(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Hi Jenny,

How did your friend used the bedrails when the bedframe are dismantled? I tot you need to fix the bedrails to the bedframe for support, did your friend fixed it directly on the mattress?

Lilboymum,
Where u buy Horizon fresh milk?

Jenny,
Huh? Dugro so much cheaper! Gain IQ 900g already $26 now. Did Dugro have this 400g tin? then i can buy for trying. kekeke...
i tot u mention u gave Jaslyn full cream milk.
btw, full cream milk = fresh milk. please correct me. hehe...
same as ur friend, my sister also co-sleep with her 3 kids in a room. they seem enjoying.

the elder boy already 9 yrs old.

jasmine...
still checking out the choices out there. not sure if Horizon has full cream, think they have. can get it from cold storage.

coz CY still on bm, so no point introducing fm, then introduce whole milk again.anyway, am introducing slowly, see how he takes it. even if he does take to it well, will only give him with his breakfast muesli, warmed up...

Hi jenny,
Haiz, u noe my place lah. Everything in the storerm... everytime run out muz run up dwn very troublesome. Dun tell me put in kitchen cabinet cos my mum stuff all her things there so that she dun nd to go dwn.

<font color="aa00aa">jasmine</font>
thanks... why u say ur album not exciting leh?? cos u already viewed all e photos b4hand liaoz???

<font color="aa00aa">jenny</font>
we are considering our options of where to place A to sleep... headache cos our masterrm no space liaoz.. study also "not safe".. then e last rm is e maid's rm...
btw, hubby did not "box" A in his sleep.. it was on Saturday when another relative was carrying A beside hb n hb was trying to open something, so his hand fling upwards n hit A on e nose.. how hard e impact i reli dont know... but e doc did say e nosebleed may not be bcos of e "impact".. e only thing doc said is mayb bcos tis blood vessel weak... so suddenly burst.. also duno how come... *haiz*....

<font color="0000ff">bb yogurt</font>
other than yoplait n horizon hor.. any other brands of yogurt with full milk tat our 1yr olds can eat huh??? cos past week A not poo-poo-ing well... he used to poo everyday, but now like become alternate days n somemore hard hard n a little bit only... wana get some yogurt for him to eat.... but yoplait got e recall, n horizon is not avail anywhere near me now.. only when i go back to work on wed then can buy....

Crystallized,
yeah... congrats on R walking... dun say your son lazy lah... see... he now not lazy liao.... haha.... must take some video on him walking leh... must be very cute... I always laff when I watch the video on Rhys' first walk... he excited, I also even more excited.
Now is your turn to start having backaches like me... haa.... me and hb got to run after R now just to make sure he dun bang on anyone when he start to dash ard...If you see the video I took on R running ard in vivo yesterday... think you will understand what I mean... haa....

lilboymum,
Happie Belated Birthday to CY! I loved the car agar agar! Cute! And the pix of him and the big bottle... priceless!!!

Jenny,
Rhys has been taking Friso thruout... now Friso 3 liao... so far so good.

Starz,
aiyo... got a scare when reading your post... Ayden now better?? sia si wo le...

PHOTOSHOP
===========
Actually Photoshop is not the only software that can edit pix. Jenny is right but Photoshop is one of the most popular one coz of the jam-packed features and effective, efficient processing. Although the common features on photo editing is also offered by other softwares (as Jenny stated), Photoshop does have other very good features too. Powerful ones. In fact, even the common features,Photoshop does a better job compared to some. Just that sometimes we dun really see the difference at all or even use some of the powerful features that is in there.

Jenny, in fact Photoshop just had a new version CS3 early this year or late last year. Think just 1 year ago, they just launch CS2. It is super powerful for serious photo editing but the down side is that it requires dual processor to fully utilised the power features.

