(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Wei Kuan, my MIl told me to eat abit of mangosteen when i ate lots of durian. She say thta can help me cool my system abit. The coconut was damn shiok on Sat cos it's so cooling and refreshing. But must refrain from drinking too much. I guess i'll limit myself to one per wk.

hi weikuan and coral, i started drinking coconut when i was in my 30th wk..but once a wk oni lah..now gradually, maybe mum will give me twice a wk... me gain abt 10kg so far, in my 32wks now, coming 33wks on Wed...BB's weight last fri when we see gynae was at 1.66kg, wanna her gain more weight...
will be seeing gynae again next thurs...
487552.png

ilovemybaby, I've gain abt 13kg so far, just turn 31wk today. Will be seeing bb this Sat. yeah! She was 1.5kg at 27+wk, wonder how big she is now. Maybe she's just as chubby as mummy now.
But hb warn me, better not let bb get too big, else i will hv difficulty pushing her out. ;P

Coral,
mangosteen is very liang, cannot take too much. Even when we are not preggie, also can't take much, not good for women, my mum said one... then I realise true leh, will have a lot of discharge after eating. I used to eat a lot when I was young.

Wei Kuan,
actually can drink coconut juice, you want to drink pineapple juice also can, thats what my gynae said.

Jenny, Thanks for the reminder. I only take 1-3 at a time so shouldn't be too bad right? Anyway only took it that time cos i ate lots of durian and logan. Last wkend when they ate i also avoid since I already had a coconut.

coral,
I think 1-3 should be ok. I used to love mangosteen so much, have not been eating for years cos the season hit when I was preggie is Year 2004, then Year 2005, I just finished my confinement, so my mum dun allowed me to eat, only allowed me to SEE. Now year 2006, preggie, still cannot eat! wah liew, die die next year I must eat ah.

Jenny, for me it's more of red wine. Last year can't drink this year can't drink, later BF also can't drink. Always get to smell the wine only. Hehe I sound like alcoholic.

now also the mangosteen season, oct mtb really can enjoy food.

Gals, I decided to take epi jab before the pain caome in. I very scared of labour pain after hearing so much

Wei Kuan, do what you feel most comfortable with so you can enjoy the process. I'm still going for no epi. For a few reasons, first was because i don't want to be too numb, and I hate the shiver & itch that come with epi. next, is when i saw how my hb pei fu my MIL who do it without paink killer, so I must do as well. A bit childish, but...

u all bot stroller already? was looking at Maclaren but it's like so messy when it is kept, thinking of pegperego but too heavy. Saw 1 pegperego model with revisible handle but can't see in robinson or mothercare, any1 knows the model no.? any reco. on stroller with study wheel and revisible handler better than Gracco & combi?

Hi MTBs,
some of u mentioned that confinement food is not necessary as long as put lots of ginger in the dishes?? But can we breastfeed after eating so much ginger? Will the breast milk be affected for baby?

I heard that we cannot eat other ppl's baby's 1 month cake. Is it? Can our family eat it instead of us preggies?

Coral,
ya! Cannot eat too much ginger if BF rite? That's y i was confused when some ladies said just add lots of ginger to the dishes during confinement. Mayb only applicable to mummies who dun BF?

Thanx for all the kind advice. Guess I will just try to avoid all the fatty stuff. Otherwise my gynae might just faint to see my weight shooting up again. 4 kg in 4 weeks really too much ah... She told me optimal is 500g per week only. Wat's more that my baby is gaining weight nicely, so i shouldn't eat so much, else all the weight is just gonna stay put on me... Nevertheless, she did tell me not to worry too much. Cos she put on 20kg too during her pregnancy, and now she's skinny skinny...

Just work harder after delivery to regain figure bah =)

Dee Dee, actually the book say weight gain range is btw 0.5-1kg per week, so you still within range lah. Ya, but like your gynae say, more diff to loose after delivery lor.

coral, u are brave, maybe ur pain tolerant is high.

janice, i am not sure if we can take our own baby full mth cake.
as for wedding GDL, we not suppose to take our own cake as we are eating our own happiness, my MIL said one lah.
not sure if it apply to baby full mth cake.

