(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Crystallized,
Maybe Reubern is a boy, so not so good to let him see you bf. Last time when I bf or pumping, I will let Jolene joined me and she would help me by getting tissue for me. Actually I don't like the idea to let her see also, but she refused to go out of the room.
Is baby back home? Try to relax yourself, go out for a walk to destress yourself. Call me if you need to talk, my peak is over liao.

Jerene,
hi there, good to see you here. You finished your studies?

Coral,
This morning, my hb was telling me Jas's temper, not listening to his instructions etc...
I told him, I asked myself why Jas refused to listen to me nor hb and only listened to my mum last time. I observed and realised Jas actually is very obedient to my mum's instruction. I saw how my mum talked to her in another way but with the same instructions. I tried the method and it worked for me.
I told hb it's the way that he talked to her, always in a stern voice, minor things also tell her off.
Do take good care of yourself, go home and rest bah. It's very sick to be down with gastric flu.

Jasmine,
Perhaps Alvis already knows what the teachers are teaching, so he is simply not interested. Most kids won't sit still and yes their attention spam is short, and it is normal that they will move abt in class. At your part, you can try to do more talking to him.
Most times, I feel that teachers are a bit "over-reacting". Jo joined the Pre-N one term earlier and she "repeated" for Pre-N. That time, the teachers commented Jo's speech wasn't cleared (she's 2.5yrs old then). Told me to bring her to see specialist. She's not the 1st person to tell me. But I strongly believed Jo was ok. She's a slow talker, that time still couldn't talk much, let alone clearly.
If you are worried, bring him for checkup. Believe in mother's instinct.

jass
i think it may be the timing issue. cy is usually quite cooperative when he goes for class (he doesnt attend school yet just enrichment). but woe betide if it is during his naptime, he will do all sorts of things, even like licking the floor rolling around, laughing hysterically...

so all his lessons before or after his naptime. especially for boys, naps are very very important coz they are by nature neurologically less wired than girls...

i MIA away...
i'm on MC today and tomorrow again... now taking Zmax, the same antibotics medicine that tristan was taking for his bronchitis...after 2 rounds of antibotics... i may have been infected by him, that why this time round, my cough lasted more than 2 weeks.
poor tristan, after his bronchitis, he had fever which has subsided, on friday, he has rosella (fake measles).. arghh... really very tired

hi crystallised,

ya, do find that baby R do look like gor gor...
hey, hang in there, 1 month will pass very fast one... ya, i do know on the part, last time when i saw those babies in infant care in tricia prev CC, i also feeling like crying too, when i see them crawling around aimlessly, no one really looking at them...

hi jasmine,

ya, same as the other mummies, maybe A is cranky cos he has missed out his naptime.

Discipline
===========
dor, i believe the terrible 2Ts is not over yet... tricia can be quite stubborn at time. sometimes, the more we ask her not to do it, she will purposely do it...
but hor, when daddy is around, worse, anything we say wont go in

jRRt, 1 month flies by!

Jen, think Char's prob is she wants attention. When alone she's very good, when Coen is in the formula, she creates havoc to get attention. But there's no way i can get Coen out of her life...Just have to wait for her to grow out of this. Can't go back, I have an important meeting at 630pm with client.

Gemini, hope you'll get well soon. Coen has outbreak of heat rash after fever med, and it just wont go away. Poor thing he scratch until he's bleeding. Dunno what to do as well. Same here, very tired. I just want my kids to be healthy!

Coral,
yeah...we also concluded that it's due to the timing. so, what i will do know will monitor once he start N2 next year then only make decision.

Crystallized,
saw frm FB that RN is back home now. So, don't go into PNB, you will be busy & time occupied with her.

Yeah..i still remember what u told me abt R. But he can sit still after few weeks right? the teacher told me A never sit still although he already joined 3 mths plus. So, that's made me worry. But after i saw him in the trial class (it was after his nap) & the time i spend with him at home (reading more than 5 books at time), i think he can sit still & taking instruction as well.

Jenny,
dunno the teachers are abit "over-reacting" or maybe they have attend some course b4, My collegue also told me that her niece's teacher also comment that her niece got bit of ADHD and ask them bring her daughter to visit doc. *faint*
same like Jo, A also a slow talker, but his talking is much clear now. re ADHD, the teacher even ask me whether i got any problem during pregnancy or is A a premature baby? hahaha...told her no, A is a full term baby & he is healthy.
I will wait till next year and monitor him for the time being.

lilboymum,
thanks for sharing. So, my A is not the weird one, he will put both hand into his mouth, laughing hystercally, do lotsa of funny stuffs when he is sleepy..i almost wanted to slap him!

