(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Jenny
wats the brand of the thermometer u bought at $89?

coral
u so funny! say we cant provide an extra swimming pool for our fast growing babies! i agree lor. nature has it tt he can fit inside our tummy one lah. when he cant tahan, then out he comes!

coral,
i think might as well bring them over since they are new ones. as for carseat, you might have to check out US standards cos i know local carseats cant be used in aussie, not sure abt states though.

i agree wif u lor. tt's what i told hb also. i dun wanna eat too much now then later cos bb to become too fat also then cannot go thru birth canal.

crystallized,
it seems like my tummy has stopped growing cos think it grew quite a bit during my 2nd tri so a lot of pple telling me if tt is the case, 3rd tri wont grow so much. i dunno but it didnt seem to have grown alot now but just that i'm very sure my boy has grow alot cos the feel of his movement now very different. but i enjoying it though a lot of times it can be painful lor...

thanks mummies!! emmm...seems like alot of u got urself the sterilizers ya...think better get one also la in tat case...

hi jenny, me at GlenE..dun knw if they got give..but heard tat they quite stingy one... (dun knw how true though)..everything also chargeable... sigh..
so wat brand u go for the ear type? i saw safety 1st at Taka sale yesterdae, selling at $95...my friend told me some courts selling at $100 for braun.. watson selling braun at $125...(cut throat again....)

Hi selina,

for me, my tummy suddenly seems to grow during the 3 tri. my colleague was saying that mine seems to grow overnite the wkend. But it is still not very big. I believe our bb has grown a lot as sometimes, i feel my tummy getting a very hard kick, tummy slightly tightened. It do get a bit painful, but i think i rather bear with it than get no kicks at all.

gemini,
very true. totally agree tt's y i enjoying it depsite the occasional pain.

ilovemybabyg,
i doubt GE gives the thermometer. my sis didnt receive it for both her kids. go make friends wif clinic nurses n then ask them to get for u cheaper. anyway no hurry so can slowly make friends mah
i lucky to have neighbour working at downstair clinic so she will get for us at staff price... think a lot cheaper... hb will settle this... i dun have to worry...

Hi Gemini,

Oh yes, i am attending the class tonight. Btw, can i check with you where to make payment huh?? cos it's my first time there. hehe
I'm wearing maroon top.

do you all feel hot today, me especially hot leh... until my colleagues said "wah, how come your face so red??"

And so stupid that some1 actually complain to my manager that I wearing not appropriately to work. Preggies hot mah, so less clothing lor.. Sigh...

delphine,
me feeling ok lah. in air-con room so dunno hot or not... think u wear too sexy liao right... some conservative pple cannot tahan to see preggie too sexy one... i kana a few times while shopping then kana stared by ah soh n auntie, point here point there type. i fed up purposely stand in front of them n pose until they buay tahan then they turn n walk away...

Selina,
so far my tummy growth has been gradual. then suddenly these 2 wks, it grew in spurts! even my MIL commented she noticed my tummy grew a lot suddenly. i juz worried if keep growing alot like tt, how am i gg to take the weight huh?

yah sometimes i feel baby's movements can b quite painful but yes, i do enjoy it coz most times can feel him moving ard, kicking here and there, and at times v ticklish! enjoy it!
and when i pat pat my tummy, he will usually respond abit. i like it when his bum moves and u can see my tummy loopsided! hehehe, v cute!
even my hb was surprised when he saw it and feel the baby's movements. i think its such a joy.

delphine
some ladies do complain of getting hotter as they advanced along. i do feel abit hotter at times, but still wearing the same clothings lah. i avoid long sleeved only. those pple whom complained abt u might not noe preggies will feel v hot. perhaps u can dress lighter but not to the extent its not suitable 4 ofc wear? sometimes those aunties cannot stand pple wearing like tt lah.

Hi Gemini,
My tummy also suddenly become very big. I haven't seen my ex-colleague for few days only. When he saw me, he was shocked by my big tummy!

How come the kicks are painful? Mine not painful but very strong. Mayb i have alot of fats ba.. This morning, baby kicked and my whole body was jerking by her kicking!

crystallized/selina,

that day i was wearing bare back, maybe that why ba... now can only wear sleelveless top, although cotten material but still very hot leh... so now in my account room can wear normal lor but when step outside, then wear a cardican lor..

Think my tummy also grow more obvious during end of 2nd trimester or 3rd. Even aspialle saw me last week also mention that my tummy bigger liao... finally I looked preg than fat... haa... but now with the extra weight, sleep is a problem lor...

Rhys also kick harder. Love those kicks and going to miss them when he comes out.

