(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

hi jasmine,
no guarantee even if within 1km cos depends on the number of applicants. If all living within 1km xceeds vacancies then you will still kena balloting.

Hi jenny,
oops... read your post in a hurry... yah, i dun mind paying for private but hdb nt worth it if too ex cos nxt time lose $$$ die. Actually ur neighbourhood good, nice and clean plus canberra good school

Jenny,
yes, my hb will tagging along.. if not i cant handle desiree alone.

Selina,
Hehe.. yes, that is valuation, so can fetch higher price if your flat is well maintained.

Adeline,
maybe you should try to withdraw her if this go on.. else next time she may have the fear to go to school. slowly talk to her during the withdrawn period and see if it helps.

Jenny/Freshpoison77,
ic..tot guarantee one.
then i fat hope A can get into the only school which is near n popular in my area. keke...

<font face="Comic Sans MS">Adeline,
How about not letting Kim goes to CC for a day or two and see if she still behaves like tat? Or you monitor over this weekend on her behaviour.
Did you give her some jing feng san?

Delphine,
ha, cos me thinking if no one companies you then how to do some stunts there. That time I preggied with Jaslyn, some stunts I could do (Jolene was with the gym class then), some I couldn't, I would get hb to take over. The teachers will help me also lah. They knew I was preggie then.

Jasmine,
I think hor, if is old estate then no need to worry too much. Usually like new estate, a lot of young kids, so the place may take up fast.

freshpoison,
Ya, my area not bad. Now then I start to realise. You know yr ex-place, they built a very nice park, which just officially opened not long. I still yet to bring the gals there. Also, that country club area, there's some reno, heard the future swimming pool and sports complex will be there. Yet all along I tot will be at the empty land opp Blk 300+.</font>

Doreen,
Oh I see, I thought you boil water chestnut for D to drink.

Selina,
I heard alot of people says that Punggol flats fetch a better price unlike SK.

My hubby has been wanting to move out of SK. He has been complianing of the increase in ERP prices on CTE.
We have to pass through 2 ERP gantries everyday because we both work in town area (he in Chin Swee while I am in Tanjong Pagar).

$640 is extremely expensive (Can buy a condo around Hougang area) but Dover is very near yr parent's place.

Selina/Jasmine/Jenny
Oh, I didnt know its normally given for fever. Do you gals mean that no fever no "Lin yang" drink????

Jasmine
Wow, you so fast already thinking of Primary school for A ....

Mid of this year, I will have to register Jon. Still deciding which school.

Jenny
What type of stunts??
kao_confused.gif

I hope they will not ask us parents to do forward roll man....haa haa...sure sprain our backs

So the gym trial is 3hrs?

<font face="Comic Sans MS">jackiejon,
I'm not sure if lin yang can drink when there's no fever. I only heard from my aunt is to be given when fever is very high. and like persisting for many days.

Not forward roll but there is a backward roll for the warm up. Thats why I asked Delphine if her hb or maid follows her.

Depends on the theme tat day, but during Jolene's time (she signed up for class at our toddlers age now), there's really a lot of stunts to do. Some I dun dare to perform for her, so I got Daddy or the teachers to come in for me. I have quite a few video clips on the stunts.

The last trial we had, I think many of us were exhausted. I find it quite tiring also, so usually 2nd half part, I will get Daddy to take over haha... Jaslyn always fell asleep after the class while on the way home.

The trial is 50 mins lah. 3 hrs I pengz liao.</font>

Jenny,
Oooh....thanks, now I understand, so "Ling Yang" not for cooling effect.

Another question, if "Ling Yang" is for fever which is very high and persisting for many days.
Why dont give "Nurofen/Pandol" to bring down the fever faster???

Sorry, so many questions about this "Ling Yang" thing

because normally I will give them either Nurofen/Pandol (temp more than 38.5 for Nurofen) for fever.

Stunts (oh no), I dont know whether can I do or not (my body not flexible already)

I see, only 50 mins....sorry, I misunderstand (read too fast)
earlier you mention something about 2pm - 5pm
so I thought the gym trial is 3hrs long

Today I super blur

Jasmine,
Thanks for asking. It was good

Regarding your question on school... no wor. It is only gauranteed for you if you are staying within 1km of the school (so that you qualify for phase 2C or is it phase 2Dof the registration) AND there are not so many people who wants to register for that school too. If you are within 1km and too many people want a place there, you still have to ballot. Ballot will be heng suay already.

