(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Happy Birthday to Caleb!

Jasmine,
Maybe can search thr the threads, and check with mummies like babygrace, pups, mango. Different ppl have different views. I think the most impt issue to consider is the location convenient for you since it will be a weekly class.

Jlyn,
oh so fast moving. Next time harder to meet up.
starlearners is a child care right? going to enrol the boys there? Not sure for eunos branch but the one at sembawang, I heard some positive feedback.
Private kindergartens are usually more ex and charge at per term aka 10 weeks basic. Anyway, dun compare childcare charges with kindergartens charges cos they are different. If you want to compare, CC is cheaper. However, talking about this, you are comparing apple with orange. Totally different things.
PCF charges is much cheaper compare to private kindergarten. Charges range from different PCFs cos they offer different curriculum. Some premium ones offer computer class (actually is to click click on numbers/letters, you can let the boys play at home also), science, drama etc.. Cheaper one can range from $80+ to close to $200.
My CDA no more liao lah.

Jlyn,
no problem. Acutally i haven't visit Starlerners but did talk to the principal thru phone. she is a very nice lady & told me their daily activities.
Alvis hor..he stay with PIL now. Everyday SIL will send him to school. the school is just 2 bust stop frm PIL hse. I only visit him after work then spend 1.5hrs with him everyday as my sending him to CC fail. haha...

yeah...think PCFs has diff charges among their brnaches. Alvis' school charge $163 for N1 cos they provide snack and their snack quite healthy like porridge, noodles, sandwich...etc.

Jenny,
yeah...if i'm not wrong, pups & babygrace send their kids to Seimpi music school and it has one that near to my place. will check out more info on it.
Acutally i also want to send A to swimming class but maybe next year ba..dun think he can take instruction well..

Jlyn,
btw need to change yr mindset on the charges if you are switching to kindergarten.

The difference on the charges is huge cos Govt heavily subsided for childcare fees, whereas not for (private) kindergarten. PCF is considered the cheapest liao.

Jasmine,
Yeap right, that's the name of the sch haha...
Before you sign up Alvis for swimming class, do expose him to water. The 1st criteria - kid must have water confident. Also, I understand most swimming schs intake at least age of 4. Unless you dun mind going for those designed for infants and young toddlers, more for fun, which I think is a total waste of $.
Jaslyn cried and complained of her legs' muscle ache after the 2 lessons

You tot of wushu? My bro is teaching somewhere near bedok central. Near yr place? He's teaching my gals 压腿. He said kids at their age should learn 压腿.

Jlyn,
You check out PCF website http://www.pcf.org.sg/ already? They have childcare centres at bedok north areas, but not sure near your new place.

Jenny,
good feedback abt starlerners? aiya..i should check it out b4 send A to kindergarten type. hahaha..joking nia.
actually A love his current school. It's really different frm when he started CC. Everyday he willing to go to school. Reach school, his friends will call him, then he will auto put his school &amp; backpack into the shell. <font size="-2">and he hardly get sick too, almost attend school everyday if compare to last time 1 week school, 1 week mc at home..touch wood</font>

Jasmine,
Not the same branch, can't compare.
Anyway if you ask me, I prefer kindergarten.
The "lifestyle" in CC and kindy are different, so not all kids will settle well. In CC, long hrs are spent there, parents need to work. Most do not have alternatives to send the kids if they dun go CC. So if not running fever, usually the parents will send the kids to CC lor.

Jasmine, wah..$163. Do you knw what time is their morn class 9-12pm? I am trying to get their father to nego his working hours so that he can send boys to sch. Save my mother the trouble. If this dont work, i will settle with the PCF near my new place. Dont quite like that PCF though.. I feel the place is very 'luan'.

Jen, tks for the info. Now CDA no more top up, i have to be wise in my choices. I have more or less decided on kindergarten already. Haiz.. I better decide fast else next year they got no sch to go to. Headache

Jenny,
ya lor.. at 1st thought sending A to CC nearby my place then he can stay with us. but cant bear to see him keep failing sick, somemore he is those refuse to take medicine one. and hor everyday i have to drag him &amp; force him to wear uniform &amp; go to CC.

luckily i still got backup as IL help us, as long as he happily go to school, then i relief liao.

