(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

wtan,
talking about nasi lemak makes me salivate!
The other saturday after my visit to gynae, i was craving for Adam Road nasi lemak and drove there to ta bao on my own even though i was limping away from the jab that i had. yummy!

Hi MTBs,

Finally can post already! trying to post in office just now but failed.

With regards to food, we can eat all but in moderation loh. At the moment, I can only think of green bean soup, raw pineapple, sotong that we cant eat. Too liang.

1st mth
=======
Wow, you gals really fast, talking of 1st mth celebration already. I think I will think of it in the later stage.

Folic Acid
==========
Currently my gynae did not prescribe any medication to me. But as long as I'm on epiliepsy medication, need to take folic acid.

Yoga
====
Anyone of you planning/doing yoga? I did tell my yoga master and he wanted me to wait till I'm 3 mths then go back and find him. I'm 3 mths today.
But I remember reading one of the MTBs posting that 12 wks not considered 3 mths, 14 wks then considered. So should I wait till 14 wks then?

Wah the mention of durians make me feel like eating it but I get heaty very easily so now still trying not to eat too heaty food.

Jenny
I think I in your group also...haha
Eat ice cream bout 4 times a week.
I also keep drinking cold drinks cos I cannot take water in normal temp. Now craving ribina but I try to mix not so sweet lor. When I drink water I feel very bloated and uncomfortable I keep trying to avoid.

But think my bb is health freak cos I cannot eat instant noodles. Everytime I eat I cannot finish and after a few hr I will vomit. My mum say bb dun like. I am a noodle person but I have started to like eating rice....oh no...my bb is a 'fan tong' hahaha

I didn't know first tri only need to take folic acid. I have a multivit so I continue taking it. But the iron taste made me vomit a few times already. Dunno how to tahan the iron pill for the rest of the mths.

English tea with sugar really helps abit for my MS which does not happen in the mornings but tea is not good right.....so i try not to take

SO envy when I see u all seeing your babies. The last time I see was at week 8 still got to wait another 2 weeks to see my bb.

Jenny, i got you on MSN already. YOu said someone called you "jie jie"? i am SAHM in England, hubby working.

babygrace, my #1 Ethan is 16 months. are u second time mom as well? i'm so apprehensive about having to look after 2 kids. Ethan will be 23 months when baby #2 is out.

everytime i hear about delicious singapore food i want to cry. now it's nasi lemak.. but i've been missing chicken rice, laksa, yong tau foo for the past few weeks.

and also, you guys get to see baby all the time. i haven't even had my scan yet! letter from hospital came yesterday, my first scan is on 13 April...

kypf,
My Joshua is 13mths old
i always marvel how SAHMs overseas with no relatives to help cope with their kid. I remember when i was in France for 1 mth with Joshua when he was 3 mths old, i miss my mum so much. haha!

I'm also a SAHM for the moment. It's not easy now with an active toddler which is probably why i'm still having on-off light spotting from over-exertion. Have waved the white flag and got a maid in this week. That's why i say i admire people like you!
Which part of England are you at? We are 7-8 hrs difference but we probably still can catch each other online. My msn is [email protected]

teddyhope,

my baby opp fr u! hahaha, i cant stand rice now. i love noodles though! used to b a fan tong myself but i think my bb is "mian tong" instead. hahaha

wah u had me craving 4 tea leh! used to love teh alot... now i totally avoid tea... there goes my ten tarik as well. but am thinkg to drink 1/2 cup once i hit 14 wks. hehehe...

kyfp,
will u b coming back to deliver ur baby? or u permanently stayg there alrdy?

i borrowed books to read and its more on how caucasians deal wif pregnancy, somehow i juz feel in local context, some r not applicable.

crystallized,
My mum is ok with the watermelon. She told me last time her colleague ate pineapples every day. My mum even cut the watermelon into small pieces and put into a big bowl for me to eat. I just carry the bowl and eat non stop kekeke...

teddyhope,
If you are taking light tea, then is ok. Dun worry abt tea. Max is 5 cups per day.

