(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

jasmine,
i only took the concentrated bird's nest from lao hang jia when i was pregnant with my boy. i think he inherited the fair skin from me.
This time round i've decided to brew my own bird's nest every week cos baby girl mah, i want her to have nice complexion

mmummyjoy
i mentioned about replacing the ameda rubber valve before. some of my pumping buddies at work use the ameda and they had to replace theirs after 3 mths. i think depends on your luck and usage lor.

Wendy,
I've more or less confirmed my No. 2 name le.

Vivian,
How long has the hand down stroller? Remember to check the conditions to make sure it is safe to use.
Maybe you tahan for 6 mths, then buy a new one? Cos usually by then, bb will grow bigger and "might" outgrown the space of the stroller. Then chance for you to buy your ideal stroller??

coral,
Personally, I feel "safer" to let own mum take care of my kids. Not bias or what, but will be like "same" culture/upbringing. Not much prob compare to MIL.

Janice,
Maybe you wanna post a thread to ask for reviews for pigeon pump? Believe there are users out there to give advise.

mmummyjoy,
Actually if you are using Avent pump, the valve also needs to change regularly. So it is not a concern for me. I should be getting the set that I bought for my friend either tomor or wed. Let me see when I see the real stuff, what comments I can give you hahaha...
The cover for the carseats, I think can get from kidsmall.
The way your MIL talks abt confinement like sound so easy like tat, wait till she does for you, then she knows how to write the word "regret" hahaha... Hey, my MIL also din bath my SIL's son when he was infant leh!!! Wah liew, same pattern!!!
There's pigeon brand laundry powder for bb clothings. But I din use... I mix bb cloths with adults clothes to wash and throw all into dryer. Most ppl dun mix bb clothes with adults one. Me heck care one.

Wendy,
Me using my normal fridge cos it is always empty. For you, I think you better get a mini one since your MIL din store the food for dogs properly. But I'm wondering if I should get myself a mini fridge to put in office. Got any cheaper brand bor???

aspialle,
Your SIL's placenta is very low? Or she over tired herself cos of her hb's illness? Hope she rest well!

Hi vivian & selina,

Can share on how's ur 1st prenatal class? I'm 24wks3days today and I cant still make up my mind whether to go or not. Another reason that put me off is that it's a 2 hrs session. Dun know whether can I still tahan thro'a 2 hrs session after 6 yrs...

thanks wtan

hi jenny
thks, yah hope she gets well soon

hi gemini
if take later classes, will it be in time? the lady told me the next class with vacancy will not be in time for me to finish b4 delivery. im now in 21 week

Aspialle, not sure if I wrote anything that misled you into thinking that i suggest your SIL to give birth now. I was given progesterone jab daily to support the preg and was odered complete bedrest, thus no walking at all, so I use a bed pan for my toilet needs too...Hope she'll get well soon. Most low placenta move up around 7mth.

Gemini, I think it's too late for you to enrol, cos most classes are usually fully booked in advance and the time slot they can give you now might be too late. Cos ours is ending in Sep, so if you start later than us, your lesson might end after your bb is out...

Wendy, my fren used a mini fridge to store her BM, prob can get those with a freezer. I've already got one at MIL place, but might shift it to my mum's place if she's taking care of bb. I would rather you not sleep with fridge in yur bedroom, generally, not good to hv such things in sleeping area, but this is only my personal opinion.

Jenny, I also more assured if it's my mum who take care of bb. Cos she's very expereinced and my dad also a very careful person. My MIL don't really take care of her own bbs, and my FIL is the more "cowboy" type of character, everything he'll say fine one, so he not as xi4 xin1...

hi coral morning
Dun worie i understand what u mean, did not misled me.i wonder if she is going back to work after discharge, hope not. cos she needs to walk and drive as she is doing sales. thanks for ur advice. Tink it must be a difficult time for u tat time

Lastnite my gal, really give her daddy mian4 zi3, he place his hand on my tummy, and everytime he call "baby", she'll give him a kick, so he was really thrilled after a few kicks.
Finally, she lets him feel her movements.

aspialle, tell your SIL to avoid if she can. I started bleeding on wk8 and was atcually discharged after 2wks of bedrest, went back to work, in the end aft some walking, I had heavy bleeding and was on bed rest for the rest of the time until wk19 of my last preg.

Yo ladies..

my co is hiring..if u know any friends looking for such jobs, pls PM me..thks..thks..

