(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Kim's fav word now = wah lau..
So sian!

Last time whenever u ask her 'what is ur name' she just say out her friend's name like megan etc etc so i taught her 'how old r u, what is ur name' all this and she finally understood what it means. u ask her in mandarin then she say jing wen.. i thought it's an achievement for me! but the wah lau thingy sort of make me sad and i feel it's very rude for a kid to say that.

another new thing she learnt.. 'erm erm erm.. mommy.. erm erm erm erm erm... erm erm erm... i want.. erm erm erm erm erm.. YAKAULT'
How to stop her?? i dun want kat to learn all this as well.

abt bbq catering:
http://www.bbqhouse.com.sg/
Just last week i tried the above and i think the food is affordable and not too bad..

health supplements
I dun give the kids any. i just let them recover themselves. it's ok right?

Maid
feel like getting 1 too to relieve myself. Too difficult to maintain the hse with no help except hubby and do everything myself. very tired..But seeing all the experiences that i heard, quite scary.

Wendy,
Editing photos take long time. 4-6 weeks is norm. I'm still waiting for mine which was taken in early Jul.
I ever waited for 4 mths+ and I had to chase the photographer.

crystallized, coral,
I'm also one who can't stand maid. I'm not that kind who will scold maids when they do things wrong or not up to my standard. Same applies to my PT cleaner. I won't say her, but will do after she left (heng so far my PT cleaner is ok). I think hire a maid will ended qi gek myself even more. For me, if I not happy, I show face, but you know most maids very li hai de, they act blur dun understand lor.
So far only the current maid is ok, and I can joke and "scold" her in a joking manner.

Coral,
I think you need to be stricter with your current maid. Talk to her and name out the list of timetable with housework. Tell her straight, she not happy to work, she is freed to go anytime. Dun let maid knows that employers need to rely on them.

crystallized,
400 bucks+
From the way you described yr sis's maid, she is simply lazy!

Gemini,
do your mum place has many housework to do daily? If not get a PT cleaner lor. We just do the minor ones, the major ones leave to the PT cleaner. For my routine now, since the gals are older and more sensitive now, I asked my PT cleaner to come once a fortnight. Actually can go w/o one now, but I lazy to clean windows haha... And also, I'm going to train the gals to help with more housework now.

Doreen,
Jaslyn like Damien, will cry for v v minor things. I'm now reading the di zi gui where there is a topic on teaching kids. I find them v meaningful.

pups,
Those figurines hor, I think after use gotta throw. If not you can try to wash and see how lor. No lah, I didn't see them, it was Jaslyn who brought to me and pestered me to buy. I told her to hang them back haha..

Adeline,
supplements is not a must. I seldom give. It's like I remember I give haha.. and only giving chewy C, like gummy bear sweets just that they are vegetarian.

Wendy,
u know...both hb & me always think that Mav not naughty as A. he really make us headache lel. Now even can use fake cry to get what he wants.
For time being, think a will stay with IL as their side more ppl to look after him. won't think hb can handle him alone.

crystallized,
That maild really 'da pai' lal, can even answer your BIL tomorrow only wipe the bed. she really think she is the boss huh? I think hor she watch tv programme more than anyone in the house. hahaha..
maybe every pregnancy is diff. for this time your body need more nap than previous..it's true that should follow your body, sleep when you need it.
Last mth we weigh A, he also 15++ kg, but he still looks slim. even the taxi uncle ask him to eat more rice during the trip to IL place for dinner.

Dor,
D so cute...can tell u that!
sadly A still can talk much, basically i still dunno what he cry for. but sometimes he just pretend cry to get what he wanted. Like yesterday, he want to wear his yellow colour (his fav) underpants, but only leave others colour one, he rather din wear anything. When i try to let him wear, he just cry and cry. headache...

Jenny,
400 bucks..just PP? wow...you spend so much.
btw, if u order frm orangebear, can let me know.
Can share the di zi gui? how it look like?
it's a good idea to train the gals help you do housework..

Adeline,
buzy with your new business?
we just give A multivit & cod liver oil every morning. but he still falls sick on and off lel..

Dor
seems like D is v emotional little boy. 4 me, if i ask R and he cant provide me an answer instantly & his eyes r red, I will hug him close and comfort him. Thing abt kids is tt they 4get things easily. if i ask him abt it later, he cant rem the incident and starts pondering but cant rem anything. hahaha

Jenny
wah tts a lot and its spree! how many pcs did u buy? i am v curious! hahaha

yah the maid is lazy and super greedy. she can go and pretend to clean the wardrobe (my sis & i still got leftover stuff at my mum's plc), then clear out the stuff and ask my mum if we still wan it. initially my mum will show us the things and we sieve out wat we wan/dun wan. those we dun wan, we will throw. maid will immed say she wanna keep those stuff! Since then my mum stopped her fr clearing the wardrobes. my mum found a small btl of almost empty miniature perfume (its mine) in maid's bag. when asked, she said its my niece whom dropped it in her bag. NONSENSE! so we know we gotta b on our guard against her.
yah the maid will make us qi qek more. i can b v angry when i am describing to u all here but seriously she has nvr really kena fierce scolding fr me b4.