kypf,
Aiya... is my naughty gal lah.

babygrace, yeah i really miss my mom too, especially her cooking, ha ha. i think it's been ok without her up until the point i got morning sickness. i can't bring myself to get up to do any housework. so the house is in a mess, Ethan's toys lay around the house for days before i get a burst of energy to put them away, only to have him throw them around the house again. and don't get me started on the toilet and the kitchen..

i am in a tiny town called Stamford, supremely boring with nothing to do and nowhere nice to eat. i've added you on MSN. hope to chat with you soon.

crystallized, don't think i can go back to deliver. husband don't approve :p yeah it's very different here. in SG u can go to hospital anytime here they ask you to wait until your contractions 5 minutes apart cuz they don't have enough manpower to deal with you. and they try to throw you out of hospital as soon as possible to make way for other ppl.. this is hearing from my friends here and also from reading papers. i guess the difference is in SG u pay for the services, here it's "free".

also here ppl can opt for home birth and all that, i don't think that happens in Singapore.

Jenny,

ur mum so nice! still specially packed 4 u ah? hehehe
dun think my mum will ever do tt 4 watermelons. but if i tell her i eat only once a wk, shld b fine rite?

PINEAPPLES! Oh pls stop tempting me... so craving 4 the sweet ones now.... i will b naughtier once i hit 14 wks. kekeke

wats ur definition of light tea? as in those breakfast & earl grey? those r ok? thot got caffeine? anyway till now i stayed away fr tea. there was once when i juz sip 3 times the ILT fr Mac, i had cramps for the whole day. ever since, i dun dare play play wif tea liao, esp ILT. v liang.

kypf,
oh u deliver 4 free there ah? isnt there such things as like here in SG, whereby u can choose pte or govt? but this is ur 2nd baby, u r considered experienced liao, wun b as kan cheong as 1st time mums liao.

yah in caucasian countries, home births v common rite? i wondered issit coz some homes r v far fr city, cant make it in time to the hospitals there? hehehe....

did u give birth to ur 1st child in england?

tdy went 4 my check up. my baby super naughty and not cooperative. tried to scan him 3 times so tt gynae can measure his neck's thickness. wah the moment he noe we r stirring him, he refused to move a sgl bit and refused to shift his current position & made measurements really difficult. we cld see him moving when the probe went in the 1st few seconds. then hor, everything was STILL aft tt. he v clever. no matter how i drummed my tummy and gynae turning me ard, the fellow juz wun budge!
drove us all nuts!

but i was v reassured tt baby is growing well despite my poor appetite and MS.

kypf,
i can totally understand the mess in the house. there were times where i just collapse amongst the heap of toys and books and Joshua will be pulling me hair asking mommy to play with him.
that's why i say mothers are important. when my mum drops by and sees the mess, she'll start cleaning up. haha!
now that the maid is here, my house has not been this clean for a long long time. haha!

craving for local food? how far are u from London? possible to make a weekend trip to Chinatown for dimsum or roast duck? At least some restaurants in London's chinatown serve pretty authentic chinese stuff as compared to some American cities.

wah 5 mins apart contractions then go to hospital. Over here, the moment got show, my gynae already told me to go down for a check.

crystallise, i think there must be private here la, but i dunno where to find and also probably very expensive, can save save lor.. if cost so much may as well go back to SG give birth.. i had Ethan in Singapore, miss my gynae there, i wonder what gynaes in England do since i only get to see midwives.

so good that u get to see baby today. i remember when i had ultrasound with Ethan, he would turn here and there.. funny..

babygrace, thanks for sharing. make me feel less bad. i did try to clear up just now. sat on the floor and vacuumed around me. ha ha.

i do hope to go to London soon and camp out in Chinatown all day eating. not quite the same as Singaporean food but it's the best I've got. just now really craving for Chwee Kway. was about to throw a tantrum and blame my husband for everything.

Wow... I cannot login on friday and suddenly, soooo... many posts ???

