(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Vivian,
Actually hubbies are little babies too. You know after birth, we as mothers, tend to give lots of attention to babies and forget about hubbies. They feel hurt but won't say out. So, watch out for this. It is impt for you to be happy, if not, you will be suffering from pre natal blues. You know, I can say my hubby is 101% doing his very best during my confinement, but I almost kena post natal blues. I will cry for nothing during the 3rd and 4th week after birth. Later on, I read and realise that is the period where post natal blues will occur. Lucky I have a very supportive hubby to stand by me.

Wendy,
I know why your mum chases you to go back. She feels not so nice for a married daughter to stay at niang jia for too long. Wait in laws side not happy. She dun want you and your in laws got mo cha (quarrels or unhappinesses). She dun really mean to chase you home lah. Which mother dun want her daughter to be at her side?
I think hor, ask your hubby to tell your fil to smoke at corridor door bah. I mean, he is not going to stop smoking in the house till Oct, but for the next few years cos the grandchild will be staying in the same household until you shift out, right? So better "train" him to smoke at corridor door.

Hi Wendy, from your postings, I know you're a strong and cheerful, so i'm sure you can tide over this period and you'll have a ahppy baby too. So keep smiling gal.

kypf, me too, I also get lots of slaiva and need to spit. I think it's more because I cant swallow so that's why accumulate saliva. I think our ms as abd as each other. I have lots of mood swing and tantrums too. But my hb sort of understand as he read book and attend talk to prepare for fatherhood. So he knew that some women have it easy while some have it difficult. he just say too bad both times it's so bad for me. And sometimes he know he'll just have to leave me alone for a while when I'm in those extermeme mood or he'll have to coax me like a child. Liek last night I throw tantrum again and eh just got to be aptient lor. So if we can get a thrid party or independent source to let them know that not all preg women have it easy, they're more likely to understand and tolerate the changes in us.
Last nite I suddenly felt a flutter inmy tummy, was wondering if it could be bb moving. Cos the book say bb start to move fm 8wks, but most MTBs start to feel only after 16wks (for experienced mums) and 18-20 wks for new MTBs...So looking forward to bb moving around in tummy.
By then Vivian, you'll have bb in you to cheer you on.

Let's all stay happy yah. Cos happy mums mean happy bbs.

Vivian, I also will be very sian soon. My hb will be away for work and that included two weekends and the easter holiday. But I think we need to stay happy so maybe coming into the forum can help cheer us up. You stay positive, k.

Jenny, ya, hope I'm starting to feel bb. It's a really nice experience isn't it? And later can even see bb poping on different side of tummy. hehe, so looking forward to that.

hi hi Jenny..
ya, u have a very valid point..hmm..but it's very hard for FIL to smoke at the corridor area, his mindset is like "this is my house, why must i do whatever u ask me to do, since this is my house, i shall do whatever i like to do" that's why the other time he bought back the statue & displayed it out despite i m preggy..everyone in the family including my MIL all will give in to him despite knowing his request can be unreasonable at times, occasionally, he will get hubby to change the water in the fish tank for him even when hubby want to sleep liao..so when he got such special request, i will indirectly "lock" hubby in the room & he got no choice but to do it himself..if he want, he will want to settle the things immediately..i guess that's his style..that's why i was telling hubby, i dun care even if everyone have been giving in to him...since we are staying together, i feel it's only fair for us to give & take & adopt to get used to each other's living style..if this is also so hard, how will he expect to convince me to let MIL take care of the baby aft my confinement..but of course, i wont do it purposely to be against him..so far for now since last Thurs, he wont be smoking at home when i m ard..i m keeping my finger crossed..but wont let this bother me..thks for the suggestion..thks~

hi hi coral..
thks for the encouragement..i guess i will have to stay happy for bb's sake..no matter what happen ard me, have to be firm at times..smile! very glad to hear that u seems to be able to feel baby's movement..which is very gd for u..i think it can be rather exciting to be able to feel baby's movement for now...heeee...

