(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

starz,
i just brought him to barber nearby my hse here.
btw, why u wanna shave A again? just trim can oredi. i oso intend to shave his hair once nia..

shirley,
maybe he wanna sleep or hungry?? if not, he won't guai guai sit in the stroller at 1st.
A is opposite with I. he will well-behave when we bring him outside. (hope i didnt jinx myself). but ILs joke tat it's due to he seldom go out...sua ku (mountain turtle) & very kpo lor..

bunny,
think get ur old maild back is NOT the good idea lor. cos she is getting married & u didnt know her well after she leave, rite?

Starz, pai sey din go the gathering.

All ladies, need help leh. Im desparately looking for jobs. Hold a business degree and current job is marketing. Prefered job customer service/marketing/administration. Anyone can help har.....sob sob

Starz,
Diane really good for acne hor... me also... everytime outbreak one... once on Diane, wah.. face clear clear nice nice...
Stop in Nov06 to TTC. Then all the acne all come back to me liao...sianz... so now really looking forward to take again... hee...

Aspialle,
I also want to start again leh, ask you har, when you start your first pill har?? The first day of your da yi ma or after that? I still waiting for her to come leh...

Bunny,
I also got maid story to tell...think some of the mummies here heard before liao coz I had this problem when I am preg. And I used to complain in here... hee...
I got a filipino maid to specially take care of my dad who had a stroke and bedridden. She is patience and hardworking. We decided to take filipino coz most of them can speak english so my mum can communicate with her.
BUT filipino must be careful. They want off days and they know a lot of "tricks". Mine start to give me problems by saying her agency eat her money... say want to bring the case up to MOM, want to go out... lie to me that she need to get something from her cousin but return with nothing... Becoz she is very good in taking care of my dad, I kept quiet and let her be. But then after working for 10 mth, SUDDENLY she say she got backache. Visit the clinic without telling us and claim that the doctor say she cannot carry my dad anymore. Then she say she wants to go back. Already told her cousin to buy air tix. She do all these without even telling me. I dun even have time to find another maid to take care of my dad. My mum was still working at that time!!! So I rushed and got a Indonesia maid this time and quickly sent the previous maid back. wah lao... imagine I tummy big big, rush here and there to get a maid... damn stress that time.

Now this indo maid quite good. Work not as fast as the previous one, sometimes quite blur but she really love my Rhys and take care of him very well. Patient to my dad too and never lose temper or play tricks. So I think I am lucky to have her. Now although my mum taking care of Rhys, my mum dun really know how to teach or play with him. Only my maid will sing, read and play with him. Rhys ALWAYS smile at my maid...

So I would say heng suay lor... no choice one lah... but if comparing filipino and indo, I will still take Indo. Filipino know how to geng...

Jasmine, actually my 1st maid left us 3 mths ago only. reason y we consider to bring her back is b'cos jolene like her n she really helped me alot during my confinement. but we are afraid tat she come liao den miss her hubby n son again, den say 1 2 go back again... waste our effort and money to bring her in lor. den we hv to look for new maid again.

Bunny,
think if I am you, I will also change the maid. You got kids leh... very dangerous lor... dun know what she will do to your kids if she unhappy lor.
She shouldn't even hit your kids!!! CHANGE CHANGE CHANGE...

Vivian,

my filipino maid was quite gd. she was with us for abt 10-11mths, nvr requested or demand anything. she is hardworking and automatic, i don need to tell her wat to do, she'll see and do herself. she oso read to Jolene, play w her etc. sometimes she can be a bit stubborn in a way, she like to do things her own way instead of following our instructions. but most of the time i let her be as long as its nothing to do w my kids.

actually after she left, we got another filipino maid, but tat was really extreme opposite as compared to the 1st 1. she grumble behind my back after i tell her to do something. and i find she oso like to touch Jolene, sometimes feel v "er xin" lor. then after 2 weeks, we sent her back to the agent.

then come this indo maid. she always show black face, nvr smile 1. din scold her oso like tat 1. den oso nvr talk. when talk to her she oso nvr reply 1. dunno she hear us or understand us or not. she oso no patient w Jolene. like i mentioned earlier, she even tried to hit Jolene. she oso refused to speak or learn to speak English. tat day when she shouted at me in malay, my hb ask her y she shout at me, den she say bcos she don understand my english and i don understand her malay. wat an excuse lor...

ya... i agree totally w u. getting a gd maid is really a heng suay thing. i see other ppl's maid so guai i oso v envy.

