(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

hi hi mummyjoy...
no leh..she was telling me it's Pigeon brand leh..her friend went to BKK & got her 5 boxes leh..so nice hor..

Vivian
Yah i am talking to my boy everyday, asking him to guai guai turn his head and stay tt way till delivery. i hope he listens and slowly turn soon.

Jenny
I chin chye. U take wat u wan and the rest i take lor. i like the striped light green ones, but its ok if u wan it. when the shipment arrives, then u sms me.

Selina
wow, urs oso head down so early ah? yah gynae told me as the baby grows bigger, the possibility of him turning in another way is quite difficult. less space mah. and can u feel his kicks at the top now? mine still lower abdomen most of the time. i hope he turns soon. hahaha super somersault? not likely lah. he dun hv much space left.

mummyjoy
if u r not using steriliser, then u need the tablets. owise if u use steriliser, tablets r not required. i heard we need at least 10 milk btls. i was shocked when i heard it.
i think 4 btls r not enuff.

as 4 thermometers, wat brands r u ladies getting?

Hi, sorry to intrude....I'm fr the May MTB Thread.

I'm selling my new Medela Mini Electric Breast Pump at $100. I have only used it twice since I gave birth in May as my hubby bought a set of dual pump for me. It is still in very good condition with the entire packaging intact.

Interested mommies pls contact me at [email protected]

crystallized,
I also chin chye. You like the striped light green, then you can have it. Then I take the white and light blue lor. Anyway, I make a reservation for the rompers le, seller said to be confirmed till stock arrive next week. She will advise again.
I have a brand new pacifier thermometer. You want?

Herbs for Confinement
======================
will leave that to my dad to decide when he wants to buy. he prob buy when he cooking... so might be on a daily basis or weekly basis

BB Stuff
========
hb & i stopped comparing prices on a large scale basis liao. too much effort to do that and not much savings. will not stock too much too cos can always get hb to buy when run out. otherwise stock too much later not using very wasted. we'll b getting most of the needed stuff from kiddy palace cos convenient n got member discount.

mummyjoy,
i also dunno if need sterlising tablets. but bottle cleanser i bought NUK cos got free 1 big NUK bottle n brushes. since we using NUK bottles, thought the deal was gd when we happened to be a john little so buy lor since we are there liao.

hi hi wendy,
ya lor. i got most of bb stuffs oredi. u can list down all ur bb stuffs tat still haven buy yet then wait for ur hb free, then can grab at one time ba... carrefour sales till 25/7 (20% disc) & compare with cc one. coz i realized cc is cheaper even those dept store having promotion.
i'm not sure about pigeon breaspads, but i knew tat pigeon bb wipes is manufacturing in thailand. it's make sense will b cheaper there lor. at BKK, there is one hyperstore called "Big C', things r cheap there.

i'm thinking to buy few more nursing bra. currently wearing those with wire one. now thinking buying wireless one, more comfortable. but shall i buy now or wait another 1 or 2 mths coz i heard our size will increase during 3 tri. any advice & recommned?

crystallized,
tks for the advice on the tablets. so no need to buy that. lucky i nv buy yet. yes he head down liao. now always feel movements n kicks nearer to my breast area. no so much at the bottom. only a couple of times cos think he stretch his hands over his head or what ba... also dunno wat exactly he doing inside
most violent movements are near to breast area and sides... i hope he stays in tis position... will know during next appt on 1 aug.

Steriling Tablets
===============
I have never used sterilising tablets so far. Unless you are going overseas. Even when I brought my gal overseas, I also dun use it. I just boil hot water and steriling her bottles.

Bottles cleanser
===============
Never used. I wash my gal bottle immediately after she finishes her milk, then sterilise them. If want to use, can buy Pigeon one.

hi crytallized,
i saw pigeon brand ear thermometer cost $50++, cheaper than Braun brand cost $120. dunno is good or not. will check it out. will prefer using ear thermometer coz more convenient.

hi hi crystallized..
i m sure ur boy will listen to u lor..so sweet..i didnt get the norm thermometer leh..is it neccessary?

hi hi ladies..
just to chk with u, if u all bought nail clipper & also nose cleaner ahh? me thinking if need to buy anot leh..

hi hi jasmine..
ya..i guess i will make up a list of items to buy ba..thks..ya..i do agree that CC most of the items are cheaper..so can compare the prices b4 buying lor..did u manage to check out CC as well?u went with ur hubby ahh?i didnt know that Pigeon wipes are manufacture in Thai leh..wow..this one u also know ahh..the last i bought is from OG at Chinatown, bought 2 pcs (w/o wired ones) at $17.90..not sure if u r keen to chk it out as well..

