(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

mmummjoy,
i bf my boy for 13 mths. i only stopped when i found out that i'm pregnant. In his earlier months, i latch him directly and feed him on demand so i really dunno how much he's drinking. He got a good appetite and could be drinking every 2 hours. Those times that he was bottle fed with expressed BM was when i had to go out and someone else helped me feed him. The amount ranged from 30ml in his 1st month to 80ml in his 3rd-4th month. It was only in his 6th month that i put him on bottle feed more regulary cos i went back to work. At that time, he drinks about 120ml each time and i started using milk bags for storage.

Jenny, the cloth diaper we mention here is not the traditional type. YOu might have to visit the website to know what we're trying to say

www.bumwear.com

hee, my username cnfusing people. I'm Coral. I think there's another lady by the username Carol. But she hasn't post for a while already.

Ok, gotta go for meeting now. reply later.

Coral,
aiyo..pie say pie say.. I kept on addressing u as Carol...No wonder the other gals blur also.

Jenny & Bunny,
guess Dr Ang will write down the details in our files as we progress ba. Since BB is developing ok, he also wun make us worried hor? I also dunno what to ask him. Usually no questions for him. Most of the doubts can be asked and replied here liao. Hee..

Tell u secretly. That time when my hubby went with me to see him, he was digging his nose when talking. Hahaha.. my hubby was put off by his actions lor. I said his nose hair poking him lah. Hahaha..very common among guys mah.

Hi MTBs,

Hmm.. talking about names.. I got a VEry deep impression from the Phua Chu Kang show. U know Phua Chu Beng's son is called Aloysius, right?

One fine day, his wife (Tan Kheng Hua) was very shocked and told her hubby:" OH NO! CHuUUUBB! We've been calling our son the wrong name for the past 15 years! His name should be pronounced as "A-Loy-E-cious" NOT "A-Loy-cious". Hahaha..
dunno y but i found that part of the show to b very funny! Just share with everyone here!

Aiyo, my boss 2nd day of work only and ask me to go Shanghai and Hong Kong. Going to tell her airline don't allow big tummy women to board.

wendy,
i'm sure they will but i'm not too worried cos we're not staying wif them... only will visit once a wk n prob only there for dinner so dun think they can contribute much lah.

jenny,
tks. i also think storage bags more economical n easier to store. jus dunno how to transfer. pour into milk bottle first then heat up or heat up first. i was told need to freeze the BM. i'm really lost n confused.

janice,
u so cute. better go find out the exact n correct pronounciation man... dun wanna wait 15 years to realise our mistake.

Jenny, hehehe, hv read the preg bk, ya, not heartburn. Ai yo, I hv not been sleeping well lately, hopefully will not affect BB rest. Scanning not harmful but research state minor side effect lor. Oops, epidural harmful? Yr 1st one w/o epidural? My fren had epidural 4 yrs ago and delivered her son, she has none of the backache sympton at all, so lucky
can share how often you do the cervix test?

Babygrace, wow, 13 mths, gd effort
so did you go through the engorge process when you stop bfing when u knew you preg? Thks for the 'feeding' info

Janice, haha, paisay huh, I keep looking up the post when you mentioned what 'carol say' then cannot find till I *blur* lor n ask..kekekeke

Hi hi ladies..
Have u all briefly thot of how many diapers will be buying for a start from bumwear?i was looking at their packages..seems like the more we get, then we can probably split & share the cost lor..when do u all plan to get the cloth diapers from bumwear ahh?wonder if we shd go down to the shop to find out more?

Hi hi jenny..
Long time didnt hear from u lor..haha..i think u must be very busy at work..do take gd care of urself..thks for the info on the urine stripe..coz usually I didnt ask them whats that for..think this trip I will find out more..thks..

Hi hi janice..
Thks for the joke of the day to start our day..hehe..yeah~ todayss FRIDAY! Cool!

Hi hi coral..
Aiyo..ur boss as u to travel ahh..do u really have to go?

Hi hi Selina..
Ok..so will u be getting ur dad or mum to help look aft Caleb or u will let ur MIL take care of him?hey, I also got the same question on the storage of EBM..as in do we freeze it then defrost when we want to let boy-boy drink ahh..confused also..haha..