What I suggest is this, if you are considering BUYING photoshop for photo editing, try out the free ones that are similar out there first, such as the one in your camera package (this will not do a lot in-depth editing but good enuff for simple ones) or Paint.NET(haven use this before but looks quite good to me) etc... This is becoz Photoshop is NOT CHEAP. And if you are only doing simple editing, then you dun need to use Photoshop. But if you are seriously looking at editing of photos and doing other things, download the trial version and give it a try. For a newbie, you might need a little bit of time getting use to the software as well as a lot of practices to master the art of editing.
The good part of Photoshop is that you have no problem in finding books in libraries that can teach you cool stuff of photoshop. Well... plus I am here if you need help.... hee...

So it is up to you lor... hee.... need more help, PM me lah.. hee...no charges... :p

<font color="0000ff">Jasmine</font>,
Just checked, the pic in the URL for Dugro 1.8kg from NTUC website is <font color="0000ff">correct</font>. Anyway, PSC Econ Minimart has a promo now, buy 700gram refill pack at $8.70, comes with a container. I just bought a box.
Dugro small pack is the refill pack which is 700gram. Not sure if they got those sachets pack??
No lah, I haven't start Jaslyn on full cream milk yet, is Jolene leh. Jolene drinks all type of milk.
The full cream milk I refer to is those in packet one, any brand from Marigold, Dutch Lady etc. Looks like this:
http://www.fairprice.com.sg/ProductDetails.aspx?productID=0000011570930

Agnez,
Hmm... Not sure with this, gotta check with her. Anyway her boys q big le, #1 already K1, #2 going to 3, #3 in playpen.

freshpoison,
kekeke... is like tat one lah. BTW, your mum stays with you??

Vivian,
I agreed, a newie using Photoshop will die from blood loss cos will be busy vomitting blood hahahaha... I always think PS is more suitable for professional camera/multimedia ppl hahaha.. I loaned the book from library before, the book knows me, I dunno him kekeke... I have this software with me for many years, but dunno how to use it until recently asked my colleague for help, plus spending some time playing with the software. Till now I still half blur with the software.

Jenny,

My girl also sleeps in the master bedroom with us, but she sleeps on the single mattress on the floor.

I push the mattress against the wall, and fenced the other 3 sides with the playyard and on top of that I put footrest against the playyard to help to stop the playyard from moving when my girl stand up & lean on it.

Sometime when my girl push hard enough, the playyard will move and footrest not strong enough, my girl will end up fall backward & land on the mattress

Agnez,
Wat I intend to do is: Transfer Jaslyn from cot to mattress on floor, let her sleep beside Jolene, but a lower level down cos my bedroom has a platform (I did a wrong move to do a platform in the room cos tat time I dun have the intention to have kids.) I dun have a bed, my king size mattress lays on the platform like a "fake" platform bed. So either I close the door of the room or I leave it open, but close the toilet doors and lock up the kitchen gate.
So far it worked on Jolene. When she woke up earlier than hb and me, she would stay inside the room to play with my creams and clock until we woke up. But I doubt it will works on Jaslyn cos this gal very notti and active. There's once, hb picked her up from cot and we continued to sleep. She actually went out of the room to play in living room.
Jaslyn has mastered "shutting off her ears" no matter how we shout for her, she will not come to us when she's enjoying herself. I'm a failed mummy to Jaslyn, cos she will not listen to me

Jenny,
you reminded me something...
Rhys yesterday also gave us a shock...
He was peacefully taking his nap in our room, on the bed and we din close the door properly, leaving a small gap so that is easier for us to go in and check on him.
Then hb in his study rm, I in kitchen.
Suddenly I can hear his anklet's bell ring... thinking he must have stirred or woke up... faster put down my things and was abt to chiong in coz sometimes he will wake up from nap and start to cry one....
Then, when I just step out of kitchen, I saw this boy of mine walking towards me at the room corridor liao...
We never expect him to wake up, came down the bed by himself QUIETLY, open the door and came out... haa... so shock until dun know to be happy or what... haa...

