(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Hi Selina

When you say "cakes from gobi ba...."

What do you mean? I dont understand.
kao_confused.gif

hi hi selina..
the cakes at gobi seems to be very delicious ahh..hehe..i'm not a cake person..but seems like i m tempted also leh..hehe..

Hi selina,

oh, there is another chocolate shop @ Katong Mall? I was there this afternoon after lunch as my colleagues wanted to get chocolate cakes from "Awfully Chocolate".
Must tell my colleagues who are chocolate xiao on this Gobi.

Hi vivian,

seems like your laptop is also telling u to take a break since it "woke up" after the dose of caffeine.

Coral,

aiyo, you never see the ugly line ah...
Think put 1 whole tub of powder also no use...
like blueblack like that... super ugly.
And cannot get rid one somemore...
so everytime i see those nice nice tummy shot... so envy... like selina's one... sob sob...
everyday bathe hor, just dun want to see my tummy in the mirror. Worse than stretch marks... which i also have... yucks...

Sigh... i always got ppl comment that I dun look pregnant lor... they thot i put on weight only. Come to think of it... they are saying it becoz i originally alrady very fat lor... so now i gain a bit a weight, they thot i just put on MORE weight instead of preg... whatever it is, still like an insult like that... so sad...
Think the only thing I happy is that they told me my face never change, esp. my nose... haaa... hmm.. maybe it is already the maximum size... sigh...

wtan,
if u have time, just make a trip down. they offer samples to try. me too not a great fan of chocolate but chocolate n normal walnut cake, think i will choose chocolate lor
they are really nice, very very soft.

gemini,
the shop is at level 3. go check it out ba. i like it cos i think it is different lor.

Jenny, jackiejon,
Actually i not very close to my relatives. IF dun invite them and then give them cake, like "forcing" them to give ang bow. I might decide to "act blur" unless they give me ang bow first, then boh pian.. Last time i married also didn't invite any of them. But they gave ang bow, so boh pian got to give them cakes..

Vivian,
u can take the photos and then use computer program to "delete" the ugly parts lah. Wedding studios always do that.

Selina,
saw the Hog's breath restaurant on TV that day. Rememebered they have a very child-friendly place called "pig pan".

some websites said that our tummies become hairy because of hormonal changes. And there'll be a deep line running down the tummy. So it's normal lah. Mai4 kia1.

Vivian, you very cute, nose at maximum size.
Then try to take black and white ba, usually balck and white pic will not show, or take without flash and in a dim setting. can see the nice shape without the lines.

janice,
yes. the pig's pen is where they propose to us. but dun think can fit the play area cos then wont have enf space for the adults... tt is only if u dine at the restaurant than your kids can go play there. if we using that space, dun think they can still do that.

Coral,
Same lah, i oso body short but long legs. nvr passed my sit-and-reach in school one. hahaha

think oso coz u r slim, so u tend to look taller.

Selina
i think u too hard up on urself lah. u look v slim to me leh, even now in pregnancy. dun look like u gained alot of weight. i am surprised u say u were nvr under 50kg, coz i think u looked as if u weighed ard 45kg only.

wah how come tt coll so crude one? she tried to sound as if she was complimenting u on ur speed of walking but in fact was like highlighting u r not tall. KNS. tell her u r not considered short either hor. so far only my hb & 1 ex bf called me shortie, and i get v angry.
i am not v tall but i am definitely not short.

Jenny
so u selectively give out cakes to guests whom attended the full mth celebrations? but how to give tactfully so tt u dun offend the other guests tt goes away w/o any?

i was intending to distribute to my colleagues. but when shld i go back ofc to distribute ah? aft my confinement? dunno how to settle my colleagues leh, coz i dun intend to invite them to the baby shower since my hb's side of relatives r simply more than enuff to jam up the plc.

