(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

jackjon, this time round i am not getting massage lady, maybe will get it only after second pregnancy.

coral, my colleague who have just given birth also have very bad water retention, but when she was on breastfeeding, slim down to almost pre-pregancy during the 1mth only. she did not have massage lady.

selina,
thanks..
. i think my hb will face the same problem as ur hb. for me, confirm dun hav tat problem coz me not even 1.6m. hahaha...

hi jackiejon,
will ur frend worker come oover to ppl hse for post natal massage. me oso haven get message lady yet.

slimming down after pregnancy
=============================
i believe a lot is due to individual body metabolic rate ba... the younger you r, the better your metabolic, the faster one can regain pre-preg figure. i heard others mentioned that bfg doesnt do much to change their figure at all so think it depends ba. but one thing i strongly believe is wif gd diet and exercise n of course determindation, sure can achieve one. the massage is mainly to help ease the retention n to tighten any loose flesh etc.

Hi Wei Kuan

Your colleague so lucky. I dont think I will be able to slim down so fast. So far my this pregancy I have put on about 17kg (I now weight about 82kg before my miscarriage last year I weight about 65kg).

I am determined to go down to the weight before I had my son (which is about 60kg) but I think I will need alot of determination to do that.

Hi Jasmine

Yup, usually for post natal massage, the massage lady will come over to your place.

What my best friend (gal friend) told me was that normally you can start on the post natal massage about 3-4 days after delivery but if one go for c section than you have to wait for at least 2 weeks before you can start on the post natal massage due to the wound.

Selina, my colleagues tease me, say my home's fridge must be full, that's why I carry 2 water melon in my dress to walk around. many tot I'm delivering liao and were shocked that I have 8 more wks to go.

Jackiejon, thank you. Will PM you if I decide to get massage lady. My malay colleague also wanted to help me find out. I'm still thinking if want or not lor cos my skin very sensitive. But with my bad water retention I think netter to get massage. last year I put on 12kg during my 6th month but some how lost 10kg within the 1st month (maybe depression cause one to lose weight), not sure if this round I'll be able to lose so easily or not...

Hi Selina

Ya, that happened in October 2005 last year.

I was in my 3rd month and all of a sudden the baby heart beat stop

So this time round, I am extremely careful.

jackiejon,
mine the heartbeat stopped at 8wks but only realised at 11wks. anyway, all past. let's focus on wat's in us now ba...
me too extremely careful tis time round. am sure our angels are watching over us in heaven.

coral,
2 watermelons? u so funny.

coral,
think depression either get u losing weight or putting on. i seems to put on more after my miscarriage. i went into a state where i tell myself what's the point of having a healthy body hence i stopped exercising n ate very unhealthy food. so i opposite from u... think of it quite scary lor...

Coral u still have pretty features so ur photos looks great, as for me , i feel that i look ugly after pregant, esp my face...some of my old frds who never see me for long time cannot recognise me...i look a bit round esp nose

ihaven been taking pix then, feel that im so ugly

do u all find tummy shape changes like everyday?
e.g. suddenly right side of tummy bunching out more, next day changes again? do u all feel a bit cramp type of pulling pain at certain side of tummy? i wonder if tat is due to bb moving

aspialle,
my tummy will change every now and then when my boy squeeze to one side, esp my right side. then will see tummy like lopsided. this can happen many times a day.

i had quite intense cramps at vaginal area last nite. today so far so good.

Hi Selina

With regards to your cramps at the vaginal area, remember to ask your gynae when you see him/her the next time.

Hi Wei Kuan

You so funny heeheeheeheehee

Wei Kuan, my breast only two grapfruit. My tummy is the big one. My colleagues said over the wkend it just ballons.

Aspialle, I think cos you're carrying boy that's why your nose get round. I see that happen to many lady with bb boys. Our tummy change shape as bb moves, so no worry. I think the cramp either bcos of bb's movement or the practice contraction...

Hi Coral & Aspialle

The other time when I was expecting my son, my nose was round.

Now I am expecting a gal, my nose also round?????

jackiejon,
the pain was quite intense and comes on and off within a hour period or more. was abit scared at first but then my boy still actively kicking n moving so just went to bed early instead. so far so good now. no pain today. but i will check with gynae next visit also. he will sure say 'normal'

Jenny
Wow! din noe there is such a story ongoing! WOW! more than $10K involved! @_@ goodness! yah i think when things got so messy, might as well dun get involved.

Now its abt $20 more lah. aiyah in tt case, juz wait till i need and pay lor. else so troublesome. somemore i read the shipment takes time to come.

Coral,
Heee, i dun care lah. juz take at the same plc, same pose every wk. its mainly to show how my tummy progresses. anyway hor, took pix at home, my hb alrdy grumbling how come i muz take every wk. if we go out and take pix, all the more he will grumble.

Yah agreed, ur hse looks really lovely & serene.
cant rem why u shifting out leh. but i noe its to move in wif ILs rite?

Hahaha, u r not alone, many coll asked me when i am gg on leave, thinking i am gg to pop v soon. when i said another 1 mth+ more, they oso shocked!

