(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

maybe too active with all the work this few days, thta's why cannot sleep at all.

I packed everthing finished cos in two weeks time is the ghost festival. MIL pandang and ask me not to buy or do baby things during the two 7th. she said the first lunar 7th is ghost festival and the 2nd lunar is the very angry ghost festival. I hear also scared.

coral, u are right that in the 2nd trimester u are very active, I active till I can't sleep every night.
Maybe in 1 week time, I will not have the energy anymore.
Can feel that my energy is dropping day by day cos today walking with hubby, my leg suddenly cramp and I can't walk and do anythig at all and eyes want to close

I think I will stop at 1 baby only.
now too tire to think and to do of anything liao.
Finally I can rest.
After I off my computer, hope can fall alseep.
have to wake up at 6am

Wei Kuan, prob you were too active in the day that's why can't sleep.Or maybe you're just like some of us, experience insomia but also dunno why, the preg hormones?? I had that for a few nites some wks ago too. Hehe, I think it's too early to say stop at one. many preg forget their misery after a yr or a few mths and got themself preg again after seeing how adorable their bbs are.

Drying Rack
===========
Didn't know that there're lousy quality ones. I'm lucky, mine looks very ordinary, the white rack with red stand. Been using for 4+yrs and always sun my clothes in the outdoor, so far the rack is serving us well, not rusty.

Crystallized, I bought my pigeon stuff at Rpbinson some wks ago when they have 20% discount. As for the wipes I mentioned yesterday is the Johnson & Johnson wipes at coldstorage. HSBC card can buy at discount. But since everybody recommend Pigeon, I'll prob not get that.

coral,
i find that johnson & johnson wipes are a bit soapy. i used it for other things eg wiping high chair etc cos it's cheaper.

Hi hi mummyjoy
Okok..will do..see u at cartel ba..dun rush lah..take ur time..cheers~

Hi hi jasmine..
Ya..mine is sat..hehe..u sms me ahh aft ur appt..oh..not bad..at least u managed to get the 804-4 also better than nothing loh..hehe..somemore got wheels..also better lor..hehe..

Hi hi Doreen..
Ic..okok..thks for sharing that the Pigeon at Takas 20% is available..will go & chk it out again..thks ahh..at 1st also wanted hubby to exchange the Shell rewards points to Voucher for us to get the cot there..but now I want to go & chk out other cots b4 I decide lor..hehe..

Hi hi Selina..
Thks for sharing with us abt the Abdominal rubbing..really nice to hear abt thatI guess can let baby feel us as well..haha..so sweet hor..

Hi hi jenny..
Okok..will take note of that..i guess can add in the weight & also the name of the baby column..hehe..thks..i get what u meant..we also almost panic when we bring the 5 tier nearer to the car..haha..but heng ahh..put at passenger seat..i think the one u got is slightly bigger bcoz its 4 tier ba..if divide by 5 tier will be slightly smaller lor..oh ya, did u manage to chk out the Pigeon wipes at Carrefour?how ahh..cheaper?IMM & West Mall nothing much ahh..hmm..okok..coz we are gg over to the west leh..see how ba..thks..

Hi hi coral..
Not sure abt Marina Caf Cartel..but ok lah..since u also have amex card..cheers~

Hi hi chihiro..
Thks for the tip in keeping the wet wipes upside down..gd idea..

Hi hi wei kuan..
Hope u have a gd nite's sleep last night..happy to hear that u finished packing everything..me gg to quickly stock up on the stuff now..haha..Gd for u also..hehe..oh..didnt know that 2nd 7th mth is very angry ghost festival..

babygrace, thank. In fact I found some wipes are too soapy even for my own use. The other day my colleague passed me one and in teh end my skin peels as i'm allergic to the soap. SO I'm hoping to buy something fragrant free and not soapy at all for bb.