Jlyn,
next year N2 timing is 9-12pm. then K1&amp;k2 will be 8-12pm.
yeah..you better act fast if you want to send them to PCF as i know their seats are very 'hot'. Like A, i got to let him study afternoon class now to secure a seat for next year (cos they reserve all the seats for afternoon class student). Their PCF mass registration just over during Jun-Jul.

hmmm...personally i also don't like some PCF branch but this PCF that A attend quite good.

Jenny
like i mentioned, hooded ones i feel cant really keep warm leh. dun really cover their arms.

But if u wan to cover up her body and using it to dry her up, then its another story. u try aussino lah. if i pass by &amp; see it, will check out 4 u.

Jasmine, N2 morn class filled up. N2 left 4 but the afternoon session is fr 1-4pm, strange hr. Will have to do alot of time adjusting cos that's the boys' napping time. I was quoted $135 for N2. U mean by putting A in N1 class now, u'll get to secure the N2 morn class next year huh?

crystallized,
not really to keep warm, but at least to cover the body while changing. Yes you are right, I intend to use it to cover her as well as to dry her. See if got chance to go C'way Pt this Sat. Hb working on weekends leh.

Jenny
cwp branch too small, dun hv this hooded towel if i rem correctly. muz try the bigger ones like paragon &amp; plaza sing... i might b gg there later, will check out 4 u if i am gg...

hi jenny,

if i remember correctly, isetan also got sell those hooded towels, and maybe some of those shops selling those cute stuff... think i saw it at SK, one of the shops selling those cute stuff.

hi crystallised,

hehehe... tricia also got 1 hooded towel from aussino. hers is dolphin design

hi jlyn,

oh, u are shifting out of SK?
tricia CC school fee is paid using #2 CDA acct. already finished the matching liao and amount not very much, cos pay the school fees and #2 Cordlife annual fee...

enrichment lesson
=================
any one thinking of phonics lesson?

hi pups,

regarding the b'day cake, the principal has tell me wrongly, 3kg cake is meant for those kids who are in full day CC and they will eat it for afternoon tea. so for half day, 1 and half kg cake will do. they will eat it after lunch. so most likely i will order a cake for her to celebrate with her friends.

hi vivian,

wow nice cake...

<font color="0000ff">Happy 3rd Birthday to all Sep 06 toddlers!</font>

Crystallized,
huh CWP branch small meh? I tot is v big le?
Wah you on leave again ah hahaha

Gemini,
Thanks. I'm looking for design ones, not plain one. I know plain ones can be found easily. Must check out pasar malam cute cute stall also.
I tot CC got teach phonics? Personally, I feel the leapfrog dvd is good enough.

hi jenny,

har? plain ones? that time saw isetan scotts got sell cartoon characters leh..

remember i was saying my hb was telling me to find enrichment classes for tricia? got find 1 organized by RC, and it's near my parents place. that why i cant make up my mind whether to send her there or not, cos i know CC got teach. if send her to RC one, it's to keep her occupied and at her age now, for tricia lah, she may not understand what phonics is yet.

Jlyn,
yeah...bcos the principal told me tat they reserved some mrng slot for afternoon child. tat time coincidence there got one afternoon slot and ask me if i'm interested. Now A at afternoon 1-3pm class. next year he will b morning class. btw, there only 12 students in a class.
hmmm...if really no choice to take afternoon class, then maybe need to do some adjustment. Like A, he take nap frm 4-6pm, sleep ard 10.30pm then wake up a bit late lo. no choice...
i heard some afternoon class kids even dun take nap &amp; the parents let them sleep early.

Gemini,
how abt speech &amp; drama class? i heard frm my collegue who send her nephew to s&amp;d class at Community Centre &amp; quite good thru.

Jlyn,
yr qns to secure a place.
Ok, registration works like pri sch system. The existing students will get to re-register first, priority mah. Then follow by siblings, then lastly to public.

Gemini,
Ok will check out when I have time to pass by isetan maybe in oct haha
If you are talking abt keeping Tricia occupied, then ok lah. I tot CC dun have. Erm, they may not understand 100% but will absorb some lah. Or maybe check out playgroup where got games and singing, drama?

Jlyn,
Dun worry abt nap time. Can be adjusted or even skip liao. My dear Jolene has not been having nap dunno since when at the grandma's place. Grandma calls and complains to me from daily to few days once to once a week...
But at my place, I will force her to nap, so that I have time to do my things.