Selina
Now my tummy got fight wif u liao lor.
told u all mah, suddenly ballooned aft 28 wks. its getting impossible. many pple asked me when i am gg to deliver, thinking its juz the nxt 2 wks tt i will deliver liao.

btw how tall r u ah? How abt Coral? coz u gals looked really tall in the grp photo.

U tian shen so slim, so i believe u hv no problem regaining back ur slim figure aft birth. somemore u r armed wif knowledge on wat to eat etc, and v gd at controlling urself.

ic selina, i guess so too
boy boy likes to moves a lot hehe

hi coral
thanks, cu 2ml

hi jackiejon
hahaha u are so cute.....ya lor not necessarily boy boy then nose round :p

Crystallized, I;m moving out cos sold my house and my new place still being built so gotta stay with inlaws lor. Cos my okd place 99yrs, so no point holding onto it for too long. I'm 1.69m but pple always think I look 1.7+, maybe I got short body long legs so look taller lor.

Selina, Jackiejon think I cried too much during that period so use up lots of energy ba. Although my Mum and MIl makes me eat alot of good food to bu my body during that time I still lost weight.

Hi Aspialle

I already heard alot of stories regarding how pregnant women will look like if they are expecting a boy or gal.

If you are carrying a boy, you will look like this. While you are carrying a gal, you will look like that.

As for me, I still find that even if I was expecting my son or now presently expecting a gal, I still look the same very bloated and round round very everywhere.

I know some MTBs can look very pretty when they are expecting but not in my case. That is also the reason why I avoid taking photos of myself. I look so fat.

crystallized,
i not very tall also. abt 1.63m. i wasnt born slim to start with. has always been on the chubby side until i realised i had high cholestrol thru a free body checkup when in poly times. that's when i started on a strict exercise regime n read more abt food etc. even then, i was never below 50kg

coral,
yes i reckon so too so kept monitoring the intervals and realised not very frequent. than somemore my boy keeps kicking still so i thought shld be alright so quickly call it a day n went to bed to rest.

aspialle,
so dun worry too much ok

Jackiejon, pple say one looks prettier when carrying gal. But both my hb and I think I look prettier when I was carrying my boy last year...So prob all these old wife tales not accurate ba.

Hi Coral

We are about the same height. I am about 1.68m.

I cried for the first two days after it happened. After that, I tried not to think about it as my hubby comforted me by telling me that we can always try again.

Therefore, I took 3 months to "bu" my body and health to conceive again. Even Dr Tan commented: "So fast?".

I also dont want to keep on crying in front of my son. He kept asking me "Mummy, why are you crying?"

I think I am still blessed that I still have a lovely 4 year old son even though I lost the second child. It could be that the baby is not healthy that why God took him/her away from us.

That is why for both of my son and now my gal's name, the meaning of their names are "God's gift".

Jackiejon, Dr tan seems to like to say so fast. I saw him in Dec05, he told me I'm fine can try for bb. So in Jan I got preg he was like, "So fast?" Haha, he must have been shocked by the efficiency of we people. Like that then gynae got money to earn mah.

Hi Coral

Not only Gynae are happy because they will earn more $$$.

Our Government are also happy that there is an increase in the population as they are the one who keeps on encouraging couples to have more babies

Hi jackiejon,

I will email u the CL number, maybe tomorrow. Can? The number is @ home and I will attending ana-natal class today. Afraid that by the time I reach home, too tired to login.
Can i have ur email address?

Do any of you know whether if one intend to have a full month celebration (eg. with buffet) for the new born baby. Do we still need to give cakes to friends and relatives?

Hi Gemini

Thanks a million, no problem at all.

You can just click on my name (Jackiejon) to send me a private message.

The email address in my profile is my office email address.

jackiejon,
If you invite relatives and friends for buffet as full mth celebration, up to you whether you wanna give full mth cakes. But usually for relatives, most ppl still give.

I've attended full mth celebrations. Some friends got give, some dun have. My cousin also din give (but tat time happened to be CNY period, so bakery shops are closed). For me, I still give (to all who attended the full mth celebrations), cos I apprecipate their effort to come and join us in our joy. My mum said more presentable to give, at least guests dun leave empty handed.

Hi jackiejon,

ok, wait for my message then.

with regards to the full mth celebration, i will be having a buffet which is for friends and close relatives. For colleagues and some distant relatives (who have give ang bao but not attending the buffet), will be giving them cake vouchers. Till now, still dun know whether my MIL wants us to give cakes to her relatives or not.

Hi Jenny & Gemini

Thanks. Now at least I know what to do.

Just want to check with you gals, I hope I will be give birth around 3rd week of October, so that the full month celebration can be arrange in the 3rd week of November. My son's birthday falls on the 3rd week of November too.

Do any of you think is it possible to have two celebration together? Is it good for the kid?

jackiejon,
I'm not too sure on that leh, maybe check with your parents or in laws on that? For me, I will go ahead with 2 celebrations lor, save trouble hehe

If i dun intend to hold 1 month celebration, do i still need to give cakes to relatives and close friends?