<font color="ff6000">crystallized</font>
huh, the expiry date got so short meh?
i see its like expiry date still got quite some time away, and by the time its expired, we hv used it liao.. hehe

<font color="ff6000">coral</font>
i've only used J&amp;J wipes when my gal did not finished the pack in the hospital. Don't quite like it, like wat babygrace mentioned, a abit soapy, don't quite like that feeling

Cheaper wipes
When guardian/watsons was having promotion on Kodomo's wipes @ 1.95/pack, i bot 10 packs @ 1 go..its cheap..sometimes i used it to clean high chair after my gal's meal.. :p
only downside for tis wipe is that it dun come out piece by piece like wat Pigeon wipe does. So when cleaning poo, got to get ready the wipes first before proceeding to clean up her buttocks. :p
anyway, 10packs of wipes divided into 2 places, my mum's n my place..so can finish quite fast .. hhee

Wei Kuan, my MIL also very padang. But hb and I told her 1st 7mth the ghost comes out, but by 2nd 7mth they already go back, no extended holiday. And she believe us. Hehe, cos I got my parent to help convince her too.

hmm..din know the 2nd 7th mth got such sayings..i juz tot, just don't do anything for these 2 mths.. :p

Anyone knows abt pampers wipe? Hb bought a few packs, not sure if good to use on bb...Maybe can experiement with my own sensitive skin first...

chihiro, actually, I think it depends on whether one believe in it ba. To those who don't the 2mths life will go on as usual, to those who does, then just live by the restrictions. I try to take it as per normal...But my MIL very superstitious, so she make us move in officially on 15 Jul to sleep one night b4 the 2nd 7th mth, cos when we move in with our barang barang on 27 Aug it's still the 2nd 7 mth...

I agreed with babygrace dun stock up too much on Pigeon wipes. My colleagues were saying they used so much and asked me to buy more. I bought 6 packs and till now only used 3 packs. Ended gave 2 packs to my SIL and I still have 1 1/2 pack at home untouched. Cos at home, like babygrace, I used water and cotton/tissues to clean bb butt. I bought the travel pack for outside use instead.

Wei Kuan,
I think hor elders got the wrong belief for lunar 7th mth. You know what? My hb read a lot on buddhism studies recently, so sometimes I nothing better to do, I will take and read some lah. Lunar 7th mth is not ghost festival. I can't really remember the story but is something on the mth where old time mothers are suffering.
I see if I can go and find the buddhism book on this.
I never heard 2nd lunar mth is angry ghost festival. There's nothing to scare about lunar 7th mth lah. Dun scare yourself.

coral,
My drying rack also comes in red and white color. Maybe we have the same good material hahaha... lucky us! It really serves good use lor, been using for 3 years plus and it costs less than $20 when I bought.
For bb wipes, I find pigeon is the best so far. Kodomo, tollyjoy, Johnson and Johnson quite soapy lor.

Wendy,
You know, ended my hb din put on the wheels for the tier drawers. He said no use one. The one you bought I think is too small, but ok for NB. But as bb grows up, things become more and clothes become "bigger" in size, thats why I said is small lor. Short term use is ok.
Oh, the tier drawer I bought is slightly bigger than yours lor, and some more I bought 2 leh! I managed to put 1 at teh passenger seat, but can't squeeze the other one into tht boot! So no choice, call SOS from my dad lor.
I din shop around Carrefour leh. I panicked after can't squeeze the tier drawers into the car. I find that Pigeon wipes are more or less standard price, $8.90 for 3 packs like tat. The promo I told you over at MSN is selling 6 packs at $18.50.
Depends on what you wanna shop at West lah. I find IMM better than West Mall. If not, you can go Jurong Point also. They are accurately quite near lor.

Good morning!!
for who want to buy the pigeon wipes ($18+ for 6packs), can get frm NTUC or other department store. coz i saw at kiddy palace too. even kiddy palace sales is over, but this item still valid coz is offer item ba...i only buy 1 box of pigeon wipes, tot to buy the refil one later. (the 6 packs one is refil pack)

hi wendy,
yesterday went back saw the 4 tier drawer, sastified with it. but more ex lor..$59.90. i think my BIL paid for it. lucky didnt buy the 5 tier one coz mayb too heigh lor..
oo...ya. while i finished my appt, think u all still at the gathering hor. ok...no pro. msg u about my boy boy growth.

wei kuan / coral,
my MIL didnt say anything lel about the 2 lunar 7th mths. but when i ask about delivery date for bb cot, she said better wait till end of sep lor (lunar 8th mth)...1 week b4 my delivery date shld b ok ba...

hi hi chihiro..
ya..i do agree that when watson is having offer on the Kodomo's wipes @ 1.95/pack, it's a very gd offer..haha..i also got it the other time to keep in the room..sometimes want to clean some stuff..very handy hor..now the offer no more leh...but ya, the wipes doesnt come in one piece by one piece so very troublesome also..