Wendy,
The pacifier thermometer is enough. You got 2 also right?
I din buy nail clipper and nose cleaner. I use scissor to trim bb nails instead. Dun dare to use clipper cos scare cut bb finger.

hi hi weikuan..
oh..i didnt think of the washable ones..only thot of the disposable ones..maybe will go & chk it out this time round ba..thks..

hi hi jenny..
ya, i got 2..that's why me thinking if i need to get the norm thermometer anot lor since i already got the 2 pacifier thermometer..no need, right?u didnt buy the nose cleaner & the baby nail clipper ahh..okok..thks ahh..me was wondering if i shd get lor..the scissor u used is it the round tip ones?or just norm scissors?

Hi Selina,
You got mail...

Jasmine,
I also bought 2 nursing bras which wendy bought at OG. 2 for $17.90. But i stopped buying those liao coz my friend told me that we can always buy those later when we need. Anyway, 1st mth confinement at home most prob wun need...
But I already changed all my bras (all wired) to non-wired liao coz nowadays if i wear my normal wired bra, pain leh... no choice got to change lor... found that marks and spencer's non-wired bra very comfy and nice... so bought their maternity and normal non-wired bras. You might want to take a look there. At least these non-wired bras still can be wore after delivery.

THERMOMETER
==========
Erh.. i read somewhere hor, that for babys till certain age, ear thermometer not accurate one leh. Must use those mouth type. Think my SIL also told me that. Is that the pacifier thermometer that Jenny mentioned?

hi wendy,
me haven go to CC yet as last weekend jz stayed at home only.
no lar. coz hav a habit to check where the product frm. then noticed is frm thai. but not every pigeon product made frm thai. some is frm japan. u bought the nursing bra at very cheap price lel. will check it out if going there. thanks...
btw, i bought nail clipper liao coz i used to using clipper to cut nail. my fren told me cut bb nail when they sleep & cut little bit by little bit.

hi jenny,
where to buy this pacifier thermometer?

Jenny
Then we wait 4 the stocks to come in to decide how to split bah.

u no need to keep the thermometer 4 ur own use? If u dun need, then i dun mind taking it. thks.

Jasmine
4 nursing bras, u shld buy aft 32 wks. Thats when our sizes r more or less stabilised. If u buy too early and then grow bigger during 3rd trimester, then wasted liao, cant wear again. perhaps in the meantime, u can buy cheap wireless ones to wear 1st.
tts wat i do lor. wear at home.

Yah ear thermometer is better.

Selina,
Ur dad doing confinement 4 u ah? so nice.

Yah lah, since u feel most violent movements at the top rather than at the bottom, then he sure heads down liao. mine ah, juz now i feel some kicks at the sides, but mild ones. not sure if he is starting to turn or issit only his hands waving gently.
anyway i talk to him every nite and ask him to turn. dun worry, ur boy most probably will stay tt way liao.

I heard the sterilising tablets not v gd leh. so better to avoid. anyway like wat jenny said, juz need to sterilise using hot water shld b fine.

Wendy,
i think thermometer is necc coz need to monitor their temp esp aft they taken their jab. some might dev fever. and i think better dun share wif adults one.

i bought the nose cleaner liao, but think jenny will say not necc. hehe
oso will b getting the nail clipper.

hi hi vivan,
thank thanks for the info. me going down to centerpoint this sunday. will go the marks & spencer's check out the w/o bra. btw, any brand specific?
oo...tat ear thermometer not accurate arr? luckly i check wif u all here b4 buying. but then i tot most of the clinic oso using ear thermometer ba?

hi ctystallized,
okok...tks. ya lor, tat day i went to try nursing bra & noticed tat will b too early to buy now since my breast still will expand during 3rd tri. then i shld buy it after 32 weeks. no hurry hor.
i oso bought the nail cleaner liao. my MIL & SILs all said so many things to buy for NB bb coz they never see this b4. hehe....
my bb position is different wif u & selina i guess. coz his head on my left side of tummy. he lying horizontal in my tummy. so, i can feel his move on left & right side of my tummy tat near to belly butt there.

