(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Janice,
Ya, I just saw too. I know why you think is me, cos of the blood clot scene sounds like me right? But I gave birth in Feb 05 lah.

crystallized,
Jenny has more or less covered the list of things to buy. Here are my views on some of the items

COT
I share the same views as jenny on cot vs playpen. i use a cot that can be convertible to toddler bed. my boy has been sleeping in his own in his own room since birth. in the beginning, i slept in his room cos it's easier to bf him at night. but now he's on his own. A cot is easier to train them to sleep on their own which is a good thing when #2 comes along.
i got a playpen which i used to place it in the living room for his naps when he was a newborn. but cleared that to make way for a sarong yaolan cos he could sleep better in it.

DIAPER CREAM
Drapolene is cheap and if it works for your bb, well and good. But good to standby a tube of desitin. Bf bb tend to poo a lot so my boy had diaper rash very easily and desitin is really good.

Wet wipes
Pigeon ones are good. but for newborn which skin is still very sensitive, my CL preferred to use that cotton pad that we use for facial and wet it with water. it's more gentle on the skin and more economical as well.

DIAPERS
if you are looking for a cheaper alternative cos bf bb poo a lot, can consider fitti for day use. my bb was very small and even newborn size is still too big for him. Fitti newborn cutting is smaller.

Enjoy your trip to BKK! maybe we may see each other at the airport tmrw!

i better go continue with packing.

Jenny,
Oh.. so your 2nd bb and 1st bb's age gap is quite near hor?

My boss told me must be in rapid succession cos tend to be more "fertile". My period always not accurate one, so very difficult to time ovulation. Hmm.. Just Do It ba..

My friend sent me an article which some scientists did a study on the best interval for having babies . I'll go and dig out the article from office and post on monday to share with everybody ba.

Babygrace,
Thanks for your suggestions. U know? Those of us who are 1st time mummies will be diligently taking down the notes that u and Jenny put up. Thanks hor! Enjoy your trip!

Crystallized,
Enjoy your trip too! So Envy....

hi hi jenny..
also true..if considering the electric pumps..then got to buy it i think 1-2 days b4 we are starting to use it for the warranty period lor..okok, thks for telling us..thks!

hi hi babygrace..
thks for sharing ur views..really gd to get some tips as well..thks!

The government is TOO MUCH, 5% GST is already a lot, now by giving us the Progress package, the GST is going up and up. Like that how to have more babies. for me, 1 is enough already cos too many bills, wedding worried abt the bills, now baby worried abt bills too. Still have to plan buying insurance for baby when born.... the bills is endless

hi wei kuan,
yeah...totally agreed. b4 baby born already spend, then wait baby is born, grow up....so many many things to expense. baby bonus oso not unuf lal.

Janice,
My gal will be 20 mths when 2nd bb is born. I dun want age gap to be too far, and rather to "xin gu" for another 4 years, then I'm free, you know.

Voting
I've not vote yet haha... wait for another hr or so, then go to vote. Weather so hot now!

wei kuan,
same same here. hb working till after 8pm due to election too... he's still at the polling station.

govt long long time say gst will go up to max i think 7% or 8% but they will do it gradually so we wont feel the pinch too much... guess we just have to get used to it... initially sure complain but as singaporeans we are, we will come to terms with it after a while...

wendy,
how was your check up yesterday?

Voting
=====
couldnt sleep this morning so work up early go peep at hb at polling station... long queue at 8am man... then decided to go for breakfast n shop for some basic grocery... came back ard 9+ n the queue was gone so very fast....

bb kick
=====
ladies, have been feeling some moving inside my tummy today. very slight movement like something rolling inside. definitely not gas... but not at the side of the tummy but on the top... besides bb kicking or moving n gas watelse can contribute to such a feeling?

monitoring it n very often but i thought bb shld b happily sleeping right now??????

Wendy
I think my dog dun like durian I also never let him try before hubby let him smell finger after eating he jus smell never lick...haha
Buy for his birthday is jus an excuse for me to eat durain lah cos at most only feed my dog a bit of cake only...hehe

Crystallized
U r not the first with stretch marks. Me also kanna liao. But mine is more at the side of my waist. I thought I lie on my side whole day until I bruise but confirm with my gynea is stretchmark...

