(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Sian, never run fast enuf! Now got asked to do some more work!

Thanks for the sms and well wishes On behalf of Jovan mummy say thank you
But i didnt celebrate with him as hubby insist celebration only when he turn 1..Old man thinking
!! but the happy thing is i bought him a leapPad as present kekeke..

Jasmine
Agree that actually apple when eaten raw taste sweet however when you steam and blend somehow turn sour which most babies reject..my first puree started on J was pear which produce a very sweet and pleasant smell.. Mummy keke must frequently trim A's finger nails cos realise nails grow very fast leh hor..

Delphine
*Sayang* desiree..OMG her hands must be Oishi yo keke..Jovan ask :Can give me 1 bite just 1 bite will do..*Joking Joking* Tell u what my mum did to my niece k..my niece also rejected pacifier..than suck until thumbs 'nua nua' than see doctor apply cream etc..than recover than relapse never ending so my mum decided to add little bit of Gripe water around the pacifier and let my niece suck from than on the problem solve! When she turn 1.5yrs she stop sucking pacifier le..

Huijun
Happy leh........huh company cannot allow MsN ah so sad leh..Nvm lah when u not tired log in for NGM
..sweet peas hor my place also dun have..today was at Vivo but came back than saw yr posting too late liao else can buy..

Coral
Huh kana 'caught' by boss to do some work ah...so bad hor already knock off liao still ask you do things!!

Jenny
thanx yah bbgrace also pointed to me but D already eat alot of times liao thanx to my mum....hahaha
So confirm he cleared already. N also thanx to alot of those kpo relatives hor D cleared alot of food no allergy liao.
Toufu, egg, wheat, carrot n so on. COs those kpos hor ask me to feed D n I dun want then they go n feed him themselves. Piangz....
Lucky no allergy aah if not I will confirm go n niao them 1.
I dun like potato myself leh but in the porridge really very nice lor so I'm going to buy potatos already...keke

Jasmine
Hehe I think hor not alor of bbs like apple cos sour. Cos first time D take apple puree I throw to hubby to feed while I go bath. Come out hubby say D dun want I dun believe thought he dunno how to feed so next day I try he really dun want....hahahha
I have the pigeon food maker. AFter steaming the pear hor I mesh it through the wire mesh with the wooden thing. So it will be very smooth n fine. But hor very tiring leh do until I sweat 1 aah.
So now I will use blender already cos D already okie with food no need so fine liao...hehe

Selina
Urr the recipe I dunno leh but jus share what I know lah cos I never see my mum cook. Actually I dun even know what she cook until I feed...hahaha
She likes to give me surprises...kekeke
She jus told me the potatos have to put it in to cook with the porridge so that it will be soft. The fish tomato n carrot she only put in when porridge is nearly ready.

Huijun
I put on 20kg during preggy. N when D was bout 2mths I bump into my cousin whom I last met before preggy n she was the one who called me. First thing I ask her was " U still can recognise me ahh"
Haahahahaha

Shirley
Starz is correct. Better reintro Issac to bath time again lor. U mention Issac will also be scared when U wash his hand right?? What I would suggest is dun force it.
Becos last time I washed D's hand at the sink once n he cried. So I dun do that for while let him forget it before I intro it again. N during CNY at my grandma place D pooed so much it leaked out his jeans so no choice we washed him at the sink cos grandma no instant heater. Same thing he cried so I was worried he might hate swimming. But surprising he was okie when we enter the pool that day.

I always try to avoid letting D fear something incase he had phobia next time. So that's why that day we went swimming once D starts to fuss I try to calm him n bring him out of the water fast.

recently, my boy got a new pattern

"zi dao zi yan" he put a handkerchef on his face then fake the suffocating sound (but u see below, he is actually laughing), then use his hands remove the handkerchef again, giggle...then repeat again

i was telling hb n mum, hw cum 5mth+ bb knows how to "zi dao zi yan" heehee and he knws hw to fake the sound as if he is suffocated but actually he is not (smilling underneath or laugh when we remove for him)

Have been busy tidy up the place, miss so much of the post . Is the gathering still onz hor..

