(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Hi Ilovemybabyg

That why they say mothers are the greatest person on earth.

I will be able to see my baby on this Saturday morning

mummyjoy
i forget liao leh paiseh, u can ask the counter when u go there

Jackiejon
i can't imagine the pain yet...haiz hope everyting goes smoothly

abt the disposable panties, i remember some of u recommend sorella and cotton ones frm kiddy palace. For sorella must we go their counter to buy, i usually dun see it displayed

Jenny
Yah he is Dr Koh.
his clinic always super long queue one. Buey tahan. I dun like to go to him unless i hv no choice.

U heng ur cervix din swell when u pushed at 8cm. I cant imagine how u all tahan the pain when there is no epidural & gynae stitches back. Ouch!

Still trying to imagine how contraction feels like. i guess will find out in 2.5 mths time, at the latest!

bbgrace,
gg to the doc as in GP for bfg complications ah? I think will most prob go to LC 1st, then if she feels its so serious to send me to the doc, i will go back to gynae. At least mine's a female one.

Storm,
heard tt placenta will move up slowly. hope urs will move up higher so u dun hv to go 4 c-section.

aspialle
yah i oso dun like attachment students leh. imagine u in pain or discomfort liao, still need to entertain them. i will shoo them away.

Selina
No need to imagine. Juz take it when it comes. hehe
am looking to my baby's arrival.

Wendy
yah long time no see u. thot u MC thus nvr log in.

Hi Aspialle

Dont worry too much about the pain just try to tahan if not take epidural lor.

Hi Babyzucchini

Who is LC?
kao_confused.gif

MTBs,
Wondering if the water from the waterbag smell or not ah?? Trickling or gushing no control leh.

Jenny,
u use the ru yi you to rub your body when bodyaching? Can apply at tummy or belly button or not ah? OR only apply on our backs and shoulders? I saw eucalyptus oil in Watson's for baby. But dunno if same purpose as ru yi you or not.

Jackiejon,
i think most companies allow 2 months then the last month can take slowly. My friend's company also same.

Ms Wong is from TMC. She's in charge of those prenatal classes. She wrote some books on breast feeding also.

Hi Janice

As far as I know, the water from the waterbag has not smell.

So good...can take the 3rd month slowly. Not in my case. My HR wants me to clear my maternity leave at one go

Hi wtan,

oh now is 26 weeks. when he is 24th weeks, gynea say he is 759g already. which is 2 weeks ahead.

Scarely figure, i put on about 15kg liao. need to control my diet liao.

:mad:

Selina, dun worried even if u alone in ofc, think 1st child usually not so fast one...will start to experience longer interval contractions then become shorter or waterbag burst or show, still have time to catch cab to go hospital unless for really urgent cases. My colg work till delivered, when we meet at lobby abt to go lunch, she say she felt the contraction then she went back to take handbag and took cab to the hospital, her BB was delivered at night.

Weikuan, free wireless so good, your neighbour forgot to set security=P I heard Mcdonald now can surf free too.

Emily, oic, me in 24+week now, also find my boy very active, wriggling a lot.

hi hi emily..
oic..i guess diff babies have diff weight..or rather they grow differently also..some heavier but maybe is bone heavier..some cld be more freshy..actually me also put on a lot of weight ever since pregnancy (esp lately, ever since i realised abt the water retention..only until lately after my very bad water retention, then my diet becomes hay-wire + i have been eating a lot of hotcakes & also drink more sugary fruit juices..so now i got to start to watch my diet (esp sugar & salt intake)..i guess as long as u r watchful abt ur intake..then shd be ok lor..

hi jackiejon, me bot my new BB cot recently at mums&babe at $279..

yah..i will be clearin my maternity leave..will oni go back until next yr...
i will work till i need to deliver, bcos i dun wan to stay alone at home... i very "kan cheong" type one..so at work, at least got my colleagues around...
anyway, my colleagues, most of them r exp mothers and fathers, felt more safe wif them arnd...

hi janice, u mean can put Ru Yi oil now if back aches? cos my back aches very much...will it helps??

hi ladies, i saw the newspaper today tat robinsons having sales til tis sunday...i went robinson baby dept recently.. but dun seems to have much sales goin on leh.. can someone advise me??? did anyone got any on-sale BB stuffs there??