Ok, regarding CL, my SIL already booked hers. (She is 3 weeks ahead of me). My MIL was thinking of getting me the same CL but I think a bit too early to decide now... but now, seeing that you all also think now can be the time to book.... now I dun know how to find a good one leh...

Hi wtan, i think you mistaken liao. I am not the one who recommended the 101 book. But I will try go find and take a look too. Me started borrowing a lot of books from library though. Some are very helpful. I only bought the ultimate pregnancy 'bible', What to expect when you are expecting. Very good book... It is organised by mth and I read each chapter one mth in advance... hee... If you dun know this book, you should look out for it. Think it is a popular book for all preggies.

Hi wtan, Weikuan,
Congrats! saw your bb liao hor... so glad to hear that everything is great! Weikuan, dun need to worry abt bb's size. Different bb different growth mah.. I so big size, so my bb also bigger lor... mine is 5.5cm at 11w4d. haha....
Anyway, as long as bb ok, everything else is secondary.

Hi kypf,
Welcome!

Hi mtbs, yesterday went shop shop in sengkang, saw a sleeveless top in bossini (turquiose color) which I think is perfect for maternity. hee... came in white too... but a bit translucent... so i bought the turquiose one... a bit like baby doll but simple... got a drawstring across the tummy. I think I can post a pic of it later. cost $19, buy 2 tees got 30% off.. they have some drawstring shorts too... take a look lah..

kypf,
wah, sat on the floor to vacuum, now that's a good idea! haha!
yes, get your hubby to bring u to London for a pig out session, better than nothing. now that u remind me of chwee kway, i feel like having some too :p
but appetite is very strange these days. while i still have the appetite to eat, i hate the after-taste of food and feel really sick after that. this is so different when i had Joshua where i basically ate the whole day away.

vivian,
Regarding CL, best is to get one based on referrals. Go ask around friends and colleagues, i'm sure they would have some to recommend. Then call the CL to have a chat with them, somehow over the phone, you may be able to have a sense of how you can "click" with the CL. If u want to look for a CL who is pro-breastfeeding, can test her reaction / knowledge also.

kypf,

i think its fun to see ur baby move during ultrascan. but my baby super uncooperative yest. and oh, last nite, i felt baby's movement for the 1st time.
initially i din realised wat it was tt was like knocking at my lower abdomen for a few times. then it hit me it cld b my baby's kicks since it was not cramps.

then i went to lie on bed, placed my hands on my abdomen and felt the movements better. think baby was moving ard quite a bit and i cld feel it for abt 15 mins. after i gently chided him for being uncooperative during the check up in the aftn, he threw a tantrum and refused to move anymore 4 me.

babygrace,
i oso hv the irritating after taste aft i consume certain food esp v sweet stuff, or those food wif exceptionally strong flavour. so i tend to avoid them nowadays. some of which includes honeydew, prune juice.

kypf,
how abt asking ur neighbours ard on their delivery experience? perhaps it might help u to b mentally prepared.

crystallized,
the nurse at my gynae's clinic said light tea, any kind of tea, just soak the tea leave for a while and remove the tea leaves. She called tat as "light tea". Tea got caffeine, not not as high as coffee. I still drink my Kopi O everyday. For coffee, not more than 3 cups per day, for tea, not more than 5 cups per day.
If you can't take tea, then better dun take.

hi hi mtbs..
finally the forum is up & running..phew..Friday was bad when the forum was down..

hi hi Jasmine..
i think he didnt give to me the samples..u check & let me know ba..blood test? u mean the Anenatal blood test? since i will be taking the NT Scan at Camden, i will also be taking the Anenatal blood test there..my next appt supposed to be on 13/04 but i prefer a morn appt..so chose 15/04 1st appt instead..heehee..

hi hi crystallized
very nice to hear from u..ya, I also very surprised when I saw the label..somemore I read the NO Sugar Added OJ leh..still so high as compared to the Apple Juice..i guess now since we know, dun intake so much ba..very nice to hear that the baby is growing well..thats something worth celebrating abtheehee..ur baby is so cute..must be shy lah..heehee..haha..ur baby is really very cute leh..

hi hi babygrace..
I can understand the kind of craving..its suddenly u feel like itbut if u didnt managed to eat it..then u wont feel comfy..heehee..i m sure u must have felt very satisfied aft eating the Nasi Lemak..Adam Rd I hv not tried b4..wheres the location of this place?hmm..

