(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Just asked my HR. NO maternity benefits for me except the standard 3 months maternity leave. NO ANG POW!!!!!!
kao_sad2.gif
can forget about wat 1-bedded or 2 bedded liao..

Jenny
i noe lah, ur gynae famous 4 helping patients save money one.
and he v pro natural delivery. gd 4 ladies whom wans natural w/o epidural.

oh my gosh, seems like my baby is the heaviest now. no wonder these few wks, i noticed sudden tummy growth spurts.
juz hoping i can deliver naturally.

hehee, mayb i will try the laughing gas to make me high so i can laugh non-stop and 4get abt the pain! Hahahaha
think when the midwives & nurses see me laughing non-stop, they will regret they give me the gas!

yah i oso think rest is impt and so my decision for a 1 bedder.
ur hb gg to stay over wif u?

jenny, when did you gal started teething? no lah, I not asking when can use the mask, I asking roughly when they will administer the epidural...maybe I check with my natal consultant.

coral, ya, got to be independent, u can drive so no worries, maybe you will meet other few mummies
and also others ladies accompany hb w/o kids doing their studies there. U will be surprised with the support there, all came from overseas but can get closed like family

janice, 3 symptoms? is it contraction, water bag burst & show?

Janice, the last tiem my water bag started with leaks. Just trickle down so i use pad. When i reach hospital, It burst, and water just flush out uncontrollable, in this case, pads wont help and the bed was like a swimming pool. So really depends on whether it burst with small leak or the big burst.

Mummyjoy, ya, when my hb was in Sweden, many of the wives who followed, became very close. But this time round only us going, so will have to make new friends there. Or I might just spend more time at home bonding with gal.

crystallized,
u mean your baby 1.8kg at week 31 is big? My baby weighed 1.5kg at week 29. Mayb also same size when reach week 31?! I now weigh a whopping 71kg! Wah.. never so heavy in my life..Sniff sniff..

Jenny, bunny and i all same gynae. Though Dr Ang said 80% of his patients went w/o epi, my friend's sis is 1 of the 20% wor

Ermm...does laughing gas actually makes u laugh????? So smelly can get high???????

mmummyjoy,
U are rite! The 3 symptoms are:
1. regular contractions
2. Blood discharge
3. waterbag burst

So as long as either 1 of the symptom happens, got to call gynae liao!

Coral,
your friend's boy boy was delivered naturally??

Err..the water just BURST like that?! watery or sticky ah? I remembered u said no smell rite?

no worries lah! Sure can make new friends. And with baby around, the days will pass by very quickly and meaningfully! I'm sure your baby will get lots of attention from them!

Hi delphine,

hope to see u on thurs. Just curious, why did u sign up for the class so late? I mean, we are having almost the same EDD but i'm attending the 5th lesson already, yet you are only attending the 1st one.

Hi janice,

laughing gas cant inhale too much also. My SIL inhale too much, become a bit high till she do not have the energy to push. In the end, my nephew has to be delivered assisted.

Coral
Did ur fren deliver naturally?

Janice
my baby is 1.9kg+, close to 2kg at 31 wks. Gynae did say a bit on the bigger side. how much weight u gained so far? i am quite ok. so far gained abt 7kg+. but 2 more mths to go so dunno will swell like a balloon anot.

hahahaha, i guess when u breathe in laughing gas correctly like wat jenny say, u will feel its effects. and u dun hv to keep breathing it like oxygen, so once u get high, u dunno the gas is smelling liao!

Hi gemini,

Oh because my hubby can only attend the lesson on sat, so when i call up in Jun, the nurse said sat classes for Jul06 fully booked liao, so no choice but to attend the Aug06 classes lor...
But strangly, the 1st lesson have to be on weekday then follow by every sat. Mine will end mid sep which i am afraid also(touch wood early delivery)

delphine,
I read somewhere is normal for us to have such dreams. Maybe we think too much?

coral,
If your hb can delay till you deliver, then better.
Wow, your colleague boy is big leh! 3.85kg! Natural birth? Pei Fu! How to squeeze thr ah? hahaha...