Jenny, Crystallized got "all the licence" to be on leave now.. i remembered i was on hospitalisation leave to rest at home fr 30/32 weeks onwards. Like queen like that.

Gemini, yup, out of sengkang. My parents live with me all this while and their health havnt been too gd in the recent years esp my father who has been in &amp; out of hosp since march this year. I figure it is gd to be near my extended family for support and after some discussion with everyone, i decided to go ahead with it. I was running around like a lunatic when my dad was in hosp and elder boy had 40.7 degree fever. Nvr want to have those days ever again.. ironwoman also die ;p

Oh, on phonics.. have u checked edufarm?

Jenny &amp; Jasmine, tks. I will think abt it. Already they go to bed at 8.45pm sometimes 9 plus, no nap how ah.. i like routine. Adjusting means must tahan their nonsense. sianz.. hahaha. U know they have not been on diapers in the day for very long.. but they refused to wake up in the nite to pee lor. Recently the elder one had infection at his foreskin. This prompted me to remove his diaper in the nite. No more urine soak diaper for him, i thought. Woke him up for pee at 12am. Before i could bring him to pee at 3am, he wet himself a little and started complaining 'wet wet'. Changed him, he asked for milk, after milk, asked for barney, after barney, asked for sesame st... went on till 5.30am. I or-bak-kak. Dare not try again on weekday leow.

Jlyn,
Really not easy for you have to look after your boys plus your father not well. Must take care of yourself too.
btw, if you really interested at A's Kindergarten, you can check with the principal cos i heard frm SIL that now Alvis class only 11 kids, tat's mean still have 1 slot. but you can request another slot cos yours are twin boys ma..
are you stay nearby eunos mrt?

Jlyn,
ya lor, ppl's turn to be queen le hor hahaha...
Dun worry, they grow up older, won't want nap, yet still can sleep late de. Dun understand kids, got time to sleep dun sleep. They will regret when they grow up.
You are so funny, who ask you to try on weekday. Jaslyn every night will chant "dun want diaper" bla bla bla... But there's 1-2 times per week when diapers will be wet, so I dun dare to go w/o. Only wear for night so ok lah.

jasmine, ya near mrt. i am also considering pu hui kindergarten. see how, may put them on waiting list for the joo chiat pcf morn class. was told got 3 on the waiting list now. U mean put them in N1 for now and get 'auto-registered' for next year N2 morn class huh? But sept is coming to an end soon and sch holidays start in nov right? so meaning they will only join the class for one over month. But I am moving to eunos only in dec and i need to give 1 mth notice to the current cc. Just surf net and found a pic of the a's sch, quite nice hor.

Jen, queen i also dont want anymore ah... what a price to pay.. hahaha.

I'm 'gian' to be a queen lel. kekeke...
no worry..i will jia you.

Jen,
dun said Jolene, Alvis now also try to skip his nap. he always tell me 'I wake up' when i ask him to sleep. But i still force him to sleep if not he will become very cranky &amp; might fall sleep like 7+pm..

Jlyn,
I see..my MIL also near MRT lel..almost forgot, pu hui kindergarten also not bad.
yup..tat's what i do now. A start on Aug, we got endure it &amp; adjust his nap time cos we thinking he only need to be afternoon 2hrs class for 4 mths then can move to morning class, but also provided they got slot in afternoon class.

hmm..maybe you can visit few kindergaten then decide. the more impt is convenience for you.

Jasmine, got sch bus but ex lor 80-100 per child. Anyway, afternoon left 4 slots. Was told to go and make deposit payment to secure slots. A's class will have 12 students in oct. No more vacancy. If I decide on this, I have to go down on mon to settle payments. I also called Pu Hui Kindergarten earlier. Will go and see see look look tomorrow.

Jenny
Pls lah, cwp branch so tiny! I think its the smallest! I din managed to go PS tdy...
Yah on leave tdy... clearing 2 days a wk...

hahaha, i agree wif u! Wats wrong wif all these kids? Dun wanna zzz when they can... they will regret later! I always tell R tt oso! hahaha

Yah leapfrog dvd is quite gd. R can rem the pronounciation of certain letters now. And he loves tt DVD lately. hv been watching tt during the wkends. If got cheap RC classes nearby my plc, i wanna send him. Not so much like i KS but his pronounciation is really not clear and even dentist was concerned, so i wanna brush up his articulation esp now when he's so keen on the dvd.

