(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

hi hi Selina..
i do agree with u that if u have contributed alot for the wedding preps..surely it will be very memorable lor..hehe..u r already checking out the full-mth celebration liao ahh..me hvnt start yet..just saw one from a friend giving birth this june..haha..i think it's sweet secrets ahh..

wtan,
i did some research during 1st pg last time so still had them wif me lor...

coral,
congrats on bb gal. and i fully agree tt every bb is precious b it gal or guy n we love them just as much. some pple try to b nice n end up giving unwanted comments... i do get that last time n in the beginning it really hurts alot... just pray everyday tt bb now will b save n healthy tt's all. it's GOD's will. if it's a boy its a boy but if it's a girl, so b it. it's our bb right...

Hi hi coral..
**WAVE to uhows ur trip?didnt hear from u ahh..thks..thks..i m very thankful also..but hvnt decided to let my in-laws know abt it yet..haha..i understand what u meant by the Jia-pu on the middle names got to be followed based on the generations to generations..i also believe that choosing a Chinese name is very impt lor..thks for telling abt the Obimin pills not to take with milk..coz it just occur to me that can I take them together last night aft taking it for almost 2 mths?thou I m a little slow lah..but I think now stop shd be ok ba..actually I also find most impt is baby is growing healthy..boy or girl since its our 1st child..surely will dote one..so whens ur next appt ahh?

Hi Wendy, I enjoy my trip very much. Finally get to satisfy my urge to golf. Although hb don't allow me to play much, I'm just glad I had to chance to play two rounds. So very happy lor.
As for the obimin I think it's alrite. But you took Obimin for so long already? My gnae only started me on it after 12wks. And were you asking about folic acid? I think some gynae will tell us to stop after 12wks as the multivit contains folic too. And it's most important to build up folic in our body b4 conception and during the 1st 3 mths so some gynae will just stop it after 3mths. My next appointment on 24 May for detailed scan as well. Same as Wei Kuan. We're going to same hospital, so might bump into her. But guess we won't be able to recognise each other.

I feel like knitting mitten and booty for bb, but wondering if it's too hot to wear knitted stuff in Spore...2nd time mums, any advice?

coral,
me too thinking of knitting something for my bb too now tt i know the gender... will prob do a blanket... other stuff might be too hot for bb...

did a dress for my niece but she scared hot so nv wore b4. did a blanket for a friend's son...

Gemini
Long time no see u here. My dog haven tried durians yet cos we never eat since we bought him. Lucky he's still slim considering what my father feeds...haha
Am trying to fatten him up so that when I cut his hair short nearing my EDD he dun look so skinny...hehehe
My MIL's CHH is very fat though very round she waddles not walk.....hahaha

Janice
Yah lor I always tempted when I look at the bb girls dresses end up I always buy alot for my niece. Than my sis say she keep for me...haha
Hopefully my bb girl so can get to wear.

Wendy, Selina
So envy u both contributed for your wedding preps. The only contribution for my wedding is being there....hahaha
I only did up my ROM my way anyway I dun bother bout the chinese wedding dinner cos my IL paid for everything than want this want that so everything they choose I only went to the place the first time on my wedding dinner....hehe

Selina
So nice u know your bb is boy already. Me still waiting for 3/6 detail scan. Hubby logic since bb so shy should be a girl.....faint

U email me your contact number [email protected] I will msg u or give u a call when I going to orchard.

hi hi coral..
wow..u played golf ahh..cool man!i think not now lah..later ba..me started taking Obimin when i m at my wk 11..i started the package then & got the Obimin pills from gynae..okok, i will take note of that,oh,u gg to have ur detailed scan as Wei Kuan in the same hospital ahh..such a small world..u both can consider putting a rose at ur ear to recognise each other ba..hehehe..hmm..knitting mittens & booty ahh..if u use a cool thread, think shdnt be as bad ba...

hi hi Selina..
wow..i m so impressed!u did a blanket ahh..i think maybe u can consider doing a "wrapper" as in those used to wrap the baby up when bringing baby out?