Janice,
water bag burst is like passing urine but you can't control lor. Water just keep flowing out. You can use normal pad, no need to use maternity pad, but like what coral said, depends on the flow lah. I heard it is about 1 cup of water.
Ya, call clinic phone, the phone will be diverted to Dr Ang's HP.
I'm going to take my 3 mths maternity leave at one shot. Cos if I take 2 mths, then clear the outstanding 1 mth within 6 mths, no one will cover my work. I will feel more stress. Anyway, I haven't finished clearing my last year leave, which I have to clear before I due in Oct. And this year 21 days leave still untouch yet.

crystallized,
Is normal that tummy will suddenly grow very big at last trimester. Aiya, the gas mask, though also known as laughing gas, won't make you laugh one lah, only make you high, but can't inhale too much, if not, bb also high. Yes, if I opt for 1 bedded, hb will stay over with me. I tell you hor, I dun dare to sleep alone in hospital hor. That time mine was 2 bedded, but first nite (which is the day I delivered lah), I was alone in the 2 bedded room cos no neighbour. I didn't sleep at all, scare leh. Lucky next morning got patient admitted for c-section, and I have neighbour accompany for the next few days.

mmummyjoy,
My gal's 1st tooth popped out when she's 7 mths old. Gums sore seems to start from 5 mths old. Phew, lucky I got record down, if not you asked me when, I also can't remember which mth kekeke... Not too sure on when can administer the epidural. I tot is anytime???
3 symptoms are contraction, waterbag burst and bleeding.

Gemini,
my friend's gal was assisted by suction. Her head was "pop" up for few months before becoming normal shape leh.

Crystallized,
i gained 10kg+ liao. now week 30. The baby's weight is only indicative. cos gynae measures the bones to estimate weight. That time gynae said my baby (at week 20) 1kg abit big. I told him cannot be leh. So he measured again and said 800++g only. So dun be too worried if baby seems heavier.

Aiyo gals, after reading that coral's colleague given birth hor, I'm now looking thr my gal's bb photos... now I so excited leh... Dunno why, but am excited and happy and scare at the same time... Dunno how to handle such a fragile bb hahaha... My biggest fear is to bath a NB!!!!

jenny
i noe they say tummy will grow suddenly v big during 3rd trimester. i was juz overwhelmed. hahaha
hb said i looked v cute wif my bloated tummy. cute wld b the last word i wld use on myself especially at this stage.

i was thinking high=happy? hehehe
if it was me, i think i will end up laughing hysterically.

i am not sure i dare to sleep alone in hospital anot but i think i will b able to lah. at most leave some night light on lor. and somemore the nurses come in wif baby every few hrs rite?

so when u gg to use ur long leave then? seems like u will b away for long.

Janice
yah i noe baby's weight only indicative. trying not to over worry as long as baby is healthy.

jenny
biggest fear is to bath a newborn????? how come? heheheehe... i thot the scariest is to hear ur baby crying non stop & u cant pacify him.

Coral,

i oso told the nurse i don 1 the jab, but she keep saying its to numb tat part so tat when the gynea do the stitches i wont feel pain lor...

Jenny,

the 3 symptoms are show (means spotting), water leak n contractions.

ya, me n hb oso tink our #2 is smaller compared to #1. i tot she would b much heavier cos tis time round i eat more durians den the last time.

btw, my weight only up by 1.1kg since my last visit 4 wks ago.

ha ha... my boss will fly over 11 & 12 sep which will b when i 36 wks... so not so bad. they ok to my mum to temp for me... another hurray... all my stress now gone...

coral,
wow! 3.85kg. pei fu pei fu.

jenny,
me too. mixed feelings also. so looking fwd but at the same time scared and worried. not sure abt the entire process...

crystallized,
my edd is 7 oct. i HOPE my boy can come out only after 38 wks cos i wanna enjoy my maternity leave until end of the year. year end usually very bz so dun wanna come back to work end dec than have to do all the shit work. rather on ML all the way until jan...