Jasmine
i am juz waiting 4 this maid to b fired. U r right, she watches the most TV programmes than anyone else in the family and eats more than any of us too!
A is oso 15+kg? Then it means his bones r heavier thus he look so slim. Is he 1m alrdy?

yah every preg is diff, and i think the next one will b worse off, so i am not abt to get preg again!!! I am experiencing weird bum aches now. v frustrating and I am not even in my 3rd tri yet! Will be arranging for pre-natal massage soon.
A still cant express much? issit coz there is not much ppl talking to him at home? I find tt R is not only a chatterbox but v gd at answering back and giving excuses now. Sometimes I just look at him and wonder where did he learn all that?! He says the funniest things!
A is in CC rite? need to give him time to get used to the env. its inevitable...

<font color="0000ff">Maternity Photoshot</font>
Anyone got lobangs to share? I had intended to take MJK but due to family committments, she's not taking in customers at the moment. I dun wan to go Studioloft as I've been there for 2 PS and dun really like it.

Jasmine,
Ya just pp alone nia.
Oh I just shipped a batch from orangebear this morning.
You can check out this website http://www.dfg.cn/gb/index.htm. There's a lot of interested articles to read.
I have lots of books, cartoon dvds and audio books on this. My gals love them and my hb is teaching them to recite the di zi gui. So far, Jolene can recite till part 4 and Jaslyn till part 3.
For teaching kids on manners and how to handle them, can read from these 2 URLs: http://www.dfg.cn/gb/jtjy/xzdd/index.htm and http://www.dfg.cn/gb/jtjy.htm

crystallized,
Erm... I dunno how many pcs lah... from my own sprees (I did twice) and I joined sprees as well hahaha...
Aren't you going back to your PS photographer for maternity photoshot?

Crystallized,
yeah...measure last mth at clinic he was 15kg. now i think more ba...maybe like you said he got heavy bone. although he looks skinny, but all of us body ache after carry him.
no lal...he still not yet reach 1m, thim ard 97cm ba...
he can talk more simple word but not in long sentence much and think he prefer action than talk. Like if he want to eat something, he will just drag u to open for him. That day i take out cane to threaten him, he told me '小baby' means that he is a baby yet.
A no longer in CC since that allergy case liao. he in PAP 2 hrs playgroup starting next mth. Just hope that he will continue stay in this school.

Jenny,
When u order again? can i tag along?
Really thanks for the links.
Both hb &amp; I love chinese stuffs &amp; we hope that A can learns some too. At 1st he hates to read chinese books but recently we bollow some chinese books frm library &amp; he started to love it.

Jasmine,
Hmm not sure, see if my friends got order or not lor. I let you know if got order.
If you let me know early morning, might be able to make it on time cos I only did the checkout this morning nia.
Chinese books need to introduce early, if not will have hard time to get the kids interested cos Chinese is a very different subject to learn compared to English. I had a hard time introducing to Jolene early this year. Then hb taught them to recite di zi gui and also read the di zi gui books to them. I had an easier time after that.
The website has many interesting articles. You can read when you are free. It talks about how to teach kids manners, how to handle them when they fuss, as well as how to handle husband and wife relationship, parents relationship etc. I find them very interested and funny.
I read an article about simple thing when having dinner, who to serve the dish 1st. Most of us serve to our kids first right? Actually the first one to serve to is the eldest. From the way we serve to kids first, over the time, we indirectly "tell" the kids that they are the princes and princesses in the family. They will grow to have a very self center thinking, everything must be first and later lead to proud. It's a very simple gesture but it affects the kids' growing phrase.

coral/dor..
Sean Lau (www.seanlau.com)
I called Adelena (SL's wife + assistant) &amp; she mentioned that SL will recommend baby photography from 6mths old onwards to age 1 bcoz of his concept..they shd be able to still take in kiddos abv age 1 but no conceptual kind of photography like those u saw in the website..my Ricky Brothers' shots are not ready so I share but u all can go under Baby Gallery to view his conceptual shots..end of day it's more on wat u all want for the shots..normal family photography session or conceptual ones?

crystallized..
i heard some friends telling me that usually for a start most maids that just came from their hometown will be like in a kind of "growth spurt", they will really eat alot but aft a while things will get more settled for them..but i find this maid of ur mum/sis/BIL shd really know where her stand is &amp; not take things for granted..if really not under control then either change or see if u can talk things out with the maid..most importantly is that the maid can help out to ease the household chores so that ur mum can hv a stressfree time at home with the kiddos..it's very nice that R &amp; ur niece can play well together also..ah..they bo-chap didi ah..hmm..maybe didi is still young + only milk, sleep &amp; poo..probably till didi has more awake time then they will switch the attn on didi ba...hey R is of a very gd weight leh..i think Mav hvnt reach the 15kg mark yet..his face just looked round &amp; big..haha..

coral..
it might be tough to tolerate the maid if times they cant perform the minimal &amp; becomes another "burden" u hv to look aft coz can be rather stressful since u hv to manage the 2 kiddos..u see if u like SL's concept ba..then decide whc period u want to do the photoshoot..i hope by end aug i can show some shots to all on their photography session with SL..

shirley..
wah..u let ur maid go jalan jalan ah..icic..but so far so gd then shd be ok la..i think maid is like a gamble one..see if u r lucky to get a gd one..lele also like to scream? hee..Brod too, very sharp kind till u want to shut off the ears..haha..