Jenny,
Think our kids are smart! sometimes when talking to them really need a lot of tricks.

Gemini,
poor tristan. Hope he get well soon.
And you too...

crystallized,
Hang in there! If the hot weather is making you irritated, maybe taking a shower will help. Don't be too hard on yourself.

jass,
You may wish to bring him for an assessment if that puts your mind at ease but i'm wary about putting a ADHD label on a kid too quickly. An early assessment may help to identify development areas to work on but I think it's too early to brand Alvis as hyperactive or ADHD. I feel that with greater awareness of ADHD or autism these days, it sometimes end up having people branding kids who are maybe just simply active as ADHD. So don't get overly worried.

Congratz JRT!
I know this is abit late..
Cheer up! Everything will be ok

Kim's stomach flu virus is so strong.. she vomitted for 1st day after that she recovered.. but me, hubby and my sis in law vomitted and diarrhea..
The worse is me.. arghh.. hate this!

babygrace,
thanks for the words.

with the teacher's comment, i can't stop to worry abt him. But as a mother, i should trust him.
3 mths of 2hrs playgroup maybe be still short for him to adjust as i think, maybe he need more time to adjust the school life.

Adeline,
oo..my! hope all of you get well soon. And should careful when handle Kath.

Looks like a lot of virus now, so many are down. Do take care!

Coral,
When Jo and Jas are alone, they can be very good too.

Jasmine,
Jo's teachers are suspecting her tongue got problem then.
Have I mentioned abt my god bro before? He was so hyperactive when he's young that everyone at home surrendered! But he grows up fine (17 this year). Just that he's more curious with things around him.

me unwell too. fri was sick already but doc didnt give mc so stayed on in office & aircon made it worst. screamed alot on sat to conduct games for our halloween party for the kids so my throat got worst. today finally cannot take it liaoz.

crystallized, i can totally understand your pain & why you teared cos the same thing happened to me when i was told caleb had to undergo phototheraphy. i too cried like mad. just be assured that it will all be over. when i really dunno cos caleb took a while to be cleared. but it will eventually.

jerene, nice seeing you here. long time no chat & see.

jasmine, i am not trying to be a wet blanket but i did feel Alvis was a lil over active the few times i met him but i dare not tell you for fear of worrying you. of course, timing might be an issue but you need to monitor if out of those 'tired' timing if he is also like that. i cant comment on that. i wld suggest early intervention is possible. if nothing is wrong, than good if there is really something, having the right treatment will definitely help.

an ex-collg of mine her son at 24 mths many years back couldnt speak but she didnt think it was an issue. i felt different so i encouraged her to send him to school & ture enf, the teachers also raised concern & she quickly got him to see a doc & were told he had signs of autism (not scarying you here) but just signs so they intervene early. now he is a norm boy attending pri 1.

i agree with evon. take him for an assessment. good for you & for him as well. i always believe in early intervention if there's an opportunity to do so.

jass
i am not an expert at ADHD but i do agree with Evon that nowadays we tend to label our children too early. If this is bothering you, you may want to have an assessment but i think do not be affected by the outcome. I feel that the outcome should not be told to the child too. My sil who is teaching primary school has a student who cant sit still in class and when he is told to sit down, he refuted and said 'I am ADHD so i cant sit in class". Oh please, the labelling has become an excuse for the child! I was horrified! I am determined that if my children is ever diagnosed autism or ADHD, i will send them for treatment but will try all means to treat them normal. In life, there are many grey areas and ADHD and an active child can be just over a thin line. What matters most is how you bring up the child to feel confident and happy. Who knows, as a mother, you may be even better in treating this "ADHD" by reading more about it and find the right ways to correct it.

