sahm. Since I'm planning 2nd bb soon.

Zuoer, thank you for your consolation.

Measuring fever
===============
I used 3 thermometer tom monitor Char. 1 in the ear, 1 infrared over the forehead and 1 digital in the armpit. That tiem I took a chart from the doc on what measurement means fever for the diff types of measurement. Lost it liao, must go get again.

Desperate working Mum
=====================
Today i so desperate that I wear my Mum's clothes to work. My Mum's a full time house wofe and seldom go out, so can imagine her kind of clothes really aunty. And she's abt 20kg heavier than me, so can uimagine how I look. But Char has been so notti the last 2 days and I have no time to search thru my clothes for thsoe that i can wear. (As I'm staying with inlaws now, I hv no place for my clothes so they're in boxes after boxes, more diff to search and my waist 3" bigger thatn before, cant squeeze into most clothes. So this morning when i rush out (hb need me to leave home by 6:30am, but at 6=am Cahr still crying for milk,) I just grab a top that used to be lose, went to Mum's place to change, wow, like bao bak chang. Can't cvome to work. Almost call in sick. In the end wear Mum's clothes.

Every night I got to sterilise the bottles, pump, prepare Char's clothes, iron my cloths if got time. And I got to do all these as quietly as possible as Char wakes up easily, so in the end very slow. But hb can't seem to understand. he'll scold me for not going to bed then complain tired. But Hello! if I can just come home and drop dead in my bed I would do it but who's going to do all the rest of the housework? Now I really, can't be bothered to reply liao. last 2 nites not enuf sleep as Char keep waking so I know I super bad mood. Now feel that hb and I not as loving as b4,m which shouldn't be the case leh. Tot bb would improve relationship,. but in oue case it seems to strain it. I'm just praying that things will get better afte Char is older.

Inlaws & HB
============
My inlaws sort of upset and jealous that my Mum can get to see Char more since Mu take care of her now. So whenever I bring Char home, they'll comment that my Mum must have not let Char have enuf sleep. my Mum must have palyed too much with her, or soemtimes they'll say, my Mum must have let char sleep too mush if Char cry. My hb better still, say Char seem to have lost weight and quickly weigh her, but never lose weight. They're just niot gratefukl to my parent's for their help lor. I feel so upset, but I always keep quiet cos i don't want to quarrel. Hb will keep bringing my inlaws out for din sum and dinner, but never cross hios mind to bring my parents out for a meal as an act of appreciation. I'm very upset, but i just bottle it up lor. Cos if I discuss matters with hb now I know I get extra emotional cos I'm just too stressed by work, bb, my Mum's issues, my inlaws' issues, my own fat body...

Posting friom my work place I can't edit the post. Funny.

Now, after I start work, I find that I'm still doing everythign abt caring for Char. I have to worry if she has enuf diapers, enuf cotton buds, etc And have to squeeze time to buy them. Hb never worry himself over such things. hiw can I not feel tense when I have so much on my mind?

My department secretary is another one giving me headache. probably cos I'm part-timer she relcutant to do things for me. But no choice all staionery got to get thru her. When I asked her for things like namecard holder she'll say she dunno what it is. When I ask her for the time of a meeting she arranged she'll say she never arrange any meeting. I jsut leave it, luckily my boss took initiative to tell her to inform me of the time. When I see her in the morning, (only 2 of us in the pantry) I greetde her cheerfully, she never even bother to look at me or rtn my greeting. Well, I'll continue to greet her until one day she pai seh!