Cherrios, I know. But now I'm only a contract staff. Since they deprivve me of my maternity benefits and my medical insurance benefits, why should I risk my preg and travel overseas for assignments?

Coral,
Ooooh, if that's the case, then better don't travel. It's weird that they will ask a contract staff to go on such overseas assignment, isn't it?

Selina, I think babygrace or someone posted here on how to thaw the BM. If you want to store the BM for a longer time you'll have to freeze it, but if you're going to use it very soon, then you just need to keep it cold in fridge.

Wendy, I'll find ways to not travel. Since my medical insurance is not very comprehensive as a contact staff, I see no point in risking. At most I quit again.

Cherrios, cos I use to work for my boos on full time. Quit my job in Apr, although I'm now working on contract she still treat me as per before I quit.So still want me to join in all the planning meetings and conduct certain presentations. I'll do it via webcast/videoconferencing for her but don't think I'll travel.

Coral,
So nice to fly wor. Sponsored one some more! U dun wan ah? Me and Selina so envy! Ya, Cheerios is rite! Can fly up to 28weeks. I wanted to visit my hubby overseas but he dun allow..
kao_sad2.gif

Selina,
That's y i also scared to choose chim chim name. Later we as parents pronounced wrongly and other ppl also find difficulty too!

Oh! And imagine if our children graduate from overseas and the angmoh officer tried to pronounce the children's names when going up to get the degree on stage!

My friend married an Indian and her son's name is Kavi. But her father cannot pronounce properly, keeps calling him "curry". Haha..he said never mind lah. Can understand ok already.

Mmummyjoy,
Hee... if not because of u, i also wun know I keep typing " Carol" instead of "Coral". Never mind lah. Lucky u rectify!

Janice,
where is ur hubby at? aiyoh, bet u must be missing lotza. but he's not allowing u to travel also because he is concerned mah...
I have a colleague she flew to HK when she was about 30-31 weeks. But because her bump is quite small and she wore a huge T_shirt to cover up, she managed to get through customs. But at her own risk of coz.

Coral,
This is like just exploitation of labour. Essentially they still want you to shoulder the same responsibilities at your own expense.

coral, ai yo, better don't travel, 4 hours of travel on plane equal to 1 time Xray!!!

selina, me too, missed all the trips, keep 'sending' my colgs off, 2 just went to US & Jpn last week and I can only take the conference calls on different time zone, as crazy as 5am! I think my performance measure for next year sure to suffer too, but every sacrifices for BB is worthwhile

janice,

Coral,
Ya hor! Now that u mentioned about your reasonings.. Hmm... seems they're taking advantage of u leh. Ya, dun give in to them and risk your BB and your own health. If it's that good, They'll "fight" to go for the trip liao..

Wendy,
If i can find some more jokes, will let you gals know!

These few days can't get enough sleep. Keep going to toilet at night. Wah last night think at least 10 times. So cham!

Janice, usually when I go overseas my trip will be packed with meetings and I'll have no time of my own to do anything. Then go back to hotel still gotta clear my emails and work in Spore. So it's nothing to look forward to. Especially if travelling together with boss. Somtimes on the plane she may even sit beside me, then really no personal time. Yucks!

Heehee, if travel for my own sight seeing or shopping of course I wont mind. But for days n nights of work, no no.

Janice, sayang, sayang. Hope you'll get to see hb soon.

hi coral
they are making full use of u, they sign u as contract staff in name but treat u just like before.(perm staff)pls dun take the risk to travel, by goin back to help them , u r already doin them such a great favour

Aspialle, ya, bb more important, job can always find. What are you cooking today? Did you send your application to the Aust High Comm?

today i cooking black bean pigtail soup.....
now everyday i cook barley for my BIL and go to my MIL house help her in her cooking.cos everyday she has to go down hospital. too bad i can't go everyday.Its so tiring for them, hope BIL can get well soon

Hi ladies, I'm Pam. I've been lurking here for a while. Just want to add my opinion of Bumwear diapers. They're really very good, I've been using them for my 2 boys and I was down at the Expo yesterday to add to my Bumwear stash as I have a little princess coming up.

