(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

wendy,
apparently there r 3 types of bacteria in different shapes n forms n the most serious ones can travel up all the way to our bladder. another type like got hooks will cling on so very hard to eliminate one.

Discharge
=========
it is normal to have more whitish discharge now but if it becomes itchy n unbearable plse seek doc's treatment. i had it b4 n i know it is no fun. went on treatment for more than 2 weeks. everyday insert medication n consume medication. some bacteria can even pass on to your spouse so be careful. also, read somewhere that the infection can cause blindness in bb if not treated n when we go thru normal delivery.

Minibu,
I had urine infection too b4 n i know how unbearable n serious it can get.

Hi wtan,
no prob...its sharing session here...i got lotsa info from these mtb posts...just remember to drink lotsa water to clear system...eating yogurt also helps for infection too..

Hi jasmine,
really had bad scare that time cause 2 times din pass the test but i din do the sample test which u mentioned, only the urine lab test...

ilovemybabyg,
ya, agree that water helps alot...drink drink drink....

babygrace,
i understand u looking for non-maternity clothes. think u may wanna check out Giordano. they have new ladies range. just bought a 2-piece top there quite comfy n can prob last me quite long. it's like cap's sleeves v-neck tie back, with accompanying matching spagetthi strap top.

minibu,
me too. i was nervous when the nurse phone me n she didnt mension clearly. i hav to wait 2 weeks till my gynae's appt. i did tat thest coz gynae scare there's infection in private part and will affect when normal delivery. but the result seem ok. i will check with gynae on next appt whether i did to do another urine test or not.

jasmine,
not thru test initally. cant control blabber at first keep running to toilet but many times nothing to release. then also pain when pass urine. so went to see doc n he took samples to do lab test n confirm infection.

remember, urine infection n vaginal infection r 2 separate things hor...

hi hi Jasmine..
ya, when i call up dr koh's clinic & spoke to kelly..she also told me that if needed to do a test, will be something like pap-smear test, got to take some samples out to send to lab for further testing..but she assured me that it's ok one..as long as no itch will be ok..coz if itch, just infection worse..something like that..but she say, dun have to specially come down to see dr koh lor..

hi selina,
now wendy mentioned, i think tat test i did is pap-smear test. me blur blur coz gynae didnt mentioned what test is tat.
surelly will check with gynae coz now urine test not ok, but then the pap-smear test ok. now jz hav to solve the urine test problem.

hi wendy,
yeah.... tat time dr koh oso didnt ask me go there to see him and come only on the appt date. but he did mention tat every women do hav discharge n preg women will hav more unless the discharge will cause itcy and smelly lo.

Hi selina,
ya, urine infection is bad...had it once during teenage yrs, got so bad, scratch till bleed...aiyo, i so scare...

but this time have to think for bb inside, wont want anything to happen....*sigh*...kana scolding from hb for not drinking enough water to clear system...

ladies, dun confuse hor. following is the differences between vaginal & urine infection.

<font color="0000ff">Vaginal Infection
==================
Vaginal infection is when u see yellowish smelly discharge that causes itch. there are apparently 3 types of bacteria that causes vaginal infection n some cld b pass on via sexual intercourse. so even if u are cured, if it is passed on to your spouse n spouse not cleared, it will b passed back to you... so it will go on and on and on... my hb had to undergo treatment too...

My sis also had it for a damn long time. The infection cant seem to go off totally for years, i think. then when i had it n went under intense treatment, she went to see my doc n had to spend close to $1,000 for the first visit cos my doc says her infection is like "qian1 nian1 lao1 yao1" so need a lot of inserts n oral medication to clear. then have to see doc every wk to review.</font>

<font color="119911">Urine Infection
===============
tis is when bladder becomes uncontrollable. always an urge to go pee but nothing to pee and will experience pain when peeing.</font>

Wah.. now hearing so much info abt infection... damn worried leh... me itch leh.. but not exactly at that area lah... just ard it... day time not itch but night very itchy lor... last time also like that, buy gynae say is becoz of skin dry leh, told me to put moisturiser can liao.. so now i everynite after bathe, put... felt better... hopefully is not infection again... *shiver*

Hi Bunny,
I had vaginal infection before preg too. Ya, doc also inserted a big white tablet into my vagina. She said it's very common among women because of hot weather and using menstrual pads.

U find Dr Ang not very detailed? I'm not sure.. cause this is my 1st pregnancy and he's my first gynae so cannot make comparison. But my friend's sis and cousin's wife also went to him and said he's very good. That's y I went to him.

Think Jenny's 1st pregnancy also went to Dr Ang. Now she's having #2. Mayb u can check out with her ba.