Jlyn
I dun want to b a queen like tt leh... i wan her to stay in there till hopefully 39 wks then make grand entrance. we hv yet to get anything ready 4 her arrival! i only managed to clear the toyogo containers and wash it tdy. So pls, no hurry hor.

Jasmine
来啦! I handover the licence for u to be a queen oso!
加油!!!

Wah u all happening leh so many post suddenly.

Vivian
Bday boy abit overshadowed by his classmates......hahaha
Me also very crazy mth dunno why like rush rush rush but then nothing done leh.

U know hor my D....I super super BTH him lor cos let him choose liao he want Bob the Builder on his cake this yr. N so far he never say wanna change lah......UNTIL.......he saw Rhys cake. Then everyday nigam nigam nigam "I want Powranger on my birthday cake". N the thing is he doesn't even know what is power ranger lor.........BTH man

Jlyn,
sch bus fare nowsday not cheap, in fact that is the market rate liao.
Erm you wanna kena beat by my hb mai? Hmm sekali he loses hahaha

Crystallized,
aiya I know why liao lah, you're talking abt aussino whereas I'm referring to kiddy palace hahaha... one chicken one duck hahaha...
I think yours will be full term like Reubern. Usually more or less 1 week difference, but there's cases of 3 to 4 weeks also lah.
Shiok hor clear 2 days per week. I wish leh, but hor someone face black black, not my boss lah. I'm still thinking if wanna take leave on children's day.

Doreen,
Kids are like that lah, they see other kids have something, they also want. So my hb's "rule" is never let the gals choose.

Jenny
U blur sotong lah! hahaha...

Eh i got a scare last nite... thot i was leaking liquid fr water bag. wah really v scared coz now i am only 35 wks+... not considered full term... talked to baby, asked her to stay in there till at least 37 wks ah. then this morning, both me and my hb quickly set up baby's room. now need to get a tod bed for R so his cot can b moved over for baby to use when she arrives. wah liew... i rem for R, i oso had 1 or 2 false alarms... scary! but it helped us to quickly prepare her arrival else my hb is forever dilly-dallying...
Shiok to clear leave lah... but u oso need to clear rite? black face so wat? if u dun clear now then when? i took on Oct 1 liao... still thinking where to bring R to, in my v pte ltd walking capacity! hahaha

Jen(snowpooher)
R u still looking ard for hooded cartoons towels ?? U may try pasar malam at clementi ctrl..Or kiddy palace or taka ...

Times fly fast...

Can i oso join the threads here too......??

My boy is oso born in yr 2006 n he's oso turning 3yrs old..DOB:18/10/06.. Daz n mths passes by seeing him growning up but everytime up to mischaves.... He's oso a big Kor Kor to a 'di di' who's is coming to 14mths old...

Crystallized
Oh well at least you got the room ready right? Sometimes false alarm is good, help us to get ready. Do you have any instinct when bb is coming? For me hor, I have very strong instinct leh, somehow I knew roughly when Jaslyn's arrival.
Oh I was at King's Building last week with sis. Saw they have nice kids' beds (toddler and single). Got themes for car, mcdonald's, dolphin, ship, bus etc.
Aiya tell you when got chance. I very sian with this ppl. Su kua su kua show black face. Anyway I have applied for 1st too. Also thinking where to go, but sure v pack leh. I can't go too far, got 2 with me.

harriemom,
thank you, I've went clementi pasar malam and kiddy palace but they dun sell.

<font color="0000ff">Happy 3rd birthday to all kiddos in Sep &amp; Oct..</font>
time passes soo fast &amp; at times i cant believe that our kiddos have grown so much..hope everyone have an enjoyable birthday celebrations!