Vivian
Glad to hear ur laptop is 'alive' again. hope it stays tt way.

hehehee, my tummy oso got 1 line of hair neatly lining up to form a faint line. v cute leh. not really visible in photos but u gotta see it close up.

i dun think its a compliment lor. some pple r juz so tactless.

Wendy,
yah its amazing when time juz seems to fly when u r on leave. but nvm at least u had a day off.

crystallized,
What i do is to offer only 1 side to bb when i feed and he'll empty it. And cos he feeds so frequently, when it's time for the next feed, he'll feed from the 2nd breast but the first one will not be v full yet, so won't leak.
But in the event when the time between feeds gets dragged longer, the other breast will leak. If i'm home, i'll tandem feed and pump. it takes a bit of practise but it's do-able. if you're outside, then bo pian lor, just use tissue to soak but it's such a waste.

i looked after my boy on my own after CL left. During the day, i didn't have much time to wash and sterilise pump and bottles, or wait for the milk to be heated up. Besides, my boy didn't like me to bottle-feed, so long as i'm around, he would prefer to be breastfed, so i didn't pump after each feed.

crystallized,
as for distributing cakes to colleagues, i did it when my CL was still around, at least she could stay home to look after my boy while i went out for a short while.
Actually no need to invite them for the party unless u r v close to them. i seriously don't mind not being invited cos weekends are v precious to me and i don't want to end up feeling obligated to go.

jackiejon,
My mum not very sure. She asked me to check with my aunt on Sun. I will ask my aunt for you on the celebration issue and let you know again.

Selina,
Actually for my No.1 full mth. Cos the buffet cost is q ex, so I choose a cheaper full mth package from Choz. $5.50 per box for the economy pack lor. This round, I will be getting the bundle of joy which is $8.50 per box.
So you can consider giving full mth cake that is cheaper lor, since already invited them for the buffet.
Personally, I dun like voucher also. Like wat you said "bo sim" like tat lor. Gobi has nice package but cost is too high for me. I have more than 100 over boxes to order from.

Janice,
If you decide to "act blur", eg. only give full mth cake if they give ang pow, then you have to get voucher. Cos full mth cake need to order few days in advance. Since when you married that time, your relatives got give ang pow, this time should be the same bah??
That deep line running down the tummy got a name one, but I forgot wat is it called. It will disappear after birth one leh. Amazing hor?

crystallized,
No No, I din selectively give out the cakes lah. I gave to all who attended the full mth celebrations. Include relatives and friends.
I mean I attended some full mth celebrations from friends/colleagues, they only give to relatives lor.
Personally view hor, if want to give, give all. If not, then dun give. Cos like what you said, how to give tactfully w/o offending other guests. I find it pai seh to give relatives only and dun give friends lor.
You should go back office to distribute the cakes on the actual date of bb full mth or 1 to 2 days earlier. NOT later. Eg. If you give birth on 01 Oct, bb's exact full mth will be on 01 Nov. So you go back office on 01 Nov to distribute cake. If the actual full mth date falls on Sat/Sun/PH, then go one day earlier. Full mth celebrations should celebrate before the actual full mth date also. Eg. 01 Nov is a Wed, you either celebrate on 01 Nov or 28/29 Oct if you wanna a weekend celebration.
For colleagues, you can order some goodies for the whole dept to share or give individual a cake each. Up to your budget.

Selina,
Actually it's up to each individual's preference on whether to give cake vouchers or the actual cake. My parents' side prefer vouchers cos more it's more flexible whereas my MIL prefers giving out boxes of cakes. So i just did whatever they wanted.
As for colleagues, i brought some cakes to be shared and gave out vouchers to those who gave me gifts. Just make sure u have some spare vouchers in case some pple give u the gift last minute. That's the good thing about vouchers, can buy extra and keep for yourself if u don't finish them. But for cakes, you have to be more accurate in estimating the numbers.