Bunny,
actually I dun totally blame my filipino maid. Even though she play tricks at the end, I still think that I am a bit lucky coz she really took care of my dad really well. If she tell me nicely that she wants to go back, I might even buy her the air tix and stuff for free!! But she play tricks lor... make me so pissed off. My uncle who is experienced with maid, told me that she definitely learn those tricks from other filipino maids one. She herself is not that bad one... sigh... too bad lor...

My uncle also have a few maids liao. He got 3 kids. A few are good but also have a fair share of bad ones... so heng suay lor...

Now I think I happier lah coz this indo maid is cheaper plus with Rhys, my levy also lower so more affordable unlike last time.

Sigh, but now got to give $800 to my mum on top of paying the maid so very siong for me.

<font color="0000ff">Bunny</font>

GEEZ, ur maid is the ultimate

<font color="0000ff">Esther & Selina</font>
<font color="ff0000">THUMBS UP</font> for the wonderful montages that lights up my screen ;)

<font color="0000ff">Dephine</font>
Desiree is so pretty and the dress looks so good on her , hehe, but me wil think, think & think like u b4 i get a 39.90 dress too ;)

<font color="0000ff">Shirley</font>
Isaac looks a combination of u & ur hubby I feel, and u two are really fated..man !

<font color="0000ff">coral</font>

U r really a very good sister !
I was very touched when I read ur post on spending on ur 2nd bro's wedding, and anotehr bro's uni edu..

<font color="0000ff">AND talking abt sisters</font>

my sis flew off yesterday..

What happened was that when she was about to board the plane, the air crew was relectant to let her board with the severely overweight hand luggage at least 18 kg . They termed it "excess baggage"

Sis pointed to the guy in front of her & said : "isn't he excess baggage ? If you weigh him , then weigh me with the hand luggage, my weight will not exceed his"

Crew: " Miss, that is not very polite.."

Everytime, her leaving Singapore is super drama....

Last year, she almost could not baord cos all the gates closed liao and the plane was about to take off.

What happened was that she was q-ing at the wrong gate cos there was a change in the gate number. Only when it was her turn did she realise that the gate she q at was changed to london, not Sydney

The aircrew staff said that she could only board if the captain said ok. She was put on the fone with the captain who asked :" Give me 1 good reason why I should let you board"

Tearful sis " Because this is a SQ flight and I am a fellow Singapore. Somemore, the gate was changed and I did not hear the PA announcement"

Captain:" how come ALL the other passenger hear except you"

Tearful sis: " I really din hear..sob* sob*

Truth was she was busily sipping coffee with mum, me & hubby last year at Starbucks. We were all busily chatting & din hear anything

<font color="0000ff">ahem</font>

geez, it wun take very long lah , a quickie is very chop chop ;)

<font color="0000ff">Japan</font>
Me will prob MIA from 3 April to 9 April liao, hope can see Sakura..

even applied leave liao..

6 days Tokyo for $1398 package + $333 taxes , 5 days with group, 1 day free & easy..

good deal or not ? Dynasty Agent said must pay by friday

Today so sianz... angry with stupig and lazy students plus kena arrowed to be the mcee for my school's seminar on this friday.
Plus got to go thru exam papers again. Go thru liao then realize the setter did not follow the test plan. A lot must redo again.. means I got to check again!!! Sigh... super sianz...

To cheer myself up and keep myself going, me resort to view babies photos!!! Hee...