pups..
sigh..very angry with Mav at times till i m awaz happy when he's staying over at my mum's place once a wk..that day of the wk we will hv peaceful &amp; just moments with Brod..while Brod will stay over at my MIL's place once a wk then we will just concentrate on Mav alone..

dor..
if u r ok with just a norm studio photography session at SL w/o conceptual kind, i can chk out frm my #2's thread &amp; see if they can include u in..wat was is tht ur PD gave to D? is it singulair that was given to D to strengthen the lungs?

jenny..
u spend soo much ah? but i see those items u bot isnt as ex for girls but i think boys has lesser choices..icic..hmm..i m not sure if the ones i m gg to select will include any editing anot..only know it's high-res..hw does reading the di zi gui helps?ok, i will go chk out too..thks..

jasmine..
A is TALL!!! 97cm!!! Cool! u will be surprised by hw naughty Mav is now..i m sure he wont lose out when he cries..haha..now he's fast in pushing Brod to hit the ground when they are playing together or just snatch the toys away from him..i guess for time being la..soon u can have him back on a daily basis..

Jenny,
It's ok. if u are not ordering again, maybe i should check put spree. saw there is a lot of new items. hehe...
that's interesting abt di zi gui. i tot is just like san zi jin. should introduce to hb too..sometime i feels that he dunno deal with kids especially my A who are so special. haha...

Wendy,
Dun beat me hor. sometimes i still worry abt A's height cos hor his height like never grow since few mth lel and i worried he follow my height. kekeke...
wow...dunno that Mav also tat naughty. he can be good buddy with A liao since both also naughty boy. I guess cos both of them still cant express much?
That's a good idea to concentrate on one kid when the other one park at grandparents 's place. hmmm...unless i quit my job or strike toto then A can back home with me on daily basis..

Sean Lau BP (frm my #2's thread)

10 babies sign up @ $208 ($30 off Classic Baby Package)
20 babies sign up @ $188 ($50 off Classic Baby Package)
30 babies sign up @ $178 ($60 off Classic Baby Package)

Classic Baby Package www.seanlau.com
- 02 Hours Session for your baby with Sean Lau
- 05 Pictures of 5" x 7" (High Resolution)
- 01 Reprint on 8" x 12" with Framing (Table Top)
- DVD of selected images in High Resolution
- Every additional picture printed on 5"x 7" with high resolution softcopy is $30.
- Option to purchase the complete softcopy in high resolution for $250 instead of $300.
- The package will be valid for 1 year.
- 50% of the deposit is required upon signing up.

Extended offer:
- 10 babies:
Additional Pax to join in the session @ $35 per pax. If both parents join in for a family portrait, they will throw in an additional picture worth $30 (reprint + DVD)

- 20 babies:
Additional Pax to join in the session @ $25 per pax. If both parents join in for a family portrait, they will throw in an additional picture worth $30 (reprint + DVD)

- 30 babies
Waived for family portrait worth $70.

* Recommended age: Below 1 year
* Recommended photoshooting time: Weekday (August full! Sep still ok, choose 10am, 1pm, 4pm)

Email me with the following details if you are interested:
- Your real name
- Your baby's name/DOB
- Your Contact No

<font color="0000ff">**the organiser mummy replied me as follows: -
Yup yup you can purchase the package for older kids. Accoridng to them, Baby package shots will be more focused on babies' expression and details all these. So shots like those flower pot/sock/bucket/pail might not be so applicable to older kids for obvious reason. Therefore the effect/concept outcome might be different...</font>

Jasmine
R is oso ard 97cm now. means both boys same weight &amp; height.

U can encourage A to speak more. SO when he brings u to where he wants to go, you ask him wat is that? And if he keeps quiet, u tell him and ask him to repeat aft u. Does it help?
R sometimes will say he is a 小孩子, then I will say yes, but he is a big gor-gor now as well.
Talking abt cane, so funny, one day R was naughty and I brought the cane, asked R to stretch out his hand. U know wat he say, "Mommy, my hand is busy!" Wah liew! I was flabbergasted at his reply! So funny and the maid was giggling at his reply.

Jenny
Not gg back to the same photographer again coz last time it was FOC, and his usual pkg is v exp, think close to $500. i dun wanna spend so much.
Thks 4 sharing the links. I got a headache how to introduce chinese to R. but its better now tt he goes to sch. he will speak mandarin to us. My niece is more resistant to mandarin and speaks wif an accent. R is more receptive. And when I say sthg in mandarin, I ask him to repeat aft me, he will do tt.
I dunno wat chinese books to get 4 him (in fact R doesnt hv a huge collection of English books either). Now he is watching Doraemon cartoon and 十万个为什么?serials. Hopefully will help him along.