Sorry for so many postings. I'm just too tired and got so much bottled up in me. Infact over wkend I already feel so stress liao. Now I very afraid of wkend and public holidays. Cos my inlaws like to play majong and talk loudly so Char keep geeting frieghtend and jerk out of her sleep then cry non-stop. I told him, he say never mind, one day she'll grow used to it. Hb think I very selfish to wish that pple stop p[laying majong for Char sake. So over last wkend and PH I was so tired caring for Char, and then these 3 days back to work I also not enuf sleep. I really gong gong liao. Very very frustrated, afraid I'll breakdown soon. Sop please bear with me grumbling on and on.

hello mummies..

very long din log in...hows everyone?

back to work already....missing bb.....

wah the pics of all the bbs so cute...wish i could join the gathering as well...i am staying at pg as well.....

my boy is still wearing mittens....his nails still very sharp hence didnt remove them yet....now he is sucking his fist as well liao...wanna file his nails..he will simply jerk away...how ar....

zuoer,
I'm not so worry when Alvis Sleep. coz his head always face up (not left or right). his problem more to when he awake, he like to turn to left side, we call him frm right side, he slowly turn to us, then quickly turn back to left side liao.
this morning my SIL cuddle him (sit position), his head 'drop' to left side. 'wai' to oned side. kind of worry. but i think he need time to adjust lor.
Alvis oso used to look at fan or stairs. hb & me tot someone is playing wif him. kena scold by MIL. haha...

esther,
thanks for the contact.
yesterday talk 2 MIL. she not agree tat bring bb for tui na. she said must b painful. but i think if it's really help, i will insist bring him to YU GUO lol...

Huijun,
r u using Pigeon ear thermometer? we bought one but dunno how to use. use thenormal one...

Coral,
i understand ur feeling between Inlaws & HB issues, sometimes no easy for us to be daughter inlaw & wife.
me too...in my mind full of Alvis. hehe...now only 0945, still hav to wait till evening then only can see him. nowsday when i reach home, i will take bath then eat, so tat i can cuddle him asap.

i think they are our motivation lol...

Coral,
U r too stress up liao. Hubby n u has just got used to a new life and there are sure to have some conflicts. Try to talk to him nicely instead of bottle up ur feeling. As both of u are working, he also feel stress and lack of sleep. I am also the only one to know when to buy FM and pampers. Guys r like that one and I do not expect much. He even comment I buy too much pampers liao. I did not finish my nieper and start buying NTUC brand and Sealer. He did not understand why I keep changing brand.
Why not delay 2nd child till C is more stable so both of u will not be so stress out. Plan to have 2nd when both of u are more relax so that can enjoy the process when taking care of number 2.
Regarding MIL case, no choice have to ren till u move out. If insist them not to majong will also strain hb relationship w u. Why not bring C out while they have majong.
They should appreciate that ur mother help to care of C cos it hard work. They mean no harm and are too concern abt C so they make this comment. You are mature in handing ur MIL case. It best not to confront them, just treat that they too corncern abt , but remind ur hb ur mother very xin ku to take care of C. Beginning stage is like that one, very fast the diff part will past.
Must take 3meals a day hor and take ur multi V daily, very imp especially u r breast feeding.I no longer breastfeeding, but hope u gals can continue as long as possible. Ur body will slim down in time so no worry. If u plan for #2 VERY soon, why bother abt slim down, must eat good food and wait till give birth then slim down.

Huijun, thanks for your kinds words and advice. I know cant expect much from the man. But just hope at least he'll leave me alone to handle the situation than to socld me lor. i know he mean well and want me to rest, but if I dont complete the tasks how to go rest? As for no. 2, not that I want to hurry, but my hb nearing 40 liao, if dont hv no. 2 soon, can't imagine havign a young child while hb is already lao kok kok. I also intend to bring Char out when they play majong, but hb dont allow. I heartache to see her being frightened out of her sleep and cry non-stop. I haven't even got time to go buy mny multi-vit. My body super bad now. 3 meals a day all biscuit. Cos my Mum no time to cook dinner and I rush home from work to BF Char so never buy my own dinner in the end biscuit again. But I think I'll start to plan better for next week so i can have more nutritional meals. Actually I never try to lose weight. I eat as much as I can whenever there's good food cos I don't want to deprive Char of nutrients. Even weekend I don't have my wn time to do things, got to entertain inlaws. My hb start to get very close to my inlaws after we move in. Last wkend I wanted to go buy somethigns for Char's use and inlaws wanted us to go Courts with them I told hb I'm very tired, can don't go courts just buy Char's thing then go home. he say if i dont want to go courts then dont go anywhere. So in the end i no choice went Courts with them. they shopped until very late, and Char got cranky i got so tired from carrying ehr, we didnt get to go buy Char's things. This wkend again got to go out with inlaws. I was thinki8ng of going to buy some lose fit clothes told hb, but he just give my silent treatment. Looks like he still want us to spend time with inlaws. I really feel liek crying. But gotta be strong and hang on for Char's sake!

coral,
*hugs* You have to sit down and have a good talk with your hubby before you break down.
Some men just need that little push or reminder before they realise that their wife is suffering.