My colleague went thru natural birth. Ya pei fu. Will prob visit her on Thurs.

Janice, it's watery, just like urine water. Not much smell, people describe it as the smell of the straw mat.

Jenny,

agree with you, the thought of bathing NB scare me out... cos they are so fragile but my mum always tell me they are not as fragile as what you think...

Delphine, the gynae did not expect her bb to be this big lor. During her routine checks he had say her bb is in the average range only...Hence, gynae alwways say it's estimation, sometimes over estimate, sometimes under estimate...

Selina
then muz talk to ur baby and ask him to come out later.
oh yr end for u is busier at work huh? 4 my side, its the time when alot of colleagues r clearing leave, and when work is not so busy, so i am alright to go back. juz tt wondering how to work out the nursing schedule for my baby when i go back to work.

Coral,
actually the baby wun b considered too big if the mummy is not petite. eventually as long as baby is safely delivered and both child & mother are well, guess nothing else matters.

mmummyjoy,
My first one was an emergency c-section not natural birth.

crystallized,
i was too tired to be scared of sleeping alone in the hospital ward. anyway for c-section mummies, the nurse will come in every 2 hours to take blood pressure and temp, check on the drip etc.

Remember to give yourself enough time to intro the bottle to your bb before u go back to work. You also got to get the hang of pumping. i know of pple who can't achieve a proper let-down when they use the pump cos they are too used to having bb latch direct.
Just be prepared to wake up earlier before work to pump / feed bb b4 u leave. It'll be good to schedule at least 2 pump sessions while in the office. Quite difficult for me on certain days especially if there are many meetings. will just have to take it one step at a time.

went for my checkup today @ 28wks..

bb is 1.04kg and i've gain a total of 12kg already.. sighs.. think im gonna hit a total weight gain of at least 18kg for whole pregnancy.

bad news is, placenta is still blocking cervix.. so by next check up (@ wk32) gynae will be able to cfm whether i need c-section or can opt for natural.

most likely will be c-sect coz chances of placenta moving up is quite low...

bbgrace
i juz hope i wun need C-section lah. praying real hard.

Yah i will try to intro bottle to baby when he is 6 wks old as advised during antenatal class. i think i will try to pump each time even aft bb latch on.

yah i heard of the sacrifice we need to do when BFG. as long as hubby is supportive i think i can do it!

now i know why my gynae always do not do scan for me.I am 8 mths liao and total i done only 3 scans in total.
one during the early state to see the heartbeat, second during the fifth mth and third is recently to comfirm cysts gone.
next appt also no scan. guess i have one last scan.

Coral,
the water smells like straw mat? Oh.. then ok lah, i kinda like the smell actually..

Weikuan,
Wow... seems abit worrying.
kao_scared.gif
Showed my hubby the article and he asked me the same old question of y need to do so many ultrasound when i go and see gynae almost 3-4 weeks intervals.

Your 5th month was the detailed scan, right? Hmm...didn't know your gynae only did 3 scans for u so far. Did he/she tell u y?? Seems the rest of us get ultrasound scan on every visit leh.

Can I join in? My details as follow:

Nick : KCM
Expecting : Princess
EDD : Oct 9
Hospital : KK
Doctor : Dr Loh

cheers....

Hi, sorry to intrude....I'm fr the May MTB Thread.

I'm selling my new Medela Mini Electric Breast Pump at $100. I have only used it twice since I gave birth in May as my hubby bought a set of dual pump for me. It is still in very good condition with the entire packaging intact.

I am throwing in 2 standard packs of Pampers Dry & Clean Diapers, of which I only used 1 diaper as it is too small for my baby.

