(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

hi hi coral..
very happy to hear that today is ur last day of work..then u can concentrate on growing with ur baby at home..i m sure u can read up lotsa more on the baby's development..will love to hear from u more often..i m very glad that u have a positive mindset..this is very impt for u..cheers~

hi hi delphine..
u r welcome..heheee..ya lor, yest MIA for a day..luckily can catch up with the post ahh..heehee..

Good morning!!!

hi wendy/gemini,
i read from book tat sleep with face down or face up is not a good sleep position for pregnant lady. face down - will stree ur tummy expecially when ur tummy is big. face up - not good for the blood circulation and oso baby. the best sleep position is sleep left sideway. i m the one always sleep face up. and been train myself sleep sideway few weeks ago. of course not comfortable at first but slowly then ok. maybe u sleep sideway with hug a booster lol.that will make u more comfortable.

Hi jenny and those 2nd mtbs..
Me and hb is query about how's the feeling when baby movement (tai dong)? Can u all share with us? tks tks....

Wendy,
yeah...dr koh did mentioned that he will do the detailed scan when we reach 20weeks. so, our next appt is 18w and follow by 21w. i guess the detailed scan will held on 21weeks lol.

Jasmine,
Though I know sleep left sideway is good, but hor I always get body ache when I sleep tat way. I'm ok with right sideway and sleep face up. Now I'm still sleeping face up, more comfortable for me.

You will feel light light butterfly feelings. Dun really know how to discuss leh. When bb is bigger, you can feel the kicking and other movements.

Hi delphine/jenny,
huh? light light butterfly feeling? so cute....my hb everynite ask baby kick me so tat he and me can feel tat feel. haha...but like jenny said, baby still small till we cant feel lol.

me oso prefer right sideway and face up, expecially face up. and yeah..sometimes i feel back ache when i sleep left sideway. but i read most of the book said left sideway is good. jz follow lol...coz i oso dunno ma..

jasmine,
baby's kicks will initially feel very faint, like bubbles bursting or when your tummy got some gas. a bit ticklish. They will only start kicking harder when they are bigger. Sometimes you'll also see a sudden bulge on your tummy cos it's either the elbow or leg. Oh yes, when bb hiccups, you'll feel it too. Very cute!

hi hi jasmine..
thks for sharing this to us..i guess so far.. sleeping on face-up for me is ok, just that when we get bigger, probably by the sides will be better..i think preferably by the left side hor? hmm..oh ya, i m actually waiting for the govt to announce the Election date so that i can re-fix the appt to somewhere closer to the the date, i got to understand it shd be ard the 1st wk of May..actually me still thinking if i shd go for the detailed scan at the hospital..coz some say detailed scan is a very impt scan..so i believe will need a higher end machine to scan so the machines at the hospital will surely be better lor..u dun intend to do the scan at the hospital?

hi hi jenny..
did u start to feel baby's movement since u r a 2nd time mtb..i heard some 2nd time mtbs gets to feel baby's movement earlier than 1st time mtbs..u must tell us leh..we will be very excited for u..coz in no time, will be our turns soon..heehee..

hi hi babygrace..
bb hipcups? will we hipcups also like baby or just feel the movement? haha..this is very very interesting..now i cant wait to see baby soon..cheers~

BabyGrace: that's is so cute... can actually feel bb hipcup.. really amazing ya..

wendy: thank for sharing the info.. got to be careful on the brand of the cod liver oil.

wtan,
u will feel the movement of bb hicupping. nope, u wont hiccup yourself. Very cute thing is that my bb always hiccup inside me and when he was out, he also hiccup a lot. haha!

hi hi delphine..
ya lor..i m currently taking this Nerogain brand..i guess shd be safe ba...hmm..

hi hi babygrace..
oh really? haha..so cute..hipcupps inside u & also now outside u..so amazing..

hi hi jenny..
very nice to hear that u can feel baby's movement on & off leh..so excited for u..is it like the bubbles-like feeling or u can really feel the kicks? this is so great!

Hey, this is interesting, first time I hear about feeling bb's hiccup. So cute.
Wendy, actually I'm trying not to read too much abt preg cos i don't want to get paranoid. During this time, will prob keep my mind blank and do nothing for a while.

