(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

crystallized,
carbo gives us energy which is also = to glucose when broken down to its smallest form in our body. thus the reason.

i was a health freak pre-preggie. i know a little here and there. from books and also my bro-in-law, my sis are swimming coaches so they have to advice their competitive swimmers on diet so i learn from them too.

i worked for a french crystal company and we have a boutique at taka. no notice from taka that they having any 10% storewide sale tis month leh...

hi hi aspialle..
the stick we used during the urine test cannot be put too long when we are urinating..else will coz the stick to absorb too much of the urine & makes the results less accurate...just a little bit will do..ya, like wat selina shared..try to eat as blend as possible..for u & bb's health, i m sure it will be worth lor..cheers~ jia-you ahh!

hi hi jackiejon..
okok, will go & check out ur email addy..cheers~

hi hi coral..
i think the sales was only for 3 days..not sure whc wk of the GSS sale but i know i missed out on that coz hvnt got the card yet..keke..ya, i also feels that robinson card is better at least with the rebate...

hi hi selina..
thks for ur updates on the taka sale now..thks..

hi hi andreatyt..
oic, haha..for a moment i was thinking if i organise any BP for pampers..haha..anyway, i already stock up my supplies on diapers..haha..

hi hi janice..
me havent really chk out the POSB everyday card..seems like alot of rebates ahh..hehe..got to go & check it out ahh..thks for sharing..

Selina
Oic... u health freak ah? hehehe
but guess u r oso eating wisely during pregnancy lor.

i dun like rice during pregnancy leh. prefer noodles. but noodles oso a form of carbo rite?

thks 4 the info on taka disc!

crystallized,
i try to eat well now... try to only lah...

noodles are definitely carbo too. those we eat everyday or find at foodcourts etc are simple carbo. unless u buy from supermarkets, can choose those bukwheat etc type which are definitely healthier.

u r most welcome

wtan,
yes, my mum will do confinement for me tis time but she wont b wif me 24hrs cos she has to work in the morning.
i hvnt decided hw much to give her but will definitely give her a ang bao on the 1st n last day, mayb $28 each ba... and the money to buy ingredients and tonics will pay her seperately.

btw, my mum told me the last time tat i hv to give ang bao to ppl who cum to my hse to visit me during confinement... 1st visit only... its for luck. juz a small amt will do... yi si yi si... i give $8 for adults and $2 for kids.

Janice,
yes, i was induced. but hor... its not any date u can choose 1 leh... mus oso fit into dr ang's schedule 1 lor... he'll tell u when he prefers n from there u choose 1 date lor.

hi hi selina..
wow..can tell that u know how to cook well ahh..i didnt even know abt bukwheat noodles..is that something like organic food?

hi hi bunny..
oic..okok..thks ahh..coz i will be gg over to my mum's place for confinement..so i was thinking of lumping up the sum of buying the tonics/herbs as well as the ang-bao for her effort & give it to her b4 my confinement b4 i get to chk out with urself & jenny..now i have a better picture also..thks leh..thks for sharing on the ang bao to the visitors coming to the home during the confinement...i guess for "heng-heng" will be gd also lor..hehe..thks..

Selina
Usually i dun think abt the nutritional value of the food i am taking. hahaha, its to satisfy my cravings more. sometimes i try to make an effort but somehow hor, those nutritious food dun appeal to me at all!
i end up craving junk fd like Burger King or pizzas. horrible me!

Bunny
muz give ang pau to ppl whom visit us???? nvr heard of b4 leh. i alrdy told my frens not to visit me during confinement coz i think i need to b more adjusted wif the baby and oso whole body smelly like tt, dun feel like hvg any guests. i cant say tt for relatives. i hope they all dun come. the last thing i wanna do is to entertain them when i am not in the mood.

hi hi crystallized..
it's gd tat at least u made clear to them..me already know i struck with no choice since i will be staying at my mum's place..my granny is already now on stand-by mode & will anytime shift in to my mum's place to squeeze in my sis's room when i deliver..somemore this is my granny's 1st great grand-child & also both families 1st grandchild..i doubt i can hide anyway..so ahh..just crossing my fingers that they dun step on my tail then lah ahh..keke..

