(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

aspialle,
My sis also went on 8 Aug leh. I din go lah. Going tonight. Will go somewhere nearby for dinner and the find a good spot to watch the fireworks. Haha... think my gal will be scared by the sounds.

Gemini, it's good to know that you can have a natural delivery if you wish to. As for bb, too early to worry now, so don't think abt it first and affect bb, see how things go after she's born.

Jackiejon, after 28wks, the visit is still 4wk, only form 32wks onwards that we'll see Dr Tan every 2wks. Then from 36wks onwards he'll see us every wk. The nurse at TPS expalined the package to me in details and also do the medisave claim for me already. As I only check out the 1-beded, I can't advise you on the 2beded cost. For 1 beded, Normal delivery (2days) average bill size $3, 570, estimated medisave claimable $1700. Initial payment $1870. C-section (3days) average bill size $5320, estimated medisave claimable $3,050, Initial payment $2,270. Of course these are estimates, if more medicine, or equipment used or more time spent in labour the charges will increase. Hope this helps. Plus the fact that I also want Dr Tan to be the only gynae who see me throughout the delivery. For some, they choose not to pay extra then a team of gynae will do the checks throughout the labour process and their only gynae only come by when it's delivery time.

Wendy, will let you know after Stemcord contact me.

crystallized,
issit? sorry me always use salt for anything sores in my mouth cos most effective for me.

no lah. think some times he like to squeeze himself to one area so i feel the relief. read that once engaged, will feel more relief above tummy but more pressure on below.

aiyo talking abt breathless, talk also breathless. now cannot multi-task. either i walk or i talk. cannot do both at the same time

Jenny
i oso think so lah. anyway i am not afraid lah. anyway i am not at the CL's mercy. if she cannot make it, i will chase her off and my mum will take over.
like tt i dun hv to worry abt monster CLs.

yah my fren oso told me normal dishes can liao, juz add lotsa ginger will do. thats a relief man. coz i sure cant tahan eating confinement dishes EVERY meal. i will suffer depression coz of tt. hahaha
and worse still, make me hate fd and i will hv no nutrition nor milk for my baby.

i heard tt male gynaes r much better too. but i juz cant bring myself to see one. my hubby is ok wif male gynae though. but he noes i feels v uneasy seeing one, so he din insist.
my comfort level more impt than anything else.

thats scary leh. engaged liao still can turn back.

u v on leh. actually i still feeling quite ok. juz feel backaches easily. but i not keen to go & squeeze wif pple now lah. they dun care u pregnant or wat.

hi hi selina..
me also cannot multi-task..haha..esp when returning home (coz in-laws staying 3rd floor), i need hubby to give me a push to climb up the stairs..haha..coz i always complaint that i hate climbing stairs..now he said he hate it more than me man..haha..

selina
i oso not sure lah, i think cold sores not treated tt way. i think urs r ulcers, so ok to treat using salt lor.

oh yah when bb is engaged, think we will go toilet more frequently. hahaha, i think by then when it happens to me, i can might as well stay in the bathrm since i alrdy got a lot of toilet trips now. hahahaha

hahahaha! yah quite true, cant multi-task... end up breathless.
v funny leh.

hi hi crystallized..
i think i very bad one..if pple see me & purposely squeeze with me, then i will turn back & shout to the person "cant u see i m preggy?" or use my hands to push the person also lor..i think that's why hubby rather stop me from gg to such crowded areas..keke..

Hi Coral & Jackiejon

KK only offers 1 or 4 bedded for delivery. Can only choose 2 bedded for other women's problem. I was stunned....

wendy,

yesterday went for my 1st anatal class, and there is this short presentation by stemcord, seems like they have promotion till end sep06. before promotion enrolment is about 1000+ but for this promotion enrolment only 500bucks & subsequent years 250bucks.
Hope my litte info helps, you may wish to contact them for more details

Gemini,
ya, was thinking couldnt be the same lesson since urs is already the 5th lesson and mine is only the 1st lesson. Btw, how do you find the exercise for the 2nd & 3rd classes?

crystallized, wendy,
my hb will always make sure he stands in front of me holding my hand when in crowded places so he can protect my tummy. when up escalator, he will stand behind me cos he scared i dizzy spell n faint then fall backwards. when down escalator, he will stand in front. quite sweet lor.

when at crowded places, i make sure my hands are always in front of my tummy so i can react faster if someone comes too close or going to bang into me or look at going to bang into me.

hi hi delphine..
thks for sharing the info with me..ya, now they are having offer..just that the registration fee is $50 more than those that sign up at the suntec rdshow..so not too late to go for the promo as well if u r keen..i think $500 is for ur hospital coz if u deliver at diff hospital the charges will be slightly diff lor..me now also want to find out more abt cordlife & also cord blood banking b4 i decide lor..at least got to do some homework also..to have a better understanding..thks ahh..thks..

hi hi selina..
ur hubby is very sweet..ya, hubby will hold my hands as well esp like when climbing stairs even at most times..u r right lor..got to use our hands to put in front of the tummy just in case the one in front suddenly step backwards then accidentally hit onto us also..

today I have a bad stomachache, doc said due to lot of air inside. really regret drinking coke. before pregnant, i do not drink coke also cos will cause stomach flu.