As a receiver, i personally prefer receiving vouchers. Cos there are times where i need to go out after work or be out for meetings and then go straight home, i wouldn't want to be lugging a box a cake around. Having vouchers mean i can choose to eat the cake whenever i want. To me, i don't find the giver bo sim. In fact, i've seen boxes of cakes left in the pantry fridge cos either the receiver is not in office that day or forgot to bring home.

hi jackiejon,

have PM u.

I have also got a line running down my tummy and only recently realised that it's getting hairy.

I personally prefer to receive vouchers too. I can choose to get the cake whenever I want.Vouchers are more convenient...

<font color="119911">{hi hi ladies..
me just went to see gynae today..heehee..very happy to be able to see my boy..so excited..also bought my parents along..my boy is like 1.839kg at 32wk5days..as for me, i really gained 2 kg lor as i expected earlier coz my water retention came back &amp; also my constipation has worsen...i think i got to solve the constipation part b4 things can get better for me..i realised that my intake for salt &amp; sugar is quite "choked up" esp with both the water retention &amp; bad constipation..so i got to be more hard-working to watch my diet man..</font>

hi hi jasmine..
very nice to be able to meet up with u in person at dr koh's clinic..but pie-say..didnt have much time to chat much with u..do hope the next visit (2 wks later), we can chat more ahh..hehe..apparently, dr koh was very surprised that we both knew each other via forum &amp; also shared the same EDD &amp; gender for the baby..haha..it's such a small world ahh..but i was telling him lor..dun think we will both deliver at the same time lah..hehe..

hi hi selina..
wow...like very tempting leh..heehee..cannot lah..me now dun want to eat too sweet also lor..kekeke...was actually tempted to eat mooncakes..but now aft the appt..i think i better change my mind..

went to check up last nite. bb growing well, now is 1.724kg. compare to last visit, this round i gain 1.5kg in 3 weeks, total gain 9.5kg since pregnant. still can eat more to let bb grow...hehe. nice to meet wendy there, our gynae is surprised tat we knew each other thru this forum, &amp; we share same edd. hehe....

hi hi wendy,
gd morning!! didnt noticed ur sms. nice to meet u too. i think u didnt noticed it's me, rite? pai-seh, i keep looking at u &amp; wanna confirmed it's u coz saw u in the pic tat selina posted here.
yeah...i think everyone in the clinic was surprised tat we know each other, somemore thru forum. when is ur next appt? mine is 01/09. do hope to meet u again. oo..yes. u hav very gd complexion. really envy u lel.
who knows we will deliver on same day lel? hehe....
rgading constipation, i had very bad one last month. &amp; i told u tat dr. koh gav me a bottle of syrup for tat. but i didnt take &amp; i eat more &amp; more fruits (especially guava coz contain very low sugar &amp; it's high fibre) and oso make sure drink big cup of water in early morning. u might try this.

i will give out cakes to everyone, may not have celebration at home. maybe only invite only my good friends to my home one of the days.

492101.png

hi hi jasmine..
ya..nice to see u there..u r right..i wasnt sure it's u bcoz i was early for the appt..haha..my next appt is 01/09 as well..i will be there at the earlier slot..7.30pm..hehe..so we can meet up &amp; chat more this time round..keke..luckily u can noticed me coz if not, i wont know it's u leh..me got lotsa of blackheads &amp; open pores..maybe concealed well..haha..ya, aft u left..they are all very surprised that we got to know each other in the forum &amp; i also told them that u r the one that recommended me to dr koh..wow..really envy u, coz u only put on 9.5kg thruout..indeed u can eat more so that bb will grow more..glad to hear that ur boy is growing well as well..dr koh got say bb follow me (big-size) coz my mum told dr koh that i was 3.45kg when born..so he did a calculation and said bb follow my size..me already put on lotsa weight..somemore my urine got sugar leh last night..but i dun think i drank anything sweet leh..so now i think i will just drink plain water..nothing else..coz maybe my body's intake of sugar is "too good"..even i didnt eat or drink sugary stuff also will have sugar lor..aiya..i forgot to ask abt the constipation syrup this time round..let me jot it down now &amp; will chk with him the next time round..u ate alot of guava ahh..okok..i will eat more guava this time round..do u also take the sour plum powder or just plain guava?thks..