Hi hi teddyhope..
I m sure its worth waiting seeing baby..do keep us posted again when its ur turn for the visit..i also cant wait to see the baby again..as i will be taking the NT Scan so I will get to see baby on 4th Apr & also on my norm 3 wks gynaes visit on 15th Apr..so looking forward to it..hee..

Hi hi kypf..
So nice to hear from u from England..i guess it must be very diff with the diff weather there in England when u r preggy..so most likely u will be delivering at the hospital, right? Since its free..i guess its just the catch is diff since they do not have enough manpowerbut I saw from some books that u can deliver in water, right? Seems to be more easy for u..if theres a chance, u might want to give it a try too..Is there anyway u can get to buy some ingredients from the supermart for those Singapore dishes? Do hope u get a chance to taste them in England..cheers~

Hi hi Vivian..
So sorry abt it..i guess I m too blur..haha..but library really have lotsa books..just that nowadays, I m quite lazy to read up..i have bought 1 book so far..its a movement week by week..i will read it at times..hee..

oh..the thot of kypf mentioning Chwee Kuey is kinda initiating me having the craving for that..Omg...seems to be vey yummy..ops..

I caught a flu over the weekend, so terrible.. Have to avoid almost all medication! In the end, the doctor gave me one that is so mild, I cant even feel the effect

Jenny,
I've just read an article, it says that 2cups of coffee seems to have no adverse effect but 5 cups or more per day, may affect bb's birth weight. By the way, what about coke?? Coke also has caffeine right?

Oh, here's a website on Fetal development.
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/refcap/650.html
Haha, now my fave past time is to read up this website & imagine what bb's doing inside

I need to go & rest liao. I also wanna join in msn chat (after I get better
) Can add me?? [email protected]

<font color="ff6000">hi kypf!</font>
congrats!!
great to see you here.. ;)
rem me from Yr End 2004 MTB thread too.. :p
how are you coping so far?
ya, i agree, simply no energy to do any housework.
my place is in a complete mess too.. but just no engery to go and do anything to it yet ... sighs..

<font color="0000ff">fruit juice</font>
i tink hor, its still better to drink FRESH fruit juices as compared to those you buy off the shelves... FRESH mah .. keke

<font color="0000ff">Fruits</font>
ILs bought those Thailand green oranges and i tried it.. very nice lei!!.. and very sweet too...
today i brought grapes to work.. keke..

<font color="0000ff">nasi lemak</font>
hmm.. have not eaten nasi lemak since Valentine's day .. haha.... shd eat someday..

<font color="0000ff">tea</font>
i limit myself to 1 cup of teh-O a day ... but sometimes i have ice lemon tea on the same day too ... :p

<font color="0000ff">chwee kuay</font>
Bedok Chwee Kuay? kekeke....

<font color="0000ff">ice cream</font>
regards to this, tink i rem i read somewhere better not to eat soft served ice cream, example, mr. softee, mac's .. contain dunno wat ... forgot liao..but not gd to eat these lah...
paiseh, this info is like half bucket water like tt... :p

ndra,
Coke has caffine. Ya, actually one cup of coffee/tea per day is ok. My max is 2 cup of coffee. My mum told me when she preggie with me hor, she drink coffee like drinking water. She can't drink anything except for coffee. I think I must have addicted to KOPI O since in my mum's tummy :p

Good morning!!!!

Hi Wendy,
ok. will let know tat brand. but then the fish oil is made from M'sia. 1 bottle contain 6 pill and cost $30. so expensive! yeah... i oso prefer mrng appt but then i hav to work every sat so no choice lol.
yeah... wat i mean is anenatal blood test. btw, wat is chwee kuey arr?