hi hi coral..
whc means u r gg for the big shift by this 15jul ahh..wow..then u will be very busy packing leh..but also gd lor..coz try to bring over some stuff 1st..then later when u r bigger..really hard to move ard much also..

hi hi jenny..
okok..actually i didnt realised that there's wheels leh..coz it'a being covered by the paper cardboards at both ends..but we managed to squeeze in at the passenger seat but not the boot..haha..heng ahh..if not, i think will have to call my FIL liao..actually very lugi i was telling u abt the big storage box with lid &amp; wheels at $5.90 each..that one already no more..if not, i think i will also grab lor..very worth hor..i guess that's carrefour catch for the mid-night sale..hoho..seems like the offer on $8.90 for 3 packs is cheaper than the 6 packs at $18.50 leh..are the quantity the same?ok..me long time didnt go over West side liao..so i hope hubby wont grumble i very troublesome to shop here &amp; there esp when we hardly shop lor..kekeke..

hi hi jasmine..
oh..okok..never mind lah..as long as u get it now..then can start to unpack the stuff &amp; get ready also lor..me gg to stock up the rest of the stuff soon..then i will start washing the clothes &amp; pack everything in..hope i wont forget wat to buy..haha..coz i think alot more for me to buy lor..

<font color="ff6000">jenny</font>
hehe, i oso same same as ur colleague, use a lot type.. go for convienience..:p

<font color="ff6000">coral</font>
i guess its depends on how much one believe in such stuff bah..
maybe will observe not to do anytHing for the 1st 7th mth
for the 2nd one, prob juz treat as per normal .. hee

<font color="ff6000">wtan</font>
the most recent stock up of kodomo is from Guardian's promo, tink watson not selling it anymore.
anyway, tis promo dun hv liao..
i still hv stocks of wipes at home, so will not get any till i'm finishing the stocks i hv.. :p

hi hi chihiro...
oic..i thot usually watson will be the one selling stuff at $1.95/pack..didnt realised guardian will have such offers as well..thks for sharing..thks..

Wendy, on the 15 Jul, hb and I just go over to stay ine nite to satisfy MIL's supersitious. So we "officially" move in on 15 Jul but without our stuff. MIL very pandang one, she say if we try to move in during the 7 mth she'll not let us in. Hb say she prob afraid we bring ghost into her house. Hehe. We're only moving our things on 27 Aug, which is during the 2nd 7 mth, but told her all ghost go home liao.

Long time i didnt really update my well-being here. 25th week, My baby is really kicking violent inside me everyday. somehow I feel that he recognise my touch cos whenever i place my palm on my tummy he will give me Hi-5. ha ha.

As for Wipes, I bought Tolly joy wipe, mmm actually I not too sure is it good or not.

Last few weeks, been shopping in kiddy palace(KP) during 20% storewide sales in Toa Payoh.
and I bought bb cot at KP marina square. It seem like they earn a lot from me. haha.

Hi Gemini,

Hopefully you are better now. Do take good care of yourself. Be happy and stay happy, and smile will be the best medicine.

hi hi coral..
oic..okok..so u getting new bed mattress + frame ahh..dun think u can sleep on the mattress leh w/o the bedframe ba..will it be too low for u?

Wendy, I'll only sleep at MIL for one nite on 15 Jul, so shall sleep on a single bed while hb sleep on the flr. We'll move in our own bed on 27 Aug. Finally convince my Mum to accept my other king size bed in my guest room. Hb say I super hard-sell. Hehehe.

Emily, glad to hear that your bb very active. i think my bb recognise my touch too. I think the strength I exert is diff from hb lor. So when i place my hand bb kick, but when hb put his hand she'll stop immediately. ;P

Jasmine, I think your hb is rite, even in drawer can collect dust...unless you wrap with plastic like Wei Kuan did. I'll start washing mine when I'm 38wks and then pack into drawers. Hope not too late by then...

Jenny,
wah then u heng lah! bought a gd drying rack at $20+. U bought urs at sembawang NTUC? might pop over to take a look then.
wah biang the racks so exp meh? can cost up to $100????

yah i saw the pigeon wipes in NTUC, so thot of buying. but scared buy too early, will dry off etc. then i will proceed to buy when i see it.

bbgrace,
using cottons pads and wipe wif water 4 baby's bum is gd enuff? i thot not clean enuff.

oh if u find a gd drying rack then u let me noe bah. wah u power leh, shifting in 2 wks time? at this stage? which area u shift to?