My colleagues sister just gave birth yesterday.her edd is in Nov06
Now baby only 900gram at 24weeks, now in the ICU wards.

Very scared hearing that.

Janice, my parents usuallydon't like to let us eat 1st mth or wedding cake. Pantang lor, say not good, but I also dunno why not good. But i started eating them when I grow older.

mmummyjoy,
wat messy you talking about for Maclaren? I'm using it right now.

Janice,
Put lots of ginger in the dish but dun eat the ginger.
I got eat other's bb full mth cake. Depends on whether one is pantang or not.

Wei Kuan,
I never heard cannot eat our own GDL cake. First time I heard this. I ate mine like mad, together with my hb hahaha...
Aiyo, bb born at week 24 ah, meaning got to stay in NICU for q sometime le.

crystallized,
I wanna check with you something. SMS you later.

Hmm.. i still have my friend's 1 month celebration cake voucher with me. Guess I'll just skip it ba.

My colleague had triplets because of IVF. She had 3 months of complete bed rest at 4 months pregnant. Then at 7 months preggie, c-section. She said her babies only 700++ to 800++ grams only. After that the babies had to stay in hospital for another 3 months.

Hmm.. i still have my friend's 1 month celebration cake voucher with me. Guess I'll just skip it ba.

My colleague had triplets because of IVF. She had 3 months of complete bed rest at 4 months pregnant. Then at 7 months preggie, c-section. She said her babies only 700++ to 800++ grams only. After that the babies had to stay in hospital for another 3 months.

Hi Janice,
I rem the last time, my mum n MIL say if aft 1 wk, ur bb no sign of juandice or the juandice has subside, shld b safe to take ginger. same for wine n DOM. for me, i don like to take the ginger directly, but im ok if the food is cooked wif ginger. my MIL only started cooking wif ginger n wine aft 10 days. they oso say try to avoid chicken during the 1st 2 wks.

as for other ppl's full mth cake, tink up to individual ba. for me, i'll try to avoid lor.

Bunny,
so just eating the dishes cooked in ginger or wine/ DOM should be ok hor? I also dun like to eat ginger on its own unless eating the tang1 bao1 dipped with black vinegar. Ok, will avoid chicken. Is seafood eg. prawns ok? Or we can only eat fish and pork?

Weikuan,
I'm not sure about her bills. But IVF treatment also not cheap. And she had to take no pay leave during her hospital stay too..So must be quite a bomb ba.

Restless night these few days. I kana rashes on my whole tummy, now it seem like my breast kana too.The itch is so unbearable till I cant get to sleep well.

I yo. now at 31 weeks already have problem. Am I able to endure this till full term.....

:mad:

i kena rashes easily oso. but they dun go away easily.

now its the growing tummy. aiyoh, so big alrdy, grow anymore bigger, think got problem balancing man.
and counting down to delivery man...

Emily, Crystallized,
Is the itch due to the moisturiser or stretch mark cream? Mayb after 1 whole day and the perspiration mixed with the cream and irritate the skin? Sometimes i feel itchy but still bearable.

Crystallized,
ya, now i also find it hard to balance, especially when getting out of the car or putting on my panties.

Mayb certain fish not "poisonous" ba. Those fish for increasing milk supply? My friend ate cod fish everyday after birth also no milk. Gave up trying. She said all the women in her family no milk, mayb genetics.