Oh, anyway, think my belly button started to look strange. Maybe popping out a bit at the side... feels weird.

And... very sadly, I got stretch marks liao... sigh...

crystallized,
me too... i like it when he stretch n rest on 1 side of my tummy. i also like it when i sitting down, he curled up towards my lower abs. tis give me a lightening feeling (dun feel so choke) at least for a while.

janice,
i also dunno y will b painful but sometime if he move or kick too strong, then will pain lor. ha ha... your girl so strong. my boy sometimes also like that.

delphine,
guess wearing a cardigan is the best option out ba... some pple still not used to seeing preggies so sexy. my grandma is one of those. i wore my normal stretchable top with stretchable pants n she asked why dun i wear something looser n more comfortable... then i just tell her tis is not tight n very comfy then she smile if off...

vivian,
your tummy is definitely more obvious now compared to previously. yah... i also think i will miss the kicks when my boy comes out...

Hi delphine,

Hope to see u tonite!

Payment is made at the cashier dept, which is very near to the seminar room. If I remember correctly, from the reception, walk to your left.

I'm getting more hotter each day. Even with the fan blowing directly at me at nite, I can still perspire. Need to have it on at the max. My office is well known as a big refrigerator, but nowadays, i dun feel the coldness even in sleeveless top.

Hi selina,

I think other people have the conception that we need to wear loose tops to be more comfortable, they are not used to seeing we wearing fitting tops, restrict our movement. i was wearing a perfect mum top which have a elastic band on the back and my colleague was asking me whether i feel uncomfortable wearing it cos she see that it fit me just nice.

Hi janice,

i guess depending on where my gal kick, but esp near the belly button or my ribs, they do get painful.

Hi vivian,

agree with you. i have a hard time getting to have a gd nite sleep, trying to find the best sleeping position.

it is true that those aunty cannot tahan we wear bare back. I saw some aunties pointing at me before and i heck care abt it.

crystallized,
12 sets is enough if you are washing every 1 to 2 days lah.
So fast you lay your heart on epidural ah. You know, if you opt for epidural, your medisave deduction will be lesser?
Dun think you can keep bb with you in the room for too long. Nurse won't recommend also. Dun worry abt milk flow first, if you are stressed, it will affect the milk flow. Anyway milk flow only comes in 3 to 4 days later. Dun worry with the signs of crying too. You will know very fast one. This is mother instinct haha...
I have to clear my 2005 leave by end of this year, meaning before I due. If not, will be forfeited leh. Lugi lah, might as well take and go shopping or rest at home to do housework. I'm bringing forward my unused 21 days annual leave for 2006 to next year. Then add on next year leave, I will have 40++ leaves. Actually, beside annual leave, my company still have Pro-Family leave (2 days) and Childcare leave (I think next year I will have 3 days cos 2 kids) and also Child MC Leave (Think dunno 3 or 4 days).

crystallized, ilovemybabyg,
Let me go home to check the brand for the thermometer, forgot the brand le. Mother and Baby mag got its advertisement. I bought it during the Mother and Baby fair this year.

ilovemybabyg,
If I'm not wrong, GlenE has that goodie bag too. Let me go home and check if GlenE is in the list of hospital. Ya, GlenE q stingy one, they charge everything.

Weikuan/selina/crystallized
Cannot understand why they are still so narrow minded??? time has changed man...

Gemini
yup yup hope to see you tonight.

Selina, Gemini,
Oh.. mayb cos my baby hasn't turn head down? So the kicks are sideways. Not painful. Yours kicking near the ribs or bellybutton area.

My gal looks chubby from the 3D scan. Getting round like mummy
My hb said needs lots of imagination to see wor.
483993.jpg

Delphine
u so sexy wear bare-back ah? no wonder got pple bu shuang lah. hee
or can call it sour grapes.
v bad of me hor?

Vivian,
u r not alone lah. think my belly button looked funny oso. dunno it wants to pop out or dun.
frens did say lah, we will miss the baby's kicks aft he comes out. coz its the only time they can kick us. actually i always wonder, does baby cry inside our tummy? if they dun, how come they noe how to cry so loud when they r borned?

Stretchmarks ah? aiyah, dun b sad lah. i kena when i was 4 mths alrdy. kan kai bah.

Selina,
i cant make out when my baby curls up. can only tell when he shifts his bum.
then my tummy will become loopsided. i enjoy this the most as its the strongest movement.
did i tell u my boy turned alrdy? i am so happy.

my baby is not v high up, but still i can feel breathless at times. nvm lah, juz endure for a while more only. i stretch myself when i feel breathless.

