(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

wow...the thread runs so fast...

hi hi crystallized..
my hubby shld be back by then ba....haiz i also bought annmum...got free magazine

hi jenny
is it oh....too bad confirmed cannot go liao hahaha wow u got detailed list leh...can print out to go through it, thanks !!

Jenny darling!
kao_kiss.gif

thks 4 the comprehensive list leh! i will bring to BKK tmrw and see wat i can get over there. die liao, dunno how many lugguges i am gg to come back wif.

yah will search and recce ard 1st b4 buyg. how much did u spent 4 tt cot cum toddler bed then? i think its v "in" to get such cots nowadays.

Janice,
ur MS better alrdy? mine is better. i tried nasi lemak & laksa and "passed" the test. hehehe
v happy but sad at the same time coz my weight is shooting up suddenly thus my stretchmarks all come out alrdy.

dunno leh. the only time i talk to my bb abt food was when i had to go 4 wedding dinner. i ask him to b gd so i can eat more and he will get the nutrition.
other times i dun bother or simply i dun rem to discuss wif bb! hahahaa

Hi ladies...

Me so tempted to start shopping for bb's stuff too... but hb say too early... so sad...

Anyway, delphine, my bb kicks not painful at this stage... just slight sensation... like a soft knock from inside... maybe if pain is either some stretching inside or cramps... my gynae told me if I feel a bit pain like cramps, just change your position and usually it will go away.
If not, better consult doc... not good to have painful cramps for long period of time...

Take care okie...

ps: ok ladies, me going off for the day.. half day off due to school used for polling tomolo... so enjoy and happie voting...

crystallized

so u start to apply stretch mark cream le?? aiya, also heard diff story, some say can start applying as soon as you know you are pregnant, while others say must wait till 5 months cos will affect bb..

Crystallized,
My MS on and off one. That day when one of the gals (U???) talked about Nasi lemak and mee siam, i quickly went to eat mee siam on the same day. Searched so many places. Finally managed to get it and then threw out all..

Your weight suddenly shot up? How about your tummy? Today i find my tummy suddenly pop out alot leh.

Delphine,
U mean bb will b affected if apply stretch mark cream earlier?? How ah?! I using just normal moisturiser now.

janice/aspialle

hmm... dun koe how true la, heard from some of my friends said that when apply too early, cos bb is still developing so may abstruct its development.. from then, i stop applying liao, only some lotion lor...

vivian,
not buyg them all now. juz compiling a list and buyg slowly. wah buy all at 1 go, v siong one leh!
its said tt we shld avoid buyg bb's stuff on lunar 7th mth. somemore this yr got 2 lunar 7th mths, so if u ladies r pan dang, muz buy all b4 25/07.

delphine,
i so KS lah. applied as early as i was i think 8 wks. then suffered bad allergy due to an ingredient in the stretchmark oil. when i recovered, i juz used baby oil. its safe 4 me to use mah. i juz moisturise my tummy and legs twice a day. aiyah, depends on u lah. 4 me, i noe i am prone to stretchmarks, so i am more hardwkg, but still cannot stop it fr coming. some ladies v gd leh, dun need to do anything oso nothing comes out. its all in the genes lor. sigh, i dun hv such luck.

Janice,
mayb the mee siam dun suit u lah. its ok, can find other comfort fd. 4 me, its unhealthy fast fd! but i am tryg to control wat i eat since i realised i gained weight.
its too fast within a short span, no gd lor.

oh yah i oso realised suddenly tummy popped out, but v ugly bulge as mentioned. no graceful swell leh.

aspialle,
if u used stretchmark cream/oil safe 4 pregnancy, shldnt affect bb lah. generally its to moisturise the areas tt r prone to stretching to minimise the effect. olive oil oso can...

Janice,
BB for the 1st 4 mths won't roll one lah
So not scare of falling down. You use pillows to secure at the edge lor.

delphine,
BB monitor is good if your bb sleeps in the other room. So when bb cries or wat, you can hear from the device.

aspialle,
My list detailed meh? I think I got left out some stuff, but can't recall. I post as and when when I recall them hor.

crystallized,
Hee hee my darling... aiyo you called me darling then I must call you darling also kekeke...
Oh ya hor, just in time for your BKK trip. Try to buy those smaller items lor.
The bb cot I have at home now cost $300++, not sure is $396 or $369 leh. Is a gift from ex-colleagues. I choose the model lah, then they pay and deliver to my house 2 mths b4 I gave birth. I think Kids Paradise got a website. Later I do a search for it.