wtan,
Thanks for your concern. Difficult for me to lie down cos i got a 10kg koala stuck on to me. My boy refuse my new maid even though she's here for 1 week already. I have to hide in the room so that i can get my afternoon nap and he'll cry for me.
Realised that i forgot to answer u previously where Adam Road is. It's along Dunearn / Bukit Timah road.
I went to buy the nasi lemak there today again. Just finished eating. yummy!

kypf,
men can be such insensitive creatures at times. at least your hubby was nice enough to try cook the bak kut teh for you.
What about asking if your parents wanna go visit you in UK now? Then can get them to bring the goodies over and they can help to look after Ethan.

Thanks everyone...
I am feeling much better now...

Last nite, manage to have a short talk with hb.
Told him i am feeling very insecure, esp when he not interested in ML, like dun care, not committed and other things.
He tried to avoid the questions but we did talk a bit on it... He told me he will try harder...

I try not to think too much liao..
Thanks everyone...

vivien and wtan,

Pls make yourself as happy as possible and be more positive cos our mood will affect baby.
When my friend was pregant, she was alwyas angry and moody and now her child is very bad-tempered and cranky, very hard to take care and her second child is always laughing and happy as during her second pregancy, she was very happy.

hi hi babygrace..
i guess it takes time for ur boy to get used to the new maid..since she's only here for one wk..so i guess slowly lah..but i tink if u can, dun carry boyboy so often also..try to rest or sit down more..do hope u will get better..oh, u went to buy the Nasi Lemak again..haha..me have craving for Chicken sandwich from BK today so went to get a meal..seems very guilty aft eating the chicken sandwich...like very fattening leh..aiyo..just went down to get some fruits from the fruits stall..hopefully i will feel better later..heehee..

hi hi Vivian..
very nice to hear that u managed to have a gd talk with HB..at least he knows how u feel now & i think it's gd that u speak up..keep it going..dun think so much..so stay positive & share with us ur joy so that ur joy will be double-up when we all are happy for u & share ur sorrows/burdens so that it wil help to lessen ur burden as well..cheers~

hi hi WeiKuan..
i think i m telling myself to smile more often & also downloaded a few cute photos of some baby's pictures to brighten up my day..heehee..thks for sharing abt ur friend's baby..i guess it is really impt to stay cheerpy during the pregnancy..cheers~

Hihi ladies,

After reading all your post regarding it's not gd to go for jacuzzi... now feel a bit guility liao... hopefully it doesnt bring any harm to my bb.

Ya agree with most of you, stay happy... then your bb will be happy. it really depends a lot on your moods.

Know sometime it's diffcult to control & feel very tempremental, well guess we can listen to soft & slow music to smoothen it...

And since all of us here have been through the first 3 months, should felt that it not easy to be mum with all the aches & pukes.

Let's keep going... think when we see our baby finally coming into this world, we will all feel it's all worthwhile.

Kan Ba Tei all MTBs. we can do it.

hi hi ladies...
sometimes when i was brushing my teeth, will feel a littl MS..but only got water at times..sometimes can control a bit but this morning seems like i puke a yellowish clear liquid out..duno if it's ok..i drank milo last night b4 i slept but dun think the milo will be diluted to be yellowish clear liquid..wonder if anyone has similar experience?

hi wendy,

me too have the same feeling every morning.. dun feel like brushing teeth haha... will at least puke once... yee...

coral,
ya lor when tummy gets bigger, can see one side pops more than the other side kekeke so cute. Then can see bb movement also.

Wendy,
Your fil must think for his future grandchild. Sekali the grandchild mei li is too strong and he really quits smoking!

Vivian,
Glad you are feeling much better. Try talking to hb more often.