Right from the start, i told hubby that if he wants me to be a working mother, then he'll have to play his part to share the load with me. During the times when i worked, we take turns to go on leave when Joshua was sick. He'll go pick Joshua up from the infantcare if i'm still stuck at work. When i'm a SAHM, i try not to "disturb" him and do everything myself but he'll take over and play with Joshua the moment he comes back. No choice, you have to voice it out instead of bottling inside.

What about putting a set of Char's things at your mum's pl so that you dun need to get so stressed over packing her things every day?
As for you doing ironing etc, would having a part-time maid solve the problem? i know it may be difficult since you are staying with in-laws right now.

As for bringing your parents out for meals, can you initiate it with your hubby? Ever since Joshua was born, my parents have helped us a great deal even though they are not able to look after him full time, so i always remind hubby of that. Looking at how close joshua is to my parents,he is now greatful to my parents and will initiate asking them out for meals. Just give him some time.

if you sell your new place now, should be able to make some money right? But property prices are on the rise, so sell high may also mean buy high later on. that's why i decided not to buy at St Patrick's and end up 2 lanes further away since the price difference was $100K. We wanted something more manageable so that i wont be held ransom to my job.

Don't stress yourself too much. Hang in there, things will get better.

coral,
sayang... dun worry. we are hear to listen to each other. can fully comprehend your feeling & situation. me almost same as you. hb nv seems to appreciate that i trying to work from home, care for caleb at the same time cos we are rather tight financially. to him it seems so ez as if i have nothing to do like that.

altho' now i try to not quarrel with him over such issues, me being me, i will still find opp to make my feelings heard. i will constantly remind him that my parents are really great help now and that they are doing all this to help us and we should appreciate. so i will always be the one to initiate to him to bring my parents out for dinner or makan or even tour.

when back at PILs place, sometimes when caleb cries, MIL will give snide remarks like "your mama & gong gong must be so scared of your cries" i will tell her nicely that my mum is very good at handling caleb n she is always the one able to pacify him and i will stress to her that caleb likes to sleep with my parents. then she will keep quiet cos everytime caleb cries when at MIL place, she carry & try to pacify, he wont stop.

me every wkend must go back PILs place and many times i tell hb i very tired can dun go, he will not happy. in the end i will still go but will end up black face then he not happy again. so recently i had an opp & i told him off that he expecting too much of me. it is really tiring taking care of caleb tho' i at home n have so much other things to do yet wkend thought can rest but still got to shuttle here & there. whereas he happy happy say wanna meet friends can go. no worry abt anyone to tend to caleb at all. taking me & my mum for granted that we will definitely be ard. told him i need my own time too. mayb u can try to find an opp to bring up certain issues with hb. also be the one to initiate to bring your parents out too. they will nv think of it themselves so we must make the move.

like yesterday, mum rushed back from work to help tend to caleb so we can go for movies n she back still have not taken dinner. so on the way to the cinema, i kept telling hb dunno if my mum had dinner liao. kept repeating until i also sian but no choice, tis is the only way to drill into him n make him know my mum's sacrifice. she cld have gone for her mj session if not for caleb & my request for movies.

guess it takes time to drill things into them. really must find the right opp. however small the opp is, i will make use of it to bring up different issues that's been bothering me. at least at we are most calm and not hot on our temper by the time i bring up these things.

another 'weapon' of mine is to cry. i will purposely cry at nite when doing nite feed and mumble out loud my unhappiness cos i know he can hear but he jus choose not to wake up... very pai sei to say this but it helps me to release my frustration as well.