Position: Account Executive
- Temporary
- 6 to 9 months
- Right candidate will be converted to permanent employee if performance proven

Report to: Finance Manager
Responsibilities:
-Manage accounts payables, fixed assets records and general ledger
-Handles accounts receivables collections and inventory reconciliations
-Prepare account reports for financial reporting to meet statutory and corporate requirements.
-Submit GST filings
-Prepare account and variance analysis
-Liaise with auditors and banks
-Assist the Finance Manager on special projects
-With Oracle knowledge will be advantageous

Requirements:
-Minimum Diploma in Accounting or LCCI in Higher Accounting
-At least 3 years relevant working experience
-Competent in Microsoft Excel / Word. Familiar with computerized accounting system.
-Hand-on, strong analytical skills, versatile team player with initiative and the ability to multi-task and work under pressure
-The right candidate is required to start on mid-July 2006.

Hi hi jenny..
Really ahh..thats great!so happy for u..yeah!later I msn u..heehee..ya..i was talking to hubby this morn when we are having breakfast abt the mini fridge & also the baby cotlike where to place it & etcI think for the 1st 3 mth, shd be at my mums place..aft that..i m wondering if I will want to store it at my in-laws place if my mum is helping me take care of my boy..coz like that, my mum will need more of my supplies at her place rather than at my in-laws place..but I m not sure if BM got to be store in freezer anot leh..if freezer then cannot get mini fridge liao..for ur case, did u check out on the cooler bag as compare to mini fridge?for my case, I do have a fridge at my office..those big ones..so I can store my BM in the fridge if I wld to pump in office..but got to think of the way from office back home lor..hmm

Hi hi coral..
Thks for ur comments..ya..me was thinking to leave the mini fridge at the living room area if at my in-laws's place..if at my mum's place, then shd be ok to stay put at the kitchen..i dun want my in-laws' fridge to be near to my mini fridge lor..(ops)..that's provided if I m getting a mini fridge..but if I m getting a norm fridge with freezer then got to find place to put liao..now thinking if the fridge shd be at my mums place or at my in-laws place hor..coz if my mum is helping to take care of my son..then surely the fridge got to be at my mum's place..

Aspialle, I also dun eat pig's internal organ, dun know 'bu' in what way, maybe will ask my CL to skip those unhealthy stuff. My sis hv low placenta for her 2nd kid, her gynae advice her to use the support belt from 6th mth till labour and also rest more. Hey, I saw from book that if we take enough vit C from wk 4 onwards will help placenta strong, not sure if it still apply since all over 20 wk liao...

Wtan, haha, my hb knows me, right from the start we already decide to get CL, told my MIL out of respect but she still brought up funny suggestion lor...ya, the really mini type of fridge not reliable, think the frozen compartmt can only put 2 small size feeding bottles or proably only 3-4 milk bags?!? Maybe you can consider buying room fridge which is bigger...Hv to freeze BM for longer term storage but if left at normal fridge temp got to consume within 48 hours right?

Good morning!!

hi aspialle,
i think the best thing ur sil can do is rest more n dun walk so much. as u mention ur sil now is 5.5 mth, according to my gynae, placenta will move up when our tummy getting bigger. everything still hav to wait till 8mth then only can decide. so, ask ur sil rest more and hope tat the placenta will move up.

hi babygrace,
my skin type is those yellowish one. if birdnest really help for skin complexion, hopefully my bb wll hav nice skin if mummy take birdnest lol. my mil brew birdnest for me.

hi wendy,
yeah... the freezer area for mini fridge is really small lol. so, i think it's mean for coller only. and if we store our BM in this fridge, BM must use within 48hr lol. so, stll dunno shld buy the mini fridge or not.
oo..ya. i forgot to tell u. there is another type called small freezer. it's main for freezer one. i think it's better than mini fridge. coz our main purpose is store BM for the long term use like more than 48hrs ba...
a bit ex compare to mini fridge.

hi jenny,
i saw mini fridge at carefour, the price is around $220. the freezer area is really small lol. and another type is small freezer. a bit exp than mini fridge/

wendy,
i think shldnt put fidge in ur bedroom. it's not gd to hav too many electric stuff in bedroom especially if bb sleep with u. if ur mum taking care ur bb for long term, i think the fridge shld keep at ur mum place. convinience for ur mum to feed ur bb.
and if pump at office, probably can store at coller bag and store at ur fridge immediately once u back frm office.
tat;s wat i tot. dunno it's work or not.
my mil agree tat buy a mini fridge, juz hav to arrange a place at kitchen to put all my stuff lo.