Wendy
Our maid is seasoned alrdy. she is not new. I think she was wkg in HK b4 she came over. So the "growth spurt" phrase not applicable to her. Hahaha. Though she said she can understd cantonese and speaks to my mum in a mixture of cantonese/english, we realised many times she din understd wat my mum says but still nod her head and said yes, she understds. i've told her many times not to b scared to ask if she dun understd. no one will fault her.
She's supposed to relieve my mum of chores but my mum has to oso watch over her like one of the kids, so in a way maid is a hindrance as well. Last night, my mum was saying there were times she is so mad wif the maid tt she can literally feel anger boiling inside. And my mum has high blood pressure/diabetes. really dun wish to create unneccessary pressure on her. Somemore she will soon hv to look aft my lil nephew and my baby early next yr, more stress!
Yah both tods will prob only wanna play wif di-di later when he can sit up.
So far i dun really bother abt R's weight coz i oso dunno wats the guideline. as long as he eats well, sleep well, play well and dun fal sick, i am happy alrdy.

jasmine..
sigh..both me &amp; hb are soo short, i m sure Mav will follow my genes..jialat liao..sigh..
i think for time being hor..i m enjoying the peace la..haha..no la..if u both dun mind the travelling part, is ok for A to come back to stay with u..or if not can get one of ur SIL to drive him over?but can be rather tiring also..i guess for time being, u better grab hold of the "couple time"..

crystallized..
oh..oh..then the maid is indeed not helpful at all with the maid ard, can change maid? if ur mum has to watch over her like another kid, it's rather stressful leh!!if can change, better to get it before u pop so that the new maid can really help out..not sit there like a "display unit" ..

hey, R is soo funny, hahaha..my hand is busy..lol..

Crystallized,
I noticed that most of the time A &amp; R about same height &amp; weight but they looks diff in real person.
but i never bother abt his weight now cos he really can eat. just that those outsider always mistaken that he din eat much. tell u hor..my hb during A's age also very skinny de. just dun hope A like his dad.

we all tried to talk to him more but this boy just dun like to communicate.
as per chinese book..now in introduce stage, dun buy a lot of chinese books 1st. you can try to bollow some frm library. I found that Pelangi series books are quite good for them. simple &amp; interesting to read.
R like to watch 十万个为什么?

Wendy,
Not just 1 spree alone lah, I meant overall for pp. I ordered twice myself and joined spree 4-5 times =P

Jasmine,
Wah liew, I'm here worried with my gals' height. They are too tall for their age now. Last weekend, a sales asked me if Jaslyn is 4 years old **pengz** I've not measure the height for a long time. The last time I measured was ~97cm...

Crystallized,
About 3 weeks ago, I went to meet my gals' teachers. I'm very glad about teachers' positive feedback about the gals' languages. They were having headache with the majority group of kids who only understand and speak English and refuse to open their mouths to speak Mandarin. Worse, dun even know their own chinese names. I was puzzled when they asked me which languages we spoke at home. I'm glad my bro insisted to teach Chinese first then follow by English. If not I think my gals will belong to the English group and refuse to speak Mandarin. Now I really understand the important of Chinese. My Chinese result was A during sch time, but now hor, I really had difficulties teaching the pi hua leh!

Wendy,
dun worries, some ppl their height will shoot up when they get older expecially boy. and even some will just stop there. i hope A is not the one.

Jenny,
same here. There is one woman ask her son called A 'gor gor' and later found out her son older than A 1 year old.
Think new generation height taller than us. so, in future Jaslyn still can find bf who taller than her lal.

We talk to A in mandarin most of the time, just then we introduce english books 1st. This A hor, when he speak mandarin like ang moh. Now better after we read more chinese book to him.

Wendy
This is alrdy the 3rd maid liao. each one got the same prob after a while. the 1st 2, we only chg aft 8 mths each time. this one is coming to 4 mths liao. and my mum alrdy said her blood can boil. in fact 4 the 2nd maid, i was the one tt asked my sis to chg it coz my mum was hvg this recurring headache for 2 wks coz she was so mad wif the maid. watever it is, to b angry wif the maid for so long and causing her blood pressure to raise is not healthy &amp; not worth it, so i had to tell my sis to chg the maid.
all these 3 maids are experienced, which is wat we wanted in the 1st plc coz no need to train fr scratch. but now my mum say if we were to chg maid again, to get a fresh one. i told her fresh one will make her vomit more blood.

So funny rite? I stopped myself fr laughing when he said tt.

Jasmine
then juz leave it lah. A is juz tt type of body shape. heee, even if he's gg to end up like his dad, u oso cant help it mah. my niece is abt 17kg and my sis is so worried she'll become obese. she's taller than R, mayb she's v close to 1m liao. aiyah, we parents, we worry when kids are too fat or too thin. The list nvr cease!
I wan to get those books with only a few words, like 2 or 3 words to get him familiar but cant find in Popular leh.
I juz introduced 十万个为什么 to him last sat. it was a gift 4 his 1st bdae. Initially he refused and kept wanting to watch his fav DVDs but i insisted to at least play 1 CD (there are a total of 5 in the set, i think) 1st. Aft 10 mins, he's still asking to chg the CD so i did tt. who knows the next day, he asked me to play it for him. I doubt he can understd the contents but both me &amp; hb was quite glued to watching it. v informative.
i wanna expose him to this set a few more times and i think he'll eventually comprehend it. Main idea is to let him watch chinese cartoons instead of all English ones.