WHen I apply cream I only apply tummy area who knows come out at the side....haha
But I sure cannot escape one cos I also have marks from before.
BTW happy shopping!!!

Aspialle
Yah me also very bored at home like you...haha
Where do U stay?? I stay bishan. And becos of my excessive weight gain am considering going for yoga class to get my lazy butt off the bed....hehe
U interested to go?? Than can go together....hehe

I did the chest xray when I was bout 3 wks preggy so when I realised I might be preggy at 5 wks I very worried. But my gynea told me bb not affected cos at that time still traveling to my womb to attach so not affected. She also say chest xray not that bad. But I still a bit worried lor. But seems like bb till now still okie lah. Imagine I tried 2 1/2 yrs for this bb and when I least expected.

Went for my checkup yest 15w5d bb from head to butt 9.9cm. Gynea tried to see sex but she say blocked by umbilical cord. Than she tried again bb use legs to block....sigh
Got to wait for my detail scan next mth liao.

Hi Selina
I'm very lazy to apply creams so the most I do is just put on my hand and apply around tummy area....hehe
Yah my gynea also told me the same thing must apply all over...haha
But guess I already know my stretch marks cannot be avoided since I have them since young so a bit bochap....hehe
Think I need to be a bit more hardworking in applying now.

hi selina
so sweet to hear that ur BB kicking u hehehe

hi doreen
finally find someone like me...wow u live in bishan, i live in boon lay...
im tinking to sign up anatenal courses at KKH...
u hw many weeks? i haven know the gender of BB yet ....

aspialle,
i dunno if it is really bb kicking... i hope it is otherwise dunno y got the sensation... but if it is, then my bb very strange cos only kicks on sat...

doreen,
i also lazy... most of the times, i only apply once a day, only recently, i felt sometimes my belly like so tight until wanna burst, then i remembered must apply the cream... i try to be hardworking but still....

selina,
me too, the feeling of kicking also from the top, i am not too sure if it was really baby kicking, but i am sure it is not gas.

hi selina, hw cum only on sat....weekdays u too stressed hah....these two days i keep on having fainting spells and breathlessness.Anytime when im outside may faint...haiz

Morning ladies...

Wah...so many posts...

Shopping
========
Me recce ard too... mostly on baby cots... Oh btw, GSS dates are officially out... from 26 May till 23 July. http://www.greatsingaporesale.com.sg/
3 more weeks and we can start shopping for cheaper stuff... I am "lun-ing" for GSS lor... need to buy some more maternity pants and tops too... enduring... hee...

Doreen
======
Glad to know that your checkup is ok and bb is fine.. dun worry... bb now shy... next time sure show mummie one...
I also wanted to try yoga leh.. but i live in Punggol. Had just borrow a few books on yoga for preggie... but will ask gynae this thurs whether i can start or not... think will do just simple yoya stretching and breathing techniques at home since no one there to supervise me... If you found any yoga classes nearby, let me know okie??

Aspialle
========
You having fainting spells? better take care... checked your BP already? I heard from my friends that mtbs might have "ping zue"... which will cause fainting spells... dun play play leh... take care of yourself okie??

Selina
======
Happie to hear that you feeling bb's kicks... if you are sure that it is not gas, then you can assume is bb lor... hee... anyway, keep monitoring... if it happens again and again, then should be bb liao... hee...

Jenny
=====
wah.. thanks for all your advices and the list... I never thot of the warranty issue also leh... thanks a lot...

Question
========
Anyone used a microwavable bottle sterliser instead of the electronic ones?? my SIL bought 2 electronic ones and all spolit very fast leh... my hb think of buying the microwave one... cheaper and quite easy to use... but dun know microwave good for bb or not leh... ADVICE anyone???

