(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Vivian
i always find M&S bras exp. so nvr really tried it. now i am still wearing underwired bras. when i go home, i quickly chg out of it. mayb i will go M&S and try on this t-shirt wireless bras. Amazing!

Jenny
b4 i attended antenatal classes, i bought some stuff 4 bb alrdy. but aft tt, i realised tt its not necc.
nvm lah, small items din cost a lot. anyway i can use it even if bb dun need.

Yah i bought the Motherhood mag. but din noticed this. They like to give alot of rubbish and samples in the hope tt we will b hooked mah.

Wah left TMC wif full hands ah? hehehe... make ur money worthwhile.

mummyjoy,
i bought the NUK cleanser pack for S$21 or so, if i remember correctly. think the cleanser itself selling at $20 liao. dunno abt the refill but can always buy other brand to refill next time.

wendy,
i still dunno yet. praying hard that my boss will allow me to work from home after giving birth. mayb try out the arrangement for 3mths after my maternity then see how lor. at least by then my boy already 6mths old liao so if give nanny look after i also more fang xin. of course we wont rule out infant care also. see how ba. take a step at a time lah... cannot worry abt so many things now. rather enjoy the pregnancy now while i still can...
worst come to worst i bring him to office wif me lor
anyway i always alone ma...

Selina,
If you decide to let your bb to be looked after by nanny/infant care centre at age of 6 mths old. Q challenging cos by 4 mths old, bb will start to recognise ppl. It may be a bit different for bb at 6 mths old to get used to new ppl/environment.
Even my mum who is bbsitting my gal since I return to work after my maternity leave hor (I bring my gal home everyday during maternity leave). My gal started to recognise the house, ppl at 4th mth. Every Fri night she back at home (when I'm back to work, I leave her with my mum from mon to fri), she will cry non stop and very loud. Till I scare leh.
Another point is hor, cos my mum and aunties are bbsitting mah, so during their conversations hor, realised that they mentioned hor, for kids who they start to look after since birth hor, they will like more dote on them than those kids who come in halfway (eg. 6 mths old or 1 year old). Though will dote but of cos is different lor.

Jenny, I bot 2 btls of Lactacyd, is it enough for at least 30days? Haven't read the guide yet, can share how u use it? TQ, like that I need to get 2more milk bottles, some say buy big bt can use longer but will BB suck in more wind if we use big bt? I also has a lot of mouth/armpit thermometers, given free during SARS period then after that got a few more when I attend health talk too, think they ordered too much during that period so now give out as freebies. Ya, ok to use on NB but not when they grow older, I had problem putting it in my niece's mouth till the peep, she is also uncomfortable when put under her armpit. Maybe she high temp and feel the tip cold, cold and started crying

Wtan, paisay, paisay, so it is pigeon brand selling cheaper in BKK, can get frens to buy

Selina, TQ, will check it out at JL.

jenny,
tks for the advice. i will definitely take note of that cos my other frends also said the same thing. wat i hoping is boss will allow permanently to work from home until bb 2 years old... ha ha ha... think i asking for too much lah... but see how things goes lor.

hi hi mummyjoy..
okok..if u got friends gg to BKK...can get them to help u buy..more worth also...

hi hi weikuan..
but if u buy now..wont it be more fresh for u to get when u deliver?like ask ur mum or MIL to help ur buy..

My edd : 14 october 2006
Baby's gender : Boy
Gynae : Dr Koh Cheng Huat
Hospital : Mt A.
So exicited, very looking forward to my bb arrival just like you all too

Jasmine, me too can feel may pattern from my bb nowadays, sometimes he do light stretch sideway very cute.

I went for check up gynae said bb alittle small, now that i am 26wks bb only 849g how about u mummy? I am so worried, sometimes i get so upset i cried alone haiz...........

Hi zinie,

U can get pacifier thermometer at Kiddy palace, i went there this afternoon, saw one its a pacifier but that with added thermometer on it, quite cute and creative.