MTBs, paste the weight chart here again for your ref., my colg got too heavy on 3rd trim 20kg+, suffered from GD and have to cut down lots of food, no sugar at all in diet(imagine that!)...so think we better control ourself if possible so dun hv to suffer later..

24 weeks 11.81 inches 1.32 pound 30 cm 600 grams
25 weeks 13.62 inches 1.46 pound 34.6 cm 660 grams
26 weeks 14.02 inches 1.68 pound 35.6 cm 760 grams
27 weeks 14.41 inches 1.93 pound 36.6 cm 875 grams
28 weeks 14.80 inches 2.22 pounds 37.6 cm 1005 grams
29 weeks 15.2 inches 2.54 pounds 38.6 cm 1153 grams
30 weeks 15.71 inches 2.91 pounds 39.9 cm 1319 grams
31 weeks 16.18 inches 3.31 pounds 41.1 cm 1502 grams
32 weeks 16.69 inches 3.75 pounds 42.4 cm 1702 grams
33 weeks 17.20 inches 4.23 pounds 43.7 cm 1918 grams
34 weeks 17.72 inches 4.73 pounds 45 cm 2146 grams
35 weeks 18.19 inches 5.25 pounds 46.2 cm 2383 grams
36 weeks 18.66 inches 5.78 pounds 47.4 cm 2622 grams
37 weeks 19.13 inches 6.30 pounds 48.6 cm 2859 grams
38 weeks 19.61 inches 6.80 pounds 49.8 cm 3083 grams
39 weeks 19.96 inches 7.25 pounds 50.7 cm 3288 grams
40 weeks 20.16 inches 7.63 pounds 51.2 cm 3462 grams

ilovebabyg,
Jenny mentioned before that she puts ru yi you when she gets backaches. So trying to get more info from her. My back aches too..wait for Jenny's reply first before trying..

jackiejon, most of the MTBs here already quite advance, some already entered 3rd tri, happy to have u to accompany me
my boy very active these few days, yours?

janice, jenny, ilovebabyg,

I tot ru yi you for relieving wind in stomach? My gynae say can use yogo yogo for backache, maybe u check with your gynae if can use that?

mummyjoy
i think this chart not accurate one leh. its always lower than wat my baby weighs. how do the other mummies feel?
but really thanks for the effort to put up this chart to show us.

as of 27+ wks, my baby weighs abt 1.2kg. some of my frens as this stage had babies weighing abt 1.1-1.3kg. so think this chart a bit "underweight" kekeke
i am not worried coz gynae din say anything.

jackiejon,
urs is late Oct bb huh? coz i am now 28 wks and u r 24.

hi hi mummyjoy..
i do agree with u that we got to watch our diet lor..at least not to over-eat those sugar & salty stuff..as long as we start to watch our diet, i m sure things will be good as well...drink more water also..it's rather scary lor..but some pple will put on weight (as they body maybe no exercise or cannot lose off enough weight) so even they didnt eat sugary or saltish stuff, they will also put on weight..coz diff pple's bodies asborb differently lor..as long as we eat more vege, i m sure will be gd..me also trying to eat more healthy now..

Hi Mummyjoy

Ya lor, must of the mummies here are very advance.

Now managed to find someone same as me

Nowadays, my gal also very active. But active is a good sign, at least I know she is alright.

pai sey, no reply from me cos very busy with work.

Wei Kuan,
depends on your preference for natural tear or espisotomy lah. Leave option open lor and let gynae decides? I'm sure he's the best adviser.

jackiejon,
Err... my gynae told me to wait one, thats why I took my own sweet time lor. I heard 2nd delivery will be faster, but dunno how true. Anyway for my 1st one, I was induced and my labour is about 2 hrs only.
I wanna take my maternity leave at one go. If not, no one will covers my work.
There's one mums&babe at United Sq.

aspialle,
I read in some threads that some mummies complained they regretted not to opt for epidural and the stitching was painful. For me, I dun feel pain. Only got one time, my gynae accidentically "pok" me and I jumped. Other than that, I think ok. I'm to exhausted after delivery, just lie there and let my gynae finished up his work.

crystallized,
Yeap, Dr Koh's queue is damn long. Always need to wait for at least 2 to 3 hrs to see him. I also dunno how to tahan the pain w/o epidural. But I think the midwife at TMC helps a lot. Of cos, my gynae too.
Contraction pain is like severe menses pain.