Jenny
When i went to the parents mtg session b4 the June holidays, his chinese teacher did tell me to expose R more to mandarin. But said overall she's happy wif his progress. I told her tt i noticed tt R loves to sing and express more in chinese aft he attends sch so i guess he likes the language oso. At least when he is willing to communicate in mandarin, unlike my niece. But perhaps due to peer pressure, my niece's mandarin pronounication is better than R now.
I hv been teaching R wat is his chinese name b4 he started sch. And now when I ask him, most times he can rem. He's so funny, can 4get his own chinese name! And he remembers my niece's chinese name as well.
My O level chinese is A oso. So i hope can help R along wif mandarin when the time comes. My hb is hopeless. he can get all the 称呼 of relatives mixed up. last time when we still pak-tor, he kept telling me he has a pair of nieces. then when i really got to know them, they were actually his cousins lah!!! and he cant differentiate how to distinguish 舅舅,舅母,阿姨,姨丈,姑姑,叔叔 etc. The more "complicated" one, i don't even bother liao. I've explained to him many times and he's still confused. he can only rem the hokkien way to address them. I always teased him, "Wat were u doing when ur teacher is teaching 好公民???!!! Sleeping huh???" I've asked him not to attempt teaching R these 称呼 coz once he gets the concept wrong, its hard to switch back.
Issit too early to teach bi hua now? For Jolene rite? I find the syllabus v scary leh. They learn things at a much faster pace now!
My niece is another tall girl. Ppl kept thinking she's 1-2 yrs older than her age! U girls saw her b4 wat. She's usually the tallest &amp; heaviest in the grp. When she came along for a sept mummy gathering, wah liew, she was towering over the rest despite being a few mths younger only. she looks at least a yr older standing next to them!

crystallized,
Better not to let the maids drive your mum mad since she has high blood pressure &amp; diabetes. or maybe a fresh one easy to teach? just my thought.
you can get those books that i mentioned at Popular. very thin book.. and it's just 儿歌。ex: pg 1 小手乖乖,pg 2 自己吃饭,pg 自己喝水,very intesting to read.
十万个为什么 is a cartoon? Can share with me ho's look like?
A can tell you his name is Alvis but not in chinese one.

Jenny,
my collegue send her nephew to those speach &amp; drama class at cc and she told me that they teach pi hua lel. I dun remember we have to say those 一撇,一横,一竖 when writting lel.

Jasmine,
It's not abt finding bf issue lah.
Gals too tall very ugly leh, like ostrich like that! One of the girls that my auntie took care, her size was like that, very tall and slim!
The body proportion must be somehow "right" mah. If not looks odd.
Speech and drama is v good, but the kids must be interested with them. And it's ex lor. I didn't sign up any cos the gals' sch already have. No intention to sign up additional enrichment class except for swimming

Crystallized,
Actually I wanna buy 十万个为什么. But my hb said no need **haiz**
I used to work as a Nursery teacher when I was waiting for O levels results. I watched this 十万个为什么 twice daily. The kids loved them and always asked for it.
I find it very informative also, but the price now is too high! And hb isn't keen to get it... ok, I'm trying to make him pay but failed =P
My parents' families are big, so a lot of great uncles, great aunties bla bla bla... the most funniest is the gals called my 1st uncle as 大伯公! But that's the really the 称呼 mah.
Oh the pi hua is for Jolene lah. I tell you hor, I got frightened by Jolene one fine day when she told me this word is bla bla bla when I was reading chinese newspaper, and she can write those chinese words eg. 花, 巴士 etc to show me. When we were aged 4, we were still playing hor?? And only learn pi hua when we were in K2?? I'm stressed and dunno how to start with the Chinese leh.
Actually I feedbacked to Jolene's Chinese teacher about hard to find chinese books. She told me to go Bras Basah to look around. I'm thinking to go when I go to collect the photos.

Jasmine
i believe no matter wat, there will b differences and there is no perfect maid. initially we thot this one is only greedy but she dun show black face when my mum tells her off. but true colours emerge aft a while, esp when she take things 4 granted. If we r indeed firing this one, then the next one will b as my mum's wish - fresh maid. i feel its my sis fault 4 being too lax wif the maid. din set the boundaries clearly when she 1st came. tts why now the maid has such a gd life in our family and she dun realised it.

Ok i'll check out the 儿歌 books the next time. but some of it, i dunno how to sing! haha.

Jenny
why ur hb against this series? its ~$60 or $70 now at popular. cant rem. HUH? BP selling at $80+???
I think when R is abt 4 then perhaps he can grasps the meaning of the show, now its more to expose him.
My hb can greet the elders correctly but he gets confused wif the correct terms esp in chinese. and i dunno why??? those relatives he seldom sees, he'll wait 4 me to greet 1st then follow me. hahahaha.
Yah man, at 4 yrs old, i dun even know my ABCs, 123, colours hor. One day we will all be "taught" by our children wat they learn in sch man! Haha! I dun even rem when we learn 笔画, for HYPY, i think it was when we were in Pr 3 or 4 rite?
If u find useful chinese books, pls buy 4 me as well. no need to ask me, juz ask buy 4 me. kam siah hor! hee, coz i believe u can select better the series better than me. I really dunno how to chose wat type of books to buy.

hi crystallised,

my personal opinion har, dun get an experienced maid. they have become smart liao. for your case, your mum is still the main caregiver and thus she can be there monitoring. my current maid is a fresh one, totally inexperienced. yes, really really make my blood and my poor mum (cos she see the maid more than me) boil but she definitely more guai and still fearful that we send her back. oh yes, she's still learning even though she been with us for coming 4 mths.
we felt that fresh maid will be easier for us to teach our method of doing things.