Wei kuan
ur baby so strong until ur spoon flew away? hahahaha
occasional coke is fine lah. no need to feel guilty. mayb ur baby is craving for it oso.

Jenny
i din noe medisave deduct lesser when we opt 4 epidural leh. how come?
i dun think i am in the right state of mind to think when the pain hits me. so might as well decide on epidural instead of trying other pain relief. i think my hb will end up asking me to take epidural when he sees me in pain.

12 sets enuff ah? heng ah... i dun wan to buy alot and end up baby outgrow so fast.

nurses usually wun encourage lah, but we can keep baby wif us since we staying in 1 bedder mah. but as i said, see how lah. i am quite flexible to chg.

oh i noe why, coz i am not clearing my 3rd mth yet. thats why i can clear my leave aft the 2 mths. yah in ur case u need to clear ur 2005 leave. me not using 2006 leave yet. oso intend to keep it.

crystallized,
Dunno leh. But my friend, she opted for epidual, stays in 2 bedded for 3D2N but charged under 4 bedded, she got to top up $1.4k+ cash leh. Her medisave deduction very little only.
For me, I stayed in 2 bedded for 5D4N but charged under 4 bedded, I only top up $600+ cash. My medisave deduction was $1.4k for mother and $1.4k for baby. (Mother and baby bill separated).
I can't save my 3rd mth maternity leave. If not I die first... cos no one will cover my work. You know where I working lah, sensitive, so no temp or part time is allowed. Thats why I wanna take all 3 mths in one shot

hi ladies..anyone knows if we are still entitled to variable bonus even if our ML is near end of the year?? cos, my company's bonus payout is at end of the yr and dun knw if we are entitled to it... wanna check wif my HR, but tot maybe check wif u ladies first...anyway bonus is based on d performance of the yr, so shld be payout to preggies like us rite?? but will it be pro-rated also??? seems like not fair to pro-rate also leh...

thanks jenny, let me knw d the brand of ur thermometer ya...

jenny
oh mummy & baby bills are separated ah? dunno lah, see how issit. these sort of things cant predict, and if need to spend, so be it. kan kai le...

so tt means u dun work in a team whereby ur coll can cover u? 4 me, still ok. but it will b hard on my colleagues if i MIA for so long. so i will split since 4 the 3rd mth, i probably wun take at 1 shot. i take a few days at a time.

Janice,
u still haven taken into acct the fees to pay to the anaesthetist leh. i tell u lah, our bills will nvr fit exactly into the one they listed. sure alot of small minor things here and there, add up become a big bomb 4 u to bring home.

ilovemybabyG
by right it shldnt affect. but if the company is chow kuan one, then hard to say liao. they can come up wif a thousand and 1 reason not to give u.

just went for my apptmt today, and taken the glucose test. The liquid which is so sweet makes me feel like vomiting.Will knw results next mth

im now at 29 weeks...the bb growing fine at 1.5 kg now and i am now 60kg which i gained 11kg.....haiz

coral have u sign up the admission details like which bed to choose? they already asked me abt it and has to do so before 34 weeks
most likely will go for the A1 ward so tat hb can stay with me

Crystallized,
Really? So many misc. fees ah... Wah.. imagine confinement lady fees, tonics, massage lady etc...$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
Do we get baby bonus in cash or it'll be credited into ordinary account??

Aspialle,
Is glucose test a blood test or the urine test? My gynae never mention leh. Dun worry lah. I'm 10kg more than u..

Janice,
Ya like what crystallized said, you haven't take into the accts of other small small thingy. I remember the cost for epidual hits up to about $600+. Anyway, the table is a rough guide for the charges for the bed per day. Still have lots of stuff to add in, medicine, jabs etc.
Ya lor, a lot of $$$$, need to set aside at least $10k for a bb arrival. Usually will need to top up $2K+ on hospital bill if you opt for 1 bedded, the CL $1.8K + ang bows on arrival and departure, tonics which will can easily cost up to $2K, massage lady $700+, bb full mth celebrations like buffet ($2K) and full mth package ($1K). Phew!!! Then never mind, after bb arrived, still got jabs.
BB bonus will receive via bank acct. You can open a bank acct for bb, to credit the $ in. If not, can also credit into your acct. The first payment is when bb is 6 mths old, I think... (forgot le cos the $ goes into my gal's acct directly, I din keep track.)

ilovemybabyg,
Should not be pro rated if you are a confirmed staff. If your company gives you pro rated, then complain to MOM.

crystallized,
Usually mother and bb bills separate will be cheaper. No worries on this cos nurse will advise on payment one.
No team for me, I'm working alone and report directly to programmer director. When I on long leave/long MC/Maternity leave, other colleague from another lab will need to cover my duties. Very siong on her one, cos I have 2 programme directors to report to, and both of them have 80 staff over them, total of 150 over staff to support. So whoever kena to cover me, very unlucky one. They very good life one, only have 1 programme director with 80+ staff. My workload is double of theirs.