Janice,
I use ru yi you to rub my legs and feet. Hb got use it to rub my back and shoulders but not directly. Is against my clothing.
No smell when waterbag burst.

I cleared my glucose test!! Yeah!!

Yesterday, went for my checkup (29wks5ds). Surprisingly, I din gain much weight, only 300gm (Total gained so far, 4kg). Was worried then but gynae told me is ok coz I am already overweight before preg. I was wondering how come my tummy becomes bigger but I din gain weight lor.. So she say most prob all the intake all goes to Rhys... So I quite happy abt it.
Rhys is now 1270gm, at normal range.

After all the check and scan, i took the glucose test. Drew blood first, then drank a full cup of extremely sweet water (yucks..) and goes back to draw blood after 1 hour, then wait 1 more hour, draw blood again. Luckily time passes quite fast and I am so glad that my gynae is just 1 road across my house. But think I cannot take the sweetness or what, right after drinking the water, got a little giddy and wanted to vomit... Very scary... So right after drawing my blood the third time, faster went and buy something to eat. Felt better after that... But afternoon, got diarrhae. Dun know is it the drink or not.

Today waited so anxiously for the results... by 4pm, cannot wait liao so called my gynae to check. She told me I cleared but try to take less sugar coz my readings is a bit close to the cut-off. Whew... really happy now...

Wendy
At least ur weight gain can b accounted for since u got water retention. i think aft delivery, most water wld hv drained out. oso if u r engaging masseur, the water will oso b purged out. so dun worry too much. u muz watch out 4 salty stuff since it will make water retention more serious.

Jenny
Yah i heard the midwives in TMC r v nice and assuring. i am happy to hear tt.
coz i think we need a lot of support fr them, other than our hubbies, esp 1st time dads, u dunno wat will freak them out and scully my hb ends up more kan cheong than me, than chiam lor!

i heard tt contractions r v severe menses cramps, i had experienced it b4 until my whole face turned white and i was breaking out in cold sweat. i think real contractions is like many many times more severe than this. dunno can tahan anot. eeeee, better dun think too much, else i end up dreaming abt it again. no matter wat am looking fwd to baby's arrival.

vivian
why was there was need to take glucose test? anyway congrats tt u cleared.

most of my weight gain for the last 2 mths went to my baby too. i was oso v happy coz tt means i din gain much.

Hi Crystallized,

My dad has diabetes so gynae take consideration of my family history plus I am overweight and advise me t0 test for GD (glucose test) at 7mth lor.
Before that, I was more worried abt pre-eclampsia coz my dad also had high blood and my blood pressure very inconsistent one... so far, my blood pressure still ok.

hi hi vivian..
CONGRATS to u in clearing ur gluccose test!so happy for u!yeah!can feel ur joy..wow..Rhys is growing well leh..so fast 1270g leh..this is wonderful..so happy for u..i guess as long as u watch ur diet from now onwards, shd be ok lor..maybe instead of white rice, u can take brown rice or if not, take lesser of rice..i m sure it will be better also lor..then cut down on salt also..so happy for u..

hi hi crystallized..
actually water retention is a sign for me...i shd have take note of it..but didnt realised then aft that kept eating hotcakes & sweet fruit juices so not gd..everything choked up at the same time..so now, i got to watch my diet..no more white rice for me, no more sugary & saltish stuff also...got to be healthy lor at my intake..meanwhile, i will also get some organic supplements from my friend & hope it does help for me..coz i didnt take note, once my water retention start..everything slow down for me...whc means intake of sugar if alot at this point can be dangerous lor..

hi crystallized, tat's why lor... strange rite..dun knw if the BB dept got sales or not leh...

hi jackiejon, mums&babes at novena square...yap..convertable to bed..and can be adjustable to few heights..i like it tat it's high, so dun need to bend my back to carry BB... i bot a dark walnut color one, cos my furniture is all veri woody walnut color... heehee... but think they got other colors too... btw, think taka and cktang also sells quite nice cots ya... think cktang one is called luckybaby (but think need to bend down, not much adjustable heights), the one in taka, can't remember the name..