momconomics
try cutting nails when bb asleep easier cos less movement. if u scared will disturb bb, what i do is i cut towards the end of caleb's sleep. ie. just b4 his milk time so even if he wakes up, at least he had enf sleep.

someone asked abt nuk teats. cant remember who but just to reply that i also using nuk and do not face that prob. mayb u can try to tilt the bottle higher so the milk can flow to the tip of the teat so bb can continue to suckle n finish the milk. no worry abt the last bit suckle cos just a bit wont have much air sucked in, somemore got the air vent at the teats so shld b ok (at least that's what i think).

Coral
am running thru the posts rapidly now coz no time to reply in full yet.

i can totally understd how u feel abt ur ILs being jealous of ur mum spending alot of time wif Char coz my ILs stays wif us too. and i travel to and fro during wkdayz to "deliver" my BM and latch R on. its v tiring. and come home still muz pump, wash up, sterilise, assemble then can sleep.

i oso feel my MIL might b jealous but she dun do it the way ur ILs does. luckily 4 me, my MIL is grateful tt my mum is caring 4 R and she noes she cant handle R alone, not to mention now tt my mum is taking care of R & my niece at the SAME time. much as i wish my MIL cld care 4 R so i dun hv to mad rush every day, i noe she cant do it, yet she wants to help out at times but i am juz reluctant to let her handle R alone coz i noe she cannot do it.

i better not complain so much coz i can feel how stressed u r at work. will try to reply postings tonite...

coral
i agree with the rest that u should not keep everything to yourself. i was also feeling very down for the past 2 weeks, can't sleep at nite, cried while i pump but hb also didnt notice. last nite i cried again and hb saw me crying kept asking why these 2 days i'm very unhappy. i told him not only these 2 days, but 2 weeks liao! we had a good talk and MS this morning went back to normal! told him i was v angry with his mum cos she insisted on buying fish for me but she likes to buy and keep in the freezer for few days while i want to eat fresh fish. the mkt is just below her block she can just go there every morning. reject her she is not happy, dont reject her then i hv to force the fish down my throat! asked her to buy "Ngor hng" she bot salmon! told him not that i want to complain but if it's my mum i can say/reject her outrightly but his mum i've to be very nice to her lor. and guess what, he told me he didn't know about this else he'll say her or ask her to take back the fish. so we've come to a conclusion that i'll hv to keep him informed and he'll talk to his mum. Someone mentioned all men at STUPIG lor, so we need to pt out to them in many occassions, just like how much your mum hv helped u guys. maybe over this weekends, after u've cooled down abit, find an opportunity to talk to him. i'm sure things will work out fine.

Coral
u really really v stressed out. u gonna burst soon if u still dun talk to ur hb. poor girl. i noe u dun hv a choice but is forced to eat biscuits for 3 meals... ur body gonna break down soon fr all the stress and malnutrition. hv u seriously spoken to ur hb? i think he dunno his poor wife here is doing so much, eating so little, not enuff rest and so stressful & still need to go out wif ILs etc. will it b better if u do not work?

Hi coral,

Wow, ur situation a bit 'jialat'. I guess it's veri difficult for me to comment anything as I'm not in ur circumstances. I agree that 'in-laws' sometimes get pretty annoying. Like in my case, I dun really like my in-laws but thank goodness my hubby isn't exactly veri close to them so my dealings wif them r kept @ a min. My hubby is closer to my mum so I dun hav a prob there. My only prob would b my sis-in-law cos my hubby treats her like a little angel who can do no wrong and simply adores her. But mind u, she's already 27 tis yr but her whole life is in a mess. Cant go into details cos my hubby might read abt it.

Since u living wif in-laws, the only way is 'ren' ur husband. No point falling out wif him @ tis stage. I'm sure things will get betta once ur new place is ready. As for showing appreciation to ur mum, dun count on it since he is closer to his own parents.

I agree wif huijun, think u shld delay 2nd child till ur new place is ready or @ least until C is much older otherwise u might become even more stressed. Men @ 40+ still can b good fathers, it's us that will hav a prob.