Wei Kuan
u too active in the day so u cant sleep at nite issit? sometimes it does affect me. and i practice deep breathing (technique taught during prenatal class to cope wif labour pains) when i cant sleep. haha, dunno why, it does help me leh!
u try it nxt time. breathe in and out deeply.

Coral
yah think better we stick to pigeon lah. anyhow try this brand tt brand oso no point.

chihiro
coz if i buy now, means we got abt 2+ to 3 mths more to go. and if the expiry is 6 mths fr mfg date, then v short leh. i better check it out properly.

7th mth
i heard we better dun buy anything 4 baby during this period. but happens tt this yr 7th mth lasts for 2 mths, so issit possible not to hv last min shopping for our babies? the festival officially ends on 22/9. 4 those early MTBs like me and vivian, think we might hv delivered by then... how? aiyah, think i will close 1 eye lor. need to b practical wat. how can die die dun buy when we need to prepare it for baby's arrival? and strictly speaking, we shld stop shopping by 25/7 since its the 1st day of 7th mth. i dun think i can get ready all my stuff by then.

coral, i will wait till my sis send me her bb clothes then wash &amp; wrap in plastic bag like wat wei kuan do lor..
btw, anyone know that do we need to wash those new bb clothes or cloth nappy that we jz bought?
wondering....

hi hi jasmine..
will collect dust ahh..hmm..i thot cover up so wont..like that means cannot start to pack everything in ahh...thks for ur clarification on the pigeon wipes..thks ahh..i think i blur liao..haha..so many qty type..keke..

hi hi coral..
ok..since there's a bed then ok lah..if not i was thinking it will be too low for ur back lor..not very gd lah..gd to hear that u managed to get ur mum to take over ur king-size mattress..gd also lah..hehe..at least they can have a new mattress lor..gd for their back also...

hi hi jasmine..
i think better wash one round lor..coz if not..some of them got so many pple touch..so better wash lah..

Jasmine, like Wendy says, better wash. I intend to wash everything new or hand-me-down.

Wendy, you manage to get any hand me down?

crystallized,
i sold off my place and rented a place in the same condo in SK as my sis cos she is a SAHM. She can help pop by to check on my maid and my boy while i'm at work. yes, this is my final month as SAHM. i'll be going back to work in Aug

the cotton pads wet with water is good enough to clean bb's butt. These days i just dump my boy in the sink and hose his butt.

I finally sleep at 4.30 am yesterday.
wake up at 6am, hubby ask what am i doing in the nite, keep waking him up, I walk here and there, toss here and there, no urine also go toliet.
finally at 4+am, i fall alsleep and have to go to work after 1+ hr of sleep.
the strange thing is I feel very awake and not sleepy at all.
from monday till now, i am like that.

Hello MTBs

Since you gals mentioned about the pigeon baby wipes, I just want to check whether is there any expiry date printed on the wrapper?

babygrace, that's not too bad, go back clear some work, remind them of your presence then go home to your darlings again.

Wei Kuan, hopefully you can catch up on your sleep this weekend.

hi hi coral..
yap..yap..Babygrace managed to gather some for me..she's very kind &amp; sweet of her lor..i m very thankful also..really appreciate her alot..i m mtg her this fri to collect it from her..

hi hi babygrace..
THANKS a lot for the clothings..really appreciate u alot..!Thanks!
haha..i think bringing ur boy over to the basin seems to be a better idea..wash off immediately..hehe..

hi hi wei kuan..
oic..okok..u hand-wash or machine wash..i think must be very cute hor..haha..the hanging part..coz u can see little clothings waiting to be dry up..haha..so cute..

Jasmine,
yes, muz wash everything, regardless of new or hands me down. New ones coz its being produced in factory, and u dunno how they handle in the factory. and i think they put everything on the floor b4 packing. so safer to wash. as 4 hands me down, the clothings might hv been stored for some time alrdy. no harm washing it another round.

ok, tt brings me to the next question again. which baby laundry detergent is gd?

bbgrace,
wah u rent a unit in condo? think not cheap rite? almost like paying hard cash for it. is this ur long term soln? or intending to get a unit later? ops, mayb i too kpo liao.

oh all along it slipped my mind u r a SAHM. how come they need u to go back in aug? coz its quite a short stint b4 u r off to maternity leave liao.

yah when my baby is bigger, i am gg to put him at the sink and juz hose him. hahaha

jackiejon,
there shld b an expiry date printed. haven scrutinise the pkg to check 4 it yet though.