Jenny
Yah on hindsight, I told myself it was a gd thing tt we had a scare, at least the room is ready! Now i realised I 4got abt myself. Need to get disposable undies!!! My sis gave me the leftover maternity pads so i dun need to get anymore. Aiyoh, i feel so ill-prepared 4 myself. Next is to pack my hospital bag.
For me, i had nesting instinct since i was 32 weeks. Kept bugging hb to quickly shift stuff lor. Erm, these few days I got feeling like she is coming soon but I am in denial coz she's only 35wks+ leh and I really wan her to be an Oct baby! So kept asking her to tahan lah, dun come out yet. This morning I had lower abdomen cramps, like menses cramps. Haven had tt at all since pregnancy. Wonder if this is oso a sign??? Gynae visit tmrw... can ask her...
Aiyoh she muz tahan lah!!! 3 more days to Oct! Best if she can come out aft 38 weeks. I haven handed over my work yet!!!

For bed, i cant get the normal size coz not enuff space to squeeze beside my bed. So need to get those fr Ikea tt is of smaller dimensions. This bed muz get it by this week liao!!! I dun like those theme beds leh. Look quite bulky for some, and i juz dun like the idea. I feel i need to accomodate the furniture to suit the theme of the bed.
U got 2 wif u, but hb ard rite? I am alone wif R, lagi dunno where to go with my big tummy; yet I wanna spend some time wif him.
Then i kena flu on sat... v worried I will go into labour when I am feeling so weak. Had mild fever yest too, but luckily tdy I am better liao. Its really quite a scare!

Harriemom
wow! The age gap of ur 2 boys v close oso! Bet u muz hv ur hands full!

Dor
Yest was D's bdae rite? HOw did the celebrations go?

Crystallized,
It's coming in slowly liao. Sekali this one might be early wor. Sounds like mid oct bb. I had that kind of pain v early.
Oh I saw toddler beds also, if I remember correctly, the toddler bed has no theme, just those simple bed design.
I feel theme bed need to change once the kids outgrown of the age. If the bed spoil then change ok lah, if not like very wasted, and it takes up huge space. One thing I dun like is the staircase, very dangerous for our kids' age.
No lah, hb away. I'm left alone with the 2. Weekend lagi worse, need to bring them for their classes with their barangs barangs and there's no private transport into their class venue, challenging to bring 2 on mrt then bus then walk another 15mins in!

Jenny
I know! But still i told her to hang in there... as long as she is full term then she is "allowed" to come anytime... and best to be oct baby... dun b too early. i still got things haven settled yet hor. If i am feeling better aft sleeping later, will quickly run out to get the remaining stuff I need.
Actually for the tod bed tt we wanna get for R, he will outgrow one of these days too but right now we dun hv a choice lah. its the only dimension we can squeeze beside our bed, and since the frame is less than $100, dun think so much liao. R was in fact v excited when we set up the single bed in the next room. He kept saying he wanna sleep there and i had to coax him tt its meant for me (coz i am sick) and if he sleeps on the bed, no one is able to sleep beside him since we got no more mattress. Then he said, "Papa sleep on the floor next to me!" *faint* i said he is so heartless, make his papa sleep on the bare floor!

So i guess when we get him a new bed, he'll be equally as excited too!
its gd so there is no fuss when he sees meimei in his cot. I hv been telling him tt he is outgrowing the cot alrdy... get him prepared!
Wah u jia-lat... hb is away and gotta manage 2 on ur own. My turn will come oso. Wah their class venue sounds so far away. Tts why i hate classes during wkends oso. We r being tied to tt time and hv to do tt every wk. The feeling juz irks me. But we all will hv to be slaves to our kids eventually. Sigh....

Crystallized,
ya, thats why I got the single beds for the gals, partly cos they are tall, so if buy toddler beds will outgrown very fast.
So you plan to start Reubern on the bed before meimei's arrival?
Aiya already few weekends liao lah, lucky the gals quite cooperative with me. Just that bringing them out far is challenging.
Well, if got transport is not far. The issue is, there's no public bus travelling on that route on weekends. Got bus timing on weekdays but I think the last bus is at 7pm, also can't make it cos weekday class ends close to 9pm. And cab dun go in there, unless I call lor. The sch does provide transport but is paid on mthly basis, bo hua for me to pay for a mth and only take a few trip.
That's why I feel the class venue must be convenient to parents cos is a weekly routine lor. But I like the environment and coaches there, so will continue them there. You know hor, my friend stays in east hor and she still sends her kid there.