wendy,
i will b getting the thermometer from my GP downstairs. i know the nurse working there so she getting for us at much cheaper price. think hb looking at the vicks one. as for nail clipper, i saw a set thingy at kiddy palace, nail clippers, cradle cap comb etc. will prob get that lor. still got other things inside but cannot remember what. at least other things next time still can use. the packing like first aid kit.

crystallized,
yah lor. since i wanna bf, than thought no point having CL and also wanna save on the CL so decided to stay put at mum's place for confinement too since my dad can cook n if he not free than hb can take over. my mum can help me if i need help wif bb. better give the CL money to my dad to buy good food for me better still.

jasmine,
i will buy nursing bra nearer to my edd cos not sure if size will change or not. dun wanna buy now than later cannot wear. waste money lah...

vivian,
will go check my email. spree closing 21 jul so if u still wanna add just let me know lah

Vivian,
Yes, ear thermometer not very accurate, about 1 to 2 degree difference. But easy to use on bb/kid. The most accurate is to take from mouth or armpit.

jasmine,
Dunno leh, I got it when I ordered the diapers lobang. The distributor gave me FOC.

crystallized,
I got 2 pacifier thermometers. I pass to you when collecting the romper. Anyway, I got a lot of thermometers (all kinds) at home.

By the way gals, no need to go and buy thermometer lah. Not sure for other hospital, but I was given one when I delivered my gal at TMC. It is those normal type, for mouth and armpit. I think it comes under a package by all hospital. You know, each NB will be given a birth package with lots of junk stuff and samples by dunno which company or wat.

Jasmine,
kekeke... cos last time MIL time where got specially nail clipper for bb. They all use scissor. Even my mum also said some stuff she din see b4. But frankly speaking hor, from my own experience hor, really a lot of things are reluctant one. It always seems so good to have, then when I try it, then realise still the old methods are better. Waste my $ only.

jasmine,
is he near your belly button area? i realised if my boy move near my belly button area, my belly button which has not popped will become more protruding and that area will be very sore and painful. sometimes, dunno what position he in, my tummy will look slanted to one side. the higher side is very very hard compared to the other. always show hb then he will ask my boy to move away

jasmine,
is he near your belly button area? i realised if my boy move near my belly button area, my belly button which has not popped will become more protruding and that area will be very sore and painful. sometimes, dunno what position he in, my tummy will look slanted to one side. the higher side is very very hard compared to the other. always show hb then he will ask my boy to move away

hi selina,
yes....he is near my belly button area. during last appt, gynae show us tat his body at my left side. dunno his head or hand near to my belly button area. i always can see he move (even now) around there. yes, yes, my belly butt very pain (actually my belly butt very deep one, but now almost flat, like wanna pop out). sometimes when my hand put on top of belly butt, bb will start move again. so so cute.
my hb oso same as ur hb, will ask hb move a bit. hehe....

jasmine,
horizontal position means baby might turn soon, i guess. i seldom feel side kicks so i think he dun like horizontal positions. hahaha

yah lor, the baby mowadays v gd life. so many things to buy 4 them. nvr ending. hahaha

Selina
initially i oso same thinking like u, go back home and let my mum handle my confinement. but worried tt she will b over tired and overwhelmed, i got a CL instead. i will not let my CL or anyone else interfere in my decision to BF.

Jenny
hehe, speaking fr experience huh!
yah i heard oso. many things we buy quite redundant ones, so i try to ctrl wat i spend on. hopefully i wun end up wif alot of unused items and cursing myself tt i wasted money.

THks 4 the thermometer in advance!
oh din noe we wld b given one when we r discharged fr hospital. oh btw did i ask u wat wld b given in the pack 4 mummy & baby when we discharge?

Argghangry..i typed so many things & not posted! Arrghhwats wrong with motherhood forum

Hi hi jenny..
Okwill go & check out the round-tip scissor..thks ahh..how come u got so many diff type of thermometer ahh?then like that..u surely know whc ones is better lor..also gd la..

Hi hi Vivian..
Oh..the marks & spencers bra is gd ahh..maybe I got to go & check it out as well..thks ahh..