Here are 2 Rhys' naked photo that puts smiles to my face again... hope it does the same thing to all of you too...
1. Cheeky face...
706872.jpg

2. "Remember har..."
706873.jpg

<font color="0000ff">Vivian</font>

seeing Rhys never fails to put a smile on my face.. i like picture 2 haha, if ur students forgets anything, can use the pic 2 ;p

how heavy is he now ?

vivian,
whenever i see rhys reminds me of the photo u posted after u gave birth.. that cheeky smile i can still remember ..tat time i still pregg

<font color="0000ff">bbgrace</font>
thks 4 offering to lend me Joshua's swimsuit.
i will chk out kiddy palace this wk since my sis oso planning to get 1 set 4 her daughter, so i might get 1 set 4 R too. can save it for #2 oso. somemore Jenny mentioned yishun area might hv cheap ones, so perhaps i will chk it out 1st. will let u noe if i wanna borrow Joshua's set.
I think i am damn lucky oso, to b able to express 2 times at work. if i cant, i oso dun think i can keep up wif tbfg now tt i hv resumed work fully. hope can oso do likewise for #2.

<font color="0000ff">Jenny</font>
i was at chong pang last wk, too bad din think abt getting it there. but did recall seeing some kids swimsuit, juz dunno if got R's size. yah will ask esther to check out 4 me.
oh so i am not the only gong gong one. was surprised tt ur hb was the one tt insisted wan to get a plc of ur own. really regretted my mistake man. but who can i blame since i was the one tt walked into it?
nvm i tell myself this day will definitely come lor. i juz hv to wait.
how i wished can stay near to my mum now. then everyday can bring R back home. so its gd tt u can shift soon. '
So u gg US? heheehe, if so, wanna ask u help me get some things over there IF u dun mind.

<font color="0000ff">Esther</font>
Can u help to chk out if there are any swimsuits in Chong pang suitable for babies of our age? if u pass by lah, dun wanna trouble u intentionally. thks hor.

<font color="0000ff">Shirley</font>
Thks 4 sharing the link on disposable diapers.

My R can oso kick up big fuss during gathering one. so i always dun expect him to b so smiley... as long as he dun cry, i v thankful liao!
ur hb ok anot? kena caught talking on hp? will he be penalised?
i think u dun hv to stop bfg though u r travelling. say if u r unwilling to let Issac drink the milk u expressed overseas, juz throw them away lah aft expressing. at least when u come back u still can latch him.
u tried giving Issac "fresher" FBM? a fren of mine commented tt her son will reject older batches of FBM, but the newer ones, he is ok. so u trial and error to see how it is.

<font color="0000ff">Jasmine</font>
Welcome Alvis to the botak gang!
i like his new look!

<font color="0000ff">Selina</font>
u getting really gd wif all the montages. love seeing them... really lifts my mood.

<font color="0000ff">Jo</font>
till now i think i muz hv been mad or possessed to hv agreed. anyway shall not dwell on it since there is no pt crying over spilled milk. but i will juz grumble whenever i can lor.

<font color="0000ff">Coral</font>
looks like char is ahead now. my R still on 2-3 hourly schedule. sigh.. he drinks 100ml daytime per feed, i increase to 120ml, he cant finish. and his night feeds will b 150ml, sometimes he can finish, sometimes he cant.

i gotta go express milk now... gotta continue replies tmrw...

hi mummys, any tips to share forstarting on cereal? my chloe seems to be veri interested in our food, esp when we are eating..

Her PD says she can start now (4.5mths).. do i m planning to try Heniz Rice Cereal...

any other options?

<font color="ff0000">Mummies</font>
I am supposed to go out with Esther tml but jus saw an sms from her saying that Jovan is hospitalised for observation. She couldn't tell me what happened think she abit shock cos she say she at a lost for words so told her to take care of herself n Jovan first then update us later.

So she will MIA for while bah.

cher
i bought heniz rice cereals for 4mths babies. caleb is having it now in the morning b4 his milk. only 1 teaspoon but will increase to 2 teaspoon tmr. my PD gave us a leaflet on starting solids. quite useful cos all in pointers from 4mths onwards. i try to post here then u can download it.

doreen
OMG! hope everything's alright

hi vivian rhys is very cute

hi cher my chloe also seems to be very interested. she looks at me with very focused expression when i was eating my dinner juz now. very funny

mango
our gals have the same bday on 23 oct
if i remember correctly, ur birthday on 16th feb which is the same as my hubby.