I have the Mamil Mama for sale. It is 400g. Selling at $10 neg each or can exchange for similiac Follow on (From 6 mth onwards)

It is suitable
*Before pregnancy - to strengthen your body *During pregnancy - to meet increased demand for nutrients

Email me at [email protected]

Gd Morning MTBs,

This morning weather very good for zzzz!!

Talking of food, yesterday, smell fried chicken which my neighbour packed, very nice smell, seems like very tasty but I don't have the impulse to go buy it. Nowadays, will say food smell very gd but no craving for it...

Have posted in my earlier mail, anyone of you planning to do yoga?

hi hi ndra's mum..
okok, added u into my msn list..heehee..u must take gd care of urself..make sure u get enough rest..drink more water as well..so nice to hear that u r surfing abt baby's movement.thks for sharing the link..will go &amp; check it out later..cheers~

hi hi chihiro..
u so bad..still tempt me with Bedok Chwee Kueh..aiyo..me really cant wait for tonight to come..then i can cheong to eat Bedok Chwee Kueh straight away..why u like that..aiyo..

hi hi Jasmine..
okok, will do, wow..seems to be expensive..will u be getting the supply from Dr Koh? i guess for me, i pref morn appt..like wake up fresh &amp; can see baby liao..heehee..so nice..i cant wait for my next appt to come..heehee..hmm..how to explain to u how does Chwee Kueh look &amp; taste like..u know those small white saucer-shaped like kueh with preserved pickles on top of it? usually market selling at 4 for $1?

hi hi Gemini..
my colleague also got recommend me to try yoga for pregnancy woman..but i guess i might want to try out other forms of exercise such as swimming later..heehee..me have been practising "mouth &amp; teeth exercise" (aka eating) lately non-stop..haha..ha..

hi all... very very long long time nv logged in here...

gemini, where do u plan to go for ur yoga?? Any idea wats the fees like?

Hi wendy..
oo...i know wat is chwee kueh liao. i love tat one sell at bedok centre one. for the fish oil.. dunno yet lel. coz expensive ma.. can we getting the DHA from eating fish?

Hi gemini,
where r u going to take the yoga course?

hi mtbs!!

Do you experience backache now ah?
sighs... am having a real bad one now...
now counting down to knock off time!

Hi Wendy,

My hubby wanted to drag me to swimming already but for the past few times, I look at the weather, so hot, I don't want to swim already (I don't like to be under the sun, heehee...). So wait till evening time, but I'm tired already, so don't swim already.

Hi May &amp; Jasmine,

I'm going to CC (community centre). I used to go there before pregnancy for my yoga classes. So actually it's not a pregnancy yoga course. The master has to teach me separately from the rest of the class.

Hi chihiro,

I do have backache. Nowadays, I bring a cushion to office to support my back, force myself to sit up straight. Maybe it has to do with your posture?

Talking of chwee kueh, really miss the one at Bedok Interchange, long time never eat!

hi hi Jasmine/Gemini..
aiyo..u also ahh..tempt me somemore with the bedok centre one..alamak..why is it not time to knock off yet..OMG..counting down..i think tmrw must ta-bao $5 worth of Chwee Kueh to keep in office..haha..why like that..o..chwee kueh..u wait for me hor..i m coming for u..haha..

wah liew I login here and see you gals talking about Chwee Kueh **my god!!!**

why you gals always tempting me one huh??????

Aiya, I very sian today!!!

Hi Wendy...
hahha... actually i more craving for the 'chai po' on top of the chwee kueh lol.

jenny, why today so sian arr? monday blue??

wah liew, I'm running after you, chihiro. So naughty!

Jasmine,
Dunno lah, today very sian, no mood, dun feel like doing anything.

hello ladies,

I'm having a bad flu...

Can anyone advise me whether i should look for my gynae for medicine or can i just look for my family doc...

babybenmen,
look for gynae. If you are seeing family doc, you should let your gynae examine the medicine first. Drink lots of water and sleep a lot.