Thanks for clarifying my doubts reagrding strollers. Regarding the price of carseats , I wonder whether kidsmall cheaper or cheong choon ?

mmummyjoy
----------
Many thanks for letting me have the details of the baby cds and i think u r really lucky to have such a fantastic hubby =)

PS: In my case, I walk so much faster than my hubby such that I am always many steps before him ..he is always saying wait for me wait for me...hehe, wonder who is the pregnant one sometimes

hi hi mummyjoy..
glad that ur hubby is supportive towards u lor..also better to get a CL lor..at least they are the experts lor..also easier to ask them to do anything la..ok..thks for sharing that BM can only be store in mini fridge for 48 hrs else got to consume within the time frame...thks ahh..hmm..

hi hi Jasmine..
oh, u mean got one type is purely for freezing ahh..hey, gd leh..u saw this a Carrefour?then it's more worth to get this one ba..do u know roughly how much is cost ahh?thks leh..i didnt thot of this..thks..

hi wendy,
yup, tat why my hb told me, is main for freezing one. but cant remember the price oredi. but surely less than $400. i think it's better than mini fridge ba...
if i go there again, will let u know the price, ok>

hi hi Jasmine..
okok..never mind..thks..i guess i will go there & check it out ba..thks..thks..coz got to check out other stuff also lor..

Babygrace, TQ
could recalled seeing the valve change feedback but can't remember from who...which pump u hv used?

Jenny, TQ, TQ, I will wait for your feedback on Amenda. Ya lor, funny MIL,my hb challenged her some questions on confinement and she say can find out, can easily pick up, can ask maid to do other stuff and she just cook then she seems forgotton we still need to take care of BB?!?!...my hb ask me not to be too particular with her words and he will definitely provide the best for me & BB. Is Pigeon brand low suds? I need to find low suds detergent for front load machine lei, else a lot of bubbles lei..

Jo, u r welcome, hope u can find the CDs
hb been pamper since young, I really glad he learnt thru the way to take good care of me during courtship, after marriage and now with BB coming
he make milk for me on mid-nights when I am hungry, he say I hv started training him on BB care...kekeke Wow, u can walk so fast? Really steady hor, me still crawling with my steps but this wk better liao, tummy like move up a bit, feel lighter

Wtan, hehehe, dun mentioned, I also learnt from the experience mummies here on the BM storage.

hi mmummyjoy, saw u all talking at support belt...where to get it?

the posting are VERY fast!! can't catch up liao..anyway, me jus came back from my appt last thurs and also took a long wk leave...very lazy to come back to work...last thurs gynae appt was good, gynae explain all my tests and the detailed scan and was glad that he was very pleased wif the overall results... kekekeke..
we saw BB and HB says she looks like me...kekekeke...BB is doin well and is very active nowadays..now she not oni give bubble-like kicks, she gave bigger ones..and sometimes, can see her movements from one side of the stomach to other...kekekeke....

btw, also saw some postings abt the stroller, combi in this store, cheong choon...heard of this store too...do they sell cots also??? actively lookin for one cot... me and HB also like the combi stroller and will be mostly likely settling for this brand...

mmummyjoy,
i use the medela dual pump. A bit noisy but i can bear with the noise. Suction is good and parts easy to assemble and available everywhere.
The ameda one is also good according to my friends. The only troublesome thing is the valve. Cost aside, the parts are not readily available at dept store and u hv to get it from the supplier is a bit inconvenient.

wah.. today rain heavily again, so afraid my study room flood again. Yesterday rained too, last nite came back home with 1 container full of water from the leak... imagine without container, my whole study room must have flooded. Haiz...

Jenny,
======
The old stroller quite old liao lah.. 3 kids used it before liao... but still can use i think. Just that my hb think bb grow very fast one and we have another used-stroller (not for infant one...) to use when bb is bigger.. so he prefer not to buy lor... but... I like that combi leh... sob...

Gemini,
=======
The 1st class of the antenatal classes is ok lah... most of the things we know liao. Talking abt the changes in us during pregnancy. What tests to do etc... most of it, we have been thru liao since me and Selina is more than 6 mths. Maybe more useful for those who are 4mths preg or those who dun read or ask ard alot. Think this forum is more informative to me... Think the better part is the QnA section at the end where we can post questions to the nurse and learn from her experience. Hmm... I will try to recall some of the questions and post it up later... Think next lesson will be more interesting. Hopefully got to do some exercises.
If you still dun know whether to go or not, now might be a bit late leh... very difficult to get vacancy liao. KKH uses a longer period of time to finish the courses as there is a 3 weeks break. Maybe you can try other hospital such as TMC. Heard they got quite a few classes going on. I register quite late too, so very luckily can make it. Good luck!
Btw, not really 2 hrs lah, 1st 45mins class, then 15 mins break, 45mins class again. Time flies very fast... b4 you knew it, finish liao...

mmummyjoy,
==========
wah.. envy you ah.. hb so nice to you.. when I hungry at nite, he ask me to make milo and eat biscuits and then he just say he tired liao... go sleep first...
now, I always use this example to "xia4 suay1" him in front of everyone... haha... BUT... no change leh.. still milo... have been telling him, wait his son come out, got marie biscuit face with milo complexion....bth him...