Crystallised

I share your pain and i think at your stage, tears seem to flow easily and i think it is a good way to vent out feelings. I can recall how i try to control my tears when PD told me that zac jaundice is high and need to come for review again and may need to go admit. In the lift going home, i just let go and i think i felt much better after that. cant say i enjoy my confinement but just have to endure and before you know it, its over! Maybe if you look into our thread 1.5 years back, i may just complaining about my confinement! haha

Time to vent out my frustation
==============================
Lele is having sleepless and restless nights. She is killing me, 6 nights in a row she is waking up very often and it can be as bad as an hour interval. she has been sleeping through the past years alone and one day she just decided she has enuff and come to tortue me!! sob sob and i am down with cough and flu. haiz bad things really come in a bundle. this somehow has taken a toll on me and my spirit is really down. i have been reading up sleeping habits and all those recommended have been what i have practice with her. not sure why went wrong. just have to pray hard it is a passing phase and it will go over SOON!!! This little gal really a chili padi.

jass
think 3 is a lil too young to be assessed with ADHD. i ahve never met A before so ic annot comment. but to put your mind at ease, you can approach some private assessors (psychs) out there. but before careful coz private assessors tend to over-prescribe and overassess too. a normal child can easily be assessed with anything form ADHD, ASD, dyslexia etc event hough he is completely normal. reason being the intervention is very profitable.

alterntiavely you can approach NUH or KKH for child development clinci..but really..three...

Good evening girls, many thanks for the warm welcome, I feel so loved!

And yes I finally completed my studies last year, attended my convocation one day after my confinement ends so I looked like a whale, I still do, though #2 is already 4 months old. Boo-hoo! Gemini, yes I did post some pixs on FB, Jen, are you on FB? I don't think we're connected if you are...

Coral, me too, work is driving me nuts, darn tired every night and still have 7 weeks of ML to clear, with no way to clear it anytime soon. Can't wait till 2010 (I harbor hope it can only get better).

Babygrace, I turned down nafa's offer of afternoon slot, but asked to be kept on wait list for morning slot. Anyway #1 is pretty happy in Bethesda. Can't be classmates, let's be neighbors!

Jas, don't be unduly worried. Have faith...

Mommies who are sick, take care and get well soon!

Jasmine
Yah like u say maybe its the timing and A still not that used to it.
Maybe try your own methods 1st n see if A improves. if not than bring him in for assessment.
My eldest nephew has ADHD i think. My sis told me his sch asked her to send him and he did go for treatments. But to me he's still the same, actually dun seem to find anything specially wrong with him all the while. What is wrong mainly is I believe the way he was brought up. Cos he spent his 1st few yrs with us and his problems started only after they moved out and his going for treatment is like when he was Pri 5/6.

U know hor I'm sending D to gym class now cos wanna get him used to listening to instructions and class to prepare for next yr.
D also finds it hard to sit down n listen to the teacher. So much so that I realise sometimes I see the assistant hugging D so that he sits there with them.
But the teacher say she doesnt find it a problem cos the rest of the class who sits are all girls.....hehe
And that D still listens even if he doesn't sit and to give him some more time to slowly get to it.
Hopefully I won't have problems when he starts sch next yr.....*cross fingers*

Dicipline
I agree with Jenny the way we talk to our kids make a big difference. Maybe cos I am with the kids 24/7 and I believe in respecting them to earn their respect.
Hubby is more of the "I am your father so you respect me" kind of traditional guy so no matter hw many times I told him, it doesn't go into his head.
N there was once D suddenly mentioned something about once his Papa come home, Papa will always go "DAMIEN!!". D imitate to me in a scolding, shouting tone.
So I asked him if he meant Papa always shout at him. N he jus repeat his imitation and "Papa always DAMIEN! DAMIEN!"
So I think the poor boy feels his Papa always shout at him. And I had to have a talk with hubby over it.

N this morn D suddenly told me he is Papa's bao bei. Just like hw Ember is mama's and Damien's bao bei.
Which is saying something becos we always say D is Darling while E is Baobei. But when I asked him "You not darling aah?"
D jus repeated that "Wo shi Papa de bao bei, Papa love Damien" "Ember shi Mama de bao bei, ye shi wo de bao bei"
Die lah than I must look again at what I am doing wrong to correct liao........sigh

Jerene, I'm hoping 2010 will be better too. I've just started full time for 2 wks and lost 3kg, so office is the best slimming centre. Been busy most wkends too since hb's either overseas or at wk.I NEED a rest! But can't see it anytime soon.

SHirley, kids are like this, soemtimes their system just re-wire, and we really dunno what triggers that. Hope Lele will go back to her routine soon or at least start a new normal routine.

Dor, we try to respect the kids too by speaking to them nicely, all our Ps and Qs, but sometimes my mum scold me for giving her too much respect at this age and in the end she climbs on our head. I always try to explain to her why we need her to do certain things instead of just commanding her and if possible, I will also give her alternatives, but this gal doesn't reason...maybe she's just too young. I hate it that Char will always use her tears as the last resort. I try not to give in whenever she cries but it's tough and when I try to toughen myself, I might just get too fierce, I really dunno how to balance this.