Hi ilovemybabyg,
Do you have the brand or pic of your baby cot? I am looking for a high cot too... but so far, hb cannot find one that he likes... Thanks.

Vivian, congrats on passing test.

Jenny, any idea how many stitches do we normally need?

Weight gain, since wk 23 to wk 27 I've gain abt 0.5kg. So am quite happy that my weight is under control while my tummy continues to grow. Been experiencing pain in breasts and tummy, probably due to the expansion.

So busy these few days. Started work today at 7am and till now then have time to log in. Sorry, ladies, still no time to send photos over cos by the time I go home everynite very late liao.

Just found out my gal fren who had a miscarriage 2yrs ago is 23wks preg wiht a gal, and will be a Nov Mum. So happy for her.

crystallized, the chart is from the internet, I have a hard copy from TMC which shows the same measurement. This is just estimation lah...slightly heavier should be ok but not too much lor...in fact, the measurement gynae took might not 100% too, heard from some frens that their BB weighted heavier or some lighter at birth.

wtan, ya..she's my lunchmate,I see her suffered thro to control her diet on last 2mths...tummy so big liao still can't enjoy food..soya bean milk also can't add syrup so I brought pot and ingredients and eat plain steamboat with her for every lunch. Sometime we eat bread too. Her BB is 3.98kg at birth, er...quite a 'memorable' experience for her, she opt for C-section for her 2nd.

jackiejon,

Vivian
Oic. Anyway i realised tt ur baby is not as heavy as mine. kekeke... think my bb is slightly on the heavy side.

Though ur dad got history oh high blood pressure, think as long as u watch wat u eat, u shld b fine. Dun worry.

Wendy
At least u realised it in time. And making an effort to take organic stuff! Thats good!
Very healthy leh.

mummyjoy
yah i think its all estimation. and true leh, even wat gynae estimate might not b correct. there will b variations at birth.

wow! 3.98kg! was it a natural or C-section delivery.

jackiejon,
there's a mums and babes at Plaza Singapura also.

jenny,
u mean put the ru yi you on your clothing for the back? can feel??

MTBs,
i have been looking for neurogain PB at various Watson's outlets cos bot 1 bottle there before. Now can't find leh.
Saw GUardian selling a brand called Enfamol. Fish oil + Evening primrose oil + Vitamin E. It's for pre-preg, preg and breast feeding. But not sure good or not. Anyone tried before? 60 capsules, twice a day.

crystallized,
i don't know any GPs that i'm comfortable with nor do i know if they are knowledgeable in bfg, so i chose to go back to my gynae. Cos i know that he's also pro-bfg and will not pressure me to give up because of the mastisis. He also let me try this medication that is supposed to increase milk ss. I think at the end of the day, it's best to seek help from those u are comfortable with or share the same views towards bfg.

hi jackiejon, sorry, think i wrote the place wrongly for mums&babes, they are located in United Sq not novena Sq, got the both Sqs mixed up... heehee..sorry...

hi vivian, sorry, can't remember the cot name that i bot, it's in the invoice.. will go back and chck for u... i dun hav pic also, see if i can take the pic at home and send to u also...

Hi hi vivian..
Okok..thks..

Hi hi ilovemybabyg..
I guess as long as u r comfy with the height of the cot, shd be ok lor..coz diff pple will have diff height & so long u dun find it too low for ur back can liao..m glad that u managed to find a cot of ur choice.. dark walnut color also quite hard to find coz most I see is pretty low if not, doesnt come in the color u r looking at to match ur furnitures..the cot in taka is Babycraft..i only got to know that the one in CK Tangs & Robinson Centrepoint is Luckybaby & the height is not as low as the Babycraft (in Taka)..perhaps I might chk out the one u bought from moms & babes at United Sq..any idea wat color does it comes with ahh?