<font color="ff0000">stroller</font>
=================
By the way, would like very much to check with you gals on the <font color="ff0000">stroller</font>. Intend to get another stroller for my gal, looking for a light and easily foldable one . This time round must do homework ..anyone here can share your stroller ?
thankyou sooo much

aspialle

Ted is very cheeky hor
so young noe how to "scare" mummy liao..

kids nowsadays are getting very smart !

mango16
my currnet stroller is a 1st month gift, not very light, but has been doing some research b4 k is born. I PM you after I knock off fr work. the details are at home.

Aspialle
Damien now adays keep faking cough. Super buay tahan him leh. Dunno where he learn from becos no one at home is coughing when he first started lor. N I so worried 1 day the cough become real.
N when he dun want to eat some puree will fake choke. Piangz ahh this boy........

Jasmine

how does Alvis react to the pear puree? He prefers it to apples ?

To share capture K's first taste of pear puree...

761698.jpg

761699.jpg

for the pear to be really smooth, i use the munchin grinder

Finally managed to take a pic of Damien's bottom 2 teeth.
761934.jpg

N noticed that his upper teeth should be in soon cos can see the 2 lines already. Bad News is.....HE IS SUPER CRANKY!!!!!

jo
er.. i think 30 popiahs is abit too much leh.. we gonna hv plenty of food, so i dun think1 person can finish 1 popiah. im gonna ask my helper to prepare ngor hiang. if u not making potato salad, maybe i can ask my fren who's joing me to bring that.

jo
K's expression is PRICELESS. i burst out laffing early in the morning. R has similar such expression when i fed him avocadoes yesterday.

doreen
D so fast sprouting up his pearlies! i am hoping R gets his soon but worried how it will b like when i latch. *ouch*

Doreen,
Congrats on Damien's two pearlies!!! It looks exactly as Able's..... cute!

Delphine,
How's the bb gym?

Jo...
K expression so funny(1pix)... as if you feed her something bitter....
I only tried Apple Puree on Able yesterday... he seems to ask for more.... think all Apple steam will not taste sour... I took the Apple raw which tasted sour but after steam (a portion of the apple), it tasted sweet n yummy... no wonder my Able finish all and ask for more leh..

Just to share some pattern from Able recently... pls bear with me :

His Cough Trick
==============
He will cough to signal he wants milk or water.. that started since end fifth month and we (including bbsitter) tot he really cough until he smile when we look at him... so now we knw his trick...

He "speaks"
=============
He start to say..... pa.. pa..paaaaaaaaa... hubby sooo happy leh... but not always .. only once in a while... not sure what he meant but it does bring a smile to my hubby.
Showed him the brainy bb cd with peek a boo mentioned....after the show... heard him saying booo... booo.... n smile...

Hand hand
===========
He will place his hand on your palm when you say hand .. hand... tested with hubby , hubby friends, mum, in laws... he does raise n place his hand on your palm.... soo happy cos at least he show he knows what you want when this is mention...

Think from 6mths onwards... we will start to see many achievements from our bb....

storm

ok, wil bring less
ur pal can bring the potato salaD

Jrt

hehe, i tot pear puree very yummy, so that expression was unexpected

Adeline
welcoMe

Grace
hehe, thanks, i wil try another apple on K, wat brand did u buy ?

Able lives uP to his name indeed ! I m very impressed, no wonder his papa is so happy

Adeline

thanks for ur kind comments

I wish both are mine, unfortunately the boy belongs to my pal Ivis ;)

what is the name of ur child ? post some pics to share ?