Does anyone know what happen if we happen to go overseas for holiday durign teh election?

hi Ladies
I am back

I can feel the litle fellows' movement too. 1 is more active than the other

Hi wendy,
me still dunno yet. like wat u mentioned, machine at hospital will be better. dunno whether dr. koh 's clinic hav those kind of machine or not? yeah... tat day he mentioned tat detailed scan is not easy as we thought. after the detailed scan, he will prepare a 'detail' report too.. maybe shall check with him during next appt lol.

babygrace,
oh really? we can feel baby hiccup? 1st time i heard tat. hmmm.... excited for the baby movement. so, since u r 2nd mtb, hav u feel the baby movement now?

Hi doggiemummy,
welcome back!!
kao_kiss.gif

hav u know the gender of ur babies? since 1 is more active than other.. will it be 'long feng tai'? heheh....

hi hi coral..
oic..then in that case..just relax ur home ba..relax ur mind also..u r thinking of gg for a short break? hmm..i hvnt elect b4..so i m not very sure abt how if u r not ard when there's election..

hi hi doggiemummy..
nice to hear from u..r u feeling better?wow..so nice..u can feel ur babies' movement ahh..that's very sweet..ya, must let us know the gender when u get to know it..so cute..

hi hi delphine..
i guess slowly lah..we shd be able to feel it ard 18-22 wks..that's what i understand..haha..

hi hi Jasmine..
one of my friend was telling me that detailed scan is very impt..becoz it will tell u alot of abt the baby's development so it's better to go for a clearer view of the scan also..when's ur next appt?

hi hi ladies..
i m gg to shift my seat in my office to the front nearer to my superior..i think most likely my colleagues will help me to move/shift some of my stationaries to the new place..they ask me to pack them & then go out for lunch while they help me in the shifting process..duno if there's anything i shd be highlighted during this shifting..pls advise me what to do?

Hi wendy,

I think as long as u are out of the office during the shifting, shld be ok.

Hi freshposion & babygrace,

Though it will still burn a hole in our pockets, actually i realised that dr ho charges are not as ex as compared to other hospitals. I have seen gynaes in other hospitals. But for babygrace, yours will "peng san". But it's $$ well spent for the sake of bb's health.

Hi coral,

U can take a very good break now! Can help us to read up on more books for more info! :p

Hmm.. bubbles-like feeling? Recently, i got such "bubbles-like" feeling, thought that it's wind, so not sure whether it's the bb's movement.

Hi Wendy,
yeah...tat's why dr. koh said he need to prepare a detail report after the scan. which hospital r u going? my next appt wil b 5/5. i will gg on morning cause did to do the blood test. they said is better do at morning so there is a despatch come and collect the sample and sent to the lab.
regarding the shift hor... me oso shift from ground floor to upper floor lol. my collegues is asking me why dun stay at ground floor since is convenience for me to go toilet...etc. but i still prefer 1st floor office coz ony 2 ppl at upstair and more quiet. i only pack my stuff in the boxes and ask my collegues carry for me lol. the more important things is make sure you wont carry heavy things and always ask for help. since ur collegues offer to help u, jz pack ur stuff in boxes(easy for carry) and go for lunch bar..oo..yea. be4 i shift, i jz tell baby tat i will shift my seat so tat baby knew tat. hehe....

hi wendy,
u missing in action y'day ah? din see u ard.

yah, envy u gals whom got gd appetite. i hope can stop soon. need to catch up on my nutrients soon. hehe, my hb is the one eatg watever i cant finish, so yah, i oso disturb and say he is 5 mths pregnant. tummy more obvious than mine.

i oso takg neurogain. is this brand ok? since its by gynae, i hope its safe. will dbl check again in my nxt visit.

as long as u not ard when they shifting, its alright.

coral,
its gd tt u both had grew stronger and more prepared for this pregnancy.
now tt u had resigned, can really hv a gd rest lor. envy, envy leh!

if u r on hloiday when election is takg plc, juz need to prove tt u r away. dun think its a big issue. btw which consituency u stay under? mayb its walkover? hehe

babygrace,
enuff printouts is gd mah, i am so excited to look at the scans. mine not alot lah, and cant really make out most of it. juz keep it to show my bb nxt time.
hope this pregnancy is smoother 4 u.

hehe talkg abt baby kicks, hv u ladies felt anything yet? i only felt light knocking sensation at 12 wks, since then none of it liao. i read 4 1st pregnancy, we will start feeling kicks at only 20 wks?

doggiemummy,
u felt ur babies kicks alrdy? OH thats so cute! and 1 more active than the other!
bet it muz b so exciting!!!

jasmine / crystallized,
Whatever bubble like feeling that i'm feeling now is defintely gas / wind in my tummy. For the 1st one, i felt movement at 20 weeks.

crystallized,
i'm also taking neurogain. Took that for my 1st pregnancy also.