Jenny, Starz, Vivian, Jasmine
yah the way they try to "fly" while walking is so funny. i oso enjoy watching him walk. in fact everyone in the household is so excited to see him walking.

<font color="0000ff">FORMULA MILK</font>
R is taking GAIN IQ now. i dun intend to chg coz he is a fussy baby n the fact tt he takes so well to FM the 1st time we introduced it to him is machiam like hit jackpot. so while this FM is not cheap, i figured switching brands might upset him, so i will stick to this brand. in my personal opinion, i will not switch to another FM juz becoz of the costs. to me, if i can spend on R's stuff, wats a few more dollars for his milk powder. spending a few more dollars for his milk is not gg to make me any poorer. Hope i dun offend any mummy here. its juz my own view. everyone has a right to their own choice n i am not saying anyone is wrong.

<font color="aa00aa">jasmine & jenny,</font> i tasted similac b4 n i feel it taste as bland as BM, except tt similac is sweeter. i heard Gain IQ is sweeter than similac. but R drank these 2 types w/o fuss. so i think the taste is negligible considering he is a v fussy baby. i am v thankful coz i thot i wld hv nightmares trying to adjust him to FM. gosh, Gain IQ increased in price ah... i din noticed. so far i only bot 2 400ml tins n last wk i bot a 900ml tin.

<font color="119911">asking on a fren's behalf... any babies here taking NAN/ NAN HA? the babies sleeping thru the nite?</font>

Starz
AIYOH, i wld hv freaked out when i saw the pool of blood. luckily A is alrite.

Hello ladies

Taking a break from drawing flowcharts. Deadline this friday haiz

Sleeping arrangement
====================
I am also wondering when i should upgrade zac from cot to mattress or bed. The problem is he is in the most inquistive stage, everything also wanna pull out. so if i upgrade him to bed/ mattress then he will walk around in his room and starts pulling all his clothes out from the shelves. Moreover he is sleeping alone we cant keep an eye on him. I think most likely wait till he is 2 when he can take instruction better then train him to sleep on bed/ mattress, hopefully he doesnt outgrown the cot by then.

bb yogurt
========

starz, i think u can try meiji brand. not sure if its for baby but i have friend feeding her baby with that brand yogurt. btw i am still feeding zac with yoplait but the petite miam type. the one on recall is the vanilla and banana, bigger tub.

Jenny
when did u start jolene with the full cream milk? i am trying to increase zac's milk intake, he has sort of got out from his milk strike so nw managed to squeeze in 400ml a day, feeding him pedisure chocolate but super expensive leh. thinking of other alternative to improve his liking towards milk.
sometime i also wonder if i overfed him, after his feed his tummy super big and my hubby will ask me if i overfed him. His porridge per servings is about 1 adult bowl porridge plus 1 small tub yogurt, not too much right?

Hi jenny,
Yah, my mum staying wif me but that was the initial plan even though I bought the place b4 I got preg. So now better still, no nd travel to and fro... Dun trust bb wif maids.

Vivian,
Be happy lah kekeke... hahaha... Jaslyn did this countless time le. When she naps, we usually put her on our bed, and close the door, din close fully lah, like you close and leave a small gap.
This one I gotta tell you... There's once, this notti gal woke up and played in the room herself... well, you know lah, when kids are quiet, they are up to no good! There's this side table beside my bed, like staircase like tat lor, a smaller deck then to a higher deck.. She climbed and stood there, playing with the alarm clock, lotions and worse.. my bed light!

crystallized,
Talking abt cost.. in fact this is not my main reason to switch to "lower grade or lower brand" FM whatever you call them. I read in some threads, what I'm more concern is the "chemical" watever tat are called that they are taking in. I rather them to take lesser of these stuff. I find that the more stuff in the FM makes the bb more sick, especially phlegm prob.
As for Gain IQ is sweeter than Similac, yes it is. Most bbs who took Similac have no problem taking Gain IQ. Try switching from Gain IQ to Neslac, I'm sure a lot of bbs won't want to drink Neslac. Just like drinking ribena to plain water, kids will go for ribena which is more tasty.
Jaslyn used to take NAN1 and NAN2, she slept thr the nite.