Good news. My coffee laptop decided to boot up today after 3 days of rest. Hopefully it will stay well like that...

Tummy growth
============
Aiyo... I ask my hb to take pics for me hor.. he will complain one lor... anyhow snap then still say his skill very good... bth him...
So far only take a few. Thinking of using them for my scrapbook.
Anyway, I cannot take those bare tummy shots leh, coz my tummy got an ugly fat line across my waistline. Actually before preg already have. Think from young have been wearing too tight pants.. sigh... So envy you all... nice nice clean clean tummies...
My tummy also got bloated up recently. But still when I told my colleagues that I am popping next mth, they still surprised. Say my tummy small... but not true lor, maybe I looked big, so tummy look small... haa... perception problem...
Anyway, ask you all hor... if ppl commented say "no lah.. you dun look pregnant... you just look fat...", should I take it as a compliment har? haaa... keep wondering abt that...

Hi Jenny

My mother is a Christian so she normally dont know about such chinese customs.

As for my in laws, I dont wish to ask them too much, or else sure got things/comments. That is why I wanted to check with you gals.

You also have 2 celebrations? Beside full month celebration, what is the other one?

jackiejon,
No lah, what I mean is, if I were you, I will throw 2 celebrations together lah. I also dunno can or not. Let me ask my mum tonight for you. I think is up to whether one is pantang or not. Some ppl said NB full mth is "big" lor.

Janice,
If dun throw full mth celebrations, think must give full mth cake leh. Sort of like "informing" ppl you given birth like tat, I think lah.

Hi Janice

I didnt have any full month celebration for my son the other time so we give full month cake voucher instead.

Hi Jenny

Thanks for the information.

Can you check with your mum for me?

Ask her if celebrate together can or cannot? One is for full month and the other is birthday for a 4 year old boy?

Even though both me and my hubby are Christian and should be be pantang but when it comes to well being of our children, we dont dare to take any chances.

vivian,
mayb the caffeine woke the laptop up ba
i will not take that as a compliment. i would rather the person say it the opposite way. tis remind me of an ex-collg. she once commented "for someone whose leg is not very long, you walk very fast". she is much much taller than me but when we walking to another bldg for meeting she was practically running after my boss n i. hence she made this remark. i was so shocked, including my ceo secretary.

full month
==========
hb n i was thinking if need to give those who attend also. if give hor, then very siong leh. if dun give hor, like wat jenny says, empty handed go back like not so nice leh... dilemma now...

voucher type mayb only give to hb side relatives ba... i personally dun like the voucher cos like bo sim like that but convenient lor. hb side more relatives so give vouchers easier. my side think all the cakes from gobi ba...

tentatively we are thinking of holding the party at hog's breath restuarant at chijmes. they have a nice cosy area, quite private. still scouting around for other venues.

Vivian, so glad to hear that. prob the coffe dry up liao so laptop can work. I just tot of a trick. Why don't you apply some powder on your tummy to make it look nice nice then can tkae pic of your tummy lor. Last time I also had pple saying I dont look preg but just fat. I get very upset leh. I don't see that as compliment lor. Cos if pple say i just look fat, means, the rest of my body also fat lor.

Hi hi coral..
Wow..it's nice that u have been taking photos of urself lehhaha..me was only thinking of taking photos of myself when I m at the hospital..keke..

Hi hi crystallized...
Oh...me on leave today..just log in when I woke up..but very sian lor..like time pass very fast lor..b4 I get to enjoy it..it's like 3/4 of the day gone..me gg bck to offc tmrw lah..i think for the time being..i will have to go back to offc every sats lor..

Hi hi jasmine..
Ic..hope ur bro can get u the webcam & laptop fast ba..i m sure ur mum must have missed u a lot also..u only gained 8 kg & u said it's a lot..i think u got more room for growth man..i m sure u must be very slim lor..hee..later when I see u, then u know I m the one that's more round lor..haha..

Hi hi jackiejon..
Wish u gd luck to be able to get a neighbour (at least nearby ur area also not bad) to be able to cook for u..somemore u got ur boy to take care also lor..if u can, dun move ard too much esp the beginning of the 1st few days also not bad lor..

Hi hi weikuan..
Maybe u r slimmer that's why tummy more sharp ba..thou I think u wish u r carrying a boy lah..but I guess most impt is baby is healthy & growing well ba..

Hi hi selina..
Wow..can tell the big difference at ur 22nd & 23rd wk leh..ya, I agree with u, if one is determine to lost weight..i m sure it will be fruitful lor..exercise is really very impt lor..as for venues..i think i owe u something hor..aiyo..forgot abt it..actually i tink better to find a place that baby can rest also lor..at least with bathroom facilities as well..i think got to depend on how many pple u r looking to invite also ba..maybe can consider a chalet or bunglow?then at least it wont be that rush for u to go back also lor..

Hi hi aspialle
I tried to PM u my email addy but u dun accept PM..can u let me have ur email id?

Hi hi Vivian..
Nice to hear that ur laptop is working out well now..yeah!so dun think so much liao ahh..cheers~