<font color="ff6000">hi hi. i'm back. finally. thanks for not flooding the thread. hee hee didnt have any hard time catching up. anyway, i must say i miss caleb sooooooo muchhhhhhhh. so scared he will forget me so asked my mum to keep showing him my pixs

overall the trip was a much needed one for a break. for once in 6.5 mths that i cld slp thru the nite without having to wake up (but then hor i still wake up a few times then see not morning when back to slp again). but the diving was so much more tiring than looking after caleb. after a few dives against the current, i told hb tis is more tiring n he actually agreed wif me. guess not having exercise for a long time that's y.

aiyo i kana bad sun burn on my back. now i look like a walking cooked lobster.</font>

<font color="0000ff">adeline</font> welcome. is your bb a boy or ger? what's your bb's name? do drop in here more often. hope to see pixs of your bb soon.

taking a quick peek b4 i go zzz...

wah, selina sounds like u and hb had a great er ren shi jie. now i started to feel that i cant bear to part KB with my in-laws and go enjoy myself. not sure is it i bu she de him or i just dont trust them.

btw, have been doing research on otah these 2 days, cant find any nice one. most prob will think of something else to bring for the BG.

ika billis
==========

qn: do i hv to wash them before i sun them???

Jo, K looks like she has grown alot leh. big ger liao.

adeline, welcome.

<font color="ff0000">BG GATHERING</font>
I think it was Doreen who mentioned it during our NGM but we never got round to discussing it further.

<font color="0000ff">Wet weather program</font>
Looks like if it rains that day, the gathering will be cancelled unless we can find another place to gather and eat the food.

Which brings us to the next point. If cancelled, what is going to happen to all the food? Smaller type of finger food eg potato chips or drinks are still fine cos they can be kept for the next gathering or for own consumption. But those who have kindly volunteered to bring curry chicken, fried bee hoon etc, what's going to happen to them?

<font color="ff0000">So we've got to decide on the following:</font>

1) Suggest an alternative location in the event it rains

2) If don't have suggestion for 1) then the gathering will be cancelled if it rains. Which means that we either

a) Don't prepare food at all. (For info, the BG gatherings that i've attended for Joshua's friends, we only bring snacks to be shared for our toddlers. Easier for everyone if the event gets cancelled)
b) Prepare food in smaller qty and those that you don't mind eating it yourself at home if the gathering is cancelled

Ladies, can we have your views, pls?

Thank you so much for your concern... D wound getting better leh.. so relief.. whenever she wants to bite, i will remove her hand lor.

Coral:
Aiyo, poor C... guess we have to monitor them more closely nowadays. they seems to know how to do alot of things behind our back.

Selina/babygrace:
ya.. agree with you.. call PD also no much use.. now the wound getting better liao. thanks for the concern.

HJ:
Aiyo, isnt that pain?? poor gal she must be very strong to be able to pull her own hair out...

Starz,
buy all sort of teethers she also dun like.. think is the rubbery smell..
hope you are coping well with your MS...
reminds me of my pregancy

Gracesong:
the class will be very fun if your bb knows how to crawl already. like desiree dun know how to crawl, limited activities.. but we enjoy the bonding..
Saw issac, very active... think he enjoy the class very much, saw shirley busy chasing after him..

Esther:
Joan wants to give D love bites ar.. kekeke... RA here leh, <font size="-1">we discuss secretly</font>

Yo good morning gals

Gym at tumbletots
-----------------

Hubby and I was quite disappointed at the small place and the lack of variety in the gym equipment. We are also not very impressed with the instructors as they look more like part timers than professional instructors who can give us useful advice.

Isaac tried all the gym equipment within the 45 mins and have to repeat doing some of them. Overall i dont think i will sign him up. Will try other gyms to make a comparison. However, i think isaac was quite cooperative and enjoy crawling all over the place. he was so tired after the gym and fall asleep in the high chair while i was feeding him

763166.jpg

BG gathering
------------
Sorry gals, i need to pull out from the gathering as my SIL is orgainising a surprise BBQ birthday party for my BIL so i have to give this gathering a miss! Sob sob, i have even bought the mat for everyone to share. maybe can pass on to one of the mummies so that can have bigger space to sit.