Shirley,
If I remember correctly, Jolene has her 1st cold magnolia fresh milk from McDonald's at 16 mths old. Her 1st full cream milk is slightly after 16 mths old. Thats the time she on FM milk strike, hence resort to give her other type of milk. Since then, if I go out for short trip like 3-5 hrs, I will give her a bottle of FM to drink before we go out, so that I dun need to bring any FM or bottle with me. If really suay, she asked for milk outside, I just buy a pack of milk offshelf.

hi crystallized,

aiyo, ur R is not the lazy one around. i think tricia should be the most lazy girl. give up on her trying to walk now. sometimes we put her on her legs, walk with her,after a few steps, she dun wan to walk anymore, want to sit down.she's taking her own sweet time to decide when she want to walk...

i know what u mean by not changing the FM cos of the price. for me, tricia has been on Friso since birth. she's taking it very well, so i will not change to another brand.

hi starz,

if i were u, i think i will freak out too on seeing the blood on the bed. hope that A will be fine soon.

jenny
i noe lah, u chgg not coz of costs lah. ur theory is right, of coz when they r used to drinking 'ribena" they wun wanna drink plain water liao. 4 me, i din try so many brands coz i only had Gain IQ's sample. so i thot to let R try n see if he is ok wif it. else, i might hv to try other brands too. now tt he is ok wif it, i might juz stick to it.
i oso feel tt diff babies diff rxn to the same brand of FM, so as long as R is ok wif it, i juz stick wif Gain.

Ohh, my fren will b happy to hear tt jaslyn slept thru while taking NAN.

Gemini
R used to b like T. cannot force him. force somemore he will throw tantrum liao. so we juz leave it. n i believe he actually noes how to walk, juz tt he is taking his own sweet time to do it. i believe T is oso like tt.
no hurry lah, let her take her time. perhaps she is bidding her time when to show u!

Jenny,
ya lor... when quiet quiet hor, I will go check on him lor...
Last weekend so funnie...
He was walking here and there, living rm then study rm, then kitchen then our room... then suddenly he disappear... then I ask my ah lao where is his son, then he told me, "Your son climb up the bed and was reading his books quietly." and true enuff, he was reading there.
And the funnie part is he will read for a few mins, finish 1 book liao, come down the bed, walk to living rm, play play then walk back to the rm, climb up the bed, read the same book all over again... bth... but heng is just read book... not pull this touch that can liao.... *touchwood*... haa....

crystallized,
Actually hor, I din try many brands for FM lah. When Jolene turned 1, I straight away put her on Dumex Dugro cos is lao zi hao. I din even let her have a taste of Gain IQ. It was after some mths, I was thinking Jaslyn will be upgrade to Neslac after her NAN2 when she turns 1, so instead of having 2 FMs at home, I rather they all take 1 same brand, that's why I changed Jolene to Neslac. But then after I changed (just these few mths only), I realised Neslac always out of stock!! I have heart attack chionging to many supermarkets and found Neslac out of stock at all supermarkets. Only managed to get from ulu medical halls.
Actually partly becos there's a period of time hor, Nestle rice cereal was out of stock whole island wide! I contacted Nestle and guessed what they told me? "Oh yes, rice cereal out of stock whole island, we know that... you have to wait for next shipment lor, but we don't know when the next shipment will be coming in". I was like huh??? your stock when coming in you don't know??
Sort of disappointed with their customer service lor.

Vivan

Hahaha u so lucky. Rhys likes to read book, dont have to worry he up to mischief. Now if zac suddenly disappear and not making noise he must be near the table doing his business. he is very funnie, he likes to sit near under the table and quietly do his business. after doing, he will continue walk here and there. sometimes i will hide and observe him and sometimes he can 'ke' sai till face red red but when i check the stool quite soft leh. but really a funny sight.