I hope u dun mind wat I said, juz my 2cents worth.

Coral
y dun u leave Char at ur mum's plc since she is a housewife? thats wat i did during wkdays and i stay over on alt days so i still get to latch R on at nite. R has his own set of clothings/pyjamas/toiletries at my mum's plc. in addn, i oso packed my own toiletries etc in small containers. so wat i need to bring over when i stay over r juz fresh clothings 4 work the next day. this way i dun stress myself worrying abt not packing this & tt when i go over.

on days when i dun stay over, i still am busy when i come home. since i at times stay till his last feed (which cld b 9+pm) by the time i get home, bath, its almost 10.30pm. then gotta pump and wash up etc, almost 12MN liao.

i cant bear leaving R over at my mum's plc but i noe he is in v gd hands and i wun hv to overstress myself during wkdays. in addn its simply not feasible to bring R to & fro daily. it wun work as it takes up too much time.

wonder if my arrangement will work 4 u...

i really empathise ur situation tt i cant go back to work w/o replying u...

freshpoison
ur SIL is exactly like how my hb thinks his sis is! and oso coz this is a forum, i cant go into details but u noe at times, i juz tell him, "pls wake up ur idea! ur sis is alrdy an adult, not a small young girl ur whole family think she is. she needs to wake up oso." talking abt her juz drove me nuts everytime.
i wished i can juz rattle how inconsiderate & selfish she is here. and somemore she is staying wif us. u noe how dreadful tt is?

coolcoolmum,
Just sent you the pics. Sorry for the delay.
Same lor, my feelings same as you, totally dun feel full.

Jasmine,
I bath Jaslyn and Jolene min twice a day and wipe before sleep. Sometimes weather hot, can be 3 times. Jolene will have more time, if I find her sweaty, off she will goes for her shower.

Jo,
Well, we learn from mistake. Thats why I insisted to buy an infant carseat this round for Jaslyn lor.
2nd 6 in 1 usually will cause fever. Jolene had high fever that time and took days to subside.
I'm using Cadi Thermometer.
Not sure if too late to reply to your qns.
1) If K's fever is high, sponge her every few hrs. Bath her with hot water and fast if you want.
2) Usually is 6 hrly.
3) I recycle. Wash it after each use. But I prefer to use spoon feeding.
4) Shouldn't be a prob.

Esther,
The EQ and Sealer distributor is called Irene. You can contact her at 91883357.

iceystarz,
I can't pump at my desk cos my office all guys leh, even my boss is a guy.
Well, we were advised not to pump more than 20 mins cos we need to rest our nipples lor. You won't want a sore/bleeding nipples mah.

Selina,
If you can wait, wait till after 6 mths then give apple juice. Proportion is 1:6.

wei_kuan,
See, I told you gal closer to daddy one kekeke... Is good you bring Rui En out frequently. I brought Jolene out after my confinement last time, every weekend sure go gai gai. Good lor, cos she dun scare ppl but one bad point is she will be "flower leg" (read in hokkien). If one day dun go out, she will fuss.
Well, dun feel sad lah, at least you have given 3.5mths. I may join you anytime.
BTW, where you working ah?

crystallized,
You are right, I'm easily stressed kind of ppl.
Well, last weekend is a long weekend mah, so I latched Jaslyn lor, trying to build up my MS lor. Then this gal refused to drink till full lor, suck a bit then fall asleep, no matter how I wake her up also no use. If I warm up EMB to feed her, will only need 1 feeding.
You can boil chrysanthemum tea to wipe R's eyes. It will clean off the eye shit. If not, give water. Jaslyn used to have a lot.

Vivian,
When daddy is around hor, Jaslyn is very well behaved one, thats wat I monitor. Jaslyn only knows how to bully mummy

As for Jolene, she scares I angry with her. She will feel super sad one lor. I guess my maternity leave stay at home with her create a very strong bonding. Last time, she heck care me one. Well, the difference between SAHM and FTWM.

