(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

hi hi crystallized..
ya, u r right lor..can tell that being in a royal family isnt easy..but in this case, the emperor-to-be will be the 2nd princess's newborn son instead of them changing the history to allow female to rule..actually i think the newborn also very stressful one lor..oh..now i m trying to do up the steps-by-steps manual..coz along the way, i m sure things will change..maybe better methods to improve things..whc i cant predict might happen..so just do whatever i can ba..thks for all..

hi hi selina..
nothing much we can do..at least for u...ur job is quite stable..for me, our co was sold to IBM & i m also not sure if things will remain when i m scheduled to be back aft 3 mths of ML..see how things goes ba..now just want to concentrate on the manuals & tidying up the loose-ends then see my son..i think i m too stressed up at work..i have been saying sorry to him..hope i dun get tensed up so soon..u too got to take gd care of urself..i m sure u will be able to complete ur steps-by-steps manual by next wk..

Janise,
my hands also feel very pain until sometimes the pain caused me to wake up. At first i oso tot due to my sleeping position. i think we hav to induce for few weeks lol.

crystallized / selina/ wei kuan,
my collegue told me she use 'AHEM method' till she gave birth. at the end, her bb 's head got a layer of white thing, like glue. her mum said is sperm. then she hav to use coconut oil to wash bb head for few weeks to clear up.
eee..........

Jenny
wah u eh sai man... we stopped long ago. no mood and oso awkward.

i guess the princess under stress lah, thats y baby is smaller? anyway japanese ladies so small size, their babies cant b tt big oso.

Wei Kuan,
1 kg = 2.2 pounds

hehehe, ladies, see? Jasmine proved tt i am right in a way... the little fellows really stick on the baby's head lah! dunno how they do it but they managed to penetrate the sac and create a mess!

aiyo, that whitish thingy is not sperm lah, pls lah you gals

Is the liquid (dun ask me the name of it, I dunno), once touches air, will be whitish lah.

crystallized,

really...she jz told me last week. her bb came out at 7 mths. not even 2kg & hav to stay at ICU. she still playing mahjong till her contraction become half n hr once, then only went to hospital because she never think tat bb came out so early...
she said she can feel when dr cut ..
but my sis even dunno dr cut that area lel. i tot we will given a jab b4 they cut???

jasmine,
doc will cut when we r in contraction so that we will not feel so painful. only injection when stitch up cos no more contraction liao we will feel the pain. w/o epidural

Wei Kuan,
Not true hor, some mummies still can feel the cut even in contractions. Injection is not given during stitch, unless you request for it. After delivery, about 1 to 2 hrs later, we will feel our tummy very pain like contractions due to the uterus contractions. I pain till I "fainted" to sleep hor, even with painkiller.

crystallized, jenny,

jenny,
u really good hor. still ahem-ing? i stopped like since preggie.

crystallized, wendy,
i dun wanna be in princess shoes too... so stressful. but strange hor, i thought japan technology very gd? how come no scan done to show girl or boy? must make everyone guess guess. like whole nation guessing like that. wow if in singapore, think singapore pools might allow pple to place bets on whether girl or boy

I think it'll be good to talk to our gynae for the delivery process. Cos different gynae got different practice. And if we don't like their practice we can also negotiate with them now so that we won't be in confusion during the delivery process. For example, my gynae prefer to hv me use epi, but I told him no epi, no jab. And i'll want jab when he stitch me. At first I didn't want the cut, but think it's better to cut than hv a spider wed split. My fren cut too late, in the end bad split so can't go toilet for quite sometime. The uterus contracting can be rather painful too. Especially when bb is feeding, the uterus with shrink faster so can feel more pain...
Wei Kuan, if got jab for stitching, then shouldn't be painful ba. As for the cut, depends, if got epi, shouldn't be painful, if without epi, depends on when gynae cut...

Wei Kuan,
Depends on individual. For me, it is nothing compared to contraction pains! Pain to sleep, cos was very tired after the delivery. I dun even knew when I fell to sleep.

Selina,
Ya, still Ahem-ing hahaha... In fact, both pregnancies, hb and I are doing as per normal. Must get the comfortable position lah. I read in forum some hbs found preggie wives very sexy. Haha... so I asked hb was it true

WOW, this forum is really moving too fast!

selina/vivian/Jenny
i just went to kidsmall last night to take a look, the concord one is good but the price is too steep. the sales girl told me to get their membership at $10 then can get 10% disc, like that net saving of about $15 only!

i was also looking at those infant carseat with handle, they are all abit of V-shape. like that consider as 100% flat meh? hubby is keen on getting infant carseat with handle as my fren said if the bb is sleeping, u can detach the "basket" from the base and carry it, without waking up the bb. For budget seek, seems like I've to consider the Ace carseat. showed hubby the pic of Ace carseat and he likes it. Jenny, does the Ace carseat comes with a base? The pic I saw don't seems to have it. is it really $69/$79 from CC? I saw somewhere else selling at $90.