hi jenny,

same here, tricia teacher was asking me what the main language we spoke to her at home and she also know, is english. but lucky thing, tricia understand mandarin, it's only she cant really speak. if she speak, its with an accent. like an ang moh speaking mandarin.
so now, we make it a point, if we point out something to her in english, will also tell her in mandarin too.

crystallized,
God knows haha, maybe he knew I wanna him to pay hahaha..
BP sells how much, I can't remember le. But I saw it at Poh Kim (I think is $89.90) and it said discounted price.
I didn't buy 十万个为什么 dvds. I bought another series, erm forgot the names. It teaches the pi hua (what I want) and the chinese characters (also what I want haha). It comes in individual dvd, as well as bundle of 3 pcs. I bought the full set, total 6 pcs.
It teaches something like this 一人大, 二人天, 户方房 and so on.
I think we learn simple ABC, 123, colours in K1 or K2? Or is it pi hua in Pri 1?? HYPY should be P4 bah?
I asked Jolene's chinese teacher on how to look for chinese books for her age, she told me to buy those simple 1 line with big words. Read to her and explain to her on the objects ard her. Eg. 这是一只小狗。 Explain to her on 小狗 and not the other words cos those are too chim to explain to her, not meant for her age now.
Wah liew I also dun really know how to select chinese books wor haha.. But I'm thinking to take leave to shop ard bras basah for a few chinese books for Jolene.

Gemini,
I agreed fresh maid is easier to teach. But biodatas usually fake de. So really depends on luck now.
I read somewhere do not teach in both Englisha and Chinese for the object at the same time. It will confuses the kid. Do it over a period of time.
Recently met up with my friends and they mentioned my gals' Mardarin got a bit of ang moh accent and their English slang. But I hear ok leh...

Gemini
I hope this one gets fired soon. Then we'll get a fresh one. This greedy maid muz go to a nasty family and starve her then she will know how well-fed she is over here. Now she is super keen to take care of my lil nephew. V geng-kiang. If i am my sis, i'll ask her to stay away fr him. And i see the way she uses the tongs to cap the bottles/breast pump, she might as well not use the pump coz her fingers still touching them. Haiz.
At least if maid is fearful of gg back, they r more guai. this one is no fear man.
Its really not easy for our mums to face the maid 12 hrs a day, 5 days a wk. therefore they tend to hv more grouses. v understandable.

Jenny
if its $89.90, then its too exp liao. popular is def cheaper than this price.
HYPY def upper pri... lower pri too cheem 4 us to comprehend then lah. hahahaha...
U managed to find such books 4 them now? R's chinese teacher asked me to go to the library to borrow which I still have yet to do that.

aiyah i trust u lah, when u buy, juz get 1 set 4 me oso. heee, at least u got an idea wat to look out 4. me hv totally no idea!
Yah lah, cant rely on maids' biodatas. they might as well scrap it. its really on luck!

hi jenny,

initially stage did tell my hb, follow my colleague style, the wife speak to the kid in Mandarin and him in English. but now, both of us are speaking to her mainly in English.
hahaha...think my situation same as u.... a lot of grand aunts and grand uncles, before stepping into others house, will still to tell my hb (too) what the correct terms to address the elders!

hi jenny/crystallised,

yaya, i still remember i'm still learning "i'm a girl" in P1 and pi hua in P1 or P2. HYPY is P4.

yo ladies

i am in china now so if you ladies want to get the shi wan ge wei she me i can help you purchase.i think not very expensive but i need to check.

Adeline
can dun give the kids anything also okie 1 so long as they r fine its okie. I also dun give anything before partly cos i also dunno what to give. Then D started having a little bit of running nose with no other symtoms. Want to go pd or not also not very sure leh so I tried sambucus after hearing from bbgrace(cos her son using) n it works for D lor. So from then on i jus make sure i have some in my fridge incase need it.
N now cos 2 kids i worry 1 kid sick the other will kanna so I will give sometimes if we going out. Maybe its jus to assure myself but so far so good lah.

Now Kat's turn aah......me not so soon but I know it will be E's turn awhile after D ends his T2 so......sigh
Gotta bear with it.

D learn alot of rubbish in secret then until he say out then we will know. Like that day i was fedup with Ember(forgot what we doing liao) then I jus went "Arghhhhhh". N D said "Mama you buay tahan liao"
Kaoz lor I feel like bursting into laughter.

jenny
Di zi gui aah? My hubby took the cartoon vcd home before but I not sure if D can understand now . maybe can try show him.

Jasmine
D talk alot sometimes very naggy 1 leh nag n nag n nag n nag. Then must ans him loud n clear "OKIE, CAN" then he will get the message n stop.......haha
(jialat next time he find me naggy dunno will ans me like that anot)

Jasmine, wendy
Actually hor what u 2 saying hor i can understand cos i read before. Cos they are older liao this is 1 of the ways they try to state their independance like that choose the clothes they wanna wear n they play pretend. But so far D still haven show any signs of this lor but he become emo which I cannot find hw to deal with lor......sigh

JRT
Yah lor very emotional lor n suddenly 1. Which I'm still trying to find a way to deal with. Cos he has never cried for no reason before n will always be cos he is naughty n so when I ask him why he cry he will tell me he was naughty n what he did then I jus explain further to make the point clearer to him lor. But now 1 seems is jus more emotional so I feel he also doesn't understand what he's feeling so he can jus cry. Hope he gets over it real soon.