Jenny, oh...messy as in the seat and cushion all not tidy, squeeze here and there and it cannot stand on it's own when kept, wheels up

can I side track, ask you how long we need to be wrap after msg, can still breastfeed?

janice
i dun think its due to the stretchmark cream coz i hv been using it for a few mths and somemore i only get small patches of rash on my body, not the entire body, so dun think its due to that. i think its juz hormonal imbalance. wat to do?

hehee, yah nowadays when u need to get up fr bed, seat or toilet bowl, need to do it slowly, cannot like last time, su kar su kar juz jump & prounce as we like.
nvm counting down to the days to delivery liao.

most fishes usually r not poisonous lah. think stingray is one exception...

mayb muz drink the soup? aiyoh, dun hear too many -ve stories on BFG lah, sometimes quite demoralising leh.

mummyjoy
think wrapping after massage will not affect bfg, but rather how comfortable r u in the wrap and if the baby can tahan the herbal smell on our body. think we will feel v oily oso. i am trying to imagine how messy tt will be. any mummies to share experience wif us?

Hi hi babygrace..
Oic..okok..thks..i was thinking of avoiding those internal organs for the 1st 12 days lor...since u also ate..i guess maybe I just take moderate amt will do ba..did u also take alcohol during the 1st 12 days?as for getting ready a tin of FM..can we get a small tin (those FM sample) from the various brands?

Hi hi crystallized...
I think for PND cant be avoid one..coz it's the hormones at work..but at least for me, I just hope tat hubby will notice lor..see how ba..hard to tell now also..

Hi hi jenny..
Ur ex-colleague's hubby very funny leh..me hopefully baby can co-operate & come out at 37th wk..hehe..thks for sharing on the patang topics..thks...oh ya, can chk with u, if u have started drinking coconut juice ahh?any idea wat's the diff betwn the big coconuts (bigger version) & the thai coconuts ahh?

Hi hi bunny..
Thks for sharing on the ang-bao & the patang topics lor..i think heng-heng also not bad lah..haha..maybe the $ in return they will contribute more for our baby also lor..haha..so nice to hear that ur MIL & hb's granny gave u support on bfg..so sweet of them lor..this is really encouraging to hear lor...

Hi hi jackiejon..
Oic..aiya..hope u get to find an ideal CL soon ba..cheers..

Hi hi DeeDee..
I think as baby is growing well..later aft giving birth then think of losing weight ba..me also put on lotsa weight lor..i guess if u want, watch ur diet now also not very late ba..cheers~

Janice,
Full mth cake voucher got expiry date right? Usually is 1 year later mah. If not, give your relatives or friends lah.
Strictly no prawn wor. Seafood consider "poison food". Got to stay away during confinement except for fish (yucks!)

Bunny,
I remember got wound cannot eat chicken. But I ate during the stay in hospital cos I dunno cannot eat. Think for wine/DOM, after 12 days then can drink, same for chicken essence.

mmummyjoy,
seat and cushion untidy? Dun get wat you mean. Just fold up and keep will do. Quite easy ah. Ya, cannot stand on its own, thats the disadvantage I dun like lor. The other stroller I have (lucky baby one), can stand on its own, and is lighter. But toddler too squeezy for lucky baby stroller.

How long ah? Usually after 6 to 8 hrs can remove le. But if you feel itchy, you got to remove le, to prevent rashes. Still can bf. The binding dun wrap till your breasts lah hahaha...

crystallized,
usually massage lady will adjust the binding to our comfort. I dunno for other massage lady, but the herbal that my massage lady use dun smell. Yes, will feel a bit oily. My massage lady will use the oil to rub and massage, then use hand towel to wrap away the oil and then apply bb powder. Overall, I find it ok. For me, I dun carry or touch bb after massage. I will let the oil to absorb into the body. Usually 1 hr later is ok le.

wendy,
I know nothing about coconut leh. I only know got to drink those young coconut. THat is those still green in color one.

wendy,
i added alcohol in the cooking right from the beginning. The heat will evaporate the alcohol content anyway.
As for small sample tins of FM, there's a MOH ruling that milk companies cannot give samples of infant FM for those newborn to 6 mths old. So you just hv to decide which brand of FM u want to give and buy a small tin lor. Sometimes must trial and error also cos some bb are fussy about the taste or some get constipated.

crystallized,
thought i posted a reply to u this afternoon but seems like it was swallowed up by cyberspace

The Gina Ford book is available in the library. Maybe u can borrow it first to read to see if u agree with her method before buying. i also like to tape-flag and highlight sections of my book.