I survived my JB trip yesterday with my 2 gal pals ; p &amp; had a most eventful days

Have a great time catching $2 movie , i.e Garfield 2 at Cathay CitySquare =p
had a good time shoppig for baby's clthes , bot 3 sets of bb clothes (got mickey mouse ones) at 10 bucks
catching up with my pals over secret recipe main courses with 3 pieces of secret recipe cakes at less than 12 bucks each =)

selected my pics yday as well at dawn wedding as well but can only collect in late sep (the earliest) so no pics to share

ended the trip with 3 boxes of Season Mooncakes at 50 bucks ..they have italian coffee, lychee favour etc

Hi Coral - I just pray I can do the BF..my jc mate astopped after a month cos no enuff milk..

Hi Selina - thanks for the books' title..nice that you have catured the progess of ur tummy =)

here's one (minus my head) taken at 31 weeks..
492121.jpg

hiaz , just to share , had another hard fall in the toilet again yesterday..then bb refused to move after that despite hubby talking to her for an hr plus...

luckily start moving again this morning

wendy,
em worse arr...so many pimples. yeah...i think frm now i can take more food to le bb grow. hehe...
oo...then no worry lel coz showed tat ur boy is followed u as big sized bb. did ur mum told u tat r u natural birth or c-section?
yes, the guava do help &amp; dun worry, guava didnt contain sugar coz it's the fruit recommended for diabetis patient. i eat plain guava instead of put the sour plum. my FIL bought a lot at home when they went to bangkok last week.
the nurse there all very nice, especially kelly. did she explain to u about the ward at raffles hospital. i sill haven decide which bedded wanna take bcoz there are so many charges beside wad charges. i checked wif her liao, raffles hospital didnt provide anything lel. so, we hav to bring on our own lor.

hi hi jo..
wow..u very steady mum leh..go jb at this time somemore but gd that at least u enjoyed urself lor..i think i envy ur courage man..salute u leh!dare to take nude photos..can show ur bb next time round..cool!

hi hi jasmine..
actually i didnt noticed u got lotsa of pimples leh..but u &amp; ur hubby really got "fu-qi" look lor..can tell u both very loving ahh..ya, eat more ba..since u got more allowance also..okok..i will take more guava frm now onwards..thks..thks..ya, kelly is a very nice lady..in fact i find that she shd be at the hospital to learn more things lor..coz she just came back from australia with her nursing knowledge..but she's very nice..actually i wanted to find out more abt the charges but yest my mum was in a hurry to go off for her ktv session..so i only got kelly to brief in slightly &amp; went off liao..ya, raffles dun give anything at all..think only some milk samples..so we got to bring everything ourselves..

jo, be careful and keep the toliet dry.

anyone here start to have ms? i vomit my lunch and dinner yesterday, wonder y.
have a good sleep yesterday and feeling okay now, only slight headache

hi jo,
wow...envy u lel. go jb hav ur sweet time. me so long didnt go there liao. nice nude photos...is ur hb took for u, rite?
be more careful hor....me oso very careless one, must always remind myself to be more careful..

hi wendy,
u r the 1st one said we hav 'fu qi' look lel. hahaha...is it bcoz of our wear? even dr koh oso laughing last nite..hehe.
u can check more details on tat wif kelly during next appt. no hurry....

Hi jo,

salute u. still have so much energy to do so many things in JB. Me nowadays shop for 1 hr, cant take it anymore.

Must be more careful hor. I nearly slipped once when I was washing the toilet last mth. So now, when i wash the toilet, i will hold on to something.

I have a BRAND NEW Tiny Love Symphony-in-Motion Mobile which was purchased recently for sale. I realised that the mobile does not fit my playpen. It suits a cot better. The box has been open. Other than that, everything is left intact. My friend said the musical mobile has helped her child to sleep. It's definitely a good purchase!