Starz, Doreen

Thank you for your advice. after posting, i also went to read up on how to curb isaac's phobia of bathing. I observe that he likes to stand up and shower so we have decided to let him stand up. i also bought a small duck bath toy for him to play and he will sit occassionally to play with it. think he is slowly adjusting back to feeling ok with the bath. yesterday i bathe him alone and he was ok. i was really happy like a little dukie hee hee.

i agree with doreen on not letting the baby to develop phobia. i think i was too impatient last time so i will try to be more careful in future.
Thanks gals for all the advice and concerns

a lot of work to do this week will try to keep up with the post.

coral

long time never see ur post! must be really busy ya! congrats with ur new job opportunity. must be careful with Char cos her development can be very fast going forward and never underestimate their abilities.

We saw isaac stepping on the bumper in the cot and try to push himself out of the cot. My heart nearly jumped from my body. really a scare.Bet u have a scare yourself too when u saw char nearly roll down. now no more bumper and the railing is always to the highest level when we are not around. No more taking chances. I keep reminding myself better to be safe than sorry.

thanks all for ur warm greetings.

My girl's name is Kimberly aka Jing wen.

Are all moms here working moms or stay home? For me i am working mom!

Caleb's mom: Yes i will be dropping in often unless peak period @ work :p

Some photos to share!
763192.jpg
763193.jpg
763194.jpg
763195.jpg

have not login for quite a few days. was only back office on fri and 100 over emails to clear even though my temp (still around, even though i'm back from my ML) help to clear some.

i'm still feeling v tired even though i slept 8-9 hrs over the wkend.

cant really caught up with the postings..

Adeline,

no prob.. there's always a first time.
you look young in the photo. and you look familar as well. thought see you somewhere.

hello all, sharing sthg tt a sept mummy asked me to post....

Children's Health
Cancer-Causing Chemical Found in Children's Bath Products
By Campaign for Safe Cosmetics
Feb 8, 2007 - 11:39:32 AM

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">CANCER-CAUSING CHEMICAL FOUND IN CHILDREN'S BATH PRODUCTS</font></font>

Women's Shampoos and Body Wash also Contaminated

(HealthNewsDigest. com) - WASHINGTON A hidden cancer-causing petrochemical has been found in dozens of children's bath products and adults' personal care products, in some cases at levels that are more than twice the U.S. Food and Drug Administration' s lenient recommended maximum.

Laboratory tests released today revealed the presence of 1,4-Dioxane in products such as Hello Kitty Bubble Bath, Huggies Baby Wash, Johnson's Baby Wash, Scooby-Doo Bubble Bath and Sesame Street Bubble Bath. The tests also found the carcinogen in Clairol Herbal Essences shampoo, Olay Complete Body Wash and many other personal care products.

1,4-Dioxane is a petroleum-derived contaminant considered a probable human carcinogen by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and a clear-cut animal carcinogen by the National Toxicology Program. It is also on California's Proposition 65 list of chemicals known or suspected by the state to cause cancer or birth defects. Because it is a contaminant produced during manufacturing, the FDA does not require it to be listed as an ingredient on product labels.

The problem of 1,4-Dioxane contamination in personal care products is highlighted in a new book, "Safe Trip to Eden: Ten Steps to Save the Planet Earth from the Global Warming Meltdown," by David Steinman. The laboratory results were released jointly today at the National Press Club by Steinman and the Campaign for Safe Cosmetics, a coalition of U.S.-based health and environmental groups working to protect cosmetics consumers from toxic chemicals and hold companies accountable for the safety of their products.

"Regrettably, 1,4-Dioxane contamination is just the tip of the iceberg," said Jeanne Rizzo, R.N., executive director of the Breast Cancer Fund, a founding member of the Campaign for Safe Cosmetics. "Because the FDA does not require cosmetics products to be approved as safe before they are sold, companies can put unlimited amounts of toxic chemicals in cosmetics."

Steinman said parents should be outraged that companies are willing to spend a significant amount of money on entertainment licensing agreements that entice children but won't spend pennies to remove contaminants such as 1,4-Dioxane.

"Consumers who have young children, as I do, have the right to expect the highest purity in children's products," Steinman said. "I call on American consumers to say no to dangerous petrochemicals in their children's cosmetic and personal care products."

Contrary to what many consumers may believe, the FDA does not review or regulate cosmetics products or ingredients for safety before they are sold to the public and has no legal authority to require safety assessments of cosmetics.