<font color="119911">October 06 Mother-to-be
kao_welcome2.gif
details updated on 8 May 2006</font>

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2"><font color="ff6000">NICK</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><font color="ff6000">EDD</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><font color="ff6000">MTBs AGE</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><font color="ff6000">GYNAE</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><font color="ff6000">HOSPITAL</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><font color="ff6000">CURRENT PREGNANCY STATUS / # WEEKS</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><font color="ff6000">Gender</font></font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">edksd</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">28 Sep</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr Yvonne Chan</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TMC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">shirlin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">28 Sep</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">25</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">ESH</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">#1 / 17wk</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><font color="0000ff">PRINCE</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Vivian </font></TD><TD><font size="-2">30 Sep</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">28</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr Chen Chern Yi</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mt Alvernia</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"># 1 / 18wks</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><font color="0000ff">PRINCE</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Vicky</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">2nd</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr Yvonne Chan</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TMC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Babybenmen</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">2nd-4th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">24</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr Han How Chuan</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">KKH</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"># 1 / 18wk+</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><font color="0000ff">PRINCE</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">yoyo</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">3rd</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">33</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr Woodworth</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TMC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"># 1 / 18wks</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><font color="0000ff">PRINCE</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Lee Tung</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">4th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Crystallised</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">4th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr Chan</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TMC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"># 1 / 18+wk</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Gemini</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">6th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">31</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr Ho</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mt Alvernia</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"># 1 / TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">LittleKid</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">7th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">30</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr Judy Wong</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">KKH</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"># 3 / TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Jasmine</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">8th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29+</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr Koh</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Raffles Hospital</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">#1 / 17wk3d</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><font color="0000ff">PRINCE</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">wtan</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">8th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">26</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr Koh</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Raffles Hospital</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"># 1 / 18wk+</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><font color="0000ff">PRINCE</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">misterygal</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">8th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr A.Woodworth</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TMC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"># 1 / 17wk+</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Baby: 229g</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Lena</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">11th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Wei Kuan</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">12th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">28</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr Adelina</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">KKH</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"># 1 / 18wk</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Dee Dee</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">12th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">24</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr Yvonne Soong</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TMC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"># 1 / 15wks</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><font color="ff0000">PRINCESS</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Doggiemummy</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">13th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">30</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr Fong</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mt Alvernia</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"># 1 / 16</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Twins-Baby #1: 170g / Baby #2: 140g</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Coral</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">14th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">30</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr Tony Tan</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">KKH</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"># 1 / 16wk+</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><font color="ff0000">PRINCESS</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Jenny</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">16th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">28</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr Lawrence Ang</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TMC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"># 2 / TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Selina Ang</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">16th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">30</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr Christopher Chen</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Gleneagles</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"># 1 / 16wk+</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">janice</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">16th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">31</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr Lawrence Ang</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TMC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"># 1 / 15wk</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Delphine</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">24</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr A.Woodworth</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mt Alvernia</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">#1 / TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">May</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr L.Ang</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">luckyme</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">3rd_4th week</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Chihiro</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">20th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">31</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr A.Woodworth</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TMC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"># 2 / TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">babygrace</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">23rd</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr HK Ho</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mt Alvernia</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"># 2 / TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">babe76</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">23rd</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Cherrios</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">23rd</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">25</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr Mary Rauff</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">NUH</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"># 1 / TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Freshpoison77</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">25th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr Ho</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mt Alvernia</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"># 1 / 13wk+</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">aspialle</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">25th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">28</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr Chee</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">KKH</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"># 1 / 16wk+</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">smileybaby</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">26th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr Prof Tay</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">SGH</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">jackiejon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">27th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">31</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr Tony Tan</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">KKH</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"># 2 / 13wk+</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Beloved</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">31st</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Maynn</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Chin Chin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Wendy</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Adelynn</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">sidasta</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Evonne</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr Heng</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Carol</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">23</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dr Chua Yang</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mt Alvernia</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></td></tr></table>

<font color="aa00aa">**
new.gif
in the chart: wtan</font>

<font color="ff6000"><font size="-2">Check out Chong Yee &amp; Wendys LOVE story: http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/printfriendly/0,4139,90542,00.html</font></font>

<font color="0000ff">hi hi ladies</font>
<font color="119911">went to see gynae on fri night with mum &amp; hubby..haha..so happy to that baby is growing well..this time round, gynae only measure weight &amp; not the length..baby is 184GRAM now and growing..haha..so sweet..i guess from now onwards will show us weight ba..so happy..then yest went shopping &amp; bought baby 1st pair of shoes..haha..so cute..</font>

Hi hi Jasmine..
Me voted liao for he 1st time with my baby last sat..hehe..we discussed it out as well..hehe..oh ya, I saw ur email..will reply to u shortly..