My advice is if you want to get the Bumwear diapers, do so at the Motherhood Exhibition because they hardly give discounts for their diapers other than at Motherhood Exhibitions. I got package E and got quite a few freebies. Plus they also have limited edition colours not available at the website. I also stock up on my nursing bras and an extra sling from Moms in Mind.

I'm not terribly impressed by the offerings at this Motherhood Exhibition and my hubby and I are very happy with our new diapers :)

hi coral
i sent the resume yesterday, waiting for their reply but in the cover letter i did mention i am pregnant leh, just dun wan them to be shocked.hehehe

janice,
'curry' that reminds me of how my great grand mother used to call my mum. My mum is called Maggie, old woman cannot pronounce properly so she calls my mum "Bei Ki" (areoplane in hokkien)...

and my sis supposed to be named stephanie but my paternal grandma cannot pronounce so change to sharon. old woman goes "ni ni..." cannot complete the name.

coral,
ok. will go search for it. anyway, meeting a gal friend soon n she's gonna b my bf consultant cos she bf her boy for as long as babygrace did... so will pick up some tips from her.

wendy,
dun think my mum can help cos she's still working though from home most of the time but she still needs to go office or go meet client. she's a property agent u see. so timing quite erractic sometimes.

as for MIL i not keen to leave my boy wif her leh... i dunno y but i just dun like lor... even hb suggest letting his 3rd sis look after my boy i also not keen... dun quite like the way they bring up their own kids lah...

coral,
better not go then since you are not adequately covered. even adequately covered, also dun go since they never show any sign of concern at all...

mmummyjoy, paiseh its only home cooked food, nothing special lah

for reference, before are the soup that i normally cook for my hb:
1.potato soup
2.sweetcorn soup
3.black bean pigtail soup
4.lotus roots peanuts soup
5.Si chuan pork rib soup
6.beancurd soup
7.yong tau fu soup
8.chicken fungus soup
9."Xing yang chai" soup

hi hi ladies..
i just want to share a joy of my gf..i think earlier few mths back, i shared with u all that one of my gf expecting a baby boy had a stillbirth at her 24th wks..then aft resting..she tested yesterday again & it's POSITIVE! i m very happy for her..coz children are really gifts from God..heeheeh..

Cherrios,
My hubby working at some ulu place in China. We only married for 3 months and he went to work there liao.

My friend's friend went Korea when 5 months preggie. Just sit on the snow and see the others skiing lor..

Coral,
next time i see hubby will be when I'm due lor. Wah.. mayb see him 4 times a year only. Once in quarter of a year!

I was staying alone until recently got 2 tenants cos hubby worried if anything happen to me, at least someone around.

Yesterday met up with my ex-colleagues and one of them made fun of me:"Wah! your hubby there and u r pregnant?! HOw ah?! Send by FedEX ah!"

mummyjoy,
sorry. delifrance is now out for me. dunno y but just dun fancy it now. think prob merlion it once so now a bit scared of the smell n taste.

agree. any sacrifice for bb is worth it. i'm happy my boss doesnt allow me to travel cos at least she is concerned for my health. even if she allows i wont go lor. will find excuse not to go.

wah janice and coral
our hb travel a lot hor...yesterday my hubby still talking abt his trip to ireland coming Aug. he will be there late aug to late sept, 1 mth. in july maybe going m'sia for biz trip too

he was asking me wat to cook fast fast, write receipe for him to cook there.hehehe
how i wish i can go to his apartment in ireland to cook for him...but i will be 8-9 mths liao....too bad

Hi mmummyjoy,

Yes, Moms in Mind has a booth in Motherhood, booth H1. See this page : http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/weeklyspecials.html

Bumwear is there also. The owners are very good friends so they always go exhibitions together one.

Bumwear Package E contains 15 diapers and 35 inserts. At Motherhood, they give 3 free inserts + 4 free boxes of nappy liners. Very worth it lor...some more on top of the 15% discount.

We cloth diaper our boys full time and are intending to do the same to their baby sister.

mmummyjoy,
my friend said as BB grows bigger, we'll need to go toilet more often. So imagine 10 times go toilet at night going to increase to how many times!

Selina,
hahaha..but i tot she'll know "maggie mee". Last time as long as it's instant noodles is called "maggie mee" leh.