What is wrong with D saying he and E are bao beis? Though it's good to differentiate, but it's also nice that he recognise that both of them can be bao beis.
He has always been a sweet boy and very eloquent for a boy, normally boys dont say as much

Jenny
i tried to send R out of the room when i BF or pump but he insists he wants to see. and i dun wanna forcefully send him out. Last wk during one of the days when my engorgement was really bad, i asked him if he wanna latch. he said ok and i said alright, aft mei-mei is done it will b ur turn ok? He replied ok and i was so happy thinking if he can help me clear my engorgement, i dun mind!
who knows when i asked him to latch, he licked my nipple once & ran away saying he dun wan! :p

and coz he has a cough, till now we haven allowed him to kiss mei-mei yet. sigh, wat a bad time!

RN is back home since sun.
but now i am suffering fr sore nipples! it was originally on the left, then it healed a bit over the 2 days tt RN was admitted. but din heal in time. now its gg to start on the right one as well. i am so worried i end up wif 2 sore nips, then how to nurse her???? stress, stress, stress ah!!!

Gemini
Yes, RN looks like gor-gor but she resembles me more. i cant tell the resemblance myself but i think abt my baby photos, yes, she does look like me.

Jasmine
frankly my days r juz filled with nursing her, sleep, eat only. nursing her takes alot of time. she latches each side for min 20 mins and sometimes up to 30 mins. still active suckling so i wun unlatch her. i muz say she got v strong jaw muscles lah... she can remain active suckling for 30 mins! then i switch sides. she needs both boobs else she wun b satisfied and will cry for milk soon. i am hoping her latching sessions will b better soon! i cant imagine latching like this all the way when CL leaves! will die!!!

R took a few mths to b able to sit still... not juz weeks...

bbgrace
yeah at times i think abt u & jenny... u girls bathed during cfm mah!

ok gtg now... nursing time! catch up later!

jRRt, don't stress, we mums will still tolerate the pain and nurse. Me too, sore nipple as I pump too much at work and Coen sometimes bite. But just bera with it and nurse. When you see your cute bb grow it's all worth it.
I think our tods are too shy to suckle directly anymore, Char was tempted many times, but she never dares too. Like R she licked and dart off. ;p

Shirley,
Dunno how true, but no harm giving a try. When the gals or myself have sleepless nights, my aunt taught me to beat the pillows 3 times. Somehow, it works for us.

Jerene,
No...

Coral,
Normally if the gals use tears as their weapons, it will be a 200% No-No for me to their requests. I don't want them to use crying to threaten me. The more they cry, the more I refuse to give in. But usually after the cryings, I will talk and explain to them.
Just need to be firm.
I just remember to post out the ring float this morning. You are using air pump to pump right? Cos I realised to due storage, the opening hole is not 100% clear.

Crystallized,
hahaha... I can imagine that! Cos at times, I asked Jaslyn too and she laughed and said "NO".
Wah piangz, talking about sore nipples really scare me... pain pain.. maybe lesser the nursing and give ebm to let your nipples rest for a while. You are still using avent manual? Go slowly with it during pumping, and also remember to use the ebm to apply on them.
Yeap, bathing helps to destress!!

shirley, hope this phase will go away soon.

crystallized, hang in there.

Ref Books on Child Upbringing
==============================
frankly i stopped reading books since Caleb turns 1 cos i find i get overly stressed if i realised i am not doing things according to what the books says or Caleb is not behaving or living up to what the books say he has to. partly also bcos i have no time & energy to read. i now try to use my mother instincts instead otherwise i will go crazy before anyone else.

Jen, yah. A friend just asked if i have any books to recommend for tods... this is when i realised i have not bought or borrowed any books to read up for a damn long time. the answer i gave her was exactly what i wrote here. but she still wanted books to read so she went to find out herself.

Thanks for all the replys & feedback.

I feels more relief after posting here.

His teacher do told us that their HQ have those official that can help us to do tough observation if we need it but we have to wait till the child is 4 yrs old that's mean next year. So, i think for the time being we just tried to monitor & teach him more. and really hope that it's the school timing is the main culprit or it's just a transition.

but frankly speakng i did see a lot of improvement from him when he can start to talk more. he will tells us his need instead of crying or screaming. Like yesterday, when he went to school he saw a women carry a umbrella with her daughter, he straight away tells my SIL that "the weather is hot! it's a sunny day." then quickly go over & want to share the umbrella with them.