I also wanna get the shi wan ge wei she meh becos me n hubby love the series when young. But I think D abit too young to understand so i dun wanna buy yet.

Wendy
No its if I remember correctly is KOLABA. She say is also herb base n she say its better then Sambucus cos its for more things(cnanot remember what). She gives that to her daughter when sick n will recover very fast. But it doesn't work for D lor cos eat liao still like that, the min I change to sambucus hor can see he recover much faster.
If U want I go home check let u know then u can search online to see what its for.

Gemini
I abit pissed with my inlaws over the cheng hu thingy. Cos when D was young they jus tell him my BIL r all shu shu. So okie lor all shushu. Then grandaunt I tell D to call Yi Po, great grandma call Ah Zor. Call for so long liao hor then now they want top CHANGE!!!!!
Damn pissed lor if they want to be fussy abt hw they r being called then teach that since young lah call so long liao then now suddenly keep correcting D. Must call er shu, san shu, xiao shu, then yee por(this 1 I dun care she also dun care so I still ask D to call back yi po). Then great grandma call Lau MA.
Which is so so different lor n D will still call them by the names he was used to unless they correct him then he jus call what they ask him to call again.
Really really BTH them lor.

hahahha dor! i will laugh if kim says that! hahahaha..

my friends tell me dun buy 十万个为什么 because they will keep asking 为什么!!! hhahaha.. Last time my bro watch that and really.. he keep asking until i almost give him a slap! :p

crystallized,
I haven't go search yet lah. Intend to go when I take leave to go collect PS photo cos the studio is just beside bras basah.

Gemini,
hahaha, that's what hb and I planned but both of us are so used to speak in Mandarin to each other, sometimes we can't switch. Anyway, my bro insists the gals to speak only Mandarin at my mum's place. They can switch the languages anytime, so good lor.

Shirley,
I'm interested with the 十万个为什么!!! Can check agar agar how much and which version? Err like Doreen mentioned, is it the cartoon version with the tortoise?
Thanks in advance for checking!

Doreen,
Can try to show lor, the cartoon quite interesting.
Joke aside hor, last time the old ppl ard the neighbourhood said my gals should call my ah ma as Lau Ma instead of Tai Ma. I asked my mum, then how they should call my ah gong? Are my gals going to call my late ah gong as "Lau Gong"??!!

jenny/dor

i saw the cover its the tortoise one. but i cant remeber the price, will be checking tonight or tomorrow morning. how many in a complete set? singapore selling how much for 1 set? i will sms both of you before i buy. i have never watched before so not too sure, are there other versions?

Adeline,
huh, but lao gong gong sounds like calling all old men/strangers lao gong gong.

Shirley,
I dunno how many in a complete set leh, dunno is 5 or 10 cartoon dvds. <font color="0000ff">Crystallized, yours is now many pcs dvds for your set?? Got pic to show Shirley?</font>
Crystallized mentioned popular is selling $69.90 for a full set, but I thought I saw Poh Kim selling at $89.90.
I'm interested with the cartoon dvds for the tortoise, but I dunno how the cover look like. The other versions are for older kids and adults.
Tried to search under google imagie but can't find. However, came across these 2. I'm not particular with the version as long as is the cartoon tortoise dvd will do.
2748185.jpg

2748186.jpg

Shirley,
I'm interested with the 十万个为什么 too!!!

Can include me when you sms Jenny/Dor.

Jenny,
That cover look interesting!

Jenny/Dor,
think add 'lao' infornt of those 'cheng hu' mainly for teochew like 'lao gu' for granduncle. but for hokkien, u all will called 'gu gong' right?
never thought of great grandfather lel..should ask my mum. hahaha...

Crystallized,
if u only want those simple word chinese books. library got a lot &amp; quite interesting. Yesterday i just saw few books at ILs place. A love it when i read to him.

hi jasmine,

u are rite. teochew mainly add a "lao" in front of the cheng hu. for hokkien, is "gu gong" or "shu gong". great grandfather ==> Ah Zor, great grandma ==> Zor Ma. but only my grandma is still around, so the kids call her Ah Zor only

hi dor,

now then change, a bit too late liao...think D has got used to the cheng hu liao.. but if want to add in a yi,er, san in front, poor kids the cheng hu going to be so long... for myself, i got 6 grandaunts, so imagine, Da Gu Po Zor, and their hb, Da Gu Zhang Gong Zor, etc. so make it easier for the kids, call all of them Ah Zor loh

hi jenny,

lao gong gong sound a bit weird leh...

Yesterday, just shui kou asked desiree, "how to spell your name?"
Am surprised, she knows how to do it.
Guess it is becos her nursery group has taught her to write her name on every exercise before she begin, so already in her memory liao.

Dor Dor,
Haha, Desiree also very naggy, she will only stop when I said: "ok, mummy will do/buy this."

Delphine,
Wah, Desiree so clever knows how to spell her name.
I haven't intro alphabets to Jaslyn, now sch is teaching to draw dotted lines and dotted curve only, to train the hand muscle to hold pencil in the right way.
Oh ya, teachers also requested me to give playdoh to Jaslyn to play at home.