Coral, Selina
My sis knitted jackets for her own daughter. She going to make one for me too as soon as I confirm the gender....haha
She also got order from my auntie to make one for her granddaughter.
Maybe u can try making jackets since jackets are supposed to be warm.

hi hi doreen..
icic..oh, in-laws paid for the dinner ahh..okok, for us, we paid for everything..so ang-bao all we take back lor..made a big loss but very memorable for me..hehe..esp my special arrangement to my PS location as a token to surprise hubby also..hehe..do hope u can get to knw ur gender by jun..update us again..i hope u get what u wish..cheers~

Gals, pai seh hor... my super long post due to my "MIA" today :p

aspialle,
You mentioned you saw Avent Steriliser at KKH selling $150+? Which model is that? Digital or non-digital one? If you are looking for Avent that non-digital one (pai seh, I forgot the name of it but I'm using this non-digital one), PM or email me cos you dun accept PM. I got good news for you.
Wow wow, Switzerland very beautiful hor! I love Switzerland! I also took lots of pics, and developed till I siao.

Janice,
Yes, Heng is that Yong Heng De Heng lor. Actually my hb loves the chinese character Yong (Yong Gan De Yong). Sekali we named boy boy as Yong Heng. Nia, see how lah. Gender not confirm yet, think so much for wat hahaha... I like the Xuan, thinking to use Xuan for gal but think too many gals with name Xuan le. Thats why my No. 1 no Xuan

I also no idea whats the name for the sarong spring. Explain to staff in Kiddy Palace or those kids shop bah, they will know one.

gemini,
I also heard ppl said before same bday as parent no good. Like xiang ke like that, I dunno how true lah.
I understand You Long Zi and some fengshui shi fu generate a list of names from the pc, then just give to parents to let them chooose from one list. The list seems to repeat for most customers.

Wendy,
Dunno leh, I find "Heng" sounds nice. And I like chinese character easy to write lor. Dun want next time my kids curse me for naming them chinese names which are so hard to write. I used to complain to my mum my chinese name lor :p
For me, I like names that are easy to write in chinese, and names easy to spell, short and sweet. If not, fill up forms, very troublesome leh. My gal dialect name only 5 letters hahaha, English only 6 letter. Her chinese name lucky more easy to write. So little strokes.

Vivian,
Wah liew, lucky yours is Yi Heng. The one I have in mind only 1 letter different nia! I tell you over MSN when have chance.

Selina,
Congrats on having boy boy! Aiyo your boy so Kai Fang hahaha...
Si Ya is not my "idea", is aspialle.
Regarding naming in BC, I dunno if you mind... if you are putting your boy's name as Caleb Lim, some companies hor, die die say surname comes first, so they will auto change to Lim Caleb one. I dunno about other companies, but mine does

So when I registered my gal name, I put as Surname Dialect Name English Name, then followed by Surname Han Yi Pin Yin Name English Name.
Eg. Tan Ah Gal Ann
(Chan Ah Gal Ann)

Coral,
Wah, your excuses for the name win le! Kekeke...
Very sian hor, got to follow the character. I dun like leh. Even if my family has no such traditional hor, I also won't name the siblings with the same character. Err know what I'm saying... I dunno how to explain leh. See, some ppl named No. 1 say Jun Heng, No. 2 will be Jun Shu something like that. Same character lor, I dun like. Like scare outsiders dunno they are siblings like that.
I agreed with you, naming our own child is like giving our blessings to them. I mean is my child, I will want to name my child myself lor.
Ignore those ppl... I think most ppl still praying hard No. 1 is boy, so can chuan zhong jie dai bah? Personally, I prefer No. 1 gal gal. Cos I love gal. 2ndly, gal more closer to parents. 3rdly, gal gal will graduate first cos no need NS hahahaha...
I think knitting booties is ok, but mittens dun want lah... You know why? Cos hor, wait bb will suck the thumb/hand, scare the wool comes off.
My mum knitted blanket, hats for my gal. Now my gal is older, she knitted her dresses and shirt. Reminds me of when I was young, my mum knitted so many dresses for me...