Hi vivian,
Rhys good can entertain himself, mine wont. If nobody play wif him, he wont stay long at any place. He requires someone to be there wif him.

Hi Shirley,

My girl drinks about +/-700ml of milk each day, she has 4 feeds each day: 1st thing in morning when she wake up at about 6am, 2nd feed at 10+, 3rd feed at 3+ and last feed before she sleeps.

But she did not take 1 adult bowl of porridge, sometime she only finish 3/4 bowl (Baby bowl type the one that come together with matching cup, spoon & fork)& a small slice of fruit.

In the infant care, they only give her porridge for lunch, morning & evening time is cereal only, if she is still hungry when we fetch her home, I'll give her some bread with cheeze.

haha mummies, dun envy me...
i very bad daughter lah... last time mummy look aft me, now muz look aft my son. She always say last time clean my backside, then clean my nephew's backside, now clean my son's backside. Her whole life spend cleaning backside... haha

jenny

haha wanna let him have his peace when he is doing da hao mah. maybe he will feel pai seh if he knows i am looking haha!

freshpoision
our boy sama sama lah! i go where he will follow unless he find something more interesting to do like pulling down my bags from the shelves then i have to follow him liao.

Starz,
as i mentioned in my earlier post, i not so 'many yi' abt the photoshoot, so hoping something will excited me when i receive my album. then again, the album so so nia.

Jenny,
hehe..my eyes blur. is Jolene who drink fresh milk.

ur Jasyln still better, playing with ur alarm clock. My Alvis worse, he got a habit throw things. whenever he go near my side table, he will throw everything laid on my table, e.g watch, handphone, alarm clock, pen...

Crystallized,
no lal, i also never think of switch milk powder becos of the price. Alvis drink 2 bottle in daytime, 1 btl EBM & 1 btl FM. when i back frm work, can see tat EBM always finish but FM leftover a lot!
i am suspect he dun like too sweet stufs. (he prefer plain water than ribena..i gave him once)

Vivian,
wa...Rhys like read book!
A only like throw book. wahahaha...

Mommy, check with u all hor. A got this bad habbit. he like to throw things. whatever u give him, he will just throw. worse is, when i give him biscuit (gerber puffs), he also throw!

When i brought him to PD for jab, he cried badly, then the nurse give him sweets, he just throw away. me so pai seh.

Any idea how to change this bad habit?

agnez

envy envy so much milk intake. hmm maybe i will cut down his porridge and see if the milk intake increase

freshpoison
haha my mum said the same thing to me. i think our mums really very nice, sometimes i wonder if i will want to take care of my grandchildren or not. hee hee me very selfish hor.

Shirley,
haa... not everytime he so good, read book one... most of the time he will go to kitchen, open dustbin, pull kitchen drawers, drag things from shelf.... aiyo endless... haa... now we close kitchen door liao...
Haa.... zac so cute... like finding a nice spot for poo poo.. haa... R also same lah... gei sai until face red red... haa...

Freshpoison,
last time R also cannot be alone. But slowly he will learn to play with his toys quietly lor (coz sometimes me and hb bo chap him... hee...). And now that he master the walking and climbing... piangz... he dun need us to entertain him liao...

Jasmine,
all along from young, Rhys love books. When we read to him, he will smile and laff and shake his butt when seated (think last time I shared a video of R seeing flash card when he is 6mths old or something). hee... So now, he only 1 year old, I already got a mini library for him liao... haa... this mummie of his just cannot resist buying books, even library have a lot lor... pok liao lah...

Jasmine

u are not alone, zac always like to throw things. I hope its a passing phase and if he throws forbidden things i will scold him and smack his hands. but hor, sometimes it works sometimes it doesnt. so instead i will give him things he can throw like ball and toys and kept the rest of things from him.