Wendy,
That $5.90 storage box is good to use to store toys or diapers. I find them useful. I have about 5 in my gal's room, 1 to store diapers, 2 to store her clothings and 2 to store the toys.
$8.90 for 3 packs can be bought from CC. The rest of the places are selling $9.90. Quality same same.
Once a while shop at west is good also. West side got good buy at neighbourhood shops.

coral,
hahaha... ghost all go home so funny! Tell your MIL everyday also got ghost, no matter day or nite.

crystallized,
Sembawang MRT tat NTUC no more le. They are selling the lousy material. Dunno leh, I saw at DIY shop, $100 over dollars leh. Like made of gold??? hahaha... $50+ I already find it ex le.
If you are looking for powder form, Pigeon has bb detergent in powder form. If not for liquid, can use Kodomo.

Jasmine,
I will wash the new and hands down clothings etc when I got them. And hor, wash again nearer to EDD.

babygrace,
Going back to work? Then not long later you will be on maternity leave again kekeke... Ya lor, I also use hose to wash my gal's butt. Faster and easy.

Jackiejon,
Yes, there is expiry date on the bb wipes.

Wei Kuan,
Just checked with hb on the 7th mth. It is known as "fu mu en zhong jie" by buddhism -- > It means "filial to parents day", something like tat. It is a story where buddha dreamt that his mum is suffering in hell and what he should do to be filial to his mum. Overall, it is talking about being filial to our parents lah.

do u all tink that baby monitor is necessary?
As for bb bathing essential, i duno which type of tub more suitable,there is a type comes with a float to let bb to rest on, will it be unhygenic cos it may attract bacteria.

bb getting more and more active, yesterday wake up at ard 4.45pm, happen to switch on TV to see the worldcup outcome. BB also start kicking liao hehe (bb also like soccer? haha)

wendy,
you're welcome. Glad to have found some use for the clothing mah. see u this fri

crystallized,
renting is only a short term solution for these 2 yrs. we are currently shopping for a new place in the east coast area, closer to my parents. the next place is probably somewhere we will stay for long so must choose carefully including schooling options for the kids in the future.
Yup, paying hard cash for rental sounds quite siong but to think of it, interest rate for CPF bal is higher than bank savings account rate. So long as there is sufficient disposable income left to pay for rental, it still makes economic sense in the short term. After all, owning leasehold properties these days are like renting also and it's difficult to make money from it after u sell it. I made quite a substantial loss in selling my current place so it's also like we have been renting it for the past 6 yrs.

actually i took 6 mths no pay leave to be SAHM before i realised that i got pregnant. was due to go back in Aug. asked my boss if he wanted me back or wait till i pop, he says go back lor. Also good lah, got 3 mths mat leave if i go back.

i use kodomo laudry detergent, very nice smelling.

wtan, of course machine wash, but soak for half an hour first.
If hand wash, I sure die.
all the cloths so cute, my hubby saw the cloths, he said more and more stress liao

Hi Crystallized &amp; Jenny

Thanks for the information.

I better check when I go home tonite because I bought about 2 packs of 3s about 1 year ago for my 1st one.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Hello Aspialle

A baby monitor is good. I bought one when my son was younger. I put one in the room and the other one in the kitchen. This is just in case when the baby wake up and started crying and you can hear him/her in the other room.

i am using pureen detergent for baby, very nice smell too. i bought at kkh when they have 20%.

wtan, washing machine I have to use two times for Full load, can u imagine so many cloths, plus big thick towels too.

BB wipes
========

Ladies, any feedback on the BB wipes, especially our 2nd time mummies? I kindz of like the tollyjoy plastic round holder than the pigeon square type. Which quality is better?

Weikuan, I also bot the pureen A-B-D detergent, haven't start washing yet. Er..why your hb stress with cute BB clothing? My hb now enjoys shopping for BB stuff, he say stress relieve to see all the cute stuff