Wei Kuan,
Agreed with you! My colleagues also told me the same thing. I was happy and smiling thr out the 1st pregnancy. My gal is a very cheeky and cheerful gal. So cheeky that my mum calls her "gan sin"

delphine,
Since what's done cannot be avoided, but since now you no cannot go jacuzzi, just stay out of it. Actually hor, I got go jacuzzi during my 1st pregnancy and tat time was already 7 mths preggie le. But I only sat inside to soak water. I din go and purposely sat at the force area there.

Hi gals!

Just to share: had my 2nd scan done today. BB is at 3.53cm big and 10 wks 2 days old. Both the gynae and my hubby were speechless when I exclaimed, "Oh! It looks like a turtle!" when I saw the scan. OK. Maybe not a good analogy. It looks more like a little teddy bear.

delphine, I think it's fine since it's a short while and also not heated type. Me worse I was in a hot swirl pool and then in jacuzzi, cos that time I dunno I'm preg. Then when I read about it I felt so bad, but no choice lah.

wendy, the yellowish liquid is gastric juice. It's teh acidic sourish juice right? I do throw out that at times.

hi hi delphine..
but do u get the same yellowish clear liquid if u puke out? or just normal clear salivia?

hi hi Jenny..
haha..i always find smokers are the most selfish pple in the world, they simply dun care if the pple ard them like them smoking a not but just smoke to satisfy their moment of enjoyment..anyway, u do have a point..if he really think of the health of his 1st grandchild..then i m sure he have to make some sacrifice ba..meanwhile, i will also try to avoid staying at home together with him lor..there's once (b4 hubby passed the message to MIL), i know he wants to smoke but bcoz he didnt say anything, so i stayed at the living room & watch the tv prog, then he still pick up the cigarette & smoke in the living room, bcoz i really cant stand the smell & i went to hide in the kitchen toilet..thou the smell isnt nice also lah..but no choice leh..i quickly get hubby to spray some perfume in the living room to defuse the smell..phew..

hi hi cherrios..
haha..u have a very cute description..but thks for sharing the joy..i m sure it's very cute for u to see baby again..heehee..so cute...did u manage to see baby moving legs & hands? so when's ur next appt? will u be taking the NT Scan?

hi hi coral..
oh, it's gastric juice ahh..i thot is it something i ate last night..had a shock of my life this morn..i duno if it's the sourish juice leh..coz i was like "vomitting" them the liquid just came out of my mouth..but i was bathing then so i saw at the floor the yellowish clear liquid..i thot OMG...m i ok? haha..thks ahh..for clarifying my doubts..thks! ya, i must learn from u to smile more often..ur gal is really very smiley & cheerful lor..so cute..heehee...

hi hi Coral/Jenny..
i m truly sorry..i was referring to Jenny's galgal..very smiley & cheerful..pie-say..pie-say..haha..

hi hi delphine..
oic..hmm..that's why sometimes i tried not to brush my teeth too inside the tougue area..so that wont provoke the vomitting to occur..hmm..

hi hi ladies..
are u thinking of applying any stretch mark cream/oil at ur 2nd tri? one of my friend is using one of the stretch mark oil from Clarins..she mentioned has got very nice smell..but i m thinking if i also need to buy anot..coz she also shared with me that not everyone will have stretch marks..is depending on our mother's gene..if our mothers dun have, then the chances of us not having stretch mark is very high..me thinking if i shd buy & apply or wait till the itchyness starts..heehee..**trying to find a way to go shopping** LOL

<font color="ff6000">hi mtbs!</font>
phew.. what a busy morning!

went for my chkup on monday evening, @ 10wks 3D, bb is 3.84cm liao.. can see hands and legs... but they are not waving .. guess bb is sleeping
will be gg for my NT scan @ TMC next thurs.
next appt will be a long wait.. 3wks from now .. sighs...neck long liao..

Hi Wendy,
The clarins cream costs about $74 if i remember correctly. Some ladies mentioned that just olive oil or ordinary mosturiser will do. And ya, also depends on your genes too.

I also feel like vomiting whenever i brush my teeth. My friend had the same problem when she was pregnant too. And she was crazy over potatoes when pregnant with her daughter!