Interested mommies pls contact me at [email protected]

Sorry for MIAing these few days.
Been busy. Finally sent off my maid yesterday.
Trying to get my new maid to settle down.

Yesterday finally "tried" to wash Rhys's new clothes but in the end, only managed to take them out of the packaging and that's it. No mood and strength to wash them. Hb not willing to do too... sigh...Think will do it myself this weekend.

Recently, tummy grow bigger liao... Rhys moving more and more regular and harder. Sometimes pain... almost every half hour, he will wiggle and turn... think inside like no space like that... and come to think of it, the big day is so so near... 1 more mth...

Crystallized
============
your bb not the biggest lah. Think Rhys is 2kg at ard 31-32wks. I win liao... haaa... but my gynae told me he is at normal range, maybe becoz Rhys mummie also super big size... so relatively, normal lah... haa...

Dreams
======
I also got dreams abt delivery. Dreamt abt the doctor hold up a long stick and told me he is going to burst my water bag liao... then he did it but in the end, no contraction at all. BB dun want to come out... so panicky.. then I wake up liao.. scary...

Coral
=====
Dun worry, dun stress too much now. BB more impt. Get her out safely and healthyly and I believe everything else will go on fine later as things goes... But we sure going to miss you though...

Ultrascan
=========
I think I wun worry too much regarding the ultrascan lah. My gynae also say that acticles on internet sometimes are not accurate and verified. Best is to check with doctors. They knew best. I trust her lor, so if she say its ok, its ok. =)
Weikuan, I rem during antenatal class, the nurse also mention, in KKH, they only scan 3 times, not like private. But dun think it is becoz of the ultrascan after-effects.

crystallized,
Firstly, pai seh hor, din went home on Tue nite and yday nite, make you can't collect the rompers.
I dun think you will be laughing hysterically. More pain than happy ah.
Your hb not staying over with you? Actually hor, I leave the lights on, but I still scare lah. Unless you TBF, if not, nurse will bring bb over at nite. However, nurses will keep coming in to check every few hrs. Won't have time to sleep also. They need to monitor temperature, BP etc.
I'm actually clearing my leave one day per week now. Still have balance of 5.5 days leftover for Year 2005 to clear. This leave year can be brought forward to next year. I predict I will need to take a lot of leave next year cos 2 kids mah. I did a calculation, wah liew, can take at least 2 days each mth next year in order to clear 2006 leave wor.
I very afraid to bath NB one leh. So fragile... My 1st time bathing my gal was when she's 2 mths old. I scared till I cried while bathing her. She also sensed my fear and cried with me. Can see the fears in her eyes lor.

Bunny,
Actually still can feel a bit of the stitches even though our thighs are numbed mah. Hey, I also eating more durians this round leh. Hmm my weight gain only went up 600 grams since my last visit 4 weeks ago. I guessed because I sick for 1 mth plus lah.

Selina,
In fact, 1st time mum cos no experience, won't know how the delivery is. Not so much stress.

coral,
Wah, natural birth! PEI FU PEI FU!!! My gal when born only 2.86kg and I already pushed like mad! I can't imagine 3kg+!!!

delphine,
Ya, but still scare lah. Though not my first time hahaha...

Vivian,
Hahaha... Your dream so FUNNY!

Wei Kuan,
Like what Vivian said, most internet articles are not accurated. If the ultrascan is going to affect the bbs, there are so many bbs affected le. I'm not concerned with the ultrascans. If everything also scare, then might as well dun preggie. In fact, the food we are eating are mostly processed food. More chemicals inside.

janice, my gynae told me that unless got complicate problems, she will not do scan every mth cos not so good. the crsy on my baby already cleared as she said will and really do. i worry for nothing. she said normal

hi hi ladies..
sorry for MIA for such a long while..i missed u all here..wow..seems like a lot of topics covered..but gd also..i will try to read back the archives..hope i didnt missed out too much also..

hi hi selina..
u managed to get ur mum to temp for u ahh? wow..cool leh..