Vivian,
You can go around bb depts and shops to recce. Then start buying after mid 2nd trimester. Cos that is the period where you are more energetic. 3rd trimester, tummy big and you will feel heavy and tired.

Wei Kuan,
Go thr your motherhood mag. Its in this mag.

Wah, shiok ah... I just had laksa for my lunch!!!

<font color="ff6000">delphine</font>
its like a pair of walkie talkie
place one in bb's cot and one beside ur bed
so when bb cry in the other rm, u will know lor.. bb no need to scream on top of his/her lung before u know he/she is crying

Jenny: thanks for your explaination, at least know one more thing liao

chihiro: thanks thanks... now i know liao.. will see how lah.. cos only weekend go back to my parents house(which i am staying now-punggol) so all rooms occupied.. got to wait till yr 2009 for my own flat.. maybe time being let bb sleep with us ba.. train our own sleeping position so that would not roll over.

crystallized: dun be despair, think it all depend on genes, so look on the brighter side ba.. after see bb, think would be all worth it...

tink shd be ok to apply stretchmark cream so long u know its safe for bb
i started applying when i reached 12wks

<font color="ff6000">vivian</font>
well, can lun for a while more.. wait for GSS then buy lah
now start looking out for bulky items such as cot, playpen, etc, check their price first lor
then GSS quickly go n buy

WOW WOW WOW!!!! So many posting. Hard time catching up with all of you!

Genbaby
Will decide whether to change gynae after I c my sis gynae next Wed.

So fast got stretchmarks liao? U using any anti stretch marks cream?

Punggol Mummies
===============
There are a total of 3 polling stations in Punggol itseld. 2 schools and one MPH (tt's my polling station)

BB Items
========
I prefer playpen cos require less space to store when not in use anymore so will prob not b buying cos will b using hand-me-downs from my sis.

I also no need to buy bb clothes (those to wear at home) cos sis is handing down my nephews &amp; nieces ones. they say bb will grow faster wearing hand-me-downs... old wives tales but no harm...

hb n i looking at ways to cut cost so got hand-me-downs in good condition we will be glad to take. steriliser prob also hand-me-down from friend. only more personal items we will buy or if not required tt urgently, we make a wish lists for friends to buy for bb's full mth celebration. tis way wont receive unnecessary stuff tt bb may nv use or already have...

Selina,
Ya, for clothings, try to get hands down. Cos bb really outgrown very fast. Some hands down condition is so good that they are like new. Frankly speaking, just buy 2 to 3 pcs new ones for outing will do. Anyway bb is not going shopping in the 1st 2 mths.

Suggest you get the wish list out before you deliver. Cos some stuff you already need them once you deliver eg. playpen/cot/bottles, you need these once you deliver mah. For full mth, ask for vouchers/cash, then you can buy yourself the stuff you want.

Stretchmarks Creams
===================
my nurse asked me to apply as soon as u know u r pregnant but i only started after 12 wks cos earlier had bad MS so cannot tahan any form of fragrance.

it depends on what is written on the instructions. some creams can b applied as early as possible. i bought one of these but realised too oil n sticky after applying.

bought another one from my GP downstairs, not bad, light fragrance n think water base so not oily n sticky. but can only apply tis from 16 wks onwards n cannot apply to breast when breastfeeding. so must read instructions carefully.

BB Cot vs Playpen
=======================

I had a hard time to decide which to buy. Finally settle for a bb cot. But is one that can be converted to toddler bed.

Before buying, go to dept stores to take a look and compare before deciding which to buy.

Some concerns are:
1) BB Cot, made of wood, more painful if bb hits against it.
Playpen, cloth made with cotton. Won't be painful when hits against it.
2) BB cot takes up space cos can't fold and keep. Need to dismantle before keeping. Not convenient to push round the house.
Playpen, easy to keep. Save space.
3) BB cot, more stable. Playpen, a bit filmsy.
4) BB cot, easy to train bb for sleeping routine.
Playpen, some ppl let bb plays and sleeps in playpen. Hence, confuse bb's routine. BB may not know is time to sleep when nite falls.
5) Personally, I find bb cot "cleaner" than playpen. Cos can use cloth to clean the cot, change the bedsheet.
Playpen, cannot wash. Can only use damp cloth to wipe. Personally, I feel playpen is cloth made material, so easy to trap dust, dirt, germs. I dun encourage to use hands down playpen.

jenny,
tks for the advice. tt's wat my sis says also. just ask me to buy a couple of new clothes for bb to go shopping.

playpen, bottles, breast pump will buy ourselves b4 deliver... those hand-me-downs will take over b4 deliver also. it's things like stroller, bb sling, rocker/bouncer etc will b in wish list...

hb n i have been looking ard n finding out more on those items we need to buy. my friend says from 5 - 7 mths can slowly start buying cos after 7 mths, tummy too heavy to wanna shop so much liao.

i'll prob start buying in jun ba...