Crystallized,
talking abt sore nipples, engorgement, it's really scared me off. That time i experienced few time of block duct & has to ask LC to clear for me. It's so pain! I even told my hb b4, dun think i want to bf next child till he/she is 2 yrs old as Alvis.

wow..i'm sure very soon RN will be a bah bah girl after drinking power mommy 's milk.
When Alvis newborn, the most he can drink is 45min, and i already BTH liao...

btw mommies, if you all have contact of those child development clinic 's contact, could you please email me? just for reference.

Hi jrt , congratuation on your newborn !! haha welcome to the sleepless club again !

Hi jerene , great to see you here

Hi jenny, dor ,coral and gemini ,yes yes now kids not easy to handle and i also need to improve my way to communcate with my gal . Maybe i sometimes too stern with her . She prefers daddy more than mummy sob sob..

Hi jass, sorry not expert in this area but agree with selina , good to go for a checkup for a piece of mind

Hi bbgrace , have rejected the nafa offer cos i dun want to spend my whole day ferry her around unless we stay at east coast area.

Hi shirley, me too have been torture by my younger gal for past the few months... i am super super tired . Realised how wonderful is M ..never give me any sleeping problem ha

Can't write much cos having serious migraine ..A quick update.. my younger gal fell and broke her tooth . Nerve exposed and may need to do the root canal treatment . Traumatize for her and me as well..my heart machiam broke into pcs like wat u see in the comic...have made appt with the pediatrician clinic..Suddendly realised that there r limited kids clinic in spore ! And they need referral letter !!! ( ??) Have been to the school dental clinic at SGH recommended by my sis in law . The dentists are good and helpful but kinda young , strongly recommend for normal checkup but personally i perfer someone more experience when dealing with emergency esp if dealing with toddler .Will keep you update of the service this coming fri . Bye for the day

Seline,
in fact I dun think need to buy books, read from net will do.

Mango,
ya v few kids dentist and mostly have to book appt with mths ahead.
Must be v painful for megan (correct hor?).

jrrt
eh, why must ask R to leave the room? he too noisy? dun need lah, else he might grow up to think bfg is embarrassing and unnatural....

mango, OUCH! let's us know the outcome. poor girl.

Jen, i dun like to read online. i like to have my own books. mayb cos young time always take hand-in-downs books so now i have bad habit of buying books & they need to be brand new. i hardly even consider 2nd hand books since poly days. hence i spent lottas $$$ on books which ultimately i will either discard after decades (cant sell cos most prob all faced out by then). so now i try to control myself & prevent from visitng bookshops.

Coral
somehow i thot being 2nd time mums will help coz more experienced mah. but somehow this time i feel more helpless & unexpected things happening... its worse than when i had R. i did better. but oh well, i am not gg to dwell on tt. juz tellg myself tt everything will def b better. it cant stay like this 4ever.

Jenny
i dun rem tt hvg sore nips was so scary when I had R. it only happened once ard wk 2 or 3. i latched him on the other side while waiting 4 the sore one to heal and aft tt it was ok. This time it is takg much longer. Each time i latched RN, i am practically screaming tt initial few secs. my mum saw me screaming and said i will scare the baby. I told her its darn painful man! i needed 2 release some tension mah.
No, i using ameda dual pump liao. luckily i bot it 2 days b4 i delivered. cant imagine using manual pump now... will die! now i pump 3 times a day... juz to relieve the engorgement... am not pumpg to establish ss. duno how to cut down to only 1 pump... quite impossible. my boobs will explode! but i tell myself at least ss has been established. later i dun need to spend so much time to increase ss.
2 more days to bathing & shampoo!!! i smell so chao-sng now!

Jasmine
the initial stage is v tough but once u rough it out, the rest of the journey is better. i hv not regretted bfg even wif sore nips & engorgement. and this time i hope to BF longer.

I hope this petite girl will be bah bah soon too. she's so petite and cant even fill up the smallest of the tops we hv 4 her... aiyoh... and her limbs all so slim and fragile. i told her to fatten up soon!