Devra Lee Davis, professor of epidemiology and director of the Center for Environmental Oncology at the University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute, said that the usual regulatory approach of assessing risk one chemical at a time does not account for the combined effects of very low levels of hidden contaminants in personal care products and from other sources. "We must lower exposures to controllable agents that we know or suspect cause cancer," she said.

The FDA has been measuring 1,4-Dioxane levels since 1979, but because the agency has little authority or enforcement capacity over the cosmetics industry, it has worked with manufacturers to reduce levels on a voluntary basis only. In 2000, the FDA recommended that cosmetic products should not contain 1,4-Dioxane at concentrations greater than 10 ppm (parts per million); yet some 15 percent of products tested exceeded even these lenient guidelines. This limit, however, also does not take into account that babies exposed to 1,4-Dioxane from baby shampoo may be exposed at the same time to 1,4-Dioxane from bubble bath, body wash and many other products.

More than two dozen products were tested at Steinman's request by West Coast Analytical Service, an independent testing laboratory specializing in trace chemical analysis. Among the products tested:

Product and 1,4-Dioxane concentration:

Baby & Children's Consumer Products
Disney Clean as Can Bee Hair & Body Wash (Water Jel Technologies) : 8.8 ppm
Disney Pixar Cars Piston Cup Bubble Bath (MZB Personal Care): 2.2 ppm
Gerber Grins & Giggles Gentle & Mild Aloe Vera Baby Shampoo: 8.4 ppm
Hello Kitty Bubble Bath (Kid Care): 12 ppm*
Huggies Baby Wash Shea Butter: 4.0 ppm
Huggies Natural Care Baby Wash Extra Gentle and Tear Free: 4.2 ppm
Johnson's Head-to-Toe Baby Wash (Johnson & Johnson): 5.3 ppm to 6.1 ppm
Johnson's Kids Tigger Bath Bubbles (Johnson & Johnson): 5.6 ppm to 7.9 ppm
Johnson's Kids Shampoo Watermelon Explosion (Johnson & Johnson): 10 ppm*
Lil' Bratz Mild Bubble Bath (Kid Care): 3.7 ppm
L'Oreal Kids Orange Mango Smoothie Shampoo: 2.0 ppm
Mr. Bubble Bubble Bath Gentle Formula with Aloe: 1.5 ppm
Rite-Aid Tearless Baby Shampoo: 4.3 ppm
Scooby-Doo Mild Bubble Bath (Kid Care): 3.0 ppm
Sesame Street Wet Wild Watermelon Bubble Bath (The Village Company): 7.4 ppm

Adult Consumer Products
Clairol Herbal Essences Rainforest Flowers Shampoo: 23 ppm*
Olay Complete Body Wash with Vitamins (normal skin): 23 ppm*
Suave Naturals Passion Flower: 2.0 ppm

Steinman's book explains what Americans can do today to be "green patriots" and curb the nation's dependency on foreign oil. The new laboratory results reveal the health risks posed by the same petrochemicals that are part of what he calls the nation's growing oil addiction.

Women and girls use an average of 12 personal care products daily, according to a 2004 survey conducted by the Campaign for Safe Cosmetics.

www.HealthNewsDigest.com

Selina
welcome back.
glad to hear tt u enjoyed ur trip. *ouch* bad sunburn? its gonna hurt for a few days... i hate tt too. apply aloe vera to smooth it...

bbgrace
u r rite.... in case of wet weather, it cld b quite bad in a sense all the food prepared will b wasted. and gg by the weather over the wkend, it always rains at my area fr late aftn to evening time.
i suggest to bring small items to bring items juz for snacking perhaps? and drinks? since it can b kept for other occasions in case the gathering is cancelled?

Shirley
i oso brought R to try out Gymboree yest... hmm, its v tiring 4 us leh... and this boy cant sit still... luckily my hb went along, else i will end up like Issac ---> felt asleep while eating! kekekek

ohhhh then the toy how? u not gg to collect liao ah???