Shirley,
yes yes..i really hope its a passing phase!
i frm sweet talk to scold then now beat his hands, but he still doing it.
actually his 1st things to throw is toys, then now became habit, will throw everything.

vivian,
yes yes...i love to watch ur video!

u know what A doing when i show him flash card? he bites the flash card. OMG...maybe he tot those fruits on the flash card can eat cos i saw him real papaya after show him flash card.

freshpoison,
wah... yr mum's description hahahahaha... so many things can use to describe she used backside to describe hahaha...

Jasmine,
You know why only alarm clock? Cos I kept all my stuff except the alarm clock and lotions on the side table cos Jolene played with my alarm clock last time, either she threw and spoiled it, if not she would adjust my wake up call timing and made me late for work!!!

Talking abt throw... Let me share with you gals another funny scene tat Jaslyn did few mths back... Wah, today machiam a lot of funny scenes by our kids hor??? kekeke...

Ok, this was what happened... Few months ago... One Sun at my aunt's place, my aunt took a slice of bread and gave to Jaslyn. Guess what Jaslyn did? She took it and started to tear it tiny tiny pcs (like tearing tissue like tat). Then she started to play with the bits on the floor with both her hands, swept here swept there. No one noticed (we dinno my aunt gave her bread). My aunt was chit chatting with us... suddenly she shouted "AIYO...." and grabbed Jaslyn's hands and said "I give you bread to eat, you play with it..." Everyone of us were laughing... my mum laughed the loudest! Know why? My mum has been beating Jaslyn's hands whenever she tried to pick something up from the floor to eat. So, Jaslyn got this idea... things on floor cannot eat. Partly tat time, we haven't train her to self eat.

Jasmine, same for the throwing action. My mum beats Jaslyn's hands whenever she throws. So that she knows it is wrong for her to throws things. Like Shirley's Zac Zac, sometimes it works on Jaslyn sometimes dun. BUT she definate throws when she fa pi qi!

Shirley, freshpoison,
ha... I also tot of this issue... maybe my thinking will changed when I grow old. Ask me to take care of bb/kids, I think I will surrender hahaha...
<font color="0000ff">freshpoison</font>, dun say so early hor... sekali you change yr mind when you see your grandchilden hahahaa...

hi mummies. so active lately hur. i posted somethings on fri nite but got probs then forgot what i wanted to post. anyway, leaving for bangkok tomorrow. sianz... another long trip. back only fri. fri hb birthday. wanted to give him a surprised party. asking patissier now if they can make a special cake according to my design for me.

spent the entire weekend wif caleb. attended hb's cousin's wedding too. took some shots of caleb at home last nite. think these are the best we took so far of him smiling. here's the montage to share. hb did this.

1044793.jpg

Walking
=======

talking of walking, remind me of my MIL... let me vent my grouses...

every sun, we "report" at my MIL place. after since tricia b'day, my MIL without fail, will say to tricia "stand up and walk, dun crawl anymore"...and will put her on her legs and hold her arms to walk. she will also say to me, she's afraid to fall, i did tell her she's not afraid to fall, she's climbing up & down at home....last nite, let her stand up and say that, "her legs are weak"...

after hearing this, i was v angry but i kept quiet, as i'm afraid that i will explode if i talk to her. i maybe a bit sensitive or anything my MIL say, it will be a sarcastic/no good remark.
i felt that she maybe thinking that we are not doing anything to make her walk.
maybe i shld tell my MIL why not take care of her for 1 wk and see whether she can teach her how to walk. but having say this, till now, my MIL cant even tahan taking care for half a day!

i'm sorry, this may seem a trivial matter to some of u but sometimes my MIL words seem like we (me & my mum) dun know how to take care of kids.

Hi jenny,
becos i always tell her , "Kayden got present for you" whenever he shits... and my boy has GOOD digestive system. MIN twice a day since he turned 1 mth...

Hi selina,
Caleb has nice hair. My boy is botak again cos my mum wans to rub 'rice wine' on his head... Too little hair since birth. Been using brandy previously but stopped for a few mths so that he can grow some hair for his birthday.