Wendy,
whether will get stretch marks or not depends on our skin moisture. These creams will provide moisture to our skin when apply. But dun think apply few times, the 7 layer of the skin will be moisture so fast. It is zhang nian lei yue thingy. It is up to our skin, whether the water level is high or not, uncontrollable lor, sad to say. As our tummy grows bigger, the skin will expand, hence cause these stretch marks. Putting on weight too fast may cause stretch marks. My massage lady ever mentioned to me most creams dun work. She recommended olive oil cos olive oil can go thr the 7 layers of skin and moisture the skin quite well. But of cos no gurantee hor, cos really up to our genes.

Wendy,
whether will get stretch marks or not depends on our skin moisture. These creams will provide moisture to our skin when apply. But dun think apply few times, the 7 layer of the skin will be moisture so fast. It is zhang nian lei yue thingy. It is up to our skin, whether the water level is high or not, uncontrollable lor, sad to say. As our tummy grows bigger, the skin will expand, hence cause these stretch marks. Putting on weight too fast may cause stretch marks. My massage lady ever mentioned to me most creams dun work. She recommended olive oil cos olive oil can go thr the 7 layers of skin and moisture the skin quite well. But of cos no gurantee hor, cos really up to our genes.

Wendy,

I'm currently using palmer think much more cheaper.... it's my friend recommendation cos she said she brought those very EX 1 but no use... instead she found palmer more useful &amp; cost effective.

Chihiro
Ya it's like that... always feel so eager to see how's bb development. me gotta to wait 15apr

Janice
Me also like your friend loves durian &amp; potatos...
of cos know cannot have too much... durian high in sugar content &amp; potatos high in carbo.

hi hi chihiro..
nice to hear from u..i guess baby must be sleepy..that's why..me also went to see baby last thur but baby's sleeping also..heehee..this time round, gynae didnt asked me to turn ard to wake baby up..haha..me also gg for my NT Scan on 4th Apr (Tue) at Camden..do keep us posted again..i guess since we are gg to see baby for the NT Scan, so i guess still can tahan for another 2 wks to see baby..but aft this NT Scan..really must wait for 3 full wks b4 we get to see baby liao..

hi hi janice..
ya, seems to be quite ex..but seems to be gd..but i duno if i shd get it if i dun have itchyness at the tummy area..oh, so really depend on our genes..hmm..wow..ur friend's daughter must be very strong since she crave for potatoes..heehee..

hi hi Jenny..
sound interesting leh..i didnt know abt this 7 layers of skins to reach the last layer to help keep the skin moisture..hmm..i think i m putting on weight faster than my tummy getting bigger..haha..i asked my mum b4..she told me that she dun have stretch marks at the tummy area when she had us..i guess i will monitor &amp; if itchyness then will go get the oil to apply ba..maybe will go &amp; find out on the olive oil as well..thks for sharing..

hi hi delphine..
hmm..ok, will go &amp; check out the brand also..thks...me also seeing baby on the 15th Apr..so nice..same date..ops..No No No for durians..running away fast...zoom..

Hi wendy,

I have also the same problem. Sometimes puke till the yellow liquid comes out. My friend recommend me to change the toothpaste to kids' toothpaste. But I did not change as nowadays, not so much vomitting already

Wendy,
My mum and aunts all have stretch marks. So do I. My stretch marks just appeared one fine day when I was in 3rd trimester. No itchyness at all! I guess our genes for the skin not that good
But aiya who cares for stretch marks lah, after a while, they turn to greyish or pinkish marks le. Not very obvious lah, I still can wear 2 pcs swimwear kekeke

wendy,
by the way, givenra olive oil is good enough to do the trick. I think is less than $3 per bottle and and last for very long.
I'm using Avent one, left 1 tube from my last pregnancy, so I just use it lor. Anyway its like I remember, then apply, din remember, din apply :p

hi hi Gemini..
oh, so it's common to have the clear yellowish liquid puke out..i was pretty shocked coz it's the 1st time..thks for telling me it's ok..coz i usually can control my MS..if i feel like puking..i just try to hold on to it, then i will feel better..heehee..changing to children's toothpaste will help? hmm..i guess i will monitor &amp; see if it come back again..thks!

hi hi Jenny..
wow..u sexy mummy..wear 2 pcs leh..gd for u..hmm..i guess as long as the itchyness is bearable &amp; also doesnt get worsen shd be ok lah..u meant they will change color..hmm..this is interesting..ok, will go &amp; check out the Avert brand of Olive oil..thks!