Jenny,
yes, Joshua has a dan ming that is translated from his middle name. he doesn't have a dialect / hanyu pin yin name. So it's Kai3 translated from Kyle.
I agree that with a surname like Tan, the probability of having the same name is very high but in SG, not that many people have dan ming compared to those in China.
We went to Disneyland. It's very small compared to all the other disneylands but it's good enough for a toddler and a pregnant woman. We could go on all the rides except Space Mountain. So you can imagine how mild the rides are.

Selina,
Caleb is a nice name! i also like to translate the christian name to chinese name, that's why my son doesn't hv a dialect name either. see my reply to Jenny above.

Coral,
wah, u still managed to golf at this stage? my club bag is collecting dust since i got pregnant with number 1. Hubby and I are waiting for #2 to grow up and we can form a flight together.

Hi hi Jenny..
Oic..hehe..u must be very anxious to know ur babys gender so that hopefully u can use the Heng..hehe..me very anxious for u also leh..aiyo..hehe..so u decide not to let baby to have English Christian name liao lah?

Hi hi babygrace..
Wow..seems like u have an enjoyable trip ahh..oh, disneyland ahh..ur boy must have really enjoyed himself lor..hehe..so sweet..got capture any shots to share with us?u stayed there or just went over to enjoy the rides for a day?

jenny,
oops... my mistake...
anyway, boy boy will either b LIM CALEB or CALEB LIM. wont b putting any dialect or han yu pin yin lah.

babygrace,
my sis n i both like christian names tt can b translated to chinese name.

<font color="ff6000">hi gals</font>
am back from 1 day's leave

<font color="ff6000">coral</font>
tink its not gd to let bbs wear knitted mittens &amp; booties lei.. scared too hot..also like wat jenny mentioned, scared bb will swallow the yarns when they stuff their hands into their mouths
oh.. just thought of another, with the yarns stuck in the hands.. also makes cleaning difficult i feel..
cotton wld be a better choice wor..
y not knitting something else like a cap or hat or jacket.. which can keep them warm

Names
wah.. start tinking abt names laio ah
well.. will see if can see my bb's gender tonight .. hee..
i've only tot of gal's English name and boy's Chinese name... can't decide on an English name for boy and gal's Chinese name yet

ok .. need to get back to work.. bye

hi hi chihiro..
oh, u seeing gynae tonight ahh..do hope to hear u can confrim baby's gender on ur next posting..hehe..very excited for u leh..so nice to hear that u have started thinking of names..me trying to think of the names now for my Prince..hehe..last night searching thru..either i duno how to pronounce or laugh at my pronounciation..hehe..

babygrace,
My colleagues named their kids with dan ming lor... some more surname Tan lor. So sianz leh, cos the characters hb and I like, all used by them le lor.
The rides at Disneyland very mild ah? Is it crowded? I'm now having second thoughts for the HK trip lor. I think my mum wants to go this HK trip but becos of me, she dun wan to go. How much did you pay for this trip? I'm wondering if the hotel there allows 3 adults and 1 kid in a room? The room there q small wor.

Wendy,
Me not anxious to know the gender leh. Dun ask me why hor.

Selina,
Then next time the chinese teacher will "give" your boy a chinese name.

hi hi Selina..
oh, u went to buy baby rompers ahh..from F.O.S? where's this place ahh? hmm..i think i short-term memory loss..haha..but very gd price thou..hehe..

hi hi Jenny..
hmm..if ur gynae thinks that u r ok to travel..then go ba..but u already got something planned out this mth-end, right? maybe jun holidays ba..oh, u not anxious ahh..duno why leh..i guess i m very easily-excited ba..knowing so many mtbs in this thread will get to know their baby's gender..somehow i also get excited with them lor..hehe..

Wendy,
FOS quite a no. of outlets, the biggest one is at Holland Village. There's one at IMM.