Wei Kuan,
If you are not pantang, still can buy in the 7th mth lah. I got buy last time.

Selina,
I think bouncer needs to use once bb is delivered, for bb to sleep during daytime. Airy mah. Wah, remember to highlight to your friends not to buy milk bottles. Some ppl really buy milk bottles in hamper form lah. Then after the full mth celebration, you will suddenly realised you got lots of milk bottles!
Yes, 6 to 7 mths are the good time to buy stuff.
For me, my wishlist is out b4 I delivered. So I had the stuff ready at home. I received cash/vouchers for my gal's full mth. Not much gifts, heng ah! Cos I got announce, no gifts to colleagues and friends.

Selina,
How abt putting the playpen as a wishlist and get your friends to buy? Playpen, cheaper one can get one at less than $100. Middle range not more than $150. Get it during sales lor. In fact, the normal concern abt playpen is whether it is stable or not, if you are not particular abt the designs/color. I mean it is used for sleeping only mah. Who cares for the design and color lah. Stable more impt, right?

I advise to get new playpen cos you dunno the conditions of the hands down playpen, like how many bbs used b4, whether got urine stain, milk stain or other stains. You know lah, newborns skins are sensitive. No point saving $100+ and get yourself worry abt bb's skin. Is very stress one leh. Cos my gal's skin is sensitive. So I dun use hands down playpen, mattress, anything that is cloth material lor. For hands down clothings, I choose the good conditions one only. I soaked them with the "xia liu" leaves overnite (my mum told me to lor, she said in case the bbs who used these clothings earlier are notti, pantang lah). Scrub each piece, then wash with dettol and detergent twice. Then nearer to EDD date, I wash the clothings again.

Selina,
Understand your concern over bb cot is more bulky. Cos I'm concern with this issue b4 I decided to settle on cot. But no regrets lor. I will advise, if want to get a cot, then get one that can convert to toddler bed. Like that save more $

heyo ladies, the thread just grow so fast that it's hard to catch up! hehe

i started using stretchmark cream from 11 weeks onwards, should be fine bah, my gynae asks me everytime if i am using it faithfully...

As for BB clothes and Cot, i got hand-me-downs too, heehee, quite lucky. but hope to have my own place soon, so baby doesn't have to cramp with us.

All talks' on election now ah, my both sides are walk overs, hong kah and tanjong pagar.

going onto my 17th week, and i can't wait to feel BB's movements..

Hi hi crystallized..
Then start on ur taijiao ba..wow..u so early planning for stuff to buy ahh..like very exciting leh..hehe..shopping seems to be very nice..gd also to plan early..thks for sharing abt buying babys stuff b4 7th mththks!hehe..i guess depends on individual for the v-scan ba..can see baby better also..glad to hear that ur MS is getting better also..wow..u test w/ Nasi Lemak &amp; Laksa ahh..not bad ahh..

Hi hi jenny..
Thks for sharing abt the JL sale..thks..a BIG THANK YOU to u! really appreciate u a lot..thks!do u think its gd timing for us to start the shopping now?

Hi hi Vivian..
So sweet of ur hubby..haha..to think that he will steal ur old ring to find the correct size for u..so sweet.. must be very touched then..oh, u did it ur wedding at Merchant Court ahh..icic..nice place too..the ambience is good..

Hi hi Gemini..
I do agree that parking at Mt E is very ltd &amp; expensive..i thot the car lift was cool..hehe..so whens ur detailed scan gg to be?i m sure baby will be growing..cheers~

Hi hi delphine..
Both hubby &amp; me have planned to get a baby carrier to let baby sleep with us at night on our bedhehe..i guess wait till babys bigger than we will see how it goes ba..oh, u meant now apply stretch mark cream will affect baby meh? That I have not heard of b4 leh..thks for sharing..thks~

Hi hi chihiro..
Thks for ur explanation on the babys monitor..hubby was thinking of buying a 3G phone as well..so that he can see baby when hes at work during the day for the 1st 3 mth..haha..

Jenny,
The mag should be motherhood ba. It's a pregnant woman wearing a light blue maternity top with pants. The mag comes free with Anmum. The article is called either "My angel" or " my little angel". Can't remember liao. Getting forgetful..

Wendy,
Suggest now see see look look while you shop and compare prices. You can start buying when you are 6 to 7 mths preggie. If not, house will be like storeroom for few mths.