<font color="ff6000">kypf</font>
perhaps you can ask your folks to send the bak kut teh sachets to you again.. and along with other stuff u craved to eat .. but of course, it must be able to clear the customs in UK lah.. ;)
meanwhile, u do take rest whenever you can.. i suppose since u are alone there, shd seek help from frens when u really need it.

<font color="ff6000">wtan, vivian</font>
glad u gals are feeling better..
in any case, do try to stay positive n happy ok.. ;)

<font color="0000ff">stretchmark creams</font>
will start applying soon. juz stocked up wat i've used last time as i got discount..

Clarins Oil, incorporate tt for post natal massage, not v.effective on me though..

<font color="0000ff">bb movement</font>
Think I felt it recently. Not very sure abt it yet though.

yeah, heard abt Olive Oil is gd too.. but i don't like the oily feeling after application leh.. tried Boots before, its too oily for my liking.. so am using one from The Natural Source, Stretchmark Removal Serum... quite X though.. $57/tube.. 1 can last me abt 2mths (if I rem correctly!)... so whenever I've got discounts will stock up... just so happened that this is my birthday mth and there's a need, so I stocked up, there after aft disc its abt $39/tube.. :p

in my 1st preg, my stretchmarks came ard 32wks bah.. suddenly discovered them under my tummy.. can only see it using mirror!

but then not so serious type.. now can't even see the stretchmark if u don't look carefully...hee

wendy,

so coincidence maybe by then can see bb move liao.. so excited.. oh my god... so you scare of durian ar... it's soooo nice... hehehe got crave liao..

Jenny,

so envy you can still wear 2 pcs after preggie... when i went for my cruise.. also thick skin wear 2 pcs cos think will be the last time i could wear liao scare after preggie cannot regain back my figure......

Hi Wendy &amp; Delphine,
Though my friend ate alot of potatoes, but her daughter very skinny leh. Very fair though. And didn't turn out to b "gan dang" :p

Mayb can try the Watson's brand Olive oil moisturiser. Only $1.80 for a small tube. If good, den continue lor.

I think Kao Biore has an olive oil eye makeup remover which is non-greasy. But not sure if it has olive oil for body. Will check it out later.

hi hi chihiro..
thks..hmm..r u a member with the Natural Source? i m a Star member at The Body Shop...hmm..maybe will go &amp; check it out to see if they have anything to apply on..heehee..oh, this is ur bday mth, happy bday to u..seems to be a very gd offer if u r getting it this mth..shd go &amp; grab the offer..cheong ahh..u can feel baby's movement ahh..that must be very nice..hmm..i guess 2nd time mum will be able to feel it earlier than 1st time mum..so cute..must be very exciting..i m looking forward to it..

hi hi delphine..
ya, i guess this time round, i will wake baby up..haha..coz my appt is the 1st appt so duno if baby wake up already by then..haha..oh, it's a NO NO for me for durians..aiyo..better run fast..

hi hi janice..
hmm..ur friend's daughter very skinny ahh..hmm..then must eat more rice to be strong i guess..when my mum is carrying my younger sis, she craved only for sweet potato..then when my mum had me, she said i m a typical "fan-tong"..so she felt that i m stronger than my sis..i guess watever we intake does matters..thks for sharing on the Olive oil from Watson..i guess i can slowly check out on the Olive oil...heehee..