Janice
Yes, many many misc charges. I managed to come across a bill that one mummy shared some mths ago. cant rem where i stored the soft copy. If i find it, will post it here so we can all get ready for the big bomb.

and yah lor, tts excludg the CL fees, masseur, tonics... think the baby bonus is in cash but divided into several payments lah. aiyah anyway wat they give is barely enuff to cover half the bills. anyway better than nothing lah.

Jenny
wah ur work sounds so hectic. i always wonder how those pple w/o proper covering colleagues cope. v stressful on them when they go on ML, long MC or holidays, like ur case.

i am juz keeping my fingers crossed so tightly tt my bill will b minimal since i am stayg in 1 bedder. cant imagine gotta cough up wif alot of cash aft medisave deduction lor. i saw the 1 bedder and 2 bedder difference if suay suay gotta C-section. *touch wood* i wan to faint leh. such a great difference.

hi hi coral..
oic..okok..hear from u again on this..thks for the updates..as for the stuff u bought..

hi hi crystallized..
for a moment i browse thru the thread..i thot i read u gg to ask for 4 epi..i was like ah..4 shots of epi?then i realise i read too fast..

hi hi coral/vivian/selina..
can find out more from u all on the cord blood storage?have u all sign up from stemcord?me now chking out on cordlife as well..hubby wants to find out 1 more option b4 he decide to sign up or if not, then donate to SCBB?

Hi all mummy out there,
This forum really move fast, if miss few days i am out liao....... haha
Went for check up Dr Koh said my bb is shy the spinal bone facing my stomach so cannot see the face, third time liao hopefully next check-up at the month can see my bb face.

Janice, how nice u can see your bb face. So cute, yr husband is right need lots of imagination.

b@byzuCcHini- yr belly look funny? Mine too, dont know whether pop in or out so cute...After reading what u say is true, so must treasure and enjoy bb kick once born stomach will not have the kick or stretch etc.......

Must really start saving, Jenny is right alot of small small thing to take into account.

After joining this forum, alot of encouragement really make me feel better now. Now that i am 30wks, my bb is 1660g. Dr Koh said, hey Esther u must have been eating alot of D24, i said yes. Cos ppl said eat durian bb will be bigger, as my last check up was only 849g which was quite small. Now he said i cannot eat too much if not will end up too big and must c-section......

hi hi crystallized..
ya lor..pie-say..i was reading too fast for a start..this thread can really go very fast man from morn till nw..

crystallized,
Have nitemares at nite lor... I always feel stressed when I on leave or MC, even for one day... scare a lot of work to clear when I return to office...
Haiz... bill to be minimal for 1 bedded? Very hard ah... usually 1 bedded, the bill will be high. Tats why I think so hard if want 1 bedded or 2 bedded lor... and touchwood... if got complications... the bill higher!
If emergency c-section, the bill will be higher. If you opt for c-section, bill will be lower.

esther,
nice to hear from you. your bb n my boy almost same size. mine was 1655g at 30 wks. seeing doc next monday guessing my boy's weight to be slightly over 2kg ba. cos lately i get hungry very easily though dun really feel like eating but hungry so no choice must eat... i also eat a lot of durian. my gynae estimate my boy to be slightly over 4kg at full term.

Jenny,
Think I'm going to skip most of the items u list ba. eg. CL (my aunt doing for me), 1 month celebration, massage lady.

I'm going to keep REALLY quiet on the glucose test next time i see Dr Ang :p

My job also can't find replacement. So my boss got to cover me. Dun dare to take 3 months at 1 shot..

Esther,
the black dots are the eyes.. Scan not very clear lor. But can see baby, very happy liao!

Janice,
hahaha... (on the gluclose test)
Your aunt doing confinement for you, you dun need to pay or give her a big ang bao meh?
I already listing out my full mth guest list and list of ppl who I need to give full mth package goodie bag. Phew, I need at least $2k to pay for the full mth celebrations, and goodness, I have cut down my guest list by half!

hospital
=========
think i confirm will take 2-bedded. dun wanna spend too much too cos still got so much other expenses to incur. can save save. anyway, dun think hb can do anything much even when he stays. think if he stays i prob wont sleep so well cos i will worry if he comfortable or not, cold or not etc. if he sleeps at home sure know he will be comfy one... ha ha ha...