My hubby went with me once to see Dr Ang and seems that he dun really like the way the place operates leh. He said like chasing sheeps (ermm hope u know what i mean).

vivian,
i think yours might not have to worry since i the itch goes off after u apply moisturiser. if it is really vaginal infection, nothing can soothe the itch one. n itchy must scratch type. can b very embarrassing when itch at wrong time lor. dunno where to hide to scratch man...

i bought the Vagisil from Guardian when I had the infection but didn't work. That's y went to see GP and the tablet was really amazing. Just 1 day after seeing GP can really FEEL the difference!

I heard cannot use powder to absorb excess sweat around the groin area. But not sure y leh. seems not good for health.

hi hi jasmine..
oh, that time u did a pap smear ahh..icic..ya, i think i will hightlight to Dr Koh at my next visit ba..haha..ask him to help me check, even got to do whatever the tests is also got to clear my mind on this lor..it's better to take note even thou it cld be common for preggy women to have such discharge lor..i think as long as it's not that itchy shd be ok..thks..thks..

hi hi Vivian..
since ur gynae mentioned that urs cld be due to dry skin, then shd be ok ba..u just monitor the situation &amp; inform him on ur next appt ba..

hi hi janice..
are u refering to UTI?as in u will get "bean-curb" like discharge?i think if u have that..will have to insert the white tablet into the vagina, right?

hi wendy,
i think so. coz he didnt mentioned n jz said a test. but then hor, if u wanna do pap smear test, must prepare for it coz very pain when he try to take out the sample lol.

Ilovemybaby, I experience lots of tummy cramps too. but mine not as sever as yours. Mine happen when I take strong deep breath or yawn. Very shocking cramp everytime. But once I stop yawning, it's ok.

Hi Janice,
I bought Vagisil last time too... apply to stop the itch but also no use...then my gynae told me not to apply that as it might make it worse. But she din tell me why. maybe next time i ask her again...

Hi wtan,
hopefully lor... mine is on, off, on, off one... this time dun know is infection or just skin dry...sian..
And I insert the white pill before too.. disgusting leh... one time enuff ah... like putting soap in there like that... ee....

Hi Jasmine,
When I did my pap smear, not pain at all leh... before I know it, my gynae say done liao... very fast... I have been doing pap smear every year after I got married... so far no pain... maybe once a bit uncomfortable only coz my muscle tenses up. Maybe you too tense or gynae too "rough"... I heard some doctor too rough hor will cost minor bleeding when he take the pap smear so be careful...

Agree with Vivian, some doc can be gentle an dthe pap smear will be over without pain just some discomfort of having something down there.

For people with UTI, you'll hv lots of urge to go toilet just to realise there's no urine. And the urine looks milky, sometimes with trace of blood. And of course smelly too.

Hi Vivian,
not sure if the Vagisil is safe to use during pregnancy?? But I find it's no use last time lor. Waste of $.

Selina,

Ya lor, another girl to the family. my hb was quite disappointed cos he was hoping for a boy. but im ok wif it. my dad say, nvm lah, can try again but hb say got to see how's our financial status then decide. he always say its easy to hv a child but tough to bring up a child... i agree wif him lor. u'll feel the heavy load when they start schooling.

lucky my in-laws side r nuetral cos my tis #2 is thier #9 grandchild and they hv 4 grandsons liao.

Janice,

does Dr Ang measure ur bb on every visit? i was wif Dr Ang for my 1st pregnancy oso, we tot he was good and detail so went back to him lor. however, both my hb n myself feel he's not as detailed as the last time. we tot mayb tis is our 2nd time so he tink we mus be experience liao, no need to tell us so detail liao... but we still need to know if our bb is growing and developing well. if he din take measurements and bb's weight, hw to monitor? Jenny, do u feel the same too? mayb i shld ask him for more detail on my bb during my nex appt ba.

hi hi jasmine..
ahh..i duno if i need to do pap smear leh..i think the last i did was few yrs back..u meant we got to check to do pap smear also ahh..for pregnancy?i think i got to double check with him on this..thks..thks..

hi hi Vivian..
i think u monitor &amp; see how ba..if it gets better aft u apply cream ard it, then shd be ok la..when u see ur gynae?

hi hi janice..
thks for sharing on the info..i think to play safe..better double check with gynae on our next appt..

hi hi Bunny..
dun think so much abt the gender..as long as the baby is growing healthy, i think it's the most impt lor..cheers~

hi vivian/wendy,
i think i better check with gyane wat the test called, if not will confused everyone here. sorry lel....

Hi Bunny,
Dr Ang measures my bb's length on every visit. But the scanning is very fast. Ya, mayb u got to ask him for bb's weight and other details. Probably he has more and more patients now, so unless u ask him, otherwise he dun say lor. That's what my hubby meant by "chasing sheeps".