Hi gemini,

Yeah, actually i'm getting used to dr ho's pricing already. Dun mind spending as long as he's good then I feel he's worth every penny.

I'm also taking neurogain plus some other supplement like calcium & iron. Is anyone also taking such a combination? Was wondering if it's safe to eat so many artificial supplements. Din dare ask my dr cos scared he think i questioning his experience leh...

babygrace,
hahaha, sounds so true! watever tt is happening inside, i always presume its the wind tt is wrecking havoc!

yep, 20 wks is the norm lor. nvm in another mth or so, we shld all feel the movements of our little ones alrdy.

freshpoison,
i am takg the same combi like u. so many pills to swallow a day. and i find tt this pill combination wif prata will give me a horrible burping smell thereafter. so i sometimes avoid eatg prata.

i think supplements shld b quite safe, esp if u r not eatg well. i am definitely a classic example. eatg all the rubbish fd and i cant take in those nutritious ones tt i wished i cld.

freshpoison,
i'm also taking the some combination as you, think that's the standard supplement that Dr Ho prescribes. The last pregnancy i didn't take the sangobion but took it after birth.
Wah, every day got to swallow so many pills.

i agree with you that i trust Dr Ho despite the high pricing. Was contemplating changing gynae for this 2nd one after seeing how little some of the MTBs here are paying for their package. But in the end, i decided to just stick with him for the peace of mind. Mine will be C-section and i'm taking single-bedded so bill will be higher. oh well, some money just can't be saved.

crystallized,
The combination don't go well with prata? Then i better not try it. i love prata, especially the crispy ones from Casuarina Rd.

i guess with our tummy problem now, better avoid it.

Good Morning. Can I join in this thread?

I am currently in my 13 weeks.

My EDD should be around 27 October. Age: 31

Gynae: Dr Tony Tan from KKH. Currently expecting 2nd child. Gender: Not sure yet

Hi hi gemini..
Thks for sharing abt this with me..ok, I will not be ard in the office when the shifting is taking place..thks..

Hi hi Jasmine
Oic..so even aft Dr Koh did the detailed scan for us, he will prepare a detailed report for this scan ahh..okok..thks for sharing abt this info..i 4got to check it out with him for the last appt..haha..hmm..i thot the hospital appt will be at Raffles hospital only? Anyway, will discuss it out with hubby & see what he say..thks for sharing abt ur recent shifting experience..i guess I will pack my stuff in a box then go out for lunch so that I can get my colleagues to help out in the shifting..thks..thks..really appreciate it..ya, will let baby know abt it as well..thks!

Hi hi crystallized..
I was here yesterday..i think the day b4 yest I was MIA lah..heehee..i was telling my grandma that others cant even eat much but me is cant stop eating..but I think must try to control my diet lah..coz if not, I will be outgrown in no time..haha..i just started taking neurogain only..so duno if its ok alsohopefully its ok as well..i guess if I m not ard..shd be ok ba..thks..dun think so much..since all the tonics can only start at our 2nd Tri..so u will surely be able to replenish it back..just endure a little while more..i m sure it will be gone soon..cheers~

Hi hi babygrace..
Thks for telling us that we shd be able to feel the babys movement ard 20th wk onwards..i was so worried when I thot the rest can feel it liao but how come I cant..so its 20th wk onwards..i guess it vary from individual..maybe I got more fats..ops..wowu gg to have c-section for ur baby #2 & somemore single bedded ahh..its gg to be very ex leh..why not consider 2 bedded or 4 bedded instead?