hi hi coral..
wow..really pei-fu to ur colleague giving birth naturally..it's indeed very encouraging to hear lor..very motivating leh..any idea if ur colleague use epi?hey, u gg away ahh? so u giving birth overseas?

hi hi jenny..
actually i think bathing a NB easier as easy hor..now that u mention..i guess we got to learn fast on that..coz if bathe too long..bb will catch a cold..if too fast..we duno will hurt the bb anot coz we maybe too "chor-lo"..

hi hi vivian..
do hope that ur new maid can adjust to herself fast..if not, gg to be quite taxing on ur side also..getting her adapt..i guess it's indeed common for preggy woman to get vivid dreams..haha..i think if i didnt remember wrongly..i also dreamt that i gave birth with a friend in jun..but seems like it's a electronic device..anyway, i cant remember much & woke up immediately..scary..

Finally today is my second last lesson already. Very lazy and tired to attend but no choice since next week is my last lesson.

This morning I have another BH again. Have this sharp pain at v.area for a while and I have to stop doing what I am doing at the moment. Is this the way to train us for delivery?

483557.png

morning ladies...
will be having my gynae appt tomolo..can't wait to see my BB...

anyway, realli hopin tat todae will be a better day for me..realli crossing my fingers...
483607.png

Wendy, not sure if she used epi or not, her intention was not to use, will have to wait till she settle down b4 I chat with her. Sice I'm down with cough, so dare not visit her.

Vivian,ya, now priority is to get gal gal out safely and to find her a NAME. We have yet to name her...

Dream
=====
last night again dreamt that I gave birth liao...

good morning everyone. hope all had a good national day yesterday. mine was boring. stayed at home to pack n select hands-me-down for my boy and finally got them sorted out so my mum can wash them anytime liao... another thing off my shoulder at least...

looking at the amount of clothes, was telling my mum n hb tt think my boy will be dressed nice nice at home even. otherwise all wasted if he is to outgrow them very soon. better wear first cos alot of the clothes from my sis all nv worn b4 type.

ultrasound scan
================
i agree with most mummies. not too worried abt it cos my gynae mentioned it is safe. also, so many other mummies out there have done it so i dun see any real issue. i think it is gd to do u/s regularly too cos we can have ease of mind, esp for mummies cos we tend to worry too much. cant imagine not being able to see my boy every visit. i wld have gone crazy by now... ha ha ha... also to check on umbilical cord on bb. i make sure my gynae show me where the cord is every visit... i super paranoid on the cord thingy actually cos i heard and seen too many such cases...

vivian,
glad you got your maid issue settled and hope your new maid settles in well soon. i also had funny dreams so guess normal now ba as we approach the big day. come to think of it, you are the most advanced among all of us here. i cant wait to hear your birth story leh...

coral,
do make sure to stay in touch even when u are in US ok... will definitely miss you. still thinking of organising another outing but this time round maybe for x'mas or what so we can all bring our bb out to meet each other n start making friends... have been thinking abt it n think it will b fun lor
i xiao right, think so far ahead... but i planning liao... mayb we can do one b4 u leave...

hi ladies, asking for some opinions:

1. Thermometers - shld get the ear type or the armpit type can liao? as normally the ear type very X...but also heard armpit type, not so accurate ya...

2. Sterilizer - initially, was thinking not to get one, but i have a deal recently from one of my friend's friend, she is selling an avent sterilizer (electric) at a much cheaper price..so now pondering if i shld get...anyone here have sterilizer?? issit realli a must? but think save time ya...

seems like both items, gonna cost me abt $200 plus if i get the ear type thermometer...very "siong" ya... so pondering veri hard..
483692.png

vivian,
talking abt the movement now. i was telling hb yesterday that think the space really very cramp for my boy cos a lot of times, when he moves, i can feel like his joints knocking against each other like that. like very poor thing lor... hb then asked me to eat more so more fats so tummy can grow bigger than more space for my boy...