Crystallized
i oso dunno leh... mayb its diff dialect grp's practise ba... i'm hainanese... last time i went to my in-law's plc for confinement, my hb's SIL oso ask me if i got prepare some ang baos anot in case got visitors. she is hakka (dunno the exact spelling).

i don hv much visitors the last time cos mayb i was at my in-law's plc, frens n relatives may feel awkard lor... they only came to visit me in the hospital... tis time im at my own hm, they may 1 2 cum n visit lor...

hi hi jackiejon..
i sent u the contacts liao..u might want to just chk it out ba..hope she meets ur requirement & schedule..cheers~

Crystallized, Wendy,
Good thing must share mah..

Bunny,
aiya...got to depend on Dr Ang's schedule? He has clinic on wed rite? Aiya my hb's birthday leh..Unless our gal decides to come out on the very day.

Err..i never heard got to give angbow to guests. I'm hakka also.

hi hi bunny..
i think if u stay at in-laws' place for confinement, usually will be more uneasy for friends or ur mum's sides to come & visit u lor..but maybe this time round..they might since it's at ur place & ur mum is only coming over to help u cook...for my case, i just hope that my granny dun interfere with me much on her her customs lor..else..i think i also hard to "give face" to her when i dun really want to entertain guests & also esp when me trying to get adapted also..u know that time when we are getting married..she even said those "xi" words got to use red paper to cut out..then heng ahh..we already bought the stickers type..if not..i cant imagine we got to use the red paper then cut out type lor..

Hi delphine,

Hmm, for me, I dun really enjoy much during the 2nd excerise class as compared to the 3rd, partially due to the instructor. I prefer the instructor conducting the 3rd class as she try to make it more informal & interactive. Also, the 2nd class is teaching on those massage techniques which to me, my hb is already massaging me everynite, just need to fine tune a bit of his massaging. As for 3rd lesson, it's better cos it teaches on the breathing techniques during our contractions/delivery process.

Janice, thank you for the info. Maybe i can save some $ by paying with that card in future.

Wendy, I see. i definitely miss out on the 3 days ba. Cos when i go not crowded, so couldn't be date of the sales.

Selina, you guys sell crsytal ware? I love crystal jewellery and my hb's a swarovski collector.

hi ladies!! went for my gynae appt todae, he says my BB has turned!!! yeh!! BB is very obedient and we are both thrilled..lately have been telling BB to turn and she did!!!she is 1.66kg at 32wks todae...
and BB is doing very well... finally, can ease our mind abt her position...

check wif my gynae abt the Vtest or SwapB test tat some of u mentioned b4...but apparently, he dun seems encouraging and he says not necessary as long as i dun have any V discharge..so will heed his advise..anyway, he's the pro, so will listen to him...
485147.png

coral,
i must say frankly without any bias we carry really nice crystal jewelry. heard of Baccarat? mayb time for your hb to switch to Baccarat crystal. our crystals all handmade n mostly clear crystals

crystallized,
now mostly my bad eating habits is to satisfy my indulgence cos last time b4 preggiee alot of things i dun eat cos scared put on weight so now i will indulge lor. like i just had my bah kwa. having been thinking of eating it for the past 1 month or so n finally gotten down to get it to eat...

ilovemybabyg,
glad to hear your gal turned and doing very well right now. my turn on monday. cant wait man...

Wendy
i only made clear to my frens, but for relatives, i am not sure. i noe its a kind gesture on their side to visit me, but if its too frequent, its a nuisance lor.
hope not lah. dun wish to lose my temper. last resort, my hb will act as my shield. u oso dun worry too much. we will deal wif the situation when it comes. i am sure my MIL will oso understd lah.

Bunny
yah mayb different practise lah. my ILs are staying wif me. so wat u think leh? relatives will come and visit anot? i juz hope it will b kept to a minimal, really.

Selina
Baccarat is not cheap rite? Where is the btq located in Taka?