Hi hi freshpoison..
Oh, u r taking calcium + iron + neurogain ahh? I guess shd be ok ba..hmm..makes me wonder when will we be taking iron pills as well..i m only taking calcium + multivitamins..just started with the neurogain for a few days only..

hi hi jackiejon..
welcome to the thread..wow..u also 2nd time mtbs ahh..how old is ur # 1 now? heehee..okok..will update ur details in the chart..hope to hear from u often..cheers~

Hi freshposion & babygrace,

dr ho has prescribed me the same vitamins as you. But FYI, iron pills will make us constipated hor, so that why our stools are so "black" and hard.

Hi wendy,
i remember dr. koh told me tat the multivitamins we took oso contain iron, tat's why he advice we shld take at nigh and calcium take at morning. i jz curious tat do we need to take vit E?

hi hi jackiejon,
welcome to the thread... since u r 2nd time mtbs, tat mean we hav another person can share with us about ur previous pregnancy experience, hor?

babygrace,
its not the prata wrecking havoc. in fact i loved prata oso. its one of the few fd i can consume. but coz i realised the burping coupled wif prata gives me a disgusting burp taste, now i oso avoid prata. sigh, 1 more less fav fd.

hi wendy,
yah since u can eat watever u wan, u gotta start controlling liao. hehe
but really envy u.

wat u mean u not sure issit ok tt u juz started to take neurogain? actually gynae said if we take fish regularly, no need to take neurogain. so no need to worry.
i am not takg in a lot of things, so its essential tt i shld consume all these supplements.

jasmine,
u spent 1/2 hr but still managed to hv bowel movements leh. i can spend the same amt of time, but still nothing comes out. v frustrating, and alrdy i am drinking alot of water yet it does not help.

hi hi jackiejon..
wow..ur boy already 4 yrs old liao ahh..so does he stick to u that often?i m a 1st time mtbs..heehee..me will most likely be able to confirm 101% the gender by my next appt on 06/5..heehee

hi hi Jasmine..
oh really..i didnt know that the multivitamins that we took contains iron also leh..only know we have to take at diff timing with the calcium only..heehee..aa..vitamin E ahh..that I m not very sure leh..but I know the brand of multivitamins a lot of mtbs are taking it as well..wow..ur effect so powerful ahh..1/2 hr in the toilet..hmm..i hv been trying to squeeze out lately..but gently also lah..haha..hope thats not the cause of it..

Hi hi crystallized..
Oic..nowadays..my intake for fish is lesser..haha..duno why, I think I can only stand deep dried fish instead of steam ones which I know is a better choice..hmm..

wendy: same same I cant stand the smell of fish... really turn me off.
U mean u already have some % on the gender of bb? just want to be doubly sure?

All MTBs:

Didnt know that have to take so many vitamine & stuff.. So far only take folic acid & pink pill call prenavit ever since i'm pregnant. Do I need to take more??

Sigh.. my MS come again this morning, dun feel good dun know what happen to bb? hehe maybe he/she throw temper to attract attention... haha

One more thing for advise, heard you all have been talking about sleeping position, me habit of sleeping sideway BUT curl up, izzit good?

Hello Jasmine

Sure, why not? :-D

Hello wtan

No not really, he doesnt really stick to one person as he can play with almost everyone in the family (eg. uncle and aunties) ;-D

This is actually my 3rd pregnancy. I had a miscarriage last Oct. Therefore for this pregnancy I am still keeping my fingers crossed.

wtan,
i want single-bedded so that hubby can bunk in with me. i need his help cos after c-section, you can't get off the bed for at least 1.5 days and with the drip poked into your arm, it's quite difficult to move or reach for things. He even had to help me position the baby to latch on for bf. Plus i don't want to be disturbed by visitors of the next bed. More privacy mah, plus i also get large groups of visitors, quite pai seh if they disturb the other patients.

Hi Crsytallized, I'm not sure if I belong to Marine Parade or Joo Chiat. If Marine parade sure walk over, but for Joo Chiat, last night news say that Workers' Party might want to contest.

Talk abt MS, still here for me. This morning I went out to buy something, the moment I reach home, can't even hv time to close door then rush in to puke. Hb happen to come home, was shocked to see door open, and found my head buried in plastic bag in the kitchen.

Doggiemummy, could it be your bbs are taking turn to kick and not just one is more active??
Hi Jackiejon, welcome. We're seeing the same gynae. Did Dr Tan delivered your 1st boy? This is my 2nd preg, but I'll be a 1st time mum as I lost my boy during 1st preg. So far Dr Tan had been very encouraging.