Welcome back ilovemybaby...
===========================
long time never "See" you... so good to hear good news abt your bb...
Regarding Cheong Choon, they also sell cots, but not a lot of selection. They only have catalogues so advise you to check out other places such as BB Kingdom, BB Hypermart, Robinsons and other shopping mall to shortlist your fav cot first, then check out with cheong choon abt their price.

Me and hb also actively looking for a cot. Saw one BabyCraft 4-in-1 cot ($299) in Kidsmall (other shopping mall also have), and one dun-know-what-brand from BB Kingdom ($289). Think will buy either one of that.

As for the combi stroller, see how lor.. think very difficult to convince my hb to buy the brand new combi which I like.

Ilovemybabyg, I bot my support belt at kiddypalace S$24.30(20% disc). Congrats on the good results, my bb also gave bubble-kicks, think not the real kicking yet.

Babygrace, TQ for the pump info

Vivian, TQ for the class info., did they demo on posture, can share some info.? ya, all the classes quite pack, my natal class will only start next month when I in 25wk
hehehe, my hb will make the milk, bring to me and wash the cup after I finish, he will also slice the bread into smaller pces, served on plate with a folk..hehehe, frens say I well-trained him but it is really from his own, he cuts fruits for me daily too...kekeke, u & your hb really has an interesting way to communicate, very fun

hi vivian, thanks for ur info on the cot...yah we are also searching for one, think we wanna buy soon, nowadays, walk abit shopping oni, already felt tired, so better quickly buy the bulky stuffs first...

hi mmummyjoy, thanks for the info on the support belt, will go purchase one soon...

me now 25wks this wk...anyone also in the same wk??? heehee...just curious...

hi ladies, think i will MIA for a while. very busy with translation work. got to get them done by today. eye crossed liao. english to chinese... cannot tahan man... 130+ slides to translate. die.....
you ladies enjoy your chat today....

Hi hi mummyjoy..
Thks for sharing also lor..appreciate it too..

Hi hi ilovemybabyg..
Nice to hear from u lor..hehe..very happy that ur girl is very active ahh..hehe..wow..can see her movements from one side of the tummy to the other side ahh..cool man!think shes warming up herself ba..cool!CC also sells cot..but u got to go down & check out on the brochures as they do not have readily set-up ones..where have u been to check out for baby cots?me only went to Ikea & Taka..but I think Taka ones are better lor..so now checking out the rest slowly also..

Hi hi Vivian..
Wow..heng ahh..u put pail there..think u got to get this issue resolve fast lor..Thks for sharing on the anenatal class at kkh..glad that u enjoyed urself also..haha..u mentioned that ur hubby will be getting another one for baby to use when hes bigger..is that gg to be a Combi as well?thks for sharing on the baby cot..ok..will go kidmalls to check it out as well..

Hi hi selina..
U got to take gd care..get some rest for ur eyes also lor..

Wendy,
Actually I and a few colleagues shared to buy a mini fridge last time, but some left, some resign. Now the fridge is strucked at my director office and is currently used by the secretaries there. Now I also pai seh to use le. I have another fridge in my lab but like not very clean le. Cos guys dun take care of the fridge one. Maybe one day, I should go and wash it up.
I think I told you over MSN, my hb makes it very clear to me, bf only during maternity leave. He wants me to stop once I'm back to work. But I have second tots which I didn't tell him yet. Tats why I'm consider a mini fridge. Cooler bag, dunno if should get. See my supply later. Maybe I will stop bf once I'm back to work. Then no need fridge or cooler bag le.

mmummyjoy,
Pigeon detergent is those powder form hor. It comes in a small box. My washer is front load. Not much bubbles, so should be low suds detergent. Generally, detergent for bb should be low suds.
Ya, I think your MIL forgets abt the part that BB needs someone to look after day and nite. Is very tiring one leh.

babygrace, mmummyjoy,
I heard for the Ameda parts, buy from Moms in Mind is cheaper than distributor.