I am selling the mobile for $90 (a discount of $9). Please email me at [email protected]. Self-collection at Hougang Street 51.

hi wei kuan
coral also suffers MS, saw her at kkh just nw, she also vomitted, she says 3 rd trimester some preggy will have ms again

hi jo
salute to ur courage

hi wendy
try avoid taking too many carbohydrates rich food, e.g. potatoes ,rice, noodles

the carbo tat are not absorbed will turn into sugar thus bb will grow bigger..the dietician says not to eat more than 1 medium bowl of rice for a main meal, if u happen to eat potatoes in tat meal then u can cut down on rice intake. Condensed milk, oily fried food is a NO NO too....

hihi mtb
i just got my bb cot delivered, bought from CC. i ordered lucky baby cot but realised the actual bed delivered did not come in box named lucky bb, the person stick a "lucky baby sticker' on the bed , however my hb told me when he saw the real lucky bb cot in shopping mall, it was v heavy, the one delivered to us is quite light and the white painting is not v nicely done too.
we are wondering whether they have charged us $300++ for the bb cot under lucky bb cot pricing but the actual product may be cheaper ones???

Wei Kuan
U r rite..my toilet has a wet puddle...din see, so trip &amp; fell...

Wendy
awful stretchmarks on the other side, luckily one side dun have YET ; )

jasmine
yupz, hubby took that one..that's y not properly covered =p the studio ones better covered

Gemini
hehe..i still like shopping &amp; eating

Coral &amp; WeiKuan
geez, i tot ms for first trimester is bad enuff ! Mine was so bad that i was hospitalised twice..can't imagine having that again...

aspialle (aspialle)
geez, i am thinking of getting fr CC next weekend when i go SGH...but if they are not reliable, i wun dare now

bbgrace &amp; jenny
thks 4 sharing ur experience. i oso dun mind not being invited to baby showers, coz sometimes really feel obligated. and though the location is out of plc, still hv to travel there.

will think abt it then. coz i got muslim colleagues as well, so everything gotta get halal one. and some colleagues i dun feel like giving coz not really close wif them but quite paiseh if i leave them out. headache.

jenny,
noted tt the cakes muz b distributed early, its like bdae rite? either celebrate early or on the day itself. hardly got pple celebrate belated ones.

Wah jo! @_@

aspialle,
Yah some unfortunate ones will hv MS again during 3rd trimester. me lor. i kena..
but gynae says its normal and since its not as bad as the initial few mths, so still bearable.

hi jo
maybe me n my hubby is too paranoid, but their service quite good lah...somemore they got delivery service more convenient

wats ur EDD?

crystallized,
There's also some colleagues who I dun feel like giving the full mth cake, but becos of work liaising, I still give lor. Make work easier in future lor.
Ya, cake must distribute early.

jackiejon,
Regarding the issue on the full mth and birthday celebrations hor, my aunt said should be ok. As long as parents are comfortable, then just proceed.

Jenny,
actually when i got married, didn't inform relatives. But my Dad passed away 3 weeks before our wedding, so they got to know..

need to distribute cakes to colleagues before full month? But i tot we supposed to be in confinement for 1 full month, cannot go out? Except the follow checkup for us and baby(er..few days after delivery?)

hi hi jasmine..
maybe partly bcoz of wat u both wear ba, but can tell that ur hubby is someone that dotes on u alot lor..hehe..ya, i think my next appt then i will chk more things with kelly again..hehe..

hi hi aspialle..
icic..okok..thks for ur reply..ya, but me realised my body's intake of sugar &amp; salt is "too fast" liao..so even if i only eat once on carbo stuff..also will affect me..i guess diff pple's body react differently..esp when i also have very bad water retention..i can see from the mirror that i m bloated up almost everywhere in me..of course feets is the more obivious part..how come ur cot is light?did u try to chk it out with CC?

hi hi jo..
oh..urs is one side got stretchmarks only ahh..me is the whole lower part of the tummy..i guess hard to prevent also even if we apply cream as much...if will have, will have one, cannot hide...

went for my gynae visit on Sat. 31wk5days and gal is abt 1.8kg. Think she's a big bb as well. I've put on another 2k now at +14kg. Gal has turned her head down too. And think the golf ball in her heart has disappeared too.