Bak kwa! Alamak, tempting leh! Now i got cravings 4 sweet stuff easily.

selina, wow u mention bak kwa. I must eat that tomorrow or else cannot sleep liao.
I have been eating junk food and just taken my durian too. hubby said i put on quite a lot of weight recently. not sure if it is due to my diet. I eat almost anything i think of.

coral, my gyane also did not ask me to do any blood sugar test.
I find that i miss out a lot of test, gynae always not necessary and me not in the risk, but sometimes quite worry. guess have to trust our gynae.

heard a lot of commend abt Dr Ang.
there are only 365days in a year and he deliver 800 babies in a year. that is really a lot!!!

where is his clinic and any website?
I may consider him during my second pregnancy.
I will not deliver in kkh next time, thinking of private hospital.reason why i choose kkh now is due to my benefit can only use in government hospital. i may tender after CNY.

Wow the posts run really fast today! i could hardly catch up.

crystallized,
once bb is engaged, you'll feel more pressure on the pelvic area. And yes, more trips to the toilet too!
i love confinement food. Vinegar pig trotters, black chicken soup, chicken with ginger. All yummy! My CL varied the cooking by cooking chicken chop, grilled fish etc for me so that i wont get too sick of eating the same stuff.

selina,
wow! baccarat! i love the flower necklace. it's so pretty!

bbgrace
wah u love confinement food. actually most pple love confinement food, guess i am juz one of those tt dunno how to appreciate it. even my hb loves the pig trotters vinegar but i simply hated it! eeeeeekkkkkksssss! hahahahaa

wah ur CL v gd leh! so varied varieties! hahaha, sounds yummy to me oso!

but i noe even if i cnt eat these confinement dishes, i muz drink alot of soup so i can hv more milk for my baby.

Gathering Photo
Ladies, i juz rem the gathering photo... who was the one tt is supposed to put up huh? waited long long to see it liao lor...

hi hi coral..
ya i guess u have missed out on the taka sale during the GSS..coz if i didnt remember wrongly..seems to be at the beginning of the GSS..

hi hi ilovemybabyg..
very sweet to hear such gd news from u..so happy for u..can really feel ur joy leh..it's gd that u have been talking to baby..now u know it really works lor..surely baby will response one..it's really nice to hear that baby is doing well also..thks for sharing on this gd news..cheers!

hi hi crystallized..
i guess since u r staying with ur in-laws..doubt there will be much relatives coming over to visit u from ur mum's side..maybe those closer to ur in-laws will drop by ba..anyway, maybe they also anxious to see baby lor..like wat u said..1st grandchild somemore..see how it goes ba..wish us gd luck..cheers~

<font color="119911">hi hi ladies..
me went over to Taka's bb fair at 9.25pm last night coz read that there's a Aprica Stroller on sale selling at $399 (UP. $896) - 4.6kg suitable from NB to 3 yrs old..but it's w/o reservible handle bar &amp; also 1/2 canopy..so hubby &amp; i decided not to go for it..if anyone of u are keen, better rush down fast to grab it..only 2 colors to choose from, blue or purple color - limited to 30 pcs only..cheers~</font>

crystallized,
If your mum can take over, then no prob chasing CL away. That time, my mum couldn't take over, some more CNY period, so I ren with the CL. My No.1 is born on ren ri, CNY 7th day, which happened to be after valentine's day.
Male or female gynaes are ok, the most impt is you must be comfortable with your gynae.

Janice,
Ya, Dr Ang wore bermudas to visit me at midnite, not delivery time.
Ya lor, a lot of ppl down with flu. Spreading like nobody business.
Yes, can choose to induce if over EDD. I have an ex-colleague, she overdued for 2 weeks, ended induced for birth cos couldn't wait for bb to delivery naturally.
POSB Everyday Credit Card good meh? I find nothing much leh. Prefer Citibank one.

aspialle,
Dun worry too much. Just take control of the sugary stuff. Cut down on those.
Milo though w/o sugar also q sweet leh.

delphine,
From my understanding, soft drink contains about 6 tablespoons of sugar per can.

Bunny,
My mum didn't mention about ang bao to ppl who came to visit me during confinement leh. But she bought me some chocolates and sweets, told me to give to the kids who came with their parents. I dunno the meaning behind lah.