Every month of bfg is an achievement. i started with a target of 6 mths. When i went back to work after 6 mths, i set 3 mths. When 3 mths was up, i set another target of 3 mths. Before u know it, one yr has passed

As for massage, i didn't find the binding smelly. it was a bit uncomfortable to sit upright to bf but still do-able. but i could not keep the binding on for long cos psychologically i didn't feel comfortable cos of my c-section wound.
As for being oily, it's not that bad. besides, i always carry my bb with a piece of folded nappy cloth drape across my arm where bb rest his head and neck. That's something which my CL taught me and insist that everyone use it for hygiene reasons.
I think this time round, i will just do massage without the binding. i only want the massage for getting rid of the wind and aches. As for toning the tummy, there are other ways for me to do it

Wendy
I heard u muz drink the big coconuts as its the cooling one. the thai coconuts (aka much smaller ones) is heaty and got no effect. ask if ur MIL noes abt it.

Jenny
Mayb i imagined the session after massage will b too messy liao. hahaha.
its gd to hear tt other than oily, there shldnt b any problem. if its only 1 hr to absorb, still reasonable coz the nxt feed is usually 2 or 3 hrs later. else i was thinking whether is my massage tt impt 4 me to skip a bfg session wif the baby.

bbgrace,
Ok, will check if the library near my hse carry this bk. thks.

Hopefully can achieve my target bah. i am targetting at least 3 mths, while i am at home, i will make an effort to bf my baby. thereafter when i go back to work, i will still try my best, no doubt the supply will drop abit. hopefully can maintain, like u.

how many days did u waited b4 u massage aft ur discharge fr the hospital? some say c-section gotta wait for 2 wks, some say best wait till aft 2 mths. i think aft 2 mths then massage, not much effect and need more sessions.

Yah its a gd idea to wrap the baby wif a nappy cloth to keep baby clean.
U so slim, no need to bind oso will get back in shape easily lah. heee...

Good Morning MTBs

Just want to check with you gals whether any of you likes to drink tea, especially English tea?

Normally I dont drink tea but nowadays I have been wanting to drink it.

Is it okay?

Jackiejon,
Generally, as long as u dun exceed 2 cups a day, it shld b fine. I bought decaf English Tea instead, so i can drink wif a peace of mind.

I find tt tea is my comfort drink. Heee, so u r not alone.

Hi Jackiejon

I still drink my tea-si or earl grey everyday. At times, I even drink chinese tea. Read somewhere that 1-2 cups a day is okie...

I drinking my "Ku Ting" chai now bcos of cough and sore throat.

Rgds.

Jackiejon,during my 1st tri I drink a cup of tea every morning. Now only on wkend, I try not to drink much. But antenatal class say ok so long as we don't over do it. 1-2 cup a day is fine. But I like my tea thick.

I'm getting so round, my hb look at me last nite and keep laughing. he say I loook more and more like xiao ding dang, Doraemon.

Hi Crystallized

Thanks for the advise.

When I had my #1, I did not have any problem on this except that I dont like the taste of plain water so I had been drinking water add with a bit of rebena.

Good Morning Coral

I am also getting more and more round.

I have been putting on alot of weight.

So far I have put on about 18kg.

Coral & Jackiejon,
same here lah. my tummy getting so rounded tt my hb always disturb me too.

I am getting morning sickness occasionally, so appetite not as gd. Anyway my baby is of good weight, so guess i need not worry.
last trimester is horrible, we will gain the most weight coz of baby. no more durians
nono.gif
to make him fatter. keke

coral,
haha your hb so cute, call you xiao ding dang.

crystallized,
My hb wanna buy the mooncake, so me confirmed joining the BP, just that haven't decide how many boxes to order.

Hi Janice,

Well, the itch is whole of my "Italy" and happen to itch anytime of the day and night so not possible due to stretch mark cream.

As what some mention it could be due to hormone imbalance.

Bear with it for 9 more weeks.