Oh the trip to HK ah, will be in July. Cos my sis will be having attachment there till end July. I dunno lah, I feel HK is not children friendly place lor. The roads there also not very suitable for stroller. I'm not keen for HK actually but I know my mum would like to go.

wtan,
FOS is abbrev for Factory Outlet Store. Got the rompers from IMM outlet. near to mum's place where i staying now lah... not much selection but ok lah anyway i not like buying a lot lor... also baby gap for $5 each not bad lor

Hmm, will probably not knit since I still got to buy the needles and thread and wonder how often I'll knit once bb is out.

Babygrace, i checked with gynae. He said it's ok to carry on with usual exercise if there's no major problem with preg. he said marathorn runners continue to run even when they're preg...

This morning I very kiasu, went to KKH 24hrs clinic for a scan. Cos I felt contraction twice. Once on Sat and once last night, so was worried. As I know we might feel it sometimes towards later part of preg, but never expect it so soon. So went to check to have aasurance. bb was very active and gynae said the contraction probably due to womb rising and since the hormornes cause our ligaments to relax, so I probably feel the pull. Just to share in case anyone has the same experience. Gynae say it's common and nothing to worry about.

jenny, same as you, I told hb, I don't really need all our cildren to have the same character in their names. Although it's nice as it create a sense of identity, I like every child of mine to feel sepcial. I want them to know that daddy and mummy think through their names for them. But too bad, Hb famaily so traditional.

jenny,
yes, disneyland rides all very mild. Joshua loves the dumbo the elephant ride that we went on it 2x. He was very happy to see the disney characters also. Went to hug and kiss mickey, minnie, winnie and tigger. but the weather has started to turn hot. i got sun-burnt at disneyland cos i was wearing spag strap top.
i booked the air tickets and hotel separately cos i used part of my credit card pts to redeem. air tix is about $450 per person incl taxes by Cathay Pacific. Hotel room is expensive, i paid about S$260 per night at the Marco Polo. Yes, they allow triple sharing in a room, just need to pay more. A double sharing room would be $200 per night but i requested to add another bed which in the end i didn't use cos the room is very big by HK standards. There were already 2 double bed in the room. There are cheaper hotels around but because of Joshua, i wanted to go to a hotel that i trust.
HK is really not bb friendly. There's no bb chair in most eating places. At most expensive restaurants hv booster seats.
I find it difficult to bring the stroller on the streets so that stroller was mainly used in shopping mall and disneyland. We used the ergo carrier when Joshua needs to nap.
If your mum wants to go with you, it'll be good cos there's extra help.
Despite all these inconvenience, we don't regret making the trip cos Joshua really enjoyed himself. He's so happy to explore around and is very curious about everything.

wtan,
Disneyland is so small that we could finish all the rides in a day. We didn't stay in the disneyland resort hotel.

jenny,
forgot to add. we went to disneyland on a monday. it was not crowded but the visitors were mainly locals and mainlanders.

Hi Selina, thank you for the offer.Think I'll not knit afterall. I'm one who's sensitive to woolly stuff as i have sensitive nose, so not sure if bb will also react this way. Guess I'll pass time in other ways. Thank you.

Hi hi Jenny..
Oic..hehe..thks for the info on the FOS..hehe..i saw one somewhere..cant remember the location..they have lotsa clothings..hehe..oh, ur sis gg to HKG for her business trip ahh..gd that ur mum want to go along as well..hehe..hmm..u can consider bringing ur girl also..to disneyland like what babygrace did..seems like its fun for kids ahh..how many days will she be gg for the trip?not that I remember theres any public holidays in Jul leh...unless u gg to take care of ur girl urself when ur mums awayhehe..

Hi hi Selina..
Oh, Baby Gap at $5/pcs ahh..very worth leh..take photos &amp; show me leh..hehe..like very cute hor..since u r gg to get hands-me-down..i guess shd be ok to get some rompers u like also..hehe..u make me very tempted to go shopping..hahau gg to knit a hooded blanket for ur Prince ahh..so sweet..i m sure must be very nice &amp; warm lor..