Wei Kuan,
Dr Ang's clinic is at Sun Plaza, he has another clinic at TMC.

wendy
my mum's side of relatives sure wun come over and visit me. but i am scared of my MIL's side of relatives. i hope they dun come in groups. i will hide in my rm man.

yah man Jenny, i am not gg to allow myself to b subjected to the CL's mercy. But my worries cld b for nothing. I spoke to my fren today and she said she was v happy wif the CL tt she gave her a bigger ang pau when she left.
so i think everything shld b fine.

Yah u had no choice then. CNY v tricky period. for my #2 i muz ensure i dun deliver during CNY man.
hard to get CLs and oso much more exp!

Wah ur ex-cll overdue for 2 wks! its oso actually time 2 induce liao rite? coz i heard gynaes only give allowance for another 2 wks aft EDD. if still no signs of labour, muz induce liao, else not safe 4 mummy too.

hi hi jenny..
oh..ur ex-colleague late by 2 wks ahh..do u know if it's #1?is her bb very big at the time when induced?

hi hi crystallized..
frankly speaking..if they really comes in group..u also got no choice but to say "hi"..dun think u can hide in the room lor..coz they all here to see bb leh..quite tricky hor..aiyo..

crystallized, Wendy,
Oh that's my ex-colleague's 3rd child. Weight is normal. Yes, max is 42 weeks, if bb still dun wan to come out, then got to induce. Heard that placenta will only stay in our bodies for max 42 weeks. After 42 weeks, placenta will "slip" out, hence, not safe for bb.

crystallized, wendy,
Overdue babies faced the risk of an aging plancenta which is not able to provide enough nutrients to the baby. Or the amniotic fluid level may drop as the weeks go by.
In fact for my boy, the fluid level was borderline case by week 36 and gynae was monitoring it close and will probably induce me at 37 weeks but then, my boy was too anxious to come out.

Crystallized,
ya man, must drink a lot of soup. My CL swears by black bean soup to increase milk ss.
I know u dun like fish but eating fish is said to increase ss also.
Ya man, good if u can avoid CNY period. my boy was born 1 week b4 CNY. So i had to make do without CL for 1 week cos she could only come on the 4th day of CNY. Plus it was so difficult to buy all the ingredients for cooking cos of CNY.

Jenny,

Ya lor, doc did mention to my parent regarding the high sugar level... so they have refrain from it completely... thank you for your info

Wendy
i dun care lah, if there is only 1 or 2 groups, i will entertain. but if everyday got groups like tt visiting, i heck care liao. my rest and comfort more impt than their incessant visitation. by then i will probably hv asked my hb to tell my MIL i welcome no visitors as its too tiring and stressful 4 me to cope. and u noe when they come, they sure ask the same old qns and its frustrating to repeat. haha, i am such a freak, dun like visitors during confinement!

jenny
really? placenta will slip out? my baby sure cant stay inside for so long, i guess not till 40 wks since he is rather big. my tummy alrdy getting heavier and i think if reach 40 wks, i got problem walking liao, let alone rch 42 wks!

bbgrace,
i hope i wun hate fish aft i delivered. anyway if its soup, i shld b able to manage.
i cant imagine how i still freak out at the thot of fish now, esp steamed ones. fried ones, i still can manage some, but for steamed ones, eeeekkkksssss!
dun tell me my bb hates fish...

btw is it only black bean &amp; papaya soup wif fish to increase breastmilk supply? any other varieties?

yah muz plan properly 4 the nxt baby liao.
dun wanna get caught and end up helpless.

fish will increase more milk, heard from many pp who breastfeed their baby till 6mths and above.

baby cannot stay inside for too lpng, scare they will poo poo inside also beside placenta do not provide enough nutrients.