Selina
I am not tt concerned abt jaundice coz i know it will eventually go away. wat i am upset abt was tt RN was away fr me, and seeing her sleeping in tt hard box upset me v much. am gg back 4 review again tmrw... tt time R took 7 wks 2 clear away his jaundice. BF-ed babies take a longer time and i am not concerned abt tt.

mango
ouch ouch... cant imagine the pain tt poor girl is experiencing!!! hope everything will turn out fine. its def v tramatising 4 u and her.

lilboymum
coz R is a boy mah... and nw he is more aware of body parts so i avoid chgg in front of him. but now i am not so bothered liao. he can stay and see me BF mei-mei and see me pump. he's more interested in how the milk ends up in the btl than anything else. he'll ask me how come no milk yet??? i hv to explain tt it'll take a few mins 4 milk to flow into the btl. when he sees mei-mei nursing, he'll stroke her hair.

btw yes he's v noisy but mei-mei likes to hear gor-gor and papa's voices. i cant stir her awake but wif my hb ard, he can. she'll open her eyes for him.

Crystallized,
I guess your hormones go haywire. Dun worry, you can do it!
I tot your boobs don't react to electric pump? I used ameda with sore nipples very painful leh. It's a struggle to turn it to on!

Coral
I think D sort of mean that I love E more. That's why he also wants to be baobei and Papa's baobei instead of Mama's Darling. But yest night he woke and sayang E and said again "Ember shi wo de baobei, I love Ember" So I asked him if he is baobei too.
But he gave me a shock look n say "Wo shi Darling" ...hahaha
Guess I worry too much huh.....keke
D talks alot n understands alot for his age I feel. So we have to keep watching wat we say.

Jus on Sun I joked n asked him to wash the milk bottles. Immediately he say okie n the whole night was asking n begging to go n wash milk bottle. So
I told him to make E sleep 1st which he hates. But for the sake of washing bottles, he tried. So very funny to see him keep hugging E n asking her to sleep while E struggles to get away......hahaha

U know hor I think girls ma different. Like D I know hw to handle him. No matter what the circumstances I know I am able to make him listen to me. But this girl........sigh
When she dun get her way she will jus scream and cry super kelian kind n she will wipe off her own tears 1 by 1 while sulking like so super kelian. I really very scared next time cannot handle her.

Jrrt
Hahaha, D is also the same. He says he wanna drink my milk but always chicken out. And sometimes my milk spray n cos he was near he will kanna then he finds it so fun.....haha
But now that he is more aware of his and our body, sometimes right after E latch, E might move away n D will quickly ask me to cover. Or if my bra still shows he will go "Mama, pao chu lai le!!".....haha

Get the nipple shield. That was a lifesaver for me and nipple heals much faster with it.

Mango
Oh poor, Ezann. Ember jus fell off the bed this afternoon but heng jus kanna a cut on her forehead. Also duno hw she fell.....sigh
Hope she won't get too tramatized at the dentist. And U too take care okie.

Mango, how's your migraine now? Oh no, your poor little girl, when will the dentist determine if she needs a root canal? If you need a dentist good with kids, alexis goes to one in Camden Medical who is super, I think she specialises in kids. Let me know if you need her contact...

Coral, wah 3kg, that's great. I still have some 5kg which is not budging anywhere anytime soon. Sigh. My helper tells me my son is drinking 80% of my EBM and 20% FM on weekdays but weekends when I look after him, it is 100% BM, oh well...

Dor, hope ember is better too. Kids often get all these cuts and scratches and bumps, and we parents feel so xin tong. This Damien so cute, like to wash bottles. Useful leh :p

Selina, me too! I am member of both kinokuniya and Borders, totally not necessary. Most books in either bookshop anyway. Waste $$, ugh! so how come you are dining with zhang ziyi?

Jerene
Useful??...hahaha
As we type, D woke and cos papa jus got home. They are both outside cos D want to wash his milk bottle....kekeke

Coral
Me also want to lose that 5kg.......which looks more then 5kg lor......aarghhhh

and Jer you dun look fat lor even after birth also only the tummy ma.....btw ur hormones better?? the irritating pimples dry up already?

Mango, hopes your migraine goes away, but I think your xin tong is the worse thing now. Poor E, hope the dentist can do wonders for her.

Jen, when Char cries, I go crazy and may end up hitting her hands which I hate. And yes, I nvr give in when she cries, but this gal nvr learn, crying will only make t worse for her. But I think some gals just like to cry.

Jerene, I still got 4kg to go after losing that 3kg...But think that will have to wait cos it'll go slowly and I can only start working on it after I wean off Coen. He's still on total BM, but not sure how long I can tahan, now nipples super sore and he pinch and scratch it till it bled the night before so very painful to nurse or pump.