Aspialle,
You making me hungry liao. Soup cooked with lots of love! Hmm.. keep thinking of what your hubby told u. Any woman will melt at his words..

hi janice
ya lor, any woman will melt, and everyday he has been repeating tat melting words...hahahaha

how often ur hb travels? do u miss him, then when he is not around do u stay alone?

Hi Pam, how many diapers should we buy if we wish to fully cloth diaper a bb?

Aspaille I love black bean soup and it's very good to qing1 xue3, clear our blood of toxics.
Aspialle, I'm sure your hb will miss your cookings. last night my hb just say now I cant cook to feed him till bai2 bai2 pang4 pang4. It's good to be honest with them abt your preg in the cover letter.
Janice, you so poor thing. I quit my previous job also because they need me to be seconded overseas, and that time I'm abt to get married, so i can't imagine staying apart from my hb straight after getting married. So gotta sacrifice career, but i think it's all worthwhile. Why didn't you go overseas with your hb? So difficult to stay apart leh.
Selina, do share the tips you learn here. Thank you.

I may go down to Motherhood to buy the bumwear tonite. For those who need me to buy for you, please send your contacts to my email at [email protected]. I'll give you my hp no. then. But if Pam say there's limited edition design there, then it may be good if you ladies can go down to choose yourself and also see the demo...

Aspialle,
he repeats the words EVERYDAY? Haha...must b REALLY REALLY REALLY from the bottom of his heart! If for me, say 1 time enough to melt my heart liao. Say everyday? AIYO...... VAPOURISED LOR!

My hubby works there, so long term there lor..Of cos miss him lah, but wat to do? Just rented out 2 rooms, so now not alone liao. But when i was staying alone, also not scared lah. Cos BB with me mah

Selina,
Mayb u didn't drink enough water lah. So envy, can sleep all the way to morning! For me, not only keep going toilet, but also keep dreaming.

Selina, I think it just vsries from person to person and from preg to preg. In my last preg I wake up every night to pee, but in this preg I only wake up in the 1st 2mths. Now not anymore.

Oh I read somewhere for MTBs who has to wake up very often at night to moderate your fluid intake after 4pm. That is drink more water in the day and take it easy after 4pm then you won't have to wake up so often.

Aspialla, wow! Already very peifu! Your hb really xin fu, can also share the ingredients? My hb's a frequent traveller too, every few weeks has to go
luckily his last trip will be in July and he has arrange to send his back up team to travel starting from Aug till I deliver

Wtan, congrats to your gf

Selina, oops on delifrance.

Pamela, TQ for the info.

Janice, er..not so soon for the too many tiolet trips in 2nd tri lei...maybe u try cut down on drinks at night. I need abt 3 times tiolet trip per night but the problem is can't sleep after that

Coral,
of cos it's tough lor. I used to cry everyday when he first went there to work. Everyday i rather go to work, no need to think so much. I wanted to quit my job to join him but he scared that if he quits one day, both of us will be jobless. Ai.. All my friends say I'm tough, but deep down inside I'm not lor.

Going to gynae always go alone, except once when he was back. Other ppl always have their hubbies with them to see gynae.
kao_sad2.gif
When bb kicks, hubby also there. So envy u gals, u know?

Hi hi coral..
I think u shd speak to ur boss on this..he shd not have ask u being a contract staff to fly lor..clarify with him & let him know ur stand..ya, at most, u quit again lor..hey, u wanna go down to Expo ahh..i might want to go over to check it out as well leh on bumwear..do u want me meet me?i will be alone as hubby will be at suntec for event..how?

Hi hi Pam..
<font color="ff0000">Congrats to u in having a PRINCESS</font>..whens ur EDD?in Oct as well?care to provide ur details so that I can help to up the chart?thks for sharing with us abt the bumwear cloth diapers as well as the availability now in the Motherhood exhibition..is it more affordable to get them from the Motherhood exhibition?wow..u got package E ahh..i was thinking of sharing package E with the rest lor..haha..

Hi hi Selina..
I understand ur concern..haha..so u have not decided who will be helping u to look aft Caleb la..but got plan anything on this yet?oh, ur mum is a property agent ahh..then she must be very busy leh..dun think u have something wrong lah, I dun find it weird not to wake up &amp; pee in the night lor..i think diff pple have diff way of releasing ba..hehe..