Coral,
Thanks for your concern via SMS, sorry I dun have time to reply. Every1 is safe, lucky is both kids are not in the car when the accident took place.
Ya lor, when have let down, then Jaslyn stop latching or sucking, the milk will spray all over her face hahahaha...
Same as you, I try to do everything before going to sleep. Sleep is my last option now. Thats why I'm so tired. Fully understand what you are going thr now. Have a good talk with your hb before a huge quarrel starts. Bottling up is not a good choice.

momconomics,
Trim his nails when he's asleep lor.

Kena bump by a BMW
===========
Dunno hb and I are down in luck recently. Wed nite while we were on our way home, just at the slip road outside IRAS, waiting for the traffic to clear b4 our car can turn left, and a BMW bumped right into us. It was raining. Guess what? The guy refused to get off from his car. Reason? He had no umbrella!! And my hb was standing under the rain w/o one! I got fedup, alighted and signalled to him to ask him to get off. Gave him umbrella then he alighted and gosh man, he was like 1.8 to 1.9m tall and he told me he scared of rain???!!! Come on, he's a guy and I'm a woman under the rain! Got fedup with him and he saw the damage, he said "nothing wat". My hb got fedup with him and told him we would sent the car for repair and he would have to pay for the damage cos we already sold off the car. If we didn't sell off it, we would have let it go easily. And yesterday we waited for him at the repair centre for almost 3 hrs and guessed wat? He sent his driver to settle for him. Gosh! BTW, he's a CEO and Chairman for a local bank. And then I kena fever after under the heavy rain yesterday. Damn it!!

I missed the gathering... pretty busy these days from work....
This pix is taken when my bb is 1mth +.
Do not have recent pix... will post when there is.

637719.jpg

jenny,
luckily both of you are ok. is the car badly damaged? Rainy days are like that. Last yr, my hubby was involved in an accident during heavy rain. A car in front skidded and cut into his path and no way he could siam. So all the airbags came out. Luckily the other driver admitted liability and we claim his insurance. The repair cost came up to $30K cos of the airbags.

jenny,
lucky both od u are okay.

that remind me my car accident when I am 22yrs ols. It left a deep scar on my face. But now almost fade liao. that time also raining day and I was sent to NUH. My neck cannot move for weeks. But that does not stop me from driving leh, even still drive till I give birth. But raining day, if possible I do not drive, but halfway thru the journey, no choice. I drive very slow during rainy day till pp horn. hehe

babygrace,
not badly damaged, the upper part of the bumper was a bit bent and lower part of the paint came off with some cracks. The right side of the car bent a bit too. If we haven't sell off the car, we won't be bother with him. We are more pissed off by his attitude than the car damage. My hb was very angry when he sent his driver over instead of coming down personally. Anyway, he paid for the damages, and we were safe, so told hb to forget abt it. Haiz... damn "sway" lor, cos we are handling our car to dealer next midweek, looks like now got to wait for another week??

wei_kuan,
my big mouth lor, we were supposed to go by CTE, then I saw CTE jammed, so we detour to take Thomson Rd hahaha.. anyway just our luck lah.

coral
i tink i share similar situation as u
before my grandma hospitalised, u knw my mum stay in my house weekdays to look after bb rite.luckily my MIL already has one SIL child to look after, if not she will wonder , she stay so near us hw cum never ask her to look after and my mum travel frm Bedok...there is one time i stop latching so my boy cry non stop until cord pop out

u know wat she says, "so many adults (ie. me , hb, my mum) also look after until like tat?"

remember i reject sarong and pacifier issue? she keep asking me why i dun let bb use cos she bring up her 3 child also like tat...she feels offended too when we share with her some tings kkh teaches....she begins to be unhappy abt this, maybe she feels im doubting her ability and commented that nowadays youngsters take care of kids not like the past.

Think because of that i offended her, now everytime i go in law house ,she will comment that i duno how to take care of bb. ( cos my bb v glued to me since im taking care alone at home, whenever bb dun see me, he will cry) when bb is at in law house, my boy never cry cos i let MIL take care , bb sees new people mah, not me alone so never cry.