Wendy
no worries lah. agree that the thread can go really fast.

Jenny
i can understd how u feel lah. sometimes even though my job got covering colleagues, when i go on MC, i oso feel uneasy.

thats why i say juz hope i will pay wats neccessary lor. so i termed it 'minimal'. i noe 1 bedder alrdy exp, so if got complications *choy choy choy* sure worse.
i hope i wun get to hear the c-word lah. v scary.

Selina,
u serious? baby will b 4kg at birth? mine estimated ard 3.5kg. so far ur baby not so big as compared to mine wat. gynae says babies double their weight at 30 wks. meaning urs shld b 1.655kg x 2 = 3.31kg only. think u oso quite petite. shldnt hv big baby.

Janice
even though ur aunt doing confinement 4 u, u need to give her a substantial ang pau rite?

Jenny,
ya.. need to give my aunt ang bow also. In fact, when i got married, my 2 aunts (both not married) were the ones who gave me my "jia4 zhuang1" instead of my mum.

Selina,
true. i think your hb will be more comfy at home.

hi hi jenny..
do u know approximately how much is the market rate for confinement ang-baos ahh?coz me chking out to see how much to give my mum..do u know if the ang-bao given includes getting the herbs & tonics as well?

Jenny

I have still yet to find a confinement lady to do confinement for me. Most of the good confinement ladies are already fully booked already. I heard from some of my friends (who used to employ confinement lady) that they usually booked them when they are about 3 months pregnant. I didnt know I have to book them so early.

Anyway, I dont wish to go through an agent as I prefer to get one by recommendation.

By the way, I came across a cook book on confinement food at Popular Book store. Its call "The Chinese Pregnancy & Confinement Cookbook" by Ng Siong Mui.

http://www.popular.com.sg/jsp/product/product_detail.jsp?vca001=190&vpd001=19983

I already bought the book and it look interesting. If you are a member with Popular Book Store, you have additional discount on it. After discount it cost about $23.62

Who is helping you with your confinement? Have you book your Confinement Lady?

Hi jenny,

just last nite, i'm was discussing with my hb on how/where to utilise the fund for bb when she arrived. Do agree with you. Small small amount do add up to a lot. Was telling my hb that next time, I be not buying so many clothes/stuff for myself already. Cos I can forsee that my gal will need additional medical care like me which, i hopefully hope it will not come true!

Hospital
========
Was also thinking of 1 or 2 bedder but saw frm the table if need to go emergency C (touchwood), the difference is a lot! So most probably stick to 2 bedder.

jenny
when issit considered emergency c-section? i noe if we opt 4 c-section right fr the start, it will b cheaper. coz emergency c-section is like calculating natural + c-section?

wendy
if its ur own mum, mayb u wanna give more. if it was me, i will prob give her $1.5K or $2K coz i find it v hard work to b CL. thats excluding the herbs & tonics we take during confinement.

Jenny,
can't see your link. Access denied leh.
Dr Ang tried to do 3D scan for me 1 month ago but not clear. So only mananged to get this one last fri.

Selina,
I remembered some1 mentioned that her gynae overestimated the baby's weight at birth. Think quite alot of difference wor.

Crystallized,
I really dunno how much ang pow i should give my aunt leh..Somemore my 2 aunties stay together, so i guess both will look after me during confinement ba.. One of them is retired. Any idea how much is ok??

hi hi jackieon..
hmm..think u really got to chk it out fast..maybe i try to help u chk it out with a friend whom just gave birth this jun to see if her CL will be available for u ba..

hi hi crystallized..
i think emergency c-sect happens when cannot go thru natural birth, right? as in eg: if water burst for toO long then not dilated enough or if bb poo-poo inside & this is not gd..coz cannot let poo-poo be intake by bb..shd be in such cases have to go for emergency c-sect..maybe i m wrong..hope someone can correct me on this..thks for the clarification..me was jst thinking how much coz i m not sure abt the market rate..u r right..if own mum, can give more..thks ahh..

janice
i really no idea leh. very headache. if give too little, they might wonder how come so stingy. but if give a lot, then mayb ur pocket will suffer. see if the other gals here can share wif u.

wendy
yah i noe generally emergency c-section occurs when we cannot give birth naturally after trying. but some frens say not like tt leh. so i am confused. imagine being charged for natural + c-section. wah pay until u blast man.

thats my own thinking lah. own mum sure give better treatment than CL. so i dun mind to give her more. but there r some whom feels since we hvg own family members to help out, its when we can save so no need to give so much. so depends which school of thots u belong to.

Jenny
yah ur link access denied...