Janice,
Motherhood mag? No leh... Motherhood May issue cover is a preggie mum wearing orange bikini, carrying a "naked" bb leh.

jenny,
to b frank, i like the design of cots better than playpens. but hor i plan to let bb sleep on mattress beside my bed when he/she older so thot if tt's the case playpen better.

actually i quite particular abt design...
i dunno like those too many cartoons ones... tt's y hb friend wanna pass some stuff to us, hb must asked me first n c if i mind... to b frank if finances allows, i wld love to buy everything new except for the clothes lor...
somemore 1st child new things better mah... i'm 2nd in the family n always use hand-me-down so hope my bb can have new things for him/herself.

deedee,
me too going onto 17wk. awaiting anxiously to feel bb too...

elections - poor me gotta b stuck at home tmr cos hb got activated to work at polling station. kanna takan as leader so must work fr 6am to 8pm...

durians
=======
all the talks abt durians n i went taka b2 to buy a durian crepe...
my 1st durian attempt after preggie...

Hi hi Jenny..
Okok, thks for the advice..so when we are 6th or 7th mth, shd be ard Jul ba..thks..thks..will check it out..i heard that the GST is gg to be reviewed aft this election is over..hopefully it wont impact us ba..hehe..

Selina,
I'm letting my gal to sleep on mattress too! Wait till she's older, then I converted the cot to bed for her.
For me, I'm not so concerned with design unless is super ugly lah. Me also No. 2, used hands down items. I also want my gal's stuff to be new, dun need to be like me, used hands down. But hor, think of another way, if everything new, next time they grow up become vain also... So mix new and hands down items lor. Of cos hands down items dun be too ugly, too old, out of fashion lah hahaha...

Wah liew, durian talk again. I still haven't get my Emicakes durian puff!!!

Wendy,
GST is going to be reviewed??? Higher??? Aiyo, then you gals better buy the more expensive items first b4 it rises. Small and cheaper item can wait.

hi hi jenny..
ya..actually i heard has been informed to us b4..i think most likely is 6%..so hopefully we are in time to grab the offer b4 the increase comes in ba..hehe..

aspialle,
cant wait to eat my crepe but have to wait till 5pm cos jus took my iron pills... must have at least 2 hrs interval cos dunno crepe got add diary products or not

Jenny,
Wah so clothes wear hand down lor

My storeroom quite full liao lah so if wanna keep the cot got prob leh... but will seriously think abt it n discuss wif hb...

wtan, jenny,
i think annual budget announcement usually in may so after election they might immediately announce the increase... but hopefully the actual increase comes months later lor... otherwise hard to escape...

Jenny,
I go home and confirm the mag. Mayb it's April issue. Tell u tonight hor.

GST up again?? I remembered when gov first announced GST to increase to 5%, newspaper interviewed an uncle who rushed to stock up his supply of toilet paper and other house common items.

wah liew, I still got 2 items to buy leh. One electric breast pumps and infant carseat. I already know what to buy, but I wanna get them nearer to EDD or after delivery.
Can ask them to rise next year or not? HAHAHA...

kao_smile2.gif

hi hi Selina..
ya..i think shd be up to 6% lah..then slowly to 7%..hopefully will give us at least 1mth &amp; not till mth end to accept the changes ba..hehe..

hi hi janice..
wow...u remember ahh..actually i cant remember much..only remember lotsa of pple went to buy eletronic items b4 the GST hike..hehe..hope it wont affect us delivery babies in Oct 06 ba..

hi hi Jenny..
i think most likely u got to buy it b4 the GST liao lah..if u can get gd offer during the GSS or Motherhood exhibition at Expo at end of May..then grab liao ba..

kao_smile2.gif

hi hi janice..
i just thot of it also..wonder if we will be required to pay for GST as well hor..hmm...think got to check it out with the clinic nurse tonight when i m gg down lor..

Wendy,
the most I buy after the GST increase lor. You know why? Warranty period ah. If unlucky, the breast pump motor dun work, and warranty period over, die ah

i haven buy anything yet leh...oh no!!!!
BB clothings, where to buy cheaper? i knw united square a lot of specialty shops selling BB tings but seems v expensive

aspialle,
no need to buy too many clothing 4 bb. sure 2 receive them as gifts for bb full mth. jus a couple 4 outings.

cheaper ones for homw wear mayb can check out some markets etc. or ask ard for hand-me-downs...

okie...i realised there is a shop in KKH selling steraliser at cheaper price, tink ard $150 instead of $163+ at robinson.