Hi esther,
Welcome... I am also giving birth in Mt.A... hee...
Anyway, dun need to be so upset abt bb's weight.
First of all, your bb is not too small. According to a post from mmummyjoy, your bb is at normal range lah.
24 weeks 11.81 inches 1.32 pound 30 cm 600 grams
25 weeks 13.62 inches 1.46 pound 34.6 cm 660 grams
26 weeks 14.02 inches 1.68 pound 35.6 cm 760 grams
27 weeks 14.41 inches 1.93 pound 36.6 cm 875 grams
28 weeks 14.80 inches 2.22 pounds 37.6 cm 1005 grams
29 weeks 15.2 inches 2.54 pounds 38.6 cm 1153 grams
30 weeks 15.71 inches 2.91 pounds 39.9 cm 1319 grams
31 weeks 16.18 inches 3.31 pounds 41.1 cm 1502 grams
32 weeks 16.69 inches 3.75 pounds 42.4 cm 1702 grams
33 weeks 17.20 inches 4.23 pounds 43.7 cm 1918 grams
34 weeks 17.72 inches 4.73 pounds 45 cm 2146 grams
35 weeks 18.19 inches 5.25 pounds 46.2 cm 2383 grams
36 weeks 18.66 inches 5.78 pounds 47.4 cm 2622 grams
37 weeks 19.13 inches 6.30 pounds 48.6 cm 2859 grams
38 weeks 19.61 inches 6.80 pounds 49.8 cm 3083 grams
39 weeks 19.96 inches 7.25 pounds 50.7 cm 3288 grams
40 weeks 20.16 inches 7.63 pounds 51.2 cm 3462 grams

Secondly, measurement of bb done by gynae may not be accurate coz the machine estimates the weight by using the bone length etc. If your bb is more fleshy, the machine will not count that in. So dun worry too much over it. As long as bb's growing well and kicking... you will be fine... Dun cry okie...

Hello Mtbs,

Long time never log in...so many posts to read...
Will like to know whether any of u all still went to watch movie? cause i went to watch movie wif my hubby last night and bb was kicking thoughout the movie...I worried that it might be too loud for bb...But bb is okay today and still kicking as normal...

Can anyone advise whether it is harmful for bb to watch movie at this stage?

Hi babybenmen,

I still watch movies as normal leh. Almost once every week if possible. I think should be no problem lah... if you really worried, can always put your bag or jacket on your tummy to 'cover' the loud sound lor. I always do that.. esp. when I go karaoke... hee... think that is worse than movie...

Thanks mummie_Rhys, so gald to hear that.

Infact, i am worried cos long story........ I am married 4 years. 1st and 2nd year enjoy, 3rd and 4th trying...... that i got pregnant even without knowing until bb was 41/2 mths!!!!!! Can you imagine, i went to see chinese doc, thought was wind in stomach, frequent headache, vomiting etc... taken 1mth of medicine!! Best part the chinese doc didnt even realise i am pregnant even when 'ba mai'every time i go to see him! But bcos my menses is like 1 year 5-6times, so missing period in action is very common in me. Later stage i thought how come i like became fat in stomach area, did alot of sit-up and skipping!!!!! I only realise when my auditor told me to check-up due to my frequent visit to toilet, thought was urine infection, but was confirm by GP i am 4and1/2 mths pregnant!

Therefore, when i visit my gynae once a mth i make sure my bb healthy, can't do much cos gynae said what i have eaten and done can't be help can only look forward, so i felt like i have 'kuay qian' my bb...... so upset how can anyone understand my feeling! Just pray and hope that bb will be healthy and everything smooth.. i mean every bb not just mine........

Hi esther,

I guess every woman has their own preg story. Dun blame yourself anymore. You should look forward and treat everyday that your bb boy is kicking you as an indication that he is strong and healthy, for himself and for his mummy. After all those things, he is still growing well. So your boy is strong, so be strong for him too.

Whatever is done, is already over. Dun think about it anymore, believe it or not, your boy in you can sense your sadness and worries so try to be happy.

Now, instead of thinking abt all those past things that happen, why dun you use the energy to eat well now, take proper care of yourself and bb and dun forget... there are so much shopping to do... Cheer up... for your boy and yourself... jia you... we will be here for you...

Thank you mummie_of rhys, after reading your word of encouragement i felt so much better! Yes for the sake of my bb i must be happy cheers

selina,
it'll be good if you can stay at home with bb for 6 mths. but will there be anyone to help you during the day while you work from home?
i looked after my boy for 6 mths before gg back to work. he takes up all my time during the day, i hardly got much time to do work.
but i never regretted it, i was successful in bfg cos i had the luxury to stay at home and the bond that i've built up with him is priceless.
Regarding stranger anxiety, it varies from babies.
For my boy, it really depends on the other party.
I was deciding between nanny and infantcare. Found a nanny near my place and brought him there to see her but he kept crying and refused to be carried by her. But when i brought him to the infantcare, he was v happy and let the teachers carry him. in the end i chose the infantcare. But then again, the major downside of infantcare is that bb falls sick easily. otherwise, he enjoyed his time there cos there are lots of activities. If it had not been for his allergy rhinitis where he keeps falling runny nose there, i wouldn't have made the decision to pull him out and stay at home with him.

mmummyjoy,
Enough lah, just only few drops for NB per bath only. Just drop a few drops of Lactacyd into bathing water and bath as per normal.
Big bottles can use longer but "heavier" (especially for Avent 240ml one). You just make sure the teat is filled with milk lah. If the teat is not filled with milk, of cos will suck in air.
My gal is so active, and I can still use the normal mouth/armpit thermometer with her leh. It depends on how you "trick" the kids.

zinie,
Pacifier thermometer comes in the shape of pacifier. Just pop into bb mouth to take temperature.