ilovemybabyg,
i havent got the thermoneter. will get it later ba. as for sterilizer, already got one. ya... more convenient lah. lazy to boil water to sterilizer. really up to you. mayb buy 1 at a time than not so siong ba...

ilovemybabyg,
Which hosptial will you be giving birth? For selected hospital, a goodie bag will be "sponsered" by selected suppliers. There will be a armpit thermometer given FOC in the freebie. You can actually buy one after you given birth. For me, armpit is enough. I got one ear thermometer, which can be used for forehead as well, which I bought at $89 only.
As for steriliser, will strongly encourged you to get one at home. So convenient and time saving. Needs little water only (for avent one, 90ml water only), then just throw everything in and put water and on it, bingo!

Hi ilovemybabyg,

I will be most probably getting the ear type as it's most easier to get the bb's temp. But sometimes, it's not so accurate also. the temp from both side ear sometimes differ quite a far bit if u take at the same time.

As for sterilser, I have got a Pigeon one as I'm afraid that I will forget that I'm boiling water for sterilising. Also to save time.

Hi dephine,

Are u attending tonite's anatal class? I'm wearing a red sleeveless top.

Selina, I may not leave...Hb still in negotiation to leave at end Nov. But if they can't allow the delay, he'll turn down the offer as he does not want to miss the delivery and the first few months of our gal. Will only know for sure in the next week or so.

I've not bought the ear thermometer yet, I have lots od armpit ones at home. So see how it goes, since such things are easily available no hurry ba.

Now, I bought bb cot, car seats, steriliser, etc but if I move to States for a year also dunno to bring along or buy new ones there...

Selina, your hb and my hb different theory. My hb say I ate too much, tummy full of fats, so bb got no space to move. I think both of them wrong. No matter what, as bb grow they'll have less space to move. No way can we grow big enuf to provide extra large swimming pool for bb at thi stage.

Vivian
Heee, so both our babies are champions now! hahaha
i am not worried abt the weight as long as he can pass thru the birth canal during delivery. yah i believe the size of mummies matters too. i am not petite. gynae says not to worry too much.

i dreamt abt BFG more often than delivery. think for delivery so far only dreamt once and i cant rem wats the dream liao.

Jenny
no worries lah. juz tt i am gian to lay my hands on the rompers aft u said they were v nice.
i will collect on sat then. its time 4 me to start washing baby's clothings liao. and i keep feeling i wun hv enuff for my baby to wear at home. hahaha
so far i only got 12 sets of NBs clothings.

i think i will ask 4 epi instead of laughing gas, no need to suffer so much lah. keke...

my hb will wan to stay over wif me but i see how lah. if he cant sleep much staying over and gotta accompany me the whole day in hospital, sure he v tired lor. so i might send him home if i am feeling ok. i am hoping to keep the baby in the same rm wif me, dun wan him to go back nursing room leh. its to establish my milk flow and to see the baby's early signals of hungry b4 he cries loudly. BUT hvg said tt, i will see wat state am i in aft delivery lah. i will hv to b flexible.

oh u clearing ur leave one day per wk ah? me saving it and clear it at 1 go leh. yah u sure will need more leave nxt wk as u hv 2 kids liao. but we still got childcare leave etc rite?

hope i wun b afraid to bath my baby then. each of us hv diff fears, so far i dunno wat issit yet till i experienced it.
yah the little ones can sense their mummies' insecurities leh, i read. so when we r stressed and upset, they can feel it.

Selina,
i think now no matter how much we eat, baby still wun hv enuff space coz at this stage, he will grow v fast, piling on all the fats onto his body. if we try to catch up, i think gonna end up v fat. i alrdy find my tummy much bigger these couple of wks, i cant imagine it expanding it somemore and there is still 8 wks more to go!
sweat ah. hehee... though less space 4 baby to move now, i feel gd coz can feel his movements more.