That time Jenny told me she waited for 3 hours for her turn.

Hi Wendy,
my mum told me that if take too much soya bean milk, tea or "liang" things, the discharge will be more.

Janice, I think what your mum mean is bai2 dai4, which increase with tea an dliang things. Between, soya bean is still not really liang, it's beancurd which is the liang as they add the shi2 gao1 into it.

bunny,
wow! your hb side got so many grandchildren already. my hb side also got 7 liao n eldest already poly 3 year. but all 'wai4 sun1' so tis one in me is the first 'nai4 sun1'.

like wat wendy say, boy or girl oso our baby so long as healthy think we are more than happy lor.

giving birth is relatively ez but nurturing and bringing up is not ez lor... unless we are the type that just give birth n feed dun care abt other things one than ez.

babygrace,
u are most welcomed. hope u find something u like there.

Hi Carol,
Er.. is discharge = bai2 dai4?? Not sure about soya bean milk being liang or not. But now i try to cut down on beancurd and tofu cos of shi2 gao1.

R u eating birdnest? I just bought yesterday and seems ppl around me think that it's a waste of $ on bird's saliva.. Now I dunno whether the $ is well-spent or not. Just want bb to b healthy, smooth skin leh..

coral,
sure spoil one. so u n hb must b firm in your discipline lor. esp. will you will b moving in wif your MIL right...

my sis #1 also like that. everything we are not allowed to do when we were young, now my parents will allow my sis #1 to do it n will say nevermind lah, last time n now different lah... blah blah blah... so my sis warn them in advance, b4 she gave birth that no one is to interfere when they discipline the child next time. so now my mum n dad dun dare to say anything if my BIL cane my nephew or niece. after that than they will run to sayang them but cannot say anything... so funny...

one thing my sis quite good. she allows me n my bro to discipline her children too. so if we see them misbehave, we will take actions lor...

my sis says best to bring child into room to discipline so child wont run to granny or grandpa n the old folks cannot interfere also...

Janice, our discharge now is not bai2 dai4, but those that your mum mention, the discharge that's cause by cool stuff is bai2 dai4. Bai2 dai4 is itchy too.

Selina, ya lor, hb and I worry my gal will be really treated like princess. Both sides love children and since first grandchild sure jia lat for us. We hv to state the rule right at the start. May have to follow your sis's style.

Janice, I belive birdnest really got it's effect. My BIL's grandma who's close to 90 looks 60 cos she eats lots of birdnest, so I think it does help a woman, but whether it's good for bb or not I dunno leh.

As for soya bean milk I try to drink whenever I can cos I think it'll give my gal smooth skin. Cos my mum drink lots of soya bean milk when preg with me, now my gfs all say my skin very smooth. They always ask if I apply moisturiser, but I don't lor. So I think maybe the soya bean help. But I don't drink daily, only whenever I see them when I go out.

Hi Carol,
oh.. i tot discharge and bai2 dai4 is the same..i c.

Now at least i feel better since u said birdnest really has effects. Was starting to feel stupid when ppl around me thinks it's a waste of $ :p Thanks!

I think most elders are like that lah. Mayb xin1 jing4 is different. Heard my colleague used to be very bad-tempered when he was younger. Now become ah gong already, attitude very different. Even the face also become very ci2 xiang2 looking already.

Selina, Wendy,

i agree wif both of u, in fact im not the 1 who is concern abt the gender. my hb was hoping for a boy cos he 1 2 stop at 2. he say 1 girl 1 boy is a perfect match. and we oso tink we shld hv at least a boy irregards to the sequence lor.

Selina,

my mum believe in discipline at early age, she was the 1 who discipline us when we were young n my dad will be the 1 to sayang us aft my mum's scolding. so now, she'll also scold n beat my girl if she misbehave.then my dad as usual will sayang her and end up my mum will scold my dad as well... so funny. i oso don mind my parents as well as my siblings to discipline my girl cos she not scared of me 1... dunno y leh... even if i scold her, she'll still try to make funny faces to make me laugh.

bunny,
understand esp if your plan is to stop at 2. 1 girl 1 boy = hao3.

ur girl is very cute n active. for my sis, my nephew is more gentle in nature whereas my niece is a tyrant at home lor but their fear is my BIL. so at least there is one person they scared. my nephew scared of almost everyone lah. he is the hao3 hao3 xian1 sheng1 type lor.

as usual, my mum will also discipline but more relaxed wif them. but my dad is the sayang one even wif us lor.... quite funny to see them like that now wif their grand children.