Wei Kuan,
Suggest you check with hospital what they give upon discharge. Different hospital give different stuff. It depends on the sponsership of those bb companies as well.

Esther,
26 weeks 800+grams not small side lah. Moderate weight. My friend just delivered her boy in late May, also by Dr Koh CH. But sorry hor, I dun have good impression of him due to 2 incidents by 2 different friends.
How come your chinese physician can't detect you are preggie. You know, last time I used to see a chinese physician due to my back injury. Just before I missed my menses, he already told me I might be preggie by "ba mai".

babybenmen,
I still watch movies when preggie. Dun worry lah, your bb is well protected by waterbag.

Talking about pacifier... There's one type of "pacifier" which comes with a "bottle". That is for feeding medicine. Just for info.

wtan, the herbs can keep in the fridge for a month and still fresh. My CL ask me to prepare and I do not like to rush things last min or after giving birth.
sorry to say no one will help me. mother and MIL too busy and do not wish to bother them, we are adults already. My hubby prefer we buy first

On pacifier thermometer, I thought ear thermometer will be better. I dun intend to give my bb pacifier (unless really bo bian), so afraid that if use pacific thermometer, bb will be wanting pacifier to suck on.

Hi Esther,

Dun worry so much now. Take gd care of you now. Me same as u, my menses came abt 1 or 2 times per yr and my gynae has told me that it's not going to be easy for me to get preggie. I only know that I'm preggie when I'm 6wks. I still thought that I'm heaty, was drinking a lot of cooling stuff and eating a lot of unhealthy food. But so far so gd, my gal is growing well.

gemini, my menses come every 3 mths, like 4 season in a yr.
same as you, I found out i am preggy when i am in my 6weeks and i drink a lot of coconut drink cos very heaty

dear mmummyjoy , wendy nd jackiejon, sorry for my late reply..my babycot name is tom & craft and is selling at $329 at original price at mums&babes...

went to see gynae yesterdae and BB is doing very well... she is now 1.2kg at 28wks & days, coming 29 wks liao...
...will be seeing gynae in two wks time from now onwards... next appt 28 Jul..can't imagine tat time flew ya... so fast needs to see gynae more often liao....kekekeke... anyway, can't wait to her again... went shopping as usual again yesterdae, but din buy much also la...wanted to wait till the taka sales... but bot a couple of polo ralph clothes for BB recently again..'jia la' cannot stop buying... :p

Wei Kuan,
How come your CL ask you to prepare? It's her duties to get them leh.

Gemini,
I have the same tots as you not to give pacifier. Well, gave in in 2nd mth cos bb kept crying. Having consider that give pacifier is better than letting bb sucks in more air during her long crying session. Also, I find some bbs will suck their thumbs, give in to pacifier is better than thumb. At least pacifier can be cutted off but thumb cannot cos is always there... unless chop off haha

ilovemybabyg,
Time really flies very fast! In another 2 to 3 mths time, each of us will be popping!
I find this pregnancy very fast, unlike my 1st one.

Jenny
tdy went shopping 4 NB's clothings liao. Quite cheap leh.
but juz bought 6 sets. i think need at least 1 dozen rite? i thot got a few other shops there but only saw one, that is directly opp the market. and bought the toyogo containers to store my baby's clothings.

yah i find time flying! so fast gg to pop liao. am looking fwd to it.

btw the pacifier, need to standby 1st or only buy when u need to use? i dun wan to buy too many things and end up not using it on bb later.

Jenny
Your sinseh so good aah can sense. Can u imagine I went to see a sinseh to get pregnant just before my mense is due and he didn't even know I was pregnant. And he supposedly good in helping ppl to get pregnant. Lucky the herbs he give me is to eat after my menses clear so in the end never take.

Gemini, Weikuan
Me like u gals also thought was too heaty when actually was preggy. Got fever 38 degree. My GP gave me 2 days MC than didn't dare give me medi cos I allergic to paracetamol.