Vivian,
Haha... tell your hb you stroke 4D! Then go and buy the stroller bah. 3 kids used before le ah, aiyo, really a bit old le. Ask hb to get new one lah, then next bb also can use. You explain to him lah, the material may be rusty, may cause allergy to bb skin???

Mummyjoy, envy that u have such caring hubby.

Yesterday went to mother en vouge and bought a pant and 2 shirts, they are having discount.
All these still can wear after giving birth, I bought XS for all, but still a little big for me, at least can tahan till birth.

I am the one also walk faster than my hubby, yesterday went shopping cos on leave, I walk for 4 hrs w/o stop and hubby is the one complaining very tired and leg pain.
The same when we go swimming, he will be like a stone and stay at position and I swimming.

445572.png

Hi everyone.....am going to b a 1st time mummy in Oct 2006! So thot it will be GREAT to share our joys n excitement tog as mummies thru this site!

hi hi jenny..
okok..we chat more at msn..cheers~

hi hi Van..
welcome to the thread...do u mind letting me have ur details so that i can update into the chart?

age / gynae / hospital / pregnancy status / wks / gender?

Vivian, TQ
Enjoy your lesson this sat.

Jenny, TQ, I will go take a look at Pigeon detergent, they have it in kiddypalace? Yup, think someone told me or I saw on website, ameda replacement valve at S$9.80 from MIM, other plc selling at S$16.

Weikuan,
think every hb cares, just different way to express themselves
wow, u really slim, XS still big for you. Wow, wow, walk for 4 hours! Really peifu you, I very lousy lei, sure find chair to sit if stand too long. I even sit in the fitting room when trying on tops...kekekeke. U really swim? My hb say he misses watching me swim in free style, now I can only soak and walk.

hi van
welcum to the thread

hi jenny, mummyjoy and wtan
thanks for all ur concern and advice on low placenta

Yah i will go n buy a support belt for her.

Nowadays my bb kick me early in the morning, just before the alarm clock rings abt 6plus...i bought mozart music for bb to listen, tink bb likes it a lot cos v fast both of us doze off liao,hahaha

hi selina
take gd care wor...ur bb becum translation expert next time cos u guiding her hehehe

hi wendy,thanks for ur info on the cots..will probably go down to CC to see this wkend... actually, my HB and i aim for a cot very long liao...but very X lor..sigh..still thinkin very hard... can also use until kids age... but jus not sure if wanna spend tat money...

hi vivian, so u are in ur 25wks also ya!! got company..kekekeke...

wtan
gynae: dr poon
hosp: mt alvernia
preg status: 22 wks

wow! it's really gd to see so many frenly ppl here! do all of u actually meet each other?

Hi Van,
Welcome to our club!
Some of the MTBs here are going for prenatal classes and have met up. Some of us going to meet on 7th July for a gathering for the 1st time! U want to come and join us?

This thread is running very fast, Wah.. can't catch up. Any reviews on tommee tippee? it has breast pump too but nobody say anything leh.

coral,
My work load sometimes very heavy. HB scares I over stressed myself. 2ndly, I will be leaving my baby with my mum over the weekdays. So is very troublesome cos I will need to transport EBM to my mum place everyday.

Van,
Welcome on board.

mmummyjoy,
Yes Kiddy Palace got sell. I saw NTUCs selling also, but is placed at BB section.

hi minibu
ya u r right....hmm guess u r one of his patients too?

wah so exciting! meeting up for the 1st time, but i cant make it on that date. but do keep me updated ya?

janice, i hvnt heard of this brand of breast pump but i know that avent is quite a gd brand but V V V ex also. they hv this silent dual electric breast pump that cost abt $800! but my sis fren said that it's really gd....jus have to sit down n be milked, v much like a COW. hee hee

Jenny, so actually after having children, you and hb can stil enjoy quite a lot of er4 ren2 shi4 jie4.

Van, haha, I was trying to imagine myself as a cos being milked. What a scene!

hi van,
ya, dr poon my gynae also, he delivered my sis 2 kids..hehee....maybe will see u at his clinic...
me choose to deliver at TMC..

minibu,
wat a coincidence! my sis's 2 kids were also delivered by him! ha ha....
he's a nice doc. how many wks r u into ur preg?

Mummyjoy,
I did not swim freestyle lah, I swim very slowly in frog style, very relaxing.
You feel very light in the pool.

So happy that hubby and I have choosen a name for my princess.