Hi hi jasmine..
Ya..the bras from OG Chinatown is at quite a reasonable price..(2 pcs for $17.90)..to think of it..i guess I will go & get more (perhaps bigger size ones), coz need to put breastpads as wellin case I grew fat or put on extra weight there, can fit in & breathe..keke..the pacifier thermometer is both jenny & me got from the diaper purchase..not sure how much outside is selling also..anyway,I hvnt really figure out how to use that as well..coz hvnt open..hows baby kicking u nowadays?not as pain?

Hi hi crystallized..
Since I already got the pacifier one..dun think I will be getting a ear thermometer bame also not sure to buy the nose cleaner & the nail clipper anot..coz saw it from my yet-to-buy shopping list..hee..

Hi hi selina..
Gd ahh..can get gd price from ur GP..better also lor..more reliable..oh, u saw those all-in-one pack for the grooming set ahh..seems gd leh..can do pedicure & manicure for baby at one go..not a bad idea to have them pack in one bundle ahh..try to feel Caleb at the harder side & tell him to be gentle if u find his kicks too strong for u ba..its a nice feeling to be able to feel his kicks..so I m sure to let him feel ur touch will also be very sweet lor..for me is I just tell him to kick me more & harder..kekeke..

hi jenny,
yeah...we never use this things when we small time lal. i bought baby shampoo & bath, when they saw the price, they all said waa...so exp.
luckly hb told them tat bb skin diff frm adult ma..worth to spend. hehe...

Hi Jasmine,
The non-wired bras from marks & spencer are of their own brand. They are all in boxes. Just look out for non-wired can liao.
I liked their T-shirt bra (non-wired). Their price are not cheap lah but compared to those triump I bought last time, still cheaper lor.
I try to check out those non-wired bras from triump etc but very auntie lor... in the end still like M&S.
Here are some pic of the box of the bras i bought. The white seamfree bra (need to buy extra padding yourself from any brand) is $45 and the black t-shirt bra is $53. I got Robinson card so got 5% rebate. Hope you get something you like.
463332.jpg
463333.jpg

No lah, confinement still need to wear bra but you can still wear your normal bra and when you need to bf, just take off bra lor. At home mah.
So to me, nursing bra is more for bf outside. But up to individual lah...

Hi all oct mtb,

Can i join in the forum, my bb due in oct too, first time mum, very anxious and looking forward.

hi wendy,
ok..will check out soon for the bras. hehe...paiseh, 1st time i heard about pacifier thermometer. try to figure out how it's look like. but dunno where to have it.
nowsday can feel a lot of diff movement frm bb lor. besides kicks, most of the time now can fel like wave around the tummy area. very cute one. & sometimes like wat selina said, my tummy will look slanted to right side which is his legs lor.
how about u? wat 's ur bb position now?

Wendy
Yah lah, if got alrdy, then dun waste money. we got more than enuff chances to spend money later. kekeke
as 4 the nail clipper etc, u see if u wan to buy anot lah. anyway they r not too exp, so no need to think so long.

vivian
the t-shirt bra no wire, then now to support? the model wore as if the support is v gd leh.

Crystallized, oic..I already bot sterilizer so no need tblt liao. Wow, 10 bts! Then I better go buy more.

Selina, I also hv the NUK btls free with the sterilizer, thinking to buy some more Avent btls cos dun know BB like which type. Oh, JL sell NUK bt cleanser in btl or refill pack?

esther,
kao_welcome.gif
. sure you can join us. we can share our joy and excitement together.

mummyjoy,
in bottle form. with brushes too so quite worth cos think the bottle cleanser alone quite cost as much liao.

i have a total of 3 big n 2 small bottles so wont buy anymore since i intend to bf. not enf then buy later lor. i dun wanna stock up too many stuff then end up white elephant lor...

hi hi esther..
welcome to the thread..care to provide us ur details so that i can help to add u in the chart?like ur nick, ur EDD, ur age, gynae, hospital, gender of baby..

hi hi Vivian..
thks for sharing with us abt the bras u bought from mark & spencer..i guess as long as u find it comfy will be gd enough lor..one of the mtb also shared with me nursing bras from MIM..i guess we can check it out at http://www.momsinmind.com.sg as well..

hi hi jasmine..
i think aft my detailed scan i cant remember exactly when, baby is already head facing downwards..so very cute lor..each time go & see him then Dr Koh will draw the same diagram on his face facing downwards..i m ok as long as he grow healthy..hehe..

hi hi crystallized...
ya..i guess i wont be buying..now gg thru the list of the yet-to-buy..haha..hope i quickly get to buy all of the things soon..keke..