Cheng Hu
My side, we called Gu Gong, Shu Gong, Shen Po, Yi Po, Biao Yi, Biao Jiu etc with their ranking in front of the cheng hu.
Last time the gals called my late grandparents as Tai Ma and Tai Gong.

jenny/dor/jasmine

i will go and see but maybe buy one to see first. in case not the right version. anyway i will be coming back again so if never get this time still can get another time

Jenny,
Desiree still could not hold her pencil the right way, still using grip hold instead of tripod hold.
Ehh why teacher wants you to intro playdoh?
have been wanting to let desiree try but scare messy.... haha lazy mum here.

Shirley, keep me in the lopp if you purchase the shi wan ge wei she me. Thks.

Just brought Coen to doc, Char pass her flu to him. But decide not to give him the med as the doc doesn't look trust worthy med expiring in 2mths and not storing at right temp.

hi jenny/delphine,

oh, the teacher introduce writing to both Jaslyn &amp; desiree liao? cos tricia teacher did tell me at this stage, they are not going to do so yet, let them build up their motor skills first. which is one of the way is to let them play with dough. no need playdoh, her teacher got tell me they use normal flour+water+salt and volia, get a dough liao. if want color, add in some coloring. at least not so "sticky" as playdoh.

hi coral,

oh, this doc is not coen regular doc?

Gemini, Coen is only 3mths old so no regular doc yet, normally i would bring him to KKH Children's clinic but now hb overseas and so I jus bring him to one nearby and I missed the baby clinic as it shifted and went into a GP...next time will go to the PD as I saw it on way home. The clinic I went to not prof. They put exp Jul 2010 on label, but on the actual the exp is Oct 2009. So they jus label it without proper checking and box says store below 25c but they leave it on cupboard behind counter which will heat up when they off air-con on days the clinic is closed.

Shirley,
Thank you again!

Delphine
Jaslyn can hold the pencil correctly, but sometimes she may grip and hold also.
Actually for their age now, they should be learning to hold the pencil to draw dotted lines. This is to help them to master the right way to hold the pencils, as well as to train their motor skill and hand muscles.
Playdoh helps to train the hand muscles

I have at home, let the gals played once and I kept back in box hahaha... messy and oily leh.

Gemini
I have the recipe to make home playdough but since I already bought the playdough some time ago, I lazy to do my own haha.
No lah, not introduce writing lah. See my reply to Delphine above.
Next year then got writing.

Jenny,
Oic. so to train their hand muscle lah..

Gemini,
Desiree still dun know how to write just draw along dotted line which the teacher will have their name dotted for them to write on every exercise.
Thanks for the recipe for making dough but i noticed they are harden after some time...

Luckily I am on leave tdy so can take pix to post here. This is my set. A total of 8 CDs, shldnt exceed $70. I am sure coz seen in Popular b4. I think I oso saw in Poh Kim leh, same price lah.

2750657.jpg

2750658.jpg

Dor
I agreed this series still too cheem 4 them but main idea is to let him like this series since he can watch the same disc over &amp; over again. Somemore it has been lying at home for 2 yrs liao. Might as well show him rite?

Ah? Din know it comes with the book leh! Got ah?

Jenny
My hb is a teochew so yes, the 称呼 is "Lao Gong" but i got used to it liao. Moreover he is not ard anymore, so R will only address when he prays.

Delphine
R loves playdoh! Agree tt is messy but if u worried, lay newspaper or a plastic sheet under the table lor. now i cant b bothered liao, juz sweep &amp; throw watever little bits there is on the fl.

RE: Writing
Wah liew u mummies here hv a lot of expectations! R scribbles alot and used to hold pen wif his 5 fingers. Now he can hold it properly but cant write well. I tried letting him follow dotted lines but he cant catch the concept well so i juz leave it. To think Desiree can spelt her name! Think my hb attempts to intro spelling verbally at times but R boh chup!

Delphine,
Yes.

Crystallized,
I think the books meant for older kids or adults. Cartoon version dun have books, if I remember correctly.
Wah liew, I can't help laughing call great grandpa "lao gong" hahaha..
Jaslyn same as Reubern, can hold the pencils but can't write. This age is to introduce pencils and to learn to hold in the right way.
Spelling?? Goodness haha... Jolene only knows how to spell her name only and she only got to learn how to write her chinese name last mth and I'm very impressed by her liao.

Re: "writing"
To explain clearer in case I didn't do so in my earlier postings.
Do not expect our toddlers to follow the dotted lines/curves nicely, they will anyhow draw, let them be.
The concept is to let them draw and scribble, so that they can master the right way to hold pencils.
As for colourings, they should be able to use colour pencils to colour and do a bit of scribble. Not those super messy till colour till the whole pc of paper.
It is ok for them to colour beyond the lines of the pictures, they will learn to colour within the lines when they turn 4.
As long as the kids can do the above, they are ok, dun expect too much.

Writing
=======

tricia at the moment, is gripping the pen/pencil and draw circles &amp; circles. agree with jenny, at this stage, don think they can write properly, more like they draw or scribble. i'm not too worried over her writing, eventually she will learn to write one.

Jenny/Crystallized,
now crystallized mentioned it, i can remember liao. yes..great grandfather called 'lao gong' in teochew. But hor the 'yin' is diff as hb in mandarin, so no one will related it to 老公。keke...

A only know his name is Alvis, din know abt his chinese name and cant spell yet. But he can spell cat, dog, pig. that's all.