486151.png

hi hi jenny..
i think ur ex-colleague's 3rd child must be pretty comfy in the womb..oh...i think induce out is better also..at least get to see baby faster also..hee..i guess such cases quite rare ba..but in this case, will the baby continue to grow in size ahh?coz i dun think will reach 5kg hor..

hi hi babygrace...
i guess aft the 37th wk is the ideal wk for the baby to be born lor..maybe i shd also talk to my boy nicely &amp; tell him to come out on the 37th wk..hehe..oh ya, do u know if it's gd to take those internal organs (such as pig's liver or kidneys) during the 1st 12 days of the confinement ahh?me was thinking of avoiding those food &amp; take more fish or soupy stuff for the 1st 12 days of the confinement then aft that then start intaking those internal organs lor..

hi hi crystallized...
dun think u r weird lah..me also dun wish i got to entertain guests (esp if everyday also got diff guests lor)..i agree that rest is most impt also..at least u can tell hubby to tell MIL not to "invite" so many guests to visit u coz u staying with them..but me will be gg back to my mum's place for confinement..then my granny (my dad's mum) will be staying with us also..so my concern is all the rest of the relatives will come &amp; "pretend" to visit her &amp; at the same time visit me as well..wah..i tell u, will surely have headache lor..at least ur room got washroom...even if u dun want to come out is ok..let's just cross our fingers &amp; not think so much ba...take a step at a time ba..good luck to both of us...**wink-wink**

hi hi wei kuan..
i think baby will poo poo when they are distress, right?but i was thinking is it only when baby is abt to come out that moment then they will poo poo or even b4 we dilated also they might be possibilities that they might also poo poo leh..hmm....really makes me ponder...

Selina, can we get good discount from you for Baccarat crsytal jewellery? Next time got bb can't spend so much on myself liao. Especially now still jobless.

Wei Kuan, private hospoital may not necessary be better lor. last round I was at Glen E, but when bb detected with some problem, private gynae still refer me to KKH as it's a one stop hospital with all the experts under one roof who can discuss the issue together. That's why this round I decide to switch to KKH. Tot can save some $, but not true as the charges comparable to private. In fact the senior consultant charge slightly higher than my Glen E gynae.

hi all thanks for all the advice and concern. Will try to cut down on rice...actually i drink milo without sugar but i love durians...hehe so maybe tats the culprit

btw anyone using cloth nappy? i intend to use it during the day time, tis is my first bb so not sure abt the steps. if bb poo poo, the cloth nappy got a layer of nappy liner rite? so easier to wash? then just use wet wipes to clean the buttock and apply powder? sometimes my MIL will take the bb to bathroom to wash the buttock instead...so which is better?

Wendy
Yah we dun think so much lah. At the most during confinement we juz cry lor. Hehehe
Once we do tt, we r the 'queen' liao. Ppl scared we will suffer fr post-natal blues.

I am closer to the relatives at my mum's side. and coz its my own mum, i will hv no qualms abt telling my mum to ask relatives not to visit me so soon, at least wait till the 3rd wk lah.

We will juz deal wif the situation as it comes lah.
no pt worrying over it now.

I agree wif Coral. KKH does not neccessary mean cheaper. juz tt its a one stop centre and pple juz hv the misconception tt its a govt hospital, so cheaper.

Coral,
U taking TPS or what class of gynae u seeing? The last time i think i was in B class. The middle one. I got so fed up of the queue, i stopped gg back for follow ups after they confirmed my pregnancy. Their 24 hr clinic's queue is much faster than the one we made appt to see gynae. So frustrating.

aspialle,
i got intention to use cloth nappy. but see how long i can tahan. 1st mth shld b able to tahan coz got CL to wash. once the CL leaves, mayb i will b so occupied wif other chores i might juz use disposable diapers.

Yes, its always best to use a nappy liner (since we cant predict when bb will poo). So far the antenatal class i attended said strictly no powder on babies. coz of the fine particles tt might irritate them. juz wipe clean if they poo, and apply diaper cream. when bb is still young, i dun think can juz bring them to the bathrm and wash. i think gotta wait til they r at least a few mths when they r 'firmer'.

hi hi aspialle..
i think milo w/o sugar is also quite sweet lor..mayb u can try to reduce ur intake for milo w/o sugar also ba..got to watch ur diet lor..coz it's not gd if ur sugar level is too high also..now control a little &amp; endure to eat more healthy food..i m sure it will be very fruitful lor..since it's another less than 2 mths &amp; u will be able to see &amp; hold ur baby liao..i will be using both cloth nappy as well as disposable diapers..maybe more on disposable diapers ba..coz for a start..i need to get used to it 1st..then when i get the "hang" of it..then use both at the same time..i think can use cotton wool &amp; warm water to wipe baby's buttocks lor aft baby poo poo..powder can be very dry to baby's skin leh..like wat crystallized mentioned, use diaper cream will be gd also..moderate amt will do..in fact..i understand that nappy liner can be rewashed &amp; use again lor if not very dirty lah..if poo poo..then throw away ba..