Does anyone know if preg will cause one to hv headache? I'm one who never/seldom hv headache, but over the last one month I've been having bad headache. Think must ask gynae when I see him next week. In the mean time, anyone has any learning to share?

Hello Coral

That is nice :-DD at least there is someone here who share the same gynae as me.

During my first pregnancy (with my son), I went to a private doctor @ Gleneagles Hospital.

But after he was born on the 6th day, the Paediatrician in charge discovered that my son had hole in the heart.

He is actually born with not 1 but 2 holes in the heart. Just imaging, being first time parents, it came as a shock to us.

After we discovered that he had that problem, we went round looking for the best Cardiologylist we could find. Therefore, we decided to bring him to KKH since KKH is well known as a children hospital.

Fortunately, the smaller hole closed by itself when he was about 6 months old. While the 2nd hole did not closed until he had his open heart surgery done in KKH in 2004. He was only 2 years old then. Therefore, I waited for him to recover from his surgery before trying for the 2nd child. When I was trying for my 2nd child, I asked my son's surgeon to recommend me a gynae who is good in scanning and he recommended Dr Tony Tan. (What I heard/learnt is that if a child has a hole in the heart, normally when the mother is expecting the child, the gynae can scan and spot it, that is if the hole is big).

I was with Dr Tony Tan since my 2nd pregnancy and he was the one who did my D&C for me last year October.

Best regards

Hi coral
Same as u I have been have some headaches too. And I very rarely get headaches. I read some where its due to pregnancy too some ppl will get better some worse.

Dun think I can feel bb movement yet thought bb likes to stay on my right side can feel a bit of bump scan also always on the right. Then the night before I ask hubby to say good night to bb and he was talking a lot until I ask him to stop. How can bb slp when he talk so much...
Than last night he wanted to talk to bb again and found the lump on my left side instead. So I told hubby he talk too much until bb scared and went to the other side cos dun want to listen to him...hahaha

hi hi delphine..
I think I m ok with the fish if its not the very raw type so I prefer deep fried fish..heehee..as for gender, will surely share with u all by my next appt on 5/5..i just changed my appt bcoz of the Election on 6/5..heeee..i think its a sat..not sure if ur co will provide u with the extra off-in-lieu..

Hi hi jackiejon..
Oic..ur boy so sweet..can stick with everyone..whc is gd also..heehee..Dun think that much..i m sure baby will be healthy..just remain positive..take gd care..cheers~

Hi hi babygrace..
Oic..then got to pay more ba..in this case..at least can get help from hubby also..

to the ladies tt hates fish, ME TOO! i used to be such a fish lover tt i can wallop a sgl whole fish all by myself and still wanting more. 3 meals a day wif fish is perfectly fine wif me
until pregnancy came along

now like wendy, can only tahan fried fish. steamed ones scares me terribly. juz by lookg at the fish at dining table is enuff to make me lose my appetite. thus my fish oil v impt lor.

delphine,
if it makes u feel better, MS striked me suddenly these few mornings again when they usually "attack" in late aftn. sigh
now appetite dropped again.

when it strikes, i juz tell myself its pregnancy hormones and it means baby is doing well. no choice lah, muz think positively lor.

babygrace,
i oso prefer sgl bedded. more privacy and most imptly, hb can stay wif me.
cost is a factor but dun wanna think so much now. comfort comes 1st esp when i am still hvg MS.

coral,
nvm lah, i think as long as u got proof to say u were overseas during election, tt will b ok.

how come u puke in plastic bag? i juz merlion straight into toilet bowl, thus always muz make sure my toilet bowl is kept clean. hehehe

i get headaches quite easily nowadays oso. and i hate headaches. horrible!
usually i drink alot of water to see if it goes away.

jackiejon,
all the best 4 your current pregnancy. stay positive!

coral,
I got headache, think is last mth. No choice lor, take MC to sleep at home till the headache is gone.

RE: Election
Argh, sure no off-in-lieu for me cos me 5 days week... No off-in-lieu if Sat is public holiday, so am sure it applies the same for 6 May. Think I got to vote this time cos most likely no walkover like last round.