Mummies, regarding PG Cake:
- My order stated collection time at 5pm. I reached at 5.10pm and was waiting for them to settle the case before me. Apparently, they couldn't find the cake for the couple before me and the man was blowing at his top.
- When is my turn, they searched very long... Finally came down and told me "still working on the cake, not ready yet, need to wait another 15 mins". My heart already sank.
- I really got a shock when I firstly saw the cake. Called my hb who was waiting in the car with the 2 gals (they were sleeping) if he could come over for a short while. He saw and asked "you sure this is 3kg? Too small, not enough..."
- Ok, Chan Yun din inform me that 3kg is for 40-45pax. The other time I liased with Li Keow, she told me 3kg enough for 80 pax. Jolene's cake was left abt 1/4. And since this round, I only invite relatives and a few friends, I sticked to the 3kg order. Whatever it is, the cake is "saved" by another 1kg black forest cake that I bought off the shelf once I saw the "3kg cake" (I guessed older generation dun like the taste, they said not nice. But younger generation are ok with it.)
- I was disgusted with the customer service by the aunties at the counter. Somehow, I knew something will turn out bad cos I read many bad comments at other threads. So, to play safe, I printed out my emails and my cake design to bring along. The older auntie was there laughing sarcastic. I was angry and I told her off. She quickly kept quiet.
- The cake size aside, since the party is over, I'm not going to say much on this. The most disappointment is the cake design. No doubt the cake still looks good and sweet to me and the guests... But pls dun promised something if they couldn't do it. Before I made the order with PG. I purposely ordered a Smiling Orchid cake with the pooh garden picnic theme to take pics and I emailed to PG and asked, if they could do this design before I switched my order from Smiling Orchid to PG. I'm not asking for the same exact design but something similar. I already told myself I dun expect PG can do the exact design. But, the problem is, where's the design? They just throw every figurines that I gave them onto Jaslyn's cake. Pls tell me, w/o a river, they put a bridge there for what? Ok, Chan Yun said she would get chef to add a river at the "1". The time was already 5.50pm leh and I'm still at PG, and my catering coming at 6pm.(my venue at Jurong East). I already dun have time, and my hb speeded to reach the venue at 6.15pm. My guests falling in at 7pm, I dun even have time to do deco.
- I told Chan Yun over the phone that I dun want the cake to be "tall". Already told her I wanted a "flat" cake, easier for cutting. But still turn out to be "tall".
There's a number of cakes collected on sat, all the same designs. Maybe figurines and cream color are different. So, every kid has the same cake design. There's another mummy had the same encounter like mine on Sat. She posted her dismay in the "1 Year Birthday Celebration" thread too.
Like what ethel mentioned in the other thread. If PG can't create same design, just copy. PG can't even re-do their own cake design. I emailed them a few pics at different angle of the Smiling Orchid cake hor.
babygrace, Coral, pups,
If you are not asking PG to do a particular theme and not particular with the design, I guess Emma and Charlotte's cake should turn out good.
delphine,
Desiree's cake is sweet!
<font color="ff0000">Happy Birthday to Desiree!</font>
babe,
Ok, shall see if Chan Yun is going to update me. Frankly speaking, I dun even care if she called. I din even reply her the SMSes she sent me.
Crystallized,
I'm more disappointed with the cake design lor. Ended, I paid $130 for the 3kg cake, bought another 1kg black forest cake off the shelf at $30. $160 in total exclude the figurines I bought... I should have get Smiling Orchid to do the cake, they include the figurines and delivery - $210 only. Then I no need to rush like mad on that day and carried so much stuff. Luckily my sis volunteered for the balloon collection at Raffles City.
Anyway the party turned out great, in the way of "wen xin" with well wishes from relatives and friends. I never put in so much effort for the past celebrations for Jolene and Jaslyn leh. I really wanna do a good job this time cos it's going to be the last one for me.
You know why cake size matters to me? Once, there's a party, the host cut a small miserable cake for all guests and ended leftover with a big cake. Relatives were talking behind the back. Reflects bad mah, so since then, my mum told us "if you want to invite ppl, make sure you feed them to full with good food and cake. Ppl will only remember bad things". My cousin's son 1st mth shower, she invited 70 pax but ordered 30 pax food. Before guests came in, the buffet were empty and worse they din give out full mth package. So guests came and have nothing to eat and left empty handed. My cousin and cousin in law hide inside the room dun dare to come out to meet the guests. It has been 4 years ago and ppl still talking behind their back. So... we scare mah.
Jlyn, I think I have misplaced your contact, pls email me again.
Catering - Eatzi Gourment
=================
I must said thumbs up for them! Super excellent service and great food! That's made my disappointment from PG to a happy mood kekeke... But hor, I think I over-ordered the food cos many of my relatives rushed off for wedding dinner. Anyway, I usually ordered more for relatives to tabao back kekeke...
The staff set up the buffet slow, but in a very orderly manner, set up were nice, at least not the typical setup. 1st time I came across catering who provided boxes for us to tabao wor, and a lot. They even cleaned up the venue for us, and drove away all the trash bags. Oh yes, they provide a lot of utensils, ended a lot of unused one. I even bought extra, all gotta bring back.