Jo
I heard from my friend that sakura will be earlier this yr so might miss at the dates u r there. have to keep ur fingers crossed liao.

Da Yi Ma
mine came on Chu yi. what a way to start off the new year.

<font color="ff0000">UPDATE ON JOVAN
=======================
Smsed esther. she said Jovan is still under observation. He cried for 1.5hr until face change n his cries actually alerted her neighbours n hb rushed back to bring J to see PD who immediately admitted him. she said nothing special happened so she very scared cos dunno how come he cry until like that. J nv cry until like that b4.

Bunny,
My maid is a graduate and she learnt english but cos lack of practice back home, her english was really bad when she first came. In her 1st mth, i contemplated in sending her away cos she didn't understand my instructions and got me very frustrated.
I think it's also partly she can't understand our accent and plus i speak too fast. So i got her a dictionary, wrote down my instructions (so that she can read and re-read), made her repeat my instructions so that she could practise speaking. i also made her listen to me read to Joshua. Now she can read to him also.

I was lucky in the sense that i had the luxury to stay home and train her for 5 mths before i went back to work. If i was working then, i would have died of frustration and ask for a replacement. It's her first time working as a maid and given that the pace in her country is much slower and things are so backward back home, she also had difficulty in adjusting. What made me keep her was that she has very good attitude.

i specifically wanted a fresh maid with no experience or day off because i don't want to deal with those old birds who are full of tricks. So the downside is that i've got to train her from scratch.

i'm very strict with her when she first came. Layed down all the rules in writing eg no handphone, cannot hit the kids, no make-up etc. I also reward her when she does well. I had periodic performance review and give her bonus when she does well. She's afraid of me but she's happy working here cos she told me she wants to work for me and watch Joshua and Emma grow up. Most importantly Joshua and Emma take to her very well.

If your maid gives you "colours" to see when you tell her off, it's best to change her. I do not tolerate bad attitude like that. Who knows what she will do to your kids behind your back when she's not happy.

I would recommend getting Myanmar maid if you have the time and patience to train. All my friends who have Myanmar maids are happy with them. Most of them have good attitudes cos it's difficult for them to come out to work so they are afraid of being sent back. But then again getting a maid is a heng suay thing.

I'm lucky to have this maid and luckily i persevered in training her. In fact i would not want to let her go now that she is so well-trained by me. Last week hubby asked me if i would be willing to relocate the family to the Middle East if he got posted there and my 1st question to him was "can i bring the maid along?"
There are lots of filipina and indon maids working in the middle east but i don't wish to spend so much time training another one again.

mango,
it's best to have someone supervising your maid unless you've trained her really well. That is the reason why i've shifted to the same condo as my sis now so that she can pop by and check on the maid when i was at work.

crystallized,
just let me know if you need the swimsuit.
it'll be good if you can find a cheap one at yishun. Not many places sell so small one, i had a hard time looking for one for J the last time.

selina,
Thanks for doing the 11 Oct montage

vivian,
Rhys really looks like you. His expression in the 2nd pic very funny.

Jo,
wah your sis v drama hor.

OMG! juz logged on n saw jovan's news liaoz...
selina, can help me convey my best wishes to esther?? tell her that we'll all be wishing and praying for her that jovan is fine... sorry to trouble u again, as i dun hv esther's contact...
thank u!!!

Fed Damien porridge today n seems like he like it better then the pear puree. Cos he is even cleaner. Almost every spoon in nothing comes out.

See he's so clean!!

707129.jpg

way say, few days didnt come in so many postings liao. no time to read thru the achives. joined the yahoo group but only quickly glanced thru the pic. can tell all mummies and babies really enjoyed hor. i love those pic whereby all mummies carried their own bb.

coral, u definitely dont look like aunty lah. infact, u looks quite slim in the pic leh.

next gathering on 25th Mar at Jo's place? will try to make it but it's the day before my bday nia. not sure whether i'll get any surprise from hb.
ha ha ha..me still hoping...

oh no, pray that nothing wrong with Jovan.

wendy, can give me your msn address? it's easier for me to chat online then surf net during office hr. who else can chat online during office hour?

crystallized, u still looking for pp to share swimming diapers? me interested leh.