At first im v stressed and sad, cos i did not mean to spoil the good relationship like that..and now im taking care of bb day and nite alone, doing all housework and cook....somtimes feel "wei qu" cos work so hard for the house but instead was commented that i duno how to take care of bb.Lose confidence too... but then i tell myself to be strong, since its a new year beginning, i have set resolutions:
1.To show actual proof to MIL that i can take care of my boy well.
2. To have a big heart to accomodate her and build up a good relationship with her for the sake of my hubby

With that in mind, i have thrown whatever unhappiness in past aside and be more sensitive towards her

coral...
*hugz hugz*... dont sad dont sad.. got all e sisters here to listen..
we all can empathise with u.. even tho i dont hv inlaw prob.. e "HB problem" is there.. i cry so many times in front of hb liaoz, until i think he also "numb" to it already... we've never quarrelled b4 bb arrive but we had a super major outburst just b4 my bday... to e extent he used a vulgarity on me n i lost it.. carry my baby n cry n cry n won't let him come near me... he thinks taking care of ayden very easy... always hint tat my mum shd help do more housework since she around e whole day.. i tell him so many times its not easy taking care of a baby who doesnt sleep at all in e daytime, but he nv seem to understand.. want to try leave my boy alone with him for a whole day to let him experience it.. but don't trust him enuff to take care of baby alone... *haiz*.. now i just "ren ren ren" all e way, n do everything myself liaoz.. even housework i also try to do after bb sleep at nite so he will stop "complaining" abt my mum...

my hb also nearing 40s liaoz... last time we plan to have #2 like 1yr later.. but now seeing this situation, i will seriously consider, n thrash out all e issues with him again BEFORE getting preggy again liaoz...

abt ur problems.. if ur mum no time to cook, n u rushing back to bf.. why not consider tingkat dinner for these couple of mths, at least let ur mum get used to taking care of char.. then also when char gets abit older, its much easier.. then try n take proper food for lunch lor.. if cannot afford e time to go out n eat, then at least ask colleagues to ta-bao, or find a foodstall tat delivers food to ur office..??? i been eating lunch in front of e PC since coming back to work.. n bear with my mum nagging everynite cos she stil insist on cooking dinner while taking care of my boy.. plus my boy dont sleep in e daytime, so she very difficult to find time to cook.. keep complaining, i juz keep quiet lor...

where u stay n where u work??? mayb i can help u "shop" sometimes for ur bb's stuff or multi-vits if u near me..??? i stay at hougang n work at orchard...

jenny,
luckily both of u ok. take good care...
oo..ya. i jz called winnie, cheong choon. she is selling Ameda dua pump at $315. but she need to order lol. think will order frm her since it's cheaper. btw, do u buy ameda tote bag?

Jasmine,
No, I didn't. Just use a normal bag will do.
Talking about Ameda Pump, my hb wants me to sell away mine cos he bought me the PIS. My intial plan is to leave Ameda at home and PIS at work, so I dun need to bring a pump here and there. He said I siao to have so many pumps at home kekeke... Since he "opens" his mouth liao, then I sell lor.

Ya lor, hb opens his golden mouth liao. I told him my plan, guess what he said? "I carry to work for you lah". I have nothing to "tu" him back (cos we work in same office).

jenny,
btw, between PIS & Ameda, which one is better?
hb oredi told me tat better choice a good one, dun later 'zhao zi dou...wo..'
so, better do a good research be buying & he is the one who pay for it.

Jasmine,
I find both the same. If you ask me, I prefer Ameda cos of its much lighter weight, easy to carry around. Before hb bought me the PIS, I used to carry the Ameda out to my relatives and friends place and shopping malls to express milk.
Dunno why for PIS, I always got the prob with water vapour appearing in the tubes. So after pumping, I have to on the motor to run for a few mins to let it dry up. Then the bottle marking for Medela bottle is "invisible" type, use hand to feel can feel the markings that type, dunno if you understand what I'm trying to say. I'm used to Ameda one cos I can see from the bottle the markings for the ml (to see how much I have yield).