Hi aspialle,
open what har? you cannot see the pic i post?

Hi Crystallized,
No wire also can support leh. Dun know how to explain. haa... To me I feel and look the same as wired one except there is no piece of wire there lor. But do bear in mind that besides the t-shirt bra, the others usually very thin so you might need to buy padding to put. That's why I like the T-shirt bra more.. hee... lazy me...
The first time, I din know need padding and one day suddenly see nipples... so whole day wear jacket over it. haaa...
Think bra these kind of thing, got to try it lah. I also try liao, really amazed then decided to buy one...

wendy,
yah. the nurse also recommending some nannies for me. she is my neighbour lah. actually during my 1st pregnancy approached her to nanny then but she got this job at the clinic so cannot lor. anyway the preg didnt fall thru either...

Wtan, oic.. I tot pigeon brand selling cheaper in BKK.

Jenny, TQ for yr advise, I was looking at the btl cleanser and wonder if we need to use it.

Themometer
==========
I find the normal mouth/armpit type difficult to use on BB/children lei, especially they don't hold on to things too long, move here, move there. Could recalled taking for my niece and very frustrated till my sis bot a ear themometer to use for her no.1 continue use for no.2. Think worth investing a good one for long term use, just change the disposable tip cover, adult can use it too.

aspialle,
No need lah.

crystallized,
1st time mum usually more ks, will buy lots of redundant stuff. Actually stuff like bb oil, powder are not really necessary. It is up to individual's practice. I bought q some stuff which I never used.

You bought buy Motherhood Mag or Mother and Baby Mag? They have a page that "advertise" that "A Bag of Love" will be given to all NBs upon discharge. If din receive, then can collect from Motherhood's office for bb less than 2 mths old. Entitle hospitals are SGH, NUH, TMC, KK, Raffles.
The package will comes with some samples of bb stuff like Johnson and Johnson bathing lotion, shampoo, Mamy Poko NB Diaper etc. I remembered mine came with a thermometer, dettol, MP NB diaper, J&J stuff, a lot of brochures etc.

What will be given when discharge from TMC? Basically for bb, you dun need to bring any stuff for your bb. They will dress up the bb in TMC clothings, mittens, booties, receiving blanket. Give you a few bottle of FM in glass form which you just need to warm up before feeding bb. A bottle of cord spirtual, some sterilised cotton, leftover diapers/wipes from the stay
For Mummy, a bottle of "medicine" (forgot the name) to wash the wound and some sterilised cotton.
Can't remember wat else... I only remembered a lot of stuff. Imagine my mum, sis and hb came to fetch me home and we all left TMC fulled hands.

Wendy,
Aiya hospital give, the diaper distributor give, my hb bought one during Mother and BB fair lor. Siao right!
Just press the "button", then got "L" signal right? Then put the pacifer thermometer into bb mouth to take temp. It will gives off a beep beep sound when ready.

Jasmine,
Ya lor, I think last time we all use J&J stuff which are cheaper hor? 1 litre few dollar nia and can used for mths. Lactacyd only 250ml and cost so ex!

Esther,
Welcome!

mmummyjoy,
6 bottles are more than enough lah. Unless you use it to store EBM.

mmummyjoy,
I dun find the normal type of thermometer hard to use. I've been using for my gal all the while. In fact for nb bb, much easier!

Selina, Thks, I only saw Pigeon brand, didn't know NUK also has bt cleanser, will go JL to take a look, do they also sell refill pack for future refill? can share the price?

hi hi selina..
it's very nice of the nurse to share some nanines contact with u..so who will be helping u to look aft Caleb aft u gone back to work?u really gg for infantcare ahh?maybe can consider getting those nannies instead?

hi hi mummyjoy..
ya..that's why i was saying abt the Pigeon breastpads (60pcs) is selling at S$7++ in BKK lor..if u got friends gg there..can get them to buy for u lor..

hi hi jenny..
oh..me didnt chk out the entitlement from Motherhood's office leh..got to go & browse thru the mag again..keke..oh..me hvnt open up the pacifier..ok..will jot down ur instructions..then in time of use, will refer to it..thks ahh...