Hi hi Wei Kuan..
Even thou all need money..but I m sure the joy u received when the babys born is endless also..its a very special gift to us lor..surely it will be worth lah..actually I m glad enough that I had my wedding b4 the GST increase..i wonder those brides getting married the the GST increase..will they be affected horhmm

Hi hi Jenny..
I do agree with u..age gap not too far apart is better..can share more things together as well..hehe..growing up together is fun..

Hi hi Selina..
Hehe..very happy to see baby lor..hehe..went with my mum &amp; also hubby..mum 1st time saw such scans..shes just alittle doubtful that now baby growing can see the gender already..coz pple in her generation dont get to go scanning that often..she even ask me not to go to it that often..coz my package is 3wks once..then she say better 4 wks once, I say cannot, wait I lugi ahh..hehe..i m very sure its babys movement that u r feeling..will feel like light fluttering inside ur tummy lor..haha..u will get to enjoy itat 1st a little ticklish but very nice feeling..

Hi hi Doreen..
Oh, u fed doggy cake ahhdun think its a gd idea..u know doggy cannot eat table food, right? Not gd for health..haha..wow..baby growing well leh..i guess baby must be shy lor..hehe..mine is pretty activemoving ard..so cute..how I wish to be able to hug baby right away..hehe..oh ya, can I have ur details to be updated in the chart as well?

Hi hi Vivian..
Thks for sharing with us that GSS is from 26 May to 23 Jul.thks..i guess really nice to be able to plan for shopping lor..hehe..i m sure it will be worth the wait lor..haha..

Vivian,
I'm using the electonic steriliser (Avent one). I remembered reading somewhere microwave one not very good. I think thats why not popular with mums. Some more hor, I feel not very hygenic using microwave to sterilise the bottles leh. You see ah, you use microwave to reheat/cook food right? The oil and food smell won't stain the microwave meh? If you are not keen using the steriliser, then how about the traditional method? Boil hot water and pour over the milk bottles? Very time consuming and wastage of water, I feel.

Wendy,
Hei hei, finally confirmed gender and announce here le!

<font color="aa00aa">hi hi ladies...
oh ya, i forgot to update...one of the nights last wk, i felt some movements at the lower tummy area...then i ask baby "is that u?" then i felt another light movement..quickly got hubby to place his left hand on my tummy..then ask baby to make a movement..then baby move..haha..hubby was so happy that u kept telling everyone that he felt baby's 1st movement..haha..so cute..last night, also ask hubby to feel..then baby really gave hubby another light kick..so sweet..</font>

<font color="ff6000">jenny</font>
refer to the chart u will know her bb's gender!

<font color="ff6000">wtan</font>
congrats on hving a boy!

Vivian,
Your SIL using wat brand for the steriliser? I've been using mine for 1 year plus liao leh. And I know some friends used theirs more than 3 years.

hi hi wendy,
hehe...finally saw ur posting. wa...congra!!! u r having a prince too. so, both of us having the same EDD and both oso prince. if we sure deliver on the same day, guess dr. koh will b the bz person. yeah...my mom n sis oso ask the same question tat can we do so much scan arr? coz i think they tot the ultrasound scan is a bit sound like x-ray ba? btw, i enjoy the scanning coz can let us know baby is growing healthy ma...