484842.png

Hi wei kuan,

better drink more water, must take good care of yourself...

Hi wendy,

No prob, just to share someting i know.

Jenny,
was it u who said that Dr Ang was wearing bermudas when delivering babies? Read in forum before leh.

Dun like to squeeze with ppl. Now alot of ppl down with flu wor.

Wendy,
I'm not sure whether the babycraft cot has additional 10%. cos Taka visa card gives 10% additional discount to sales items unless otherwise stated.

bad news ..i just received a call frm KK saying that my blood test yesterday shows that i have slight high blood sugar. Need to go for a full day course abt diet and needs to take a kit back to test blood sugar at home....need to take blood test again and fast before goin for the course. haiz

Hi Janice,

did u juz say that taka visa card gives 10% additional disc to sales items...is it for all baby items or juz the cot? thanks

Selina,
ur hubby v sweet.
i am sure all our hubbies will protect us at crowded areas. yah lor, most times, i will put my hands ard my tummy to 'block' ppl from knocking into me. my hb likes to hold me as if i am so delicate or rather i am like a lao ah ma.
kekeke

KKH
wah so funny, they dun offer 2 bedder?
thats like 2 extremes... either sharing wif a few pple or none at all.

aspialle,
slight high blood sugar needs to do monitoring? thats gestational diabetes? take care, muz cut down sugar liao.

wow... the thread hv been very active these few days huh... juz finished reading some of the postings... tink i gotto give some a miss...

Janice,
tink i was the 1 who mention dr ang wore bermudas cos i rem he wore tat to deliver my gal the last time... mayb it was in the middle of the nite ba... he gotto wake up frm his sleep... at 1st he told me he estimate i'll prob pop in the morning at ard 7-9am... who knws my gal decides to cum out a few hrs earlier... hehe....

CL
====
me not getting a CL cos my mum will cook for me n help to look aft the bb while my maid help with the housework and washings... at nite, i'll look aft bb myself... i don dare to let my maid cook or look aft bb cos i find her not v hygienic and she's forgetful n chor lor.

Andreatyt,

Taka visa card gives additional 10% during their sales events. http://www.dbs.com/sg/personal/cards/takashimaya/#discount

Unless no participating brands such as triumph, warcoal etc no discount. According the taka salesgirl, taka usually has about 4 sales events each year which is storewide. I'm not sure whether there's any further discount for the cot or not. Haven't go to the baby fair yet leh.

Aspialle,
watch out on your food...you'll have to take less carboh eg. rice if it's gestation diabetes. My friend also kena when preggie.

crystallized
actually i duno hw cum my blood sugar is high cos every morning, i eat white bread/oatmeal bread with milo (without sugar) or milk

perhaps weeks ago i drink yakult almost everyday cos i feel v v full after each meal...but now i buy the yakult light, the one with healthy choice sign

i wonder is it because the intake of rice, cos i cook during the weekdays...haiz going to deliver soon liao mah,....still have to check blood sugar everyday....v troublesome but for the sake of bb , no choice loh

janice, I bought the babycraft cot from Taka, and they don't give extra 10% for the Taka card.

Aspialle, you eat homecook food everyday still high blood sugar ah? Why they did blood test on you huh? So far they never do any blood test on me for blood sugar leh. I eat chocolate bar daily, dunno whether I'll kena or not.

Sharp pain in lower back.
-------------------------
As I was walking just now I go tthis very sharp pain in the lower back and could not walk for a while. Luckily the pain went away. Maybe I should start doing my pelvic exercise. Was too lazy to do leh. Does anyone do? it helps?

Bunny,
oh u are the one ah! Dr Ang delivered my friend's sis's baby also. He had 4 patients on that day and had to run here and there. Like pao3 tai2 like that. Hee hee..

Janice,

I went to the baby fair on wed but didnt use taka visa card cos the cashier dun states that there is additional disc.
anyhow thanks for the explanation.

Coral,
Did u buy the cot during the sales?? the taka card only gives 10% discount at selected sales. Otherwise the card quite useless leh.

My colleague said dun bend down when picking up things. it's like crushing the baby. Got to bend your knees sideways instead, like ballet dancer like that.

Andreatyt,
no problem! Did u see baby cot at the sales??

Janice,
ya lor... tat time there's oso another lady delivered juz a few minutes b4 me.

my fren gng to deliver today by dr ang... thru c-sect...

Bunny,
saw in another thread that Dr Ang delivers about 800 babies per year!
Can we choose to induce if over EDD? My EDD is 17th Oct and hb's birthday is 18th Oct. He wants to share birthday cake with our gal. Hee hee..

aspialle,
hopefully u can learn more when u go 4 the course/talk by KKH. hopefully u can keep it under ctrl.
mayb some pple r juz prone to gestational diabetes though their diet has been controlled.