Dor, I see. Just like char wants to be bb cos she thinks we will sayang bb more. Think I'm luky to be tall so the extra 4kg spread all over, still not very visible, but it's obvious to me cos I still can't squeeze into some of my clothes. You must still be breastfeeding rite? Think easier to lose the extras after weaning.

jRRt, I tot being 2nd time mum can relax, but just like you, new things keep emerging and frightening me. Really, Coen's lengthy jaundice, white spot in eyes, stiff neck, lump in thigh, then severe heat rash, enzema, now a brown spot that's growing on his tummy...I tell you never ending. This boy has make me go for more hospital trips that I've accumulated in my own 3oyrs of life. But I'm lucky so far, everything's alrite, but can tell you the fear I was in everytime before the diagnosis was confirmed...But that's being parents I guess. To always care for and worry for them...It's gonna be our lifetime joy.

Hi jerene , are u referring to Dr Rashid at camden medical centre #13-06 ? Is he good ?

Hello ladies...jie jie wo still got 10 kg to lose . Never think of losing leh haha..

I was thinking to bring the gals to HK again solely for the disney stay on xmas. How was the month of dec ? izzit very very cold? My aunites were telling me that kids dun remember , why lug the two kids there when they will have no memory . For Megan i think she will enjoy the trip cos she can still remember the last trip when she is 2 yrs old but for my younger gal , she is only 18 month now . Can anyone advise whether can 18 month toddler "knows" what they doing ?Dor , selina and vivian ..can check whether can your kids still remember their trip ? Anyone can advise ?

Mango, Char went to US/Canada at 18mths, she can still remember a few of those fun events during the trip, but definitely not as detailed as her and her disney trip when she was 2yrs 1 mth. Pei fu you, think i'll only plan a cruise trip with these two young ones. Will consider other trips when Coen can walk properly.

Dor my face looks much better now but my legs' eczema returns, my skin cause me never-ending distress! Thanks for saying I don't look very fat, but like Coral, I also can't fit into most of my old clothes, especially since my breasts are 2 cup size larger! ugh!!

Coral, your nursing pains...I feel, poor thing...and keep coen's hands away mah. xiao xin hor...

alexis performed for the first time last sunday in church, singing and dancing with the rest of the kids in sunday school, I am so proud of her! Today is her school annual concert and graduation, she performed for the second time, as a kangeroo. So cute!

Mango, I am referring to Dr Ong Yean Sze at SmileFocus. Steep though. She is very good with Alexis.
Alexis went Europe with us in May 2008 - france, germany, switzerland and italy - can remember very little.
As for cruise, I intend to go for http://disneycruise.disney.go.com/
hubby and I are also going club med bali in mar 2010 for 4 nights, with one helper. Eh, you going hk disneyland alone with 2 kids??

Hey, Jerene, the cruise looks interesting, so it's a fly-cruise? Do you get a package from local agency or book directly? Which sector are you going for, give me your feedback for future considerations.

Jerene
u still got a few kilos to go? u certainly dun look like it!!!

Jenny
tts y this time i made sure i used the electric pump 1st. luckily it responds well. i can latch & pump the other side simultaneously.
thks goodness i got the pump - juz 2 days b4 i delivered! heng ah!
my nips r sore but ok wif the pump leh.

Dor
gd tt D can help u watch out if u zao geng... R is oblivious... mayb he'll notice it later.

Wats a nipple shield? the one u put over nipple? will baby still wanna latch? i think she'll end up frustrated. right now, i juz grit my teeth and bear wif it tt 1st few secs when she latches. then aft tt, its better. at least i can relax.

Coral
yeah i guess... tts all part & parcel of being parents... we'll nvr stop worryg abt them.

jRRt, just read your posting abt screaming the inital few mins when latch on. Me too. And my mum is very frighten that something bad will happen to my breast if this goes on, she's now encouraging me to stop BF. But think we'll just push on

Ah Coral I only know I wanna go on the disney cruise but not yet done the homework, since it is next year, sounds and feels so far away. I will let you know once I have the time to find out more...

jrt, you are too kind!
Re breastfeeding, my kid is so easily distracted and if I am having a conversation with another, he will wanna look up and see who, etc. aiyoh! little kaypoh...and a boy at that.