hi hi crystallized..
actually i hope that i can try to control my emotions during the confinement..thou i think more or less will get PND..but hope wont affect me much lor..coz not gd also to feel upset..i think baby will also feel it lor..we just take it easy ba..cheers~

noted coral

crystallized
tink will do the same as u, hehe

wtan
will let ur know when i attend the class, what i can eat or cannot eat...

crystallized,
not sure if there are other varieties of "magical" soup to increase milk ss. I feel that so long as we eat and rest well plus drink lots of fluids, it'll help.
hopefully your fear for fish will disappear the moment the bb pops!

wendy,
i took liver and kidneys within the first 12 days. I only didn't take chicken and eggs for the first one and half weeks cos pple say not good for the c-section scar.

i did not know cannot use powder on baby cos my mum use on my niece ans us too.
I intend to use cloth diaper, but not all CL will use it, so I will use disposable one.

Wendy
DUn think abt PND lah! *choy choy* shoo shoo the ill feelings.

bbgrace
i juz read in the other thread tt some mummies hv popped and a couple of them r facing depression coz milk supply comes in late and they hv no choice but to formula feed their babies. i am trying not to let this affect me but i do feel for them. Here we r so kan cheong abt the milk flow and there, the baby is crying coz no milk and he is hungry.

i noe we hv to b v +ve, rest and lotsa support fr the surrounding pple. i din even bother to standby a small tin of formula milk coz i really wanna BF. my frens hv somewat reminded me to standby a tin in case of delayed milk flow. how ah? wat u think?

wei kuan &amp; aspialle,
i oso thot usualy practise is to use powder leh, but aft attending antenatal class, the teacher reminded us it contains fine particles, and best to refrain using it lor. in fact i alrdy bought the powder. nvm lor, i use for myself then. when i cant bath during confinement, sure i need lotsa powder. hehe

crystallized,
i was like you, very determined to bf so i did not even think of any FM.
i think i've told u that the 1st feed that my boy was not BM but FM cos the PD ordered that he be fed immediately while i was still under GA. i was disappointed then but it also made me realise that i need not be so hard on myself or bb should the need arises. And also having seen that my boy had no problem latching on to my breast and drinking my milk even tho he drank from a milk bottle first, i was less hung up about not introducing bottle or FM to him.
I let him try FM by about the 2nd / 3rd week cos i had to go to see doc about my mastisis problem. There was not much EBM for CL to feed. Thankfully he took it.
And after i learnt that i would be making a trip to France, i started to "train" him to take FM so that in the event my BM ss dipped during the trip. i would bottle-feed him FM once every 2-3 days just to introduce the taste of FM and to get him used to the bottle. But luckily, i need not resort to supplementing with FM during my trip. In fact, he preferred my breast to the bottle.

So my point is, just go with flow. Not all babies will reject the breast or breast milk if they are introduced FM.
No need to go out and buy a tin, what i did was to ask the hospital nursery for 2 bottles of their FM to standby. And also during my visit to my gynae for my mastisis problem, he also got the hospital nursery to give me a few more bottles of FM, just in case, even though he's pro-bfg.
In fact when i was bfg him during the 13 mths, i had wasted a few tins of milk powder cos u can only keep them for 4 weeks after opening. i could never finish them even though they were the smallest tin.

wei kuan,
not everyone will have milk coming in late. even if milk flow don't come in immediately, there's is colostrum which is good for bb's immunity system. In fact, a newborn dun need so much milk in the first few days, so they can survive on the little that the mummy can produce.
So long as

crystallized,
just wanted to add on.
Some pple or books on bfg dun encourage having FM on standby because they don't want to encourage a fall-back position where mommy will just rely on FM if the milk ss dun come in and this will lead to a downward spiral cos bb may prefer FM and dun want to suckle, leading to further decrease of BM.
But knowing how determined u are, i'm sure u can manage when the time comes.