Hi babybenmen,
should go for gynae. coz he will giv u different medicine, suit for mtb. i had flu during 4th weeks. n GP advise me to see gynae. she dun dare to giv me medicine. rest more and drink more water will help. n dun go to crowded place ... keep ur mood happy...

hello Jenny, Jasmine,

Thanks for your advise.
But just now i called up to make appointment with my gynae and she says flu dun need to see gynae...See normal GP will do....
Maybe i see my GP and wat he says first...
Making me very confused....

<font color="ff6000">babyenmen</font>
usually i will go back to my gynae as even when i'm sick, in his package, i can go back to him FOC for consultation n mediciation..

since your gynae says you can go GP.. prob let ur GP take a look.. then ask ur gynae whether it is ok to take the medicine prescribe to you by your GP ..

a bit troublesome hor..
type till i bit blur also .. haha

meanwhile, drink lots of water lah..
if can rest.. rest.. or even take naps... yah .. ;)

babybenmen,
If go GP, remember to tell GP you are preggie. And remember to check with gynae on the medicine. Some GP still give medicine tat are not suitable for preggies. Actually most impt, if you can tahan, dun take medicine, but drink lots of lots of water and sleep for the flu to go away.

chihiro,
hei hei, I know where to find you le kekeke...

Hello chihiro,

Thanks for your advise also.
But that means even if tonight i see my GP, i also cannot eat my medicine first lor?
Cause i can only check with my gynae tomorrow morning earliest...

Babybenmen,
Think u can just go to family doc. no need to wait so long, i guess. Make sure u tell doc that u r pregnant. Mayb u should take some vit C often to strengthen your immune system.

babybenmen,
I will see GP to get MC to rest at home. Extend the MC from gynae if dun get well. I dun take GP medicine. I just drink plenty of water and sleep. The flu will go off but needs longer time without medicine.

jenny,

i dun take tea coz of the caffeine, not as in i cant stomach it. in fact i am craving 4 it. since u hv mentioned it, i think i can steal a sip or two occasionally.

wtan,
u say my baby cute? tt day he really drove us nuts in the clinic. refused to move and there was nothing we cld do to get the baby shifted.
and still can throw me a tantrum when i gently chided him. v naughty fellow.

chwee kuey is yummy but its too strong in flavour tt my tongue will develop the funny after taste. thus i stopped eating it as well. used to love the chwee kuey tt is a chain store one. think its called "tiong bahru chwee kuey"? i cant rem. they hv various stalls all over like in bedok interchg, the mkt near si ma lu temple and in Chong pang.

oh as i scroll down, u gals mentioned it was "Bedok Chwee Kuey" huh? guess my memory failing me.

ndra's mummy,
in fact most soft drinks contains caffeine. so drink wif care. so far i found MUG's root beer to b caffeine free (Its stated on the can) so i drink tt occasionally when i hv craving. once a while, i will sip a bit of pepsi esp when we eat fast fd, but try to not drink more than half a cup shld b fine.

hope u recover fr flu fast. think u shld b better wif more rest &amp; water.
last wk i had skin allergy, it took me 2 wks to recover coz the mideication tt was prescribed was too mild and the doc cldnt give me any jab to ease the allergy. no choice lor, gotta bear wif it.

chihiro,
no mac's ice cream??? aiyoh, tt was 1 of my fav leh... but u cant rem why cant eat tt rite?

gemini,
i planning to do yoga soon since i am entering my 2nd trimester soon. u got any lobangs?

gals, wat u do all plan to wear when u swim? later when tummy gets bigger, cant b wearing a normal swimming costume or worse still, bikini rite? then all the men will vomit! hahaha

babybenmen,

cannot anyhow self medicate. muz seek GP or gynae's advice ok! i find us really in a lousy situation now wheh we r sick. cannot anyhow take medication or the medication prescribed is too mild and we need more to get well. the best way is to rest, sleep and drink alot of water.