<font color="ff6000">vivian</font>
i've been using my Pigeon Steam sterilizer since my gal was 2mths old.. its still working fine up to now after 16mths of usage.

microwave, er, like not very clean as wat Jenny has mentioned.
otherwise, u might want to consider the traditional boiling method, i felt this is cleaner as compare to microwave way.

had initially wanted to use boiling method, but after i 4got to turn off the stove n i spoilt the only 2 sets of bottles @ mum's pl, and its almost time for her milk, Kiddy Palace not open for business yet, had to rushed home to get extra bottles (luckily i stayed 1 mrt stop away).. thereafter, i zoomed off immediately to get an electric one.. knowing myself.. can be very forgetful :p

hi hi jenny..
i announced liao le..hehe..very happy to be able to confirm 101% on the gender on 5/5..so nice..baby very co-operative also..the gynae also mentioned baby very active..haha..i m very thankful also to baby..haha..baby very cute leh, i thot baby was sucking the thumb lor..coz one of the hands, i think shd be right hand was like raising up but very near to the ears kind of movement..i duno how to explain...leg open big big like that..haha..so funny lor..then i realised i like to sleep with my right hand hide under the pillow..wonder if baby is under my influence..haha..so cute lor..haha..

must be very excited to know abt ur bb's gender hor..
last time i also went to get my gal her first set of clothes after confirming her gender ;)

my nx appt is tis thurs... after a 3wks of long wait.. finally get to see bb again..

hi hi chihiro..
thks...thks..i m very thankful also..haha..very happy that baby is a prince..haha..this time round, got mu mum to hear it live frm the gynae..haha..

hi hi jasmine..
thks..thks..hehe..i m also very thankful..but not decided to tell my in-laws yet..haha..ya...i guess i will see how things goes at nearer to EDD..coz i might consider c-section as well..i guess Dr Koh will advise us nearer the EDD to see if we are ready for natural or c-section..i m ok with both actually..hehe..so might be another date lor..haha..but very happy to be able to see baby growing well..now very looking forward to my next appt on 26/5 morn..haha..

hi hi chihiro..
actually we saw a pair of shoes that hubby wanted to get for baby very early..when we went for the DS scan &amp; was told 80% confirmation on the gender..haha...but i stopped him then..haha..so yest went shopping at Suntec for my maternity clothings..then went to get a pair of shoes with matching cap for boy boy lor..haha..very excited..very happy..also bought a storybook for baby..asking hubby to read to baby in chinese &amp; i read to baby in english..haha..

LOL.. xian(4) chang(3) zhi(2) bo(1)

er, juz wondering how come u wanna consider for c-section ah?
healing process quite painful one leh.
unless got medical reasons, shd opt for natural

26/5 is ur detailed scan?

hi hi jasmine..
oh ya, last night i suddenly got gastric b4 sleeping..it was real bad..Was really thinking if i shd go in to see a doc..coz quite bad &amp; usually i get such painful gastric surely need a jab lor..but hubby let me lie down on the bed &amp; ask baby to help me relived the pain..aft a short while...i really felt better leh...it's very amazing lor..really very thankful to baby lor..

hi hi chihiro..
hmm..what's xian(4) chang(3) zhi(2) bo(1) ahh? me trying to figure it out leh..haha..i will see how it goes nearer to EDD coz i might get my fengshui master to pick an auspicious date for the c-section..i m ok witb both options as well..see how it goes nearer the EDD..hehe..oh, i asked gynae..then he gave me the options of either he check for us on next appt..like a normal check or if not, i can choose to go to the hospital for the scan..but need to pay $240+gst if done at raffles hospital..so i guess we will mostly let gynae do it for us at our next appt..he just changed a newer machine which is much clearer..so i guess shd be let him scan for us ba..

wtan
congrats...me more or less knw u are carrying a prince....is the gender what u want...me too hoped i m carrying a prince since princes seems to be more than princess....is good to have the 101%...me oni75% sure, but i already take it as it is 101% already....

why not try normal vaginal birth n see how?

chihiro
how many weeks are u now?

jenny
did dr ang tell u ur gender yet.....dr ang told me 75% is a girl....but more or less i knw the 75% is confirmed...cos gut feeling before he says is girl....

Wendy,
is better to opt for natural if you can delivery naturally. Like wat chihiro said, healing for c-section is longer and more painful. It is considered an op, so more risks are involved.

u mentioned 'live'
so tts 'xian chang zhi bo' lor...