Janice, I bought the cot during sales. But the staff say no extra discount for card holder.Ya, the card quite useless, hb has been thinkingof cancelling it.

Coral,
oh.. if that's the case, I'll wait for hb to come back to buy the baby cot liao. So far i think the best credit card in sg is the POSB Everyday card.

Andreatyt,
before the sales, i only saw 2 baby cots that taka is selling. 1 is babycraft, the other is another brand, forgot name liao.

Janice,
dr ang will advice u if u r due and not yet dilated nor had any labour symptoms. tat time i went to see him a few days b4 my EDD, i stil hvnt got the labour symptoms yet, he checked my cervic oso not dilate at all. due to my petite build, he advise me not to wait till aft EDD (thou in some cases, they can hold bb till 1-2 wks aft EDD) cos he afraid bb will grow bigger over the few days n will b difficult for me to deliver. so he told us to choose a date to induce.

hi hi aspialle..
diff pple absord sugar differently..some even didnt take in as much will also seems to absorb more than others..just watch ur diet from now onwards will be very gd..switch ur food intake of white rice to brown rice (coz i think i read somewhere when white rice is digested, the amt of sugar is = to 6 spoons of sugar or something ard there) & eat more vegetables..me at the beginning of jul did a gluccose test (but results is ok & normal, just tat gynae was worried coz he said bb's size is slightly to the big size - guess maybe me & hubby more to the fleshy type) nowadays i only ate brown rice with vege or yong tau foo soup..drink more water & also take in more serving of fruits..try to take organic food as well..it does help..also u wont feel that guilty lor..must cut down on sweet stuff...all the best! jia-you!

hi hi bunny..
ur mum also doing confinement for u ahh..so how much will u be giving as a token of appreciation & also will u be giving to her b4 the confinement or aft the confinement ahh?

hi hi janice..
i think the 10% only is applicable to special Taka's sale, right?not always have such sale one..if i didnt remember wrongly..the last of such sale was in Jun ba..during the GSS then..

hi hi andreatyt..
aaa..i dun think i have organise any BP on the pampers ba..whc brand are u refering to?

coral, ya lor, i also puzzled...i was tested high blood sugar thru the routine test we do every appoinment...the urine test actually, if the stick changes to green colour means no gd

aspialle,
must watch your diet wor. remember, my sis had GD too. cut down on carbo. fruits intake also must cut down cos some fruits are super high in sugar, though fruit sugar, they can add on to your sugar intake as well since our body now may not b able to break down sugar so efficiently. simple carbo like white rice must avoid. pound on more complex carbo like brown rice, wholemeal bread. oatmeal bread also good but not too much cos think they still use white flour instead of wholemeal flour or grains. so must check the nutritional labels carefully. troublesome though but no choice. avoid too much oil as well. try to go as blend as you can. this is what my sis does to control her diet last time. hope this helps...

Hi Wtan

I have already pm you my email address already.

Hi Coral

Thanks a million for the information.

Hi KCM

I didnt know KKH didnt offer 2 beded beds. Anyway, this is my first time using KKH to give birth. The other time when I gave birth to my son was in Gleneagles and was staying in 1 beded.

aspialle, I see. Then try to heed advise of the ladies here, cut down on white rice ba. And see what the KKH course can teach you. I also buy vitagen as they claim to have less sugar but I can't stop eating chocolate. So hopefully I'm fine.

Wendy, but I bought my cot during the GSS in Jun leh, also not entitled to the extra 10% lor. So that card quite useless leh. At least Isetan & Robinson card better.

Bunny,
u were induced last time? Ya, read somewhere must induce within 42 weeks. Otherwise baby too big. dangerous to mummy also.

Coral,
no lah! I mean the best credit card in sg, in my own opinion, is the POSB everyday card. Can get discount at carrefour, cash rebate at Watson's, SP services bills and starhub bills. Most worthwhile card!

Taka Sale
=========
hi ladies, i may be able to help here cos my boutique is locatedd at Taka. they are not having the storewide 10% off using their card now. so the discounts is up to the various brands to offer. hope thiss helps.

coral,

Most importantly, your intake of sweeten drinks, think you should cut on those as they are very high in sugar, esp soft drink.

Dun worry too much, you can do it. My parents recently also have their body check up & found out that they have diabetes. then they stop all soft drink & you know what??? in their next visit to doc, their sugar level drop tremendously!!! soft drinks are really killer!!

selina
i dun understd how come carbo can contribute to GD. makes no sense to me leh. wah u certainly noe alot abt simple & cplx carbo.

u wkg in btq?

Hi Jackiejon,

Yes, tat's why till now I've yet to decide which one to go for. I have to sign up latest by the following wk, cos now oredi 31wk plus.

Begining of this year when I was warded bcos of dehydration, I chose the 2 bedded ward but end up it was as noisy as the 4 bedded ones. My neighbour then had had her whole kampong/ village to visit her. It was a nightmare...