Sigh have been window shopping with hubby for bb clothes dun dare to buy cos my MIL appearently told my hubby she bought 'a lot of things for bb'. Than buy very long liao still never pass to us so we dun dare to buy first wait to see what she bought.

In the end we got from her only 3 sets of clothings, 2 dozen napkin and 4 handkerchief that comes free with the napkin. Sigh.......waste my time window shopping so now have to go and buy again.

crystallized,
Q cheap hor? Hmm there's a few lah, even the market area also have. But not sure what time they close. I know that one you went, it closes q late.
Pacifer ah, I already bought one for standby. Just in case lor. I bought those selling at medical hall one, $1.90 only. I tried those Avent and other brands, they will leave a mark at the cheek leh.

Doreen,
Haiz... sometimes hor, ppl said "dun buy, I bought "a lot" of clothings for your bb" but hor actually few pcs only mah. Few pcs a lot meh? Haiz... few pcs can only last for a day or two.

Jenny
Yah lor that's why me a bit 'pek cheak' lor. Can only show my hubby face lor cos he is the one who told me his mum buy 3 sets + mittens than his dad say not enough ask her to buy 3 more sets. So should be 6 sets minimum right? Than she call my hubby say she at Toa Payoh buy "alot of bb things". So in the end even mittens we also dun dare to buy incase too much.

Than kanna bomb even got less things from her than my auntie give me aah. And then she bought shorts very big size I think 6 mths than can wear aah. So means I got to totally buy my bb clothes to wear when he is born lor.

Now she tell hubby she make the bean sprouts pillow for my bb. I just take it as hearsay lor dunno will have anot I also dun bother cos my bb already got it and a lot of new pillow from his grandauntie liao.

crystallized,
the pacifier that bb takes may also depend on the bottle teat that he takes. My boy is used to nuk teats so he only takes nuk pacifier.
some bbs have to go thru' many types of teats before they settle on one that they like.
so if u want to stand by a pacifer, maybe it's good to get one that is similar to the bottle teat.

jenny,
my CL ask me to prepare herbs, not enough during confinement, then she go to buy after I give her shopping money to go market. all my friend CL also ask them to prepare red dates, balck dates etc. need 2kg like that cos we not suppose to drink plain water.

next sat I am going for my maternity photo taking.
only plan for one child, so must take photo.
any gals going too?
since my face not water swollen and fat, must take now or else in aug, duno what will i become

464149.png

crystallized, jenny, where u buy the BB clothings? My mum asked me to buy those with buttons for hm wear but I can't find much pattern in KP, dun want to buy repeated print.

weikuan, me want to go for photo taking too
haben go find studio yet, where u gg, how much huh?

Jenny
Yah quite cheap, and i was pretty happy as it means each set is like less than $4.
will go back there and stock up somemore since its cheap. I walked ard and saw some shops selling children's clothings, but not sure they got NBs clothings, so din walk in.

I am tempted to buy those nice cartoon pacifier leh. keke
but see how lah. usually we wun give NBs pacificer rite? then mayb i will get it aft my confinement if my baby needs it.

bbgrace,
as u r aware, i wanna BF my bb, but in case i really need to bottle feed him, i hv bought NUK teats to standby coz i heard latex ones r better as they resemble our nipples more than silicon ones. i noe mummies hv said tt different brands work for their babies, so i guess its a testing game all the way till i hit jackpot!

4 milk bottles, i hv a few brands on hand liao. not sure which one i will b using, so i oso dunno which brand 2 get 4 the pacifier. anyway nvm lah, i see how 1st. if really need then ask my hb to buy.

mummyjoy,
Jenny recommended me to go Chong Pang (in yishun) to get NBs clothings. However 1 mummy posted earlier (cant rem who) tt she got cheap ones in Queen St (Bugis) as well. perhaps more convenient 4 u to go there?
Addy is Blk 269, Queen St #01-246

aiyah, NBs clothings dun need designs one. all those i bought r v simple designs in basic colours like white, yellow & blue. They outgrow v fast, so no need so fanciful. U can get printed ones, but more exp lor. I dun see any point so dun wanna spend more on those.

I bought those wif front buttons and tie-strings.
Happy Shopping!

Wei Kuan,
My CLs and my friends' CLs never ask us to buy the herbs. They will go and buy on the day they arrive. So far, this is the first time I heard CL ask MTB to prepare. I learnt from my earlier lesson. Whatever is CL's duties, best to let them do. Helping them too much will just make them lazy like my 1st confinement which was a hell. I like hired the CL to come to sleep and enjoy her stay at my place while I busy in and out!

mmummyjoy,
I din buy. Crystallized is the one buying. Depends on which type you are looking. Crystallized is looking for those clothings that are to be worn at home/sleep. If you are looking for such type, try the neighbourhood area or market area. Usually 3 or 4 pcs for $10.