Actually i saw a Lucky Baby infant carseat at Giant and it costs $50 only!! but there is not much cushion so i feel heartache to let my bb sit on it.

Wei Kuan
like what Jenny said, u need to monitor your cough closely. if serious have to see doc immediately. my gynae just told me she had a case of bb premature b'cos mother coughed too hard until bb came out.

Fine Dining with HB
===================
hi ladies, just received an email from Crazy Horse and it triggered me to go for a good dinner there with HB followed by the show there. Though i seen it b4 during a media party but hb hasnt, so think this is a good chance hor. somemore non-smoking. u ladies might wanna consider.

507689.jpg

hi hi selina..
ya, in royal family, i think it will be diff lor..very stressful one..actually medical treatment in japan isnt that highly available..u know they dun have clinics like us, only shops that sells 1st-aid kits..or hopspital only..i guess they know the gender quite some time back ba..but cannot reveal ba..it's like royal secret kind..ya, i think if in spore, they will surely bet on it man..keke..

crystallized,
is this cordyceps = dong zhong xia cao?
i ask my MIL liao. the ladies frm medical told her tat now we do not need to take birdnest liao. it's will cause bb hav asthma.
it's time to take this dong zhong xia cao, jz boil wif water. it's good for preggie.

hi jenny,
dunno lel. my coll told me it's sperm. haha...
if no jab, then will b super pain, rite? some more plus the contraction??

coolcoolman, my is more like phlegm.
the phlegm make throat itch so cough.
flu, sore throat cure liao.
only cough not vert serious, I will drink more water.
I will take cordyceps to cure my phlegm.

jasmine,
yes, cordyceps = dong zhong xia cao.
it will cure phlegm and cough.
it also very exp, little bit only cause $100.
I bought 15g at $100.
your mum very good, buy and boil for me.
but a bit heaty, so I only take a bit

Selina, good idea. has been wanting to go with Hb too. But only lunch ah? Weekday can't leh unless take leave. Is it valid for weekend? Wanna to arrange to go together?

wah sei... you all hor.. really crack me up with all these white white thing lah... ahem ahem lah...
BTH.. my colleague thot i siao liao, keep laughing when staring at my laptop... haa....

wei kuan,
thanks...
yeah..very exp, a small box cause $100. the lady said previous time very cheap coz ppl dunno the value, now ppl know how to eat then cause it become very exp lol.
she didnt said it's heaty lel. but only mention drink once a week.
do ur mum add in other thing?

jasmine,
I did not take any "bu" during pregancy.
today is my first time taking cordyceps during pregnancy.
I think a balance diet is more impt

jasmine,
my mum and mil did not cook any "bu" for me.
only boil bird nests two times only.
I ask the medical hall pp, they ask me to add some "sihu" and duno what (duno the spelling).
I spent abt $450 for my confinement tonic, today take out some cordyceps to cook cos I not working mah

coolcoolmum,
actually the price of the carseat is more or less that kind of price. Just think you will be using over few years.
Infant carseat dun recline till 180 degree. Slightly like 140 to 160 degree. Cannot be 180 degree mah, if not pressure on bb will be very strong when car jam or stop too fast.
Yes, your hb is right. The pro of infant carseat is, you can carry bb in it w/o distrubing them from their sleep. Also, good if you are going to friend's house where you dun need to find a mattress for bb to sleep.
I'm not sure if it comes with a base, I only know CC is selling at that price, so I went to enquiry few mths back ago. Yes,other places selling at $90. By the way, can't remember is called Ace Baby or Les Baby infant carseat.
If you are getting the Lucky Baby infant carseat, you can consider to add on a cover/cushion.

Jasmine,
Yes, cordyceps = dong zhong xia cao.
I tot this is q heaty for preggie wor. And very nan chi, smelly!
I'm still taking the birdnest from Lao Hang Jia every day wor.
No lah, not sperm lah.
Err... I feel a bit of pain nia lah... cos already very tired, heck care what gynae is going to do le.

Wei Kuan,
I think yours same case as mine. My phlegm is very yellowish and sticky type. Was told by chinese physician to stop all kinds of fruits and cold drinks.

coral,
i go check it out. i watch the show once. quite nice and interesting but have not eaten there. let me go find out from my contact and see what i can fish from them.

vivian,
dun laugh too hard hor...