Hi hi coral..
Glad that u r ok..i guess babys growing so u will feel like that ba..hehe..relax..relax..oh, baby is active ahh..hehe..practising kick-boxing ahh..hehe..

Hi hi babygrace..
Gd that u went to Disneyland on a Mon..not much pple also..so its like a free &amp; easy getaway ahh..hehe..any photos to share with us?

Jenny, i tink its non digital one , wat gd news? u go switzerland before? i love interlaken and lucern city most.

hi coral u also choose KK? which ward u intend to go? have u choose the package?

hello ladies, wah all the talk abt the bb's names now. wow!

enjoyed my trip though i din shop much and the food there thoroughly blended well wif me. no vomitting except 4 the nite i ate too full, not coz the fd din agree wif me. din regret making the trip coz it was the best time of my life since pregnancy. hahaha

bbgrace,
so u enjoyed ur trip as well!
guessed the happiest was when u saw how much ur son had on the trip! thats nice!

babygrace,
agreed lor, hotels at HK are ex lor, and the room damn small. I'm asking my HK friends to check if able to get cheaper rate cos her friends are working in hotel industry.
Marco Polo room has 2 double beds? Like that considered q big lor according to HK standards. But not very near to MTR leh. Got to walk... I'm trying to minimise the walking :p
I agreed with a kid, really need to get a good hotel. Personally, I find HK roads quite unstable for stroller, so won't be bringing stroller lor. Will bring Ergo Carrier instead. By the way, how you find the Ergo Carrier?
As expected, Disneyland will be filled with mainlanders lah... **sianz**

Wendy,
My sis is going for sch attachment for 1 1/2 mths. She's still in U... studying hahaha...
I tell you hor, if I dun go HK, my mum won't go. If I go, she will go. So if I decided to go in the end, it will be a family trip. I told my mum I can take leave to take care of my gal, she can go ahead to tour, but she doesn't want lor.
Frankly speaking hor... I dun like HK. But if BKK, I no need to think le, I fly immediately hahaha...

aspialle,
Good news is... I know a place selling cheaper than KKH lah.
Ya, I went Switzerland before. Very nice and beautiful place.

crystallized,
Welcome back! So, managed to buy bb stuff?

jenny,
din buy anything coz not much 4 newborns and some i felt mat'l not v gd 4 babies. however plentiful variety for gals aged 1 yr &amp; abv lor. so i din buy since i cant find unisex stuff tt i liked. Platinium is really huge! went there 2 days in a row but cant shop 4 too long w/o feeling tired.

but overall enjoyed the trip.
thks 4 ur ur tips as well.

hi ladies how much weight hv u all gained? i think i am gg to b a fatty monster soon!

by the way everyone feeling bb's kicks alrdy? me not sure if those r his kicks anot.
but i not v kan cheong yet coz wanna enjoy the peace while i still can. hahaha

hi jenny where is the place??

im looking for reasonable price maternity wear, saw this website, wat do u gals tink? they say can come to ur doorstep let u try leh, anyone wana order together? above $80 is free service charge. the dresses are avg $36 only. v tempted to buy

http://www.maternity-online.com

Hi hi crystallized..
Nice to hear from u..glad that u enjoyed urself..me now not thinking of traveling..already burnt big big hole in my pocket for my 2 trips to Japan within 4mths..hehe..at least u will feel more refresh..oh, as for gaining weight..i think I better not scare u all lah..haha..anyway, I think its ok to put on weight during the pregnancy period..y u dun want to feel babys kicks now?hehe..very amazing &amp; touched one..hehe..

Hi hi jenny..
Whats a Ergo Carrier?oh,ur sis schooling ahh..i guess its nice to go HKG in Jul ba also can enjoy the shopping &amp; makan sessions..hehe...mum also want u to go ahh..then u bring her along ba..since its quite hard for u to travel as a family..i m sure she will also enjoy the trip lor..maybe u can find this trip fruitful as well..

Hi Doreen,

Pls take note, dogs same as humans, will feel warm after eating durians. Mine will try to sneak into my room (i on the air-con) to sleep after taking...