I'm down with sore throat suddenly, and flu again! Argh, dunno why this pregnancy I keep fallling sick!!!

Btw am getting nappy liners, which brand is recommended or they all generally r the same?

Jenny, how is the Madame Pureen Maternity pads like? Machiam like our normal maxi pads? I saw in KP but dun dare to buy coz 20 pcs and the pkg so thick, so v hesistant. thot better check wif u 1st.

<font color="ff6000">morning mummies!</font>
juz went for my chkup last sat.
EDD now is 18 Oct.. boy is doing fine.

he's abt 1.1kg now..gynae mentioned tt he will be bigger than jiejie at birth..
now i begin to worry that he will be too big for me to push out..sighs.
gynae say his weight is normal @ his stage now though
oh, he's still not turn down yet..i also start to worry that he will be in tis position all the way..then will need to undergo c-section.. sighs..

<font color="ff6000">crystallized</font>
u can juz get 1 box of nappy liners to standby will do.
can wash liners if bb juz wee wee on it..throw only when bb poos.
its very thin, dries up very fast.
last time bot 2 boxes of liners, Tollyjoy, i still hv 1 box unopened!! and 1 box has 100liners!

Esther, don't feel guilty. You don't know mah. I also thought I wasn't preg. Cos I tested negative initially, so continued to drink wine and exercise and even fell from stairs...In the end, really preg. so felt really guilty like you. But later I think feeling guilty won't help so just do our best for bb from then on.

really busy these few wks, can't catch up.

My bb has been turning round and round and very active.

I still watch movies and like Vivian, put my bag infron tof tummy.

I bought a clipper with magnifying glass from Kiddy palace. Cos many frens has expereince of clipping bb's fingers...So I'm scared. Have not started to think abt thermometer cos Like Jenny I got the pacifier version and the many of the normal versions. I also bought 2 packs of Pureen ,maternity pads from Carffour. $7 for 20 pads.

good morning ladies,

yesterday went to centerpoint &amp; managed to buy 1 bedding set frm aussino, last set of 'my little prince. very happy!!! dunno why, during 3/4 mths preg, no energy to shop. but yesterday can shop whole day. bought 2 pooh tee frm john little. i like pooh. it's cute!! aftertat, went to suntec to shop again. then hor, go back home &amp; open all those 'gift' &amp; tell bb. not tired at all. hehe...

Hi hi esther..
Okok..will update the chart for u ahh..dun worry abt bbs weight..diff babies have diff sizes..as long as baby is growing healthy, this is the most impt..dun let this coz u too much stress..relax..talk to baby..tell baby to grow bigger at ur next appt..i m sure it will be fruitful,k?cheers~

Hi hi babybenmen..
Long time didnt hear from u leh..how have u been?i guess its ok for babies to be more active during movies ba..wat show did u watch ahh?

Hi hi babygrace..
Nice to hear from u..hows ur packing along for the big shift?

Hi hi wei kuan..
Oic..keep in fridge ahh..u see how ba..but I think better to get nearer EDD, at least dun have to worry abt the storage now also..anyway, do hope u get gd deals ba..oh..u gg for ur maternity photoshoot ahh..do hope u get to enjoy urself ahh..why u planning for one child only?

Hi hi ilovemybabyg..
Thks for the info on the babycot..thks..

Hi hi jenny..
I went back to Carrefour to change the shorter metal part one..heng ahh..i kept the receipt..keke..

Hi hi Doreen..
Do hope u r getting better..rest well..take care..

hi hi jasmine..
wow..glad that u enjoyed ur shopping spree ahh..me also went to Aussino yest night at Tamp Mall..got the Little Puppy set instead coz the Little Prince one sold out..then since i m using a voucher to pay for it..then no choice, can only decide on the spot..did u manage to get anything from Carrefour as well?

hi hi wendy,
ya lor. i went to aussino at centrepoint &amp; get the last set of little prince. little princess sold out. i think most ppl getting this 2 set. yes, i bought some NB romper set ( wif a bb jacket which can use if bring bb out) frm carffefour since the material is quite gd.
i saw a korean couple bought stroller brand 'Cappella' &amp; get to know tat it's made frm Korea. this model same as well as combi. it's new model cost $199. me &amp; hb quite like the design but wondering it's gd or not. will check out more soon lor.