Jrrt
Yup nipple shield is just to put on the nipple. Get the pigeon brand 1 that 1 is more like skin I feel n thinner. Baby will latch as usual jus more slippery....hehe

Jerene
D used to be like tat super KPO. N there was a period where I can't talk cos once I start talking he will unlatch n cry.....hahaha

Mango
D hor.....dun think he remember anything but he went at 11mths leh......hehe
Now keep saying wanna sit aeroplane lah but but but.....I tell him when Papa n Mama have enough money 1st....haha

Coral
Your dunno hw many kgs also not obvious when we went to ur place that time.
Alot of ppl comment that I lost alot of weight but I've not lost ANY weight since the past 6mths or longer!!!!
N I still can't fit into the shorts I can wear when D was 6mths old.
Hopefully when I stop Bfing I can slim down somemore cos I put on weight very easily, jus worried I will put on weight once I stop Bfing......hehehe

Jerene, Dor, looks like our boys are all KPOs. I can't talk else he'll unlatch and yell. And others can't talk or walk around else he'll be distracted and want to go play. And in the morning he want my mum to stay around and hold his hands so she won't go market without him.

Jerene, the crusie looks good and price quite reasonable for the number of days and programs. (I presume it's USD...haha, will be ex if it's euro.)

Dor, maybe you've bought some nice clothes recently that hides your extra weight nicely hence the perception by others that you've lost much weight. I used to worry I'll put on weight if I stop BF, but it seems the other way round, after stop BF, lose weight more easily...I also dunno the logic.

Jenny, got the float, thank you. WIll try it on Coen this wkend.

Jer, I was at Omega dinner on Tues & the GOH is Zhang Ziyi so that explains why i had dinner with her but unfortunately, we were like 20 tables apart. Cant even see her properly lor.

Anyway, I will be with Zoe Tay tonight... My fave mediacorp artiste. so excited.

The fly cruise sounds interesting

Mango, cant really comment on whether caleb can remember his trip or not. he was 15 mths that time. all i can say is that he enjoyed himself. i dun really care if he remembers. most importantly is he enjoyed himself there & then.

3 YO throwing tantrums
======================
talking about this, caleb also likes to cry. everytime he start his crying spell, i will just ignore him & tell him he is a cry baby & tell him so shameful of him to cry like that. he is one who does not yield to pressure so need to go soft on him. HB & mum are always the one giving in to him which i hates but i will still lecture him after they do that cos i dun want him to think he can get his way. sometimes i will insist HB & mum to stay away him & no one but me can be with him.

Weaning off Milk Bottle
=======================
i think i have made some progress on this. Yah i bit late but nonetheless i was happy the transition was very very smooth. still no luck with the bolster though.

Kids say the darnest thing
==========================
Caleb is slowly becoming like my mum more than my mum does. I left home & forgot my laptop bag so went back to get & got him to help pass it to me thru the metal gate. then he started lecturing me.

Caleb: "Mummy, don't forget your bag again, OK?"
Me: "Ok Caleb. Thank you, Caleb"
Caleb: "You are welcomed, Mummy"

He just turned and walked after immediately after that leaving me standing at the gate dunno how to respond to him. come to think of it, he is speaking like me but at least i am the mother. not him... GOSH!

HB bought transformer 2 DVD. Caleb want me to on it for him so he kept asking permission & his last resort was to tell me "Mummy, I am so excited to watch transformer." I dun remember i knew how & when to use 'excited' at his age!!!!!

Selina, kids nowadays are just so diff from our time. Their vocab and desire also way beyond us at the same age. And I must say this is the result of our training and giving them that kind of exposure too.
Sometimes just dunno to laugh or get worry. Char is speaking so much like an adult that I fear she miss her childhood, but aren't we adults the one who keep asking them to grow up and be good...The more I ponder on the subject of teaching my kids, the moreI feel I'm inadequate and at a loss...

Selina,
Jaslyn has always been acting as a baby and she speaks like one!
I have yet to wean off milk bottles from both gals. Dunno when to do it cos I won't be getting support from my mum for sure. Anyway after I read somewhere about the worry of refusing milk, I think I will let the gals tell me when they want to wean off themselves. Anyway it's only during nap and night time for the milk bottles, so not so worry with this.

Sel, I like your job! So many perks...but also appeared that you often gotta work nights, which means you cannot see Caleb...

Sel + Coral, my kid def speaks like an adult. Often I was left speechless, else I burst out into laughter. Eg. of a conversation we had recently, in Mandarin: I asked her why she did not sleep with us (hubby and me) and she said she was sleeping in her room and asked if I wanna join her. I said my room is bigger, come join me. She goes "but my room ain't small either!"
Another example: I was expressing and she came into the room, and I asked if she wants to express her milk too. She goes "I cannot, my nei nei not big enough!"

Hey girls, wanna think abt going on this cruise together if our schedule permits? Could be fun! Ship big enough so we don't bump into each other all the time, and small enough for the kids to hang out from time to time...