Hi Selina,
U dunno huh.. i starting to feel stupid when ppl said eat agar agar also same. y eat bird's saliva. Then when look at the nutritional information on the bottle, even feel more stupid.. :p Haha.. ya lor, must eat happily. If really can "bu" for bb, then it's $ well-spent lah. The salesgirl kept asking me to take 12 bottles. I said no need. Just want to eat for BB's sake during pregnancy only

Oh ya, now must try to drink soya milk whenever possible. Then BB will have Carol's kind of silky smoooooth skin. Hee hee..my kind of skin must go dermabrasion one. Cham.

So strange hor? How come own children not as bao bei as grandchildren? Mayb next time when we old, then we'll know y ba.

coral, oic...wow, we sure need that many!

babygrace, TQ, will take note to also get the smaller bottle. u breast feed for many months? can share BB will start with how many oz of milk for a start and the interval they need the milk?

janice/bunny, fast scanning is good cos' no good to scan at the BB for too long...

Hi Mmummyjoy,
Carol? Our Carol lah. See the msg posted by her at 4.47pm.

My hubby was asking y need to scan so frequent ~ once every 3 weeks. He also worried that the scan is no good for bb. But read articles on web. Seems Ultrascan is not harmful for bb (well..at least no scientific evidence lor). I guess not harmful ba cos gynae also dun have to wear protective clothing when doing scanning. Not like X-ray lor.

janice, oic, it's coral not carol lah, I tot you know coral personally and call her by her real name.

No lah, ultrascan not so harmful but I read from research that it is still best gynae can do it quickly and complete in less than 5mins. U scan every 3 weeks since u preggie?

Hi hi jasmine..
No issues..i think I will also double check with Dr Koh at my next visit..thks..thks..

Hi hi Janice..
Oh, ok..i thot soya bean is ok..in fact, was told to drink more so that baby can have a fair complexion?i think it depends on individuals body ba..everything moderate will do..i think tou fu is ok to intake..but not beancurb bcoz of the shi-gao..

Hi hi Selina..
Wah..then I think ur in-laws will surely dote a lot on Caleb lor..ya, be it boy or girl will also bring us joy lor..seeing them growing up..hehe..its a lifetime investment-cum-achievement lor..hehe..thks for the tips shared by ur sisto bring the child to the room to discipline the child..

Hi hi coral..
Haha..mine also 1st grandchild at my parents &amp; in-laws side..i hope they dun interfere when me disciplining my boy ba..kekeke..

Hi hi Bunny..
I think got to depend on u both ba..like my MIL, she gave birth to 3 daughters &amp; last is my hubby also whereas my mum only gave birth to 2 girls (one of whc is me), it depends on urself ba..dun feel affected lor..as long as the baby is growing healthy, this is a greatest joy ever..

Sorry for MIA so long... very very busy with work. You gals very "hiong" leh, so much postings! I dunno where to start to read.

mummyjoy,
You feel hot at nite cos your body temp is rising lah. Heartburn not like this one. I also very hot, can't sleep at nite.
Scanning not harmful to bb lah. In fact, epidural is harmful to both mother and bb. I just got to know this thr a colleague working in biology lab yesterday. She is doing research on this area. But till now, they only managed to know is harmful, the real results still unknown.

Selina,
I gave the wrong info on the Avent storage bottles. Is not $12.90 for 3. I saw at Seiyu yesterday nite. About 10 to 12 pcs, but the lids need to buy separately. So for long terms, I dun think it is economial. Storage bags are more cheaper.

Bunny,
Scanning won't spoilt the quality of the utrasound pics. I scanned all mine.
No leh, Dr Ang scan and takes measurements and weight for every visit. In fact, he is the one asking me "Any qns for me?" I think many patients asked a lot, but I din ask anything and he starts to get worried hahaha...

Janice,
Dr Ang has lots of patients. I think his "business" is doing bigger and bigger... I waited for him for almost 3 hrs when I had my appt to see him at 3pm during my last visit! Some more the clinic at Sun Plaza is small. Tell your hb dun worry lah, during labour time, he is very gentle one. Just that checkup time may be a bit rough (especially the cervix test!!!).

Wendy,
That strip for urine test is to test for protein and sugar level.

Cloth Diapers vs Diapers
========================
I have never use cloth diapers for my gal, though I got buy 1 pack. Instead, I used the cloth diapers as blanket cos more comfortable and windy. If you gals are considering using cloth diapers, you need at least 4 packs cos one day alone can used up to 20 over pcs, and you need to wash every day. Q a lot of washing to do lor.
Of cos diaper is more ex but more easy. But if bb got nappy rash, best to use cloth diaper.

Discharge
=========
There should not be any smell or color. If there is, check with gynae in case there is infection.