Hi wendy,

I did not get another dog. Too much heartache if the dog passes away again.

Hi crystallized,

So far, from the monthly check up, I'm have only put on 1.4kg. I will be 19wks tmr.
So far, I have not feel the bb's kick yet, not sure whether is it I'm not sensetive/alert enough.

Hi coral,

This am, after I have woke up, my private parts (near the anus area), esp on the left side, having cramps. It's quite bad, still feeling it till now when I walk. But when I sit down, it's ok. I walking even slower than before...

Hi aspialle,

Have taken a look at the website. The prices are quite reasonable (glance thro' the tops only). Will consider to buy or not.

aspialle,
me oso running out of clothes to wear. quite frustrating each morning i gotta stare and wonder wat to cover myself.
gotta go get my pocket burnt this wkend liao, need to get more clothes.

will go &amp; browse the link u shared. thks.

wendy,
aft this trip, no more travelling at least till nxt yr. did some sums and think will need at least $1K for bb stuff and breasts pumps etc. better tighten our belts if we can.

oh like i say lor, def will feel the kicks later as we progress. now i am not v kan cheong abt it yet. but i do feel fluttering light kicks at times tt occurs out of nowhere at lower abdomen. am assuming they r his kicks.
i noe its v touching.

oh i noe u gained quite a lot of weight in the early stages. now i am joining u liao!

gemini,
i am not afraid of weight gain but SUDDEN weight gain. even if its to make up for those tt i lost earlier, my weight gain now more than compensates lor.
at this rate i am gg, i not only need to chg my wardrobe fast, my bras oso need to chg like clothes man!

Hi Gemini, is it like aching pain during menses? Sometimes it's due to our womb /uterus expanding so the ache. Sometimes, our muscles just tend to be more relaxed due to pregnancy hormones so the ahce. i experience it sometimes too. But they don't last long, so I'm not too bothered. really envy you, only put on so little. how you manage ah? I've put on 5kg liao and I'm only 17+wks. Today my freind who hasn't seen me for 3wks say I look really round.

Crystallized, me fatty too.

Hi aspialle, yes, I'll be delivering in kk. Will stay in the single bed ward so hb can stay with us. When you mention package, you mean the delivery package? Is it time to choose already or too early now? If I can find a job will consider buying more maternity wear, if not I thyink my current suuply is enough since I stay at home most of the time.

Jenny, where can we buy the cheaper sterilizer? Hee, must find ways to save more $$.

Ya Wendy, I think my gal will love dancing like me. She's always twisting around. Is your boy active too?

crystallized,
ya lor, Platinum very big hor! Are most shops opened? That time I went, still renovating, only some shops newly opened nia. A lot of gal gal clothings hor! That why I shopped like siao kekeke... Maybe bring your bb along next trip.

aspialle,
PM or email me for the shop.

Wendy,
I'm thinking for family trip when no. 1 turns 1 year old. 2 years later down the road.
Ergo Carrier is a bb carrier lah. Check this out http://www.ergobabycarrier.com/

hi coral, u not working now? i also considering to take single bed, they have classic and premium package, in tat case we will be choosing premium (cos they only allow A1 and B1 ward). u can choose package from 16 weeks onwards

nope, its new but u can sell it back to them, they also sell resale clothes which are cheaper.

coral, aspialle,
Maybe you gals can organise a bulk purchase for the steriliser and see if you can get cheaper price kekeke...
I was told by the shop owner not to reveal price here. So if interested, PM/email me.

Oh by the way, the stuff they sell q cheap. Maybe you gals interested, can poll in and get the bb stuff at cheaper price by ordering in bulk?

gemini,
juz read tt u hv the cramping at the private area. occasionally i hv it too. i thot i was the only one. but i usually dismiss it, and rest 4 a while when it happens. it does go away.

hi jenny wats ur email? can email me the details of the shop? at [email protected] thanks

gals, btw i ordered online already a few top and dresses frm tat website. They will deliver to home to let u try, if not satified u are not obligated to buy but there is a charge of $8, if u spend more than $80 , there is no other charges then