<font color="ff6000">angeline</font>
am in my 16wks now.. will be 17wks tis fri

Angeline,
During my last checkup, Dr Ang got ask if want to know the gender. But he said not very confirm... so my hb said dun want to know first. Hb wanna wait till the next checkup to be more confirmed of the gender. After coming out, I asked hb, why dun wan to know first, even not accurate also never mind. But hb said since can't confirm, then wats the point of knowing first.

Aiya, actually so wat if gynae said 99% confirmed right? Sekali is the other sex when born. You know, scan not 101% accurate one mah.

hi wendy,
oic.....i saw frm the 'thong shu', there is quite a lot good date in oct or end sept (coz is chinese month 8). when dr. koh change his machine? yeah...hav u check with him about te detailed scan? my next appt oso 26/5 (frid)
when tat time i had d bad gastric, i do check with the doc at raffles hospital, he said is bcoz of baby growing and when we had the history of gastric, it's might happen. so, not so worry....

hi hi angeline,
so, when 's ur next appt to hav the 101% of confirmation?

hi hi Angeline..
thks..thks..i m very thankful also..actually i m ok with both gender..haha..as long as baby is healthy then it's more impt..moreever it's our 1st child so we are ok with the gender..actually pretty surprised..bcoz we thot it's a 1/6 chance that we will get a PRINCE..haha..i have another younger sis &amp; my hubby has 3 elder sis &amp; he's the only son..but gynae told us it's a 50/50 chance..haha..congrats to u also..have a princess..hmm..me will see how it goes nearer the EDD ba..

hi hi Jenny..
ya, will keep my options open for natural birth &amp; c-section..till gynae advise when nearer to EDD ba..hehe..

jenny
90% can be considered very accurate rite..tt wat i tot...but u are rite...even 110% correct can turn out wrong....

when ur detailed scan..mine in june...

Hi MTBs,
Here's an article to share with u.

Babies Healthiest When Mothers Wait 18 to 59 Months, Study Says
2006-04-18 12:47 (New York)

By Steven Bodzin
April 18 (Bloomberg) -- A woman who gets pregnant 18 to 59
months after having a baby increases her chance of carrying the
next child to term and gives the infant a higher chance of being
a normal size and weight.
Dr. Agustin Conde-Agudelo, a consultant to the World Health
Organization, led a team of Colombian scientists whose study
showing the effect of ``birth spacing'' on infant health will
appear in the April 19 issue of the Journal of the American
Medical Association.
The authors said they didn't know what caused the difference
in pregnancy success. Some previous studies suggested women who
had children in rapid succession were more likely poor. The
Colombian team controlled for wealth and said that wasn't the
cause. They speculated that nutrients in the mother's body,
especially folate, are depleted by pregnancy and recover slowly.
The researchers took their data from 67 previous studies
conducted on six continents examining more than 11 million
pregnancies.
They aimed to control for what they called ``confounding
factors'' that could make a study less useful. Those factors
included the mother's age, wealth, access to prenatal care and
whether she breastfed.
When the scientists plotted data from the millions of
births, they found what they called a ``J-shaped relationship.''
The worst outcomes were those for pregnancies that began
immediately after a live birth.
A pregnancy that begins less than six months after the woman
gives birth has a 77 percent higher chance of leading to a
preterm birth and a 39 percent higher chance that the child will
be unusually small. The chance of low birth weight is doubled.
Up to 18 months between pregnancies, each month less
increases the chance of premature birth by 3.3 percent, the study
said.
Babies conceived more than five years after the previous
pregnancy have outcomes similar to a first child, the authors
wrote.
Conde-Agudelo wrote that the data were less clear for fetal
and early neonatal death. Based on the limited data, it appeared
that an interval of less than 6 months or more than 50 months
after a previous birth decreased the child's chance of survival.

jasmine
i wun have the 101% confirmation...cos to my gynae, all is oni 90% confimred oni.... but i guess my detailed scan will be the 101% confirmed...this is my first time doing detailed scan...din do for my first child...

Angeline,
Have not booked for my detailed scan yet. But I calculated, it should be on the last week of May/Early week of Jun. I see how, cos I intend to bring my gal for her MMR jab tat week also.

My next checkup is next Mon PM.