Jenny
I def hv to get R's new bed b4 meimei's arrival else where will meimei sleep??? She is def not gg to co-sleep wif me, I din start when I had R and def am not planning on it all the more coz i wanna BF her.
Actually the grand plan was to let R sleep alone in his room b4 meimei arrives. But we had to shift a few mths back and it disrupted all the preparation tt i had made all the while. Now i cant even leave the room when R is awake. he wants me to stay till he is asleep. So the plan now is to let meimei sleep alone in the other room. Will need to get a baby monitor once CL leaves. The single bed is oso set up in the room in anticipation tt i'll b too lazy to crawl back to my bed aft bfg her. hahaha

R is quite cooperative when he goes out wif me alone oso. I will give him a prep talk b4 we set off and he's usually in his best behaviour.

R u talkg abt the class on sun morning? tts the only wkend class the girls r hvg rite?

Crystallized,
Jolene is always very cooperative with me, it's that little Jaslyn who always goes against me, that's why I said challenging.
Yes, that's only weekend class, but recently the timing a bit haywire cos I need to work along with Jaslyn's coach timing, so I shifted Jolene's class as well. A bit paiseh with Jolene's coach lor, cos I keep having make-up class for her on Sat AM or Sun PM
Hopefully will be back to normal after Oct.

JRT
Thanx for asking. R's celebration will be a small 1 at home this time right?

I celebrated D's bday on Sat. Chalet n bbq which i think will be the same for next yr too....hahaha
Cos he keep wanting to go back to chalet.
I got him a pinata cos he asked for it after seeing it on TV. N I think the kids enjoyed themselves cos of the pinata. Even Ember was in a good mood that day. Best of all no rain so we enjoyed our BBQ.....haha
Aiyah left the cam in the car I show u all his bday cake next time.

Happy 3rd birthday to all the cute kiddos here! And congratz all mommy for the great job for looking after them! heeee...

Vivian
Next is my turn to post up kim and rhys :p
her celebration is on 16th oct at school.
when kim reached home i ask her did u celebration friend birthday in school? she tell me sing birthday song for rhys.. haha..
Sad to say i'm not holding any celebration for kim except for her classmates so i think let her celebrate at school she will be happier.
For family, just cooking and mini mini one. All is for her to be happy probably bring her out to park. her favourite cycling activity.

JRT
time flies really fast.. And soon in another few weeks you are giving birth. Congratz in advance ya! cause i seldom login forum. heee..

have really been busy and hope all of you are doing well!

enrolling kat in same sch as kim soon. dunno how she will react hee..

Adeline
Busy aah business doing very well??.....hehehe

Wah so fast our kids growup liao.......n we also older liao.....hahaha

<font color="ff0000">HAPPY 3rd BIRTHDAY to all the KIDDOS!!</font>

Here's D's cake. Actually feel very proud of myself cos it looks quite nice.....hahaha
Cos was very worried his cake will be ugly cos its jus chocolate on top lor but heng the trucks on top are very brightly colored!!

And I couldn't find his Rolley so it was not on the cake. Then on Mon I was mopping the floor n took it out from under the drawers. 1st thing D said was "Rolley never put on my cake!!"....BTH

3046490.jpg

Jenny
Its tougher to manage 2 kids alone. So u signed up for Jaslyn as well? If i am not stayg so far away, I am quite keen as well.

Dor
Yah we had a small celebration in R's sch &amp; had dinner at restaurant last night. Brought him to an indoor play area, both he and my niece had so much fun!
Luckily I am not ambitious and plan alot of activities yest, i cld hv died in the play area for hvg to bend my body every now and then to move ard. And my hb, sis were ard to help out. So i can juz sit one corner and rest.

Adeline
Thks for ur early blessings. Yes, am gg to deliver in a few wks time. Really keeping fingers crossed tt she can tahan at least another 2 more wks.

Jrrt
OCTOBER ALREADY!!.......hehehe

I dun like to go those play areas too. Very tiring leh but I am keen to try Polliwogs cos seems like ALOT of places to move around. But but 1 woman n 2 kids......I dun dare to try......not with D still having that phobia.

Dor
I brought R to polliwogs @ East Coast tt day lor. Wah man, it will kill me if not for my hb whom was ard!

YES! Finally Oct liao! hahahahahaha

<font color="aa00aa">Happy Birthday to JASLYN!!!</font>