You gals are fast can't even catch up. took me 2 hrs to finish reading the posting.

Selina
Confirm it's the amt in your 2nd posting?

babe_ong
Me at changi naval base. U in the navy too.

Let's hope Jovan's ok. understand Esther's feeling, when Max got admitted 1st thing i ask myself 'Did i do anything wrong?'. Mums just can't help blaming ourselves when things go wrong.

hi doreen,

OMG! if u do speak to esther, convey my wishes to her too. J will turn out fine.

hi vivian,

i was also on Diane-35 for about 3 yrs. agree with u, diane-35 work wonders for my face! no pimples, not even 1 patch of oily skin even when i'm having menses.

Da yi ma
========
mine really come back with a vengence. the 1 & 2nd mth that it come, i had to change pad every 1 - 2hrs, even i'm using overnite sanitary pads, the Sofy nite ones.

haiz... finish typing e replies liaoz, but click wrong button, all gone...
anywayz i also gotto go sleep liaoz, body aching feeling feverish.. sleep "early" hope it goes away... but one last thing b4 i go....
can i please be "rude" for once and say this... otherwise u all IGNORE me leh....

<font color="ff0000">FOR THE LAST TIME, NO NEED TO PAY ME FOR THE BUFFET LIAOZ!!! ITS A CNY TREAT!!! Give me some "face" leh... treat also kena rejected, very ke lian one leh... </font>

nitez nitez ladies...
kao_byebye.gif

coolmum,
mine is [email protected]

Selina and gemini,
will add you also.

MSN
Just some thoughts. Some of us will chat with each other on msn but i hope this will not stop or slow down the postings here. The info we all share here is invaluable and it'll be good to share it here especially for those who cant chat on msn.

Selina,
Thks for the montage on Able, Caleb & Sophie.
Very well done..

Starz,
Aiyo.. very very paiseh leh.......

Delphine,
That was a nice pix...
Desiree is a v obedient girl.. never see her cranky thru out the gathering...

Vivian,
Thks for deleting the unwanted pixs... your Rhys really look ah beng on 2nd pix... he gave us the "dun play play look" some more show "liang dian" luckily you did not put on a gold chain on him... all ah beng see already sure scared of him.. hehee....

Doreen,
Well train on your side too...
Damien very guai hor.. can finish off sooo clean...

Esther,
Hope your Jovan will recover soon.... you take care too ok..

hi bunny,

i agree with vivian, getting a maid is really heng suay one. i just got one from indo which is with me for 1 mth. i have waited for this maid for 1 & half mth before she come to my house.
initially my mum do not want as she said that she can handle and also a stranger in the house also very awakard for us. but my ger is quite naughty, dun sleep long in the afternoon, and my mum need to cook/do hsework, so that's why i get one.

mine was also a new one with no prior experience in SIN. agree with vivian or (bbgrace)?, i rather train her from stratch rather than get those experienced one who have learned tricks already. luckily for me, my mum is training her and both my parents can converse in malay to her. i only bring her back to my place on fri nites.

i felt that getting a maid sometimes must have the "yuan fen" also. for me, i felt that not much "yuan fen" with my maid, but most impt,since my gal does not reject her & she dotes on my daughter, learn to accept her. since she's only here for 1 mth.

but for your case, if she can beat ur kids and give u a black face when u tell her off, it's better u change her. initially i also v soft hearted, thinking they are quite poor thing, but after hearing my sis/colleagues stories, tell myself not to be so soft-hearted. i tell my hb whenever he wants to speak to her, do it in a stern tone. at least she's afraid of 1 person.

I have a question to ask ah..
How many of you got this problem

1)How many mth old should the BB start recognising faces and places ?
------------------------------------

Accordingly to my mum and MIL tt Megan will cry very chiam whenevr i leave megan with them and she seems to ren di fang (she only 3 and 1/2 mth , got this pattern lia0) but i still think tt she too young to ren di fang so now got problem liao lor..Anyone here got this problem?