Adeline,
Ever thought of changing a CC for Kim? It might just be that she is not comfortable with this one?

Jackiejon,
no lal.
cos Jenny mentioned Dover ard got a lot of good school n this Q come into my mind lor. so, quickly check wif u all since i m not familiar with edu system here.
i cant choose, the only one school which is super near my hse but it's quite popular. St. Hilda.

3hrs gym trial?? we all will faint.

Jackiejon again,
"Ling Yang" is chinese medicine which you have to buy at medical hall.
can only take "ling yang" 1 or 2 hrs after u take panadol/fever medicine.

Pups,
ic ic..
really complicated hor. dun want to think abt it now, better focus in finding a good CC for A 1st. haha...

check your email. I've sent you 2 clips on the one of the stunts we did in the last trial when our little ones were then 10mths old.
I think you didn't join us for this, but starz ayden, crystallized reubern, esther jovan, doreen damien, pups K, gemini tricia, selina Caleb and I can't remember who liao were there for this trial then. Maybe you can check with them if they were exhausted??

Hmm why give ling yang ah? Some ppl dun like western med?? Or rather western med might not be effective on some kids bah?? I'm not too sure on this. Maybe Selina can help? Remember she mentioned her dad's friend works or opens medical hall.</font>

Jenny,
If 3 hours all the parents must drink Red Bull liao

Jackiejon,
for the previous gym session, it was still manageable. No doubt tired, but still can lah. Time passes even before you realise it cos you are on the move all the time

Jasmine/Jenny/Selina
Ya, I know that "Ling Yang" is a chinese herbs that is why must "qing jiao" (hope, its the right Hanyu Pinying for "ask") all of you to enlightment me on this.

Jenny
Yes, received.

I just pm you my office number.

BTW, there's a library at Civil Centre. You can ask your hb to bring jonathan to the library, while the gym trial is on. Alternative, bring some toys or books to keep him entertained. </font>

jasmine,
st hilda's is a popular school also and may be difficult to get it cos have affliation to church and even kids from ex-students from the secondary school have priority (not all pri school accept affliation from secondary school, RGPS and RGS is one example).
Another way would be to do voluntary work at the school.
If time permits, i would like the volunteer for my kids' school before registering them. At least this allows me to understand the school culture and teachers better b4 i decide that the school is suitable for my child.

<font color="0000ff">jackiejon</font> y we gave caleb ling yang the last time was his fever was persistent even when we gave him nurofen so my dad asked if we wanna try ling yang cos no gd to have persistent fever so i say go ahead cos i love ling yang too. anyway i prefer chinese med cos i think too much western not good for the body too.

<font color="0000ff">jenny, freshpoison</font> i am not a pte person. i believe in living within my means n i know i can never afford pte. i am happy enf with hdb as long as there is a roof above our heads n if decorated nicely hdb can look like pte too.

about price, depending on the location, i think losing $ on dover is not an issue here. the past peak, flats there are sold at $500+K now $600+ or even S$700+ so... property prices only goes up n up n never down. the only differences is if the up is faster than the up in inflation etc. otherwise hardly u see it going down.

for me i am buying for space n the schools. yes there are pte property in that area but for this price, u cannot fetch anything pte there at all. also they dun offer that kind of space that i require.

<font color="0000ff">jasmine</font> am afraid the 1km rule only entitles us to qualify for registration in the earlier phases. otherwise is not 1km, than will have to wait for them to open up lor. that's y until i can confirm that ghim moh &amp; holland (some blocks) is within 1 km, i wldnt wanna risk it tho the prices are slightly cheaper for ghim moh area.

bbgrace is right that RGPS is not affliated to RGS. I was from RGPS but never get to attend RGS. during my time, the affliation only applies to those students from the special classes, i.e. the cream of the crop type. otherwise no.

<font color="ff6000">voluntary work</font> i thought of this as well but i know many schools actually do not need anymore parent volunteers for a fact that they have alot especially those gd ones. but 1 area that many schools are lacking is counsellors as school going children, regardless of age are getting more stresses. hence i even thought of taking up courses on psychology or sort so that i can have the qualification to be a counsellor and then can volunteer my service to the school. but looking at my work schedule, this is almost impossible. even it is allows, i dun have the energy to do that as well.

just to add, actually fairfield is not exactly the top notch school as compared to schools like ACS etc. but i want caleb in cos it is a methodist school (tho me no methodist but christian) and from what i have heard about the school, it is a very GOD BLESSED school.

also i dun want caleb to have to work real hard for his school. my nephew is now training everyday in competitive swimming so that he can get himself good competitive timing n secure himself a place in ACS. i think this is too stressful so i rather start to plan early and not be caught in situation that i wldnt want to be... my sis say i KS but if i dun do anything, nobody will lor... i cannot depend on hb.