Falling down
============
we're prob not so good at balancing ourselves now, so better be carefull when we walk, whether wet or dry ground and also be careful of steps. I have 2 other preg friend who fall during late stage of preg so guess we just have to be extra careful.

Morn Sickness
==============
Mine seem to come back since last wk. Threw up a couple of time. Yesterday was worse, threw up a few times in a day. Endure...8more wks to go.

Dream
=====
Last night I dreamt of the entire process of giving birth and that I delivered when my hb is at work so went thru the pain and all alone and when gynae asked me to push I was too weak to oush in the end the mid-wife helped me to pull bb out. Then I dreamt that i had difficulty to get bb to latch on and she also refused to suckle. So funny. Then I dreamt that I gave birth to a 2nd bb who happen to be a gal gal too. So ambitious, first one not out yet already dreaming of 2nd bb.

Water Retention
===============
Opps, just realise I got the wrong info. Gynae say drinking more water actually wont help ease water retention but will worsen it. However, he say we need the water now, so no point avoid water. Just drink as epr normal. As for salt intake, he say lower it will help to ease WR but very minimal. WR is cause by the hormones like progesteron. So he say just bear with it lor. When I asked if lifting my legs help, he say it'll just move the water to other body parts like the butt, etc. But not removing them from our body...So just have to wait till after delivery to tackle this issue ba.

Jackiejon, the first thing he said when I went into the room was"You'll deliver before I leave." Hehe, I told him yes I heard. And he said he only announced it on Thurs and quite a few of us heard already. then I told him, it was you who told me. So he was oh...

Epidural
========
Told my gynae my decision to not use it. He was prob a little disappointed cos he say most gynae prefer patient to use it as we'll be more controlled. So when they ask us to push we'll push. And not be in pain and lose control. But he respect my decision to try without epi.

Cordblood
=========

Janice,
Not really lah. I know some mummies actually went out shopping. Well, try to stay at home lor, but if still need to buy something, still have to go out right? Actually not so particular one lah.
For my No. 1, the full mth day falls on Tue, so I went back office to distribute the cakes on that day itself lor.

jackiejon,
Welcome.

coral
its funny that gynae say more water will cause water rentention coz wat i read up suggests the opposite. anyway wat uy gynae said is true. its based on our hormones. i dun think i can ever cut down on my water intake. no water=no life 4 me. hahaha

Jenny
i am collecting my mooncakes tdy leh. let u noe if its gd aft tt.

hi hi coral..
nice to hear that ur girl is growing well..so happy for u..hehe..did u tell gynae that ur MS came back?hope u r eating well also..oh, u signed with Stemcord ahh..gd for u also..at least get it sorted out also..cheers~

<font color="ff0000">hi hi ladies..
i had a bad dream last night..duno how come i will end up sleeping near a river..then a box floated passed me..inside the box, there's this residue of the tissue of the dead bodies after being burnt (those bones pieces etc but just one piece only &amp; some books), aiyo..i really duno how come like that leh..was quite bothered by this dream...if fact, i went to loyang tua pek gong temple to pray last night aft dinner with in-laws..then go back have such a dream..i hope everything will be smooth for me..</font>

crystallized, tats what I tot too. Should dirnk more water, but my gynae and some pple told me the opposite. But anyway, gynae say no need tocut down on water We need the water. I also ordered some mooncake, but has been resisting the collection. I hv the vouchers with me now, will probably collect during the last wk of Sep so i can eat them before I go deliver.