2)baby sleeping with pacifier..
-------------------------------

I intro pacifier to megan when she fussy
and now she can sleep soundly with it but
hor i dun feel good lor cos pple saying pacifier no gd for bb but sometimes really no choice leh. what you gals say ?

Yesterday hubby came back say I got fever so bring me see doc but I only felt a little unwell so luckily took medi today recover already. 1st time kanna stomach flu n it reminded me of when I first got preggy. Indigestion but tummy feels empty n tired + yesterday whole day very cooling so I dunno I got slight fever.
Actually more worried that I kanna preggy....hahaha
But luckily not lor else I cannot devote fully to D liao.

<font color="ff0000">Starz</font>
Feeling not good aah rest well okie. I help u say a few words lah okie.

<font color="119911">Mummies since Starz want to treat this time n she has been saying for a few times already we give her face can anot??
Let it be her treat for this time lor.</font>

Not that I 'nigao' lah but if u in her shoes will feel pek chek good intentions kanna suan right.
So I propose another solution. If want then we still transfer the $$ use it for the next gathering. Onzzzz?? Unless who teo toto then treat lah......Hahahahahha

mango16
My mum say is 4 mths start or its the worse period they ren di fang. But then hor familiar places should be okie 1.

I give D pacifier one but already decide to intro before his birth. I rather he have something that can calm him down rather then he cry n u can't use anything to sooth him right?
D use pacifier only when he slp n sometimes he slp without it. But when I want to make him slp I give it to him so he knows its slp time.

mango
my gal born 1429 hr after a 20+ hr labour at KK.
what time ur gal born?
my mil stay lor limau. maybe our MILs know each other cos my MIL very sociable at that area

ur bday on 16 Feb, right?

my gal now also ren pple liao. some pple not familar carry her, she will start to scream her head off.
i give her pacifier but she dun like and will reject after a while

Ling
me not in navy but hubby is.

hopefully esther is going strong for Jovan's sake.

graceapple
Damien actually behaves better outside then at home. Like today 2 days never go out nia I suffering already. I bring him into bedroom he will cry cos he wants to go out.
He used to going out already n his PR very good 1(always smile at ladies). Cos I bring him out quite often since he 1 mth.
N even during my confinement......hehehe

Damien is greedy that's why he finish his porridge. When I take my time to mesh the porridge he scream at me.

I copy from Sept thread to share with u mummies too cos I find it useful.

<font color="0000ff">Baby Food</font>
-----------------------------------------
It is advisable for bb to be lacto vegetarian until they are at least 8 months, ie. only milk + grains (rice, wheat, oat, rye, barley, etc.. ) + veg and fruits. Meat/fish should come later.

but many asian parents have tried introducing meat/fish before 8 months too. so the choice is up to you.

<font color="ff0000">BABY BISCUITS</font>
This brand of baby biscuits called Baby Bites IS gluten free as it is made with rice flour. That is why it is so popular.
Most bb biscuits or rusks contain GLUTEN (wheat, rye, oat ets..). If we intro Gluten to our bbs at their age now (5/6 months) when their digestive system is still immature and we're only on FIRST FOODS, they might kena gluten intolerance and this problem is a lifelong thing. So for me, I'll only give bb biscuits if I'm very certain that it's gluten free until she reaches 8 months. BB Biscuits are NOT considered as first foods..

<font color="119911">Legumes</font>
Important reason of not introducing legumes like peas and green beans to babies before 9 months is they are considered high allergenic food. Especially for babies with eczema or potential to get eczema (if one parent has it before,bb has 25% chance of getting).

Barley water is made with barley which contains gluten. so best to give to bb after 7 months. Can try it out first but must be introduce like you would with any ingredient for the first time, i.e the 4 day rule.

Baby Diapers
---------------------------------
I'm currently using FITI BASICS for day time n I find it better then FITI COMFORT. Best is the price. But not available at all NTUC.
Got it at Kiddy Palace for 14.80 for 80 pieces works out to be only 0.18 per piece. Cheap right!!