Wei Kuan, at this stage you still drink bu ah? I only drank cordycep once in 2nd tri, then heard that Chinese herb can cause jaundice so never bu any more. Now only bird nest, but also in moderation. Instead of the recommended twice a day i eat once a day and skip one or two days a week.

hi hi selina..
i went once for the crazy horse performance ard the beginning of the yr..but i dun really find it nice..it was a co paid event..but if u ask me, i wont recommend u to the show..will think u can spend the $ for a nice dinner instead..cheers~

jenny

ya, the pic i saw is similar, not very clear whether there is a base or not. i'm just worry that if no base, then when removing it from the car might hv to wake to bb up.

jenny/coral

when will the uterus contraction start and how long does it last? non of my fren told me abt it, this is the first time i heard abt it. OMG, if i hv to go for ceasarean then i'll have to endure both types of pain at the same time!

wendy,
oh u dun like it? i kinda like it. find it very nicely presented though. i watched it b4 during a media party but have not eaten there b4. wld very much wanna try cos the restaurant is very pretty.

coolcoolmum,
Dun think w/o base will wake up bb bah? Winnie from CC saw me how to do it. Just belt it over in car, when removing, just remove belt will do,

uterus contractions starts after delivery, usually is few hrs later. Mine starts 2 hrs later. I dunno how long it last, cos I took the painkillers, then nurses help to massage tummy for the blood clot to come out. Then I fell asleep. I woke up 2 hrs later. Not sure if c-section can feel the pain cos c-section got epidural mah, if not will be in GA

Coolcoolmum, the contraction can start as soon as after delivery. It's not really painful. the last time i experience som pulling and sharp sensation on and off over a month or more. it takes a while for the uterus to fully contract. I heard from colleagues that the sensation is stronger when the bb suckle as that helps the uterus to contract. As I didn't BF the last tiem I'm not sure abt the difference in sensation.

coral,
checked. they have dinner set also. both dinner and lunch set valid from Tuesdays to Sundays. Dinner then can do a pre/post show dinner.

3-course @ $55+++ per person
4-course @ $70+++ per person
5-course @ $80+++ per person

alternatively, can also choose from ala carte menu (bigger portion served). above prices excludes show tickets which is priced at starting from $85 with a standard drink. show tickets can be bought at SISTICS with additional $2 charge. but strangely, they cannot take bookings now for dates after 10 sep. i asked y but the lady refused to answer. i presume is due to the IMF/World Bank meeting ba...

Selina, the price between lunch and dinner so different. Actually if the food is not fantastic there, then can just go watch the show and skip the meals.

article from mumcentre website:

If youre pregnant and youre on your way to the hospital to deliver your baby, remember to eat something first. Depending on your doctors examination, its possible that youre not allowed to eat anything until the babys out

AND the thing is, you DO need that energy to push the baby out later

>> Hospitals are somehow cold, and so bring along your thick socks and long pants

>> I personally am not into confinement food. Didnt have any (before and after I delivered Anya) and havent had any this time round too. I know of many people who really believe in its benefits, but somehow to me, as long as you eat nutriciously and drink lots of water (or milk / juice, etc), youd be healthy and fine.

>> I told the nurse and my doctor at Thomson Medical Centre that Id like to go for total breastfeeding (just like when I had Anya). It means, the nurses will not give any formula milk to the baby at all. As and when the babys hungry, theyll bring him to you.

And to be honest, I actually did wonder if Vai is going to be really really hungry considering that the amount of colostrum I had was not that much at all. Plus, since I didnt gain much weight during my pregnancy, Im always under the impression that I must have then not have enough body fat to produce the breastmilk Vai needs.

The thought of giving him some formula milk (on top of breastfeeding him) did cross my mind. But then again I told myself, I should still give total breastfeeding a try. What I sure know is: the more frequent I breastfeed Vai, the milk ducts are better stimulated too.

AND AND, today Vais starting to get the breastmilk he needs.

hi hi selina..
i guess it's really up to individual..but seems like UOB has discount leh..u might 1 2 chk with them in details..do hope u get a gd deal..yeah, i agreed it's a nice place to have dinner..in fact, when i went there earlier this yr, i didnt know that i was preggy & drank a glass of champagne when watching the show..then few days later, i tested positive..

wow, u gals r really active in the thread... can even chat at nite... i usu fall asleep b4 10pm le.

Jenny, Janice,

Dr Ang told me he'll see me in 2-3 wks time, den Mdm Chan gave me the appt in 2 wks time lor... Dr Ang mentioned my bb quite small, n i oso told him tat i feel the tightness on my tummy when stretched. he told me he hope bb dun come out too early, mayb he 1 2 monitor me closely lor...

Jenny, i like the name, but i dun 1 my gal to b teased/joked abt with her name. when ppl tel me tis name sound like boi, i was quite worried nex time ppl will mistaken her as a boy.

Hi Doreen,

i heard of this name when i was in secondary school but i do not knw the girl personally. i oso find this name very cheerful.

Bunny,
actually nowsday, many names are unisex le, so if you like this name, then just use it lor. Like in Hong Kong, Jackie is commonly used in gal's names also