Jackiejon,
I was answering more tongue-in-cheek towards Jenny's remark. Was poking fun at you. No offence!

I am more concern if my boy will be able to participate throughout the session. I remember he wanted to wander off during certain segments in the first trial we joined.

Adeline
Why not try to let Kim go for half day for the next week n see how she react 1st??
Cos maybe suddenly full day CC she find it very hard to adapt suddenly cos she's always been with ur auntie n suddenly no 1 close to her is around her for the whole day leh.
Like for u ML so long then go back to work whole day also very sian right same for her lor slowly ba. Cos she seems to really dislike the cc now.
I was told my cousin's daughter cried for 2 mths n she only went for half day playgroup kind.

Jasmine
Wah St Hilda's aah.........hmmmmm really very hard to get in.

pups
I think now they will wonder off even more n better is they can play on their own so hopefully not so siong for us already.....hehehe
Cos i brought D for freeplay at gymboree last mth I think n he was so happy running around n playing. N with hubby around to chase him I can jus sit there n watch......hahaha

Good morning.

haha...
yeah, i know St. Hilda very popular. that's why i m worried because it's only school nearby my hse.
but nvm lal, it's all depends to luck.
and still few years for us to think.

hi selina / jasmine,
living within 1km does nt qualify registration in earlier phases. You still nd to register during phase 2C which is for the general public (singapore citizen or PR). Living within 1km will give you an advantage only if the number of applicants in that category during that phase of registration does nt exceed the number of vacancies. If the number exceeds, balloting will still hav to b conducted.

Primary Schools
===============
At least I noe I'm nt the only 1 thinking abt it... I thought I was KS. I place a lot of importance in the kind of primary school I wan my boy to be in. Sch reputation / results / curriculum etc... So still having a big headache cos my hubby and I both from kampong school.

PRIMARY SCHOOLS
It's not KS to start planning now.
I've thought of this well ahead also. That's part of the reason why I chose that particular area that I want to shift to. Not only there are good pri schools around, there're also good sec and JCs not too far away.
Good to plan ahead. Once the kids start pri school, it'll be difficult to shift to a new area unless you want the kid to transfer school or travel long distance.

Hehehe I think I'm the laziest. Its sort of decided already which sch D will be going cos the school is within walking distance. Plus me n hubby were both from that same sch so we dun have to go through the worry of trying to get a place for D.
To me i jus want D to go to a neighbourhood sch cos I believe they can still learn bad anywhere doesn't matter good sch or not.

hi delphine,

no problem. sms me when the gym trial date is nearer. ya lor, same as jenny, saw ur 1st post,tot u bringing desiree along, hw to manage her?

hi freshposion,

haha... same as u, me &amp; hb pri sch already no longer exist, dun know next time how to register tricia.

hi dor,

wah piang, u know ur hb since pri sch already? same tots as u, i will prefer tricia to go to a neighbourhood school, not so much stress..
no offence to those mummies who are intending to send their kids to those good schs, cos i felt that they are still kids, let them have at least some breathing space.

hee u ladies talking abt primary school. actually it is also on my mind. I was thinking of sending both kids to the same school or separate. Cos if wanna go good school then must separate them as my hubby is from st steven and sister teaching at MGS. if neighbourhood school mayb mee toh near my parents place. Haiz think must plan early lei, my girlfriend was telling me she was asked to fork out $10,000 as donation to reserve a seat for her son at pei chun primary school. wow so expensive! but she said its a "discounted' price liao cos she knows the pricipal. I nearly fainted.

Since i more free today, will upload some photos of the two kids:

My little sumo, dressed up today for mother's day lunch

1411936.jpg

This is how zac will smile when i asked to do it in front of the camera

1411937.jpg

hello mummies...

both my A &amp; B sick liaoz... thanks to their daddy who "brought" e virus home... yesterday brought to PD le...
Ayden hor.. now reli "phobia" of e PD leh.. go into e room only, REFUSE to be touched by PD in anyway.. keep crying to get out of e room... all e doctor toys i buy also no use... *haiz*... PD said tis is a phase.. may outgrow it at 3yo only... also refuse to take med, we no choice hv to put into his milk lor... while belle still "blur blur".. even take med also ok... not so heartpain lor...

i juz reply watever i can remember hor... if i miss anything let me know ar...