Hi Wendy,
My friend has 2 kids but she said no matter how much she feeds them, they just remain skinny. So she said her family genes are all "kum jek" type. Hahaha...

Really ah? Emotions can affect baby's character also? How ah? So shouldn't watch too many sad TV dramas, especially Korean ones. Always make me cry.

<font color="ff6000">wtan</font>
ya, buy stuff until am their member liao.. :p

enjoy ur evening ladies
go home liao.. bye bye!

wtan,

yah i can understd wat a spot our hubbies will b at times. it happened to me as well. but there r certain things tt we can close our eyes and certain things we really cant tolerate. so i juz try my best to endure. but seriously no big issue so far lah. juz occasional bad habits tt i cant see eye-to-eye.

now i oso in a headache abt my confinement period.
guess i am like u, wait till i am approaching it then decide wat to do lah. dun wish to bother myself over such stuff at this moment. juz wanna enjoy my pregnancy.

abt the stretchmark oil, issit the clarins tonic oil? had heard rave reviews lah. while its true i heard tt stretchmarks r hereditary, i think its no harm to moisturise our skin. my skin is drier than b4 pregnancy. and as i had slimmed down previously, alrdy got 2 patches of ugly stretchmarks on my bums liao. so i can predict i wun escape this time round 4 my tummy. however, coz i suffered fr a bad case of essential oil allergy several wks back, now i guai-guai apply the baby oil only. dun dare play play wif any essential oil liao. but am keen to give the clarins one a try leh. how ah?

babygrace,
yah many books recommend swimming hor? nvm lah, we seek other alternatives lor.

kypf,
tt was wat my cousin said! she suffered v badly during her 1st pregnancy tt she said she wun wan another baby. but on the 2nd day aft she delivered her 1st child, she said she 4got abt the suffering and had the 2nd one a yr later. this time she suffered even a longer period. so now she dun dare to try 4 a 3rd one liao.

STRETCHMARK CREAM
I bought the Mustela one for the 1st pregnancy cos read good reviews about it. i like the scent but i didn't use it religiously because i constantly felt very hot during my pregnancy and the tummy also felt itchy. So didn't feel like applying anything. Luckily i didn't get any stretch marks but the shape of my belly button has changed from an "inny" to an "outy" and there are some excess skin around it

But nevermind lah, still can wear 2 pc swimsuit also.

wtan, my hubby did ask me just now is it i want to go back to SG now? so i said yah i think about that all the time but just suppress it lor. but i did warn him that if i get pregnant again this time i will definitely go back SG at least during first trimester so he better think carefully before impregnating me again..

coral, think ur hubby very good and understanding. actually i've learnt to overlook hubby's insensitive remarks already. just that during pregnancy, i'm already feeling like s**t, i'm not really in the mood to swallow my anger and keep quiet just to make someone else happy, that's why throw tantrums, ha ha.

i think sometimes my hubby doesn't want to know if i'm unhappy or feeling uncomfortable. he just wants to think i'm happy all the time. then he'll say things like, don't be unhappy all the time, can't you smile, etc etc. i know he doesn't really mean any harm but i just get riled up because i don't want to put on a fake smile just so you feel good, especially since i feel like s**t!

kypf, hopefully our mood swing will subside once we get into 2nd tri. I think the ms plus the hormones is just getting on our nerves. I get irritated easily. My hb say I'm very unreasonable nowadays but he got no choice lah, if he don't give in or he abit harsh I'll cry like I've been tortured, so he very afraid my tap kena turn on. I hope I'll get less abusive once my ms is gone. I'm very funny, I either keep very quiet or I thorw tantrum. Very unlike my usual self lor. But the ms is really making me crazy. Yesterday afternoon onwards my stomach is so filled with acid. I just keep throwing up sourish juice. ThenI feel stomach and throat burning.

As for stretchmarks, just can pray that we wont have. My mum never applied anything for all 3bbs but not trace at all but hr sister got very ugly marks. My colleagues applied the clarins cream but still lots of brownish marks so I guess it's not something we can control.