Hi hi coral..
Nice to hear from u ahh..its ok..take ur time..do it when u r free ba..just send it over to our email add will do..no hurries anyway..u got to take gd care of urself lor..so happy for u that not much of weight gain, I guess ur princess is absorbing whatever u r eating..thats gd..nice to hear abt ur gfs pregnancy as well..thks for sharing theres one more preggy woman ardlet's be positive together ahh..cheers~

Hi hi mummyjoy..
Oh..shes ur lunchmate ahh..nice leh..i guess as long as she found out early..shd be ok to control..anyway, its also gd to eat healthy food lor..at least u know tat the baby is absorbing whatever we are eating also..so nice of u to get pot & have plain steamboat lunch with her..very nice leh..she managed to give birth to her # 1 naturally ahh..not bad leh..at least very encouraging lor..then somemore can try diff birth method for #1 & #2..

Hi hi crystallized..
Hw heavy is ur baby?ya..now eating more greens also gd lor..i guess sometimes we got to resist our temptation towards sweet stuff ba..me didnt take note when I got the water retention as a sign to me that my body isnt breaking down the sugar or salt well..at least now not too late also..kekeke..

Hi hi Janice..
Try NTUC Unity..they have Neurogain BP as wellI bought mine there..somemore can earn linkpoints also..kekeke..

bbgrace,
yah its true. need to visit whomever we r comfy wif.

wendy,
as of 27wks+, baby weighs abt 1.2kg lor. heee... dunno issit considered on the heavy side. but most of my weight gain went to him.
yah hv to resist temptation at times. esp when they r sinful!
hope ur condition will improve soon.

hi hi crystallized..
oh..alamak..me had a scare man..i thot my baby is too big on the growth..alamak..so it's norm la..aiyo..phew..my baby is 1.1kg & growing when i went for my scan on 26w6d..haha..ya..as long as i start to watch my sugar & salt intake..shd be ok lor..thks..

Experience Mummies & MTBs
=========================

Need yr advise. We hv to protect BB cord's before it drop so is it advisable to wear rompers cos' it will rub against BB when BB move? or half shirt with shorts/pants better? string type or button type shirt better? can share with me roughly how many pcs/set we should buy? TQ

coral,
The stitches will depend on how badly the tear is.

Janice,
Ok, this is what my hb does every nite. He will apply the ru yi you on his hand and rub till his hands are warm, then he massage/rub my feet, legs, back, shoulder. From down to top.

mmummyjoy,
I let my gal wore romper. I find for nb, easier to wear romper. NB dun moves that often, most of the time, they juse lie there sleeping. So won't rub against the clothings one lah. I dun like string type. Button is easier. How many sets you need to buy depends on how frequent you change.

hi hi ladies..
if any of u r keen to get desitin creamy as a spare nappy rash cream..pls let me know..coz i just got mine from a lady organising BP from drugstore..i can send u the contact of this lady..she told me she's also thinking of ordering the Avent milk bags this time round..cheers~

Hi mmummyjoy

As for my case, I bought quite a few rompers for my son when he was young to wear to protect his cord. When it is at night I just let him wear additional long pants (together with the rompers) as at night we normally on the air con for him to sleep.

If I remember correctly, I bought about 6 sets.

Wtan, bbs cord will drop out later so will be like dangling on BB belly..imagine if clothing rub against..ouch! like will be painful for BB lor. TQ for the desitin creamy contact, the lady said will send it out to me soon.

Jenny, TQ, so rompers will be better
I also dunno how often we need to change for BB, when BB is wet, persp and bath right? then got to cater in on washing the clothings in case not dry...so how many sets will be sufficient har..

Jackiejon, TQ, total 6sets will be sufficient? So is like 3 change per day?

mmummyjoy,
I like romper cos just like what Jackiejon said, if cold, just put a pants over the romper. Also partly becos, the romper covers the tummy area. Unlike top and short, there might be chance of exposing a bit. For me, min change is 3 pcs per day. And also depends how often you wash lor. I use dryer, so 3 to 6 pcs are enough for me.