<font color="ff6000">dor</font>
ya.. im going.. already applied my leave long long time ago...
no prob to buy for u.. as long as u DONT TURN UP on tat day huh....
eh.. im going to buy mine in HK leh... juz went isetan n they dont hv all the ones i wana buy... so u wan me to buy for u from isetan or HK????

<font color="ff6000">pups</font>
so coincidence to meet u juz now... didnt know u were sick... hope u r much better now...
dont worry abt K's tummy.. its perfectly normal for tods to have tat tummy... it'll only go away after age 3 or so too....

<font color="ff6000">selina</font>
i agree with u... a high-flying career now with kids at home is reli a downer... im due to travel in 2 weeks time liaoz... after 2yrs break.. now juz thinking abt it already cant bear my 2 kids liaoz... am going to make it a super duper short trip lor.... Jun also "suppose" to be in NYC.. but now "bargaining" with my boss to see if i can dont go or not... cut cost mah... cos NYC wil at least take me 1 week (due to e flying time which is already a killer!!), tis HK trip only scheduled for 3days...

wah... unit at Dover cost so much ar!!! can buy 2 of my hse leh...

<font color="ff6000">adeline</font>
oh dear... Kim so poor thing...
i hv to agree with jenny.. e nitemares part is very disturbing leh... isn't it an option to withdraw her now n look for another CC??? or hire a maid to help ur aunty out, so she can look after both???
if peep from e "front" can be seen... how abt going from e "back"???

<font color="ff6000">jenny, jackiejon</font>
hehehe... e last trial i was preggy too... but hubby took over halfway cos i already exhausted after e first few mins.. hahaha....
tis time round i oso dunno if got stamina or not...

<font color="0000ff">primary sch</font>
eh... honestly, at tis current moment in time.. im not very particular where both of them will go to.. my concern in tis area would more be of convenience, so they wont be tired out from e travelling... n am only considering those within walking distance from my hse now...
there's a pretty decent boy's school very nearby for ayden, but then i'll hv to source for another school for belle... my own pri sch i think is quite "good" now.. mayflower pri.. but not convenient for them to go..
uuurrmmm.... wait till they r both in kindergarten then i think bah... who knows i may eat my words nex time...

<font face="Comic Sans MS,">wah talking abt Pri Sch ah, Jolene only in her pre-nursery,I dunno and dun wanna think now first. My priority is simple lah, just within walking distance will do. Less time travelling and more time to rest.
If say by then we still stay at this current place, they will just go to the sch opp our place. If say move elsewhere, I will just get the nearest pri sch. Or if I still working and the gals still at my mum place, likely will get a Pri Sch at Jurong East. I've one in mind le.
The kids tat my auntie look after now are attending raffles girls pri, and I heard from my aunt their parents "contribute" a huge amt to ensure their balloting was successful. I won't do this to ensure a place for sch, my $ can put into better use... volunteer work, most schs now quite realistic, they want $.

I'm not only looking at schools that offer good academic records... I'm also concern wif moral values. I think a lot of kids these days are pretty lacking in that aspect. I'm not totally against $$$ donation BUT I must feel that the $$$ is well-spent. If the school fits all my criteria, I will donate (That's if I can afford lah... haha) But I wan co-ed sch cos dun wan to hav to hunt again shld I decided to hav another bb.

Hi babygrace,
Ur new place area very good, most choice schs are there but I dun like living in the East leh... Have always been in the Northern Kampong area. If move so far, I will have to learn my way ard again... very sian leh.

Adeline, u sent kim to the cc that is nearest to ur house is it? I almost wanted to put my boys there cos only 4 todds and cant rembr 2 or 3 other todds half day/ flexi. But my mum more keen in ntuc cos she heard the 'aunties' here said good. My friend's kid also there.. so i went ahead with it. After i paid deposit, the cc closed due to hfmd. My boys 1st day at the cc was the cc's 3rd day after its re-open. Though m boys are suppose to be on full-day but I left them there for half a day only. Honestly, I am not very convinced that they can manange my boys. They are the youngest there and erm, they dont really listen to the teachers leh. All others guai guai sat around the teacher and both my boys went to a corner and played the toys themselves. In their own world. Before I left the cc, i was told there was a new case of hfmd. On the next day, my boys went for their booster so I didnt bring them to cc. Subsequent day, they running a very mild fever so I didnt bring them also. By noon, teacher called to check. I checked on the hfmd status and was told got another case. Jammed. Maybe can let kim go half day first.. haiz.. see what u wrote, I also heartpain.