Oh my!! This is making me worry. My girl have been using the Johnson's tip to toe wash. I hafta ask my aunty to stop it then!!! Thks for the info.
Scary man! Esp for baby products. The other time was the baby food and now is something that they use everyday.

Delphine
Probably show me ur photo and i'll let u know where have u seen me before :p

Studies have shown that it is a myth that the yellow vegetables will make baby reject the greens likewise, it is a myth that introducing fruits first will make baby less likely to eat veggies. This myth continues as parents are told, and oftentimes believe, that the sweet fruits will be favored over the veggies. One key thing to remember is this, if you are breast feeding your baby, your baby is already receiving the sweetest of nature's foods!

Every baby is different and believe it or not, many babies prefer green to yellow veggies and many prefer veggies over fruits!

!

wei kuan
u r soooo RIGHT!!! R actually prefers veggies to sweet potatoes! i haven really intro much items to him yet but i realised he loves spinach puree!!! he gave me disgusting looks when i tried avocado and sweet potato last wk. we were all puzzled how come he loves the yucky looking, horrid smelling veggie to sweet potato? haha

BM is not v sweet leh... so i intro veggies 1st then fruits later coz of wat u mentioned tt they might b choosy over it later...

hi ladies...

mango,
my stroller is a peg prego p3, not light leh... but we also did alot of research b4 getting it... my hb likes tis cos its very sturdy, and spacious... hehehe...

jo,
hahahaha.... K's expression is indeed priceless!!! A also made tat expression tat day went PD fed him e rotavirus vaccine... hehehe... i didnt hv my camera then tho...
jo so young already got fiance ar?!?!?! u cant wait to b MIL liaoz issit???

aspialle, doreen, grace song,
wah.... all ur lil ones sooo cute... so many "pattern" come out liaoz...
gracesong, Able is reli reli smart leh... hehehe.. agree with jo he's living up to his name...

selina,
welcome back... seems like u reli enjoyed ur trip...

how did C react when he saw u??? few days only... don't think he would hv forgotten u lah... right?

adeline,
welcome!!!
kao_welcome2.gif

u look reli young, n kimberly very cute!!!! i also find u familiar leh.... where r u working now huh??? did u cut ur hair shorter???

delphine,
actually A also dont like his teethers... but he love his thumb, luckily he dont suck whole day only certain "timing"... glad tat its recovering... bo pianz lor, juz hv to keep monitoring her n preventing her from sucking her hand lor....

<font color="0000ff">ayden's new patterns?</font>
hehehe... A juz started doing these recently...
first of all, he's rolling n "wriggling" all over e place.. he can roll e entire width of our king-size bed liaoz.. n "wriggle" up n down.. now reli cant leave him anywhere except in his cot or in e playpen liaoz....
then juz last week he started "blowing" reli hard... he will go "AH... BOOOO..." with alot of saliva spitting out... n he love to do this ONLY looking at his daddy, esp while daddy is having dinner (but never look at me n do this)... hb always ask him,"u wana blow daddy away so u can take over n be closer to mummy huh??" but i always wish if only there is some way we can read his mind... i'd reli reli love to know wat he's thinking about when he does this....

hi crystalized,

oh dear, my whole family, adults & kids have been using Johnsons products all this while..
will check with my SIL who's working there.

starz
R oso go "ah boooooo" wif salivating flying out... and we r trying not to b amused by his acts as it will encourage him to do more!
and he does this to anyone except showing it to my mum!!!! my mum says she nvr see him boo-ing like tt.

gemini
i oso thot johnsons was quite safe... looks like its not afterall..one mummy got her reasoning in sept thread liao...

Hi Starz

Wow seems like i have to really try to know what are all your kids name haha.. now abit confuse with all the K, R, D and bleah!

My hair was short before but now long.
maybe my features is common? :p

By the way my kim only knows how to turn over but dunno hw to flip back is it alright for 6 mths? She knows how to turn at about 4mths though till now have been trying to teach her how to flip back but she can sit.. Ahh.. now trying to crawl and she knows how to wink at us as well as making weird sounds, yelling and shouting. Making funny faces and showing us her tongue.