Oei, so glad u ans my question yesterday, tks hah. The rashes subsided already. Elder one no more rash, the younger one still has a lil' on top of right foot. Since I am not working, I suka suka lift up their hands and feet to check for blisters. I thought so heng meh, put half day nia kena hfmd. No more fever already. Anyway, i bought the 3-in-1 pack dugro today at $23+ (think is 23.95). Did you get it cheaper at giant the other time?

<font face="Comic Sans MS,">I suspect the rashes are due to the jab. Jolene used to have once like that too. And usually will goes off in a day or 2. It's sort of allergy to certain drugs. You better keep the doc informed.
Where you bought it? That's cheap leh. I bought at $25.20. I saw Clementi NTUC is selling also.

Starz,
Yup, what coincidence. Didn't know Ayden and Belle are both sick. Hope they will recover soon!

I totally agree with what you say about the career bit. I have been pushing away long attachment trips as well. But if I still want my career to develop decently, there is just this much of pushing away I can go. We do have important training trips or world/regional meetings to fulfill.

To all mummies,
Happy Mother's Day!

Jenny, ntuc selling dugro 1+ at $23.95 (price confirmed, I just checked receipt). I think it is a 3-day promo probably at selective ntucs (some smaller outlets dont have). If i recall correctly, the promo was in friday st papers. That day I bought two tins at $21.50 from sheng siong. The Neslac 1+ at Sheng Siong is the dark blue lid ones (same as those sold at medical halls). Anyway, I realised the packaging like a bit different leh. Havnt check properly though but i grabbed wrong flavour. Instead of original, took the honey ones instead.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,">Jlyn,
Is it? I remembered I TT $50.40 to my friend who helped me to buy at Giant. Correct leh, I was at Clementi on Thur, and I saw same price as Giant.
NTUC now got promo for the 1.8kg tin also, think is $21.90 leh.
Sheng Siong Neslac is Msia packaging, same as that jin xxx xxx medicial hall. Was at my friend place last weekend, and I check out that medicial hall, their Neslac and Dugro all from Msia. If you dun mind, the Dugro, msia package, 1.6kg only selling at $19+.
Then how? Bring back to exchange? You buy from NTUC can exchange de.

Jenny,
The problem is I don’t know whether hubby will be going or not. If hubby going, then I can get him to bring Jon to the library. But if he is not going, I will have to bring my helper along to help to keep an eye on Jon while I am with Jo.

Selina,
Oh…so that is how Caleb learn to take “Ling Yang”.

Pups,
Alamak….no worries and no offence at all.

From the conversation between Jenny &amp; Jasmine earlier on, I was wondering “What come around 2pm and leave@ 5pm??? So long??” Hahahaha……After I realised, I was also laughing

You sick? Hope you are feeling better now?

freshpoison,
i agree with you. The pri schools that i'm looking at are not necessarily academically strong.

My criteria is that i don't want them to travel too far to go to school. That's why i wanted a place with a good selection of not only pri schools but also sec and better school JC.
My current place has many pri schools but the selection of sec school is v limited. While i feel that there is no need to send the child to a pri school that is academically strong, my preference for a sec school would be one that has a good academic record or excellent curriculum cos i strongly believe that what i am today is very much because of the schools that i attended.

starz,
hope A and B recover soon!

Working mothers don't have it easy.
As much as i strive for work-life balance and took a step-down position in my new job, when work has to be done, it has to be done. My saturdays for the next 2-3 months are burnt cos i need to work. bo pian....
I'm only glad that i don't need to travel for work.

Jenny, changed to Dugro le. Saw the blue lid Neslac cos they were placed beside the Dugro. I didnt see $21.90 Dugro at ntuc leh. Just bought 3-in-1 today at the rivervale mall ntuc. The wrong flavour one dont think can exchange cos i 'tong' the receipt into lucky draw box already (I super aunti leow.. hahah). Anyway, Shop n Save Dugro $22.50 (but dont knw promo is on or not).